DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
The following claim limitations have been reviewed for compliance with 35 U.S.C. § 112(f). No claim limitation in the pending claims employs the phrase 'means for' or 'step for,' nor is any limitation otherwise drafted in a format invoking means-plus-function treatment. Accordingly, no limitation is construed under § 112(f) at this time. However, Applicant is reminded that limitations reciting purely functional results -- such as 'configured to direct air...with a non-uniform distribution' and 'oriented to extend towards the opposite first and second edges...thereby directing the increased air flow' -- employ functional language that does not restrict the claimed structure beyond the structural elements recited, and will be addressed as such under § 103 below. See MPEP §§ 2114, 2115.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
claims 1, 5, 12, 13, and 16 recites “opposite first and second edges the thermally conductive material that are in the rotation direction of the impingement fan” renders the claims indefinite because the phrase “edges the thermally conductive material” is missing the preposition 'of' and should read --edges of the thermally conductive material--. As written, it is unclear whether 'the thermally conductive material' modifies 'edges' or introduces some other relationship. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot determine with reasonable certainty the metes and bounds of this limitation.
claim 14 recites “at least one of the opposite first and second edges of the bottom portion of the thermally conductive material having the increased air flow from the impingement fan” renders the claim indefinite because claim 1 from which claim 14 depends recites “a bottom plate that defines the bottom surface of the thermally conductive material.” In this case, claim 1 uses the term “bottom plate” throughout, not “bottom portion.” The use of the term “bottom portion” in claim 14 introduces terminology not previously established in claim 1, creating uncertainty as to whether bottom portion and bottom plate are coextensive.
Claims 1, 5, and 18 recites “completely all of the at least one heat pipe is entirely disposed within the bottom plate of the thermally conductive material” renders the claims indefinite because the cumulative use of 'completely all' and 'entirely disposed' is ambiguous as to whether these terms impose the same requirement or whether 'completely all' adds a distinct further limitation beyond 'entirely disposed.' Claim 12, by contrast, uses only 'entirely disposed' without 'completely all.' Applicant is requested to clarify the intended scope distinction, if any.
Claim 16, L 34 calls for the limitation of “an increased air flow from the impingement fan” which is confusing as it is unclear how it relates to the previous recitation of “an increase air flow from the impingement fan” in line 12-13 of the claim.
Claims 1 recites “at least one heat pipe entirely disposed within the thermally conductive material adjacent the bottom surface of the thermally conductive material” in line 5-6 and the same claim further recites “completely all of the at least one heat pipe is entirely disposed within the bottom plate of the thermally conductive material” in line 24-25 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the at least one heat pipe is entirely disposed within or adjacent the bottom surface of the thermally conductive material. It appears that the claim limitations contradict each other. Same indefiniteness apply to claims 5, 12, 13 and 16.
Claims 2-4, 6-11, 15, 17, 19 and 20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2008/0174964) in view of Kawabata et al. (JP 2004-311718 A).
In regard to claim 1, Figs. 1-4 of Zhou teach a heat sink comprising:
at least one thermally conductive material having a bottom surface (base 10, which forms the bottom surface), a top surface (the top surface defined by the upper extent of fins 330, 350 of heat sinks 30), and one or more fins (first fins 330 and second fins 350 of heat sinks 30) (see Zhou Figs. 1-3; paragraphs 0016, 0018-0019);
an impingement fan (fan 40 comprising an impeller with a central hub and a plurality of blades extending radially and outwardly from the hub) (see Zhou Fig. 1; paragraph 0008);
at least one heat pipe (heat pipe 20) entirely disposed within the thermally conductive material adjacent the bottom surface of the thermally conductive material -- Zhou teaches heat pipe 20 comprising first transfer section 211 received in grooves 111 of base 10 and two parallel second transfer sections 213 extending perpendicularly and upwardly from base 10 into grooves 311 of heat conducting portions 310 (see Zhou Figs. 1-2; paragraphs 0017-0019).
the thermally conductive material comprises a bottom plate that defines the bottom surface of the thermally conductive material (see Zhou paragraph 0016; Fig. 1: Zhou teaches base (10) as a rectangular metal plate having a flat bottom face for engaging with the electronic device)
Zhou does not explicitly teach the at least one heat pipe as being entirely disposed within the thermally conductive material adjacent the bottom surface, and also fail to teach completely all of the at least one heat pipe is entirely disposed within the bottom plate of the thermally conductive material.
However, Kawabata teaches heat pipe (6) entirely embedded within base plate (2) in groove (5) formed on the fin-mounting face of base plate (2), with the top surface of heat pipe (6) flush with the surface of base plate (2) such that heat pipe (6) is entirely disposed within base plate (2) and does not protrude beyond any exterior surface of base plate (2) (see Kawabata paragraphs 0021, 0025; Figs. 1, 4, 5). Metal fins (3) are received in fin grooves (4) on the same face, and the contact portions (8, 9) of fins (3) press against the top surface of heat pipe (6) to thermally connect the fins to the heat pipe (see Kawabata paragraph 0023; Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the at least one heat pipe of Zhou by embedding the heat pipe entirely within the thermally conductive base plate such that the heat pipe is entirely disposed within the base plate adjacent the bottom surface thereof, in view of the teaching of Kawabata, for the purpose of improving thermal contact between the heat pipe and the base plate, eliminating protruding heat pipe sections that require additional space and complicate assembly, and enabling the fins to be crimped directly over the heat pipe for enhanced thermal coupling, as explicitly taught by Kawabata. See Kawabata, paragraphs 0007-0009, 0048-0051.
The modified Zhou further teaches the impingement fan (fan 40) is configured to direct air downwards toward the top surface of the thermally conductive material (top surface of fins 30) as the impingement fan rotates so that air flow of the impingement fan is directed across the thermally conductive material (see Zhou paragraphs 0020-0021; Fig. 1). With respect to the limitation 'with a non-uniform distribution such that opposite first and second edges the thermally conductive material that are in the rotation direction of the impingement fan receive more air velocity to have an increased air flow from the impingement fan' -- Applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim, as is the case here; refer to MPEP sections 2114 and 2115. Fan 40 of Zhou, which directs air downward onto the heat sink assembly from above, is structurally capable of producing a non-uniform airflow distribution across the thermally conductive material such that edges in the rotation direction of fan 40 receive more air velocity -- this is an inherent physical consequence of a rotating impingement fan and is not a structural distinction. According to Applicant's own specification, the non-uniform distribution is simply caused by the fan rotating above the thermally conductive material (see Applicant's specification, paragraphs 0018, 0030; Figs. 1-2), and therefore the same structure in the prior art provides this functional capability;
Zhou does not explicitly teach the at least one heat pipe is angled horizontally within the thermally conductive material in the rotation direction of the impingement fan at an acute angle relative to at least one side of the thermally conductive material between the top and bottom surfaces of the thermally conductive material.
However, Kawabata teaches, in the crossing/diagonal embodiment, heat pipes (6-1) and (6-2) embedded in grooves (5-1) and (5-2) formed along the diagonal of base plate (2), such that each heat pipe (6) is disposed horizontally within base plate (2) at an acute angle relative to at least one side of base plate (2), between the top and bottom surfaces of base plate (2) (see Kawabata Fig. 6(c); paragraph 0047, which states the grooves are formed along the diagonal of the base plate). In the radial embodiment, heat pipes are embedded in grooves radiating from the center of base plate (2) toward outer edges, each at an acute angle relative to at least one side of base plate (2) (see Kawabata Fig. 7; paragraph 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the at least one heat pipe of Zhou by orienting the heat pipe diagonally within the base plate at an acute angle to the sides thereof, as taught by Kawabata (Fig. 6; paragraph 0047), for the purpose of distributing heat uniformly across the base plate and maximizing the heat transfer contact area within the base plate footprint without increasing the base plate's planar dimensions. See Kawabata, paragraphs 0041, 0048. With respect to the heat pipe being angled 'in the rotation direction of the impingement fan,' this is a functional characterization imposing no structural limitation beyond the heat pipe's acute-angle diagonal orientation, which is taught by Kawabata; by orienting the heat pipe diagonally across the base plate as taught by Kawabata, the heat pipe will be aligned in the rotation direction of the impingement fan of Zhou since that rotation direction corresponds to the diagonal across the heat sink base. See MPEP section 2114;
The modified Zhou in view of Kawabata further teaches the at least one heat pipe is oriented to extend towards the opposite first and second edges of the thermally conductive material having the increased air flow and away from decreased air flow in the airflow directions that are opposite the rotation direction of the impingement fan thereby directing the increased air flow to end portions of the at least one heat pipe -- in the crossing/diagonal embodiment of Kawabata, heat pipes (6-1) and (6-2) are oriented along the diagonal of base plate (2) such that the end portions of each heat pipe are adjacent opposite corner/edge regions of base plate (2) (see Kawabata Fig. 6(c); paragraph 0047). In the radial embodiment, heat pipes extend from the center of base plate (2) toward all outer edges, with each heat pipe having an end portion adjacent an outer edge of base plate (2) (see Kawabata Fig. 7; paragraph 0033). The characterization of certain edges as having 'increased air flow' and away from 'decreased air flow' is a functional description of the airflow pattern from the rotating impingement fan and does not impose structural requirements on the heat pipe orientation beyond that the heat pipe extends toward opposite edge regions of the base plate -- which Kawabata explicitly teaches. See MPEP sections 2114, 2115. That the end portions of the heat pipe in the modified Zhou device will be in regions of increased airflow from the impingement fan follows inherently from the combined structure.
In regard to claim 2, Zhou as modified by Kawabata as applied to claim 1 above teaches the heat sink of claim 1, wherein the end portions of the at least one heat pipe (end portions of heat pipe 6-1 and 6-2 adjacent opposite edges of base plate 2) are located adjacent areas of the thermally conductive material that receive more of the increased air flow and less of the decreased air flow, thereby allowing the at least one heat pipe to spread heat within the thermally conductive material to the areas of the thermally conductive material having the increased air flow and reduce thermal resistance of the heat sink (see Kawabata Figs. 6, 7; paragraphs 0028-0035, 0048). In the modified Zhou device, the diagonally embedded heat pipe with end portions adjacent outer edges of the base plate will be in the regions of highest airflow from fan (40) of Zhou, thereby enabling heat pipe (6) to spread heat toward those high-airflow edge regions and reduce thermal resistance.
In regard to claim 3, Zhou as modified by Kawabata teaches the heat sink of claim 1, wherein the impingement fan (40) is configured to direct air downwards toward the top surface of the thermally conductive material (top surface of fins 30) so that air flow at an inlet of the impingement fan is redirected from a downward direction, horizontally across the thermally conductive material (across base 10 and through fin passages of fins 330, 350), thereby providing the air flow horizontally across the thermally conductive material (see Zhou paragraphs 0020-0021; Figs. 3-4).
In regard to claim 4, Zhou as modified by Kawabata teaches the heat sink of claim 1, wherein the impingement fan (fan 40) is configured to direct air downwards toward the top surface of the thermally conductive material (top face of fins 30) so that air flow at an inlet of the impingement fan is redirected at an angle of approximately ninety degrees across the thermally conductive material (fan 40 directs air axially downward, which is redirected approximately ninety degrees to flow horizontally through fin passages of heat sinks 30 and across base 10) (see Zhou paragraphs 0020-0021; Fig. 1).
Claim 5 recites the same base elements as claim 1 -- addressed in the rejection of claim 1 above -- together with specific additional limitations. Only the additional limitations unique to the claim are addressed below.
In regard to claim 5, Figs. 1-4 of Zhou in view of Kawabata teach a heat sink comprising the preamble elements and all 'wherein' limitations recited in claim 5 through 'thereby directing the increased air flow to end portions of the at least one heat pipe,' for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. Claim 5 further requires: the thermally conductive material comprises a bottom plate that defines the bottom surface of the thermally conductive material (base 10 of Zhou defines the bottom surface of the thermally conductive material; base plate 2 of Kawabata defines the bottom surface of the thermally conductive material) (see Zhou paragraph 0016; Fig. 1; Kawabata paragraph 0021; Figs. 1, 5);
Zhou does not explicitly teach the at least one heat pipe is angled horizontally within the bottom plate of the thermally conductive material in the rotation direction of the impingement fan at approximately forty-five degrees relative to at least one side of the bottom plate of the thermally conductive material.
However, Kawabata teaches, in the crossing/diagonal embodiment, heat pipes (6-1) and (6-2) embedded in grooves (5-1) and (5-2) formed along the diagonal of base plate (2) -- paragraph 0047 of Kawabata states the grooves are formed along the diagonal of base plate (2), which geometrically corresponds to approximately forty-five degrees relative to the sides of the base plate -- such that each heat pipe (6) is angled horizontally within base plate (2) at approximately forty-five degrees relative to at least one side of base plate (2) (see Kawabata Fig. 6(c); paragraph 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the at least one heat pipe of Zhou by angling the heat pipe horizontally within the base plate at approximately forty-five degrees, as taught by Kawabata (Fig. 6(c); paragraph 0047), for the purpose of maximizing the heat pipe span within the base plate footprint and distributing heat to the corner and edge regions of the base plate most effectively. Furthermore, the angle of the heat pipe within the base plate is a result-effective variable -- the forty-five-degree angle maximizes the diagonal dimension available within the base plate, providing the longest possible heat pipe path between the edge regions of highest airflow -- and it would have been routine to optimize the angle at approximately forty-five degrees. See MPEP section 2144.05.
In regard to claim 6, Zhou as modified by Kawabata teaches the heat sink of claim 1, wherein the top and bottom surfaces of the thermally conductive material (top surface formed by fins 330, 350 and bottom surface of base 10), a horizontal X-Y plane including the entire at least one heat pipe (horizontal X-Y plane of heat pipe 6 embedded flush within base plate 2), and a horizontal X-Y plane defined by the rotation direction of the fan (horizontal plane of rotation of impeller of fan 40) are parallel with one another (see Kawabata Figs. 1, 5, 6; paragraphs 0021, 0025; Zhou Fig. 1). In the modified device, heat pipe (6) lies in a horizontal X-Y plane parallel to both the top and bottom surfaces of base plate (2) and to the rotational plane of fan (40).
In regard to claim 7, Zhou as modified by Kawabata teaches the heat sink of claim 1, wherein a horizontal X-Y plane including the entire at least one heat pipe (horizontal plane of heat pipe 6 embedded within base plate 2) and the top and bottom surfaces of the thermally conductive material between which the at least one heat pipe is disposed is parallel with a horizontal X-Y plane defined by the rotation direction of the impingement fan (see Kawabata Figs. 1, 4, 5; paragraphs 0021, 0025; Zhou Fig. 1). As established under claim 6, the embedded heat pipe lies in a horizontal plane parallel to the base plate surfaces and to the fan's rotation plane.
In regard to claim 8, Zhou teaches the heat sink of claim 1, wherein: the at least one heat pipe is disposed within a bottom portion of the thermally conductive material (first transfer section 211 of heat pipe 20 is disposed within grooves 111 of base 10, which is the bottom portion of the thermally conductive material) (see Zhou Fig. 1; paragraphs 0016-0017); a first end of the at least one heat pipe extends upwards relative to the bottom portion of the thermally conductive material (first of the two parallel second transfer sections 213 of heat pipe 20 extends perpendicularly and upwardly from base 10 into heat conducting portion 310) (see Zhou Fig. 1; paragraph 0019).
In regard to claim 9, Zhou teaches the heat sink of claim 8, wherein: the first end of the at least one heat pipe extends upwards at approximately a ninety-degree angle from a main portion of the at least one heat pipe (second transfer section 213 extends perpendicularly at ninety degrees from first transfer section 211 of heat pipe 20) (see Zhou paragraph 0017; Fig. 1); the first end of the at least one heat pipe extends upwards relative to the bottom portion of the thermally conductive material adjacent a side of the bottom portion of the thermally conductive material (second transfer section 213 extends upward adjacent the lateral side of heat conducting portion 310, which is adjacent the side of base 10) (see Zhou paragraph 0019; Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 10, Zhou teaches the heat sink of claim 8, wherein the at least one heat pipe extends upwards relative to the bottom portion of the thermally conductive material at a second end of the heat pipe (second of the two parallel second transfer sections 213 of U-shaped heat pipe 20 extends upwardly from the opposite end of first transfer section 211), the second end opposite the first end of the heat pipe (the two second transfer sections 213 are at opposite ends of first transfer section 211) (see Zhou paragraph 0017; Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 11, Zhou teaches the heat sink of claim 8, wherein the first end of the at least one heat pipe (second transfer section 213 of heat pipe 20) is positioned to receive direct air flow from the impingement fan (sections 213 are located outside the hub and below the fan blades of fan 40 such that airflow generated by fan 40 directly blows on sections 213 to take heat away therefrom) (see Zhou paragraph 0021; Fig. 3).
Claim 12 recites the same base elements as claim 1 -- addressed in the rejection of claim 1 above -- together with specific additional limitations. Only the additional limitations unique to the claim are addressed below.
In regard to claim 12, Figs. 1-4 of Zhou in view of Kawabata teach a heat sink comprising the preamble elements and all 'wherein' limitations through 'thereby directing the increased air flow to end portions of the at least one heat pipe,' for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. Claim 12 further requires: the thermally conductive material comprises a bottom plate that defines the bottom surface of the thermally conductive material (base 10 of Zhou; base plate 2 of Kawabata) (see Zhou paragraph 0016; Fig. 1; Kawabata paragraph 0021; Figs. 1, 5) -- see rejection of claim 1, limitation above.
Zhou does not teach the at least one heat pipe is entirely disposed within the bottom plate of the thermally conductive material such that the at least one heat pipe does not protrude beyond an exterior of the bottom plate of the thermally conductive material.
However, Kawabata teaches heat pipe (6) entirely embedded within base plate (2) in groove (5), with the top surface of heat pipe (6) flush with or below the fin-mounting surface of base plate (2), such that heat pipe (6) does not protrude beyond any exterior surface of base plate (2) (see Kawabata paragraphs 0021, 0025; Figs. 1, 4, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhou's heat sink by embedding the heat pipe entirely within the base plate such that the heat pipe does not protrude beyond an exterior of the base plate, as taught by Kawabata (paragraphs 0021, 0025; Figs. 1, 4, 5), for the purpose of improving thermal contact, enabling a more compact heat sink assembly, and allowing the fins to be crimped directly over the heat pipe for enhanced thermal coupling. See Kawabata, paragraphs 0048-0051.
Claim 13 recites the same base elements as claim 1 -- addressed in the rejection of claim 1 above -- together with specific additional limitations. Only the additional limitations unique to the claim are addressed below.
In regard to claim 13, Figs. 1-4 of Zhou in view of Kawabata teach a heat sink comprising the preamble elements and all 'wherein' limitations through 'thereby directing the increased air flow to end portions of the at least one heat pipe,' for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. Claim 13 further requires: the thermally conductive material comprises a bottom plate that defines the bottom surface of the thermally conductive material (base 10 of Zhou; base plate 2 of Kawabata) (see Zhou paragraph 0016; Fig. 1; Kawabata paragraph 0021; Figs. 1, 5).
Zhou does not teach the at least one heat pipe is disposed at a forty-five degree angle horizontally inside the bottom plate of the thermally conductive material relative to at least one side of the bottom plate of the thermally conductive material.
However, Kawabata teaches heat pipes (6-1) and (6-2) disposed along the diagonal of base plate (2) in grooves (5-1) and (5-2) formed along the diagonal of base plate (2), which corresponds to a forty-five-degree angle relative to the sides of base plate (2), such that heat pipes (6-1) and (6-2) are disposed at a forty-five-degree angle horizontally inside base plate (2) relative to at least one side of base plate (2) (see Kawabata Fig. 6(c); paragraph 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhou's heat sink by disposing the heat pipe at a forty-five-degree angle horizontally inside the base plate, as taught by Kawabata (Fig. 6(c); paragraph 0047), for the same reasons set forth under claim 5 above.
In regard to claim 14, Zhou as modified by Kawabata teaches the heat sink of claim 1, wherein the at least one heat pipe includes a plurality of heat pipes (heat pipes 6-1 and 6-2 in the crossing/diagonal embodiment) positioned such that at least a portion of each of the plurality of heat pipes is adjacent at least one of the opposite first and second edges of the bottom portion of the thermally conductive material having the increased air flow from the impingement fan (in the crossing diagonal embodiment of Kawabata, heat pipes 6-1 and 6-2 are embedded diagonally within base plate 2 with end portions of each heat pipe adjacent opposite corner/edge regions of base plate 2; in the radial embodiment, eight heat pipes each have at least a portion adjacent an outer edge of base plate 2) (see Kawabata Figs. 6, 7; paragraphs 0028-0035, 0033).
Claim 16 recites the same base elements as claim 1 -- addressed in the rejection of claim 1 above -- together with specific additional limitations. Only the additional limitations unique to the claim are addressed below.
In regard to claim 16, Figs. 1-4 of Zhou in view of Kawabata teach a heat sink comprising the preamble elements and the 'wherein' limitations of claim 16 as follows: at least one thermally conductive material having a bottom surface (base 10), a top surface (top face of fins 330, 350), and one or more fins (fins 330, 350) (see Zhou Figs. 1-3; paragraphs 0016, 0018-0019); an impingement fan (fan 40) (see Zhou Fig. 1; paragraph 0008); at least one heat pipe entirely disposed within the thermally conductive material adjacent the bottom surface of the thermally conductive material -- addressed under claim 1 above, applying the modification taught by Kawabata (paragraphs 0021, 0025; Figs. 1, 4, 5);
the impingement fan (fan 40) is configured to direct air downwards toward the top surface of the thermally conductive material (top surface of fins 30) as the impingement fan rotates so that air flow of the impingement fan is directed across the thermally conductive material with a non-uniform distribution such that opposite first and second edges the thermally conductive material that are in the rotation direction of the impingement fan receive more air velocity to have an increased air flow from the impingement fan (see Zhou paragraphs 0020-0021; Fig. 1; see also MPEP sections 2114, 2115 regarding functional language, addressed under claim 1 above);
the at least one heat pipe is oriented to extend towards the opposite first and second edges of the thermally conductive material having the increased air flow and away from decreased air flow in the airflow directions that are opposite the rotation direction of the impingement fan thereby directing the increased air flow to end portions of the at least one heat pipe -- heat pipes (6-1) and (6-2) of Kawabata are oriented along the diagonal of base plate (2) such that the end portions of each heat pipe are adjacent opposite edge/corner regions of base plate (2) (see Kawabata Fig. 6(c); paragraph 0047); heat pipes in radial embodiment extend from center toward all outer edges with end portions at outer edges (see Kawabata Fig. 7; paragraph 0033); see motivation to combine under claim 1 above;
the thermally conductive material comprises a bottom plate that defines the bottom surface of the thermally conductive material (base 10 of Zhou defines the bottom surface; base plate 2 of Kawabata defines the bottom surface) (see Zhou paragraph 0016; Fig. 1; Kawabata paragraph 0021; Figs. 1, 5);
the at least one heat pipe is entirely disposed within the bottom plate of the thermally conductive material such that the at least one heat pipe does not protrude beyond an exterior of the bottom plate of the thermally conductive material -- heat pipe (6) of Kawabata is entirely embedded within base plate (2) in groove (5) with the top surface of heat pipe (6) flush with or below the fin-mounting surface of base plate (2), such that heat pipe (6) does not protrude beyond any exterior surface of base plate (2) (see Kawabata paragraphs 0021, 0025; Figs. 1, 4, 5); motivation to combine set forth under claim 12 above.
In regard to claim 17, Zhou as modified by Kawabata teaches the heat sink of claim 1, wherein: the at least one heat pipe comprises at least one of copper, stainless steel, nickel, aluminum, and brass (heat pipe 20 of Zhou is hollow and made of thermally conductive material; Kawabata teaches heat pipes made of copper in the examples) (see Zhou paragraph 0008; Kawabata paragraphs 0042-0044, 0050);
the at least one heat pipe is hollow and includes a working fluid disposed within the heat pipe (heat pipe 20 of Zhou is a heat pipe with working fluid; Kawabata teaches heat pipes with working fluid, including water and various refrigerants) (see Zhou paragraph 0008; Kawabata paragraphs 0032-0033 and Embodiment discussion);
the thermally conductive material includes at least one of aluminum and copper (heat sinks 30 of Zhou are extruded from aluminum; base plate 2 of Kawabata is made of copper in the examples) (see Zhou paragraph 0018; Kawabata paragraphs 0042-0044).
In regard to claim 18, Zhou as modified by Kawabata as applied to claim 13 above further teaches: completely all of the at least one heat pipe is entirely disposed within the bottom plate of the thermally conductive material -- heat pipe (6) of Kawabata is entirely embedded within base plate (2) in groove (5), with no portion of heat pipe (6) protruding beyond any exterior surface of base plate (2), such that completely all of heat pipe (6) is entirely disposed within base plate (2) (see Kawabata paragraphs 0021, 0025; Figs. 1, 4, 5); this is the same teaching addressed under claim 1 and claim 12 above, and the modification to Zhou's heat pipe arrangement would have been obvious for the same reasons stated therein.
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2008/0174964 A1) in view of Kawabata et al. (JP 2004-311718 A), and further in view of Tan (US 2012/0057300 A1).
In regard to claim 15, Zhou as modified by Kawabata as applied to claim 1 above does not teach at least one thermoelectric module coupled to the thermally conductive material. However,
Tan teaches a thermoelectric module (TEC 18) coupled to thermally conductive material (146) of the heat sink assembly (10) (see Tan, Fig. 1; element 18). Tan teaches a heat dissipation apparatus (10) comprising a thermally conductive heat sink material (144, 146), a fan (16), and at least one thermoelectric cooler (TEC) (18) coupled to the thermally conductive material (146) (See Tan, Fig. 1; paragraphs 0001-0005), wherein Tan further comprising at least one thermoelectric module coupled to the thermally conductive material (thermoelectric cooler 18 coupled to thermally conductive material 146 of heat sink assembly 10) (see Tan, Fig. 1; paragraph 0001-0005); and wherein the at least one heat pipe is positioned within the thermally conductive material adjacent the at least one thermoelectric module to transfer heat from the thermoelectric module to other portions of the thermally conductive material -- it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the heat sink of Zhou as modified by Kawabata by coupling at least one thermoelectric module (TEC 18 of Tan) to the thermally conductive material, for the purpose of increasing the active heat dissipation capability of the heat sink system using the cooling power of the thermoelectric module. In the modified device, by positioning the thermoelectric module on the thermally conductive base plate (2/10) -- which contains the embedded heat pipe (6) per Kawabata -- the heat pipe (6) would inherently be positioned adjacent the thermoelectric module, enabling heat transfer from the thermoelectric module to other regions of the thermally conductive base plate through heat pipe (6).
In regard to claim 19, Zhou as modified by Kawabata as applied to claim 1 above does not teach at least two thermoelectric modules arranged in a row along the bottom surface of the thermally conductive material.
Tan teaches a thermoelectric cooler (18) coupled to thermally conductive material (146) (see Tan, Fig. 1; element 18). It would have been obvious to employ at least two thermoelectric modules arranged in a row for the purpose of further increasing active heat dissipation, as it is well settled that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP section 2144.04(VI)(B); St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Zhou, as modified by Tan, teaches the at least one heat pipe is positioned within the thermally conductive material adjacent the at least two thermoelectric modules to transfer heat from the thermoelectric modules to other portions of the thermally conductive material -- in the modified device, heat pipe (6) embedded within base plate (2/10) per Kawabata would be positioned adjacent the row of thermoelectric modules coupled to the base plate, enabling heat pipe (6) to transfer heat from the modules to other regions of the base plate.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2008/0174964 A1) in view of Kawabata et al. (JP 2004-311718 A), and further in view of Quisenberry et al. (US 2015/0233647 A1).
In regard to claim 20, Zhou as modified by Kawabata as applied to claim 1 above does not teach at least one thermoelectric module coupled to the bottom surface of the thermally conductive material opposite the impingement fan.
Quisenberry teaches a heat-dissipation system comprising at least one thermoelectric module (206) coupled to the bottom portion of heat sink (202) on the side opposite impingement fan (216), and wherein at least one heat pipe (204) is positioned within the bottom portion of heat sink (202) adjacent thermoelectric module (206) to transfer heat from the thermoelectric module to other portions of the thermally conductive material (See Quisenberry, Figs. 2, 3; paragraphs 0029-0030). Quisenberry et al. further comprising at least one thermoelectric module coupled to the bottom surface of the thermally conductive material opposite the impingement fan (thermoelectric module 206 coupled to the bottom portion of heat sink 202 on the side opposite impingement fan 216) (see Quisenberry, Figs. 2, 3; paragraphs 0029-0030); and wherein the at least one heat pipe is positioned within the thermally conductive material adjacent the at least one thermoelectric module to transfer heat from the thermoelectric module to other portions of the thermally conductive material (heat pipe 204 positioned within the bottom portion of heat sink 202 adjacent thermoelectric module 206) (see Quisenberry, Figs. 2, 3; paragraphs 0029-0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the heat sink of Zhou as modified by Kawabata by coupling at least one thermoelectric module (206 of Quisenberry) to the bottom surface of the base plate on the side opposite the impingement fan, and positioning the heat pipe (6) within the base plate adjacent the thermoelectric module, in view of the teaching of Quisenberry, for the purpose of actively transferring heat from the thermoelectric module through the embedded heat pipe and into the base plate to increase overall cooling efficiency. See Quisenberry, paragraphs 0029-0030.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection(s) (see the rejection above). Applicant’s argument regarding the use of Zhou et al is not persuasive in light of the disclosure of the newly found prior art Kawabata et al. (JP 2004-311718 A) which is applied in the rejection of the claims that teaches the limitation of the “an at least one heat pipe is angled horizontally within the thermally conductive material…”.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WEBESHET MENGESHA whose telephone number is (571)270-1793. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs 7-4, alternate Fridays, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached at 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/W.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763