DETAILED ACTION
Status
This action is in response to the arguments filed on 6/24/2026. Claims 21-40 are pending. No claims are amended. No claims have been added. Claims 1-20 had been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has argued that the claims “Maintaining an indexed database of pairwise traversal costs across a large multi-level directed graph taxonomy, executing an indexed lookup, and combining the retrieved value with historical transition data and a randomized value in a weighted linear combination to rank assets - receiving a request based on a first viewed asset - are not operations performable in the human mind. The claim limitation requiring retrieval "without traversing the directed graph in response to the request, using a database lookup indexed by the pair of nodes" is a specific, structural technical limitation that precludes mental performance. It is not a nominal recitation of a computer as a tool; it defines how the recommendation is generated - specifically, through a pre- indexed database lookup rather than real-time computation.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. The argument that the claim is that maintaining an indexed database and executing an indexed lookup are not operations performed in the human mind. However, the broadest reasonable interpretation of a database and database lookup indexed by a pair of nodes reads on any stored values indexed by a key. A person could calculate a traversal cost for each pair of categories in advance, write each result on an index card labeled by the pair, file the cards in pair order, and later retrieve the pre computed value by pulling the matching card without performing any calculations in real time. Splitting a calculation into a early and later step is a sequencing problem not a technological transformation. The randomized value added to a weighted sum is a data processing choice not a technical feature. Applicant is arguing that the calculation would be slow or impractical for a human to do but this does not mean that a human could not do it. An invention that merely allows a human to use a computer as a tool to perform the steps of the invention is still directed to an abstract idea.
The applicant has argued “The Office Action also identifies the claim as reciting a mathematical concept by pointing to weight determination and composite score computation. However, these mathematical steps are not free-floating abstractions. They are embedded in and defined by the specific technical structure of the hierarchical directed graph and the indexed database: the weights encode directionality of traversal in the graph hierarchy, the traversal costs are computed from that structure and stored in an indexed database, and the composite score is computed from values retrieved by an indexed database lookup anchored to the first viewed asset's category node. The mathematics is inseparable from the technical architecture.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. In SAP the Courts found that a claim for a new abstract idea is still abstract and that invoking a particular or structured data source or a stated technological environment does not remove the mathematical calculations from the abstract idea grouping. The claims were directed to a result or effect independent of the mechanism by which it was accomplished. In applicant’s case the weights encode directionality of traversal in the graph hierarchy is merely attaching labels and a data source to the forma and doesn’t change that the claim recites a formula for combining them.
The applicant has argued “The Office Action further characterizes the claim as a method of organizing human activity because it involves recommending assets. The 2019 PEG identifies this grouping as covering concepts such as managing relationships or following rules. The claim is not directed to recommending assets in the abstract; it is directed to a specific technical method of generating recommendations via pre-computed indexed traversal data combined with historical and randomized values in a weighted linear composite score.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s argument is conclusory as it asserts that the claim is directed to a specific technical method without addressing why recommending assets to a user based on the user’s viewed asset and past behavior does not fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping. The grouping also includes marketing sales activities and business relations. The claims are directed to recommending content to a user based on information about that user.
The applicant has argued “The claimed architecture solves a concrete technical problem: the computational cost and latency of real-time graph traversal at query time in large-scale recommendation systems. In a system with a large asset portfolio and a multi-level hierarchical category taxonomy, computing traversal costs between all relevant node pairs on demand for every user request is computationally expensive and introduces latency that degrades user experience and system scalability. The claimed invention addresses this by pre-computing all pairwise traversal costs before any request is received, storing the results in a database indexed by node pairs, and then serving recommendations via fast indexed database lookup without any graph traversal at request time. The result is a recommendation system that achieves real-time responsiveness at scale, which the concept of recommending assets in the abstract cannot achieve.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. Improving the speed or efficiency with which a generic computer carries out an abstract idea without more, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or supply an inventive concept. Applicant’s stated improvement, reducing latency and computation cost, is adding a computers functionality as a tool to perform the steps of the invention. The identified abstract idea has not be changed only the timing of when the calculation is performed. Computing values in advance and storing them in a database so that a later request only involve retrieving and not recalculating a result does not improve the database technology. It merely uses a conventional database, indexed normally, to store the output of a calculation ahead of time. This is not a technological solution, merely a tradeoff. Pre-calculation and caching a value to avoid recomputing is not a technical improvement. Neither the database structure nor a specific new rule set is actually improved here.
The applicant has argued “This improvement is analogous to improvements found patent-eligible in Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (self-referential table structures improving computer memory and processing) and McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (specific rule-based automation achieving results not possible with prior techniques). The Office Action states that the claims "merely use general purpose technology as a tool." The examiner respectfully disagrees. The requirement that traversal data be stored in a database indexed by the pair of nodes and retrieved without traversing the directed graph in response to the request defines a specific database architecture and retrieval mechanism that is inseparable from the claimed method's technical innovation - it is not incidental computer use.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. Enfish found no abstract because the claims improved the database technology itself. Claim 21 does not claim any new indexing structure of a data storage technique, it merely uses a database and database lookup indexed by a pair of nodes in their ordinary, generic sense. The claim does not include an improvement to the database and only has conventional use of a database. The Applicant has not identified any specific indexing structure, data format, or retrieval algorithm that departs from a conventional database. The mere recitation of a generic computer component performing its basic function cannot transform an abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.
The applicant has argued “The database in claim 21 is not a generic storage repository. It is specifically required to store traversal data values indexed by the pair of nodes - an index structure enabling the fast lookup at request time. The composite score is not a generic mathematical output; it is a weighted linear combination of three functionally distinct components (the indexed traversal data value tied to the first viewed asset's category node, a category transition historical data value capturing observed behavioral patterns, and a randomized data value) that together produce a nuanced, context-sensitive ranking of recommended assets. This combination provides significantly more than the mere concept of recommending assets and is not fairly characterized as routine or conventional computer activity.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. The concept of indexing stored records by a key so they can be retrieved is a known function of a database. The applicant has made an assertion that the claimed database is not generic but does not identify a specific indexing database structure, storage scheme, or lookup algorithm that departs from a regular off the shelf database. The claim recites only the function results to be achieved without reciting any particular means by which that indexing is implemented. The composite score combining three variables rather than one does not change its character as a mathematical calculation. The applicant has not explained what specifically about combining a pre-stored value, a historical value, and a randomized value in a weighted sum is distinct from each of those components being used in its ordinary capacity. Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive. The previous 101 rejection is maintained.
The applicant has argued “Indeed, Aryan teaches away from the approach of Claim 21 by explicitly teaching computing probability distributions over audio files at recommendation time, which would introduce heavy computing operations and significant latency at the recommendation time in responding to a request for audio playback.” And then argues what Aryan is lacking. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Aryan does not teach anything about criticizing or discouraging a database lookup or a non-traversal approach to retrieving data. Applicant’s characterization of heavy computing operations and significant latency are merely words not supported by Aryan or anything other then the attorney’s argument. Aryan is directed toward reducing computational burden. Aryan even discloses in paragraph 72, the invention includes an “increase accuracy in a less computationally intensive process.” This teaching is counter to applicant’s arguments of Aryan teaching a heavy, latency inducing computation. Further, the applicant appears to be arguing teaching away based on stating Aryan individually for limitations that aren’t in Aryan, nor does the examiner state that Aryan teaches.
Aryan expressly teaches determining a ranking via "a weighted combination of the input probability distributions" (paragraph 47, where each of these probability distributions may have more relative weightage paragraph 103 i.e., a weighted linear combination of multiple distinct data values, including a distribution derived from historical playback order/successiveness between songs, paragraphs 95-102, a category-transition-type historical value, and a distribution derived from graph/community relationships among songs paragraphs 55-77, Aryan further discloses injecting randomness into the recommendation itself in paragraph 47- 48 the system selects another song to add diversity and randomness to the recommendation process and may select songs. Harboe supplies the specific teaching of a data value associated with a pair of nodes reflecting historical transition information weights may be assigned to the branches (or edges) with the weights determining the probability of playing one file following the other paragraph 38, where the branches connect pairs of nodes in the graph/tree structure of media files paragraph 36-37. Harboe further discloses that such a structure "does not in all cases need to be explicitly stored" paragraph 55, but may be, and that nodes and branches may be provided as needed consistent with storage and retrieval rather than real-time traversal for every request. Harboe also expressly discloses a randomized data value the system "may generate a biased random playlist by picking media files from the media content database ... according to probabilities associated with each file paragraph 38, and randomly varies formula parameters governing node selection paragraphs 46-49 directly addressing applicant's contention that no reference discloses a randomized data value. Coupe supplies the specific teaching of retrieving a traversal-related data value without traversing the directed graph in response to the request, using a database lookup indexed by the pair of nodes. Coupe's system precomputes lookup sets prior to run-time that map each label/variant of a node to the path of the taxonomy graph having that node as a leaf (paragraph 35, 43, 46-47). Rather than traversing the taxonomy graph, the system searches the lookup sets for the relevant variant paragraph 56-57, which retrieves precomputed traversal-derived data via an indexed database lookup rather than by traversing the graph in response to the request, exactly as applicant contends is missing from the art. Coupe additionally computes a distance-based value between pairs of paths/nodes in the hierarchy the "ancestor match" between a path pair and its associated distance-based multiplier paragraph 59-61, a taxonomy-traversal data value associated with a pair of nodes in the hierarchy.
The applicant has argued “Harboe mentions generating and displaying to the user a tree of media files based on the user's previous selections. Like Aryan, Harboe fails to disclose or in any way teaches "responsive to receiving a request for a recommended asset based on a first viewed asset in the asset portfolio at a user device, generating a set of recommended assets from the asset portfolio ranked by a composite score, the composite score computed using a weighted linear combination comprising a taxonomy traversal data value associated with a pair of nodes in the hierarchy of nodes retrieved from the database, wherein the traversal data value is retrieved, without traversing the directed graph in response to the request, using a database lookup indexed by the pair of nodes, wherein the first viewed asset includes a category comprising a node in the pair of nodes, a category transition historical data value, and a randomized data value" as recited in Claim 21.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. Harboe discloses substantially more than applicant credits. Harboe's play tree generation process is triggered by, and generates a set of candidate next selections keyed to, a currently playing (first viewed) media file (paragraph 35-36, 44. Figs. 2, 4). Harboe discloses computing the likelihood of each candidate selection from a combination of multiple historical factors frequency of past play and recency of past play, each independently weighted ("degree of skew") analogous to the claimed composite, weighted combination (paragraph 39). Harboe discloses assigning and storing weights on the edges connecting pairs of nodes, determining the probability of playing one file following the other (paragraph 37-38), and confirms that such graph data may be explicitly stored and retrieved rather than freshly computed by traversal for every request paragraph 55, reading on a taxonomy traversal data value associated with a pair of nodes, retrievable via database lookup. Harboe's nodes are associated with categorical relationships (e.g., "harder," "older," "more psychedelic," Fig. 7; "Rock (cont'd)," "your favorite music," 37-39 and its edge weights reflect historical transition data between such category-associated nodes. Harboe expressly discloses a randomized data value, disclosing generation of a biased random playlist according to probabilities associated with each file and random variation of selection-function parameters from node to node paragraphs 46-49. For at least these reasons, applicant's characterization of Harboe is incorrect, and the rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive and the previous rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. abstract idea) without anything significantly more.
Step 1: Regarding Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes (from the January 2019 §101 Examination Guidelines), claim(s) (21-27) is/are directed to a method, claim(s) (35-40) is/ are directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium, and claims(s) (28-34) is/are directed to a system. Therefore, claims 21-40 are directed to patent eligible categories of invention.
Step 2A Prong 1: The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) (mathematical relationships/formulas, mental process or certain methods of organizing human activity). Specifically the independent claims recite:
(a) mental process: as drafted, the claim recites the limitations of receiving, determining, calculating, storing, and generating data which is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “processor”, “a computer,” nothing in the claim precludes the determining step from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for the “processor to perform” language, the claim encompasses a user manually determining the recommended assets based on score. The mere nominal recitation of a generic computing device does not take the claim limitation out of the mental processes grouping. This limitation is a mental process. With regard to the instant application the Examiner has reviewed the disclosure and determined that the underlying claimed invention is described as a concept that is performed in the human mind and/or with the aid of a pen and paper, and thus it is viewed that the applicant is merely claiming that concept performed 1) on a generic computer, 2) in a computer environment or 3) is merely using a computer as a tool to perform the concept, and therefore is considered to recite a mental process. Claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer. The courts have found claims requiring a generic computer or nominally reciting a generic computer may still recite a mental process even though the clam limitations are not performed entirely in the human mind.
(b) mathematical formula: The claim recites a mathematical concept (which can include mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations). Thus, the claim recites a mathematical concept specifically determining a set of weights, calculating a traversal cost, a computed composite score. “Mathematical Calculations” A claim that recites a mathematical calculation will be considered as falling within the “mathematical concepts” grouping. A mathematical calculation is a mathematical operation (such as multiplication) or an act of calculating using mathematical methods to determine a variable or number, e.g., performing an arithmetic operation such as exponentiation. There is no particular word or set of words that indicates a claim recites a mathematical calculation. That is, a claim does not have to recite the word “calculating” in order to be considered a mathematical calculation. For example, a step of “determining” a variable or number using mathematical methods or “performing” a mathematical operation may also be considered mathematical calculations when the broadest reasonable interpretation
(c) certain methods of organizing human activity: The claim as a whole recites a method of organizing human activity. The claimed invention is a method that allows for taking data related to users for determining a recommended set of assets which is a method of managing interactions between people. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Dependent claims 22-27, 29-34, 36-40 further narrow the abstract idea identified in the independent claims and do not introduce further additional elements for consideration.
Step 2A, Prong 2: Independent claims 21, 28, and 35 do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Claim 21 is a computer implemented method comprising “user devices… a database.” Claim 28 is a system comprising “one or more computing processors; one or more non-transitory computer readable media… user devices… a database.” Claim 35 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage media “storing one or more sequences of instructions, which when executed by one or more processors cause performance of… user devices… a database.” These additional elements are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for performing the steps of the abstract idea or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or generate data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., certain methods of organizing human activity, mathematical concept) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the additional elements of the independent claims, when considered both individually and in combination, are not sufficient to prove integration into a practical application.
Dependent claims 22-27, 29-34, 36-40 further narrow the abstract idea identified in the independent claims and do not introduce further additional elements for consideration, which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: Independent claims 21, 28, and 35 do not comprise anything significantly more than the judicial exception. As can be seen above with respect to Step 2A, Prong 2, Claim 21 is a computer implemented method comprising “user devices… a database.” Claim 28 is a system comprising “one or more computing processors; one or more non-transitory computer readable media… user devices… a database.” Claim 35 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage media “storing one or more sequences of instructions, which when executed by one or more processors cause performance of… user devices… a database.” These additional elements are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for performing the steps of the abstract idea or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or generate data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., certain methods of organizing human activity or mathematical concept) is not anything significantly more than the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The additional elements of the independent claims, when considered both individually and in combination, do not comprise anything significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 22-27, 29-34, 36-40 further narrow the abstract idea identified in the independent claims and do not introduce further additional elements for consideration, which is not anything significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore based on the above analysis as conducted based on the January 2019 Guidance from the United States Patent and Trademark Office the claims are viewed as a court recognized abstract idea, are viewed as a judicial exception, does not integrate the claims into a practical application, and does not provide an inventive concept, therefore the claims are ineligible.
Accordingly, claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-24, 27-31, 34-38, 40, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aryan (US 20180081968 A1) in view of Harboe et al. (US 20080091721 A1) in view of Coupe et al. (US 20190287018 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Aryan teaches receiving a category taxonomy associated with an asset portfolio (Fig. 3-7, ¶ 56-58, In at least one embodiment, the system 110 is configured to assign a weight attribute to each edge of the plurality of edges… The value of the weight attribute, in turn, is a weighted summation of a set of similarity factors between the two nodes (i.e., two songs) being connected via the associated edge. ¶ 109, 113-114, disclose a list of suggested songs. ¶ 60-61, 63, 84);
the category taxonomy having categories expressed as nodes in a directed graph (Fig. 3, 4, 7, 8, ¶ 96, FIG. 7 shows a simplified representation of a directed graph 700 formed using a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges, in accordance with an example embodiment of the present disclosure. In at least one embodiment, the system 110 is configured to form the directed graph 700 for arranging the plurality of songs based on a specific order. As shown, the directed graph 700 includes a plurality of nodes such as S4, S5, S6 and S7 representing corresponding songs and a plurality of directed edges such as E8, E9, E10 and E11 connecting the pair of nodes. It is noted that a directed edge between two nodes (songs) represents that the two songs were played and liked during a predefined time interval and the direction of the edge indicates the node that the edge originates from is the song that was played before the second node/second song. For example, edge E8 represents song S4 was played before song S6, edge E9 represents song S4 was played before song S5, edge E10 represents song S6 was played before song S7 and edge E11 represents song S4 was played before song S7. The system 110 is also configured to associate a weight attribute with each of the plurality of edges E8-E11 based on the time lapse between the two songs. In one example embodiment, the weight is a value between 0 and 1. The weight associated with each edge is utilized by the system 110 to determine a successive score for each song to measure successiveness to a song listened to at a preceding time step based on the directed graph. This is explained in detail hereinafter with reference to FIG. 8. ¶ 98-100, At 802, a directed graph is formed using a plurality of nodes and a plurality of directed edges. Each node represents an audio file and a directed edge from the plurality of directed edges originating from a first node to a second node represents a first audio file corresponding to the first node being played before a second audio file corresponding to the second node. In an embodiment, all the nodes that form the directed graph, represent audio files (songs) that are liked by the user. The system (e.g. the system 110) is configured to form a directed graph such as the directed graph 700 of the plurality of nodes (S4-S8) and the plurality of directed edges (E8-E11) as explained with reference to FIG. 7. ¶ 55, 59),
the nodes having a plurality of levels, wherein a traversal cost between nodes is determined based on traversing the directed graph (¶ 96, FIG. 7 shows a simplified representation of a directed graph 700 formed using a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges, in accordance with an example embodiment of the present disclosure. In at least one embodiment, the system 110 is configured to form the directed graph 700 for arranging the plurality of songs based on a specific order. As shown, the directed graph 700 includes a plurality of nodes such as S4, S5, S6 and S7 representing corresponding songs and a plurality of directed edges such as E8, E9, E10 and E11 connecting the pair of nodes. It is noted that a directed edge between two nodes (songs) represents that the two songs were played and liked during a predefined time interval and the direction of the edge indicates the node that the edge originates from is the song that was played before the second node/second song. For example, edge E8 represents song S4 was played before song S6, edge E9 represents song S4 was played before song S5, edge E10 represents song S6 was played before song S7 and edge E11 represents song S4 was played before song S7. The system 110 is also configured to associate a weight attribute with each of the plurality of edges E8-E11 based on the time lapse between the two songs. In one example embodiment, the weight is a value between 0 and 1. The weight associated with each edge is utilized by the system 110 to determine a successive score for each song to measure successiveness to a song listened to at a preceding time step based on the directed graph. This is explained in detail hereinafter with reference to FIG. 8. ¶ 98-102, At 808, at the time step ‘i’, a path score for each node is computed based on the successive score determined at the time step ‘i’ and a preceding path score computed at the preceding time step ‘i-1’. The system 110 is configured to initialize each song's path score ‘r.sub.n’, where ‘n’ corresponds to the song's node, to zero. A path score for the node ‘n’ at the time step ‘i’ is determined based on the following equation: r.sub.n.sub.(i)=(αu.sub.n.sub.(i-1)+((1−α)r.sub.n.sub.(i-1) (5)),
wherein each node represents a category, and wherein each asset in the asset portfolio is associated with a category ( Fig. 3, 4, 7, 8, ¶ 59, FIG. 4 shows a simplified representation 400 of a set of overlapping communities determined for a network of plurality of nodes and edges (such as the network 300 of FIG. 3), in accordance with an example embodiment of the present disclosure. The representation 400 is depicted to include an undirected graph including a plurality of nodes, such as the nodes A1, A2, A3, A4, A5, A6, A7 and A8, where each node represents a corresponding song. The graph also includes a plurality of edges, where each edge connects a pair of nodes. For example, Nodes A1 and A3 are connected by edge B1, nodes A1 and A2 are connected by edge B2, nodes A2 and A4 are connected by edge B3, nodes A3 and A4 are connected by edge B4, nodes A1 and A4 are connected by edge B5, nodes A5 and A6 are connected by edge B6, nodes A6 and A7 are connected by edge B7, nodes A7 and A8 are connected by edge B8, nodes A8 and A4 are connected by edge B9, nodes A4 and A5 are connected by edge B10, nodes A7 and A4 are connected by edge B11, and nodes A5 and A7 are connected by edge B12. As explained with reference to FIG. 2, the weight of each edge can be determined by the system 110 using equation (1) based on considering various similarity factors. ¶ 95-101);
determining a set of weights associated with the plurality of levels in of nodes, wherein each weight includes a directionality of traversal between the plurality of levels (¶ 63, At 502, the method 500 includes forming a graph using a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges. Each node represents an audio file and an edge of the plurality of edges represents a weighted summation of a set of similarity factors between a pair of audio files connected by the edge. The system is configured to determine the weight associated with each edge of the two connecting nodes based on various similarity factors using the equation (1) as explained with reference to FIG. 3. These weights are utilized by the system to determine the set of overlapping communities. ¶ 96-100, The system 110 is also configured to associate a weight attribute with each of the plurality of edges E8-E11 based on the time lapse between the two songs. In one example embodiment, the weight is a value between 0 and 1. The weight associated with each edge is utilized by the system 110 to determine a successive score for each song to measure successiveness to a song listened to at a preceding time step based on the directed graph. This is explained in detail hereinafter with reference to FIG. 8. ¶ 56-59);
for each pair of nodes of nodes, calculating the traversal cost between the pair of nodes (¶ 32, For example, a successive score for each audio file is determined to measure successiveness to the song/audio file listened to at the previous/preceding time step. Further, an updated path score is computed for each audio file based on the succession score. Thereafter, a probability distribution of the audio files is computed by the system based on their respective path scores. ¶ 96-102, The weight associated with each edge is utilized by the system 110 to determine a successive score for each song to measure successiveness to a song listened to at a preceding time step based on the directed graph. This is explained in detail hereinafter with reference to FIG. 8.);
storing a traversal data value based on the traversal cost associated with each pair of nodes in a database (¶ 5, the system categorizes the songs in a database into different moods/feels. The user will then choose a category that the user thinks matches closely to the user's feeling or desires, and the system plays the songs in that category in some given fashion. Note that there are a limited number of categories for the user to choose from, and the same songs in each category are recommended to any user that chooses a particular category. ¶ 45, The past music listening patterns and the information of specific feedback/user actions may be stored in a database accessible to the system (such as the system 110 of FIG. 1) in form of data samples. ¶ 96-100, 105, 111);
responsive to receiving a request for a recommended asset based on a first viewed asset in the asset portfolio at a user device, generating a set of recommended assets from the asset portfolio ranked by a composite score, the composite score computed using a weighted linear combination comprising a taxonomy traversal data value associated with a pair of nodes of the nodes retrieved from the database, wherein the first viewed asset includes a category comprising a node in the pair of nodes, a category transition historical data value, and a randomized data value (Fig. 3-7, ¶ 124, More particularly, a music recommendation system is disclosed that makes its inference from the contextual information of a user as well as information known about the user's past music listening patterns to determine the best songs to be played according to the user's current context. Existing methods for song recommendation require a manual input from the user to recommend/play a song for the user at any given time. For example, a seed song for a radio station may be requested from the user to initiate searching of similar songs that match with the seed song for recommending songs. ¶ 32-33, Ultimately, the plurality of audio files are ranked based on the various probability distributions computed for the plurality of audio files. Thereafter, one or more audio files from the ranking of the plurality of audio files are recommended by the system to the user through the UI of the user device in the application. ¶ 42-43, In some cases, the processing system 110 may be embodied within each of the user devices 108a-c for making the song recommendations locally, and in such cases, there is no need of receiving recommendations over the network 120. Alternatively, songs may be recommended from both sources for example, locally as well as over the network from the external processing system 110. ¶ 29, The data samples include the user's current contextual features and the user's past music listening patterns. The system is configured to compute a ranking of the plurality of audio files based on one or more probability distributions over the plurality of audio files. A brief explanation of the probability distributions is provided herein below, and is described in detail with respect to corresponding Figures. ¶ 45, The past music listening patterns and the information of specific feedback/user actions may be stored in a database accessible to the system (such as the system 110 of FIG. 1) in form of data samples. ¶ 48, At 208, one or more audio files from the ranking of the plurality of audio files are recommended to the user through a User Interface (UI) of the user device in the application. In one embodiment, based on the ranking, the processing system either recommends the song that is ranked first/highest, or it selects another song to add diversity and randomness to the recommendation process. In an alternate embodiment, the system may follow a set of rules for recommending songs from the ranking of the plurality of audio files, where the set of rules may even be customized by the user. ¶ 95-101, 112).
Aryan teaches a direct graph but does not specifically teach a hierarchy of nodes.
However, Harboe teaches a hierarchy of nodes (¶ 36, The graph structure may be any structure for illustrating a hierarchy, such as a tree structure., ¶ 51, Note that while in a tree structure, different branches never join together, and there are no loops. These restrictions should not limit the scope of this invention. Although the discussion herein concerns "trees" specifically, the invention encompasses the more general case of any directed graph with or without a designated starting node.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to modify Aryan to include/perform a hierarchy of nodes, as taught/suggested by Harboe. This known technique is applicable to the system of Aryan as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to generating music playlists. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Harboe would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Harboe to the teachings of Aryan would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such hierarchy structures into similar systems. Further, applying a hierarchy of nodes would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow the user an easier visual and a greater ease of adding or modifying data.
Aryan teaches a direct graph and a category of moods but does not specifically teach a plurality of categories.
However, Harboe teaches a plurality of categories (¶ 46-48, The graph structure may be any structure for illustrating a hierarchy, such as a tree structure., ¶ 51-53, As shown in FIG. 7, the options are assigned different categories according to different types of music, for example.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to modify Aryan to include/perform a plurality of categories, as taught/suggested by Harboe. This known technique is applicable to the system of Aryan as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to generating music playlists. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Harboe would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Harboe to the teachings of Aryan would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such category features into similar systems. Further, applying a plurality of categories would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow the user a system with additional data and a greater chance of finding a perfect recommendation.
Aryan teaches traversing nodes in a directed graph but does not specifically teach a that the traversing is done prior to the request.
However, Coupe teaches prior to receiving one or more requests at one or more user devices for one or more recommended assets in the asset portfolio, for each pair of nodes in the hierarchy of nodes, calculating the traversal cost between the pair of nodes (¶ 34, discloses generating a relevance score of a candidate path. ¶ 41-43, disclose generating a relevance score of a candidate path. ¶ 63-65, 69, 71-73);
wherein the traversal data value is retrieved, without traversing the directed graph in response to the request, using a database lookup indexed by the pair of nodes (¶ 34, discloses generating a relevance score of a candidate path. ¶ 41-43, disclose generating a relevance score of a candidate path. The data is stored in a data store. ¶ 51, 63-65, 69, 71-73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to modify Aryan to include/perform a traversal data value prior to a traversal or a request, as taught/suggested by Coupe. This known technique is applicable to the system of Aryan as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to using nodes to label and link information. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Coupe would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Coupe to the teachings of Aryan would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such traversal data features into similar systems. Further, applying traversal data prior to traversing would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow for a system with fewer required steps.
Regarding claims 22, 29, 36, Aryan teaches wherein calculating the traversal cost comprises accumulating one or more costs of traversing the nodes including one or more directional weights between the plurality of levels of nodes (¶ 46, 47, 56, 58, 96).
Aryan teaches a direct graph but does not specifically teach a hierarchy of nodes.
However, Harboe teaches a hierarchy of nodes (¶ 36, The graph structure may be any structure for illustrating a hierarchy, such as a tree structure., ¶ 51, Note that while in a tree structure, different branches never join together, and there are no loops. These restrictions should not limit the scope of this invention. Although the discussion herein concerns "trees" specifically, the invention encompasses the more general case of any directed graph with or without a designated starting node.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to modify Aryan to include/perform a hierarchy of nodes, as taught/suggested by Harboe. This known technique is applicable to the system of Aryan as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to generating music playlists. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Harboe would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Harboe to the teachings of Aryan would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such hierarchy structures into similar systems. Further, applying a hierarchy of nodes would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow the user an easier visual and a greater ease of adding or modifying data.
Regarding claims 23, 30, 37, Aryan teaches wherein a traversal data value comprises a normalized traversal cost (¶ 46, 70, 71, 99-100, disclose a normalized traversal cost).
Regarding claims 24, 31, 38, Aryan teaches wherein the category transition historical data value comprises an observed data metric of success from transitioning from one category to another category (¶ 29, 45, 66-68, 112, 115, 124, discloses the use of past music listening patterns to select a category). Also taught by Coupe (¶ 7).
Regarding claims 27, 34, 40, Aryan teaches wherein the composite score is normalized to a range between zero and one (¶ 67, 81, 96, 99, disclose normalized data). Also taught by Coupe (¶ 42, 51, 52).
Regarding claim 28, Aryan teaches one or more computing processors; one or more non-transitory computer readable media storing a program of instructions that is executable by the one or more computing processors to perform (Fig. 1, 12, ¶ 36, 97);
receiving a category taxonomy associated with an asset portfolio (Fig. 3-7, ¶ 56-58, In at least one embodiment, the system 110 is configured to assign a weight attribute to each edge of the plurality of edges… The value of the weight attribute, in turn, is a weighted summation of a set of similarity factors between the two nodes (i.e., two songs) being connected via the associated edge. ¶ 109, 113-114, disclose a list of suggested songs. ¶ 60-61, 63, 84);
the category taxonomy having categories expressed as nodes in a directed graph (Fig. 3, 4, 7, 8, ¶ 96, FIG. 7 shows a simplified representation of a directed graph 700 formed using a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges, in accordance with an example embodiment of the present disclosure. In at least one embodiment, the system 110 is configured to form the directed graph 700 for arranging the plurality of songs based on a specific order. As shown, the directed graph 700 includes a plurality of nodes such as S4, S5, S6 and S7 representing corresponding songs and a plurality of directed edges such as E8, E9, E10 and E11 connecting the pair of nodes. It is noted that a directed edge between two nodes (songs) represents that the two songs were played and liked during a predefined time interval and the direction of the edge indicates the node that the edge originates from is the song that was played before the second node/second song. For example, edge E8 represents song S4 was played before song S6, edge E9 represents song S4 was played before song S5, edge E10 represents song S6 was played before song S7 and edge E11 represents song S4 was played before song S7. The system 110 is also configured to associate a weight attribute with each of the plurality of edges E8-E11 based on the time lapse between the two songs. In one example embodiment, the weight is a value between 0 and 1. The weight associated with each edge is utilized by the system 110 to determine a successive score for each song to measure successiveness to a song listened to at a preceding time step based on the directed graph. This is explained in detail hereinafter with reference to FIG. 8. ¶ 98-100, At 802, a directed graph is formed using a plurality of nodes and a plurality of directed edges. Each node represents an audio file and a directed edge from the plurality of directed edges originating from a first node to a second node represents a first audio file corresponding to the first node being played before a second audio file corresponding to the second node. In an embodiment, all the nodes that form the directed graph, represent audio files (songs) that are liked by the user. The system (e.g. the system 110) is configured to form a directed graph such as the directed graph 700 of the plurality of nodes (S4-S8) and the plurality of directed edges (E8-E11) as explained with reference to FIG. 7. ¶ 55, 59),
the nodes having a plurality of levels, wherein a traversal cost between nodes is determined based on traversing the directed graph (¶ 96, FIG. 7 shows a simplified representation of a directed graph 700 formed using a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges, in accordance with an example embodiment of the present disclosure. In at least one embodiment, the system 110 is configured to form the directed graph 700 for arranging the plurality of songs based on a specific order. As shown, the directed graph 700 includes a plurality of nodes such as S4, S5, S6 and S7 representing corresponding songs and a plurality of directed edges such as E8, E9, E10 and E11 connecting the pair of nodes. It is noted that a directed edge between two nodes (songs) represents that the two songs were played and liked during a predefined time interval and the direction of the edge indicates the node that the edge originates from is the song that was played before the second node/second song. For example, edge E8 represents song S4 was played before song S6, edge E9 represents song S4 was played before song S5, edge E10 represents song S6 was played before song S7 and edge E11 represents song S4 was played before song S7. The system 110 is also configured to associate a weight attribute with each of the plurality of edges E8-E11 based on the time lapse between the two songs. In one example embodiment, the weight is a value between 0 and 1. The weight associated with each edge is utilized by the system 110 to determine a successive score for each song to measure successiveness to a song listened to at a preceding time step based on the directed graph. This is explained in detail hereinafter with reference to FIG. 8. ¶ 98-102, At 808, at the time step ‘i’, a path score for each node is computed based on the successive score determined at the time step ‘i’ and a preceding path score computed at the preceding time step ‘i-1’. The system 110 is configured to initialize each song's path score ‘r.sub.n’, where ‘n’ corresponds to the song's node, to zero. A path score for the node ‘n’ at the time step ‘i’ is determined based on the following equation: r.sub.n.sub.(i)=(αu.sub.n.sub.(i-1)+((1−α)r.sub.n.sub.(i-1)(5)),
wherein each node represents a category, and wherein each asset in the asset portfolio is associated with a category ( Fig. 3, 4, 7, 8, ¶ 59, FIG. 4 shows a simplified representation 400 of a set of overlapping communities determined for a network of plurality of nodes and edges (such as the network 300 of FIG. 3), in accordance with an example embodiment of the present disclosure. The representation 400 is depicted to include an undirected graph including a plurality of nodes, such as the nodes A1, A2, A3, A4, A5, A6, A7 and A8, where each node represents a corresponding song. The graph also includes a plurality of edges, where each edge connects a pair of nodes. For example, Nodes A1 and A3 are connected by edge B1, nodes A1 and A2 are connected by edge B2, nodes A2 and A4 are connected by edge B3, nodes A3 and A4 are connected by edge B4, nodes A1 and A4 are connected by edge B5, nodes A5 and A6 are connected by edge B6, nodes A6 and A7 are connected by edge B7, nodes A7 and A8 are connected by edge B8, nodes A8 and A4 are connected by edge B9, nodes A4 and A5 are connected by edge B10, nodes A7 and A4 are connected by edge B11, and nodes A5 and A7 are connected by edge B12. As explained with reference to FIG. 2, the weight of each edge can be determined by the system 110 using equation (1) based on considering various similarity factors. ¶ 95-101);
determining a set of weights associated with the plurality of levels in of nodes, wherein each weight includes a directionality of traversal between the plurality of levels (¶ 63, At 502, the method 500 includes forming a graph using a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges. Each node represents an audio file and an edge of the plurality of edges represents a weighted summation of a set of similarity factors between a pair of audio files connected by the edge. The system is configured to determine the weight associated with each edge of the two connecting nodes based on various similarity factors using the equation (1) as explained with reference to FIG. 3. These weights are utilized by the system to determine the set of overlapping communities. ¶ 96-100, The system 110 is also configured to associate a weight attribute with each of the plurality of edges E8-E11 based on the time lapse between the two songs. In one example embodiment, the weight is a value between 0 and 1. The weight associated with each edge is utilized by the system 110 to determine a successive score for each song to measure successiveness to a song listened to at a preceding time step based on the directed graph. This is explained in detail hereinafter with reference to FIG. 8. ¶ 56-59);
for each pair of nodes of nodes, calculating the traversal cost between the pair of nodes (¶ 32, For example, a successive score for each audio file is determined to measure successiveness to the song/audio file listened to at the previous/preceding time step. Further, an updated path score is computed for each audio file based on the succession score. Thereafter, a probability distribution of the audio files is computed by the system based on their respective path scores. ¶ 96-102, The weight associated with each edge is utilized by the system 110 to determine a successive score for each song to measure successiveness to a song listened to at a preceding time step based on the directed graph. This is explained in detail hereinafter with reference to FIG. 8.);
storing a traversal data value based on the traversal cost associated with each pair of nodes in a database (¶ 5, the system categorizes the songs in a database into different moods/feels. The user will then choose a category that the user thinks matches closely to the user's feeling or desires, and the system plays the songs in that category in some given fashion. Note that there are a limited number of categories for the user to choose from, and the same songs in each category are recommended to any user that chooses a particular category. ¶ 45, The past music listening patterns and the information of specific feedback/user actions may be stored in a database accessible to the system (such as the system 110 of FIG. 1) in form of data samples. ¶ 96-100, 105, 111);
responsive to receiving a request for a recommended asset based on a first viewed asset in the asset portfolio at a user device, generating a set of recommended assets from the asset portfolio ranked by a composite score, the composite score computed using a weighted linear combination comprising a taxonomy traversal data value associated with a pair of nodes of the nodes retrieved from the database, wherein the first viewed asset includes a category comprising a node in the pair of nodes, a category transition historical data value, and a randomized data value (Fig. 3-7, ¶ 124, More particularly, a music recommendation system is disclosed that makes its inference from the contextual information of a user as well as information known about the user's past music listening patterns to determine the best songs to be played according to the user's current context. Existing methods for song recommendation require a manual input from the user to recommend/play a song for the user at any given time. For example, a seed song for a radio station may be requested from the user to initiate searching of similar songs that match with the seed song for recommending songs. ¶ 32-33, Ultimately, the plurality of audio files are ranked based on the various probability distributions computed for the plurality of audio files. Thereafter, one or more audio files from the ranking of the plurality of audio files are recommended by the system to the user through the UI of the user device in the application. ¶ 42-43, In some cases, the processing system 110 may be embodied within each of the user devices 108a-c for making the song recommendations locally, and in such cases, there is no need of receiving recommendations over the network 120. Alternatively, songs may be recommended from both sources for example, locally as well as over the network from the external processing system 110. ¶ 29, The data samples include the user's current contextual features and the user's past music listening patterns. The system is configured to compute a ranking of the plurality of audio files based on one or more probability distributions over the plurality of audio files. A brief explanation of the probability distributions is provided herein below, and is described in detail with respect to corresponding Figures. ¶ 45, The past music listening patterns and the information of specific feedback/user actions may be stored in a database accessible to the system (such as the system 110 of FIG. 1) in form of data samples. ¶ 48, At 208, one or more audio files from the ranking of the plurality of audio files are recommended to the user through a User Interface (UI) of the user device in the application. In one embodiment, based on the ranking, the processing system either recommends the song that is ranked first/highest, or it selects another song to add diversity and randomness to the recommendation process. In an alternate embodiment, the system may follow a set of rules for recommending songs from the ranking of the plurality of audio files, where the set of rules may even be customized by the user. ¶ 95-101, 112).
Aryan teaches a direct graph but does not specifically teach a hierarchy of nodes.
However, Harboe teaches a hierarchy of nodes (¶ 36, The graph structure may be any structure for illustrating a hierarchy, such as a tree structure., ¶ 51, Note that while in a tree structure, different branches never join together, and there are no loops. These restrictions should not limit the scope of this invention. Although the discussion herein concerns "trees" specifically, the invention encompasses the more general case of any directed graph with or without a designated starting node.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to modify Aryan to include/perform a hierarchy of nodes, as taught/suggested by Harboe. This known technique is applicable to the system of Aryan as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to generating music playlists. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Harboe would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Harboe to the teachings of Aryan would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such hierarchy structures into similar systems. Further, applying a hierarchy of nodes would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow the user an easier visual and a greater ease of adding or modifying data.
Aryan teaches a direct graph but does not specifically teach a plurality of categories.
However, Harboe teaches a plurality of categories (¶ 46-48, The graph structure may be any structure for illustrating a hierarchy, such as a tree structure., ¶ 51-53, As shown in FIG. 7, the options are assigned different categories according to different types of music, for example.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to modify Aryan to include/perform a plurality of categories, as taught/suggested by Harboe. This known technique is applicable to the system of Aryan as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to generating music playlists. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Harboe would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Harboe to the teachings of Aryan would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such category features into similar systems. Further, applying a plurality of categories would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow the user a system with additional data and a greater chance of finding a perfect recommendation.
Aryan teaches traversing nodes in a directed graph but does not specifically teach a that the traversing is done prior to the request.
However, Coupe teaches prior to receiving one or more requests at one or more user devices for one or more recommended assets in the asset portfolio, for each pair of nodes in the hierarchy of nodes, calculating the traversal cost between the pair of nodes, (¶ 34, discloses generating a relevance score of a candidate path. ¶ 41-43, disclose generating a relevance score of a candidate path. ¶ 63-65, 69, 71-73);
wherein the traversal data value is retrieved, without traversing the directed graph in response to the request, using a database lookup indexed by the pair of nodes (¶ 34, discloses generating a relevance score of a candidate path. ¶ 41-43, disclose generating a relevance score of a candidate path. The data is stored in a data store. ¶ 51, 63-65, 69, 71-73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to modify Aryan to include/perform a traversal data value prior to a traversal or a request, as taught/suggested by Coupe. This known technique is applicable to the system of Aryan as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to using nodes to label and link information. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Coupe would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Coupe to the teachings of Aryan would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such traversal data features into similar systems. Further, applying traversal data prior to traversing would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow for a system with fewer required steps.
Regarding claim 35, Aryan teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media, storing one or more sequences of instructions, which when executed by one or more processors cause performance (Fig. 1, 12, ¶ 36, 97, 125, 126);
receiving a category taxonomy associated with an asset portfolio (Fig. 3-7, ¶ 56-58, In at least one embodiment, the system 110 is configured to assign a weight attribute to each edge of the plurality of edges… The value of the weight attribute, in turn, is a weighted summation of a set of similarity factors between the two nodes (i.e., two songs) being connected via the associated edge. ¶ 109, 113-114, disclose a list of suggested songs. ¶ 60-61, 63, 84);
the category taxonomy having categories expressed as nodes in a directed graph (Fig. 3, 4, 7, 8, ¶ 96, FIG. 7 shows a simplified representation of a directed graph 700 formed using a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges, in accordance with an example embodiment of the present disclosure. In at least one embodiment, the system 110 is configured to form the directed graph 700 for arranging the plurality of songs based on a specific order. As shown, the directed graph 700 includes a plurality of nodes such as S4, S5, S6 and S7 representing corresponding songs and a plurality of directed edges such as E8, E9, E10 and E11 connecting the pair of nodes. It is noted that a directed edge between two nodes (songs) represents that the two songs were played and liked during a predefined time interval and the direction of the edge indicates the node that the edge originates from is the song that was played before the second node/second song. For example, edge E8 represents song S4 was played before song S6, edge E9 represents song S4 was played before song S5, edge E10 represents song S6 was played before song S7 and edge E11 represents song S4 was played before song S7. The system 110 is also configured to associate a weight attribute with each of the plurality of edges E8-E11 based on the time lapse between the two songs. In one example embodiment, the weight is a value between 0 and 1. The weight associated with each edge is utilized by the system 110 to determine a successive score for each song to measure successiveness to a song listened to at a preceding time step based on the directed graph. This is explained in detail hereinafter with reference to FIG. 8. ¶ 98-100, At 802, a directed graph is formed using a plurality of nodes and a plurality of directed edges. Each node represents an audio file and a directed edge from the plurality of directed edges originating from a first node to a second node represents a first audio file corresponding to the first node being played before a second audio file corresponding to the second node. In an embodiment, all the nodes that form the directed graph, represent audio files (songs) that are liked by the user. The system (e.g. the system 110) is configured to form a directed graph such as the directed graph 700 of the plurality of nodes (S4-S8) and the plurality of directed edges (E8-E11) as explained with reference to FIG. 7. ¶ 55, 59),
the nodes having a plurality of levels, wherein a traversal cost between nodes is determined based on traversing the directed graph (¶ 96, FIG. 7 shows a simplified representation of a directed graph 700 formed using a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges, in accordance with an example embodiment of the present disclosure. In at least one embodiment, the system 110 is configured to form the directed graph 700 for arranging the plurality of songs based on a specific order. As shown, the directed graph 700 includes a plurality of nodes such as S4, S5, S6 and S7 representing corresponding songs and a plurality of directed edges such as E8, E9, E10 and E11 connecting the pair of nodes. It is noted that a directed edge between two nodes (songs) represents that the two songs were played and liked during a predefined time interval and the direction of the edge indicates the node that the edge originates from is the song that was played before the second node/second song. For example, edge E8 represents song S4 was played before song S6, edge E9 represents song S4 was played before song S5, edge E10 represents song S6 was played before song S7 and edge E11 represents song S4 was played before song S7. The system 110 is also configured to associate a weight attribute with each of the plurality of edges E8-E11 based on the time lapse between the two songs. In one example embodiment, the weight is a value between 0 and 1. The weight associated with each edge is utilized by the system 110 to determine a successive score for each song to measure successiveness to a song listened to at a preceding time step based on the directed graph. This is explained in detail hereinafter with reference to FIG. 8. ¶ 98-102, At 808, at the time step ‘i’, a path score for each node is computed based on the successive score determined at the time step ‘i’ and a preceding path score computed at the preceding time step ‘i-1’. The system 110 is configured to initialize each song's path score ‘r.sub.n’, where ‘n’ corresponds to the song's node, to zero. A path score for the node ‘n’ at the time step ‘i’ is determined based on the following equation: r.sub.n.sub.(i)=(αu.sub.n.sub.(i-1)+((1−α)r.sub.n.sub.(i-1) (5)),
wherein each node represents a category, and wherein each asset in the asset portfolio is associated with a category ( Fig. 3, 4, 7, 8, ¶ 59, FIG. 4 shows a simplified representation 400 of a set of overlapping communities determined for a network of plurality of nodes and edges (such as the network 300 of FIG. 3), in accordance with an example embodiment of the present disclosure. The representation 400 is depicted to include an undirected graph including a plurality of nodes, such as the nodes A1, A2, A3, A4, A5, A6, A7 and A8, where each node represents a corresponding song. The graph also includes a plurality of edges, where each edge connects a pair of nodes. For example, Nodes A1 and A3 are connected by edge B1, nodes A1 and A2 are connected by edge B2, nodes A2 and A4 are connected by edge B3, nodes A3 and A4 are connected by edge B4, nodes A1 and A4 are connected by edge B5, nodes A5 and A6 are connected by edge B6, nodes A6 and A7 are connected by edge B7, nodes A7 and A8 are connected by edge B8, nodes A8 and A4 are connected by edge B9, nodes A4 and A5 are connected by edge B10, nodes A7 and A4 are connected by edge B11, and nodes A5 and A7 are connected by edge B12. As explained with reference to FIG. 2, the weight of each edge can be determined by the system 110 using equation (1) based on considering various similarity factors. ¶ 95-101);
determining a set of weights associated with the plurality of levels in of nodes, wherein each weight includes a directionality of traversal between the plurality of levels (¶ 63, At 502, the method 500 includes forming a graph using a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges. Each node represents an audio file and an edge of the plurality of edges represents a weighted summation of a set of similarity factors between a pair of audio files connected by the edge. The system is configured to determine the weight associated with each edge of the two connecting nodes based on various similarity factors using the equation (1) as explained with reference to FIG. 3. These weights are utilized by the system to determine the set of overlapping communities. ¶ 96-100, The system 110 is also configured to associate a weight attribute with each of the plurality of edges E8-E11 based on the time lapse between the two songs. In one example embodiment, the weight is a value between 0 and 1. The weight associated with each edge is utilized by the system 110 to determine a successive score for each song to measure successiveness to a song listened to at a preceding time step based on the directed graph. This is explained in detail hereinafter with reference to FIG. 8. ¶ 56-59);
for each pair of nodes of nodes, calculating the traversal cost between the pair of nodes (¶ 32, For example, a successive score for each audio file is determined to measure successiveness to the song/audio file listened to at the previous/preceding time step. Further, an updated path score is computed for each audio file based on the succession score. Thereafter, a probability distribution of the audio files is computed by the system based on their respective path scores. ¶ 96-102, The weight associated with each edge is utilized by the system 110 to determine a successive score for each song to measure successiveness to a song listened to at a preceding time step based on the directed graph. This is explained in detail hereinafter with reference to FIG. 8.);
storing a traversal data value based on the traversal cost associated with each pair of nodes in a database (¶ 5, the system categorizes the songs in a database into different moods/feels. The user will then choose a category that the user thinks matches closely to the user's feeling or desires, and the system plays the songs in that category in some given fashion. Note that there are a limited number of categories for the user to choose from, and the same songs in each category are recommended to any user that chooses a particular category. ¶ 45, The past music listening patterns and the information of specific feedback/user actions may be stored in a database accessible to the system (such as the system 110 of FIG. 1) in form of data samples. ¶ 96-100, 105, 111);
responsive to receiving a request for a recommended asset based on a first viewed asset in the asset portfolio at a user device, generating a set of recommended assets from the asset portfolio ranked by a composite score, the composite score computed using a weighted linear combination comprising a taxonomy traversal data value associated with a pair of nodes of the nodes retrieved from the database, wherein the first viewed asset includes a category comprising a node in the pair of nodes, a category transition historical data value, and a randomized data value (Fig. 3-7, ¶ 124, More particularly, a music recommendation system is disclosed that makes its inference from the contextual information of a user as well as information known about the user's past music listening patterns to determine the best songs to be played according to the user's current context. Existing methods for song recommendation require a manual input from the user to recommend/play a song for the user at any given time. For example, a seed song for a radio station may be requested from the user to initiate searching of similar songs that match with the seed song for recommending songs. ¶ 32-33, Ultimately, the plurality of audio files are ranked based on the various probability distributions computed for the plurality of audio files. Thereafter, one or more audio files from the ranking of the plurality of audio files are recommended by the system to the user through the UI of the user device in the application. ¶ 42-43, In some cases, the processing system 110 may be embodied within each of the user devices 108a-c for making the song recommendations locally, and in such cases, there is no need of receiving recommendations over the network 120. Alternatively, songs may be recommended from both sources for example, locally as well as over the network from the external processing system 110. ¶ 29, The data samples include the user's current contextual features and the user's past music listening patterns. The system is configured to compute a ranking of the plurality of audio files based on one or more probability distributions over the plurality of audio files. A brief explanation of the probability distributions is provided herein below, and is described in detail with respect to corresponding Figures. ¶ 45, The past music listening patterns and the information of specific feedback/user actions may be stored in a database accessible to the system (such as the system 110 of FIG. 1) in form of data samples. ¶ 48, At 208, one or more audio files from the ranking of the plurality of audio files are recommended to the user through a User Interface (UI) of the user device in the application. In one embodiment, based on the ranking, the processing system either recommends the song that is ranked first/highest, or it selects another song to add diversity and randomness to the recommendation process. In an alternate embodiment, the system may follow a set of rules for recommending songs from the ranking of the plurality of audio files, where the set of rules may even be customized by the user. ¶ 95-101, 112).
Aryan teaches a direct graph but does not specifically teach a hierarchy of nodes.
However, Harboe teaches a hierarchy of nodes (¶ 36, The graph structure may be any structure for illustrating a hierarchy, such as a tree structure., ¶ 51, Note that while in a tree structure, different branches never join together, and there are no loops. These restrictions should not limit the scope of this invention. Although the discussion herein concerns "trees" specifically, the invention encompasses the more general case of any directed graph with or without a designated starting node.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to modify Aryan to include/perform a hierarchy of nodes, as taught/suggested by Harboe. This known technique is applicable to the system of Aryan as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to generating music playlists. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Harboe would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Harboe to the teachings of Aryan would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such hierarchy structures into similar systems. Further, applying a hierarchy of nodes would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow the user an easier visual and a greater ease of adding or modifying data.
Aryan teaches a direct graph but does not specifically teach a plurality of categories.
However, Harboe teaches a plurality of categories (¶ 46-48, The graph structure may be any structure for illustrating a hierarchy, such as a tree structure., ¶ 51-53, As shown in FIG. 7, the options are assigned different categories according to different types of music, for example.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to modify Aryan to include/perform a plurality of categories, as taught/suggested by Harboe. This known technique is applicable to the system of Aryan as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to generating music playlists. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Harboe would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Harboe to the teachings of Aryan would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such category features into similar systems. Further, applying a plurality of categories would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow the user a system with additional data and a greater chance of finding a perfect recommendation.
Aryan teaches traversing nodes in a directed graph but does not specifically teach a that the traversing is done prior to the request.
However, Coupe teaches prior to receiving one or more requests at one or more user devices for one or more recommended assets in the asset portfolio, for each pair of nodes in the hierarchy of nodes, calculating the traversal cost between the pair of nodes (¶ 34, discloses generating a relevance score of a candidate path. ¶ 41-43, disclose generating a relevance score of a candidate path. ¶ 63-65, 69, 71-73);
wherein the traversal data value is retrieved, without traversing the directed graph in response to the request, using a database lookup indexed by the pair of nodes (¶ 34, discloses generating a relevance score of a candidate path. ¶ 41-43, disclose generating a relevance score of a candidate path. The data is stored in a data store. ¶ 51, 63-65, 69, 71-73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to modify Aryan to include/perform a traversal data value prior to a traversal or a request, as taught/suggested by Coupe. This known technique is applicable to the system of Aryan as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to using nodes to label and link information. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Coupe would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Coupe to the teachings of Aryan would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such traversal data features into similar systems. Further, applying traversal data prior to traversing would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow for a system with fewer required steps.
Claims 25, 26, 32, 33, 39, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aryan (US 20180081968 A1) in view of Harboe et al. (US 20080091721 A1) in view of Coupe et al. (US 20190287018 A1) in further view of Narvaez-Guarnier et al. (US 6098107 A).
Regarding claims 25, 32, Aryan teaches a traversal path between a specified pair of nodes by setting the traversal cost between the specified pair of nodes to a very large number (¶ 32, 55, 101-102).
Aryan does not specifically teach severing a traversal path.
However, Narvaez-Guarnier teaches severing a traversal path between a specified pair of nodes by setting the traversal cost between the specified pair of nodes to a very large number (col. 5, lines 37-65, Specifically, in initialization step 125b, when an edge e increases its weight represented by a variable .DELTA., e.g., the cost of forwarding a packet via edge increases, or the link (edge) is severed and its distance goes to infinity .infin., then the weight of that edge, W(e), is assigned the value of the old weight W(e) plus the weight change .DELTA.. If that edge e is already in the data structure T , i e., the previous existing shortest path tree structure, then a set of selected descendent nodes from the end node connected to that edge is identified and are herein referred to as germinal nodes, i.e.,…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to modify Aryan to include/perform severing a traversal path, as taught/suggested by Narvaez-Guarnier. This known technique is applicable to the system of Aryan as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to generating directed graphs for manipulating data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Narvaez-Guarnier would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Narvaez-Guarnier to the teachings of Aryan would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such severing a traversal path features into similar systems. Further, applying severing a traversal path would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow the user the ability to stop determining the value or cost of a certain feature when the cost is too high (not worth it to the user).
Regarding claims 26, 33, the combination of Aryan and Narvaez-Guarnier teaches a traversal path between a specified pair of nodes by setting the traversal cost between the specified pair of nodes to a very large number.
Aryan does not specifically teach wherein the very large number is infinity.
However, Narvaez-Guarnier teaches wherein the very large number is infinity (col. 5, lines 37-65, Specifically, in initialization step 125b, when an edge e increases its weight represented by a variable .DELTA., e.g., the cost of forwarding a packet via edge increases, or the link (edge) is severed and its distance goes to infinity .infin., then the weight of that edge, W(e), is assigned the value of the old weight W(e) plus the weight change .DELTA.. If that edge e is already in the data structure T , i e., the previous existing shortest path tree structure, then a set of selected descendent nodes from the end node connected to that edge is identified and are herein referred to as germinal nodes, i.e.,… col. 4, lines 44-50, col. 7, lines 19-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to modify Aryan to include/perform wherein the very large number is infinity, as taught/suggested by Narvaez-Guarnier. This known technique is applicable to the system of Aryan as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to generating directed graphs for manipulating data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Narvaez-Guarnier would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Narvaez-Guarnier to the teachings of Aryan would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such wherein the very large number is infinity features into similar systems. Further, applying wherein the very large number is infinity would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow the user the ability to stop determining the value or cost of a certain feature when the cost is too high (not worth it to the user).
Regarding claim 39, Aryan teaches a traversal path between a specified pair of nodes by setting the traversal cost between the specified pair of nodes to a very large number (¶ 32, 101, 102).
Aryan does not specifically teach severing a traversal path between a specified pair of nodes by setting the traversal cost between the specified pair of nodes to an infinite value.
However, Narvaez-Guarnier teaches severing a traversal path between a specified pair of nodes by setting the traversal cost between the specified pair of nodes to an infinite value (col. 5, lines 37-65, Specifically, in initialization step 125b, when an edge e increases its weight represented by a variable .DELTA., e.g., the cost of forwarding a packet via edge increases, or the link (edge) is severed and its distance goes to infinity .infin., then the weight of that edge, W(e), is assigned the value of the old weight W(e) plus the weight change .DELTA.. If that edge e is already in the data structure T , i e., the previous existing shortest path tree structure, then a set of selected descendent nodes from the end node connected to that edge is identified and are herein referred to as germinal nodes, i.e.,…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to modify Aryan to include/perform severing a traversal path, as taught/suggested by Narvaez-Guarnier. This known technique is applicable to the system of Aryan as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to generating directed graphs for manipulating data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Narvaez-Guarnier would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Narvaez-Guarnier to the teachings of Aryan would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such severing a traversal path features into similar systems. Further, applying severing a traversal path would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow the user the ability to stop determining the value or cost of a certain feature when the cost is too high (not worth it to the user, … col. 4, lines 44-50, col. 7, lines 19-32).
Other pertinent prior art includes Nair et al. (US 20110161409 A1), which discloses directed graph hierarchies. Mukhopadhyay et al. (US 11106728 B2) which discloses playlist ordering. Eksombatchai et al. (US 20230385338 A1) discloses facilitating the generation of recommendations by traversing a graph.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMIE H. AUSTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 3625
/JAMIE H AUSTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625