Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 with respect Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that “King fails to teach any interchangeable components related to a standing seam as claimed, not to mention any disclosure or fair suggestion of the presence of an interchangeable anvil as now required”.
In response to this argument, the claim is drawing only to the crimping device;
The device of King is capable and structured to perfume the function for crimping a standing seam; since it has been held a claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). See MPEP 2115;
Further, the prior art of King discloses “FIGS. 8 and 9 illustrate various types of tool tips which may be used with the crimping and uncrimping tools of FIGS. 6 and 7. (Note however, that the illustrated tool tips are not exhaustive of all tips which may be used)”; so, the device of King is capable to be used with any tool tips including an interchangeable anvil.
Accordingly; this argument is not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that “Neither cited reference teaches nor fairly suggests an anvil component and thus the rejection as a whole fails to take into consideration the full breadth of the presently amended claims”.
In response to this argument, the prior art of Irvin (US3624876A) discloses:
The opposite ends of the scissorslike sub-assembly 72 are connected to the scissors-like subassembly 70 and to the jaw arms 48, 50 of the jaw means 32 by the end pivots 76 (col.4 line 1-5); and
the prior art of Irvin (US3624876A) discloses FIG. 9 illustrates the end pivot 76 between the subassemblies 68, 70. It is to be understood that the construction illustrated in FIG. 9 is typical of the remaining pivots 74, 76. As shown in FIG. 9, fastening means such as cooperating shoulder screw 90 and nut 92 pivotally connect the arms 80, 78, 80;
So, since the element (76) having the fasting means (90) which allows to the jaw (32) to be capable to interchangeable by the cutter of figures 4-5; and thus, the device of Irvin is capable to be used with any tool tips including an interchangeable anvil.
Accordingly; this argument is not persuasive.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, in lines 16-17 the phrase “by said manual crimping device” should be changed to “by said manually operated crimping device”.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase “wherein more than one crimping station is present” should be changed to “wherein more than one said at least one crimping station is present”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, in line 12 the phrase “wherein a multiple of different variations of said at least one different crimping component” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “wherein a multiple of different variations of said at least one different crimping component” is the same as or different from “at least one anvil, at least one anvil a blade, and at least one anvil a jaw hook”.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination the Examiner interpreted “wherein a multiple of different variations of said at least one different crimping component” is the same as “at least one anvil, at least one anvil a blade, and at least one anvil a jaw hook”.
Claim 2 is rejected because it depends from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by King (US5174004A).
Regarding claim 1, King discloses a manually operated crimping device (abstract, col.8 last 4 lines-col.10, and figs.6-9); said crimping device comprising:
at least one crimping station for placement over said standing seam, said at least one crimping station comprising manual crimping components (col.10 lines 18-31 and figs.8-9) to simultaneously provide bend to said flange component of said standing seam at over which said crimping station is placed (fig.9B),
wherein said crimping components are interchangeable through the removal and substitution of at least one anvil, at least one anvil a blade, and at least one anvil a jaw hook (col.10 lines 18-31 and figs.8-9, the device of King is capable to be used with any tool tips including an anvil, a blade and anvil a jaw hook),
wherein a multiple of different variations of said at least one different crimping component is provided to accord multiple variations of resultant crimping configurations by the said manual crimping device (col.8 last 4 lines col.10, and figs.6-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irvin (US3624876A) in view of Morton (US8667656B1).
Regarding claim 1, Irvin discloses a manually operated crimping device (abstract and figs.1-2); said crimping device comprising:
at least one crimping station for placement over said standing seam, said at least one crimping station comprising manual crimping components (col.3 lines 48-55; col.4 lines 6-16; figs.6 and 9: the jaw (32) and the cutter of figures 4-5),
wherein said crimping components are interchangeable through the removal and substitution of at least one anvil, at least one anvil a blade, and at least one anvil a jaw hook, wherein a multiple of different variations of said at least one different crimping component is provided to accord multiple variations of resultant crimping configurations by the same manual crimping device (col.3 lines 48-55; col.4 lines 6-16; figs.6 and 9: the element (76) having the fasting means (90) which allows to the jaw (32) to be capable to interchangeable by the cutter of figures 4-5; thus the device of Irvin is capable to be used with any tool tips including an anvil, a blade and anvil a jaw hook).
Irvin does not disclose to simultaneously provide bend to said flange component of said standing seam at over which said crimping station is placed.
Morton teaches a crimping device, wherein said crimping device comprising:
at least one crimping station for placement over said standing seam, said at least one crimping station comprising manual crimping components to simultaneously provide bend to said flange component of said standing seam at over which said crimping station is placed (figs.4 and 8 and col.8 lines 10-20), and
Both of the prior arts of Irvin and Morton are related to a crimping device for crimping a portion of a standing seam of adjacent metal panels;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the configuration of the jaws of the device of Irvin by the configuration of the jaws that simultaneously bend substantially all of said flange component of said standing seam at the location at which said crimping device is placed as taught by Irvin , since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Regarding claim 2, Irvin in view of Morton does not disclose wherein more than one crimping station is present;
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to Irvin in view of Morton to add station as many as desired in order to provide a clinching tool having improved jaw operating means (Irvin: col.1 lines 36-37). MPEP 2144.04, VI.A.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King (US5174004A).
Regarding claim 2, King does not disclose wherein more than one crimping station is present;
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to King to add station as many as desired in order to provide an improved clamping jig which enables the workpiece to be clamped within the jig quickly and simply (King: col.1 lines 49-52). MPEP 2144.04, VI.A.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725