DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Amendment filed 10/09/25.
Response to Amendment
The objection to Claims 1 and 3-15 as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 07/15/25 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The objection to Claim 17 as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 07/15/25 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claims 1 and 3-15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 07/15/25 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claims 1 and 3-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2004/0067387 A1) in view of Lee et al. (Thin Solid Films 520 (2011) 95-100) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 07/15/25 is NOT overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claims 1 and 3-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2004/0067387 A1) in view of Song et al. (Huaxue Yanjiu (2003), 14(3), 1-4) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 07/15/25 is NOT overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
10. Claims 1 and 3-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2004/0067387 A1) in view of Lee et al. (Thin Solid Films 520 (2011) 95-100).
Regarding Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-15, Kim et al. discloses a method for forming the following organic electroluminescent (EL) device:
(Fig. 4) comprising substrate (1), anode (3), hole-injecting layer (5), hole-transporting layer (7), light-emitting layer (9), electron-transporting layer (11), electron-injecting layer (13), and cathode (15) ([0105]); the layers (including the light-emitting layer) are formed via “any known film forming techniques,” such as vapor deposition and spin coating (which involves application of material dissolved in solution over a surface, with subsequent evaporation of solvent) in a laminated construction starting from the substrate ([0019], [0123], [0148], [0216]-[0218]). The (transparent) anode comprises materials such as ITO and silver; the cathode comprises metals such as aluminum, magnesium, and silver ([0127], [0130]). An embodiment is disclosed wherein the hole-transporting layer is 60 nm, while the thickness of the electron-transporting/injecting layer is 30 nm ([0218]). Kim et al. discloses that the light-emitting layer comprises a host (matrix) material in combination with dopant material which are co-deposited and formed into a solid film ([0019], [0098], [0227]); in an embodiment, its inventive compound serves as host material while other (non-Formula I) compound serves dopant material ([0112], [0120]-[0121]). The emission is either fluorescent or phosphorescent ([0021]). However, Kim et al. does not explicitly disclose any of the fluorescent compounds as recited by the Applicant.
Lee et al. discloses the following “efficient” emitting material for an organic EL device (OLED) which is utilized as dopant in the light-emitting layer to result in luminous, power, and external quantum efficiency (Abstract; page 95):
(page 97) comprising diphenylamino (“electron donating,” page 95) and diphenylethylenyl groups (inherently electron-withdrawing due to delocalization of the π-electrons into the two phenyl substituent groups) such that n”’ = 1, R = electron-withdrawing substituent (diphenylethylenyl), and R’ = electron-donating substituent (diphenylamino) of the following Applicant’s formula:
. It would have been obvious to incorporate 3 as disclosed by Lee et al. as dopant material into the light-emitting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Kim et al. The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Lee et al., which teaches that the use of its inventive compounds in such a manner results luminous, power, and external quantum efficiency of the device.
Regarding Claim 6, notice that if the light-emitting layer (9) is formed via vapor deposition, there is a continual application of light-emitting layers (of arbitrary thicknesses) until a light-emitting layer of a desired thickness is reached.
11. Claims 1, 3-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2004/0067387 A1) in view of Song et al. (Huaxue Yanjiu (2003), 14(3), 1-4).
Regarding Claims 1, 3-5, 7-15, and 18, Kim et al. discloses a method for forming the following organic electroluminescent (EL) device:
(Fig. 4) comprising substrate (1), anode (3), hole-injecting layer (5), hole-transporting layer (7), light-emitting layer (9), electron-transporting layer (11), electron-injecting layer (13), and cathode (15) ([0105]); the layers (including the light-emitting layer) are formed via “any known film forming techniques,” such as vapor deposition and spin coating (which involves application of material dissolved in solution over a surface, with subsequent evaporation of solvent) in a laminated construction starting from the substrate ([0019], [0123], [0148], [0216]-[0218]). The (transparent) anode comprises materials such as ITO and silver; the cathode comprises metals such as aluminum, magnesium, and silver ([0127], [0130]). An embodiment is disclosed wherein the hole-transporting layer is 60 nm, while the thickness of the electron-transporting/injecting layer is 30 nm ([0218]). Kim et al. discloses that the light-emitting layer comprises a host (matrix) material in combination with dopant material which are co-deposited and formed into a solid film ([0019], [0098], [0227]); in an embodiment, its inventive compound serves as host material while other (non-Formula I) compound serves dopant material ([0112], [0120]-[0121]). The emission is either fluorescent or phosphorescent ([0021]). However, Kim et al. does not explicitly disclose any of the fluorescent compounds as recited by the Applicant.
Song et al. discloses the following conjugated donor-acceptor (“D-A”) compound for use as fluorescent materials (Abstract, page 1):
(page 2) such that (for 20) m”’ = 1, R = electron-withdrawing substituent (Cl), and R’ = electron-donating substituent (CH3O); R =
(with Hal = Cl) and R’ =
(with Alkyl = CH3) of the following Applicant’s formula:
. It would have been obvious to incorporate 20 as disclosed by Song et al. as dopant material into the light-emitting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Kim et al. The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Song et al. which discloses a viable compound for use as fluorescent (i.e., emitting) material using a synthetic method of >70% yield (Table 1, page 3), thus rendering the incorporation predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 6, notice that if the light-emitting layer (9) is formed via vapor deposition, there is a continual application of light-emitting layers (of arbitrary thicknesses) until a light-emitting layer of a desired thickness is reached.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claim 17 is currently objected to but would be allowable if amended to overcome the minor informalities as set forth above.
The closest prior art is provided by Kim et al. (US 2004/0067387 A1), which discloses a method for forming the following organic electroluminescent (EL) device:
(Fig. 4) comprising substrate (1), anode (3), hole-injecting layer (5), hole-transporting layer (7), light-emitting layer (9), electron-transporting layer (11), electron-injecting layer (13), and cathode (15) ([0105]); the layers (including the light-emitting layer) are formed via “any known film forming techniques,” such as vapor deposition and spin coating (which involves application of material dissolved in solution over a surface, with subsequent evaporation of solvent) in a laminated construction starting from the substrate ([0019], [0123], [0148], [0216]-[0218]). The (transparent) anode comprises materials such as ITO and silver; the cathode comprises metals such as aluminum, magnesium, and silver ([0127], [0130]). An embodiment is disclosed wherein the hole-transporting layer is 60 nm, while the thickness of the electron-transporting/injecting layer is 30 nm ([0218]). Kim et al. discloses that the light-emitting layer comprises a host (matrix) material in combination with dopant material which are co-deposited and formed into a solid film ([0019], [0098], [0227]); in an embodiment, its inventive compound serves as host material while other (non-Formula I) compound serves dopant material ([0112], [0120]-[0121]). The emission is either fluorescent or phosphorescent ([0021]). However, it is the position of the Office that neither Kim et al. singly nor in combination with any other prior art discloses the method as recited in Claim 17, particularly in regards to the nature of the fluorescent compound.
Response to Arguments
13. The Applicant argues that “Lee and Song are silent about fluorescent compounds according to the amended claim 1 and new claim 18.” Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Notice that the fluorescent compounds as disclosed by both Lee et al. and Song et al. still reads on alternative formulae as recited in Claim 1 in the Markush group (see above rejection).
Conclusion
14. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786