Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9-11, filed 6/22/2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1, 2, 6-10 and 13-18 under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Davis in the US Patent Number US 5140257 A in view of XIAOJING WANG (Hereinafter, “Wang”) in the Patent Publication Number CN 202204614 U (DATE PUBLISHED 2012-04-25) and further in view of Lau et al. (hereinafter, “Lau”) in the US patent Number US 5565783 A and the rejection of Claims 11, 12, 19 and 20 under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Davis ‘257 A in view of Wang’614 U and Lau ‘783 A, as applied to claims 9 and 13 above, and further in view of Gaarder in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110010118 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 9-11, regarding the rejection of independent claims 1, 9 and 13 under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Davis in the US Patent Number US 5140257 A in view of XIAOJING WANG (Hereinafter, “Wang”) in the Patent Publication Number CN 202204614 U (DATE PUBLISHED 2012-04-25) and further in view of Lau et al. (hereinafter, “Lau”) in the US patent Number US 5565783 A, as applied to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 5/20/2025, that “The combination of Davis in view of Wang and further in view of Lau and Loftness does not appear to teach or suggest "wherein a wall of the housing is made from a semiconductive material having a thickness configured to allow the signal transmitted from inside the cavity to pass through the wall and such that the housing is free of corona discharge at 500 kV," as recited in Applicant's amended claim 1 and as similarly recited in Applicant's amended claims 9 and 13. Davis appears to disclose a system for rating the thermal or current carrying capacity of overhead electric transmission lines which includes a unit 30 including a housing 34 adapted to be removably clamped to a current carrying conductor, and a radio antenna 13 protruding outside the bottom of the housing 34 (see Davis, column 9, lines 14-21 and 62-68, and Figs. 1-3). However, Davis does (Remarks-Page 9) not appear to teach or suggest a wall of the housing 34 being made from a semiconductive material having a thickness configured to allow the signal transmitted from inside the cavity to pass through the wall and such that the housing is free of corona discharge at 500 kV. The Examiner, on page 9 of the Office Action, appears to point to a cavity of the housing 34 of Davis and argue that a signal may be transmitted from a radio antenna 13 through the cavity to an upper wall of the housing. Additionally, in rejecting claim 2, the Examiner appears to point to a clear silicon potting compound 241 encapsulating solar cells as being a semiconductive material. However, Davis does not appear to teach or suggest a thickness of the clear silicon potting compound 241.
Moreover, Applicant submits that because Davis appears to teach the radio antenna 13 protruding outside the bottom of the housing 34 so as to transmit a signal from outside the housing 34 (see Davis, column 9, lines 62-68, and Figs. 1-3), and further teaches the solar cells being mounted in an aluminum enclosure 125 or other electrically conductive, electric field shielding material, and a glass cover overlying the clear silicon potting compound 241 and solar cells and being coated with electrically conductive tin oxide (see Davis, column 21, lines 1-12, and Figs. 4 to 4B), it would not have been obvious to optimize a thickness of the clear silicon potting compound 241 so as to allow a signal transmitted from the radio antenna 13 to pass therethrough. Further, Wang, Lau, and Loftness do not appear to teach or suggest the above limitation. Applicant submits that there is no apparent reason why one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant's invention would have combined the teachings of Davis, Wang, Lau, and Loftness to have arrived at the claimed inventions of Applicant's amended claims 1, 9, and 13.
At least for the reasons explained above, Applicant respectfully submits that a prima facie case of obviousness has not been established with respect to amended claims 1, 9, and 13 because the combination of Davis in view of Wang, and further in view of Lau and Loftness does not appear to teach or suggest each and every limitation of these claims. As such, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection of claim 1, 9, and 13 be withdrawn and that these claims be allowed (Remarks-Page 10).
Each of dependent claims 2, 6-8, 10-12, and 14-20 depends (directly or indirectly) from one of independent claims 1, 9, and 13. As such, each of these dependent claims incorporates all of the terms and limitations of one of independent claims 1, 9, and 13 in addition to other limitations, which further patentably distinguish these claims over the cited references. Further, regarding claims 11, 12, 19, and 20, Gaarder does not appear to cure the deficiencies in Davis, Wang, Lau, and Loftness discussed above with respect to claims 9 and 13. For at least the reasons set forth above, Applicant submits that these dependent claims are patentable over the cited references. Applicant, therefore, respectfully requests that the rejections of claims 2, 6-8, 10-12, and 14-20 be withdrawn and that these claims be allowed (Remarks-Page 11).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9-11 (stated above), filed 6/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claim(s) 1, 9 and 13 have been fully considered and is not persuasive.
Applicant argues, “Davis does (Remarks-Page 9) not appear to teach or suggest a wall of the housing 34 being made from a semiconductive material having a thickness configured to allow the signal transmitted from inside the cavity to pass through the wall and such that the housing is free of corona discharge at 500 kV” which is not persuasive. Davis already discloses that the housing is corona free in high voltage. Davis discloses, “The exterior surface of the housing 34 is formed in a manner to eliminate sources of corona when the unit 30 is installed on high voltage transmission lines. The housing 34 may be formed by casting a zinc and aluminum alloy material, by forming sheet aluminum using a deep draw die or from an epoxy-like substance including an aluminum binder or from aluminum using a sand casting process. Preferably, the housing 34 is formed from an aluminum alloy as semiconductive material and is vapor blasted or burnished to ensure a smooth, corona free surface and is anodized to reduce oxidation; Column 9 Line 40-50)”. Then Davis discloses that the wall of the housing is made from silicon which is a semiconductive material. Therefore, the wall of the housing as the cover portion is made of semiconductive material. Applicant in the invention also discloses that the cover portion is made of semiconductive material and which has a thickness allows pass the signal. Therefore, for the broadest reasonable interpretation, although Davis does not recite that signal is passing through the wall however Davis also discloses that the wall is made of same material as the present invention and therefore the wall of Davis also can pass the signal; Figure 8: Modified Figure 8 of Davis above shows that the antenna is in the cavity and which transmits signal in the cavity and it passes everywhere and also through the wall 310 of the housing).
Although examiner explained that Davis discloses the limitation however the limitation in which applicant relies on that, “the housing having a thickness to allow the signal transmitted from inside the cavity to pass through the wall is free of corona discharge at 500 kV” is the manner of use of the wall of the housing or intended use of the wall of the housing and therefore no patentable weight. If the reference has all the structures as disclosed in the claim, then the manner of use of that element or structure is not required by the claim.
With respect to the intended use of the wall of the housing made of a semiconductive material having a thickness to allow the signal transmitted from inside the cavity to pass through the wall is free of corona discharge at 500 kV, it is to be noted that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Additionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, (In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531) and an “apparatus claim covers what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett- Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528, as explained above).
Applicant’s argument, “However, Davis does (Remarks-Page 9) not appear to teach or suggest a wall of the housing 34 being made from a semiconductive material having a thickness configured to allow the signal transmitted from inside the cavity to pass through the wall and such that the housing is free of corona discharge at 500 kV. The Examiner, on page 9 of the Office Action, appears to point to a cavity of the housing 34 of Davis and argue that a signal may be transmitted from a radio antenna 13 through the cavity to an upper wall of the housing.” Is not persuasive. Claim recites, “wherein a wall of the housing is made from a semiconductive material having a thickness configured to allow the signal transmitted from inside the cavity to pass through the wall”. Claim does not recite which way the signal goes and what is the purpose of the signal. Claim only recites that the wall allows to transmit the signal. Davis also discloses the wall of the housing made of semiconductive material and therefore the wall also allows to pass the signal. Therefore, for the broadest reasonable interpretation Davis discloses the limitation and claim does not recite any direction of the signal or any purpose of the signal to differentiate the present invention from the prior art reference. Again, the limitation which applicant is relying on is the manner of use of the device which is not required by the reference to reject. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argument, “Additionally, in rejecting claim 2, the Examiner appears to point to a clear silicon potting compound 241 encapsulating solar cells as being a semiconductive material. However, Davis does not appear to teach or suggest a thickness of the clear silicon potting compound 241” which is also not persuasive. Claim does not recite any dimension of the thickness. Claim only recites a thickness of the wall. All the wall have a thickness. Claim recites the thickness to provide that it allows to transmit signal. Davis also discloses the cover as the wall made of semiconductor material which also has a thickness to transmit signal. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Independent claims 1, 9 and 13 still can be rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Davis in the US Patent Number US 5140257 A in view of XIAOJING WANG (Hereinafter, “Wang”) in the Patent Publication Number CN 202204614 U (DATE PUBLISHED 2012-04-25) and further in view of Lau et al. (hereinafter, “Lau”) in the US patent Number US 5565783 A and Loftness in the US patent Number US 5381098 A, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Dependent claims 2, 6-8, 10, 14-18 and 21-23 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Davis in the US Patent Number US 5140257 A in view of XIAOJING WANG (Hereinafter, “Wang”) in the Patent Publication Number CN 202204614 U (DATE PUBLISHED 2012-04-25) and further in view of Lau et al. (hereinafter, “Lau”) in the US patent Number US 5565783 A and Loftness in the US patent Number US 5381098 A and dependent Claims 11, 12, 19 and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Davis ‘257 A in view of Wang’614 U and Lau ‘783 A, as applied to claims 9 and 13 above, and further in view of Gaarder in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110010118 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Claims 3-5 were allowed in the Non-Final office action mailed on 2/01/2024 is maintained and the reason for allowance is copied from the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 2/01/2024 and explained below.
For expedite prosecution, applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection if any further clarification is needed and any possible amendment to overcome the present rejection. Examiner suggests to amend independent claims 1, 9 and 13 and to incorporate the allowable dependent claim 4 and dependent claim 2 to make the claims allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 2, 6-10, 13-18 and 21-23 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Davis in the US Patent Number US 5140257 A in view of XIAOJING WANG (Hereinafter, “Wang”) in the Patent Publication Number CN 202204614 U (DATE PUBLISHED 2012-04-25) and further in view of Lau et al. (hereinafter, “Lau”) in the US patent Number US 5565783 A and Loftness in the US patent Number US 5381098 A.
Regarding claim 1, Davis teaches a dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor (Electric power transmission systems, especially those employing overhead electric power lines, and deals more particularly with a system for rating the current carrying capacity of the transmission lines and equipment on a real-time basis; Column 1 Line 14-19; Figure 1-10) comprising:
a housing [34] installable on an overhead transmission line [32] (The unit 30 includes a housing 34 adapted to be removably clamped to a current carrying conductor, such as the overhead power line conductor 32; Column 9 Line 19-22; the overhead power line conductor 32 as the overhead transmission line [32]), the housing [34] comprising:
a base portion [35] (The housing 34 is generally "C-shaped" in geometry and comprises a substantially rectangular base 35; Column 9 Line 28-29; Figure 1-6); and
a cover portion [310]+42+44 (The top portion shown in Figure 6 comprising raised section 310. Cover portion also comprises an upwardly extending rear column 40, and forward upper extension 42 which includes a downwardly turned nose 44; Column 9 Line 30-32; Figure 1-6) coupled to the base portion [35] and defining a cavity [37] of the housing [34] together with the base portion [35] (The upper extension 42 and nose 44 are spaced above the base 35 to define and opening or passageway 37 through which the conductor 32 may be passed during installation or removal of the unit 30 from the conductor 32; Column 9 Line 32-36), at least one of the cover portion [42+44] or the base portion [35] being movable relative to the other (By moving the jaws the cover portion and the base portion is moved relative to the other) between an open position of the housing in which a length of the overhead transmission line [32] is receivable in the cavity (The passageway 37, which facilitates installation of the unit 30 on the conductor 32, is selectively opened and closed; Column 9 Line 36-39; The unit 30 includes a housing 34 adapted to be removably clamped to a current carrying conductor, such as the overhead power line conductor 32; Column 9 Line 19-22; Power line conductor 32 is overhead power line), and a closed position of the housing [34] in which the length of the overhead transmission line [32] (The unit 30 includes a housing 34 adapted to be removably clamped to a current carrying conductor, such as the overhead power line conductor 32; Column 9 Line 19-22; the overhead power line conductor 32 as the overhead transmission line [32]) is retained in the cavity [37] (With the lower jaw 52 in a fully open position, hot stick 172 is used to lift the unit 30 onto the conductor 32 by passing through opening 37 until the upper jaws 50 rest upon the conductor 32. The lead screw 138 is then turned in order to move the lower jaw 52 upwardly into contact with the conductor 32. At this point, the conductor 32 is tightly gripped between the jaws 50, 52 and the unit is secured in place; Column 20 Line 29-36);
at least one sensor [88] (Temperature sensor 88) in Figure 8 supported by the housing [34] and configured to sense in real time at least one of a temperature, a position, a current, an acceleration, a vibration, a tilt, a roll, or a distance to a nearest object of the dynamic real time transmission line [32] monitor to a nearest object (Located in compartment 42b is a temperature sensor 88 in the form of a transducer for sensing the temperature of the conductor 32. A second temperature sensor 86 is mounted in compartment 42c for sensing the ambient temperature or another conductor temperature; Column 11 Line 9-13; FIG. 15, an additional sensor 243 may be provided in the unit 30 for sensing the magnitude of the current in line 32 in order to compute real-time thermal ratings; Column 21 Line 43-46; A sensor in the nature of an inclinometer 84 may be provided to measure magnitude of sag of the conductor 32. The inclinometer 84 measures the slope angle of the conductor 32 at the point of attachment of the unit 30 to the conductor 32; Column 22 Line 3-7); and
an antenna [13] in the cavity [65] (central opening 65) of the housing [34] (A radio antenna generally indicated at 13 defined by a cylindrical antenna tube 46 formed of aluminum or the like is secured to and extends downwardly from an antenna base 45 on the bottom of the housing 34; Column 9 Line 62-65; Antenna is placed in the bottom of the housing in the cavity of 65 of the housing), the antenna [13] configured to transmit a signal including information sensed by the at least one sensor away from the monitor in real time (Signal from the antenna goes through the cavity 65 of the housing 34 to the conductor 32 and penetrates to the second plate 310);
Figure 8: Modified Figure 8 of Davis
wherein a wall of the housing is made from a semiconductive material (The radiation sensor 124 may comprise eight silicon solar cells 123 assembled in an array and mounted on the top of a raised section 310 on the extension 42, immediately above the power supply compartment 42a; Column 20 Line 49-53; The cells are completely encapsulated in a clear silicon potting compound 241 which minimizes solar radiation reflections and electrically insulates the cells from the aluminum housing 125, and the special glass cover 126 overlying the cells 123; Column 21 Line 3-7; Cover portion 310 is encapsulated with silicon potting and a special glass cover the cells. Silicon is one type of semiconductor and therefore the wall of the housing as the cover portion is made of semiconductive material) having a thickness configured to allow the signal transmitted from inside the cavity to pass through the wall and such that the housing is free of corona discharge at high voltage (These sensors and the transmitter are enclosed in a corona-free housing and are powered by a power supply that includes a transformer core which surrounds and is inductively coupled with the monitored conductor; Abstract; Each sensor-transmitter unit consists of a corona free housing, a conductor clamping device, a power supply, one or more parameter sensors, one or more signal conditioning circuits, a modulator, an RF transmitter and an RF antenna. The corona free housing protects the electronic components installed therein from severe environmental conditions and high electric and magnetic fields. The housing is at the same electric potential as the power line, is free of corona and does not generate audible noise, or radio or television interference at high voltages; Column 4 Line 35-45; The exterior surface of the housing 34 is formed in a manner to eliminate sources of corona when the unit 30 is installed on high voltage transmission lines. The housing 34 may be formed by casting a zinc and aluminum alloy material, by forming sheet aluminum using a deep draw die or from an epoxy-like substance including an aluminum binder or from aluminum using a sand casting process. Preferably, the housing 34 is formed from an aluminum alloy as semiconductive material and is vapor blasted or burnished to ensure a smooth, corona free surface and is anodized to reduce oxidation; Column 9 Line 40-50; Therefore, the wall of the housing as the cover portion is made of semiconductive material. Applicant in the invention also discloses that the cover portion is made of semiconductive material and which has a thickness allows pass the signal. Therefore, for the broadest reasonable interpretation, although Davis does not recite that signal is passing through the wall however Davis also discloses that the wall is made of same material as the present invention and therefore the wall of Davis also can pass the signal; Figure 8: Modified Figure 8 of Davis above shows that the antenna is in the cavity and which transmits signal in the cavity and it passes through the wall 310 of the housing);
Again, the amended limitation that the housing having a thickness to allow the signal transmitted from inside the cavity to pass through the wall is free of corona discharge at 500 kV in which applicant is relying on is the manner of use of the wall of the housing or intended use of the wall of the housing and therefore no patentable weight. If the reference has all the structures as disclosed in the claim, then the manner of use of that element or structure is not required by the claim.
With respect to the intended use of the wall of the housing made of a semiconductive material having a thickness to allow the signal transmitted from inside the cavity to pass through the wall is free of corona discharge at 500 kV, it is to be noted that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Additionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, (In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531) and an “apparatus claim covers what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett- Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528, as explained above).
Davis teaches that the housing is free of corona discharge at high voltage (The exterior surface of the housing 34 is formed in a manner to eliminate sources of corona when the unit 30 is installed on high voltage transmission lines. The housing 34 may be formed by casting a zinc and aluminum alloy material, by forming sheet aluminum using a deep draw die or from an epoxy-like substance including an aluminum binder or from aluminum using a sand casting process. Preferably, the housing 34 is formed from an aluminum alloy as semiconductive material and is vapor blasted or burnished to ensure a smooth, corona free surface and is anodized to reduce oxidation; Column 9 Line 40-50).
However, Davis fails to teach that at least one sensor comprising a radar sensor configured to sense, through the base portion, a distance of the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor to a nearest object below the overhead transmission line and the antenna is entirely within the cavity of the housing and the housing is free of corona discharge at 500 kV.
Wang teaches a monitoring device for measuring conductor sag and conductor temperature of overhead transmission lines (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2), wherein
at least one sensor comprising a radar sensor [4] in Figure 1 (A power module, wherein the monitoring main control board is provided with a central processor; the radar ranging unit is provided with a high-speed sampling unit connected to the central processor, and a microwave radar ranging sensor connected to the high-speed sampling unit; Paragraph [0007] Line 4-6; The radar ranging unit is provided with a high-speed sampling unit 3 connected to the central processor 2 and a microwave radar ranging sensor 4 connected to the high-speed sampling unit 3; Paragraph [0016] Line 5-6) configured to sense, through the base portion (Preferably, the monitoring device is an integrated monitoring device, and its casing is a metal shell, which is installed on the conductor of the transmission line to be monitored; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-2; radar sensing unit is placed in the monitoring main control board, which is placed in the conductor of the overhead transmission line. Davis already discloses conductor is placed close to the base portion. Therefore, the distance measured by the radar ranging sensor through the base portion as the radar ranging sensor is placed above the base portion), a distance of the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor to a nearest object (ground, trees and object) below the overhead transmission line (The microwave radar ranging sensor uses the pulse method to measure distance. It emits electromagnetic waves controlled by the CPU of the monitoring main control board. When it encounters the ground, trees, buildings, etc., it reflects back, requiring a delay time T. Let the distance from the monitoring device to the measured object be L , the ranging unit emits a pulse and receives the returned electromagnetic wave within time T, then 2L=CT, where C is the electromagnetic wave propagation speed, T can be obtained by counting using the monitoring main control board, then L=CT can be obtained /2, find the distance from the monitoring device to the measured object (ground, trees, buildings), and you can find the actual sag of the conductor; Paragraph [0017] Line 7-14). The purpose of doing so is to monitor the conductor sag and to avoid the impact of the overhead power line conductor on the ground and trees caused by the increase in temperature or ice coating of the conductor, to transmit the monitoring data to a monitoring center through a short-distance or long-distance communication network, to ensure the safe operation of power lines.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Davis in view of Wang, because Wang teaches to include a radar sensor to determine the distance of the nearest object below the overhead transmission line monitors the conductor sag and avoids the impact of the overhead power line conductor on the ground and trees caused by the increase in temperature or ice coating of the conductor (Paragraph [0012]), transmits the monitoring data to a monitoring center through a short-distance or long-distance communication network, ensures the safe operation of power lines (Paragraph [0006]).
However, the combination of Davis and Wang does not teach that the antenna is entirely within the cavity of the housing and the housing is free of corona discharge at 500 kV.
Lau teaches devices for detecting and transmitting current and voltage fault information from power transmission and distribution lines to a control center, switching center or other designated ground station (Column 1 Line 12-15),
wherein the antenna is entirely within the cavity of the housing [4] in Figure 1 (In broad terms, the overhead sensor device, as shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, is comprised of an elongated housing 4 within which is contained electronic circuitry required for its operation. A dipole antenna 6 is located just under the surface of the housing for sending via IF radio signals data obtained by the sensors of the device concerning faults and power line characteristics and for receiving control or reprogramming signals sent back to the device from the remote ground monitoring and control station or other ground station; Column 5 Line 48-60). The purpose of doing so is to minimizing size and operation and maintenance cost, to manage battery maintenance and/or replacement at thousands of remote sensing locations, to detect faults over significant periods of time, to provide a compact, lightweight sensing device for an overhead power line that can be easily attached and removed from a power line and measure at least two of its operating characteristics.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the antenna disclosed by Davis in view of Wang as disclosed by Lau, because Lau teaches to include the antenna is entirely within the cavity of the housing minimizes size, operation and maintenance cost, manages battery maintenance and/or replacement at thousands of remote sensing locations, to detect faults over significant periods of time (Column 1 Line 64-67 & Column 2 Line 1-9), provides a compact, lightweight sensing device for an overhead power line that can be easily attached and removed from a power line and measure at least two of its operating characteristics (Column 2 Line 59-62).
Davis, Wang and Lau fail to teach that the housing is free of corona discharge at 500 kV.
Loftness teaches an apparatus for detecting and pinpointing the sources of sparking electromagnetic RF radiation emanating from high and extra high voltage power lines in the presence of high level corona (RF) radiations which are often present on such lines (Abstract), wherein
the housing is free of corona discharge at 500 kV (Point sources of high-level corona radiation are almost always present on EHV (extra-high-voltage) lines, those operating at 345 kV and above, and are frequently present on HV (high-voltage) lines, those operating at 115 kV and above).; Column 1 Line 10-14) (to prevent corona formation (self corona) on the portion of the housing which is brought up near the high voltage conductor and thus prevent resultant corona currents from flowing in the housing and being induced as RF noise into the instrument's intermediate (IF) and audio stages said stages which operate at lower frequencies and in the range of corona-noise emission frequencies. Self-corona is minimized on the housing by rounding all edges and covering the housing sides with paint or epoxy of suitable thickness; Column 3 Line 67-68 & Column 4 Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to make the apparatus as simple to operate as possible-with only one control, to prevent corona formation (self corona) on the portion of the housing which is brought up near the high voltage conductor and to prevent resultant corona currents from flowing in the housing, to minimize Self-corona on the housing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the housing as disclosed by Loftness in view of Davis, Wang and Lau, because Loftness teaches to provide the housing free of corona makes the apparatus as simple to operate as possible-with only one control (Column 1 Line 51-53), prevents corona formation (self corona) on the portion of the housing which is brought up near the high voltage conductor and prevents resultant corona currents from flowing in the housing, minimizes Self-corona on the housing (Column 3 Line 67-68 & Column 4 Line 1-9).
Regarding claim 2, Davis teaches a dynamic real time overhead transmission line [32] monitor, wherein
the cover portion [310] (the cover portion 310 as the wall of the housing) comprises the wall of the housing made from the semi conductive material (The radiation sensor 124 may comprise eight silicon solar cells 123 assembled in an array and mounted on the top of a raised section 310 on the extension 42, immediately above the power supply compartment 42a; Column 20 Line 49-53; The cells are completely encapsulated in a clear silicon potting compound 241 which minimizes solar radiation reflections and electrically insulates the cells from the aluminum housing 125, and the special glass cover 126 overlying the cells 123; Column 21 Line 3-7; Cover portion 310 as the wall is encapsulated with silicon potting and a special glass cover the cells. Silicon is one type of semiconductor).
Regarding claim 6, Davis teaches a dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor, wherein
the dynamic real time overhead transmission line [32] monitor is powered by a current of the transmission line (FIG. 15, an additional sensor 243 may be provided in the unit 30 for sensing the magnitude of the current in line 32 in order to compute real-time thermal ratings; Column 21 Line 43-46; The unit 30 includes a housing 34 adapted to be removably clamped to a current carrying conductor, such as the overhead power line conductor 32; Column 9 Line 19-22; the overhead power line conductor 32 as the overhead transmission line [32]).
Regarding claim 7, Davis teaches a dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor, further comprising
an electronics assembly in the housing (electronic components and/or circuit boards are mounted on the inside faces of the cover plates 62, 64, while the exterior faces of plates 62, 64 provide a surface for mounting guide tracks 66 which aid in confining the travel of the jaw opening and closing mechanism in a vertical direction; Column 10 Line 30-35) and being configured to receive the information from the at least one sensor and cause the antenna to transmit the signal including the information (The sensor-transmitter unit 30 which senses conductor temperature and up to 7 parameters transmits signals to a UHF receiver 208 which typically may be located in a power substation along with a multiplexer/scanner 210 as indicated previously, alternatively however, these signals may be transmitted to the substation using PLC signals through the transmission line 32 itself; Column 27 Line 8-14).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Davis, Lau and Loftness fails to teach a dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor, wherein the radar sensor has a range of about 45 m.
Wang teaches a monitoring device for measuring conductor sag and conductor temperature of overhead transmission lines (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2), wherein
at least one sensor comprising a radar sensor [4] in Figure 1 (A power module, wherein the monitoring main control board is provided with a central processor; the radar ranging unit is provided with a high-speed sampling unit connected to the central processor, and a microwave radar ranging sensor connected to the high-speed sampling unit; Paragraph [0007] Line 4-6; The radar ranging unit is provided with a high-speed sampling unit 3 connected to the central processor 2 and a microwave radar ranging sensor 4 connected to the high-speed sampling unit 3; Paragraph [0016] Line 5-6) configured to sense, through the base portion (Preferably, the monitoring device is an integrated monitoring device, and its casing is a metal shell, which is installed on the conductor of the transmission line to be monitored; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-2; radar sensing unit is placed in the monitoring main control board, which is placed in the conductor of the overhead transmission line. Davis already discloses conductor is placed close to the base portion. Therefore, the distance measured by the radar ranging sensor through the base portion as the radar ranging sensor is placed above the base portion), a distance of the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor to a nearest object (ground, trees and object) below the overhead transmission line (The microwave radar ranging sensor uses the pulse method to measure distance. It emits electromagnetic waves controlled by the CPU of the monitoring main control board. When it encounters the ground, trees, buildings, etc., it reflects back, requiring a delay time T. Let the distance from the monitoring device to the measured object be L , the ranging unit emits a pulse and receives the returned electromagnetic wave within time T, then 2L=CT, where C is the electromagnetic wave propagation speed, T can be obtained by counting using the monitoring main control board, then L=CT can be obtained /2, find the distance from the monitoring device to the measured object (ground, trees, buildings), and you can find the actual sag of the conductor; Paragraph [0017] Line 7-14). The purpose of doing so is to monitor the conductor sag and to avoid the impact of the overhead power line conductor on the ground and trees caused by the increase in temperature or ice coating of the conductor, to transmit the monitoring data to a monitoring center through a short-distance or long-distance communication network, to ensure the safe operation of power lines.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Davis, Lau and Loftness in view of Wang, because Wang teaches to include a radar sensor to determine the distance of the nearest object below the overhead transmission line monitors the conductor sag and avoids the impact of the overhead power line conductor on the ground and trees caused by the increase in temperature or ice coating of the conductor (Paragraph [0012]), transmits the monitoring data to a monitoring center through a short-distance or long-distance communication network, ensures the safe operation of power lines (Paragraph [0006]).
The combination of Davis, Lau and Loftness and Wang discloses the claimed invention except for the radar sensor has a range of about 45 m. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the radar sensor has the range of about 45 m, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 9, Davis teaches a dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor (Electric power transmission systems, especially those employing overhead electric power lines, and deals more particularly with a system for rating the current carrying capacity of the transmission lines and equipment on a real-time basis; Column 1 Line 14-19; Figure 1-10) comprising:
a dynamic real time overhead transmission line (The unit 30 includes a housing 34 adapted to be removably clamped to a current carrying conductor, such as the overhead power line conductor 32; Column 9 Line 19-22; the overhead power line conductor 32 as the overhead transmission line [32]) monitor [30] (Sensor transmitter unit 30) comprising:
a housing [34] installable on an overhead transmission line [32] ((The unit 30 includes a housing 34 adapted to be removably clamped to a current carrying conductor, such as the overhead power line conductor 32; Column 9 Line 19-22; the overhead power line conductor 32 as the overhead transmission line [32]) and comprising:
a base portion [35] (The housing 34 is generally "C-shaped" in geometry and comprises a substantially rectangular base 35; Column 9 Line 28-29; Figure 1-6); and
a cover portion [310]+42+44 (The top portion shown in Figure 6 comprising raised section 310. Cover portion also comprises an upwardly extending rear column 40, and forward upper extension 42 which includes a downwardly turned nose 44; Column 9 Line 30-32; Figure 1-6) coupled to the base portion [35] and defining a cavity [37] of the housing [34] together with the base portion [35] (The upper extension 42 and nose 44 are spaced above the base 35 to define and opening or passageway 37 through which the conductor 32 may be passed during installation or removal of the unit 30 from the conductor 32; Column 9 Line 32-36),
at least one sensor [88] (Temperature sensor 88) in Figure 8 configured to sense in real time at least one of a temperature, a position, a current, an acceleration, a vibration, a tilt, a roll, or a distance of the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor to a nearest object (Located in compartment 42b is a temperature sensor 88 in the form of a transducer for sensing the temperature of the conductor 32. A second temperature sensor 86 is mounted in compartment 42c for sensing the ambient temperature or another conductor temperature; Column 11 Line 9-13; FIG. 15, an additional sensor 243 may be provided in the unit 30 for sensing the magnitude of the current in line 32 in order to compute real-time thermal ratings; Column 21 Line 43-46; A sensor in the nature of an inclinometer 84 may be provided to measure magnitude of sag of the conductor 32. The inclinometer 84 measures the slope angle of the conductor 32 at the point of attachment of the unit 30 to the conductor 32; Column 22 Line 3-7); and
an antenna [13] in the cavity [65] (central opening 65) of the housing [34] (A radio antenna generally indicated at 13 defined by a cylindrical antenna tube 46 formed of aluminum or the like is secured to and extends downwardly from an antenna base 45 on the bottom of the housing 34; Column 9 Line 62-65; Antenna is placed in the bottom of the housing in the cavity of 65 of the housing), the antenna [13] configured to transmit a signal including information sensed by the sensor away from the monitor in real time (Signal from the antenna goes through the cavity 65 of the housing 34 to the conductor 32 and penetrates to the cover plate 310);
wherein a wall of the housing is made from a semiconductive material (The radiation sensor 124 may comprise eight silicon solar cells 123 assembled in an array and mounted on the top of a raised section 310 on the extension 42, immediately above the power supply compartment 42a; Column 20 Line 49-53; The cells are completely encapsulated in a clear silicon potting compound 241 which minimizes solar radiation reflections and electrically insulates the cells from the aluminum housing 125, and the special glass cover 126 overlying the cells 123; Column 21 Line 3-7; Cover portion 310 is encapsulated with silicon potting and a special glass cover the cells. Silicon is one type of semiconductor and therefore the wall of the housing as the cover portion is made of semiconductive material) having a thickness configured to allow the signal transmitted from inside the cavity to pass through the wall and such that the housing is free of corona discharge at high voltage (These sensors and the transmitter are enclosed in a corona-free housing and are powered by a power supply that includes a transformer core which surrounds and is inductively coupled with the monitored conductor; Abstract; Each sensor-transmitter unit consists of a corona free housing, a conductor clamping device, a power supply, one or more parameter sensors, one or more signal conditioning circuits, a modulator, an RF transmitter and an RF antenna. The corona free housing protects the electronic components installed therein from severe environmental conditions and high electric and magnetic fields. The housing is at the same electric potential as the power line, is free of corona and does not generate audible noise, or radio or television interference at high voltages; Column 4 Line 35-45; The exterior surface of the housing 34 is formed in a manner to eliminate sources of corona when the unit 30 is installed on high voltage transmission lines. The housing 34 may be formed by casting a zinc and aluminum alloy material, by forming sheet aluminum using a deep draw die or from an epoxy-like substance including an aluminum binder or from aluminum using a sand casting process. Preferably, the housing 34 is formed from an aluminum alloy as semiconductive material and is vapor blasted or burnished to ensure a smooth, corona free surface and is anodized to reduce oxidation; Column 9 Line 40-50; Therefore, the wall of the housing as the cover portion is made of semiconductive material. Applicant in the invention also discloses that the cover portion is made of semiconductive material and which has a thickness allows pass the signal. Therefore, for the broadest reasonable interpretation, although Davis does not recite that signal is passing through the wall however Davis also discloses that the wall is made of same material as the present invention and therefore the wall of Davis also can pass the signal; Figure 8: Modified Figure 8 of Davis above shows that the antenna is in the cavity and which transmits signal in the cavity and it passes through the wall 310 of the housing);
Again, the amended limitation that the housing having a thickness to allow the signal transmitted from inside the cavity to pass through the wall is free of corona discharge at 500 kV in which applicant is relying on is the manner of use of the wall of the housing or intended use of the wall of the housing and therefore no patentable weight. If the reference has all the structures as disclosed in the claim, then the manner of use of that element or structure is not required by the claim.
With respect to the intended use of the wall of the housing made of a semiconductive material having a thickness to allow the signal transmitted from inside the cavity to pass through the wall is free of corona discharge at 500 kV, it is to be noted that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Additionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, (In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531) and an “apparatus claim covers what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett- Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528, as explained above); and
a remote receiving device [208] in Figure 30 receiving the signal from the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor (The sensor-transmitter unit 30 which senses conductor temperature and up to 7 parameters transmits signals to a UHF receiver 208 which typically may be located in a power substation along with a multiplexer/scanner 210 as indicated previously, alternatively however, these signals may be transmitted to the substation using PLC signals through the transmission line 32 itself; Column 27 Line 8-14).
Davis teaches that the housing is free of corona discharge at high voltage (The exterior surface of the housing 34 is formed in a manner to eliminate sources of corona when the unit 30 is installed on high voltage transmission lines. The housing 34 may be formed by casting a zinc and aluminum alloy material, by forming sheet aluminum using a deep draw die or from an epoxy-like substance including an aluminum binder or from aluminum using a sand casting process. Preferably, the housing 34 is formed from an aluminum alloy as semiconductive material and is vapor blasted or burnished to ensure a smooth, corona free surface and is anodized to reduce oxidation; Column 9 Line 40-50).
However, Davis fails to teach that at least one sensor comprising a radar sensor configured to sense, through the base portion, a distance of the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor to a nearest object below the overhead transmission line and the antenna is entirely within the cavity of the housing and the housing is free of corona discharge at 500 kV.
Wang teaches a monitoring device for measuring conductor sag and conductor temperature of overhead transmission lines (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2), wherein
at least one sensor comprising a radar sensor [4] in Figure 1 (A power module, wherein the monitoring main control board is provided with a central processor; the radar ranging unit is provided with a high-speed sampling unit connected to the central processor, and a microwave radar ranging sensor connected to the high-speed sampling unit; Paragraph [0007] Line 4-6; The radar ranging unit is provided with a high-speed sampling unit 3 connected to the central processor 2 and a microwave radar ranging sensor 4 connected to the high-speed sampling unit 3; Paragraph [0016] Line 5-6) configured to sense, through the base portion (Preferably, the monitoring device is an integrated monitoring device, and its casing is a metal shell, which is installed on the conductor of the transmission line to be monitored; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-2; radar sensing unit is placed in the monitoring main control board, which is placed in the conductor of the overhead transmission line. Davis already discloses conductor is placed close to the base portion. Therefore, the distance measured by the radar ranging sensor through the base portion as the radar ranging sensor is placed above the base portion), a distance of the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor to a nearest object (ground, trees and object) below the overhead transmission line (The microwave radar ranging sensor uses the pulse method to measure distance. It emits electromagnetic waves controlled by the CPU of the monitoring main control board. When it encounters the ground, trees, buildings, etc., it reflects back, requiring a delay time T. Let the distance from the monitoring device to the measured object be L , the ranging unit emits a pulse and receives the returned electromagnetic wave within time T, then 2L=CT, where C is the electromagnetic wave propagation speed, T can be obtained by counting using the monitoring main control board, then L=CT can be obtained /2, find the distance from the monitoring device to the measured object (ground, trees, buildings), and you can find the actual sag of the conductor; Paragraph [0017] Line 7-14). The purpose of doing so is to monitor the conductor sag and to avoid the impact of the overhead power line conductor on the ground and trees caused by the increase in temperature or ice coating of the conductor, to transmit the monitoring data to a monitoring center through a short-distance or long-distance communication network, to ensure the safe operation of power lines.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Davis in view of Wang, because Wang teaches to include a radar sensor to determine the distance of the nearest object below the overhead transmission line monitors the conductor sag and avoids the impact of the overhead power line conductor on the ground and trees caused by the increase in temperature or ice coating of the conductor (Paragraph [0012]), transmits the monitoring data to a monitoring center through a short-distance or long-distance communication network, ensures the safe operation of power lines (Paragraph [0006]).
However, the combination of Davis and Wang does not teach that the antenna is entirely within the cavity of the housing and the housing is free of corona discharge at 500 kV.
Lau teaches devices for detecting and transmitting current and voltage fault information from power transmission and distribution lines to a control center, switching center or other designated ground station (Column 1 Line 12-15),
wherein the antenna is entirely within the cavity of the housing [4] in Figure 1 (In broad terms, the overhead sensor device, as shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, is comprised of an elongated housing 4 within which is contained electronic circuitry required for its operation. A dipole antenna 6 is located just under the surface of the housing for sending via IF radio signals data obtained by the sensors of the device concerning faults and power line characteristics and for receiving control or reprogramming signals sent back to the device from the remote ground monitoring and control station or other ground station; Column 5 Line 48-60). The purpose of doing so is to minimizing size and operation and maintenance cost, to manage battery maintenance and/or replacement at thousands of remote sensing locations, to detect faults over significant periods of time, to provide a compact, lightweight sensing device for an overhead power line that can be easily attached and removed from a power line and measure at least two of its operating characteristics.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the antenna disclosed by Davis in view of Wang as disclosed by Lau, because Lau teaches to include the antenna is entirely within the cavity of the housing minimizes size, operation and maintenance cost, manages battery maintenance and/or replacement at thousands of remote sensing locations, to detect faults over significant periods of time (Column 1 Line 64-67 & Column 2 Line 1-9), provides a compact, lightweight sensing device for an overhead power line that can be easily attached and removed from a power line and measure at least two of its operating characteristics (Column 2 Line 59-62).
Davis, Wang and Lau fail to teach that the housing is free of corona discharge at 500 kV.
Loftness teaches an apparatus for detecting and pinpointing the sources of sparking electromagnetic RF radiation emanating from high and extra high voltage power lines in the presence of high level corona (RF) radiations which are often present on such lines (Abstract), wherein
the housing is free of corona discharge at 500 kV (Point sources of high-level corona radiation are almost always present on EHV (extra-high-voltage) lines, those operating at 345 kV and above, and are frequently present on HV (high-voltage) lines, those operating at 115 kV and above).; Column 1 Line 10-14) (to prevent corona formation (self corona) on the portion of the housing which is brought up near the high voltage conductor and thus prevent resultant corona currents from flowing in the housing and being induced as RF noise into the instrument's intermediate (IF) and audio stages said stages which operate at lower frequencies and in the range of corona-noise emission frequencies. Self-corona is minimized on the housing by rounding all edges and covering the housing sides with paint or epoxy of suitable thickness; Column 3 Line 67-68 & Column 4 Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to make the apparatus as simple to operate as possible-with only one control, to prevent corona formation (self corona) on the portion of the housing which is brought up near the high voltage conductor and to prevent resultant corona currents from flowing in the housing, to minimize Self-corona on the housing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the housing as disclosed by Loftness in view of Davis, Wang and Lau, because Loftness teaches to provide the housing free of corona makes the apparatus as simple to operate as possible-with only one control (Column 1 Line 51-53), prevents corona formation (self corona) on the portion of the housing which is brought up near the high voltage conductor and prevents resultant corona currents from flowing in the housing, minimizes Self-corona on the housing (Column 3 Line 67-68 & Column 4 Line 1-9).
Regarding claim 10, Davis teaches a dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitoring system, wherein
the remote receiving device comprises at least one of a monitoring station or another dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor (The real-time data received from the units 30 at the substation is scanned at a preselected rate, converted from analog to digital form and is then multiplexed to a systems operation center via any suitable telecommunication link such as telephone, microwave, etc. The data received through the communication link at a systems operation center is input to a dynamic line capacity computer which may comprise by way of an example a microcomputer system 214 that performs real-time calculations using the received data; Column 27 Line 25-34).
Regarding claim 13, Davis teaches a method of dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor (Electric power transmission systems, especially those employing overhead electric power lines, and deals more particularly with a system for rating the current carrying capacity of the transmission lines and equipment on a real-time basis; Column 1 Line 14-19; Figure 1-10) the method comprising:
providing a dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor [30] on an overhead transmission line [32] (The unit 30 includes a housing 34 adapted to be removably clamped to a current carrying conductor, such as the overhead power line conductor 32; Column 9 Line 19-22; the overhead power line conductor 32 as the overhead transmission line [32]),
the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor [30] comprising:
a housing [34] (The unit 30 includes a housing 34 adapted to be removably clamped to a current carrying conductor, such as the overhead power line conductor 32; Column 9 Line 19-22) including:
a base portion [35] (The housing 34 is generally "C-shaped" in geometry and comprises a substantially rectangular base 35; Column 9 Line 28-29; Figure 1-6); and
a cover portion [310]+42+44 (The top portion shown in Figure 6 comprising raised section 310. Cover portion also comprises an upwardly extending rear column 40, and forward upper extension 42 which includes a downwardly turned nose 44; Column 9 Line 30-32; Figure 1-6) coupled to the base portion [35] and defining a cavity [37] of the housing [34] together with the base portion [35] (The upper extension 42 and nose 44 are spaced above the base 35 to define and opening or passageway 37 through which the conductor 32 may be passed during installation or removal of the unit 30 from the conductor 32; Column 9 Line 32-36), and
an antenna 13] in the cavity [65] (central opening 65) of the housing [34] (A radio antenna generally indicated at 13 defined by a cylindrical antenna tube 46 formed of aluminum or the like is secured to and extends downwardly from an antenna base 45 on the bottom of the housing 34; Column 9 Line 62-65; Antenna is placed in the bottom of the housing in the cavity of 65 of the housing),
sensing in real time at least one of a temperature, a position, a current, an acceleration, a vibration, a tilt, a roll, or a distance to a nearest object (Located in compartment 42b is a temperature sensor 88 in the form of a transducer for sensing the temperature of the conductor 32. A second temperature sensor 86 is mounted in compartment 42c for sensing the ambient temperature or another conductor temperature; Column 11 Line 9-13; FIG. 15, an additional sensor 243 may be provided in the unit 30 for sensing the magnitude of the current in line 32 in order to compute real-time thermal ratings; Column 21 Line 43-46; A sensor in the nature of an inclinometer 84 may be provided to measure magnitude of sag of the conductor 32. The inclinometer 84 measures the slope angle of the conductor 32 at the point of attachment of the unit 30 to the conductor 32; Column 22 Line 3-7) using at least one sensor [88] of the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor [30] (Temperature sensor 88 in Figure 8 supported by the housing [34]); and
transmitting a signal including information sensed using the at least one sensor to a remote receiving device [208] in real time via the antenna [13] (The sensor-transmitter unit 30 which senses conductor temperature and up to 7 parameters transmits signals to a UHF receiver 208 which typically may be located in a power substation along with a multiplexer/scanner 210 as indicated previously, alternatively however, these signals may be transmitted to the substation using PLC signals through the transmission line 32 itself; Column 27 Line 8-14; Signal from the antenna goes through the cavity 65 of the housing 34 to the conductor 32 and penetrates to the cover plate 310);
wherein a wall of the housing is made from a semiconductive material (The radiation sensor 124 may comprise eight silicon solar cells 123 assembled in an array and mounted on the top of a raised section 310 on the extension 42, immediately above the power supply compartment 42a; Column 20 Line 49-53; The cells are completely encapsulated in a clear silicon potting compound 241 which minimizes solar radiation reflections and electrically insulates the cells from the aluminum housing 125, and the special glass cover 126 overlying the cells 123; Column 21 Line 3-7; Cover portion 310 is encapsulated with silicon potting and a special glass cover the cells. Silicon is one type of semiconductor and therefore the wall of the housing as the cover portion is made of semiconductive material) having a thickness configured to allow the signal transmitted from inside the cavity to pass through the wall and such that the housing is free of corona discharge at high voltage (These sensors and the transmitter are enclosed in a corona-free housing and are powered by a power supply that includes a transformer core which surrounds and is inductively coupled with the monitored conductor; Abstract; Each sensor-transmitter unit consists of a corona free housing, a conductor clamping device, a power supply, one or more parameter sensors, one or more signal conditioning circuits, a modulator, an RF transmitter and an RF antenna. The corona free housing protects the electronic components installed therein from severe environmental conditions and high electric and magnetic fields. The housing is at the same electric potential as the power line, is free of corona and does not generate audible noise, or radio or television interference at high voltages; Column 4 Line 35-45; The exterior surface of the housing 34 is formed in a manner to eliminate sources of corona when the unit 30 is installed on high voltage transmission lines. The housing 34 may be formed by casting a zinc and aluminum alloy material, by forming sheet aluminum using a deep draw die or from an epoxy-like substance including an aluminum binder or from aluminum using a sand casting process. Preferably, the housing 34 is formed from an aluminum alloy as semiconductive material and is vapor blasted or burnished to ensure a smooth, corona free surface and is anodized to reduce oxidation; Column 9 Line 40-50; Therefore, the wall of the housing as the cover portion is made of semiconductive material. Applicant in the invention also discloses that the cover portion is made of semiconductive material and which has a thickness allows pass the signal. Therefore, for the broadest reasonable interpretation, although Davis does not recite that signal is passing through the wall however Davis also discloses that the wall is made of same material as the present invention and therefore the wall of Davis also can pass the signal; Figure 8: Modified Figure 8 of Davis above shows that the antenna is in the cavity and which transmits signal in the cavity and it passes through the wall 310 of the housing);
Again, the amended limitation that the housing having a thickness to allow the signal transmitted from inside the cavity to pass through the wall is free of corona discharge at 500 kV in which applicant is relying on is the manner of use of the wall of the housing or intended use of the wall of the housing and therefore no patentable weight. If the reference has all the structures as disclosed in the claim, then the manner of use of that element or structure is not required by the claim.
With respect to the intended use of the wall of the housing made of a material having a thickness to allow the signal transmitted from inside the cavity to pass through the wall is free of corona discharge at 500 kV, it is to be noted that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Additionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, (In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531) and an “apparatus claim covers what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett- Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528, as explained above).
Davis teaches that the housing is free of corona discharge at high voltage (The exterior surface of the housing 34 is formed in a manner to eliminate sources of corona when the unit 30 is installed on high voltage transmission lines. The housing 34 may be formed by casting a zinc and aluminum alloy material, by forming sheet aluminum using a deep draw die or from an epoxy-like substance including an aluminum binder or from aluminum using a sand casting process. Preferably, the housing 34 is formed from an aluminum alloy as semiconductive material and is vapor blasted or burnished to ensure a smooth, corona free surface and is anodized to reduce oxidation; Column 9 Line 40-50).
However, Davis fails to teach that the at least one sensor comprising a radar sensor configured to sense, through the base portion, a distance of the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor to a nearest object below the overhead transmission line and the antenna is entirely within the cavity of the housing and the housing is free of corona discharge at 500 kV.
Wang teaches a monitoring device for measuring conductor sag and conductor temperature of overhead transmission lines (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2), wherein
at least one sensor comprising a radar sensor [4] in Figure 1 (A power module, wherein the monitoring main control board is provided with a central processor; the radar ranging unit is provided with a high-speed sampling unit connected to the central processor, and a microwave radar ranging sensor connected to the high-speed sampling unit; Paragraph [0007] Line 4-6; The radar ranging unit is provided with a high-speed sampling unit 3 connected to the central processor 2 and a microwave radar ranging sensor 4 connected to the high-speed sampling unit 3; Paragraph [0016] Line 5-6) configured to sense, through the base portion (Preferably, the monitoring device is an integrated monitoring device, and its casing is a metal shell, which is installed on the conductor of the transmission line to be monitored; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-2; radar sensing unit is placed in the monitoring main control board, which is placed in the conductor of the overhead transmission line. Davis already discloses conductor is placed close to the base portion. Therefore, the distance measured by the radar ranging sensor through the base portion as the radar ranging sensor is placed above the base portion), a distance of the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor to a nearest object (ground, trees and object) below the overhead transmission line (The microwave radar ranging sensor uses the pulse method to measure distance. It emits electromagnetic waves controlled by the CPU of the monitoring main control board. When it encounters the ground, trees, buildings, etc., it reflects back, requiring a delay time T. Let the distance from the monitoring device to the measured object be L , the ranging unit emits a pulse and receives the returned electromagnetic wave within time T, then 2L=CT, where C is the electromagnetic wave propagation speed, T can be obtained by counting using the monitoring main control board, then L=CT can be obtained /2, find the distance from the monitoring device to the measured object (ground, trees, buildings), and you can find the actual sag of the conductor; Paragraph [0017] Line 7-14). The purpose of doing so is to monitor the conductor sag and to avoid the impact of the overhead power line conductor on the ground and trees caused by the increase in temperature or ice coating of the conductor, to transmit the monitoring data to a monitoring center through a short-distance or long-distance communication network, to ensure the safe operation of power lines.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Davis in view of Wang, because Wang teaches to include a radar sensor to determine the distance of the nearest object below the overhead transmission line monitors the conductor sag and avoids the impact of the overhead power line conductor on the ground and trees caused by the increase in temperature or ice coating of the conductor (Paragraph [0012]), transmits the monitoring data to a monitoring center through a short-distance or long-distance communication network, ensures the safe operation of power lines (Paragraph [0006]).
However, the combination of Davis and Wang does not teach that the antenna is entirely within the cavity of the housing and the housing is free of corona discharge at 500 kV.
Lau teaches devices for detecting and transmitting current and voltage fault information from power transmission and distribution lines to a control center, switching center or other designated ground station (Column 1 Line 12-15),
wherein the antenna is entirely within the cavity of the housing [4] in Figure 1 (In broad terms, the overhead sensor device, as shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, is comprised of an elongated housing 4 within which is contained electronic circuitry required for its operation. A dipole antenna 6 is located just under the surface of the housing for sending via IF radio signals data obtained by the sensors of the device concerning faults and power line characteristics and for receiving control or reprogramming signals sent back to the device from the remote ground monitoring and control station or other ground station; Column 5 Line 48-60). The purpose of doing so is to minimizing size and operation and maintenance cost, to manage battery maintenance and/or replacement at thousands of remote sensing locations, to detect faults over significant periods of time, to provide a compact, lightweight sensing device for an overhead power line that can be easily attached and removed from a power line and measure at least two of its operating characteristics.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the antenna disclosed by Davis in view of Wang as disclosed by Lau, because Lau teaches to include the antenna is entirely within the cavity of the housing minimizes size, operation and maintenance cost, manages battery maintenance and/or replacement at thousands of remote sensing locations, to detect faults over significant periods of time (Column 1 Line 64-67 & Column 2 Line 1-9), provides a compact, lightweight sensing device for an overhead power line that can be easily attached and removed from a power line and measure at least two of its operating characteristics (Column 2 Line 59-62).
Davis, Wang and Lau fail to teach that the housing is free of corona discharge at 500 kV.
Loftness teaches an apparatus for detecting and pinpointing the sources of sparking electromagnetic RF radiation emanating from high and extra high voltage power lines in the presence of high level corona (RF) radiations which are often present on such lines (Abstract), wherein
the housing is free of corona discharge at 500 kV (Point sources of high-level corona radiation are almost always present on EHV (extra-high-voltage) lines, those operating at 345 kV and above, and are frequently present on HV (high-voltage) lines, those operating at 115 kV and above).; Column 1 Line 10-14) (to prevent corona formation (self corona) on the portion of the housing which is brought up near the high voltage conductor and thus prevent resultant corona currents from flowing in the housing and being induced as RF noise into the instrument's intermediate (IF) and audio stages said stages which operate at lower frequencies and in the range of corona-noise emission frequencies. Self-corona is minimized on the housing by rounding all edges and covering the housing sides with paint or epoxy of suitable thickness; Column 3 Line 67-68 & Column 4 Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to make the apparatus as simple to operate as possible-with only one control, to prevent corona formation (self corona) on the portion of the housing which is brought up near the high voltage conductor and to prevent resultant corona currents from flowing in the housing, to minimize Self-corona on the housing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the housing as disclosed by Loftness in view of Davis, Wang and Lau, because Loftness teaches to provide the housing free of corona makes the apparatus as simple to operate as possible-with only one control (Column 1 Line 51-53), prevents corona formation (self corona) on the portion of the housing which is brought up near the high voltage conductor and prevents resultant corona currents from flowing in the housing, minimizes Self-corona on the housing (Column 3 Line 67-68 & Column 4 Line 1-9).
Regarding claim 14, Davis teaches a method, wherein
the providing the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor [30] on the overhead transmission line [32] comprises installing the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor on the transmission line while the overhead transmission line is live (The unit may be easily clamped on a wide range of sizes of conductors using an a specially designed, electrically insulated hot stick while the line is energized. The unit is powered from the electrical energy derived from the power line itself; Column 4 Line 45-49).
Regarding claim 15, Davis teaches a method, wherein
the installing the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor on the overhead transmission line [32] further comprises installing the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor on the overhead transmission line using a hot stick or bare hand (The unit may be easily clamped on a wide range of sizes of conductors using an a specially designed, electrically insulated hot stick while the line is energized. The unit is powered from the electrical energy derived from the power line itself; Column 4 Line 45-49).
Regarding claim 16, Davis teaches a method, wherein
at least one of the cover portion or the base portion is movable relative to the other between an open position of the housing in which the cover portion and the base portion are spaced apart (By moving the jaws the cover portion and the base portion is moved relative to the other), and a closed position of the housing (The passageway 37, which facilitates installation of the unit 30 on the conductor 32, is selectively opened and closed; Column 9 Line 36-39), and
wherein the installing the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor on the overhead transmission line [32] comprises:
inserting a length of the overhead transmission line between the cover portion and the base portion into the cavity while the housing is in the open position (The passageway 37, which facilitates installation of the unit 30 on the conductor 32, is selectively opened and closed; Column 9 Line 36-39); and
moving the at least one of the second portion or the base portion relative to the other to the closed position to retain the length of the overhead transmission line in the cavity (With the lower jaw 52 in a fully open position, hot stick 172 is used to lift the unit 30 onto the conductor 32 by passing through opening 37 until the upper jaws 50 rest upon the conductor 32. The lead screw 138 is then turned in order to move the lower jaw 52 upwardly into contact with the conductor 32. At this point, the conductor 32 is tightly gripped between the jaws 50, 52 and the unit is secured in place; Column 20 Line 29-36).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Davis, Lau and Loftness fails to teach a method, wherein the sensing comprises sensing a distance to a nearest object using the radar sensor.
Wang teaches a monitoring device for measuring conductor sag and conductor temperature of overhead transmission lines (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2), wherein
the sensing comprises sensing a distance to a nearest object using the radar sensor [4] in Figure 1 (A power module, wherein the monitoring main control board is provided with a central processor; the radar ranging unit is provided with a high-speed sampling unit connected to the central processor, and a microwave radar ranging sensor connected to the high-speed sampling unit; Paragraph [0007] Line 4-6; The radar ranging unit is provided with a high-speed sampling unit 3 connected to the central processor 2 and a microwave radar ranging sensor 4 connected to the high-speed sampling unit 3; Paragraph [0016] Line 5-6; Preferably, the monitoring device is an integrated monitoring device, and its casing is a metal shell, which is installed on the conductor of the transmission line to be monitored; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-2; radar sensing unit is placed in the monitoring main control board, which is placed in the conductor of the overhead transmission line. Davis already discloses conductor is placed close to the base portion. Therefore, the distance measured by the radar ranging sensor through the base portion as the radar ranging sensor is placed above the base portion; The microwave radar ranging sensor uses the pulse method to measure distance. It emits electromagnetic waves controlled by the CPU of the monitoring main control board. When it encounters the ground, trees, buildings, etc., it reflects back, requiring a delay time T. Let the distance from the monitoring device to the measured object be L , the ranging unit emits a pulse and receives the returned electromagnetic wave within time T, then 2L=CT, where C is the electromagnetic wave propagation speed, T can be obtained by counting using the monitoring main control board, then L=CT can be obtained /2, find the distance from the monitoring device to the measured object (ground, trees, buildings), and you can find the actual sag of the conductor; Paragraph [0017] Line 7-14). The purpose of doing so is to monitor the conductor sag and to avoid the impact of the overhead power line conductor on the ground and trees caused by the increase in temperature or ice coating of the conductor, to transmit the monitoring data to a monitoring center through a short-distance or long-distance communication network, to ensure the safe operation of power lines.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Davis, Lau and Loftness in view of Wang, because Wang teaches to sense a distance to a nearest object using the radar sensor monitors the conductor sag and avoids the impact of the overhead power line conductor on the ground and trees caused by the increase in temperature or ice coating of the conductor (Paragraph [0012]), transmits the monitoring data to a monitoring center through a short-distance or long-distance communication network, ensures the safe operation of power lines (Paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Davis, Lau and Loftness fails to teach a method, wherein the radar sensor has a range of about 45 m.
Wang teaches a monitoring device for measuring conductor sag and conductor temperature of overhead transmission lines (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2), wherein
at least one sensor comprising a radar sensor [4] in Figure 1 (A power module, wherein the monitoring main control board is provided with a central processor; the radar ranging unit is provided with a high-speed sampling unit connected to the central processor, and a microwave radar ranging sensor connected to the high-speed sampling unit; Paragraph [0007] Line 4-6; The radar ranging unit is provided with a high-speed sampling unit 3 connected to the central processor 2 and a microwave radar ranging sensor 4 connected to the high-speed sampling unit 3; Paragraph [0016] Line 5-6) configured to sense, through the base portion (Preferably, the monitoring device is an integrated monitoring device, and its casing is a metal shell, which is installed on the conductor of the transmission line to be monitored; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-2; radar sensing unit is placed in the monitoring main control board, which is placed in the conductor of the overhead transmission line. Davis already discloses conductor is placed close to the base portion. Therefore, the distance measured by the radar ranging sensor through the base portion as the radar ranging sensor is placed above the base portion), a distance of the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor to a nearest object (ground, trees and object) below the overhead transmission line (The microwave radar ranging sensor uses the pulse method to measure distance. It emits electromagnetic waves controlled by the CPU of the monitoring main control board. When it encounters the ground, trees, buildings, etc., it reflects back, requiring a delay time T. Let the distance from the monitoring device to the measured object be L , the ranging unit emits a pulse and receives the returned electromagnetic wave within time T, then 2L=CT, where C is the electromagnetic wave propagation speed, T can be obtained by counting using the monitoring main control board, then L=CT can be obtained /2, find the distance from the monitoring device to the measured object (ground, trees, buildings), and you can find the actual sag of the conductor; Paragraph [0017] Line 7-14). The purpose of doing so is to monitor the conductor sag and to avoid the impact of the overhead power line conductor on the ground and trees caused by the increase in temperature or ice coating of the conductor, to transmit the monitoring data to a monitoring center through a short-distance or long-distance communication network, to ensure the safe operation of power lines.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Davis, Lau and Loftness in view of Wang, because Wang teaches to include a radar sensor to determine the distance of the nearest object below the overhead transmission line monitors the conductor sag and avoids the impact of the overhead power line conductor on the ground and trees caused by the increase in temperature or ice coating of the conductor (Paragraph [0012]), transmits the monitoring data to a monitoring center through a short-distance or long-distance communication network, ensures the safe operation of power lines (Paragraph [0006]).
The combination of Davis, Lau and Loftness and Wang discloses the claimed invention except for the radar sensor has a range of about 45 m. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the radar sensor has the range of about 45 m, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Davis, Wang and Lau fail to teach a dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor, wherein the wall of the housing is made from ABS/PVC thermoplastic having a thickness of about 0.125 inches.
Loftness teaches an apparatus for detecting and pinpointing the sources of sparking electromagnetic RF radiation emanating from high and extra high voltage power lines in the presence of high level corona (RF) radiations which are often present on such lines (Abstract), wherein
wherein the wall of the housing is made from ABS/PVC thermoplastic (epoxy is a polymer and PVC is also a polymer) having a thickness (to prevent corona formation (self corona) on the portion of the housing which is brought up near the high voltage conductor and thus prevent resultant corona currents from flowing in the housing and being induced as RF noise into the instrument's intermediate (IF) and audio stages said stages which operate at lower frequencies and in the range of corona-noise emission frequencies. Self-corona is minimized on the housing by rounding all edges and covering the housing sides with paint or epoxy of suitable thickness; Column 3 Line 67-68 & Column 4 Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to make the apparatus as simple to operate as possible-with only one control, to prevent corona formation (self corona) on the portion of the housing which is brought up near the high voltage conductor and to prevent resultant corona currents from flowing in the housing, to minimize Self-corona on the housing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the housing as disclosed by Loftness in view of Davis, Wang and Lau, because Loftness teaches to provide the wall of the housing is made from ABS/PVC thermoplastic having a thickness makes the apparatus as simple to operate as possible-with only one control (Column 1 Line 51-53), prevents corona formation (self corona) on the portion of the housing which is brought up near the high voltage conductor and prevents resultant corona currents from flowing in the housing, minimizes Self-corona on the housing (Column 3 Line 67-68 & Column 4 Line 1-9).
The combination of Davis, Lau and Loftness and Wang discloses the claimed invention except for the housing wall having a thickness of about 0.125 inches. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the housing wall having a thickness of about 0.125 inches, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Davis, Wang and Lau fail to teach a dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitoring system, wherein the wall of the housing is made from ABS/PVC thermoplastic having a thickness of about 0.125 inches.
Loftness teaches an apparatus for detecting and pinpointing the sources of sparking electromagnetic RF radiation emanating from high and extra high voltage power lines in the presence of high level corona (RF) radiations which are often present on such lines (Abstract), wherein
wherein the wall of the housing is made from ABS/PVC thermoplastic (epoxy is a polymer and PVC is also a polymer) having a thickness (to prevent corona formation (self corona) on the portion of the housing which is brought up near the high voltage conductor and thus prevent resultant corona currents from flowing in the housing and being induced as RF noise into the instrument's intermediate (IF) and audio stages said stages which operate at lower frequencies and in the range of corona-noise emission frequencies. Self-corona is minimized on the housing by rounding all edges and covering the housing sides with paint or epoxy of suitable thickness; Column 3 Line 67-68 & Column 4 Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to make the apparatus as simple to operate as possible-with only one control, to prevent corona formation (self corona) on the portion of the housing which is brought up near the high voltage conductor and to prevent resultant corona currents from flowing in the housing, to minimize Self-corona on the housing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the housing as disclosed by Loftness in view of Davis, Wang and Lau, because Loftness teaches to provide the wall of the housing is made from ABS/PVC thermoplastic having a thickness makes the apparatus as simple to operate as possible-with only one control (Column 1 Line 51-53), prevents corona formation (self corona) on the portion of the housing which is brought up near the high voltage conductor and prevents resultant corona currents from flowing in the housing, minimizes Self-corona on the housing (Column 3 Line 67-68 & Column 4 Line 1-9).
The combination of Davis, Lau and Loftness and Wang discloses the claimed invention except for the housing wall having a thickness of about 0.125 inches. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the housing wall having a thickness of about 0.125 inches, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Davis, Wang and Lau fail to teach a method, wherein the wall of the housing is made from ABS/PVC thermoplastic having a thickness of about 0.125 inches.
Loftness teaches an apparatus for detecting and pinpointing the sources of sparking electromagnetic RF radiation emanating from high and extra high voltage power lines in the presence of high level corona (RF) radiations which are often present on such lines (Abstract), wherein
wherein the wall of the housing is made from ABS/PVC thermoplastic (epoxy is a polymer and PVC is also a polymer) having a thickness (to prevent corona formation (self corona) on the portion of the housing which is brought up near the high voltage conductor and thus prevent resultant corona currents from flowing in the housing and being induced as RF noise into the instrument's intermediate (IF) and audio stages said stages which operate at lower frequencies and in the range of corona-noise emission frequencies. Self-corona is minimized on the housing by rounding all edges and covering the housing sides with paint or epoxy of suitable thickness; Column 3 Line 67-68 & Column 4 Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to make the apparatus as simple to operate as possible-with only one control, to prevent corona formation (self corona) on the portion of the housing which is brought up near the high voltage conductor and to prevent resultant corona currents from flowing in the housing, to minimize Self-corona on the housing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the housing as disclosed by Loftness in view of Davis, Wang and Lau, because Loftness teaches to provide the wall of the housing is made from ABS/PVC thermoplastic having a thickness makes the apparatus as simple to operate as possible-with only one control (Column 1 Line 51-53), prevents corona formation (self corona) on the portion of the housing which is brought up near the high voltage conductor and prevents resultant corona currents from flowing in the housing, minimizes Self-corona on the housing (Column 3 Line 67-68 & Column 4 Line 1-9).
The combination of Davis, Lau and Loftness and Wang discloses the claimed invention except for the housing wall having a thickness of about 0.125 inches. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the housing wall having a thickness of about 0.125 inches, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 11, 12, 19 and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Davis ‘257 A in view of Wang’614 U, Lau ‘783 A and Loftness ‘098 A, as applied to claims 9 and 13 above, and further in view of Gaarder in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20110010118 A1.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Davis, Lau, Loftness and Wang fails to teach a dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitoring system, wherein the remote receiving device comprises a computer to accumulate data from the sensor and to calculate real time dynamic overhead transmission line ratings of a critical span of the overhead transmission line using the data accumulated from the sensor, local weather data, and an established algorithm.
Gaarder teaches an apparatus and method for measurement of power in an electric power transmission line (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3), wherein
the remote receiving device [40] in Figure 1 comprises a computer to accumulate data from the sensor [30] and to calculate real time dynamic transmission line ratings of a critical span of the transmission line using the data [37] accumulated from the sensor, local weather data, and an established algorithm (The processor 40 can use substantially real-time data together with historical data (stored in a database) in the simulations. The processor 40 can evaluate how these simulations may impact on the operation of the power grid and the probability of entering into changed modes of operation. In addition to the magnetic field data 37 and the voltage waveform data 55 the simulations can include historic data such as weather data, network configuration data, time-related data, energy price, energy reserves; Paragraph [0044] Line 4-10). The purpose of doing so is to provide probabilities for the power production and the power grid to identify scenarios different from expected behavior.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Davis, Loftness, Wang and Lau in view of Gaarder, because Gaarder teaches to accumulate data from the sensor and to calculate real time dynamic transmission line ratings of a critical span of the transmission line provides probabilities for the power production and the power grid to identify scenarios different from expected behavior (Paragraph [0044] Line 10-12).
Regarding claim 12, Davis teaches a dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitoring system, wherein
the system is configured to take a corrective action based on at least one of the sensed distance to the nearest object or the calculated real time dynamic overhead transmission line ratings (A plurality of the sensor-transmitter units 30 in a system for monitoring a 40 mile length of transmission line 32. Four of the sensor-transmitter units 30 are mounted on each of a series of three to five mile stretches. The forty mile transmission line 32 is divided up into four zones of ten miles each which include 8 of the units 30, frequencies (F1-F8). Sensor-transmitter units which are dedicated to sensing conductor temperature are indicated as connected to the line 32 with a dot while units capable of sensing conductor temperature; Column 26 Line 4-16).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Davis, Lau, Loftness and Wang fails to teach a method, wherein the providing the dynamic real time transmission line monitor on the transmission line comprises providing the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor on a critical span of the overhead transmission line, and wherein the method further comprises calculating real time dynamic transmission line ratings using local weather data and an established algorithm.
Gaarder teaches an apparatus and method for measurement of power in an electric power transmission line (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3), wherein
the providing the dynamic real time overhead transmission line monitor on the transmission line comprises providing the dynamic real time transmission line monitor on a critical span of the overhead transmission line, and wherein the method further comprises calculating real time dynamic overhead transmission line ratings using local weather data and an established algorithm (The processor 40 can use substantially real-time data together with historical data (stored in a database) in the simulations. The processor 40 can evaluate how these simulations may impact on the operation of the power grid and the probability of entering into changed modes of operation. In addition to the magnetic field data 37 and the voltage waveform data 55 the simulations can include historic data such as weather data, network configuration data, time-related data, energy price, energy reserves; Paragraph [0044] Line 4-10). The purpose of doing so is to provide probabilities for the power production and the power grid to identify scenarios different from expected behavior.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Davis, Lau, Loftness and Wang in view of Gaarder, because Gaarder teaches to provide the dynamic real time transmission line monitor on a critical span of the transmission line provides probabilities for the power production and the power grid to identify scenarios different from expected behavior (Paragraph [0044] Line 10-12).
Regarding claim 20, Davis teaches a method, further comprising
taking a corrective action based on at least one of the sensed distance to the nearest object or the calculated real time dynamic overhead transmission line [32] ratings (A plurality of the sensor-transmitter units 30 in a system for monitoring a 40 mile length of transmission line 32. Four of the sensor-transmitter units 30 are mounted on each of a series of three to five mile stretches. The forty mile transmission line 32 is divided up into four zones of ten miles each which include 8 of the units 30, frequencies (F1-F8). Sensor-transmitter units which are dedicated to sensing conductor temperature are indicated as connected to the line 32 with a dot while units capable of sensing conductor temperature; Column 26 Line 4-16).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record as considered and understood by the examiner fails to teach or fairly suggest:
wherein a thickness of the cover portion is less than one fifth of a skin depth of the semi conductive material at which radio waves are completely blocked.
Davis (US 5140257 A) is regarded as the closest prior art to the invention of claim 3. Davis discloses, “Electric power transmission systems, especially those employing overhead electric power lines, and deals more particularly with a system for rating the current carrying capacity of the transmission lines and equipment on a real-time basis (Column 1 Line 14-19; Figure 1-10). The unit 30 includes a housing 34 adapted to be removably clamped to a current carrying conductor, such as the overhead power line conductor 32 (Column 9 Line 19-22). The top portion shown in Figure 6 comprising raised section 310. Cover portion also comprises an upwardly extending rear column 40, and forward upper extension 42 which includes a downwardly turned nose 44 (Column 9 Line 30-32; Figure 1-6). The upper extension 42 and nose 44 are spaced above the base 35 to define and opening or passageway 37 through which the conductor 32 may be passed during installation or removal of the unit 30 from the conductor 32 (Column 9 Line 32-36)”. However, Davis does not teach that a thickness of the cover portion is less than one fifth of a skin depth of the semi conductive material at which radio waves are completely blocked. Therefore, the invention of Davis even if modified, do not alone or in combination with the other art of record, teach or fairly suggest, “wherein a thickness of the cover portion is less than one fifth of a skin depth of the semi conductive material at which radio waves are completely blocked” and also in combination with all other elements in claim 3 distinguish the present invention from the prior art reference.
Claims 4-5 are allowed by virtue of their dependence from claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kukita et al. (US 20020130728 A1) discloses, “Electrical Connector And Transmission Line-[0001] The present invention relates to an electrical connector for fast signal and to a transmission line. [0018] A board-to-board electrical connector 1 according to the embodiment shown in FIG. 1 comprises a pair of male and female connectors 3 and 2. [0019] The connector 2 comprises a housing 21, a group of terminals 22 mainly used for slow signals, and a group of terminals 23 mainly used for fast signals, as shown in FIG. 1. [0020] The housing 21 is formed in one piece which comprises a terminal-group holding portion 21a for holding the group of terminals 22 and a terminal-group holding portion 21b for holding the group of terminals 23. The terminal-group holding portion 21a has a concave portion 21c. On the other hand, the terminal-group holding portion 21b has concave portions 21d, 21e, 21f, 21g, 21h, 21i and 21j. The concave portions 21h and 21j are connected with each other. The concave portion 21h has an outer shape which shares the same center as that of a square having vertices at the concave portions 21d, 21e, 21f and 21g and substantially entirely surrounds all the concave portions 21d, 21e, 21f and 21g. The concave portion 21i having a cross shape is formed to be located in the region surrounded by the concave portion 21h and also be located between the concave portions 21d and 21e, between the concave portions 21e and 21f, between the concave portions 21f and 21g, and between the concave portions 21g and 21d, respectively. [0021] The group of terminals 22 is held in the inner wall of the concave portion 21c provided in the terminal-group holding portion 21a of the housing 21 and comprises a total of eight contacts 22a, 22b, 22c, 22d, 22e, 22f, 22g and 22h which are identical in shape and are aligned in two columns and four rows-However Kukita does not disclose an antenna entirely within the cavity of the housing, the antenna configured to transmit a signal including information sensed by the at least one sensor
away from the monitor in real time, wherein a wall of the housing is made from a
semiconductive material having a thickness configured to allow the signal transmitted
from inside the cavity to pass through the wall and such that the housing is free of
corona discharge at 500 kV.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858