DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1 and 4 have been amended. Claims 1 and 3-7 are pending and under consideration.
Claims 1, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for does not reasonably provide enablement for a process of screening chemotherapeutics for use in second line chemotherapy comprising subjecting the plural second chemotherapeutic agents and comprising subjecting the first and second chemotherapeutic agents to a liver organoid treatment prior to adding to the culture of the cells of interest, for does not reasonably provide enablement for a process of screening chemotherapeutics for use in second line chemotherapy comprising subjecting the plural second chemotherapeutic agents and comprising subjecting the first and second chemotherapeutic agents to a generic organoid treatment prior to adding to the culture of the cells of interest.. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims..
The factors considered when determining if the disclosure satisfies the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is undue include, but are not limited to: 1) nature of the invention, 2) state of the prior art, 3) relative skill of those in the art, 4) level of predictability in the art, 5) existence of working examples, 6) breadth of claims, 7) amount of direction or guidance by the inventor, and 8) quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention. In re wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737.8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
Claims 1, 4 and 6 are broadly drawn to encompass the treatment of each chemotherapeutic agent to generic organoid treatments, such as treatment with colon (Fuji et al, Cell Stem Cell, 2016, Vol. 18, pp. 827-838), pancreas (Balak et al, Current Diabetes Reports, 2019, Vol. 19 , article160, 10 pages), and mammary gland (Sachs et al, Cell, 2018, Vol. 172, pp. 373-386). Skardal et al (WO2018/027023, cited in the prior action) teach that the metabolic activity of the liver can heavily influence the outcome and efficacy of drugs (page 42, lines 2-6 under the heading of “organoid integrated drug screening”). There are no teachings in the specification or any art of record to support the use of an organoid treatment of drugs prior to a screen of chemotherapeutic agents wherein the organoids were not liver organoids One of skill in the art would be subject to undue experimentation in order to carry out the broadly claimed methods with generic organoids.
Claims 1, 3, 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sengupta (IN2012ko00574, cited in the prior action) in view of Skardal et al (WO2018/027023, cited in the prior action), Mori et al (Oncogene, 2009, Vol. 28, pp. 2796-2805) and Shi et al (WO03/02512).
Sengupta teaches a method comprising preparing a cancer cell suspension obtained from a human cancer patient; forming a monolayer culture in a 96-well plate from the cells, wherein the tumor cells are layered on top of normal cells(Step 3, bridging paragraph, pages 12-13). Sengupta teaches exposing wells to seven different individual chemotherapeutic agents in triplicate (Step 5, pages 13-14), Sengupta discloses that after 48 hours of incubation with the drugs, the medium including dead, detached and/or apoptotic cells is removed, and the remaining cells are fixed and counted to determine the best drug for first line chemotherapy (steps 7 and 8, pages 14-15), which meets the limitation of determining a first chemotherapeutic agent that is the most effective among plural candidate chemotherapeutic agents.
Sengupta does not teach that the plurality of first chemotherapeutic agents have been exposed to a liver organoid treatment, collection of a plurality of non-adhering cancer cells that survived exposure to the most effective first chemotherapeutic agent to prepare plural second cultures, culturing of the non-adhering cancer cells and exposure of each of the second cultures to one or a plurality of second chemotherapeutic agents wherein the plurality of second chemotherapeutic agents have been subject to a second liver organoid treatment; and identification of the most effective member of the plurality of second chemotherapeutic agents.
Skardal et al teach that the metabolic activity of the liver can heavily influence the outcome and efficacy of some drugs (page 42, lines 2-6 under the heading “organoid integrated drug screening”). Skardal et al teach a method of screening a compound of interest comprising circulating a growth medium from a liver organoid to a tumor cell organoid, administering a compound of interest to the liver organoid, and determining the decrease of tumor cells relative to no administration of the compound (page 18, lines 1-9 of the first full paragraph).
Mori et al teach that an anchorage-independent cell growth signature identifies tumors with metastatic potential (title). Mori et al teach that cultured cancer cells exhibit anchorage-independent cell growth which is connected with tumor cell aggressiveness in vivo and metastatic potential (page 2796, second column, lines 4-9 of the middle paragraph). Mori et al teach that analysis of the phenotype of primary breast, ling, ovarian and melanoma tumors indicates that the expression profiling reflects the actual ability of the cells to metastasize in vivo (pages 2801-2802, bridging paragraph).
Shi et al teach that approximately 50% of the patients with local breast cancer who are primarily diagnosed eventually relapse with the metastasis (page 33, lines 3-5).
It would have been prima facie obvious at the time prior to the effective filing date to include liver organoid treatment of the seven different individual chemotherapeutic agents of Sengupta as first chemotherapeutic agents prior to cell treatment and to also include liver organoid treatment of the each of the plurality of second chemotherapeutic agents prior to treatment of the non-adherent cells . One of skill in the art would be motivated to integrate the liver organoid into the screening process for determining a first and second chemotherapeutic agent because Skardal et al teach that metabolism in the liver can heavily influence the outcome and efficacy of some drugs. One of skill in the art would understand that drugs requiring activation by the liver for activity would not be identified in the screen without the liver organoid.
Regarding the requirement for culture of the non-adhering cells surviving the first chemotherapy, Mori et al teach cells which have metastatic potential; are present in the culture of primary cancer cells of various types. Thus, one of skill in the art would be motivated to collect cells having metastatic potential which survived treatment by the first line chemotherapy agent. One of skill in the art would understand that the cells with metastatic potential would exhibit anchorage-independent cell growth and thus be easily detached from the semi-sold medium by rinsing the adherent cells. One of skill in the art would understand that the anchorage independent cells with metastatic ability would be responsible for the relapse of the patient after first line chemotherapy as taught by Shi et al and that it would be desirous to identify the drug which would be effective against the surviving cells having metastatic ability.
Claims 1 and 3-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/612,978 in view of Skardal et al (WO2018/027023, cited in the prior action) and Mori et al (Oncogene, 2009, Vol. 28, pp. 2796-2805).
Claim 1 of the ‘978 application teaches the limitations of instant claims 1 and 3-7 with the exception that the claim does not dictate use of the most effective member of the set of plural second chemotherapeutic agents in second-line therapy; subjecting the plural first and second agents to liver organoid treatment; or collecting a plurality of non-adhering cancer cells that survived exposure to the most effective first chemotherapeutic agent to prepare plural second cultures.
Skardal et al teach that the metabolic activity of the liver can heavily influence the outcome and efficacy of some drugs (page 42, lines 2-6 under the heading “organoid integrated drug screening”). Skardal et al teach a method of screening a compound of interest comprising circulating a growth medium from a liver organoid to a tumor cell organoid, administering a compound of interest to the liver organoid, and determining the decrease of tumor cells relative to no administration of the compound (page 18, lines 1-9 of the first full paragraph).
Mori et al teach that an anchorage-independent cell growth signature identifies tumors with metastatic potential (title). Mori et al teach that cultured cancer cells exhibit anchorage-independent cell growth which is connected with tumor cell aggressiveness in vivo and metastatic potential (page 2796, second column, lines 4-9 of the middle paragraph). Mori et al teach that analysis of the phenotype of primary breast, ling, ovarian and melanoma tumors indicates that the expression profiling reflects the actual ability of the cells to metastasize in vivo (pages 2801-2802, bridging paragraph). .
It would have been prima facie obvious at the time prior to the effective filing date to include liver organoid treatment of the individual first chemotherapeutic agents prior to cell treatment and to also include liver organoid treatment of the each of the plurality of second chemotherapeutic agents prior to treatment of the non-adherent cells . One of skill in the art would be motivated to integrate the liver organoid into the screening process for determining a first and second chemotherapeutic agent because Skardal et al teach that metabolism in the liver can heavily influence the outcome and efficacy of some drugs. One of skill in the art would understand that drugs requiring activation by the liver for activity would not be identified in the screen without the liver organoid.
Regarding the requirement for culture of the non-adhering cells surviving the first chemotherapy, Mori et al teach cells which have metastatic potential; are present in the culture of primary cancer cells of various types. Thus, one of skill in the art would be motivated to collect cells having metastatic potential which survived treatment by the first line chemotherapy agent. One of skill in the art would understand that the cells with metastatic potential would exhibit anchorage-independent cell growth and thus be easily detached from the semi-sold medium by rinsing the adherent cells. One of skill in the art would understand that the anchorage independent cells with metastatic ability would be responsible for the relapse of the patient after first line chemotherapy and that it would be desirous to identify the drug which would be effective against the surviving cells having metastatic ability.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
All other rejections and/or objections as set forth in the prior action are withdrawn in light f applicant’s amendment of claims 1 and 4.
All claims are rejected.
KAREN A. CANELLA
Examiner
Art Unit 1643
/Karen A. Canella/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643