Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 04/09/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 9-11, 13-17, and 21-25 remain pending. Claims 6-8, 12, and 18-20 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive. The amendments to the claims have changed the scope of the claims necessitating new or modified grounds of rejection. Please see new or modified grounds of rejection below.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant argues the prior art does not teach all limitations of the claim since “[t]here is no disclosure, teaching or suggestion in Freeman ‘917 that its disk segments 26, 28 could be suitably modified to include” the first and second disk pocket end surfaces as claimed. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Freeman ‘917 explicitly discloses such a configuration in at least Figure 8.
Regarding claims 17 and 21, the Applicant argues the prior art does not teach “a second sheet of material is wrapped about the attachment preform and over the sheet of material to form a second portion of the attachment”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Vetters discloses the second sheet of material wrapped over the sheet of material to form a second portion of the attachment and in the rejection the sheet of material disclosed by Vetters is modified to include the sheet of material and the attachment preform of Freeman ‘071, i.e. the second sheet of material disclosed by Vetters is wrapped about the attachment preform and over the sheet of material as taught by Freeman ‘071.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-11, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10787917 to Freeman (henceforth referred to as Freeman ‘917) in view of US 10577939 to Vetters, US 10710317 to Rice, and US 10180071 to Freeman (henceforth referred to as Freeman ‘071).
(a) Regarding claim 1:
(i) Freeman ‘917 discloses an apparatus for a rotor assembly with a rotational axis (11, Fig 1), the apparatus comprising:
a first rotor disk (fore disk segment 26, Figs 2-3) comprising a first disk pocket (slots 34, Figs 2-3/8),
the first disk pocket disposed at an outer distal end of the first rotor disk and extends axially and radially into the first rotor disk (Figs 2-3/8) to a first disk pocket end surface (end surface of slot 34, Fig 8), and the first disk pocket having a triangular cross-sectional geometry (Fig 2, i.e. conforming to triangular cross-sectional geometry of root 86 as shown in Fig 4),
a second rotor disk (aft disk segment 28, Figs 2-3/8) comprising a second disk pocket (slots 42, Fig 3),
the second disk pocket disposed at an outer distal end of the second rotor disk and extends axially and radially into the second rotor disk (Fig 3) to a second disk pocket end surface (end surface of slot 42, Fig 8), and the second disk pocket having a triangular cross-sectional geometry (Fig 2, i.e. conforming to triangular cross-sectional geometry of root 86 as shown in Fig 4);
a rotor blade (turbine blade 24, Fig 4) including an airfoil (88, Fig 4), a neck (thinned portion between root 86 and airfoil 88, Fig 4) and an attachment (root 86, Fig 4), the neck radially connecting the airfoil and the attachment (Fig 4);
the attachment extending axially between an attachment first axial side and an attachment second axial side (axially fore and aft ends of root 86, Fig 4),
a first end portion of the attachment projecting axially to the attachment first axial side (end portion defining surface of attachment at first axial side) and having a triangular cross-sectional geometry (Figs 2/4), and
a second end portion of the attachment projecting axially to the second axial side (end portion defining surface of attachment at second axial side) and having a triangular cross-sectional geometry (Figs 2/4),
the attachment having an attachment bottom surface extending between the attachment first axial side and the attachment second axial side (bottom surface of root 86, Fig 4),
the attachment bottom surface generally opposite to the neck (Fig 4);
wherein the rotor blade is axially disposed between first rotor disk and the second rotor disk (Fig 2) and is mated with the first rotor disk and the second rotor disk (Fig 2) such that the first end portion of the attachment projects axially into the first disk pocket and the second end portion of the attachment projects axially into the second disk pocket (Fig 2; Col 6 Lns 4-8/59-63).
(ii) Freeman ‘917 does not disclose
a sheet of material forming a portion of the attachment, a portion of the neck, and a portion of the airfoil;
a second sheet of material wrapped over the sheet of material to form a second portion of the attachment including the attachment first axial side, the attachment second axial side, and the attachment bottom surface, a portion of the neck, and a portion of a platform of the rotor blade,
the second sheet of material comprising woven material or braided material;
the second sheet of material wrapped about the sheet of material.
(iii) Vetters is also in the field of rotor assemblies with a rotational axis (Col 4 Lns 9-10), and teaches a rotor blade (CMC blade 210, Fig 4) comprising:
a sheet of material (first portion 248 and second portion 250 of core 218, Fig 4) forming a portion of the attachment, a portion of the neck, and a portion of the airfoil (Fig 4);
a second sheet of material (wrap 220) wrapped over the sheet of material to form a second portion of the attachment including the attachment first axial side (Col 6 Lns 19-22), the attachment second axial side (Col 6 Lns 19-22), and the attachment bottom surface (Fig 4), a portion of the neck (Fig 4), and a portion of a platform (platform 214, Fig 4) of the rotor blade,
the second sheet of material comprising woven material or braided material (wrap 20/220 has 3D weave, Col 13 Lns 52-55; “woven/braided CMC airfoil”, Col 14 Lns 35-37; woven/braided CMC, Col 15 Ln 39);
the second sheet of material wrapped about the sheet of material (Fig 4).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rotor blade as disclosed by Freeman ‘917 with the above aforementioned sheet of material and second sheet of material as taught by Vetters for the purpose of carrying centripetal loads and enabling complex geometry associated with the root and the platform (Col 6 Lns 25-33).
(v) Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters does not explicitly teach:
the first end portion of the attachment projecting axially out from the neck to the attachment first axial side, and the second end portion of the attachment projecting axially out from the neck to the attachment second axial side;
an attachment preform configured to form the base of the attachment, the attachment preform projecting axially into and partially forming the first end portion of the attachment, and the attachment preform projecting axially into and partially forming the second end portion of the attachment, the attachment preform partially forming the attachment bottom surface, wherein a length of the attachment preform is at least 95% of a length of the attachment;
the sheet of material wrapped about the attachment preform, nor
the second sheet of material wrapped about the attachment preform.
(vi) Rice is also in the field of rotor assemblies (see title) and teaches a rotor blade (blade assembly 602/802) comprising:
a neck (portion of base 612/836 between forward and aft channels 628/630/828/830, Figs 6A-9) and an attachment (radially innermost portion of base 612/836 comprising base tangs 624/626/824/826, Figs 6A-9),
the attachment extending axially between an attachment first axial side (one of axially forward and aft sides of respective forward and aft tangs 624/626/824/826) and an attachment second axial side (the other of axially forward and aft sides of respective forward and aft tangs 624/626/824/826),
a first end portion of the attachment (respective one of forward and aft tangs 624/626/824/826) projecting axially out from the neck to the attachment first axial side (Figs 6A-9), and
a second end portion of the attachment (respective other of forward and aft tangs 624/626/824/826) projecting axially out from the neck to the attachment second axial side (Figs 6A-9).
(vii) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the attachment as taught by Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters with the above aforementioned first and second end portions extending axially from the neck as taught by Rice for the purpose of allowing for the use of supportive structures (end caps 606/608, forward and aft rings 850/852) supporting exchanging loads between the blade and a rotor (Col 9 Lns 38-39/61-64).
(viii) Freeman ‘071 is also in the field of rotor blades (see title) and teaches:
a rotor blade (200/410/510) comprising an airfoil (216/416/516), a neck (stem 220/420/520, Figs 6/8/11), and an attachment (root core 222/422/522 and root casing 224/424/524), the attachment having an attachment bottom surface (bottom surface of attachment, Figs 6/8/11);
an attachment preform (plies 246/446/546 and 248/548, Figs 6/8/11) configured to form a base of the attachment (Figs 6/8/11),
the attachment preform projecting axially into and partially forming a first end portion of the attachment (Figs 5-6/8-9), and
the attachment preform projecting axially into and partially forming a second end portion of the attachment (Figs 5-6/8-9),
the attachment preform partially forming the attachment bottom surface (Figs 6/8/11),
wherein a length of the attachment preform is at least 95% of a length of the attachment (root cores 222/422 reasonably disclosed in Figs 4-5/9 as extending the entire length of the root); and
a sheet of material (ply 242/442/542) wrapped about the attachment preform to form a portion of the attachment, a portion of the neck, and a portion of the airfoil (Figs 6/8/11).
(ix) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sheet of material as taught by Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice with the above aforementioned sheet of material and attachment preform as taught by Freeman ‘071 for the purpose of maintaining the shape of the root by distributing the load placed upon the root as hoop stress (Col 9 Lns 56-67).
(x) The Examiner notes that the attachment of Freeman ‘917 has a triangular cross-sectional geometry and that when modified as described above the attachment preform would have a triangular cross-sectional geometry as the attachment is reasonably disclosed by Freeman ‘071 in Figures 6/8/11 as conforming to the shape of the attachment.
(xi) The Examiner further notes that, as the second sheet of material wraps around the first sheet about the attachment/neck as disclosed by Vetters, the second sheet of material of Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice as even further modified by Freeman ‘071 would also be wrapped about the attachment preform.
(b) Regarding claim 2:
(i) Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice as even further modified by Freeman ‘071 teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
(ii) Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice as even further modified by Freeman ‘071 further teaches wherein the first end portion of the attachment is configured as a first cantilevered projection (Rice: Figs 6A-9); and the second end portion of the attachment is configured as a second cantilevered projection (Rice: Figs 6A-9).
(c) Regarding claim 3:
(i) Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice as even further modified by Freeman ‘071 teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
(ii) Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice as even further modified by Freeman ‘071 further teaches wherein:
the rotor blade further includes a platform (Vetters: platform 214; Rice: platform 622);
a first gap (Rice: respective one of forward and aft channels 628/630/828/830, Figs 6A-9), located axially adjacent the neck, extends radially between the first end portion of the attachment and the platform (Rice: Figs 6A-9); and
a second gap (Rice: respective other of forward and aft channels 628/630/828/830, Figs 6A-9), located axially adjacent the neck, extends radially between the second end portion of the attachment and the platform (Rice: Figs 6A-9).
(d) Regarding claims 4-5:
(i) Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice as even further modified by Freeman ‘071 teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
(ii) Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice as even further modified by Freeman ‘071 further teaches:
wherein the rotor blade comprises ceramic (Vetters: see title/abstract); and
wherein the rotor blade comprises metal (Freeman ‘071: attachment preform may be filled with metallic retention pin 582, projecting axially fore and aft of the neck as taught by Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice as even further modified by Freeman ‘071, to secure the blade to a rotor, Figs 10-13).
(e) Regarding claims 9 & 10:
(i) Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice as even further modified by Freeman ‘071 teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
(ii) Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice as even further modified by Freeman ‘071 further teaches:
wherein the attachment preform is a tubular attachment preform (Freeman ‘071: Col 9 Lns 23-24; Col 16 Lns 40-41); and
wherein the attachment preform comprises an outer shell (Freeman ‘071: plies 246/248/546/548) surrounding filler material (Freeman ‘071: filler 254 or retention pin 582, Col 9 Lns 27-30 and Col 16 Lns 50-51, Figs 6/11).
(f) Regarding claim 11:
(i) Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice as even further modified by Freeman ‘071 teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
(ii) Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice as even further modified by Freeman ‘071 further teaches wherein opposing distal ends (Freeman ‘071: ends 262/264/462/464/562/564) of the sheet of material are located at a tip of the airfoil (Freeman ‘071: Figs 6/8/11).
(g) Regarding claim 13:
(i) Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice as even further modified by Freeman ‘071 teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
(ii) Vetters further teaches wherein opposing distal ends of the second sheet of material (first and second strips 236 and 242) are located at opposing lateral ends of the platform (Fig 4).
(h) Regarding claim 16:
(i) Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice as even further modified by Freeman ‘071 teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
(ii) Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice as even further modified by Freeman ‘071 further teaches wherein the rotor blade is configured with an internal cooling passage (Vetters: “hollow cavity”, Col 5 Lns 35-37; Freeman ‘071: Col 15 Lns 3-16, Figs 8-9).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10787917 to Freeman (henceforth referred to as Freeman ‘917) in view of US 10577939 to Vetters, US 10710317 to Rice, and US 10180071 to Freeman (henceforth referred to as Freeman ‘071) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 10202853 to Kleinow.
(a) Regarding claims 14-15:
(i) Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice as even further modified by Freeman ‘071 teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
(ii) Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice as even further modified by Freeman ‘071 does not explicitly teach:
a third sheet of material covering the second sheet of material to form a third portion of the attachment, a portion of the neck and a second portion of the platform; nor
wherein opposing distal ends of the third sheet of material are located on a common lateral side of the rotor blade.
(iii) Kleinow is also in the field of blades (see title) and teaches a blade (rotor blade assembly 32) comprising:
an attachment (dovetail 33), a neck (portion of blade proximate sidewalls 36/38, located between platform 50 and dovetail 33, Fig 6), and a platform (platform 50);
a second sheet of material (unlabeled material forming gaspath facing portion of platform 50, Fig 6), and
a third sheet of material (damper retaining plies 62) covering the second sheet of material to form a third portion of the attachment, a portion of the neck and a second portion of the platform (Fig 6);
wherein opposing distal ends of the third sheet of material are located on a common lateral side of the rotor blade (Fig 6).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the attachment as taught by Freeman ‘917 as modified by Vetters as further modified by Rice as even further modified by Freeman ‘071 to further include a third sheet of material as taught by Kleinow for the purpose of providing integral platform and damper features on a CMC blade component, improving structural strength of the component including the platform, allowing for the positioning of a damper therein, and rooting plies in supporting features like a dovetail (Col 10 Ln 64 – Col 11 Ln 13).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10577939 to Vetters in view of US 10710317 to Rice in further view of US 10180071 to Freeman (henceforth referred to as Freeman ‘071)
(a) Regarding claim 17:
(i) Vetters discloses a manufacturing method (Col 2 Lns 60-62), comprising forming a rotor blade (blade 210) for a rotor assembly with a rotational axis (Col 4 Lns 9-10), wherein:
the rotor blade includes an airfoil (216), a neck (thin portion between airfoil 216 and root 212, Fig 4) and an attachment (root 212);
the neck radially connects the airfoil and the attachment (Fig 4); and
the attachment extends axially between an attachment first axial side and an attachment second axial side (forward end 15 and aft end 17), and
the attachment having an attachment bottom surface (outer surface 224 of second section 228, Fig 4) extending between the attachment first axial side and the attachment second axial side (Col 6 Lns 19-22),
the attachment bottom surface generally opposite to the neck (Fig 4);
a base of the attachment (flared portion of proximal end 222, Fig 4);
a sheet of material (first portion 248 and second portion 250 of core 218, Fig 4) forming a portion of the attachment, a portion of the neck, and a portion of the airfoil (Fig 4); and
a second sheet of material (wrap 220) wrapped over the sheet of material to form a second portion of the attachment including the attachment first axial side (Col 6 Lns 19-22), the attachment second axial side (Col 6 Lns 19-22), and the attachment bottom surface (Fig 4), a portion of the neck (Fig 4), and a portion of a platform (214, Fig 4) of the rotor blade, and
the second sheet of material comprises woven material or braided material (wrap 20/220 has 3D weave, Col 13 Lns 52-55; “woven/braided CMC airfoil”, Col 14 Lns 35-37; woven/braided CMC, Col 15 Ln 39).
(ii) Vetters does not explicitly disclose wherein:
a first end portion of the attachment projects axially out from the neck to the attachment first axial side and having a triangular cross-sectional geometry, and a second end portion of the attachment projects axially out from the neck to the attachment second axial side and having a triangular cross-sectional geometry;
an attachment preform is configured to form the base of the attachment, the attachment preform projects axially along and partially forms the first end portion of the attachment, and the attachment preform projects axially into and partially forms the second end portion of the attachment, the attachment preform partially forming the attachment bottom surface, wherein a length of the attachment preform is at least 95% of a length of the attachment;
the sheet of material is wrapped about the attachment preform, nor
the second sheet of material is wrapped about the attachment preform and over the sheet of material.
(iii) Rice is also in the field of rotor assemblies (see title) and teaches a rotor blade (blade assembly 602/802) comprising:
a neck (portion of base 612/836 between forward and aft channels 628/630/828/830, Figs 6A-9) and an attachment (radially innermost portion of base 612/836 comprising base tangs 624/626/824/826, Figs 6A-9),
the attachment extending axially between an attachment first axial side (one of axially forward and aft sides of respective forward and aft tangs 624/626/824/826) and an attachment second axial side (the other of axially forward and aft sides of respective forward and aft tangs 624/626/824/826),
a first end portion of the attachment (respective one of forward and aft tangs 624/626/824/826) projecting axially out from the neck to the attachment first axial side (Figs 6A-9), and
a second end portion of the attachment (respective other of forward and aft tangs 624/626/824/826) projecting axially out from the neck to the attachment second axial side (Figs 6A-9).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the attachment as disclosed by Vetters with the above aforementioned first and second end portions extending axially from the neck as taught by Rice for the purpose of allowing for the use of supportive structures (end caps 606/608, forward and aft rings 850/852) supporting exchanging loads between the blade and a rotor (Col 9 Lns 38-39/61-64).
(v) Freeman ‘071 is also in the field of rotor blades (see title) and teaches:
a rotor blade (200/410/510) comprising an airfoil (216/416/516), a neck (stem 220/420/520, Figs 6/8/11), and an attachment (root core 222/422/522 and root casing 224/424/524), the attachment having an attachment bottom surface (bottom surface of attachment, Figs 6/8/11);
an attachment preform (plies 246/446/546 and 248/548, Figs 6/8/11) configured to form a base of the attachment (Figs 6/8/11),
the attachment preform projects axially along and partially forms a first end portion of the attachment (Figs 5-6/8-9), and
the attachment preform projects axially into and partially forms the second end portion of the attachment (Figs 5-6/8-9),
the attachment preform partially forming the attachment bottom surface (Figs 6/8/11),
wherein a length of the attachment preform is at least 95% of a length of the attachment (root cores 222/422 reasonably disclosed in Figs 4-5/9 as extending the entire length of the root); and
a sheet of material (ply 242/442/542) wrapped about the attachment preform to form a portion of the attachment, a portion of the neck, and a portion of the airfoil (Figs 6/8/11).
(vi) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sheet of material as disclosed by Vetters with the above aforementioned sheet of material and attachment preform as taught by Freeman ‘071 for the purpose of maintaining the shape of the root by distributing the load placed upon the root as hoop stress (Col 9 Lns 56-67).
(vii) The Examiner notes that the attachment of Vetters has a triangular cross-sectional geometry and that when modified as described above the first and second end portions of the combination would have a triangular cross-sectional geometry.
(viii) The Examiner further notes that, as the second sheet of material wraps around the first sheet about the attachment/neck as disclosed by Vetters, the second sheet of material of Vetters as modified by Rice as further modified by Freeman ‘071 would also be wrapped about the attachment preform.
(ix) Vetters as modified by Rice as further modified by Freeman ‘071 does not teach wherein the attachment preform is less than a length of the attachment.
(x) The Applicant has disclosed no criticality, nor any new or unexpected results, from the attachment preform having a length that is less than a length of the attachment. The difference between the length of the attachment and “less than a length of the attachment” is infinitesimally small and are so mathematically close that the difference between the claimed attachment preform length and the attachment preform length as taught by the prior art is virtually negligible absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality; and prima facie one skilled in the art would predictably expect them to have the same results. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
(xi) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the length of the attachment preform to be less than the length of the attachment as claimed since such a modification would not change the results of the prior art, see MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim(s) 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10180071 to Freeman (henceforth referred to as Freeman ‘071) in view of US 10710317 to Rice in further view of US 10577939 to Vetters.
(a) Regarding claim 21:
(i) Freeman ‘071 discloses an apparatus for a rotor assembly with a rotational axis (Col 1 Lns 45-50), the apparatus comprising:
a rotor blade (turbine blade 210/410) including an airfoil (216/416), a neck (stem 220/420) and an attachment (root 212/412, Figs 6/8);
the neck radially connecting the airfoil and the attachment (Figs 6/8);
the attachment extending axially between an attachment first axial side and an attachment second axial side (forward and aft ends of blade 210/410, Figs 5/9),
the attachment having an attachment bottom surface (bottom of attachment, Figs 6/8) extending between the attachment first axial side and the attachment second axial side (Figs 5/9),
the attachment bottom surface generally opposite to the neck (Figs 6/8);
an attachment preform (root core 222/422, Figs 6/8) configured to form a base of the attachment (Figs 6/8),
the attachment preform projecting axially into and partially forming the first end portion of the attachment and the second end portion of the attachment (Figs 5/8-9),
the attachment preform partially forming the attachment bottom surface (Figs 6/8, Col 16 Lns 23-24),
wherein a length of the attachment preform is at least 95% of a length of the attachment (root core 222/422 reasonably disclosed in Figs 5/9 as extending the entire length of the root);
a sheet of material (ply 242/442, Figs 6/8) wrapped about the attachment preform to form a portion of the attachment, a portion of the neck, and a portion of the airfoil (Figs 6/8);
a cooling cavity (entry ports 471, hollow core 472, apertures 474, and cooling channel 476) extending through the airfoil (Fig 8), the neck (Fig 8), the attachment (Fig 8), the attachment preform (Fig 8), and a portion of the sheet of material wrapped along a bottom surface of the attachment surface (via entry ports 471, Col 15 Lns 8-9, Fig 9).
(ii) Freeman ‘071 does not disclose:
a first end portion of the attachment projecting axially out from the neck to the attachment first axial side, and
a second end portion of the attachment projecting axially out from the neck to the attachment second axial side,
a second sheet of material wrapped about the attachment preform and over the sheet of material to form a second portion of the attachment including the attachment first axial side, the attachment second axial side, and the attachment bottom surface, a portion of the neck, and a portion of a platform of the rotor blade,
the second sheet of material comprising woven material or braided material.
(iii) Rice is also in the field of rotor assemblies (see title) and teaches a rotor blade (blade assembly 602/802) comprising:
a neck (portion of base 612/836 between forward and aft channels 628/630/828/830, Figs 6A-9) and an attachment (radially innermost portion of base 612/836 comprising base tangs 624/626/824/826, Figs 6A-9),
the attachment extending axially between an attachment first axial side (one of axially forward and aft sides of respective forward and aft tangs 624/626/824/826) and an attachment second axial side (the other of axially forward and aft sides of respective forward and aft tangs 624/626/824/826),
a first end portion of the attachment (respective one of forward and aft tangs 624/626/824/826) projecting axially out from the neck to the attachment first axial side (Figs 6A-9), and
a second end portion of the attachment (respective other of forward and aft tangs 624/626/824/826) projecting axially out from the neck to the attachment second axial side (Figs 6A-9).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the attachment as disclosed by Freeman ‘071 with the above aforementioned first and second end portions extending axially from the neck as taught by Rice for the purpose of allowing for the use of supportive structures (end caps 606/608, forward and aft rings 850/852) supporting exchanging loads between the blade and a rotor (Col 9 Lns 38-39/61-64).
(v) Vetters is also in the field of blades (see title) and teaches a rotor blade comprising a second sheet of material (wrap 220, Fig 4) wrapped about a sheet of material (portion of core 218 partially forming neck and root 212, Fig 4) to form a second portion of an attachment including the attachment first axial side (first section 226, Fig 4), the attachment second axial side (third section 230, Fig 4), and the attachment bottom surface (second section 228, Fig 4, a portion of the neck (thin portion of root 212, Fig 4), and a portion of a platform of the rotor blade (first strip 236 and second strip 242, Fig 4), the second sheet of material comprising woven material or braided material (wrap 220 has 3D weave, Col 13 Lns 52-55; “woven/braided CMC airfoil”, Col 14 Lns 35-37; woven/braided CMC, Col 15 Ln 39).
(vi) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rotor blade as disclosed by Freeman ‘071 with the second sheet of material as taught by Vetters for the purpose of providing fiber reinforced ceramic matrix material enabling complex root and platform geometry (Col 6 Lns 29-33) and forming outer surfaces of the root and platform (Col 6 Lns 23-24/48-49).
(vii) Freeman ‘071 does not explicitly disclose the attachment having a triangular cross-sectional geometry nor wherein an axial length of the attachment preform is less than an axial length of the attachment between the attachment first axial side and the attachment second axial side; and wherein the cooling cavity extends through the sheet of material wrapped along a bottom surface of the attachment surface.
(viii) The Applicant has not disclosed any criticality nor any new or unexpected results from the first and second end portions having a triangular cross sectional geometry and there is no teaching in the prior art that the apparatus of Freeman ‘071 would perform different having first and second end portions with triangular cross-sectional geometries. As the disclosure of Freeman ‘071 substantially discloses all other structural limitations of the claim, the claimed cross-sectional shape of the first and second end portions does not distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV).
(ix) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second end portions as disclosed by Freeman ‘071 to have triangular cross-sectional geometries as an obvious matter of design choice, see MPEP 2144.04(IV).
(x) The Applicant has not disclosed any criticality nor any new or unexpected results from having an axial length of the preform be less than an axial length of the attachment and there is no teaching in the prior art that the apparatus of Freeman ‘071 would perform differently having the claimed size and proportions. As the disclosure of Freeman ‘071 substantially discloses all other structural limitations of the claim, the claimed size and proportion of the preform does not distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV).
(xi) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the preform disclosed by Freeman ‘071 to have an axial length less than an axial length between first and second axial sides of the attachment as an obvious matter of design choice, see MPEP 2144.04(IV).
(b) Regarding claim 22:
(i) Freeman ‘071 as modified by Rice as further modified by Vetters teaches the apparatus of claim 21.
(ii) Freeman ‘071 further discloses wherein the attachment preform has a hollow tubular body (hollow center 472, Fig 8).
(c) Regarding claim 23:
(i) Freeman ‘071 as modified by Rice as further modified by Vetters teaches the apparatus of claim 21.
(ii) Freeman ‘071 further discloses wherein the attachment preform comprises an outer shell (plies 246 and 248, Fig 6) surrounding filler material (filler 254, Fig 6); and the filler material comprises chopped fibers (Col 9 Lns 34-36).
(d) Regarding claim 24:
(i) Freeman ‘071 as modified by Rice as further modified by Vetters teaches the apparatus of claim 21.
(ii) Freeman ‘071 further discloses wherein the attachment preform comprises an outer shell (plies 246/446/546 and 248/548, Figs 6/8/11) surrounding filler material (filler 254, Fig 6); and the filler material comprises foam (Col 9 Ln 52).
(e) Regarding claim 25:
(i) Freeman ‘071 as modified by Rice as further modified by Vetters teaches the apparatus of claim 21.
(ii) Freeman ‘071 further discloses:
wherein the platform extends axially between a platform first axial side and a platform second axial side (first and second axial sides of platform 214/414, Figs 4-5/9);
the attachment first axial side is axially recessed from the platform first axial side (reasonably disclosed in Figs 4-5/9); and
the attachment second axial side is axially recessed from the platform second axial side (reasonably disclosed in Figs 4-5/9).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN A PRUITT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745