DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/09/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 59, 62, and 63 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 59-68, 70-80, and 81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer et al. (2008/0077882, of record) in view of Yang et al. (2019/0291647, of record), in view of Ooishi (2018/0215315).
Regarding claim 59, Kramer discloses an apparatus (at least Figure 1, 10, user-interactive display system) comprising: a mirror body (12, mirror assembly), comprising one or more mirror body sections (at least 30, casing), attachable, using a first attachment element (32, mounting structure), to a surface or to an object ([0051]), wherein the one or more mirror body sections comprise one or more reflective surfaces (28, reflective element); a memory (at least Figure 13, 557e, memory; [0110]); a computing device processor (at least [0048, 0049] teach a control or signal processor, as well as an image processor); a display screen (24, display element) comprised in or on the one or more mirror body sections (Figure 1) such that the one or more reflective surfaces display at least one of a live video stream or a recorded video stream (at least [0008, 0053, 0055]) while simultaneously displaying a reflection of a user or an environment positioned in front of the one or more reflective surfaces when the display screen is active (28, reflective element, allows for reflection of the driver or the environment positioned in front of the reflective element); an audio output device (Figure 4, 146, speaker); a light element (Figure 4 depicts LED under 124, display); a communication device (122, receiver); and a power source connector (Figure 4 depicts ignition, to 12, mirror assembly, which is viewed to include a connector to connect 12, mirror assembly, to the vehicle power source or battery), wherein the apparatus interacts with a mobile computing device, external to the apparatus, via wireless communication ([0062]), wherein a mobile application executable on the mobile computing device controls execution of an operation on the apparatus (at least [0007, 0039]), wherein the at least one operation comprises a display function of the display screen (at least [0007, 0039]); wherein the apparatus further communicates with an Internet of Things (IoT) device (at least [0038]).
Kramer fails to teach wherein the one or more reflective surfaces display only the reflection of the user or the environment positioned in front of the one or more reflective surfaces when the display screen is inactive; a power control system for controlling power being delivered to the light element; a resource-allocating system for allocating a first resource associated with the memory and a second resource associated with the power control system, to one or more components of the apparatus; wherein a brightness, intensity, or color of the light element is modifiable using the mobile computing device. Kramer and Yang are related because both teach a mirror body apparatus.
Yang teaches an apparatus comprising: a power control system for controlling power being delivered to the light element ([0076] teaches a controller can trigger at least two different levels of brightness from the light sources, thus interpreted to include a power control system that delivers two different levels of power from the light sources); a resource-allocating system ([0074] teaches a controller assembly) for allocating a first resource associated with the memory (at least [0106] teaches the controller includes one or more processors which use instructions and/or algorithms stored in the memory device, thus interpreted to allocate a first resource to the memory) and a second resource associated with the power control system ([0076] teaches the controller can trigger at least two different levels of brightness from the light sources, thus interpreted to allocate a second resource to the power control system), to one or more components of the apparatus ([0074]); wherein a brightness, intensity, or color of the light element is modifiable using the mobile computing device ([0013]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Kramer to incorporate the teachings of Yang and provide a power control system for controlling power being delivered to the light element; a resource-allocating system for allocating a first resource associated with the memory and a second resource associated with the power control system, to one or more components of the apparatus; wherein a brightness, intensity, or color of the light element is modifiable using the mobile computing device. Doing so would allow for convenient and efficient adjustment of the brightness of the light.
The modified Kramer fails to teach wherein the one or more reflective surfaces display only the reflection of the user or the environment positioned in front of the one or more reflective surfaces when the display screen is inactive. The modified Kramer and Ooishi are related because each teach a mirror body apparatus.
Ooishi teaches an apparatus wherein the one or more reflective surfaces display only the reflection of the user or the environment positioned in front of the one or more reflective surfaces when the display screen is inactive ([0045]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Kramer to incorporate the teachings of Ooishi and provide wherein the one or more reflective surfaces display only the reflection of the user or the environment positioned in front of the one or more reflective surfaces when the display screen is inactive. Doing so would allow for user customization based on desired states of operation and power saving capabilities for the apparatus.
Regarding claim 60, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 59, wherein the at least one operation further comprises a reflection function of the display screen (Yang: [0013] teaches adjusting the brightness or light temperature of the light, thus the reflection is consequently altered).
Regarding claim 61, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 59, wherein an angular orientation of the one or more mirror body sections is adjustable after the mirror body is attached, using the first attachment element, to the surface or to the object (Figure 2, at least 32b' and 33a', pivot joints, allow for adjustment of angular orientation; [0059]).
Regarding claim 62, Kramer discloses an apparatus (at least Figure 1, 10, user-interactive display system) comprising: a mirror body (12, mirror assembly), comprising one or more mirror body sections (at least 30, casing), attachable, using a first attachment element (32, mounting structure), to a surface or to an object ([0051]), wherein the one or more mirror body sections comprise one or more reflective surfaces (28, reflective element); a memory (at least Figure 13, 557e, memory; [0110]); a computing device processor (at least [0048, 0049] teach a control or signal processor, as well as an image processor); a display screen (24, display element) comprised in or on the one or more mirror body sections (Figure 1) such that the one or more reflective surfaces display at least one of a live video stream or a recorded video stream (at least [0008, 0053, 0055]) while simultaneously displaying a reflection of a user or an environment positioned in front of the one or more reflective surfaces when the display screen is active (28, reflective element, allows for reflection of the driver or the environment positioned in front of the reflective element); an audio output device (Figure 4, 146, speaker); a light element (Figure 4 depicts LED under 124, display); a communication device (122, receiver) for interacting with an external mobile computing device via wireless communication ([0062]); and a connector for connecting to a power source (Figure 4 depicts ignition, to 12, mirror assembly, which is viewed to include a connector to connect 12, mirror assembly, to the vehicle power source or battery), wherein a mobile application executable on the mobile computing device initiates execution of an operation on the apparatus (at least [0007, 0039]), wherein the operation comprises a display function of the display screen (at least [0007, 0039]).
Kramer fails to teach wherein the one or more reflective surfaces display only the reflection of the user or the environment positioned in front of the one or more reflective surfaces when the display screen is inactive; a power control system for controlling power being delivered to the light element; a resource-allocating system for allocating a first resource associated with the memory and a second resource associated with the power control system, to one or more components of the apparatus; wherein a brightness, intensity, or color of the light element is modifiable using the mobile computing device. Kramer and Yang are related because both teach a mirror body apparatus.
Yang teaches an apparatus comprising: a power control system for controlling power being delivered to the light element ([0076] teaches a controller can trigger at least two different levels of brightness from the light sources, thus interpreted to include a power control system that delivers two different levels of power from the light sources); a resource-allocating system ([0074] teaches a controller assembly) for allocating a first resource associated with the memory (at least [0106] teaches the controller includes one or more processors which use instructions and/or algorithms stored in the memory device, thus interpreted to allocate a first resource to the memory) and a second resource associated with the power control system ([0076] teaches the controller can trigger at least two different levels of brightness from the light sources, thus interpreted to allocate a second resource to the power control system), to one or more components of the apparatus ([0074]); wherein a brightness, intensity, or color of the light element is modifiable using the mobile computing device ([0013]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Kramer to incorporate the teachings of Yang and provide a power control system for controlling power being delivered to the light element; a resource-allocating system for allocating a first resource associated with the memory and a second resource associated with the power control system, to one or more components of the apparatus; wherein a brightness, intensity, or color of the light element is modifiable using the mobile computing device. Doing so would allow for convenient and efficient adjustment of the brightness of the light.
The modified Kramer fails to teach wherein the one or more reflective surfaces display only the reflection of the user or the environment positioned in front of the one or more reflective surfaces when the display screen is inactive. The modified Kramer and Ooishi are related because each teach a mirror body apparatus.
Ooishi teaches an apparatus wherein the one or more reflective surfaces display only the reflection of the user or the environment positioned in front of the one or more reflective surfaces when the display screen is inactive ([0045]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Kramer to incorporate the teachings of Ooishi and provide wherein the one or more reflective surfaces display only the reflection of the user or the environment positioned in front of the one or more reflective surfaces when the display screen is inactive. Doing so would allow for user customization based on desired states of operation and power saving capabilities for the apparatus.
Regarding claim 63, Kramer discloses an apparatus (at least Figure 1, 10, user-interactive display system) comprising: a mirror body (12, mirror assembly), comprising one or more mirror body sections (at least 30, casing), attachable, using a first attachment element (32, mounting structure), to a surface or to an object ([0051]), wherein the one or more mirror body sections comprise one or more reflective surfaces (28, reflective element); a memory (at least Figure 13, 557e, memory; [0110]); a computing device processor (at least [0048, 0049] teach a control or signal processor, as well as an image processor); a display screen (24, display element) comprised in or on the one or more mirror body sections (Figure 1) such that the one or more reflective surfaces display at least one of a live video stream or a recorded video stream (at least [0008, 0053, 0055]) while simultaneously displaying a reflection of a user or an environment positioned in front of the one or more reflective surfaces when the display screen is active (28, reflective element, allows for reflection of the driver or the environment positioned in front of the reflective element); an audio output device (Figure 4, 146, speaker); a light element (Figure 4 depicts LED under 124, display); a communication device (122, receiver) for interacting with an external mobile computing device via wireless communication ([0062]); and a connector for connecting to a power source internal or external to the apparatus (Figure 4 depicts ignition, to 12, mirror assembly, which is viewed to include a connector to connect 12, mirror assembly, to the vehicle power source or battery).
Kramer fails to teach wherein the one or more reflective surfaces display only the reflection of the user or the environment positioned in front of the one or more reflective surfaces when the display screen is inactive; a power control system for controlling power being delivered to the light element; a resource-allocating system for allocating a first resource associated with the memory and a second resource associated with the power control system, to one or more components of the apparatus; wherein a brightness, intensity, or color of the light element is modifiable using the mobile computing device. Kramer and Yang are related because both teach a mirror body apparatus.
Yang teaches an apparatus comprising: a power control system for controlling power being delivered to the light element ([0076] teaches a controller can trigger at least two different levels of brightness from the light sources, thus interpreted to include a power control system that delivers two different levels of power from the light sources); a resource-allocating system ([0074] teaches a controller assembly) for allocating a first resource associated with the memory (at least [0106] teaches the controller includes one or more processors which use instructions and/or algorithms stored in the memory device, thus interpreted to allocate a first resource to the memory) and a second resource associated with the power control system ([0076] teaches the controller can trigger at least two different levels of brightness from the light sources, thus interpreted to allocate a second resource to the power control system), to one or more components of the apparatus ([0074]); wherein a brightness, intensity, or color of the light element is modifiable using the mobile computing device ([0013]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Kramer to incorporate the teachings of Yang and provide a power control system for controlling power being delivered to the light element; a resource-allocating system for allocating a first resource associated with the memory and a second resource associated with the power control system, to one or more components of the apparatus; wherein a brightness, intensity, or color of the light element is modifiable using the mobile computing device. Doing so would allow for convenient and efficient adjustment of the brightness of the light.
The modified Kramer fails to teach wherein the one or more reflective surfaces display only the reflection of the user or the environment positioned in front of the one or more reflective surfaces when the display screen is inactive. The modified Kramer and Ooishi are related because each teach a mirror body apparatus.
Ooishi teaches an apparatus wherein the one or more reflective surfaces display only the reflection of the user or the environment positioned in front of the one or more reflective surfaces when the display screen is inactive ([0045]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Kramer to incorporate the teachings of Ooishi and provide wherein the one or more reflective surfaces display only the reflection of the user or the environment positioned in front of the one or more reflective surfaces when the display screen is inactive. Doing so would allow for user customization based on desired states of operation and power saving capabilities for the apparatus.
Regarding claim 64, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 63, further comprising a depressed area, a compartment, or a platform in at least one of the one or more mirror body sections (at least Figure 8 depicts the 330, casing, to have a depressed area which accommodates 328, reflective element).
Regarding claim 65, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 63, further comprising an aperture in at least one of the one or more mirror body sections (at least Figure 12, 472, receiving portion, is provided in the casing).
Regarding claim 66, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 63, wherein the communication device comprises a Wi-Fi communication device or a Bluetooth communication device ([0062]).
Regarding claim 67, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 63, wherein the apparatus is connected to a security system ([0077] teaches locking tabs to secure a personal navigation device, thus the locking tabs may be considered a security system).
Regarding claim 68, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 63, further comprising a microphone or voice detector ([0048]), and wherein the display screen is controllable using voice input ([0048]).
Regarding claim 70, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 63, wherein the light element is comprised in or on the one or more mirror body sections (at least Figure 4 depicts an LED beneath 124, display), or wherein the external mobile device comprises at least one of a tablet, a mobile phone, eyewear, a remote control device, or headgear ([0062]).
Regarding claim 71, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 63, further comprising a brightness or intensity modifier (at least [0054]).
Regarding claim 72, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 63, further comprising a motion detector ([0049]).
Regarding claim 73, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 63, wherein a mobile application executable on the external mobile device initiates execution of a first audio or video operation on the apparatus (at least [0063]).
Regarding claim 74, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 63, wherein the display screen comprises a touch display portion such that the user can input a command by touching the touch display portion ([0045]).
Regarding claim 75, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 63, further comprising a depression in a back surface of the apparatus (Figure 2 depicts 32b', mirror support base, to include a channel which accommodates 38a', channel mount).
Regarding claim 76, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 75, wherein the depression comprises a storage area or a platform substantially perpendicular to the back surface of the apparatus (32b', mirror support base, has a channel which accommodates 38a', channel mount, and is depicted to include a platform which is roughly perpendicular to the surface with joins to 36, windshield electronics module).
Regarding claim 77, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 75, further comprising a protrusion on the back surface of the apparatus separate from the depression in the back surface of the apparatus (36, windshield electronics module, protrudes from the back surface of 32b', mirror support base, and includes portions which are separate from the channel which accommodates 38a', channel mount).
Regarding claim 78, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 63, wherein the display screen displays television ([0158]).
Regarding claim 79, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 63, wherein the apparatus comprises a motion activation system (Yang: [0081]) and is controlled by an IoT system (Yang: at least [0013]).
Regarding claim 80, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 63, wherein the surface comprises a substantially vertical wall substantially perpendicular to a substantially horizontal floor (Figure 2, 36, windshield electronics module, or 11a, vehicle windshield, is substantially vertical, and is considered to be substantially perpendicular to either a dashboard or a floor of the vehicle, which is considered to be substantially horizontal), and wherein the first attachment element comprises a mounting attachment element for mounting to the substantially vertical wall (38a', channel mount), such that the apparatus is substantially parallel with the substantially vertical wall (Figure 2, 12', mirror assembly, is viewed to be substantially parallel to 36, windshield electronics module, or 11a, vehicle windshield).
Regarding claim 81, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 63, wherein the object comprises a stand in contact with a substantially horizontal floor (Figure 2, 11a, vehicle windshield, or 36, windshield electronics module, is viewed to be in direct or indirect contact with a dashboard or a floor of the vehicle, which is considered to be substantially horizontal), such that that the apparatus is leaning against a substantially vertical wall substantially perpendicular to the substantially horizontal floor (Figure 2, 12', mirror assembly, is viewed to be leaning against 11a, vehicle windshield, or 36, windshield electronics module, which is viewed to be substantially perpendicular to the dashboard or floor of the vehicle).
Claim 69 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kramer et al. (2008/0077882, of record) in view of Yang et al. (2019/0291647, of record), in view of Ooishi (2018/0215315), as applied to claim 63 above, and further in view of DeLine et al. (2001/0003439, of record).
Regarding claim 69, the modified Kramer discloses the apparatus of claim 63, but fails to teach wherein the apparatus comprises a first video camera, and wherein the apparatus enables a video conference between the user and a remote user using a second video camera associated with the second user. The modified Kramer and DeLine are related because each teach a mirror body apparatus.
DeLine teaches an apparatus wherein the apparatus comprises a first video camera ([0091]), and wherein the apparatus enables a video conference between the user and a remote user using a second video camera associated with the second user ([0091]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Kramer to incorporate the teachings of DeLine and provide wherein the apparatus comprises a first video camera, and wherein the apparatus enables a video conference between the user and a remote user using a second video camera associated with the second user. Doing so would allow for a convenient means to include the functions of a mobile device without distracting the user from driving.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872