DETAILED ACTION
The status of the 06/02/2026 claims, is as follows: Claims 1, 8, and 10 have been amended; Claims 2 and 12 have been canceled; and claims 1, 3-11, and 13-14 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-7, 13-14, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 1 (similarly applying to claim 8):
The limitation “the liquid aerosol-forming substrate in the container is held in contact with the plurality of walls by capillary forces due to intermolecular interaction between the liquid aerosol-forming substrate and the plurality of walls” in lines 18-22 is not supported in the published disclosure, therefore constitutes new matter. In para. 0022 of the published specification, it is stated that the liquid aerosol-forming substrate is held by capillary forces in the contiguous volume area, however, there is no description of intermolecular interaction anywhere in the specification, let alone the intermolecular interaction between the liquid aerosol-forming substrate and the plurality of walls.
Therefore, the limitations constitute new matter.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 13:
The limitation “a plurality of capillary channels” in line 3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the limitation is intended to refer to the “single capillary channel” previously recited in claim 6. It is suggested to read “a plurality of the capillary channels”.
For the purpose of substantive examination, it is presumed that the “plurality of capillary channels” in line 3 of claim 13 refers to the “single capillary channel” previously recited in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue (US 20070046742)
Regarding claim 1, Inoue discloses a liquid storage portion (ink cartridge 21; fig. 2) for an aerosol-generating system (it is noted “for an aerosol-generating system” is the intended use of the device), the liquid storage portion comprising:
a container (case body 32 and lid 33; fig. 2) configured to hold a liquid aerosol-forming substrate (ink absorbent 36. it is noted the case body 32 can be used to hold liquid aerosol-forming substrate), the container having a dispensing opening (ink outlet 51; fig. 2) configured to dispense the liquid aerosol-forming substrate (para. 0044), the container (case body 32 and lid 33) including a plurality of walls (annotated fig. 2) including,
a top wall (lid 33),
a bottom wall (annotated fig. 2) opposite the top wall, the bottom wall defining the dispensing opening (ink outlet 51),
a rear wall (annotated fig. 2),
a front wall (annotated fig. 2), and
side walls (annotated fig. 2) connecting the front wall to the rear wall, at least one of the front wall or the rear wall being transparent such that a level of the liquid aerosol-forming substrate in the container can be monitored (“case body 32 is formed from a transparent plastic or the like, so the remaining amount of the ink in the ink cartridge 21 is visible from outside”, para. 0039), the container (case body 32 and lid 33) configured to store the liquid aerosol-forming substrate (ink absorbent 36) in a contiguous volume area (annotated fig. 5) of the container (case body 32) at least partially defined by the plurality of walls (annotated fig. 2), the contiguous volume area having a width dimension between the front wall and the rear wall (it is noted the contiguous volume area having the width dimension between the front wall and the rear wall, annotated fig. 2) such that the liquid aerosol-forming substrate in the container (ink absorbent 36) is held in contact with the plurality of walls by capillary forces (capillary force) (para. 0040, 0043, and 0004) due to intermolecular interaction between the liquid aerosol-forming substrate (ink absorbent 36) and the plurality of walls (annotated fig. 2) (it is noted that Inoue is silent regarding the “intermolecular interaction between the liquid aerosol-forming substrate and the plurality of walls”, however provided as an evidence, an attached non-patent literature to Hyperphysics, https://www.hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/surten.html, published on 07/17/2008, discloses capillary action exists between the wall of the vessel and the liquid due to the intermolecular attraction forces between the liquid and the wall of the vessel), such that the liquid aerosol-forming substrate (ink absorbent 36) is confined in the contiguous volume area (para. 0040, 0043, and 0004) (it is noted the ink absorbent 36 is fixedly positioned within the case body 32 and the ink is held in place by capillary force), the liquid aerosol-forming substrate in the contiguous volume area being confined near the dispensing opening of the container (ink outlet 51) without regard to orientation of the liquid storage portion (para. 0043, 0004, and 0040-0041. It is noted the ink absorbent 36 is fixedly positioned within the case body 32 irrespective of the orientation of the case body 32).
Regarding claim 3, Inoue discloses the liquid storage portion (ink cartridge 21; fig. 2), wherein the container (case body 32) is generally rectangular in shape (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Inoue discloses liquid aerosol-forming substrate (modified ink absorbent 36) is not free to move in an entirety of the container (case body 32) (para. 0040, 0004, and 0043) (it is noted the ink absorbent 36 is fixedly positioned within case body 32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (US 20070046742)
Regarding claim 4, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except the width dimension of the container is below about 2 millimeters.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the
time the invention was made to modify the width dimension of Inoue such that it is below about 2 millimeters, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation is to ensure slim design of the container such that it fits into a desired configuration of the ink recording apparatus.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (US 20070046742) in view of Takagi (US 6000790)
Regarding claim 5, Inoue discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except the container comprises:
one or more capillary channels extending from the dispensing opening.
However, Takagi discloses a container (ink chamber 6) comprises:
one or more capillary channels (gap between fibers of absorption member 9) extending from the dispensing opening (hole 7) (fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container of Inoue to comprise the one or more capillary channels extending from the dispensing opening as taught by Takagi, such that ink can be used efficiently and the ink does not leak to the outside, the internal negative pressure can be controlled, and the negative pressure applied to the ink jet head can be kept within any desired range (col. 5, 2 lines 35-42, 49-55 respectively of Takagi).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (US 20070046742) in view of Ujita (US 20030128260)
Regarding claim 6, Inoue discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except the container comprises:
a single capillary channel defining a serpentine liquid path extending from the dispensing opening of the container.
However, Ujita discloses a container (case 61) comprises:
a single capillary channel (gap between thin plates 90) defining a serpentine liquid path (para. 0079; figs. 21-22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container of Inoue to comprise the single capillary channel defining the serpentine liquid path as taught by Ujita because the integrity of the thin plates that define the serpentine liquid path is ensured, which allows the ink to be reserved more efficiently (para. 0079 of Ujita). The modification would result in the structure in which the single capillary channel (gap between thin plates 90 of Ujita) defining the serpentine liquid path extending from the dispensing opening of the container (ink outlet 51 of Inoue) (para. 0040 of Inoue, it is noted the ink absorbent 36 directly contacts the inner wall surface of the ink chamber 35 except the top surface. The modification of ink absorbent 36 would result in the serpentine liquid path extending from the dispensing opening of the container.
Regarding claim 7, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth, except the single capillary channel comprises enlarged pockets distributed over a length of the single capillary channel.
However, Ujita further discloses in another embodiment (figs. 13-19) ink reserving portions 66 are tapered so as to be gradually narrower toward the ink outlet 65 (para. 0070). In other words, Ujita discloses the single capillary channel comprises enlarged pockets distributed over a length of the single capillary channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the capillary channel of Inoue in view of Ujita to comprise the enlarged pockets distributed over the length of the single capillary channel as further taught by Ujita, to ensure that capillary force generated in the ink reserving portion 66 increases with decreasing distance to the ink outlet 65. This allows the ink to be guided more reliably to the ink outlet 65 (para. 0071 of Ujita).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Inoue (US 20070046742) and Ujita (US 20030128260) as applied to claim 6 above, further in view of Miyazawa (US 5555238)
Regarding claim 13, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth, wherein the container comprises a plurality of capillary channels extending in through a central container portion (fig. 22 of Ujita).
The modification does not disclose:
the container further comprises:
a first end section connected to a first end of the central container portion, the first end section including a plurality of recesses such that each recess of the plurality of recesses connects a first adjacent pair of capillary channels of the plurality of capillary channels, and
a second end section connected to a second end of the central container portion opposite the first end section, the second end section including a plurality of second recesses such that each recess of the plurality of second recesses connects a second adjacent pair of capillary channels of the plurality of capillary channels, the second end section including the bottom wall defining the dispensing opening.
However, Miyazawa discloses a container (ink storage tank4) comprises:
a first end section (lid 2) connected to a first end of the central container portion (tank 4) (it is noted the lid 2 is fluidly connected to the tank 4), the first end section (lid 2) including a plurality of recesses (openings 5 that serve as the draft holes) (“a similar object can be achieved by forming the lids 2 and 3 of a water repellent material and setting the sizes of openings 5 to satisfy the above-mentioned expression (1).” col. 3, lines 35-39),
a second end section (lid 3) connected to a second end of the central container portion (tank 4) opposite the first end section (lid 2) (fig. 1a) (it is noted the lid 3 is fluidly connected to the tank 4), the second end section (lid 3) including a plurality of second recesses (openings 5 that serve as the draft holes) (“a similar object can be achieved by forming the lids 2 and 3 of a water repellent material and setting the sizes of openings 5 to satisfy the above-mentioned expression (1).” col. 3, lines 35-39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the top wall of the container of Inoue to have first end section fluidly connected to the first end of the central container portion and modify the bottom wall of the container to have the second end section fluidly connected to the second end of the central container portion as taught by Miyazawa. Doing so would ensure the inside of the container in fluid communication with air irrespective of the position of the container and prevent ink leakage through the openings (col. 3, lines 51-65 of Miyazawa).
The modification would result in structure as illustrated below, in which each recess of the plurality of recesses of the first end section connects a first adjacent pair of capillary channels of the plurality of capillary channels (it is noted each opening 5 of lid 2 of Miyazawa fluidly connected with the plurality of capillary channels of Ujita), and each recess of the plurality of recesses of the second end section connects a second adjacent pair of capillary channels of the plurality of capillary channels (it is noted each opening 5 of lid 3 of Miyazawa fluidly connected with the plurality of capillary channels of Ujita), the second end section (lid 3 of Miyazawa) including the bottom wall defining the dispensing opening (opening 5 of Miyazawa) (“inside the protruded part 6 is formed an ink reservoir 7, which is connected to the inside of the ink storage tank 4 through the openings 5” col. 2, lines 35-40 of Miyazawa).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malik (US 20140150785) in view of Bowen (US 20230319953), Liu (US 20150189919) and Inoue (US 20070046742)
Regarding claim 8, Malik discloses an aerosol-generating system (inhaler 10) comprising:
a housing (body 18; fig. 2); and
a liquid storage portion (liquid container 56) in the housing (para. 0028), the liquid storage portion including,
a container (liquid container 56) configured to hold a liquid aerosol-forming substrate (liquid 62) (para. 0023), the container having a dispensing opening (opening 60) configured to dispense the liquid aerosol- forming substrate (para. 0024), the container including a plurality of walls including (annotated fig. 2),
a top wall (annotated fig. 2),
a bottom wall (annotated fig. 2) opposite the top wall, the bottom wall defining the dispensing opening (opening 60), and
a side wall (annotated fig. 2).
Malik does not disclose the container comprises:
side walls connecting the front wall to the rear wall, at least one of the front wall or the rear wall being transparent such that a level of the liquid aerosol-forming substrate in the container can be monitored, the container configured to store the liquid aerosol-forming substrate is stored in a contiguous volume area of the container at least partially defined by the plurality of walls, the contiguous volume area having a width dimension between the front wall and the rear wall such that the liquid aerosol-forming substrate in the container is held in contact with the plurality of walls by capillary forces due to intermolecular interaction between the liquid aerosol-forming substrate and the plurality of walls such that the liquid aerosol-forming substrate is confined in the contiguous volume area, the liquid aerosol-forming substrate in the contiguous volume area being confined near the dispensing opening of the container without regard to orientation of the liquid storage portion.
However, Bowen discloses a container (cartridge) has rectangular cross-section (para. 0033).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the container of Malik to have rectangular shape as taught by Bowen, in order to contain more volume of the liquid aerosol-forming substrate within the rectangular volume of the container.
The modification would result in the structure as shown below, wherein side walls connecting the front wall to the rear wall.
The modification does not disclose at least one of the front wall or the rear wall being transparent such that a level of the liquid aerosol-forming substrate in the container can be monitored.
However, Liu discloses a cartridge is made of transparent material (para. 0035).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container of Malik in view of Bowen to be made of transparent material as taught by Liu such that a level of the liquid aerosol-forming substrate in the container can be monitored, in order to avoid the phenomenon of the e-liquid dryout in the cartridge.
The modification does not disclose the container configured such that the liquid aerosol-forming substrate is stored in a contiguous volume area of the container at least partially defined by the plurality of walls, the contiguous volume area having a width dimension between the front wall and the rear wall such that the liquid aerosol-forming substrate in the container is held in contact with the plurality of walls by capillary forces due to intermolecular interaction between the liquid aerosol-forming substrate and the plurality of walls such that the liquid aerosol-forming substrate is confined in the contiguous volume area, the liquid aerosol-forming substrate in the contiguous volume area being confined near the dispensing opening of the container without regard to orientation of the liquid storage portion.
However, Inoue discloses a container (case body 32 and lid 33; fig. 2) including,
a top wall (lid 33),
a bottom wall (annotated fig. 2) opposite the top wall, the bottom wall defining the dispensing opening (ink outlet 51),
a rear wall (annotated fig. 2),
a front wall (annotated fig. 2), and
side walls (annotated fig. 2) connecting the front wall to the rear wall, the container (case body 32 and lid 33) configured such that the liquid aerosol-forming substrate (ink absorbent 36) is stored in a contiguous volume area of the container (annotated fig. 4) at least partially defined by the plurality of walls, the contiguous volume area having a width dimension (annotated fig. 2) between the front wall and the rear wall (it is noted the contiguous volume area having the width dimension between the front wall and the rear wall) such that the liquid aerosol-forming substrate (ink absorbent 36) in the container (case body 32) is held in contact with the plurality of walls by capillary forces (capillary force) (para. 0040, 0043, and 0004) due to intermolecular interaction between the liquid aerosol-forming substrate (ink absorbent 36) and the plurality of walls (annotated fig. 2) (it is noted that Inoue is silent regarding the “intermolecular interaction between the liquid aerosol-forming substrate and the plurality of walls”, however provided as an evidence, an attached non-patent literature to Hyperphysics, https://www.hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/surten.html, published on 07/17/2008, discloses capillary action exists between the wall of the vessel and the liquid due to the intermolecular attraction forces between the liquid and the wall of the vessel), such that the liquid aerosol-forming substrate (ink absorbent 36) is confined in the contiguous volume area (para. 0004, 0040, and 0043) (it is noted the ink absorbent 36 is fixedly positioned within the case body 32 and the ink is held in place by capillary force), the liquid aerosol-forming substrate in the contiguous volume area being confined near the dispensing opening of the container (ink outlet 51) without regard to orientation of the liquid storage portion (para. 0043, 0004, 0040-0041. It is noted the ink absorbent 36 is fixedly positioned within the case body 32 by at least the capillary force of the ink absorbent 36 (i.e. sponge) irrespective of the orientation of the case body 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container of Malik in view of Bowen and Liu to include the negative pressure generation member/ink absorbent 36 (i.e. sponge) configured to hold the liquid (i.e. liquid aerosol-forming substrate) in the container. Due to capillary force, the negative pressure generation member absorbs and holds the ink in the ink cartridge, thereby preventing liquid from accidental leaking out of container opening (para. 0004 of Inoue).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Malik (US 20140150785), Bowen (US 20230319953), Liu (US 20150189919), and Inoue (US 20070046742) as applied to claim 8 above, further in view of Takeuchi (US 6155268)
Regarding claim 9, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except the housing comprises a transparent portion.
However, Takeuchi discloses the housing (“window (not shown)”) comprises a transparent portion (col. 7, line 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing of Malik (i.e. body 18) to comprise the transparent portion as taught by Takeuchi, in order to allow the user to observe the remaining liquid in the container, thereby prevent accident dry-out in the container.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Malik (US 20140150785), Bowen (US 20230319953), Liu (US 20150189919), Inoue (US 20070046742), and Takeuchi (US 6155268) as applied to claim 9 above, further in view of Li (US 20160219934)
Regarding claim 10, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth, except the front wall or rear wall that is transparent includes a scale.
However, Li discloses an aerosol-generating system (atomizer), wherein a transparent portion of the housing (housing 101) comprises a scale (scales) (para. 0019).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the front wall that is transparent of Malik (i.e. the modified front wall of Malik in view of Bowen and Takeuchi) to comprise the scale as taught by Li, in order to indicate to the user regarding the quantity of the tobacco liquid remained in the liquid supply (para. 0019 of Li).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Malik (US 20140150785), Bowen (US 20230319953), Liu (US 20150189919), Inoue (US 20070046742), Takeuchi (US 6155268), and Li (US 20160219934) as applied to claim 10 above, further in view of Geschwender (US 20080223126)
Regarding claim 11, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth, except magnification areas configured to facilitate reading of a fill level of the liquid aerosol-forming substrate in the container.
However, Geschwender discloses magnification areas configured to facilitate reading of a fill level of the liquid aerosol-forming substrate in the container (para. 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container of Malik such that it comprises magnification areas configured to facilitate reading of the fill level of the liquid aerosol-forming substrate in the container as taught by Geschwender, in order to more easily read the fill level of the container (para. 0004 of Geschwender).
Response to Amendment
With respect to 112a and 112b rejections: since amendment made to claims 1 and 8, therefore the previous 112a and 112b rejections are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are respectfully not persuasive because:
Applicant’s Arguments: with respect to claim 1 (similarly applying to claim 8) on p. 11 of the Remarks, “without conceding as to any assertion put forth by the Office, and purely in an effort to advance prosecution, Applicant herein amends claim 1 to recite, in part, "a width dimension between the front wall and the rear wall such that the liquid aerosol-forming substrate in the container is held in contact with the plurality of walls by
capillary forces due to intermolecular interaction between the liquid aerosol-forming
substrate and the plurality of walls."
The Office has not shown the cited patent documents to disclose such features.
Inoue discloses that ink retained within the cartridge is held in place due to being
absorbed by the sponge-like ink absorbent 36. See Inoue, paragraph [0040]. The Office
has not shown Inoue to disclose or suggest that the dimension of the ink chamber 35
are such that capillary forces between the ink and sidewalls of the case body 32 hold the ink in place.”
Examiner’s Responses:
The applicant’s arguments are respectfully not persuasive because according to para. 0040, 0043, and 0004, Inoue discloses the liquid aerosol-forming substrate (i.e. ink absorbent 36) is held in contact with the plurality of walls of the container by capillary force and is fixedly positioned in the container by having the ribs 46 pressing down on it. The claim merely requires the contiguous volume area of the container to have a width dimension. Inoue discloses the contiguous volume area (i.e. space within the container that is occupied by the ink absorbent 36) having the width dimension as annotated in fig. 2. Because the ink is held in place within the ink absorbent 36 by capillary force, it does not slosh around in the container. Regarding limitation the intermolecular interaction between the substrate and the plurality of the walls, the non-patent literature to Hyperphysics, is relied upon for the disclosure of inherent properties that exist between the liquid and the walls of the container.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BONITA KHLOK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761