DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted 06/30/2025 have been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Response to Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the “ Applicant Arguments/Remarks” filed on 08/18/2025.
Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 12-13, 15, 18, 23, 25, 28, 30-41 are pending and examined in this Office Action (“OA”).
No claim has been amended and previously claims 3, 5-6, 8-11, 14, 16-17, 19-22, 24, 26-27, 29, have been added or cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2025have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument: Priority:
Applicant argues in substance “Applicant respectfully traverses this allegation and submits that the provisional application recites sufficient support for the non-provisional application. Applicant notes that the Office did not indicate which claims are allegedly unsupported by the provisional patent application.
Nonetheless, Applicant submits that the provisional application, which includes the Detailed Description, Claims, Figures, as well the Appendix provide support for each and every claim in the present non-provisional patent application. As such, Applicant respectfully requests the Office withdraw the lack of support assertion. ” ( See REMARKS). .
Examiner’s Response: Priority.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner’s didn’t see any addition document submission for priority document PRO 62/936,313. Original PRO 62/936,313 which was submitted on 11/15/2019 does not have support for following limitations,
“ identifying the default path loss reference signal as a quasi-co-location (QCL) reference signal of an activated transmission configuration information (TCI) state for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission having a lowest identifier in a downlink bandwidth based on a control resource set (CORESET) being not provided in the downlink bandwidth.”
If the applicant believe otherwise, the applicant must show where in PRO 62/936,313 has support for this limitation.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues in substance “independent claim 1 recites a method of wireless communications, the method comprising:
identifying a default path loss reference signal for the uplink transmission based on a determining that the spatial relation information and the path loss reference signal are not configured, wherein the default path loss reference signal corresponds to a reference signal resource index, and wherein identifying the default path loss reference signal comprises:
identifying the default path loss reference signal as a quasi-co-location (QCL) reference signal of an activated transmission configuration information (TCI) state for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission having a lowest identifier in a downlink bandwidth based on a control resource set (CORESET) being not provided in the downlink bandwidth;
(emphasis added). Amended independent claims 12, 23, and 30 recite similar features.
3GPPR11911561 and Yu, alone or in combination, do not teach or otherwise render obvious the above limitations as recited in amended independent claim 1.
In rejecting claim 1, the Office alleges that 3GPPR11911561 discloses the abovementioned claim features based on section 2.3.
3GPPR11911561 relates to enhancement on multi-beam operations, primarily targeting FR2 operation. See 3GPPR11911561, section 1. At the cited sections, 3GPPR11911561 discloses a default spatial relation for dedicated-PUCCH/SRS in FR2. Id at section 2.3.
Specifically, 3GPPR11911561 mentions a number of agreements made as part of RAN1#98, including for UEs supporting beam correspondence, if spatial relation info for dedicated PUCCH/SRS, except for SRS with usage = 'BeamManagement', is not configured in FR2, a default spatial relation for dedicated-PUCCH/SRS is applied. Id. However, the Office does not explicitly indicate where in 3GPPR11911561 the claimed feature of "the default path loss reference signal corresponds to a reference signal resource index", is allegedly mentioned.
Additionally, 3GPPR11911561 discloses that if spatial relation info for dedicated- PUCCH/SRS, except for SRS with usage = 'BeamManagement', is not configured in FR2, the applied default spatial relation for the dedicated-PUCCH/SRS is down-selected from a default TCI state or QCL assumption of PDSCH (i.e. the most recent slot and the lowest CORESET ID).
However, a teaching that, when spatial relation information is not explicitly configured, the UE applies a default spatial relation selected based on the most recent PDSCH transmission and the lowest CORESET ID, using either a default TCI state or a QCL (Quasi-Co-Location) assumption does NOT teach "identifying the default path loss reference signal as a quasi-co-location (QCL) reference signal of an activated transmission configuration information (TCI) state for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission having a lowest identifier in a downlink bandwidth based on a control resource set (CORESET) being not provided in the downlink bandwidth" (emphasis added) as recited in independent claim 1. This is because 3GPPR11911561 relates to determining a spatial relation when spatial relation information is not explicitly configured, while the above-quoted recitation from claim 1 relates to a default path loss reference signal.
As such, 3GPPR11911561, alone or in combination with Yu, fails to disclose or suggest that identifying a default path loss reference signal for the uplink transmission based on a determining that the spatial relation information and the path loss reference signal are not configured, wherein the default path loss reference signal corresponds to a reference signal resource index, and wherein identifying the default path loss reference signal comprises:
identifying the default path loss reference signal as a quasi-co-location (QCL) reference signal of an activated transmission configuration information (TCI) state for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission having a lowest identifier in a downlink bandwidth based on a control resource set (CORESET) being not provided in the downlink bandwidth .” (See REMARKS).
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims merely recites, “wherein the default path loss reference signal corresponds to a reference signal resource index, and wherein identifying the default path loss reference signal comprises:
identifying the default path loss reference signal as a quasi-co-location (QCL) reference signal of an activated transmission configuration information (TCI) state for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission having a lowest identifier in a downlink bandwidth based on a control resource set (CORESET) being not provided in the downlink bandwidth” without must detail explanation of “quasi-co-location (QCL) reference signal” or “a control resource set (CORESET” in the limitation of the priority document PRO 62/936,313.
As per section 2.1 section 2.3, of 3GPPR11911561 (which is cited by the examiner along with other supporting paragraphs here), Identifying or updating uplink PUSCH pathloss reference signal using power control. When spatial relation for Uplink is activated, uplink power control paraments for PUSCH can be active via MAC-CE (==a reference signal resource index) (section 2.1);
identifying the default path loss reference signal as a quasi-co-location (QCL) reference signal of an activated transmission configuration information (TCI) state for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission having a lowest identifier in a downlink bandwidth based on a control resource set (CORESET) being not provided in the downlink band width ( “2.3. Issue#2.3: Default spatial relation for dedicated-PUCCH/SRS in FR2 ”; “spatial relation for the PUCCH/SRS to follow a TCI-state/QCL of PDCCR'CSI-RS/SSB if spatial relation info of PUCCH/SRS is not configured in FR2 ”; “Alt.I: default TCI state or QCL assumption of PDSCH (e.g. the most recent slot and the lowest CORESETID) ”: [Section 2.3]).
Thus claim limitation as written, clearly is taught by cited prior art 3GPPR11911561.
Regarding all dependent claims: the applicant alleges that all dependent claims are allowable since they depend from all the independent claims above. The examiner respectfully disagrees in view of the above explanation of independent claims. Thus the rejection is deemed proper.
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551,32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994) The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. PRO, 62/936,313 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. None of the priority documents explicitly or implicitly disclose claim limitations as required by all independent claims. Therefore, the effective filing date of the application has been deemed to be the filing date, 03/06/2020, of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 12-13, 15, 23, 25, 30-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #98bis. R1-1911561 ( 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #98bis Chongqing, China, October 14th - 20th, 2019. R1-1911561; Agenda item: 7.2.8.3; Source: LG Electronics Title: Feature lead summary#4 of Enhancements on Multi-beam Operations Document for: Discussion and Decision, hereinafter as “3gppR11911561”; provided in IDS dated 01/16/2025) in view of YU et al. (US 20190261320 A1; hereinafter as “YU”).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, 3GPPR11911561 teaches A method of wireless communications (“Enhancements on Multi-beam Operations ”:[title]; ) comprising:
identifying a default path loss reference signal for the uplink transmission based on determining that the spatial relation information and the path loss reference signal are not configured, wherein the default path loss reference signal corresponds to a reference signal resource index, and wherein identifying the default path loss reference signal ( “Specify beam failure recovery for SCell with DU/UL as well as DL-only, where PCell can be operating in FRl as well as FR2 ”: [session 1; ]; supporting updated path loss in references signals for power control for PUSCH”; section 2.1; “Option 2: Path loss RS is associated/configured for downlink RS in spatial relation info. ”: section 2.1; “Issue#2.3: Default spatial relation for dedicated-PUCCH/SRS in FR2 ” “spatial relation for the PUCCH/SRS to follow a TCI-state/QCL of PDCCR'CSI-RS/SSB if spatial relation info of PUCCH/SRS is not configured in FR2 ”: : [section 2.3] ) comprises:
identifying the default path loss reference signal as a quasi-co-location (QCL) reference signal of an activated transmission configuration information (TCI) state for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission having a lowest identifier in a downlink bandwidth based on a control resource set (CORESET) being not provided in the downlink band width ( “2.3. Issue#2.3: Default spatial relation for dedicated-PUCCH/SRS in FR2 ”; “spatial relation for the PUCCH/SRS to follow a TCI-state/QCL of PDCCR'CSI-RS/SSB if spatial relation info of PUCCH/SRS is not configured in FR2 ”; “Alt.I: default TCI state or QCL assumption of PDSCH (e.g. the most recent slot and the lowest CORESETID) ”: [Section 2.3]).
3GPPR11911561 may not explicitly disclose,
Determining that spatial relation information and a path loss reference signal are not configured for an uplink transmission; and
performing the uplink transmission based on the default path loss reference signal.
YU, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
Determining that spatial relation information and a path loss reference signal are not configured for an uplink transmission (Figs. 2-3: “flow/algorithmic structure 200 may be performed/implemented by the UE 104”: [0041]; Fig. 2 elements 204, element 208, element 216, Check PUCCH-SpatialRelationinfo Configured? Is PathlossReferencesRS configured? “determining whether the PUCCH-spatialrelationinfo is configured”: [0043]’ “determined, at 208, that PUCCH-spatialrelationinfo is not configured”: [0045]; “determining whether the pathlossReferenceRS is configured”: [0046]; “at 216, that pathlossReferenceRS is not configured”: [0048], [0050]);
and performing the uplink transmission based on the default path loss reference signal (“FIG. 2 illustrates an operation flow/algorithmic structure 200 for PUCCH spatial DL reference resource selection according to various embodiments ”: [0041]; “At 220, the operation flow/algorithmic structure 200 may include selecting the DL resource indicated by the pathlossReferenceRS as the spatial DL reference resource for PUCCH transmission. As described above, when the spatial DL reference resource is selected, the corresponding target PUCCH resource can be transmitted using the same spatial domain filter that was used for the DL reception of the reference resource. ”: [0047]; Aforesaid “UE 104 generates and transmits a PUCCH transmission on a target PUCCH resource using the same spatial domain filter that was used for the DL reception of the reference resource”: [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of 3GPPR11911561 to include the above recited limitations as taught by YU . The suggestion/motivation would be to provide improved directional signal transmission or reception.: (YU ; [0003).
Regarding claim 12 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 23 and claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claims 2/13/31, the combination of 3GPPR11911561 and YU and , specifically, YU discloses: wherein the default path loss reference signal is identified based on a determination that the spatial relation information and the path loss reference signal are configured according to a synchronization signal block (SSB) for master information block (MIB) reading (“the DL reference resource can be selected to be the SSB in which the UE 104 successfully decodes the master information block (MIB). Some embodiments may select the DL reference resource to be a DL reference resource that is spatially quasi-co-located (QCLed) with the SSB in which the UE 104 successfully decodes the MIB”: [0028]; also path loss estimate is calculated by UE using RS Index for downlink BWP and configured in Block index: [0053] ).
Regarding claims 4/15/25/32, the combination of 3GPPR11911561 and YU , specifically, 3GPPR11911561 discloses: wherein the QCL signal corresponds to a QCL TypeD reference signal defining the TCL state ( “default TCI state or QCL assumption of POSCH (i.e. the most recent slot and the lowest CORESET JD) ”: section 2.3]; QCL TypeD- RSs: Section 2.4: “the default relation info is the RS of QCL-type D in tlle TCI-state configured to the CORESET ,vith lowest CORESET ID. ”: Section 3; R1-1910117 ).
Regarding claims 34/35/36/37, the combination of 3GPPR11911561 and YU , specifically, 3GPPR11911561 discloses: wherein identifying the default path loss reference signal further includes identifying the default path loss reference signal as a QCL reference signal of a TCI state ( “spatial relation for the PUCCH/SRS to follow a TCI-state/QCL of PDCCR'CSI-RS/SSB if spatial relation info of PUCCH/SRS is not configured in FR2 ”; “Alt.I: default TCI state or QCL assumption of PDSCH (e.g. the most recent slot and the lowest CORESETID) ”: :[section 2.3 ]).
Claims 7, 18, 28, 33, 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPPR11911561 and YU and further in view of Zhang et al (US 20190273637 A1 ; hereinafter as “Zhang”).
Regarding claims 7/18/28/33, the combination of 3GPPR11911561 and YU do not explicitly disclose, further comprising: determining whether a CORESET is configured on a component carrier from a component carrier list; and identifying a path loss reference signal as a QCL reference signal of a CORESET on the component carrier.
ZHANG, in the same field of endeavor, discloses: determining whether a CORESET is configured on a component carrier from a component carrier list; and identifying a path loss reference signal as a QCL reference signal of a CORESET on the component carrier. (“CSI-RS is QCLed with the downlink reference signal configured by pathlossReferenceRS in a SRS resource set, where pathlossReferenceRS is used to indicate the downlink reference signal used for uplink power control. [0044]”: “the aperiodic CSI-RS is QCLed with the reference signal configured in TCI state for a CORESET in latest slot with lowest ID if multiple CORESETs are configured. In another example, the aperiodic CSI-RS is QCLed with the reference signal configured in TCI state for a CORESET which includes the PDCCH triggering the CSI-RS”: [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of 3GPPR11911561 and YU to include the above recited limitations as taught by ZHANG. The motivation would be to improve and enhance QCLed with first CSI-AssociatedReportConfigInfo in the first triggering state (ZHANG, [0043], [0021]).
Regarding claims 38/39/40/41, the combination of 3GPPR11911561 and YU do not explicitly disclose, wherein identifying the default path loss reference signal comprises identifying the default path loss reference signal as a QCL association of the CORESET having a lowest index in the downlink bandwidth of a cell based on the CORESET being provided in the downlink bandwidth.
ZHANG, in the same field of endeavor, discloses: wherein identifying the default path loss reference signal comprises identifying the default path loss reference signal as a QCL association of the CORESET having a lowest index in the downlink bandwidth of a cell based on the CORESET being provided in the downlink bandwidth (The aperiodic CSI-RS is QCLed with the downlink reference signal configured by pathlossReferenceRS in a SRS resource set, where pathlossReferenceRS is used to indicate the downlink reference signal used for uplink power control.: [0044]; the aperiodic CSI-RS is QCLed with the reference signal configured in TCI state for a CORESET in latest slot with lowest ID if multiple CORESETs are configured [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of 3GPPR11911561 and YU to include the above recited limitations as taught by ZHANG. The motivation would be to improve and enhance QCLed with first CSI-AssociatedReportConfigInfo in the first triggering state (ZHANG, [0043], [0021]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411