DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of reference(s) in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites, “for a façade element to be mounted, for a façade element to be mounted” on page 3, line 2-3, which appears to be a typographical error. In addition claim 1 has a paragraph break between recessed and section on page 3 line 10 which appears to be an error. Finally, claim 1 recites, “(34)” on page 3 line 11 which also appears to be a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a new matter type rejection.
Re claim 1, claim 1 recites, “can be removed by pushing the façade panel upwards so that the recessed section of the mounting portion of said profile element moves into the receiving space of the adjacent upper profile element and the receiving portion comes out of engagement with the adjacent lower profile element.” However, after a review of the original disclosure (and of the disclosure of the applications to which the pending application claims priority, if such priority is claimed), the Examiner can find no support for this limitation. The language requires a particular manner of removal. However, nowhere in the specification are the particulars of a manner of removal disclosed. Thus, there appears to be no support as originally filed for the limitation. In the event that the Applicant is of the opinion that this language is supported as originally filed, the Examiner requests Applicant to please cite to where the language is supported as originally filed.
Claims 2-7 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 1, claim 1 recites, “can be removed by pushing the façade panel upwards so that the recessed section of the mounting portion of said profile element moves into the receiving space of the adjacent upper profile element and the receiving portion comes out of engagement with the adjacent lower profile element.” However, after a review of the original disclosure (and of the disclosure of the applications to which the pending application claims priority, if such priority is claimed), the Examiner can find no support for this limitation. The language requires a particular manner of removal. However, nowhere in the specification are the particulars of a manner of removal disclosed. Thus, it is unclear how the profile element can be removed in the manner claimed. For the purposes of this examation, this language will be interpreted as being directed to the intended use of the claimed invention and product by process.
In addition, claim 1 recites, “the first direction” on page 2 line 11, page 2 line 12, page 2 line 14, page 3 line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. It appears this language is intended to recite, “the first vertical direction” and will be interpreted as such.
In addition, claim 1 recites, “the façade element” on page 3 line 2, “the transverse direction” on page 3 line 11-12 , “the adjacent upper profile element” on page 3 line 17, “the receiving portion” on page 3 line 17 and “the adjacent lower profile element” on page 3 line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. It appears this language is intended to recite, “the façade panel,” “a transverse direction,” “an adjacent upper profile element,” “the receiving section” and “an adjacent lower profile element” and will be interpreted as such.
Claims 2-7 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamata (GB2155970) in view of Strausheim (US 4,674,240).
Re claim 1, Kamata discloses a profile system (Fig. 14) configured for fastening a respective facade panel (15) to a building wall or a facade beam (Fig. 14), comprising:
an integrally formed profile element (4) extending in a first vertical direction (Fig. 13, vertically) having a receiving section (32) configured for receiving a mounting section (34-36) of an adjacent profile element (4, see Fig. 14) at a first end (top end of 4), a fastening section (31-33, and the portion of 5 between 36 and 32) provided between (Fig. 13) the receiving section (32) and the mounting section (34-36) and configured for fastening (Fig. 14) the fastening section (31-33) fixedly (Fig. 14, as the panel 15 is not intended to move once fixed) to a respective façade panel (15) and a mounting section (34-36) configured to mount to a receiving section (32) of another adjacent profile element (4, see Fig. 14) at a second end (bottom end of 4) opposite to (Fig. 13-14) the first end (top end of 4), wherein an open end (between 32b and 37) of the receiving section (32) forms a receiving space (between 32b and 37) defined by a first leg (at 37) and a second leg (32b) extending both at least partially in (Fig. 13) the first direction (Fig. 13, vertically), and said receiving section (between 32b and 37) being configured to positively receive (Fig. 14) the mounting section (34-36) between (Fig. 14) the first leg (37) and the stop (as modified below) of the second leg (32b) transversely to (Fig. 14) the first direction (vertically Fig. 13), wherein the profile element (4) includes a cross-strut (33) extending transversely to (as transverse is defined as “acting, lying or being across” per Merriam-Webster) the first direction (vertically) from the profile element (4) forming a stop edge (edge of 33) for the façade element (15) to be mounted (Fig. 14), for the façade element (15) to be mounted (Fig. 14) and positioning (Fig. 14) the profile element (4) relative to the top edge (top of 15) of the respective façade panel (15), and
wherein the mounting section (34-36) of the profile element (4) extends beyond (Fig. 13) the cross strut (33) having a support surface (vertical surface of 33 adjacent to 15) that serves to fasten (Fig. 14; Page 5 Lines 56-68) the profile element (4) to a façade (15), as well as a recessed section (the space formed on the rear of 4 by 34 and 36) adjoining the support surface (33, indirectly) that positively fits in the receiving space (between 32b and 37) in the transverse direction (Fig. 13) and wherein a height (of 32b) of the second leg is equal to or great than (Fig. 13) a height (of 37) of the recessed section (between 32b and 37) such that a profile element (4) arranged between two profile elements (4) can be removed by pushing the façade panel (5) upwards (as this language is product by process and is optional/conditional) so that the recessed section (between 32b and 37) of the mounting portion (32) of said profile element (4) moves into the receiving space (between 32b and 37) of the adjacent upper profile element (4; Fig. 12) and the receiving portion (between 32b and 37) comes out of engagement with (Fig. 13) the adjacent lower profile element (4),
but fails to disclose the second leg having a stop extending transversely to the first direction.
However, Strausheim discloses the second leg (6a) having a stop (8a) extending transversely to (horizontally) the first direction (vertically).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the profile system of Kamata with the second leg having a stop extending transversely to the first direction as disclosed by Strausheim in order to securely lock profiles together even if subjected to heavy loads (Col 2 lines 6-16), and to provide a thinning of the insertion gap for better alignment and rigidity of the connection between profile elements.
It should further be noted that the language “can be removed by pushing the façade panel upwards so that the recessed section of the mounting portion of said profile element moves into the receiving space of the adjacent upper profile element and the receiving portion comes out of engagement with the adjacent lower profile element” is considered product-by-process; therefore, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. See M.P.E.P. §2113. The patentability of the product does not depend on its method of production. If the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the same prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Additionally, the language “can be” is language that suggests or makes optional the subsequent limitation or limitations. Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. See § MPEP 2103 (C).
Re claim 2, Kamata as modified discloses the profile system of claim 1, wherein the receiving space (between 32b and 37) is U-shaped (Fig. 13) and wherein the first leg (at 37 of the receiving space (between 32b and 37) lies in the same plane as (Fig. 13) the fastening section (the portion of 5 between 36 and 32, of 31-33 and the portion of 5 between 36 and 32) resting on the back (rear of 15) of the respective facade panel (15).
Re claim 3, Kamata as modified discloses the profile system of claim 2, wherein the second leg (32b) of the receiving space (between 32b and 37) lies in the same plane (Fig. 13) as the mounting section (34-36, as a plane may be made angled from 32b to 34-36, because the language does not define any particular orientation of the plane).
Re claim 4, Kamata as modified discloses the profile system of claim 3, wherein the recessed section (34/36) is a stepped recess (via 34/36) formed at a free end (top of upper 34/36) of the mounting section (34-36).
Re claim 5, Kamata as modified discloses the profile element of claim 3, Strausheim discloses wherein stop (8a) is aligned substantially transversely (Fig. 2) to second the leg (6a) and formed at a free end (bottom of 6a) of the second leg (6a) of the receiving space (at 25).
Re claim 6, Kamata as modified discloses the profile system of claim 1, wherein the profile element (4) is made of extruded aluminum (Page 2 lines 95-97).
Re claim 7, Kamata as modified discloses the profile system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the profile element (4) has a greater height than a height of the respective facade panel (15).
However, It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the profile system of Kamata wherein the profile element has a greater height than a height of the facade panel in order to increase the strength of the profile with respect to the respective façade panel, as a larger or longer profile would allow for greater strength to carry a heavier panel, or better secure a façade panel.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamata (GB2155970) in view of Timko et al (“Timko”) (US 2017/0362824).
Re claim 8, Kamata discloses a facade system (Fig. 12-14) for mounting on buildings (Fig. 14) having a plurality of facade panels (15) and a plurality of profile elements (4), each of the plurality of profile elements (4) mounted to a respective one of the plurality of facade panels (15), the plurality of profile elements (4) each configured for arrangement on a back (back of 15) of a respective facade panel (15) and for fastening (14) the respective facade panel (15) to a building wall or a facade beam (Fig. 14), each profile element (4) integrally formed (Fig. 13) and having a receiving section (32) configured to receive and connect to a mounting section (34-36) of a first adjacent profile element (4), a fastening section configured (5 between 36 and 32, and 30 and 31) to fasten the profile element (4) to a respective facade panel (15) and a mounting section (34-36) configured to mount the profile element (4) to a second adjacent profile element (4), wherein the receiving section (32) of each of the plurality of profile elements (4) defines a receiving space (between 32b and 37) configured to receive a free end (35) of the mounting section (34-36) of an adjacent profile element (4) therein (Fig. 12), and wherein each of the plurality of profile elements (4) includes a cross-strut (33) forming a stop edge (edge of 33) and positions (Fig. 14) each of the plurality of profile elements (4) to the respective facade panel (15),
wherein the mounting section (34-36) of each of the plurality of profile elements (4) extends from the cross-strut (33) toward the receiving space (between 32b and 37) of an adjacent profile element (4) beyond the top side (top of 15, see Fig. 14) of the respective façade panel (15) and wherein a distal end (end of 34 at 35) of the mounting section (34-36) forms a recessed section (34) and wherein a height of the second leg (32b) is equal to or greater than (Fig. 4) a height of the recessed section (34) such that the recess (34) fits within the receiving space (between 32b and 37), a distal end (end of 34 at 35) of the mounting section (34-36) extends from a distal end (end of 34) of the recessed section (34) toward the respective façade panel (15) and abuts an inside surface (34 abuts 37) of the first leg (37) of the receiving section (32) of the adjacent profile element (4, see Fig. 14),
but fails to disclose the cross-strut extends over and abuts a top side of the respective facade panel.
However, Timko discloses the cross-strut (212) extends over and abuts (Fig. 11A) a top side (top of 102) of the respective facade panel (102).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the facade system of Kamata with the cross-strut extends over and abuts a top side of the respective facade panel as disclosed by Timko in order to space adjacent panels uniformly.
Re claim 9, Kamata as modified discloses the facade system of claim 8, wherein each of the plurality of facade panels (15) with the plurality of profile elements (4) is mounted by screws (14, Page 3 lines 72-73) to a wall of the building or on the facade beam (Fig. 14), the screws (14) placed in an area (Fig. 14) of the mounting section (34-36, as “an area” can be defined anywhere on the structure with respect to the mounting section).
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamata (GB2155970) in view of Timko et al (“Timko”) (US 2017/0362824) and Bordener (US 2016/0060876).
Re claim 10, Kamata as modified discloses the facade system of claim 8, but fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of profile elements are screwed to respective ones of the plurality of facade panels.
However, Bordener discloses wherein each of the plurality of profile elements (10) are screwed (70, 72) to respective ones of the plurality of facade panels (6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the façade system of Kamata wherein each of the plurality of profile elements are screwed to respective ones of the plurality of facade panels as disclosed by Bordener in order to use a secure, cheap, readily available connection method, and using screws of Bordener with the façade system of Kamata would increase rigidity and strength of the connection between the profile elements and panels.
Re claim 11, Kamata as modified discloses the facade system of claim 10, wherein each of the plurality of facade panels (15) are mounted so that a gap (between 15 and 14) is formed between the facade panels (15), and the gap (between 14-15) is sufficiently largely dimensioned (Fig. 14, as the head of 14 is exposed) to allow for a tool to reach screws (the cited gaps are sufficiently large to allow a tool to reach screws) in the area of the mounting section (34-36, as “an area” can be defined anywhere on the structure with respect to the mounting section).
Re claim 12, Kamata as modified discloses the facade system of claim 11, wherein at least some of the plurality of façade panels (15) are superposed facade panels (15) and are positioned such that a stepped recess (portion of 15 which is received by 32) protrudes into the receiving space (32).
Re claim 13, Kamata as discloses the facade system of claim 12, wherein the stepped recess (portion of 15 which is received by 32) protruding into the receiving space (32) is fixed by a stop (32e) with respect to a horizontal movement play (Fig. 14) of the stepped recess (portion of 15 which is received by 32).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamata (GB2155970) in view of Timko et al (“Timko”) (US 2017/0362824) and Molteni (9,506,252).
Re claim 14, Kamata discloses the facade system of claim 10, but fails to disclose wherein the plurality of facade panels are made of glass fiber concrete panels, fiber cement panels or laminate panels.
However, Molteni discloses wherein the plurality of facade panels (50) are made of glass fiber concrete panels, fiber cement panels or laminate panels (Col 8 lines 17-19).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the façade system of Kamata wherein the plurality of facade panels are made of glass fiber concrete panels, fiber cement panels or laminate panels as disclosed by Molteni in order to use a cheap, readily available, aesthetically pleasing material, as laminate is extremely well known and common in the art.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamata (GB2155970) in view of Dickey et al (“Dickey”) (2015/0233122) and Timko et al (“Timko”) (US 2017/0362824).
Re claim 15, Kamata discloses a construction (Fig. 12-14) for mounting a facade panel (15) on a building wall or a facade beam (Fig. 14), comprising:
a first profile element (4) configured for attachment to a back (rear of 15) of a respective facade panel (15) and for fastening (Fig. 14) the respective facade panel (15) to the building wall or facade beam (Fig. 14), the profile element (4) integrally formed (Fig. 13) and having a first receiving section (32), a first fastening section (the portion of 5 between 36 and 32, of 31-33 and the portion of 5 between 36 and 32) and a first mounting section (34-36), wherein the first receiving section (32) forms a receiving space (between 32b and 37) at one end thereof (Fig. 13) and the first fastening section (the portion of 5 between 36 and 32, of 31-33 and the portion of 5 between 36 and 32) is positioned with respect to the respective facade panel (15) with a first cross-strut (33) forming a first stop edge (edge of 33) and is configured to position (Fig. 14) the first profile element (4) relative to the respective facade panel (15),
a second profile element (another 4) consisting of a second mounting section (for the second profile element, the portion above 32 may be the mounting section) and a second recess (32) formed thereon and forming a lowermost part (Fig. 14) of the façade panel (15), and
a third profile element (another element 4) having a third mounting section (34-36) along the building wall or along the facade beam (Fig. 14) and being flush vertically oriented therewith (Fig. 14, portion 36 being vertically oriented and flush with the wall) for fastening (Fig. 14) a peripheral top facade panel (15),
wherein each of the first, second and third mounting section (34-36) of each of the first, second and third profile elements (4) extends from a respective cross-strut (33) that extends over (Fig. 14) a top edge (top of 15) of a respective façade panel (15) and extends towards (Fig. 14) a respective receiving space (between 32b and 37) of an adjacent profile element (4) beyond the top side (top of 15, see Fig. 14) of the respective façade panel (15), wherein a distal end (end of 34 at 35) of each of the first, second and third mounting section (34-36) forms a recessed section (34) and wherein a height of the second leg (32b) of a respective receiving section (32) is equal to or greater than (Fig. 4) a height of a respective recessed section (34) such that the respective recess section (34) fits within the receiving space (between 32b and 37) of the adjacent profile element (4), a distal end (end of 34 at 35) of the respective mounting section (34-36) depending from a distal end (end of 34) of the respective recessed section (34) toward the respective façade panel (15) and abuts an inside surface (34 abuts 37) of a first leg (37) of the respective receiving section (32) of the adjacent profile element (4, see Fig. 14),
but fails to disclose a kit, the cross-strut extends over and abuts a top side of the respective facade panel.
However, Dickey discloses a kit ([0002]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the construction of Kamata with the kit as disclosed by Dickey in order to expedite construction of the façade in accost effective manner with high quality ([0002]).
In addition, Timko discloses the cross-strut (212) extends over and abuts (Fig. 11A) a top side (top of 102) of the respective facade panel (102).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the construction kit of Kamata with the cross-strut extends over and abuts a top side of the respective facade panel as disclosed by Timko in order to space adjacent panels uniformly.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections 35 USC 112: Applicant’s argument with respect to the claims rejected under 35 USC 112 is persuasive and rejection of the claims pursuant to 35 USC 112 (for the reasons stated in the previous rejection) is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections 35 USC 102 and/or 103: Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that a difference between Kamata and the claimed invention is that Kamata uses support members that are first fastened to a support structure, and then the tiles are subsequently positively engaged with engaging parts and a rail. Applicant further argues that the tiles are form fitted with the support member, and a separate arrester 39 is used to maintain engagement therewith. Applicant argues that in contrast, the claimed invention requires that the façade panel is first fastened to a profile element. Afterwards the combined profile element/façade panel is mounted to the surface. These are features which are not claimed. There are no claimed features directed to any order of process of assembly. Moreover, the language argued by Applicant would be directed to a method of assembly. The claims are directed to a system, not a method. The final assembly of the system is what governs, not the process by which the system is produced.
Next, Applicant argues that although Kamata is similar to the claimed invention, the claimed invention requires that only the screws in the horizontal gap above the façade panel need to be removed for removal. As with the above, these are features which are not claimed. Moreover, the language argued by Applicant would be directed to a method of removal. The claims are directed to a system, not a method. The final assembly of the system is what governs, not the process by which features are removed.
It is further noted that although Applicant argues the above with respect to each independent claim, it appears as though only independent claim 1 has been amended consistently therewith. Thus, the rejections of claims 8-15 are also maintained.
Conclusion
KYLE WALRAED-SULLIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635