DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
No claim was amended. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) under 35 USC § 103 are persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1, 7, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (2015/0110060 A1), hereinafter referred to as Yan, in view of Ahn (2010/0208677 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ahn.
Regarding claim 1:
Yan discloses a method of wireless communication (method of selecting resources to which 10ms TTI and 2ms TTI correspond, for performing uplink transmission, para.6, lines 1-12), comprising:
allocating, for a user equipment (UE), a first set of resources for transmitting, according to a first transmission time interval {TTI}, a first communication (allocating, for UE, resources from first resource pool, e.g., first set of resources, to which first TTI corresponds, a {first} uplink transmission, e.g., first communication, para.32, lines 3-20);
allocating, for the UE, a second set of resources for transmitting, according to a second TTI, a second communication (allocating, for UE, resources to which second TTI corresponds, a {second} uplink transmission, [para.32, lines 23-24 and 27-30], wherein resources are in second resource pool to which second transmission time interval corresponds [para.8]), wherein the second TTI is smaller than the first TTI (wherein second TTI {2ms} is smaller that first TTI {10ms}, para.6, lines 1-10);
transmitting, to the UE, a first resource grant corresponding to the first set of resources (granting, to UE, number of resources, e.g., first set of resources, para.46, lines 1-6); and
transmitting, to the UE, a second resource grant corresponding to the second set of resources (granting, to UE, number of resources, e.g., second set of resources, para.46, lines 1-6).
Yan does not explicitly disclose transmitting the resource grant over a downlink control channel, and determining the second set of resources at least partially overlap the first set of resources; which are well known in the art and commonly applied in communications field for data communications, as suggested in Ahn’s teachings.
Ahn, from the same field of endeavor, discloses transmitting the first and second resource grants over a downlink control channel (transmitting uplink packet scheduling command, e.g., resource grant, in downlink, whenever the uplink packet is transmitted [0003]) and determining the second set of resources at least partially overlap the first set of resources (determining time-frequency resources for packet transmission partially collide with time-frequency resources for special purpose transmission [0071]).
Also, Ahn teaches the base station transmits scheduling commands to mobile station(s) [0002] or transmits a plurality of time-frequency resources available for a packets transmission [0004], wherein information on resources being allocated for packets and special purpose packets transmissions are included in a resource allocation information [0018]. Furthermore, Ahn mentions that {uplink} packets are transmitted at different timings, e.g., initial transmission timing, first retransmission timing, second retransmission timing, [0070]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the invention was filed to transmit, over the downlink control channel, first/ second resource grants corresponding to first/ second sets of resources allocated according to first/ second TTIs {10ms/ 2ms}, so as for the UE to transmit first/ second communications, wherein the second set of resources at least partially overlap the first set of resources in time and frequency; thus increasing uplink packets transmission efficiency by taking proper actions, when the collision of time-frequency resources occurs between two uplink communications – Ahn [0030]
Regarding claim 7: is rejected for substantially identical reasons as applied to claim 1, except that claim 7 is in a device claim format, and wherein Yan [in claim 7] also discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (NodeB in Fig.3) comprising: a first/ second resource allocating component (adjustment processor, element 630 in Fig.6); and a communicating component (transmitter/ receiver, elements 620 and 610 in Fig.6).
Regarding claim 13: is rejected for substantially identical reasons as applied to claim 7.
Regarding claim 19: is rejected for substantially identical reasons as applied to claim 1, except that claim 19 is in a non-transitory computer-readable medium format.
Claims 2, 8, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan in view of Ahn, as applied to claims 1, 7, 13, and 19 above, respectively, and further in view of Martin et al. (8,432,864 B1), hereinafter referred to as Martin.
Regarding claim 2:
Yan in view of Ahn discloses all features of claim 1,
Yan in view of Ahn do not explicitly disclose indicating resource unavailability related to the first set of resources to a user equipment; which is known in the art and commonly applied in communications field for resources allocations, as suggested in Martin’s teachings.
Martin, from the same field of endeavor, discloses indicating resource unavailability related to the first set of resources to a user equipment (upon determining availability of some resources being constrained, e.g., resource unavailability, providing an indicator to utilize a different resource, e.g., switching between a requested 2 ms TTI and a 10 ms TTI to be utilized by mobile terminal for communication, col.5, lines 36-46).
Thus, it would be obvious that information on resources unavailability should be indicated from the NodeB to the UE over a downlink control channel that is based on the second TTI – of which resources remain available at that time and an adjusted resource subset information should be transmitted to UE; for the UE to avoid transmission on unavailable resources – which results in reducing processing time in attempting to access unavailable resources.
Regarding claim 8: is rejected for substantially identical reasons as applied to claim 2 above, except that claim 8 is in a device claim format.
Regarding claim 14: is rejected for substantially identical reasons as applied to claim 2, except that claim 14 is in a device claim format.
Regarding claim 20: is rejected for substantially identical reasons as applied to claim 2, except that claim 20 is in a non-transitory computer-readable medium format.
Claims 3, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan in view of Ahn, as applied to claims 1, 7, and 13 above, respectively, and further in view of Zhou et al. (2014/0348141 A1), hereinafter referred to as Zhou.
Regarding claim 3:
Yan in view of Ahn discloses all features of claim 1,
Yan in view of Ahn does not explicitly disclose the allocation of the second set of resources is based at least in part on at least one of a modulation and coding scheme, a resource allocation size, or a number of layers of one or more channels corresponding to the first set of resources; which is known in the art and commonly applied in communications field for control signaling, as taught in Zhou.
Zhou, from the same field of endeavor, discloses the allocation of the second set of resources is based at least in part on at least one of a resource allocation size, or a number of layers of one or more channels corresponding to the first set of resources, or a modulation and coding scheme (modulation modes/ encoding modes are adopted on same group of resources are different, so that mutual interference is also random, [para.138 and para.26] or different modulation modes are adopted for at least two group of resources among multiple resources [para.31]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the invention was filed to allocate the second set of resources to partially overlap the first set of resources based on modulation and coding scheme; thus improving the efficiency of transmitting control signaling by avoiding potential interference among transmissions as much as possible (see para.44 in Zhou).
Regarding claim 9: is rejected for substantially identical reasons as applied to claim 3, except that claim 9 is in a device claim format.
Regarding claim 15: is rejected for substantially identical reasons as applied to claim 9.
Claims 4-5, 10-11, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan in view of Ahn, as applied to claims 1, 7, and 13 above, respectively, and further in view of Xiong et al. (US 2016/0037514 A1), hereinafter referred to as Xiong.
Regarding claim 4:
Yan in view of Ahn discloses all features of claim 1.
Yan in view of Ahn does not disclose indicating, to a user equipment, whether to rate match around demodulation reference signals in the first set of resources based at least in part on determining whether the second set of resources overlap the first set of resources; which is known in the art and commonly applied in communications field for resources allocations, as suggested in Xiong’s teachings.
Xiong, from the same field of endeavor, teaches indicating, to a user equipment, whether to rate match around demodulation reference signals in the first set of resources based at least in part on determining whether the second set of resources overlap the first set of resources (resource element {RE} mapping for physical channel transmission are rate-matched around demodulation reference signal {DM-RS} when downlink physical channels transmissions, e.g., with its {first} set of resources, interfere or collide in MTC region, e.g., including second set of resources, para.55 in Xiong, or pg.11 in Prov’54).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the invention was filed that – in order to mitigate the interference, also employing a method of rate matching around demodulation reference signals in the first set of resources based at least in part on determining whether the second set of resources overlap the first set of resources; thus enabling the exclusion of resources associated with interfering reference signals when performing the data transmission (see para.38 in Xiong).
Regarding claim 5:
Yan in view of Ahn discloses all features of claim 1,
Yan in view of Ahn does not disclose allocating the second set of resources to avoid overlapping the first set of resources in a portion of the first set of resources; which is known in the art and commonly applied in communications field for resources allocations, as suggested in Xiong’s teachings.
Xiong, from the same field of endeavor, teaches allocating the second set of resources to avoid overlapping the first set of resources in a portion of the first set of resources corresponding to demodulation reference signal transmission (allocating MTC region with a subframe that is not used for other control signals using a plurality of subframes, para.40 and 67 in Xiong, or pg.5 in Prov’54).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the invention was filed that – in order to avoid the interference, allocating the second set of resources in a proper manner; thus increasing the overall throughput of the system by allowing correct transmission and reception of reference signals transmitted over appropriate resources, so as for UEs to schedule its needed operations.
Regarding claims 10-11: are rejected for substantially identical reasons as applied to claims 4-5, except that claims 10-11 are in a device claim format.
Regarding claims 16-17: are rejected for substantially identical reasons as applied to claims 4-5, except that claims 16-17 are in a device claim format.
Claims 6, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan in view of Ahn, as applied to claims 1, 7, and 13 above, respectively, and further in view of Heo et al. (2005/0073985 A1), hereinafter referred to as Heo.
Regarding claim 6:
Yan in view of Ahn discloses all features of claim 1,
Yan in view of Ahn does not explicitly disclose the second set of resources are allocated during the first communication transmission; which is known in the art and commonly applied in communications field for resources allocations, as suggested in Heo’s teachings.
Heo, from the same field of endeavor, teaches the second set of resources are allocated during the first communication transmission (performs a change control to short TTI of 2 ms, when UE is performing an EUDCH service according to long TTI of 10 ms, para.82).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the invention was filed to allocate the second set of resources during the first communication transmission; thus ensuring the transmission of downlink communications of different types by continuing transferring downlink data of a different type to the UE over properly allocated resources without interruption.
Regarding claim 12: is rejected for substantially identical reasons as applied to claim 6, except that claim 12 is in a device claim format.
Regarding claim 18: is rejected for substantially identical reasons as applied to claim 6, except that claim 18 is in a device claim format.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CAMQUYEN THAI whose telephone number is (571)270-7245. The examiner can normally be reached on 9:00am-5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and videoconferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at: http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A. Abaza can be reached on 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/C.Q.T./
/YEE F LAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465