DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1–4 and 15–19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites:
1. A system, comprising:
a baghouse filter system comprising a fabric filter, an air supply system, and a pulsing valve that is coupled to the air supply system and is configured to generate a statistical pulse of air that is directed to the fabric filter;
a control system coupled to the baghouse filter system that is configured to control filtering operations of the baghouse filter system and cleaning operations of the baghouse filter system;
a plurality of data collection devices that are configured to collect data associated with a plurality of operational and cleaning parameters of the baghouse filter system; and
a diagnostic system that is configured to receive the data associated with the plurality of operational and cleaning parameters of the baghouse filter system independent of the control system, to determine whether a performance of the baghouse filter system is degraded based on the data associated with the plurality of operational and cleaning parameters, and to perform a plurality of targeted diagnostic analyses of the data associated with the plurality of operational and cleaning parameters, the plurality of targeted diagnostic analyses corresponding to a plurality of performance metrics of the baghouse filter system; and
maintaining the baghouse filter system based on the determination of whether the performance of the baghouse filter system is degraded;
wherein the plurality of performance metrics comprises an improper setting used by the control system, which includes a header pressure setting, a temperature setting, and a gas flow rate setting; and
wherein the diagnostic system is further configured to perform the plurality of targeted diagnostic analyses by performing a targeted diagnostic analysis on the a structural impairment of the fabric filter; and
wherein performing the targeted diagnostic analysis on the structural impairment of the fabric filter comprises:
operating the pulsing valve to generate a first plurality of pulses of dust;
determining an average maximum pulse of dust concentration value for the first plurality of pulses of dust;
operating the pulsing valve to generate a second plurality of pulses of dust; and
determining whether each of a second plurality of maximum pulse of dust concentration values based on the second plurality of pulses of dust exceed the average maximum pulse of dust concentration value. Emphasis added.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by the limitation— “maintaining the baghouse filter system based on the determination of whether the performance of the baghouse filter system is degraded.” Specifically, this limitation is subject to at least two contradictory interpretations because “maintaining the baghouse filter system” could mean maintaining the status quo, or could mean performing a maintenance operation. The disclosure fails to provide guidance on what is meant by “maintaining the baghouse filter system” and therefore the limitation is unclear. Also, the “maintaining the baghouse filter system” limitation is indefinite because it is a method step within an apparatus claim. Therefore it is unclear whether infringement would occur when one creates a system that allows the process of maintaining the baghouse filter system based on the determination of whether the performance of the baghouse filter system is degraded to occur, or whether infringement requires that the process of maintaining the baghouse filter system is actually performed. See MPEP 2173.05(p), subsection II (a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite).
Claims 2–4 are indefinite because they depend from claim 1.
Claim 15 recites:
15. A method, comprising:
receiving data associated with a plurality of operational and cleaning parameters of a baghouse filter system independent of a control system configured to control filtering and cleaning operations of the baghouse filter system, the baghouse filter system comprising an air supply system, and a pulsing valve that is coupled to the air supply system and is configured to generate a statistical pulse of air that is directed to the a fabric filter;
determining whether a performance of the baghouse filter system is degraded based on the data associated with the plurality of operational and cleaning parameters;
performing a plurality of targeted diagnostic analyses of the data associated with the plurality of operational and cleaning parameters, the plurality of targeted diagnostic analyses corresponding to a plurality of performance metrics of the baghouse filter system; and
maintaining the baghouse filter system based on determining whether the performance of the baghouse filter system is degraded;
wherein the plurality of performance metrics comprises an improper setting used by the control system, which includes a header pressure setting, a temperature setting, and a gas flow rate setting; and
wherein performing the plurality of targeted diagnostic analyses comprises:
operating the pulsing valve to generate a first plurality of pulses of dust;
determining an average maximum pulse of dust concentration value for the first plurality of pulses of dust;
operating the pulsing valve to generate a second plurality of pulses of dust; and
determining whether each of a second plurality of maximum pulse of dust concentration values based on the second plurality of pulses of dust exceed the average maximum pulse of dust concentration value. Emphasis added.
Claim 15 is indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by the limitation— “maintaining the baghouse filter system based on the determination of whether the performance of the baghouse filter system is degraded.” Specifically, this limitation is subject to at least two contradictory interpretations because “maintaining the baghouse filter system” could mean maintaining the status quo, or could mean performing a maintenance operation. The disclosure fails to provide guidance on what is meant by “maintaining the baghouse filter system” and therefore the limitation is unclear.
Claims 16–19 are indefinite because they depend from claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1–4 and 15–19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 15 are each amended to include the newly added limitation:.
“maintaining the baghouse filter system based on determining whether the performance of the baghouse filter system is degraded”
The Applicant has not pointed out where this new limitation is supported, nor does there appear to be written description of this new claim limitation in the application as filed. See MPEP 2163.04, subsection I. Note that paragraph [0030] of the disclosure is the only portion that describes maintaining a fabric filter. While paragraph [0030] says that “embodiments of the inventive subject matter are described herein with respect to maintaining a fabric filter including the cleaning thereof”—this portion of the disclosure is silent that maintaining the baghouse filter system is “based on determining whether performance of the baghouse filter system has degraded,” as recited in the new limitation of claims 1 and 15.
Claims 2–4 and 16–19 recite the newly added limitation because they depend from claims 1 or 15. Therefore, claims 2–4 and 16–19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for lack of written description because they depend from claims 1 or 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–3 and 15–17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosshard, US 2011/0023709 A1 in view of Silvestro, US 2019/0209957 A1 in view of Jorgenson et al., US 5,427,596 and in further view of Lindsey et al., US 2009/0095152 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Bosshard teaches a filtration system, which reads on the claimed “system.” See Bosshard Fig. 1, [0075]. The system comprises:
A “baghouse filter system,” which is filter unit 10. See Bosshard Fig. 1, [0075]. The filter unit 10 comprises a plurality of filter bags 14, a pulse inlet valve 34 for supplying pulses of compressed air to the filter bags 14 to clean them and a mechanism for supplying the compressed air to the pulse inlet valve 34. Id. at [0075], [0078].
One of the filter bags 14 reads on the “fabric filter.”
The mechanism for supplying compressed air to the pulse inlet valve 34 reads on the “air supply system.”
The pulse inlet valve 34 reads on the “pulsing valve that is coupled to the air supply system.” The pulse inlet valve 34 is capable of performing the function of generating “a statistical pulse of air that is directed to the fabric filter” because the pulse inlet valve 34 supplies pulses of compressed air to the filter bags 14 to clean them. See Bosshard [0078].
A “control system coupled to the baghouse filter system,” which is valve control module 62 and memory 64. See Bosshard Figs. 1, 2A, [0078]. The valve control module 62/memory 64 is configured to control filtering operations, because it is operable to open and close a valve 42 to isolate the filter bags 14 based on a program code from memory 64. Id. at [0082]. The valve control module 62/memory 64 is also configured to control cleaning operations of the filter unit 10, because the control module 62 controls pulse inlet valves 34 which are used for cleaning the filter bags 14 based on a program code from memory 64. Id. at [0078].
A “plurality of data collection devices that are configured to collect data associated with a plurality of operational and cleaning parameters of the baghouse filter system.” The data collection devices include a pressure sensor 40 (also labeled as 50 in the text of the reference) that collects data about the pressure differential across the filter bags 14 while the bags 14 are being used for filtering and while the filters are being cleaned. See Bosshard Fig. 1, [0087].
A “diagnostic system that is configured to receive the data associated with the plurality of operational and cleaning parameters of the baghouse filter system,” which includes pressure control module 70 and comparator module 66. See Bosshard Fig. 2A, [0080], [0083]. The pressure control module 70 and comparator module 66 are “independent” of the valve control module 62/memory 64 (the “control system”), because the pressure control module 70 and comparator module 66 are different modules on the controller 33 from valve control module 62 and memory 64. Id. The comparator and pressure modules 66, 70 are configured to:
“Determine whether a performance of the baghouse filter system is degraded based on the data associated with the plurality of operational and cleaning parameters” as the modules 66, 70 analyze the data received. See Bosshard [0080]–[0088].
And to “perform a plurality of targeted diagnostic analyses of the data associated with the plurality of operational and cleaning parameters, the plurality of targeted diagnostic analyses corresponding to a plurality of performance metrics of the baghouse filter system,” including:
Having the pressure control module 70 analyze the data about high use periods where particulate levels present in incoming air are unusually high, to determine if the pressure at the headers used to supply compressed air for cleaning the filter bags 14 needs to be increased to increase pulsing pressure. See Bosshard [0084].
Having the pressure control module 70 analyze the data about the length of a cleaning cycle or the age of the filter bags 14 to determine if a threshold pressure differential setting to initiate the cleaning cycle needs to be increased. See Bosshard [0085].
The “plurality of performance metrics” comprise an improper setting used by the control module 62 (the “control system”) including a header pressure setting, because the performance metrics include whether the pressure setting at the headers used to supply compressed air for cleaning the filter bags 14 needs to be increased to increase pulsing pressure. See Bosshard [0084]. When the compressed air setting is increased, the prior setting is “improper.”
The “plurality of performance metrics” also comprise an improper setting which includes a gas flow rate setting, because the performance metrics include whether the threshold pressure differential setting used to initiate a cleaning cycle needs to be increased (increasing the threshold pressure differential would result in reducing the gas flow rate through the filter bags 14). Id. at [0085]. When the pressure differential threshold is increased, the previous threshold is “improper.”
Bosshard also teaches maintaining the filtration system based on the determination of whether the performance of the filtration system has degraded, as claimed because, for instance, the supply of compressed air for cleaning the filter bags 14 can be increased to increase pulsing pressure to maintain the filter bags 14 by cleaning them. See Bosshard [0084].
Bosshard differs from claim 1 because it is silent as to the plurality of performance metrics including an improper setting used by the control system which includes a temperature setting.
But the filtration system of Bosshard is a dust collector. See Bosshard [0005]. Also, Jorgenson teaches a dust collector comprising a filter element that has filter media. The dust collector includes a diagnostic system that uses information from a temperature sensor to determine if the temperature within the dust collector has exceeded the temperature rating for the filter media. See Jorgenson col. 4, ll. 32–35. Further, Silvestro teaches a dust collector comprising filters where each filter has a tag that includes information about the filter. See Silvestro [0036]. The dust collector has a tag reader that reads information from the tag. Id. at [0052]. The information from the tag reader is processed and sent to a memory storage 660 in a control system, which is able to select a customized filtration and cleaning operation based on the information. Id. at [0036], [0045]. The filter information includes, for instance, the type of filter media being used by the system. Id. at [0026]. The filter tag and tag reader of Silvestro is beneficial because it allows the dust collector to operate with different types of filter media, with the control system implementing a customized dust collector and cleaning system routine based on information about the filter media being used. See Silvestro [0036]. The temperature sensor feature of Jorgenson is beneficial because it alerts a user that the temperature of the dust collector exceeds the rating for the filter media so that the user can take action to prevent damage to the filter. See Jorgenson col. 4, ll. 32–35.
It would have been obvious to modify Bosshard such that the filter bags 14 include the filter tag of Silvestro so that the filter system can use different types of filter media, with operation of the filtration and cleaning system being customized for the particular type of filter. It also would have been obvious for the information included in the tag to include the temperature rating for the filter media, with the filtration system of Bosshard including the temperature sensor and temperature data analysis mechanism of Jorgenson, so that a user could be alerted when the temperature of the filtration system exceeds the rating of the filter media being used, so action could be taken to prevent damage.
With this modification, the “diagnostic system” of Bosshard would include the tag reader of Silvestro in addition to the temperature sensor and temperature sensor analysis mechanism of Jorgenson. When a new filter is inserted into the filtration system with a different temperature rating than the old filter, the tag reader would collect this information and it would be sent to memory 64 of Bosshard to modify program code, similar to how other information is sent to memory 64 to modify the program code. See Bosshard [0045]. Updating the program code to replace the temperature rating of the old filter with the temperature rating of the new filter would read on “the plurality of performance metrics comprises an improper setting…which includes…a temperature setting” because the temperature setting for the old filter would be improper when the new filter is installed.
The following limitations are now addressed:
“wherein the diagnostic system is further configured to perform the plurality of targeted diagnostic analyses by performing a targeted diagnostic analysis on the structural impairment of the fabric filter; and
wherein performing the targeted diagnostic analysis on the structural impairment of the fabric filter comprises:
operating the pulse valve to generate a first plurality of pulses of dust;
determining an average maximum pulse of dust concentration value for the first plurality of pulses of dust;
operating the pulse valve to generate a second plurality of pulses of dust; and
determining whether each of a second plurality of maximum pulse of dust concentration values based on the second plurality of pulses of dust exceed the average maximum pulse of dust concentration value.”
The system of Bosshard is able to detect a leak in the filter bag 14. See Bosshard [0028]. This reads on “the diagnostic system is further configured to perform the plurality of targeted diagnostic analyses by performing a targeted diagnostic analysis on the structural impairment of the fabric filter.”
The system detects whether the filter bag 14 has a leak by performing a cleaning cycle by agitating the filter bag 14 to dislodge some residue therefrom (i.e., using pulse valve 34 to force a pulse of compressed air through the filter bag 14 to dislodge dust), stopping the agitation step, detecting the concentration of dust in the outlet conduit after agitation has stopped, and comparing the detected concentration of dust with a baseline dust concentration. See Bosshard [0010], [0028]–[0032]. A leak is detected when the measured dust concentration is greater than the baseline dust concentration. The system performs multiple cleaning cycles because it describes “cleaning cycles” (plural). Id. at [0008]. Therefore, the leak detection process is repeated multiple times (one time for each of the cleaning cycles).
It is noted that Bosshard is silent as to how the baseline dust concentration is determined, and therefore fails to provide enough information to teach “operating the pulsing valve to generate a first plurality of pulses of dust; determining an average maximum pulse of dust concentration value for the first plurality of pulses of dust.” But Lindsey teaches a method for detecting a leak in a baghouse filter bag by comparing measured opacity values of dust to a threshold value (i.e., a baseline). See Lindsey [0058]. The threshold value may be set based on an empirical correlation between measured opacity during formation of a leak in a filter bag. Id. at [0063]. Also, a measured opacity value may be a running average of measured opacity values (id. at [0058]), suggesting that the empirical correlation for the threshold value may be a running average of measured opacity values. Therefore, it would have been obvious for the baseline of Bosshard to be determined by agitating filter bag 14 with a plurality of pulses (the “first plurality of pulses of dust”) and generating a running average of the measured concentration of dust for when a leak is known to have formed in a filter bag (“determining an average maximum pulse of dust concentration value for the first plurality of pulses of dust”) because Lindsey suggests that this is an acceptable way to empirically determine a threshold value used to be compared against a measured value for determining whether a baghouse filter bag has a leak.
Also, as noted, Bosshard teaches that during the leak detection process (which occurs during a cleaning cycle), the pulse valve 34 generates a pulse of dust (a “second…pulse of dust”), with the dust concentration generated by this pulse being measured (a “second…maximum pulse of dust concentration”) and compared against the baseline (the “average maximum pulse of dust concentration value”) to determine if the filter bag 14 has a leak. See Bosshard [0010], [0028]–[0032]. Bosshard teaches that this leak detection process is repeated because the system performs multiple cleaning cycles. Id. at [0008]. Therefore, multiple pulses of dust are generated (one for each leak detection step during each of the multiple cleaning cycles). This reads on “operating the pulsing valve to generate a second plurality of pulses of dust” and “determining whether each of a second plurality of maximum pulse of dust concentration values based on the second plurality of pulses of dust exceed the average maximum pulse of dust concentration value.”
Regarding claim 2, Bosshard teaches that the comparator module 66 (part of the “diagnostic system”) determines if a filter bag 14 is leaking based on comparing a measured dust concentration to the maximum tolerable dust concentration that can be within outlet conduit 22. See Bosshard [0080]. Therefore, the system determines whether the performance of the baghouse 10 is degraded based on a maximum pulse of dust concentration value within the fabric filter. Additionally, the pressure control module 70 (also part of the “diagnostic system”) determines whether the valves are operating properly by creating a measured pressure profile of the air receiver and comparing the measured pressure profile to a desired pressure profile. Id. at [0088]. Therefore, the system determines whether the performance of the baghouse 10 is degraded based on a maximum compressed air flow value directed to the fabric filter.
Regarding claim 3, Bosshard teaches that the “plurality of operational and cleaning parameters” collected by the data collection devices includes:
Gas flow and differential pressure, as pressure sensor 40 measures the pressure differential across the filter bags 14. See Bosshard [0087].
Exit dust concentration, as dust particle monitor 38 detects the concentration of dust in particles in outlet conduit 22. See Bosshard [0080].
Compressed air header pressure, as there is a mechanism that can determine whether the compressed air supplied for cleaning is sufficiently high, so that increased pulsing pressure can be provided when the dust filter unit 10 experiences high use periods where the level of particulates in incoming air is high. See Bosshard [0084].
Hopper levels, because sensor 28 is able to determine whether the collection chamber 28 at the bottom of hopper 16 is full. See Bosshard Fig. 1, [0077].
Regarding claim 15, Bosshard teaches a method of operating a baghouse filter system, which reads on the claimed “method.” See Bosshard Fig. 1, [0075]. The method comprises:
Receiving dust concentration data at comparator module 66 from dust particle monitor 38. See Bosshard Figs. 1, 2A, [0080]. Receiving pressure data at pressure module 70 from pressure transducer 40. See Bosshard Figs. 1, 2A, [0083]–[0084], [0087]–[0088]. Receiving data at pressure module 70 about high use periods for the baghouse filter system, where the particulate levels in incoming air are unusually high. Id. at [0084]. Receiving data at pressure module 70 about the length of time that a cleaning cycle has operated, and about the age of the filter bags 14 being cleaned. Id. at [0086].
The data with respect to dust concentration, pressure, high use of the baghouse, length of time of cleaning cycle and age of the filter bags 14 are associated with operational and cleaning parameters of the baghouse filter system.
The data are received by comparator module 66 and pressure module 70 is “independent” of control module 62 (used to control pulse and manifold valves) and memory 64 (with a program code used to control the pulse and manifold valves). This is because the control module 62 and memory 64 are different modules on the controller 33 from the pressure module 70 and comparator module 66. See Bosshard Fig. 2A, [0078], [0080]–[0083]. The control module 62 and memory 64 collectively read on the “control system” because they are used to control pulse valves 34 to clean the filer bags 14 and to control shut off valve 42 to terminate operation of the baghouse when there is a leak in a filter bag 14. Id.
Also, the claimed “baghouse filter system” is filter unit 10. See Bosshard Fig. 1, [0075]. The filter unit 10 comprises a plurality of filter bags 14, a pulse inlet valve 34 for supplying pulses of compressed air to the filter bags 14 to clean the filter bags 14 and a mechanism for supplying the compressed air to the pulse inlet valve 34. Id. at [0075], [0078].
One of the filter bags 14 reads on the “fabric filter.”
The mechanism for supplying compressed air to the pulse inlet valve 34 reads on the “air supply system.”
The pulse inlet valve 34 reads on the “pulsing valve that is coupled to the air supply system.” The pulse inlet valve 34 is configured to generate a statistical pulse of air that is directed to the filter bag 14 because the pulse inlet valve 34 supplies pulses of compressed air to the filter bags 14 to clean them. See Bosshard [0078].
Determining whether the performance of the baghouse filter system is degraded based on the dust concentration data and pressure data by using comparator module 66 and pressure control 70 to analyze the data received. See Bosshard [0080]–[0088].
Performing a plurality of targeted diagnostic analyses of the data associated with the plurality of operational and cleaning parameters, with the plurality targeted diagnostic analyses corresponding to a plurality of performance metrics of the baghouse filter system, including:
Having the pressure control module 70 analyze the data about the length of a cleaning cycle or the age of the filter bags 14 to determine if the threshold pressure differential setting needs to be increased. See Bosshard [0085].
Having the pressure control module 70 analyze the data about high use periods where particulate levels present in incoming air are unusually high, to determine if the pressure at the headers used to supply compressed air for cleaning the filter bags 14 needs to be increased to increase pulsing pressure. See Bosshard [0084].
The plurality of performance metrics comprises an improper setting used by the control module 62 (the “control system”) including a header pressure setting and a gas flow rate setting. This is because the performance metrics include whether the pressure setting at the headers used to supply compressed air for cleaning the filter bags 14 needs to be increased to increase pulsing pressure. See Bosshard [0084]. And because the performance metrics include whether the threshold pressure differential setting used to initiate a cleaning cycle needs to be increased (increasing the threshold pressure differential would result in reducing the gas flow rate through the filter bags 14). Id. at [0085].
Bosshard also teaches maintaining the filtration system based on the determination of whether the performance of the filtration system has degraded, as claimed because, for instance, the supply of compressed air for cleaning the filter bags 14 can be increased to increase pulsing pressure to maintain the filter bags 14 by cleaning them. See Bosshard [0084].
Bosshard differs from claim 15 because it is silent as to the plurality of performance metrics including an improper setting used by the control system which includes a temperature setting.
But the filtration system of Bosshard is a dust collector. See Bosshard [0005]. Also, Jorgenson teaches a dust collector comprising a filter element that has filter media. The dust collector includes a diagnostic system that uses information from a temperature sensor to determine if the temperature within the dust collector has exceeded the temperature rating for the filter media. See Jorgenson col. 4, ll. 32–35. Further, Silvestro teaches a dust collector comprising filters where each filter has a tag that includes information about the filter. See Silvestro [0036]. The dust collector has a tag reader that reads information from the tag. Id. at [0052]. The information from the tag reader is processed and sent to a memory storage 660 in a control system, which is able to select a customized filtration and cleaning operation based on the information. Id. at [0036], [0045]. The filter information includes, for instance, the type of filter media being used by the system. Id. at [0026]. The filter tag and tag reader of Silvestro is beneficial because it allows the dust collector to operate with different types of filter media, with the control system implementing a customized dust collector and cleaning system routine based on information about the filter media being used. See Silvestro [0036]. The temperature sensor feature of Jorgenson is beneficial because it alerts a user that the temperature of the dust collector exceeds the rating for the filter media so that the user can take action to prevent damage to the filter. See Jorgenson col. 4, ll. 32–35.
It would have been obvious to modify Bosshard such that the filter bags 14 include the filter tag of Silvestro so that the filter system can use different types of filter media, with operation of the filtration and cleaning system being customized for the particular type of filter. It also would have been obvious for the information included in the tag to include the temperature rating for the filter media, with the filtration system of Bosshard including the temperature sensor and temperature data analysis mechanism of Jorgenson, so that a user could be alerted when the temperature of the filtration system exceeds the rating of the filter media being used, so action could be taken to prevent damage.
With this modification, when a new filter is inserted into the filtration system of Bosshard with a different temperature rating than the old filter, the tag reader would collect this information and it would be sent to memory 64 of Bosshard to modify program code, similar to how other information is sent to memory 64 to modify the program code. See Bosshard [0045]. Updating the program code to replace the temperature rating of the old filter with the temperature rating of the new filter would read on “the plurality of performance metrics comprises an improper setting…which includes…a temperature setting” because the temperature setting for the old filter would be improper when the new filter is installed.
The following limitations are now addressed:
“wherein performing the targeted diagnostic analysis comprises:
operating the pulse valve to generate a first plurality of pulses of dust;
determining an average maximum pulse of dust concentration value for the first plurality of pulses of dust;
operating the pulse valve to generate a second plurality of pulses of dust; and
determining whether each of a second plurality of maximum pulse of dust concentration values based on the second plurality of pulses of dust exceed the average maximum pulse of dust concentration value.”
The method of Bosshard includes a process for detecting a leak in the filter bag 14. See Bosshard [0028]. The leak detection process involves performing a cleaning cycle by agitating the filter bag 14 to dislodge some residue therefrom (i.e., using pulse valve 34 to force a pulse of compressed air through the filter bag 14 to dislodge dust), stopping the agitation step, detecting the concentration of dust in the outlet conduit after agitation has stopped, and comparing the detected concentration of dust with a baseline dust concentration. See Bosshard [0010], [0028]–[0032]. A leak is detected when the measured dust concentration is greater than the baseline dust concentration. The system performs multiple cleaning cycles because it describes “cleaning cycles” (plural). Id. at [0008]. Therefore, the leak detection process is repeated multiple times.
It is noted that Bosshard is silent as to how the baseline dust concentration is determined, and therefore fails to provide enough information to teach “operating the pulsing valve to generate a first plurality of pulses of dust; determining an average maximum pulse of dust concentration value for the first plurality of pulses of dust.” But Lindsey teaches a method for detecting a leak in a baghouse filter bag by comparing measured opacity values of dust to a threshold value (i.e., a baseline). See Lindsey [0058]. The threshold value may be set based on an empirical correlation between measured opacity during formation of a leak in a filter bag. Id. at [0063]. Also, a measured opacity value may be a running average of measured opacity values (id. at [0058]), suggesting that the empirical correlation for the threshold value may be a running average of measured opacity values. Therefore, it would have been obvious for the baseline of Bosshard to be determined by agitating filter bag 14 with a plurality of pulses (the “first plurality of pulses of dust”) and generating a running average of the measured concentration of dust for when a leak is known to have formed in a filter bag (“determining an average maximum pulse of dust concentration value for the first plurality of pulses of dust”) because Lindsey suggests that this is an acceptable way to empirically determine a threshold value used to be compared against a measured value for determining whether a baghouse filter bag has a leak.
Also, as noted, Bosshard teaches that during the leak detection process (which occurs during a cleaning cycle), the pulse valve 34 generates a pulse of dust (a “second…pulse of dust”), with the dust concentration generated by this pulse being measured (a “second…maximum pulse of dust concentration”) and compared against the baseline (the “average maximum pulse of dust concentration value”) to determine if the filter bag 14 has a leak. See Bosshard [0010], [0028]–[0032]. Bosshard teaches that this leak detection process is repeated because the system performs multiple cleaning cycles. Id. at [0008]. Therefore, multiple pulses of dust are generated (one for each leak detection step during each of the multiple cleaning cycles). This reads on “operating the pulsing valve to generate a second plurality of pulses of dust” and “determining whether each of a second plurality of maximum pulse of dust concentration values based on the second plurality of pulses of dust exceed the average maximum pulse of dust concentration value.”
Regarding claim 16, Bosshard teaches that the comparator module 66 determines if a filter bag 14 is leaking based on comparing a measured dust concentration to the maximum tolerable dust concentration that can be within outlet conduit 22. See Bosshard [0080]. Therefore, the system determines whether the performance of the baghouse 10 is degraded based on a maximum pulse of dust concentration value within the fabric filter. Additionally, the pressure control module determines whether the valves are operating properly by creating a measured pressure profile of the air receiver and comparing the measured pressure profile to a desired pressure profile. Id. at [0088]. Therefore, the system determines whether the performance of the baghouse 10 is degraded based on a maximum compressed air flow value directed to the fabric filter.
Regarding claim 17, Bosshard teaches that the dust particle monitor 38 measures exit dust concentration in the outlet conduit 22. See Bosshard [0080]. The pressure transducer 40 measures the compressed air pressure in header air receiver 25. Id. at [0077], [0087].
Claims 4, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosshard, US 2011/0023709 A1 in view of Silvestro, US 2019/0209957 A1 in view of Jorgenson et al., US 5,427,596 in view of Lindsey et al., US 2009/0095152 A1 in view of Park et al., US 2010/0018173 A1 and in further view of Kelsey, US 2005/0188662 A1.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Bosshard teaches that the performance metrics include:
Determining the structural integrity of the filter bag 14, such as whether the filter bag has a leak. See Bosshard [0028]–[0032]. This reads on the “structural impairment of the fabric filter.”
Determining if the filter bag 14 has been cleaned sufficiently so that the cleaning cycle can be terminated. Id. at [0053]. This reads on “an inadequate cleaning of the fabric filter” because if the filter has not been adequately cleaned, the cycle will not be terminated.
Determining whether inlet pulse valves 34 are undesirably stuck open or closed. Id. at [0087]. This reads on “a failure of a…valve.” It also reads on “a leak in a compressed air delivery system” because if the pulse valve 34 is stuck open, this represents a leak in the compressed air cleaning system.
Using differential pressure information to determine whether the filters are clogged. Id. at [0083]–[0084]. This reads on “a blinding of the fabric filter” because “blinded” means that a filter is clogged.
Bosshard differs from claims 4 and 18 because it is silent as to whether the pulse valves 34 are solenoid valves, diaphragm valves or poppet valves. Therefore, the reference fails to provide enough information to teach “a failure of a solenoid valve, a failure of a diaphragm valve…[and] a failure of a poppet valve.”
But Bosshard suggests that the system utilizes various solenoids or the like. See Bosshard [0078]. Also, as noted the performance metrics include determining whether inlet pulse valves 34 are undesirably stuck open or closed. See Bosshard [0087]
With this in mind, Park teaches that diaphragm solenoid valves 7 are useful for supply compressed air to clean filters in a filtration system. See Park Fig. 1, [0056]. Also, Kelsey teaches a filter cleaning apparatus that uses a pulse valve 36 to supply compressed air to clean a filter, where the pulse valve 36 can be either a diaphragm valve or a poppet valve. See Kelsey [0035]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for the pulse inlet valves 34 in Bosshard to be diaphragm solenoid valves, diaphragm valves or poppet valves because this would merely represent the simple substitution of one known element for another is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143, subsection I, B. As such, because the system in Bosshard is able to detect when one of the pulse valves 34 has failed, it would be able to detect failure of a diaphragm solenoid valve, diaphragm valve and a poppet valve, when any of these types of valves are used in the system.
Bosshard also differs from claims 4 and 18 because while it teaches that the system comprises an isolation valve 42, it fails to disclose detecting a failure of this valve 42. But the system is able to detect failure in other valves within the system. Id. at [0087]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for the system to determine if the valve 42 has failed, so that a user could take corrective action.
Regarding claim 19, Bosshard teaches that performing the plurality of targeted diagnostic analyses comprises performing a targeted diagnostic analysis on the structural impairment of the filter, on the inadequate cleaning of the filter, on the failure of the solenoid valve, or on the blinding of the fabric filter. This is because the system is able to determine if the filter has a leak, if the cleaning cycle should stop, if the pulse valve 34 which includes a solenoid has failed, and whether the filter is clogged. See Bosshard [0080], [0053], [0078], [0087], [0083]–[0084].
When the pulse valve 34 is a diaphragm or poppet valve, the system in Bosshard would be able to determine the failure of a diaphragm valve or a poppet valve, because the system is able to determine if the pulse valve 34 has failed. See Bosshard [0087].
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejections
The Examiner withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1–4 and 15–19 from the Final Rejection dated January 29, 2025 in light of the amendments.
35 U.S.C. 101 Rejections
The Examiner withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections of claims 1–4 and 15–19. Specifically, claim 1 recites (and claim 15 recites similar language):
wherein performing the targeted diagnostic analysis on the structural impairment of the fabric filter comprises:
operating the pulsing valve to generate a first plurality of pulses of dust;
determining an average maximum pulse of dust concentration value for the first plurality of pulses of dust;
operating the pulsing valve to generate a second plurality of pulses of dust; and
determining whether each of a second plurality of maximum pulse of dust concentration values based on the second plurality of pulses of dust exceed the average maximum pulse of dust concentration value.
The steps of operating a pulse valve to generate a first plurality of pulses of dust, determining an average maximum pulse of dust concentration value for the first plurality of pulses of dust, operating the pulsing valve to generate a second plurality of pulses of dust and determining whether each of a second plurality of maximum pulse of dust concentration values based on the second plurality of pulses of dust exceed the average maximum pulse of dust concentration value—while obvious (as explained above)—are not well-understood, routine and conventional activity. Therefore, claims 1 and 15 are patent eligible at Step 2B for being significantly more than the abstract idea of diagnosing problems with the performance of a baghouse filter system. Claims 2–4 and 16–19 are patent eligible because they depend from claims 1 or 15 and therefore also recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1–4 and 15–19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zoeller, III 2006/0151926 A1, which teaches a test for determining a leak in a filter where the test can be repeated until it is ascertained that there are no leaks from the filter. See Zoeller [0006].
T. BENNETT MCKENZIE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1776
/T. BENNETT MCKENZIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776