DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to amendment filed on 11/25/2025. Status of Claims are:
** Claims 19-40 and 43-44 are pending in this Office Action.
** Claims 1-18, and 41-42 were cancelled previously.
** Claims 19, 25, 31, and 37 are amended.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed in the amendment filed 11/25/2025, have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The reasons are set forth below.
Prior Art
3. US Patent Pub No. 20160066195 A1 to Moon et al., (hereinafter Moon)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 19, 21, 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 33, 35, 37 39 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over US 20150156636 Al to Tabet et al., (hereinafter Tabet_36), in view of US 20150296486 A1 to Park et al., (hereinafter Park), and in further view of US 20160066195 A1 to Moon et al., (hereinafter Moon).
Regarding claim 19, a communication method performed by a user equipment (UE),
the method comprising:
(i.e., UE) receiving “channel candidate information” (i.e., a list of potential channels) of a secondary cell (i.e., potential secondary cells) that uses an unlicensed frequency band, from a base station (i.e., BS); transmitting (i.e., UE) “channel state information” (“a list of supported channels”) associated with the one or more channels (i.e., includes channels)
(Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074] and Fig. 7, BS selects and provides “a list of potential channels” (i.e., channel candidate information) in the unlicensed frequency band to UE, as potential secondary cell channels (i.e., SCell), to be used by UE, via a configuration message (e.g. SCell Add), and UE provides feedback to BS, including a list of supported channels (i.e., channel state information) that UE determines based on its communication capabilities related to a particular frequency band)
transmitting (i.e., UE) data through one of the one or more channels; and adding, as the secondary cell, (i.e., Scell Add configuration) a channel that the base station has selected based on the channel state information, (“a list of supported channels”)
(Tabet_36: See para[0064], para[0069]-[0074] and Fig. 7, BS receives a list of supported channels (i.e., channel state information) from UE, and selects a channel in the unlicensed band such as those channels for which RSSI are below a threshold, and sends a “SCell Add” configuration to UE via primary carrier (PCell/ primary cell), upon reception of which, UE then adds such Secondary Cell (i.e., SCell) in unlicensed frequency band accordingly.)
wherein the channel state information (“a list of supported channels”) includes i) a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) (i.e., RSSI) associated with each of the one or more channels, wherein the secondary cell (i.e., SCell Add) is selected based on the RSSI and the information associated with channel usage
(Tabet_36: See para[0064] and para[0069]-[0074] UE performs one or more measurements e.g., signal strength/RSSI scans and various other “channel condition metrics”, on the channels of unlicensed frequency band included in the list of potential channels (i.e., channel candidate information) received initially from BS, and determines if those channels are free of interference (i.e., channel is used or not) in the vicinity of UE, and then provides feedback back to BS, including “a list of supported channels” (i.e., channel state information), including any other feedback (RSSI, etc) with respect to the list of potential channels (i.e. channel candidate list), upon reception of which, BS then selects a second channel on which it establishes the secondary carrier for UE, based on channel measurements provided and any other feedback received from UE)
wherein the “channel candidate information” (i.e., a list of potential channels) includes at least one of the unlicensed frequency band information associated with each of the one or more channels, information associated with the number of channel candidates, and channel candidate list information (i.e., a list of supported channels).
(Tabet_36: See para[0064] and para[0069]-[0074] UE provide to BS, “a list of supported channels” (i.e., channel state information) for channels in unlicensed frequency band, that were chosen from those channels included in “the list of potential channels” (i.e., channel candidate information) in unlicensed frequency band, that was received from BS initially. As such, it is understood that channels of “a list of potential channels” (channel candidate information) in unlicensed frequency band, can be found in the list of supported channels (i.e., channel state information) in unlicensed band, that UE sends to BS as feedback.)
Although Tabet_36 teaches a base station (BS) that can transmit/receive signals in both licensed and unlicensed frequency bands (Tabet_36: See para[0050]), however, they do not seem to specifically teach:
receiving a cell-specific reference signal of a secondary cell wherein the reference signal is generated based on physical cell identification of the secondary cell, wherein the physical cell identification is different from physical cell identification of a primary cell, and wherein the reference signal is transmitted through one or more channels of an unlicensed frequency band from the base station;
However, in a similar field, Park teaches:
(i.e., UE) receiving a cell-specific reference signal (i.e., CRS) of a secondary cell (i.e., SCell) wherein the reference signal (i.e., CRS) is generated (i.e., applied) based on physical cell identification (i.e., PCI) of the secondary cell (i.e., SCell)
(Park: See Fig. 4, para[0062], and para[0072]-[0073] The “SCell PCI determination module” of UE receives “physical cell identifier IE” from eNB, then determines “SCell is on an unlicensed LTE frequency band”, and then obtains the Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) of the SCell from the “physical cell identifier IE” received, and applies the PCI as physical signals on the SCell, wherein the physical signals includes reference signals, such as “cell-specific reference signal (CRS))
wherein the physical cell identification (i.e., PCI of SCell) is different from physical cell identification of a primary cell (i.e., PCI of PCell),
(Park: See para[0020] for Physical cell identifier (PCI) of SCell is obtained from the physical cell identifier IE sent to UE by eNB. It is understood that PCI of SCell is not the same as PCI of PCell as they are different. See para[0040] the serving cells for UE are “one PCell” and “one SCell”)
and wherein the reference signal (i.e., CRS) is transmitted through one or more channels of an unlicensed frequency band;
(Park: See Fig. 4, para[0062], and para[0072]-[0073] The “SCell PCI determination module” of UE receives “physical cell identifier IE” from eNB, then determines “SCell is on an unlicensed LTE frequency band”, and then obtains the Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) of the SCell from the “physical cell identifier IE” received, and applies the PCI as physical signals on the SCell, wherein the physical signals includes reference signals, such as “cell-specific reference signal (CRS))
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have included, cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, as taught by Park, with the teachings of Tabet_36, in order to benefit from the enhancements of having
Cell-specific reference signals being used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Tabet_36 in view of Park do not explicitly disclose that channel state information is transmitted (i.e., generated) based on CRS (i.e., reference signal), which also includes:
ii) information associated with channel usage determined according to whether a measured RSSI for each of the one or more channels exceeds a predetermined threshold value,
and, wherein the channel state information is generated (i.e., transmitted) based on the reference signal
However, in a similar field, Moon teaches:
ii) information associated with channel usage determined according to whether a measured RSSI for each of the one or more channels exceeds a predetermined threshold value, and
(Moon: See para[0127] for the “channel state information” includes information regarding RSSI values of channels, as measured by a UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value. (Moon: See para[0127]))
and wherein the channel state information is generated based on the reference signal (i.e., CRS (the reference signal) is transmitted with the channel state information that UE detects)
(Moon: See para[0195] for CRS (i.e., the reference signal) is transmitted with the channel state information)
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Moon teaches channel state information includes RSSI values of channels as measured by UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value (Moon: See para[0127])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have included, channel state information (CSI) transmission, as taught by Moon, with the teachings of Tabet_36 in view of Park, in order to benefit from the enhancements of being able to transmit channel state information (CSI) by CRS (i.e., reference signal) (Moon: See para[0195])
Regarding claim 21, the method as claimed in claim 19, wherein the channel state information
includes signal strength information.
(Tabet_36: See para[0071] for UE performs one or more measurements e.g., signal strength/RSSI scans, and various other channel condition metrics, as to confirm that those channels are free of interference (i.e., channel is used or not ) in the vicinity of UE, and provides feedbacks via “channel condition information” (i.e., channel state information) back to BS via primary cell.)
Regarding claim 23, the method as claimed in claim 19, wherein the reference signal of the secondary cell is a cell specific reference signal that is transmitted in a channel of the unlicensed frequency band by using physical cell identification information that is the same as that of the primary cell.
(Park: See para[0062] teaches “cell-specific reference signals” being used by eNB to transmit data to UE. In Fig. 7 #714, and para[0073] for UE SCell (i.e., Secondary Cell) acquisition module, may apply the PCI (i.e., physical layer cell ID ) as a parameter for physical channels or signals on the SCell. The physical channels may include one or more of “the reference signals” and synchronization signals and wherein the reference signals may include “cell-specific reference signals (CRS)” …… See para[0027]-[0028] for eNB determines PCI of the SCell, applies it as a parameter for physical channels or signals on the SCell that is “on an unlicensed carrier frequency”, and wherein UE can receive a physical cell identifier from eNB associated with SCell on unlicensed carrier frequency, and determine PCI of the SCell based on physical cell identifier IE that UE has already received from eNB.)).
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Moon teaches channel state information includes RSSI values of channels as measured by UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value (Moon: See para[0127])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have included, channel state information (CSI) transmission, as taught by Moon, with the teachings of Tabet_36 in view of Park, in order to benefit from the enhancements of being able to transmit channel state information (CSI) by CRS (i.e., reference signal) (Moon: See para[0195])
Regarding claim 25, a communication method performed by a base station,
the method comprising:
transmitting (i.e., BS), to a user equipment (UE), channel candidate information; (i.e., a list of potential channels) receiving channel state information (“a list of supported channels”) associated with the one or more channels, (i.e., includes channels)
(Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074] and Fig. 7, BS selects and provides “a list of potential channels” (i.e., channel candidate information) in the unlicensed frequency band to UE, as potential secondary cell channels (i.e., SCell), to be used by UE, via a configuration message (e.g. SCell Add), and UE provides feedback to BS, including a list of supported channels (i.e., channel state information) that UE determines based on its communication capabilities related to a particular frequency band)
receiving data through one of the one or more channels; (Tabet_36: See Fig. 7, #702, BS receiving data via primary carrier (i.e., PCell / primary channel)) and receiving channel state information (“a list of supported channels”) associated with one or more channels, (i.e., includes channels) which are generated based on the channel candidate information; (i.e., a list of potential channels) and
(Tabet_36: See Fig. 7, #708, and para[0070]-[0074], BS receiving feedback regarding a list of potential channels (i.e., channel state information), namely “a list of supported channels”, from UE, wherein such list is generated by UE based on channels included in “the potential list of channels” (i.e., channel candidate information), in unlicensed frequency band, that UE has received from BS)
additionally, configuring a channel (i.e., Fig. 7, #710, establishing a secondary carrier (SCell)) having the smallest signal interference as a secondary cell of the UE (i.e. SCell), based on the channel state information (i.e., a list of supported channels), and wherein the secondary cell (i.e., SCell) is selected based on the channel state information (i.e., a list of supported channels) and a predetermined threshold value. (i.e., below a desired threshold)
(Tabet_36: See Fig. 7, #710, and para[0069]-[0074] BS selects a channel for UE to establish a secondary carrier via “SCell Add” from the feedback received from UE (i.e., a list of supported channels), wherein the selected channels may be those on which WiFi interference has been determined to be less likely and/or prevalent such as channels for which RSSI value are below a desired threshold.)
wherein the channel state information (“a list of supported channels”) includes i) a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) (i.e., RSSI) associated with each of the one or more channels, wherein the secondary cell (i.e., SCell Add) is selected based on the RSSI and the information associated with channel usage
(Tabet_36: See para[0064] and para[0069]-[0074] UE performs one or more measurements e.g., signal strength/RSSI scans and various other “channel condition metrics”, on the channels of unlicensed frequency band included in the list of potential channels (i.e., channel candidate information) received initially from BS, and determines if those channels are free of interference (i.e., channel is used or not) in the vicinity of UE, and then provides feedback back to BS, including “a list of supported channels” (i.e., channel state information), including any other feedback (RSSI, etc) with respect to the list of potential channels (i.e. channel candidate list), upon reception of which, BS then selects a second channel on which it establishes the secondary carrier for UE, based on channel measurements provided and any other feedback received from UE)
Tabet_36 does not specifically teach
transmitting a cell-specific reference signal of a secondary cell wherein the reference signal is generated based on physical cell identification of the secondary cell wherein the physical cell identification is different from physical cell identification of a primary cell, the reference signal transmitted through one or more channels of an unlicensed frequency band from the base station;
However, in a similar field, Park teaches:
transmitting a cell-specific reference signal (i.e., CRS) of a secondary cell (i.e., SCell) wherein the reference signal (i.e., CRS) is generated (i.e., applied) based on physical cell identification (i.e., PCI) of the secondary cell (i.e., SCell)
(Park: See Fig. 4, para[0062], and para[0072]-[0073] The “SCell PCI determination module” of UE receives “physical cell identifier IE” from eNB, then determines “SCell is on an unlicensed LTE frequency band”, and then obtains the Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) of the SCell from the “physical cell identifier IE” received, and applies the PCI as physical signals on the SCell, wherein the physical signals includes reference signals, such as “cell-specific reference signal (CRS))
wherein the physical cell identification (i.e., PCI of SCell) is different from physical cell identification of a primary cell, (i.e., PCI of PCell)
(Park: See para[0020] for Physical cell identifier (PCI) of SCell is obtained from the physical cell identifier IE sent to UE by eNB. It is understood that PCI of SCell is not the same as PCI of PCell as they are different. See para[0040] the serving cells for UE are “one PCell” and “one SCell”)
the reference signal transmitted (i.e., CRS) through one or more channels of an unlicensed frequency band from the base station;
(Park: See Fig. 4, para[0062], and para[0072]-[0073] The “SCell PCI determination module” of UE receives “physical cell identifier IE” from eNB, then determines “SCell is on an unlicensed LTE frequency band”, and then obtains the Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) of the SCell from the “physical cell identifier IE” received, and applies the PCI as physical signals on the SCell, wherein the physical signals includes reference signals, such as “cell-specific reference signal (CRS))
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have included, cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, as taught by Park, with the teachings of Tabet_36, in order to benefit from the enhancements of having
Cell-specific reference signals being used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Tabet_36 in view of Park do not explicitly disclose that channel state information is transmitted (i.e., generated) based on CRS (i.e., reference signal), which also includes:
ii) information associated with channel usage determined according to whether a measured RSSI for each of the one or more channels exceeds a predetermined threshold value,
and, wherein the channel state information is generated (i.e., transmitted) based on the reference signal
However, in a similar field, Moon teaches:
ii) information associated with channel usage determined according to whether a measured RSSI for each of the one or more channels exceeds a predetermined threshold value, and
(Moon: See para[0127] for the “channel state information” includes information regarding RSSI values of channels, as measured by a UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value. (Moon: See para[0127]))
and wherein the channel state information is generated based on the reference signal (i.e., CRS (the reference signal) is transmitted with the channel state information that UE detects)
(Moon: See para[0195] for CRS (i.e., the reference signal) is transmitted with the channel state information)
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Moon teaches channel state information includes RSSI values of channels as measured by UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value (Moon: See para[0127])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have included, channel state information (CSI) transmission, as taught by Moon, with the teachings of Tabet_36 in view of Park, in order to benefit from the enhancements of being able to transmit channel state information (CSI) by CRS (i.e., reference signal) (Moon: See para[0195])
Regarding claim 27, the method as claimed in claim 25, wherein the channel state information
includes at least one of information associated with whether each of the one or
more channels is used and signal strength information.
(Tabet_36: See para[0071] for UE performs one or more measurements e.g., signal strength/RSSI scans, and various other channel condition metrics, as to confirm that those channels are free of interference (i.e., channel is used or not ) in the vicinity of UE, and provides feedbacks via “channel condition information” (i.e., channel state information) back to BS via primary cell.)
Regarding claim 29, the method as claimed in claim 25 wherein the reference signal of the secondary cell is a cell specific reference signal that is transmitted in a channel of the unlicensed frequency band by using physical cell identification information that is the same as that of the primary cell.
(Park: See para[0062]-[0087] teaches UE and eNB use one or more channels and signals to communicate with each other, wherein eNB uses downlink reference signals, to communicate with UE, wherein such reference signal is “cell-specific reference signal” used by eNB to communicate with UE. See Fig. 1 and para[0099] for SCell being associated with eNB. See para[0140]-[0148] eNB “SCell acquisition module” applies the PCI of the SCell as a parameter to uplink/downlink channels or signals (i.e., adds PCI to uplink/downlink channels and/or uplink/downlink signals such as Cell-Specific Reference Signal for SCell) and performs scramble sequence initiation with the UE based on the PCI of the SCell which allows eNB to transmit fundamental data and UE-specific data from the SCell to UE. UE SCell acquisition module performs scramble sequence initiation with the eNB based on the PCI of the SCell it obtains, which allows UE to decode and read fundamental data and UE specific data from SCell, and UE afterwards configures it receiver to tune an SCell in addition to the PCell. See also para[0027]-[0028] for eNB determines PCI of the SCell, applies it as a parameter for physical channels or signals (i.e., uplink/downlink channels and/or uplink/downlink signals such as “cell specific reference signal”) on the SCell on an unlicensed carrier frequency”, and wherein UE can receive a physical cell identifier from eNB associated with SCell on unlicensed carrier frequency, and determine PCI of the SCell based on physical cell identifier IE which UE has received from eNB.)
ii) information associated with channel usage determined according to whether a measured RSSI for each of the one or more channels exceeds a predetermined threshold value, and
(Moon: See para[0127] for the “channel state information” includes information regarding RSSI values of channels, as measured by a UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value. (Moon: See para[0127]))
and wherein the channel state information is generated based on the reference signal (i.e., CRS (the reference signal) is transmitted with the channel state information that UE detects)
(Moon: See para[0195] for CRS (i.e., the reference signal) is transmitted with the channel state information)
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Moon teaches channel state information includes RSSI values of channels as measured by UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value (Moon: See para[0127])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have included, channel state information (CSI) transmission, as taught by Moon, with the teachings of Tabet_36 in view of Park, in order to benefit from the enhancements of being able to transmit channel state information (CSI) by CRS (i.e., reference signal) (Moon: See para[0195])
Regarding claim 31, a user equipment (UE) the UE
comprising:
a transmitting unit configured to transmit channel state information (“a list of supported channels”) associated with the one or more channels, and transmit data through one of the one or more channels, (Fig. 7, #710, UE transmits via secondary carrier (SCell / secondary channel) to BS) and a controller configured to add, (i.e., Scell Add configuration) as the secondary cell (i.e., SCell), a channel that the base station has selected (i.e., a channel in unlicensed frequency band) based on the channel state information, (“a list of supported channels”)
(Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074] and Fig. 7, BS selects and provides “a list of potential channels” (i.e., channel candidate information) in the unlicensed frequency band to UE, as potential secondary cell channels (i.e., SCell), to be used by UE, via a configuration message (e.g. SCell Add), and UE provides feedback to BS, including a list of supported channels by UE (i.e., channel state information). BS receives “the list of supported channels” (i.e., channel state information) from UE, and selects a channel in the unlicensed band, and sends a “SCell Add” configuration channel to UE, via primary carrier (PCell/ primary cell), upon reception of which, UE then adds such Secondary Cell (i.e., SCell) in unlicensed frequency band accordingly, and starts communicating with BS (Fig. 7, #714))
wherein the “channel candidate information” (i.e., a list of potential channels) includes at least one of the unlicensed frequency band information associated with each of the one or more channels, information associated with the number of channel candidates, and channel candidate list information. (i.e., a list of supported channels)
(Tabet_36: See para[0064] and para[0069]-[0074] UE provide to BS, “a list of supported channels” (i.e., channel state information) for channels in unlicensed frequency band, that were chosen from those channels included in “the list of potential channels” (i.e., channel candidate information) in unlicensed frequency band, that was received from BS initially. As such, it is understood that channels of “a list of potential channels” (channel candidate information) in unlicensed frequency band, can be found in the list of supported channels (i.e., channel state information) in unlicensed band, that UE sends to BS as feedback.)
wherein the secondary cell (i.e., PCell Add) is selected based on the channel state information (i.e., a list of supported channels) and a predetermined threshold value. (i.e., below a desired threshold)
Tabet_36: See Fig. 7, #710, and para[0069]-[0074] BS selects a channel for UE to establish a secondary carrier via “SCell Add” from the feedback received from UE (i.e., a list of supported channels), wherein the selected channels may be those on which WiFi interference has been determined to be less likely and/or prevalent such as channels for which RSSI value are below a desired threshold.)
wherein the channel state information (“a list of supported channels”) includes i) a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) (i.e., RSSI) associated with each of the one or more channels, wherein the secondary cell (i.e., SCell Add) is selected based on the RSSI and the information associated with channel usage
(Tabet_36: See para[0064] and para[0069]-[0074] UE performs one or more measurements e.g., signal strength/RSSI scans and various other “channel condition metrics”, on the channels of unlicensed frequency band included in the list of potential channels (i.e., channel candidate information) received initially from BS, and determines if those channels are free of interference (i.e., channel is used or not) in the vicinity of UE, and then provides feedback back to BS, including “a list of supported channels” (i.e., channel state information), including any other feedback (RSSI, etc) with respect to the list of potential channels (i.e. channel candidate list), upon reception of which, BS then selects a second channel on which it establishes the secondary carrier for UE, based on channel measurements provided and any other feedback received from UE)
Although Tabet_36 teaches “feedback information” (i.e., channel state information) includes a list of supported and unsupported candidate channels in the unlicensed frequency band, and wherein “a list”, is understood to mean “a number of candidate channels”, (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074]), however, Tabet_36 does not seem to explicitly disclose that such list includes RSSI of channels, as understood in:
Tabet_36 does not specifically teach
to receive a cell-specific reference signal of a secondary cell wherein the reference signal is generated based on physical cell identification of the secondary cell wherein the physical cell identification is different from physical cell identification of a primary cell, the reference signal transmitted through one or more channels of an unlicensed frequency band from the base station;
However, in a similar field, Park teaches:
To receive a cell-specific reference signal (i.e., CRS) of a secondary cell (i.e., SCell) wherein the reference signal (i.e., CRS) is generated (i.e., applied) based on physical cell identification (i.e., PCI) of the secondary cell (i.e., SCell)
(Park: See Fig. 4, para[0062], and para[0072]-[0073] The “SCell PCI determination module” of UE receives “physical cell identifier IE” from eNB, then determines “SCell is on an unlicensed LTE frequency band”, and then obtains the Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) of the SCell from the “physical cell identifier IE” received, and applies the PCI as physical signals on the SCell, wherein the physical signals includes reference signals, such as “cell-specific reference signal (CRS))
wherein the physical cell identification (i.e., PCI of SCell) is different from physical cell identification of a primary cell, (i.e., PCI of PCell)
(Park: See para[0020] for Physical cell identifier (PCI) of SCell is obtained from the physical cell identifier IE sent to UE by eNB. It is understood that PCI of SCell is not the same as PCI of PCell as they are different. See para[0040] the serving cells for UE are “one PCell” and “one SCell”)
and wherein the reference signal (i.e., CRS) is transmitted (i.e., applied) through one or more channels of an unlicensed frequency band;
(Park: See Fig. 4 #414, para[0062], and para[0072]-[0073] The “SCell PCI determination module” of UE receives “physical cell identifier IE” from eNB, then determines “SCell is on an unlicensed LTE frequency band”, and then obtains the Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) of the SCell from the “physical cell identifier IE” received, and applies the PCI as physical signals on the SCell (i.e., transmitted), wherein the physical signals includes reference signals, such as “cell-specific reference signal (CRS))
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have included, cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, as taught by Park, with the teachings of Tabet_36, in order to benefit from the enhancements of having
Cell-specific reference signals being used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Tabet_36 in view of Park do not explicitly disclose that channel state information is transmitted (i.e., generated) based on CRS (i.e., reference signal), which also includes:
ii) information associated with channel usage determined according to whether a measured RSSI for each of the one or more channels exceeds a predetermined threshold value,
and, wherein the channel state information is generated (i.e., transmitted) based on the reference signal
However, in a similar field, Moon teaches:
ii) information associated with channel usage determined according to whether a measured RSSI for each of the one or more channels exceeds a predetermined threshold value, and
(Moon: See para[0127] for the “channel state information” includes information regarding RSSI values of channels, as measured by a UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value. (Moon: See para[0127]))
and wherein the channel state information is generated based on the reference signal (i.e., CRS (the reference signal) is transmitted with the channel state information that UE detects)
(Moon: See para[0195] for CRS (i.e., the reference signal) is transmitted with the channel state information)
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Moon teaches channel state information includes RSSI values of channels as measured by UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value (Moon: See para[0127])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have included, channel state information (CSI) transmission, as taught by Moon, with the teachings of Tabet_36 in view of Park, in order to benefit from the enhancements of being able to transmit channel state information (CSI) by CRS (i.e., reference signal) (Moon: See para[0195])
Regarding claim 33, the UE as claimed in claim 31, wherein the channel state information
includes at least one of information associated with whether each of the one or more channels is used and signal strength information.
(Tabet_36: See para[0071] for UE performs one or more measurements e.g., signal strength/RSSI scans, and various other channel condition metrics, as to confirm that those channels are free of interference (i.e., channel is used or not ) in the vicinity of UE, and provides feedbacks via “channel condition information” (i.e., channel state information) back to BS via primary cell.)
Regarding claim 35, the UE as claimed in claim 31, wherein the receiving unit further receives a reference signal of the secondary cell from the base station, wherein the reference signal of the secondary cell is a cell specific reference signal that is transmitted in a channel of the unlicensed frequency band by using physical cell identification information that is the same as that of the primary cell.
(Park: See para[0062]-[0087] teaches UE and eNB use one or more channels and signals to communicate with each other, wherein eNB uses downlink reference signals, to communicate with UE, wherein such reference signal is “cell-specific reference signal” used by eNB to communicate with UE. See Fig. 1 and para[0099] for SCell being associated with eNB. See para[0140]-[0148] eNB “SCell acquisition module” applies the PCI of the SCell as a parameter to uplink/downlink channels or signals (i.e., adds PCI to uplink/downlink channels and/or uplink/downlink signals such as Cell-Specific Reference Signal for SCell) and performs scramble sequence initiation with the UE based on the PCI of the SCell which allows eNB to transmit fundamental data and UE-specific data from the SCell to UE. UE SCell acquisition module performs scramble sequence initiation with the eNB based on the PCI of the SCell it obtains, which allows UE to decode and read fundamental data and UE specific data from SCell, and UE afterwards configures it receiver to tune an SCell in addition to the PCell. See also para[0027]-[0028] for eNB determines PCI of the SCell, applies it as a parameter for physical channels or signals (i.e., uplink/downlink channels and/or uplink/downlink signals such as “cell specific reference signal”) on the SCell on an unlicensed carrier frequency”, and wherein UE can receive a physical cell identifier from eNB associated with SCell on unlicensed carrier frequency, and determine PCI of the SCell based on physical cell identifier IE which UE has received from eNB.)
Tabet_36 in view of Park do not explicitly disclose that channel state information is transmitted (i.e., generated) based on CRS (i.e., reference signal), which also includes:
ii) information associated with channel usage determined according to whether a measured RSSI for each of the one or more channels exceeds a predetermined threshold value,
and, wherein the channel state information is generated (i.e., transmitted) based on the reference signal
However, in a similar field, Moon teaches:
ii) information associated with channel usage determined according to whether a measured RSSI for each of the one or more channels exceeds a predetermined threshold value, and
(Moon: See para[0127] for the “channel state information” includes information regarding RSSI values of channels, as measured by a UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value. (Moon: See para[0127]))
and wherein the channel state information is generated based on the reference signal (i.e., CRS (the reference signal) is transmitted with the channel state information that UE detects)
(Moon: See para[0195] for CRS (i.e., the reference signal) is transmitted with the channel state information)
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Moon teaches channel state information includes RSSI values of channels as measured by UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value (Moon: See para[0127])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have included, channel state information (CSI) transmission, as taught by Moon, with the teachings of Tabet_36 in view of Park, in order to benefit from the enhancements of being able to transmit channel state information (CSI) by CRS (i.e., reference signal) (Moon: See para[0195])
Regarding claim 37, A base station, the base station comprising:
a transmitting unit configured to transmit, to User Equipment (UE), channel candidate information (i.e., a list of potential channels) and a receiving unit configured to receive channel state information (“a list of supported channels”) associated with the one or more channels, (i.e., includes channels)
(Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074] and Fig. 7, BS selects and provides “a list of potential channels” (i.e., channel candidate information) in the unlicensed frequency band to UE, as potential secondary cell channels (i.e., SCell), to be used by UE, via a configuration message (e.g. SCell Add), and UE provides feedback to BS, including a list of supported channels (i.e., channel state information) that UE determines based on its communication capabilities related to a particular frequency band)
and receive data through one of the one or more channels; (Tabet_36: See Fig. 7, #702, BS receiving data via primary carrier (i.e., PCell / primary channel)) and a controller configured to add, as the secondary cell (i.e., PCell Add), a channel that the base station selects based on the channel state information, (i.e., includes channels)
(Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074] and Fig. 7, BS selects and provides “a list of potential channels” (i.e., channel candidate information) in the unlicensed frequency band to UE, as potential secondary cell channels (i.e., SCell), to be used by UE, via a configuration message (e.g. SCell Add), and UE provides feedback to BS, including a list of supported channels (i.e., channel state information) that UE determines based on its communication capabilities related to a particular frequency band)
wherein the channel candidate information (i.e., a list of potential channels) includes at least one of the unlicensed frequency band information associated with each of the one or more channels, information associated with the number of channel candidate list information. (i.e., a list of supported channels)
(Tabet_36: See para[0064] and para[0069]-[0074] UE provide to BS, “a list of supported channels” (i.e., channel state information) for channels in unlicensed frequency band, that were chosen from those channels included in “the list of potential channels” (i.e., channel candidate information) in unlicensed frequency band, that was received from BS initially. As such, it is understood that channels of “a list of potential channels” (channel candidate information) in unlicensed frequency band, can be found in the list of supported channels (i.e., channel state information) in unlicensed band, that UE sends to BS as feedback.)
wherein the channel state information (“a list of supported channels”) includes information on whether each of the one or more channels is used, wherein the information on whether each of the one or more channels is used is determined based on a signal strength of each of the one or more channels, and
(Tabet_36: See para[0064] and para[0069]-[0074] UE performs one or more measurements e.g., signal strength/RSSI scans and various other channel condition metrics, on the channels of unlicensed frequency band as included in the list of potential channels (i.e., channel candidate information) received initially from BS, as to determine if those channels are free of interference (i.e., channel is used or not) in the vicinity of UE, and then provide to feedback to BS, including “channel condition information”, and “a list of supported channels” (i.e., channel state information), including any other feedback (RSSI, etc) with respect to the list potential channels (i.e. channel candidate list) in unlicensed frequency band. BS receives UE feedback including the list of supported channels (i.e., channel state information), and then selects a second channel for SCell (i.e., secondary cell) in unlicensed frequency band, from the list of potential channels (i.e., channel state information) that have RSSI values below a desired threshold, and provides the configuration of that channel as secondary cell channel to UE as “SCell Add”)
wherein the secondary cell (i.e., SCell) is selected based on the channel state information (i.e., a list of supported channels) and a predetermined threshold value, and (i.e., below a desired threshold)
(Tabet_36: See Fig. 7, #710, and para[0069]-[0074] BS selects a channel for UE to establish a secondary carrier via “SCell Add” from the feedback received from UE (i.e., a list of supported channels), wherein the selected channels may be those on which WiFi interference has been determined to be less likely and/or prevalent such as channels for which RSSI value are below a desired threshold.)
wherein the channel state information (“a list of supported channels”) includes i) a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) (i.e., RSSI) associated with each of the one or more channels, wherein the secondary cell (i.e., SCell Add) is selected based on the RSSI and the information associated with channel usage
(Tabet_36: See para[0064] and para[0069]-[0074] UE performs one or more measurements e.g., signal strength/RSSI scans and various other “channel condition metrics”, on the channels of unlicensed frequency band included in the list of potential channels (i.e., channel candidate information) received initially from BS, and determines if those channels are free of interference (i.e., channel is used or not) in the vicinity of UE, and then provides feedback back to BS, including “a list of supported channels” (i.e., channel state information), including any other feedback (RSSI, etc) with respect to the list of potential channels (i.e. channel candidate list), upon reception of which, BS then selects a second channel on which it establishes the secondary carrier for UE, based on channel measurements provided and any other feedback received from UE)
Although Tabet_36 teaches “feedback information” (i.e., channel state information) includes a list of supported and unsupported candidate channels in the unlicensed frequency band, and wherein “a list”, is understood to mean “a number of candidate channels”, (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074]), however, Tabet_36 does not seem to explicitly disclose that such list includes RSSI of channels, as understood in:
Tabet_36 does not specifically teach
To transmit a cell-specific reference signal of a secondary cell wherein the reference signal is generated based on physical cell identification of the secondary cell wherein the physical cell identification is different from physical cell identification of a primary cell, the reference signal transmitted through one or more channels of an unlicensed frequency band from the base station;
However, in a similar field, Park teaches:
To transmit a cell-specific reference signal (i.e., CRS) of a secondary cell (i.e., SCell) wherein the reference signal (i.e., CRS) is generated (i.e., applied) based on physical cell identification (i.e., PCI) of the secondary cell (i.e., SCell)
(Park: See Fig. 4, para[0062], and para[0072]-[0073] The “SCell PCI determination module” of UE receives “physical cell identifier IE” from eNB, then determines “SCell is on an unlicensed LTE frequency band”, and then obtains the Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) of the SCell from the “physical cell identifier IE” received, and applies the PCI as physical signals on the SCell, wherein the physical signals includes reference signals, such as “cell-specific reference signal (CRS))
wherein the physical cell identification (i.e., PCI of SCell) is different from physical cell identification of a primary cell, (i.e., PCI of PCell)
(Park: See para[0020] for Physical cell identifier (PCI) of SCell is obtained from the physical cell identifier IE sent to UE by eNB. It is understood that PCI of SCell is not the same as PCI of PCell as they are different. See para[0040] the serving cells for UE are “one PCell” and “one SCell”)
the reference signal (i.e., CRS) transmitted through one or more channels of an unlicensed frequency band from the base station;
(Park: See Fig. 4, para[0062], and para[0072]-[0073] The “SCell PCI determination module” of UE receives “physical cell identifier IE” from eNB, then determines “SCell is on an unlicensed LTE frequency band”, and then obtains the Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) of the SCell from the “physical cell identifier IE” received, and applies the PCI as physical signals on the SCell, wherein the physical signals includes reference signals, such as “cell-specific reference signal (CRS))
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have included, cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, as taught by Park, with the teachings of Tabet_36, in order to benefit from the enhancements of having
Cell-specific reference signals being used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Tabet_36 in view of Park do not explicitly disclose that channel state information is transmitted (i.e., generated) based on CRS (i.e., reference signal), which also includes:
ii) information associated with channel usage determined according to whether a measured RSSI for each of the one or more channels exceeds a predetermined threshold value,
and, wherein the channel state information is generated (i.e., transmitted) based on the reference signal
However, in a similar field, Moon teaches:
ii) information associated with channel usage determined according to whether a measured RSSI for each of the one or more channels exceeds a predetermined threshold value, and
(Moon: See para[0127] for the “channel state information” includes information regarding RSSI values of channels, as measured by a UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value. (Moon: See para[0127]))
and wherein the channel state information is generated based on the reference signal (i.e., CRS (the reference signal) is transmitted with the channel state information that UE detects)
(Moon: See para[0195] for CRS (i.e., the reference signal) is transmitted with the channel state information)
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Moon teaches channel state information includes RSSI values of channels as measured by UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value (Moon: See para[0127])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have included, channel state information (CSI) transmission, as taught by Moon, with the teachings of Tabet_36 in view of Park, in order to benefit from the enhancements of being able to transmit channel state information (CSI) by CRS (i.e., reference signal) (Moon: See para[0195])
Regarding claim 39, The base station as claimed in claim 37, wherein the channel state information includes at least one of information associated with whether each of the one or more channels is used and signal strength information.
(Tabet_36: See para[0071] for UE performs one or more measurements e.g., signal strength/RSSI scans, and various other channel condition metrics, as to confirm that those channels are free of interference (i.e., channel is used or not ) in the vicinity of UE, and provides feedbacks via “channel condition information” (i.e., channel state information) back to BS via primary cell.)
Regarding Claim 43. The method of claim 19, further comprising:
Performing carrier aggregation between the primacy cell and the secondary cell.
(Tabet_36: See para[0044] and Fig. 7, for carrier aggregation can be dong using both licensed and unlicensed frequency bands as described and shown in Fig. 7)
Regarding Claim 44. The method as claimed in claim 19, further comprising:
measuring a reference signal received power (RSRP) from the secondary cell; and transmitting the measured RSRP to the base station.
(Tabet_36: See para[0064] and para[0069]-[0074] UE performs one or more measurements e.g., signal strength/RSSI scans and various other channel condition metrics, on the channels of unlicensed frequency band as included in the list of potential channels (i.e., channel candidate information) received initially from BS, as to determine if those channels are free of interference (i.e., channel is used or not) in the vicinity of UE, and then provide to feedback to BS, including “channel condition information”, and “a list of supported channels” (i.e., channel state information), including any other feedback (RSSI, etc) with respect to the list potential channels (i.e. channel candidate list) in unlicensed frequency band. BS receives UE feedback including the list of supported channels (i.e., channel state information), and then selects a second channel for SCell (i.e., secondary cell) in unlicensed frequency band, from the list of potential channels (i.e., channel state information) that have RSSI values below a desired threshold, and provides the configuration of that channel as secondary cell channel to UE as “SCell Add”)
6. Claims 22, 28, 34 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Tabet_36 in view of Park and Moon, and in further view of US 20120208541 A1 to Luo et al., (hereinafter Luo)
Regarding claim 22, the method as claimed in claim 19, further comprising:
transmitting at least one of channel information of a primary cell and reference signal
measurement information associated with the secondary cell,
(Tabet_36: See para[0071] for UE performs one or more measurements e.g., signal strength/RSSI scans, and various other channel condition metrics, as to confirm that those channels are free of interference (i.e., channel is used or not ) in the vicinity of UE, and provides feedbacks via “channel condition information” (i.e., channel state information) back to BS via primary cell.)
Tabet_36 in view of Park and Seo do not seem to determined location information of UE is being calculated and determined for channel selection, as understood in:
wherein the base station selects a channel of the secondary cell by further using location
information of the UE which is calculated based on at least one of the channel
information of the primary cell and the reference signal measurement
information associated with the secondary cell.
However, in a similar field, Luo in para[0007] teaches that a base station (BS) of a cell receives
a channel state information (CSI) feedback from UE, and based on CSI feedback, it selects an
antenna port (i.e., a channel), and further determines to update the selection of the antenna port
(i.e., channel) based in part on a change in location of the UE. As such, it is understood that an
antenna selection (i.e., a channel selection) of a cell used for communication purposes can be
based on CSI feedback and location of the UE transmitting the CSI feedback.
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Seo teaches techniques related to channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, wherein CSI is generated by measuring a reference signal. (Seo: See para[0079])
Luo teaches a BS being able to determine an antenna selection (i.e., a channel selection) for
communication purposes based on CSI feedback from UE and location of the UE. (Luo: See
para[0007])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
have included antenna selection (i.e., channel selection), as taught by Luo, with the system of
Tabet_36 in view of Park and Seo, in order to benefit from having a BS that is able to
determine an antenna selection (i.e., a channel selection) for communication purposes, based on
CSI feedback from UE and the location of the UE. (Luo: See para[0007])
Regarding claim 28, the method as claimed in claim 25, further comprising:
receiving channel information of a primary cell or reference signal measurement information
associated with the secondary cell; and (Tabet_36: See para[0071] for UE performs one or more measurements e.g., signal strength/RSSI scans, and various other channel condition metrics, as to confirm that those channels are free of interference (i.e., channel is used or not ) in the vicinity of UE, and provides feedbacks via “channel condition information” (i.e., channel state information) back to BS via primary cell.)
Tabet_36 in view of Park and Seo do not seem to determined location information of UE is being calculated and determined for channel selection, as understood in:
calculating location information of the UE based on at least one of the channel information of the primary cell and the reference signal measurement information associated with the secondary cell, wherein a channel that is additionally configured as the secondary cell
is selected based on the channel state information and the location information
of the UE.
However, in a similar field, Luo in para[0007] teaches that a base station (BS) of a cell receives
a channel state information (CSI) feedback from UE, and based on CSI feedback, it selects an
antenna port (i.e., a channel), and further determines to update the selection of the antenna port
(i.e., channel) based in part on a change in location of the UE. As such, it is understood that an
antenna selection (i.e., a channel selection) of a cell used for communication purposes can be
based on CSI feedback and location of the UE transmitting the CSI feedback.
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Seo teaches techniques related to channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, wherein CSI is generated by measuring a reference signal. (Seo: See para[0079])
Luo teaches a BS being able to determine an antenna selection (i.e., a channel selection) for
communication purposes based on CSI feedback from UE and location of the UE. (Luo: See
para[0007])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
have included antenna selection (i.e., channel selection), as taught by Luo, with the system of
Tabet_36 in view of Park and Seo, in order to benefit from having a BS that is able to
determine an antenna selection (i.e., a channel selection) for communication purposes, based on
CSI feedback from UE and the location of the UE. (Luo: See para[0007])
Regarding claim 34, the UE as claimed in claim 31, wherein the transmitting unit further
transmits channel information of the primary cell or reference signal measurement
information associated with the secondary cell,
(Tabet_36: See para[0071] for UE performs one or more measurements e.g., signal strength/RSSI scans, and various other channel condition metrics, as to confirm that those channels are free of interference (i.e., channel is used or not ) in the vicinity of UE, and provides feedbacks via “channel condition information” (i.e., channel state information) back to BS via primary cell.)
Tabet_36 in view of Park and Seo do not seem to determined location information of UE is being calculated and determined for channel selection, as understood in:
and wherein the base station selects a channel of the secondary cell by further using location information of the UE that is calculated based on at least one of the channel information
of the primary cell and the reference signal measurement information associated
with the secondary cell.
However, in a similar field, Luo in para[0007] teaches that a base station (BS) of a cell receives
a channel state information (CSI) feedback from UE, and based on CSI feedback, it selects an
antenna port (i.e., a channel), and further determines to update the selection of the antenna port
(i.e., channel) based in part on a change in location of the UE. As such, it is understood that an
antenna selection (i.e., a channel selection) of a cell used for communication purposes can be
based on CSI feedback and location of the UE transmitting the CSI feedback.
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Seo teaches techniques related to channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, wherein CSI is generated by measuring a reference signal. (Seo: See para[0079])
Luo teaches a BS being able to determine an antenna selection (i.e., a channel selection) for
communication purposes based on CSI feedback from UE and location of the UE. (Luo: See
para[0007])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
have included antenna selection (i.e., channel selection), as taught by Luo, with the system of
Tabet_36 in view of Park and Seo, in order to benefit from having a BS that is able to
determine an antenna selection (i.e., a channel selection) for communication purposes, based on
CSI feedback from UE and the location of the UE. (Luo: See para[0007])
Regarding claim 40, the base station as claimed in claim 37, wherein the transmitting unit further transmits channel information of the primary cell or reference signal measurement information associated with the secondary cell, and
(Tabet_36: See para[0071] for UE performs one or more measurements e.g., signal strength/RSSI scans, and various other channel condition metrics, as to confirm that those channels are free of interference (i.e., channel is used or not ) in the vicinity of UE, and provides feedbacks via “channel condition information” (i.e., channel state information) back to BS via primary cell.)
Tabet_36 in view of Park and Seo do not seem to determined location information of UE is being calculated and determined for channel selection, as understood in:
wherein the base station selects a the the secondary cell by further using location information of the UE that is calculated based on at least one of the channel information of the primary cell and the reference signal measurement information associated with the secondary cell.
However, in a similar field, Luo in para[0007] teaches that a base station (BS) of a cell receives
a channel state information (CSI) feedback from UE, and based on CSI feedback, it selects an
antenna port (i.e., a channel), and further determines to update the selection of the antenna port
(i.e., channel) based in part on a change in location of the UE. As such, it is understood that an
antenna selection (i.e., a channel selection) of a cell used for communication purposes can be
based on CSI feedback and location of the UE transmitting the CSI feedback.
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Seo teaches techniques related to channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, wherein CSI is generated by measuring a reference signal. (Seo: See para[0079])
Luo teaches a BS being able to determine an antenna selection (i.e., a channel selection) for
communication purposes based on CSI feedback from UE and location of the UE. (Luo: See
para[0007])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
have included antenna selection (i.e., channel selection), as taught by Luo, with the system of
Tabet_36 in view of Park, in order to benefit from having a BS that is able to
determine an antenna selection (i.e., a channel selection) for communication purposes, based on
CSI feedback from UE and the location of the UE. (Luo: See para[0007])
7. Claims 24, 30, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Tabet_36, in view of Park and Moon, and in further view of US 20140375505 A1 to Anderson et al., (hereinafter Anderson)
Regarding claim 24, Tabet_36 in view of Park teaches the method as claimed in claim 19, however, they do not seem to explicitly disclose:
wherein the channel candidate information further includes at least one of transmission power information of a secondary cell reference signal, transmission location information, and
transmission period information.
However, in a similar field, Anderson in para[0016] teaches that a channel list specifies and
contains channel frequency, and transmitter location (i.e., transmission location information). It is understood that other information can also be included in a channel list.
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Moon teaches channel state information includes RSSI values of channels as measured by UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value (Moon: See para[0127])
Anderson teaches a channel list specifies and contains channel frequency, and transmitter
location (i.e., transmission location information) information. (Anderson: See para[0016])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
have included channel list, as taught by Anderson, with the teaching of Tabet_36 in view of Park and Moon, in order to benefit from having a channel list that specifies transmitter location (i.e., transmission location information) information. (Anderson: See para[0016])
Regarding claim 30, Tabet_36 in view of Park and Seo teaches the method as claimed in claim 25, however, they do not seem to explicitly disclose:
wherein the channel candidate information further includes at least one of transmission power information of the secondary cell reference signal, transmission location information, and
transmission period information.
However, in a similar field, Anderson in para[0016] teaches that a channel list specifies and
contains channel frequency, and transmitter location (i.e., transmission location information). It is understood that other information can also be included in a channel list.
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Moon teaches channel state information includes RSSI values of channels as measured by UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value (Moon: See para[0127])
Anderson teaches a channel list specifies and contains channel frequency, and transmitter
location (i.e., transmission location information) information. (Anderson: See para[0016])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
have included channel list, as taught by Anderson, with the teaching of Tabet_36 in view of Park and Moon, in order to benefit from having a channel list that specifies transmitter location (i.e., transmission location information) information. (Anderson: See para[0016])
Regarding claim 36, Tabet_36 in view of Park and Seo teaches the UE as claimed in claim 31, however, they do not seem to explicitly disclose:
wherein the channel candidate information further includes at least one of transmission power information of a secondary cell reference signal, transmission location information, and transmission period information.
However, in a similar field, Anderson in para[0016] teaches that a channel list specifies and
contains channel frequency, and transmitter location (i.e., transmission location information). It is understood that other information can also be included in a channel list.
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Moon teaches channel state information includes RSSI values of channels as measured by UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value (Moon: See para[0127])
Anderson teaches a channel list specifies and contains channel frequency, and transmitter
location (i.e., transmission location information) information. (Anderson: See para[0016])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to
have included channel list, as taught by Anderson, with the teaching of Tabet_36 in view of Park and Moon, in order to benefit from having a channel list that specifies transmitter location (i.e., transmission location information) information. (Anderson: See para[0016])
8. Claims 20, 26, 32 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Tabet_36 in view of Park and Moon, and in further view of US 20150373744 A1 to Rosa et al., (hereinafter Rosa)
Regarding claim 20, Tabet_36 in view of Park and Seo teaches the method as claimed in claim 19, and teaches channel candidate information being sent via primary cell, however, it does not seem to explicitly disclose that higher layer signaling of primary cell (PCell) is used for transmissions/reception purposes, as understood in:
wherein the channel candidate information is received through a high layer signaling of a primary cell.
However, in a similar field, Rosa, in para[0041], teaches that transmissions to UE (i.e., “channel candidate information” transmission) is done via PCell’s higher layer signaling. (Rosa: See para[0041])
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Moon teaches channel state information includes RSSI values of channels as measured by UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value (Moon: See para[0127])
Rosa teaches transmission to UE can be done via PCell’s higher layer signaling. (Rosa: See para[0041])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have included transmissions via PCell, as taught by Rosa, with the teachings of Tabet_36 in view of Park and Moon, in order to benefit from the enhancements of having transmission that can be done via PCell’s higher layer signaling to UE. (Rosa: See para[0041])
Regarding claim 26, Tabet_36 in view of Park and Seo teaches the method as claimed in claim 25, and teaches channel candidate information being sent via primary cell, however, it does not seem to explicitly disclose that higher layer signaling of primary cell (PCell) is used for transmissions/reception purposes, as understood in:
wherein the channel candidate information is transmitted through a high layer signaling of the primary cell.
However, in a similar field, Rosa, in para[0041], teaches that transmissions to UE (i.e., “channel candidate information” transmission) is done via PCell’s higher layer signaling. (Rosa: See para[0041])
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Moon teaches channel state information includes RSSI values of channels as measured by UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value (Moon: See para[0127])
Rosa teaches transmission to UE can be done via PCell’s higher layer signaling. (Rosa: See para[0041])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have included transmissions via PCell, as taught by Rosa, with the teachings of Tabet_36 in view of Park and Moon, in order to benefit from the enhancements of having transmission that can be done via PCell’s higher layer signaling to UE. (Rosa: See para[0041])
Regarding claim 32, Tabet_36 in view of Park and Seo teaches the UE as claimed in claim 31, and teaches channel candidate information being sent via primary cell, however, it does not seem to explicitly disclose that higher layer signaling of primary cell (PCell) is used for transmissions/reception purposes, as understood in:
wherein the channel candidate information is received through a high layer signaling of a primary cell.
However, in a similar field, Rosa, in para[0041], teaches that transmissions to UE (i.e., “channel candidate information” transmission) is done via PCell’s higher layer signaling. (Rosa: See para[0041])
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Moon teaches channel state information includes RSSI values of channels as measured by UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value (Moon: See para[0127])
Rosa teaches transmission to UE can be done via PCell’s higher layer signaling. (Rosa: See para[0041])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have included transmissions via PCell, as taught by Rosa, with the teachings of Tabet_36 in view of Park and Moon, in order to benefit from the enhancements of having transmission that can be done via PCell’s higher layer signaling to UE. (Rosa: See para[0041])
Regarding claim 38, Tabet_36 in view of Park and Seo teaches a base station as claimed in claim 37, and teaches channel candidate information being sent via primary cell, however, it does not seem to explicitly disclose that higher layer signaling of primary cell (PCell) is used for transmissions/reception purposes, as understood in
wherein the channel candidate information is received through a high layer signaling of the primary cell.
However, in a similar field, Rosa, in para[0041], teaches that transmissions to UE (i.e., “channel candidate information” transmission) is done via PCell’s higher layer signaling. (Rosa: See para[0041])
Tabet_36 teaches carrier aggregation of UE, wherein a base station (BS) provides certain channel to UE, via the primary cell (PCell), for the cell in unlicensed frequency band (i.e., secondary cell or SCell), and then the UE performs one or more measurements on those channels, such as signal strength/RSSI of those channels, and provides feedback to the BS with respect to such list of potential channels of the unlicensed frequency bands. (Tabet_36: See para[0070]-[0074])
Park teaches cell-specific reference signals used for transmission, wherein physical layer cell ID is applied as parameters for physical channels or signals on SCell. (Park: See para[0062])
Moon teaches channel state information includes RSSI values of channels as measured by UE, indicating if the RSSI value is greater than, or equal to, or less than a threshold value (Moon: See para[0127])
Rosa teaches transmission to UE can be done via PCell’s higher layer signaling. (Rosa: See para[0041])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have included transmissions via PCell, as taught by Rosa, with the teachings of Tabet_36 in view of Park and Moon, in order to benefit from the enhancements of having transmission that can be done via PCell’s higher layer signaling to UE. (Rosa: See para[0041])
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, Chirag Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477