DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This Office Action is in reply to Applicants’ correspondence of 12/03/2025.
Applicants’ remarks and amendments have been fully and carefully considered but are not found to be sufficient to put this application in condition for allowance. Any new grounds of rejection presented in this Office Action are necessitated by Applicants’ amendments. Any rejections or objections not reiterated herein have been withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims or as discussed in this Office Action.
This Action is NON-FINAL.
Please note: The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Election/Restrictions
In the reply filed on 06/23/2021 Applicants elected without traverse the invention of Group I (methods for screening for a pathogen associated disorder), and the particular species that is “amount of EBV DNA”.
In the Office Action of 03/24/2022, in response to the amendments of 12/01/2021, the election of species requirement between the originally elected species (i.e.: amount of cell-free) and the first encompassed combination (i.e.: amount of cell-free DNA and methylation of EBV cfDNA) was withdrawn.
In light of the amendments to the claims, the invention of claims 2, 5, and 6 (directed to measuring an amount of EBV cell-free DNA methylation) is rejoined with the invention of claim 1 (directed determining an amount of EBV cell-free DNA in combination with measuring methylation of EBV cell-free DNA).
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – Indefiniteness
The rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as set forth on page 3 of the Office Action of 12/03/2023 is withdrawn as set forth on part 5. of the Advisory Action of 03/01/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – New Matter
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 12, 16-17, 39-41 and 81-83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The instant rejection of claims for requiring subject matter that was not included in, or specifically envisioned by, the application as originally filed is relevant to the amended claims as they require comparing a measured EBV cfDNA methylation percentage to “a threshold level of 80% EBV cfDNA methylation” where a measured level greater than, or above, the threshold level is indicative of cancer (as required by independent claims 1 and 2).
Applicants’ reply of 12/05/2025 asserts that “Amendments are supported throughout the application as originally filed. Illustrative support for amendments can be found in Example 6 and FIG. 11.” However, a review of Example 6 (p.25 of PG Pub 2020/0318190) does not provide any teaching or suggestion of the use of “a threshold level of 80% EBV cfDNA methylation” as a particular indicator of the presence of cancer. The text of Example 6 provides “Analysis of Methylation Status of Plasma EBV DNA Via Bisulfite Sequencing”. The example concludes that the EBV DNA methylation level was significantly higher in the NPC patients compared with non-cancer subjects, but does not set forth any specific or particular threshold, and provides no suggestion of 80% methylation being a threshold. The results of the example are provided in Figure 11, which provides an axis labeled “EBV DNA methylation (%)” is marked with values including 80%, but there is no indication withing the figure, nor in the description of the figure (para 0033 of PG Pub 2020/0318190) of any threshold value of 80%. Figure 11 includes a line, but the line is clearly not at the “80” mark, nor is the line presented as any ‘threshold’.
As such, the rejection of the amended limitations as new matter is appropriate.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Modified As Necessitated by Claim Amendments
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 12, 16, 17, 41 and 81-83 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Namsaraev et al (WO 2018/081130; cited on the IDS of 09/28/2020) in view of Ramayanti et al (2017) and Shamay et al (2012).
Relevant to the limitations of claims 1, 2 and 41, Namsaraev et al teaches that in the detection of cancer a plurality of parameters can be measured in cell-free DNA from a subject including a first assay that measures an amount of tumor-derived cell-free DNA in the sample and a second assay that measures the methylations status of tumor-derived cell-free DNA (e.g.: para 0016). Namsaraev et al specifically provides methods of screening for nasopharyngeal cancer (NPC) comprising detecting an amount of Epstein-Barr virus (EBV) DNA fragments in cell-free blood fraction sample from a subject and teaches that a threshold amount of EBV DNA may be indicative of the presence of NPC and that the amount of EBV DNA may be indicative of tumor load (e.g.: Fig. 2; p.187 – Examples; para 737; para 493). Further relevant to the claims, Namsaraev et al teaches (e.g.: paras 0149-0152) aspects of measuring a ‘methylone’, and a ‘plasma methylome’ of cell-free DNA, including measures of, for example, a ‘methylation index’ measured as the proportion of sequence reads showing methylation at the site over the total number of reads covering that site, and as a proportion of methylated cytosines, and teaches comparing measured levels of plasma DNA methylation to cutoff values to determine hypo- or hyper-methylation (e.g.: para 227).
Relevant to the rejection of claims 2 and 3, Namsaraev et al teaches that cancer can be treated (e.g.: p.68, p.106) with immunotherapy, chemotherapy, surgery and radiation.
Relevant to the limitations of claims 5 and 6, Namsaraev et al teaches that subjects with determined to be at risk for NPC can be further investigated with nasal endoscopic examination and magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) of the nasopharynx (e.g.: p.107).
Relevant to claim 12, Namsaraev et al exemplifies methods that include obtaining biological samples (i.e.: blood samples) and measuring the amount of EBV DNA in the plasma or serum (i.e.: cell-free portions of the blood sample) (e.g.: para 725), and further teaches detecting the number of copies per ml in the sample (e.g.: para 004; p.192).
Relevant to claim 16, Namsaraev et al teaches (e.g.: para 725) measuring an amount of cell-free EBV DNA in a first samples, and if the amount of EBV DNA detected is at or above a threshold, a second assay is performed using plasma from a second blood sample collected.
Relevant to claim 17, Namsaraev et al teaches that a follow-up test in a second assay can be performed 4 weeks after the first assay (e.g.: Fig. 11), and that (e.g.: p.107) that subjects without cancer be tested with follow-up assays, and further teaches that follow-up evaluation of such subjects can be performed at time frames within the range of the rejected claim (e.g.: para 206).
Relevant to the limitations of claims 81-83, teaches that cell-free DNA may be converted with bisulfite treatment, and analyzed by sequencing to determine methylation (e.g.: p.63).
Namsaraev et al does not exemplify a method where measurement of methylation of EBV cell free DNA is above a threshold. However the presence of EBV DNA methylation in NPC patients was known in the art and is taught by Ramayanti et al, and the detection of increased amounts of methylated EBV DNA in cell free samples from cancer subjects as compared to non-cancer controls was known in the art and is taught by Shamay et al (2012).
Ramayanti et al teaches that EBV DNA methylation is found in patients with NPC, and that NPC tumor cells carry methylated viral genomes (e.g.: p.149; Table 2; Figure 4).
Shamay et al teaches the detection of methylated EBV DNA in cell free samples and teaches that tumor derived viral DNA can be distinguished from virion associated viral DNA based on the presence of methyl-CpG, and that tumor derived viral DNA was predominantly present in the blood from EBV associated cancer, but not in patients without EBV associated malignancy (e.g.: Figure 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the methods of the rejected claims to have detected cell-free EBV DNA methylation as taught by Ramayanti et al and Shamay et al, in a methods of NPC detection as taught by Namsaraev et al. The skilled artisan would be motivated to assess methylation as an indication of cancer based on the expressed teachings of Ramayanti et al that NPC tumor cells carry methylated viral genomes and the expressed teachings of Shamay et al that tumor derived methylated viral DNA was predominantly present in the blood from EBV associated cancer. Based on the teachings of Shamay et al, the skilled artisan would recognize that detecting methylated EBV above an amount of methylated EBV DNA detected in a cell-free samples from a control subject without and EBV-associated cancer (as a threshold amount) would be an indicator of the presence of an EBV-associated cancer such as NPC as taught by Ramayanti et al. The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in detecting the methylated EBV of Ramanyati et al and Shamay et al in the cell-free DNA analysis method of Namsaraev et al based on the expressed teachings of Ramayanti et al that cell-free EBV DNA detected in peripheral blood of many all NPC patients is related to DNA fragments released by apoptotic tumor cells (e.g.: p.150) and the teachings of Shamay et al that DNA methylation allows for the differentiation between Epstein-Barr virus (EBV) virion DNA versus viral DNA released from tumor cells.
With regard to the limitations of the claims as they require comparing a measured percentage of EBV cfDNA to a threshold of 80%, where the measured percentage is greater than the threshold and indicates the presence of cancer, the references do not give precise percentages that are used to determine cutoffs to distinguish positive from negative samples. However, both Ramayanti et al and Shamay et al teach that methylated cell-free EBV DNA detected in peripheral blood is indicative of the presence of cancer. With regard to the rejection of the claimed methods, it has long been settled to be no more than routine experimentation for one of ordinary skill in the art to discover an optimum value of a result effective variable. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum of workable ranges by routine experimentation." Application of Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235-236 (C.C.P.A. 1955). "No invention is involved in discovering optimum ranges of a process by routine experimentation." Id. at 458, 105 USPQ at 236-237. The "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." Application of Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 218-219 (C.C.P.A. 1980). One skilled in the art would have known to use standards to establish thresholds for distinguishing positive from negative cases with any desired sensitivity or specificity. Where the application as filed offers no particular or unexpected critically of the claimed threshold, and the prior art teaches that cell free EBV DNA is methylated in the presence of the cancer phenotype, the recited threshold value, and the measurement of cell free EBV DNA methylation above the threshold, as required by the claims, would be arrived at by routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in this art. The threshold is a result effective variable as it determines the diagnostic assay result, positive or negative diagnosis for example. Similarly, where Namsaraev et al teaches a variety of methods to present any measured methylation, e.g.: methylation index; methylation density; proportion of methylated cytosines, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to provide any presentation of such a measure, such as a percentage, for the comparison of measured methylation to any control or cutoff or threshold.
Response to Remarks
Applicants have traversed the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103 as rendered obvious by the cited prior art. Applicants’ arguments (p.7-9 of the Remarks of 12/03/2025) have been fully and carefully considered but are not persuasive to withdraw the rejection. Applicants have argued that the cited prior art does not provide for any measure of a “percentage of methylation”, and that “although Shamay purports to provide measurements for a "% of total," these are specified based on wash stringency from a general CpG binding protein capture process, which does not confirm the methylation status of any particular fragment or percentage thereof”. This argument is not persuasive. The argument is not commensurate in scope with the claims because there are not required limitations in the claims directed to confirmation of the methylation status of any particular fragment or percentage thereof. Shamay et al provides a measurement of methylated DNA as a percentage of total DNA, which is adequate to address the limitations of the claims. Furthermore it is noted that the rejection addresses the obviousness of any particular presentation of methylation, such as ‘EBV cfDNA methylation percentage’, in view of the teachings of Namsaraev et al with regard to various measures of methylation, e.g.: methylation index; methylation density; proportion of methylated cytosines.
Applicants have further argued that “the present application reports results showing that a threshold of 80% EBV cfDNA methylation enables one to distinguish not only cancer from non-cancer, but to distinguish NPC from non-NPC subjects that yet have persistently positive EBV DNA”. This argument is not persuasive because the applcaitin as filed does not in fact teach or suggest any criticality of an “80% EBV cfDNA methylation” threshold in detecting the presence of cancer.
Claims 39 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Namsaraev et al (WO 2018/081130; cited on the IDS of 09/28/2020) in view of Ramayanti et al (2017) and Shamay et al (2012), as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 6, 12, 16, 17, 41 and 81-83 above, and further in view of Wan et al (2012).
Relevant to the instant rejection of claims 39 and 40, Namsaraev et al in view of Ramayanti et al and Shamay et al renders obvious methods in which an amount of cell-free EBV DNA in a sample is measured in a first assay and is indicative of a risk of NPC, and methylation of cell-free EBV DNA in a sample is measured in a second assay as is indicative of a risk of NPC.
Further relevant to the instant rejection, Namsaraev et al also teaches analysis of different cut-offs of detected measurements (e.g.: EBV DNA levels - Fig. 6A, page 54 - EBV Detection Assay) and shows how the data can be used to develop a receiver operator characteristic curve (ROC) to analyze data (e.g.: Fig 6B; para 132). The reference further teaches using data classification to establish optimal cutoff scores for detecting persistently positive EBV DNA indicative of NPC risk (e.g.: Figs 82A and 82B; para 482). Namsaraev et al also teaches aspects of using a data set for machine learning to determine thresholds and scores that may be suitable for use in decision making in a diagnostic assay (e.g.: paras 506).
Namsaraev et al does not specifically teach aspects of using the measured EBV methylation amount to calculate a risk score using a classifier to generate output, but the development of risk scores using diagnostic data, including using a known dataset for training, and are taught by Wan et al.
Wan et al teaches the development of an algorithm to generate risk scores for the risk of NPC using a variety of quantitative and semi-quantitative values (e.g.: ELISA detection and IHC). Relevant to the rejected claims, the reference teaches using a training data set of known cases (e.g.: p.2 – SVM1 and OS; SVM2 and OS). The reference teaches developing a mathematical algorithm based on support vector machine (SVM) and integrating the expression levels of multi-biomarkers to generate risk scores (e.g.: p.1 – Abstract; p.11 - Selection of cutoff score for each biomarker ‘‘positive’’ expression; Support vector machines (SVM) model construction).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instantly rejected claims to have used the known methods of risk score development, as taught by Wan et al, to use the data collected in the measurements of Namsaraev et al in view of Ramayanti et al, to create a score indicative of the risk of a subject to have or develop NPC. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the methods based on the expressed teachings of Namsaraev et al and Ramanyanti et al (e.g.: that EBV DNA, and it’s methylation, is a biomarker for NPC), and the expressed teachings of Wan et al that SVM models can have a strong power in classification of subjects using biomarkers of disease state. The skilled artisan would thus recognize that a risk score would be an output that would allow easy communication of the result of a combination of medically relevant data to a subject.
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 12, 16, 17, 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al (2013) in view of Ramanyanti et al (2017) and Shamay et al (2012).
Relevant to the limitations of step a) of claim 1, and claim 2, Chan et al teaches methods that include collecting data from a first diagnostic assay that determines the amount (i.e.: copies/mL, relevant to claim 12) of cell-free EBV DNA in a sample from a subject (e.g.: p.1839 - Plasma Epstein-Barr Virus DNA Analysis), and teaches that the presence of EBV DNA in plasma is a well-established NPC tumor marker capable of identifying clinically concealed NPC (relevant to claim 11), and is useful for detecting early NPC in individuals without a clinical suspicion of NPC (e.g.: p.1838 – Introduction).
Relevant to the limitations of claims 2 and 3, Chan et al teaches that subjects with NPC can be treated with radiotherapy and chemotherapy (e.g.: Figure 2).
Relevant to the limitations of claims 5 and 6, Chan et al teaches that subjects determined to be at risk for NPC can be further investigated with magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) (e.g.: abstract).
Relevant to the rejection of claims 16 and 17, Chan et al teaches that in the serial analysis of plasma EBV DNA, it was subjects that were positive (e.g.: above a detectable threshold of EBV DNA in a plasma sample) that were selected for follow-up EBV DNA analysis after 2 to 4 weeks (e.g.: p.1839 – participants). Chan et al teaches that of the subjects that were initially positive plasma EBV DNA results, approximately 66% had negative EBV DNA results after a median of 2 weeks, and that repeating the test in those who had initially positive results differentiated those with NPC from those who had false-positive results (e.g.: p.1838 – Abstract). The reference exemplifies treating cancer in the subject (e.g.: the subject no longer has cancer) and performing follow-up analysis on samples collected two months to one year after the previous sample (e.g.: Figure 2).
Chan et al does not exemplify a method where a second assay is performed to measure EBV cfDNA methylation percentage that is above a threshold (claim, 1 and 2). However the presence of EBV DNA methylation in NPC patients was known in the art and is taught by Ramayanti et al, and the detection of increased amounts of methylated EBV DNA in cell free samples from cancer subjects as compared to non-cancer controls was known in the art and is taught by Shamay et al.
Ramayanti et al teaches that EBV DNA methylation is found in patients with NPC, and that NPC tumor cells carry methylated viral genomes (e.g.: p.149; Table 2; Figure 4). Relevant to the method steps of the claims Ramayanti et al teaches detection of EBV DNA methylation (e.g.: p.151 - Bisulfide modification and qualitative methylation-specific PCR (MSP)).
Shamay et al teaches the detection of methylated EBV DNA in cell free samples and teaches that tumor derived viral DNA can be distinguished from virion associated viral DNA based on the presence of methyl-CpG, and that tumor derived viral DNA was predominantly present in the blood from EBV associated cancer, but not in patients without EBV associated malignancy (e.g.: Figure 1). Shamay et al teaches the detection of EBV cfDNA methylation in a sample as a percentage of total EBV DNA (i.e.: non-captured, low salt washes, high salt elution).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the methods of the rejected claims to have detected cell-free EBV DNA methylation as, taught by Ramayanti et al and Shamay et al, in a method of NPC detection as taught by Chan et al.
The skilled artisan would be motivated to assess methylation as an indication of cancer based on the expressed teachings of Ramayanti et al that NPC tumor cells carry methylated viral genomes and the expressed teachings of Shamay et al that tumor derived methylated viral DNA was predominantly present in the blood from EBV associated cancer. Based on the teachings of Shamay et al, the skilled artisan would recognize that detecting methylated EBV above an amount of methylated EBV DNA detected in a cell-free samples from a control subject without and EBV-associated cancer (as a threshold amount) would be an indicator of the presence of an EBV-associated cancer such as NPC as taught by Ramayanti et al. The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in detecting the methylated EBV of Ramanyati et al and Shamay et al in the cell-free DNA analysis method of Namsaraev et al based on the expressed teachings of Ramayanti et al that cell-free EBV DNA detected in peripheral blood of many all NPC patients is related to DNA fragments released by apoptotic tumor cells (e.g.: p.150) and the teachings of Shamay et al that DNA methylation allows for the differentiation between Epstein-Barr virus (EBV) virion DNA versus viral DNA released from tumor cells.
With regard to the limitations of the claims as they require comparing a measured percentage of EBV cfDNA to a threshold of 80%, where the measured percentage is greater than the threshold and indicates the presence of cancer, the references do not give precise percentages that are used to determine cutoffs to distinguish positive from negative samples. However, both Ramayanti et al and Shamay et al teach that methylated cell-free EBV DNA detected in peripheral blood is indicative of the presence of cancer. With regard to the rejection of the claimed methods, it has long been settled to be no more than routine experimentation for one of ordinary skill in the art to discover an optimum value of a result effective variable. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum of workable ranges by routine experimentation." Application of Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235-236 (C.C.P.A. 1955). "No invention is involved in discovering optimum ranges of a process by routine experimentation." Id. at 458, 105 USPQ at 236-237. The "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." Application of Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 218-219 (C.C.P.A. 1980). One skilled in the art would have known to use standards to establish thresholds for distinguishing positive from negative cases with any desired sensitivity or specificity. Where the application as filed offers no particular or unexpected critically of the claimed threshold, and the prior art teaches that cell free EBV DNA is methylated in the presence of the cancer phenotype, the recited threshold value, and the measurement of cell free EBV DNA methylation above the threshold, as required by the claims, would be arrived at by routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in this art. The threshold is a result effective variable as it determines the diagnostic assay result, positive or negative diagnosis for example.
Response to Remarks
Applicants have traversed the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103 as rendered obvious by the cited prior art. Applicants’ arguments (p.9-10 of the Remarks of 12/03/2025) have been fully and carefully considered but are not persuasive to withdraw the rejection. Applicants have argued that Ramayanti and Shamay fail to disclose or reasonably suggest any assay detecting EBV cfDNA methylation percentage above a threshold of 80% EBV cfDNA methylation for screening or treating NPC because . Ramayanti provides no means of detecting EBV methylation percentage at all, and even if Shamay were construed as providing such percentage methylation (which is disputed), there is no basis for concluding what might have resulted if one were to have applied Shamay's analytical approach to NPC. The arguments are not persuasive because the address the individual teachings of the reference, and fail to considered to combination of the cited prior art as applied in the rejection. In this regard it is noted that the propriety of the rejection of methods of detecting NPC comprising measuring an amount of EBV and methylation of EBV cfDNA was maintained in the rejection of claims presented in the Office Action of 11/08/2023 and affirmed by the decision of 10/2/2025 from the Patent Trial and Appeal Board. With regard to the remarks as they are directed to measuring EBV cfDNA methylation percentage, and a threshold of 80%, the examiner maintains that Shamay et al provides a sufficient teaching of methylation percentage as required by the claims, and that choosing a threshold value is properly considered to be a matter of routine experimentation for one of ordinary skill in the art to discover an optimum value of a result effective variable.
Claims 39 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chan et al (2103) in view of Ramayanti et al (2017) and Shamay et al (2012), as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 6, 12, 16, 17, 41 above, and further in view of Wan et al (2012).
Relevant to the instant rejection of claims 39 and 40, Chan et al in view of Ramayanti et al and Shamay et al renders obvious methods in which an amount of cell-free EBV DNA in a sample is measured in a first assay and is indicative of a risk of NPC, and methylation of cell-free EBV DNA in a sample is measured in a second assay as is indicative of a risk of NPC.
Relevant to the instantly rejected claims, Chan et al also teaches the quantitative detection of EBV DNA (i.e.: copies per ml) and the correlation between EBV DNA levels and another NPC biomarker (i.e.: IgA-VCA) (e.g.: p.1840 – Statistical Analysis).
Chan et al in view of Ramayanti et al does not specifically suggest aspects of using the measured EBV DNA methylation amount to calculate a risk score using a classifier to generate output, but the development of risk scores using diagnostic data, including using a known dataset for training, and are taught by Wan et al.
Wan et al teaches the development of an algorithm to generate risk scores for the risk of NPC using a variety of quantitative and semi-quantitative values (e.g.: ELISA detection and IHC). Relevant to the rejected claims, the reference teaches using a training data set of known cases (e.g.: p.2 – SVM1 and OS; SVM2 and OS). The reference teaches developing a mathematical algorithm based on support vector machine (SVM) and integrating the expression levels of multi-biomarkers to generate risk scores (e.g.: p.1 – Abstract; p.11 - Selection of cutoff score for each biomarker ‘‘positive’’ expression; Support vector machines (SVM) model construction).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instantly rejected claims to have used the known methods of risk score development, as taught by Wan et al, to use the data collected in the measurements of Chan et al in view of Ramayanti et al, to create a score indicative of the risk of a subject to have or develop NPC. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the methods based on the expressed teachings of Chan et al and Ramanyanti et al (e.g.: that EBV DNA, and it’s methylation, is a biomarker for NPC), and the expressed teachings of Wan et al that SVM models can have a strong power in classification of subjects using biomarkers of disease state. The skilled artisan would thus recognize that a risk score would be an output that would allow easy communication of the result of a combination of medically relevant data to a subject.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 81-83 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Chan et al (2103) in view of Ramayanti et al (2017), Shamay et al (2012), and Robertson et al 1997, as set forth on pages 17-18 of the Office Action of 11/08/2023, is withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims and Applicants arguments provided in the Remarks of 12/03/2025.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 81-83 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chan et al (2103) in view of Ramayanti et al (2017) and Shamay et al (2012), as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 6, 12, 16, 17, 41 above, and further in view of Weisenberger et al 2008.
Relevant to the instant rejection of claims 81-83, Chan et al in view of Ramayanti et al and Shamay et al renders obvious methods in which an amount of cell-free EBV DNA in a sample is measured in a first assay and is indicative of a risk of NPC, and methylation of cell-free EBV DNA in a sample is measured in a second assay as is indicative of a risk of NPC.
Chan et al in view of Ramayanti et al and Shamay et al does not specifically provide for the detection of methylated cell-free DNA using sequencing, for example bisulfite sequencing.
But bisulfite sequencing to detect methylated positions in target DNA sequences was known in the art and is taught by Weisenberger et al (e.g.: page 4690 - Digital bisulfite genomic DNA sequencing; p.4692 - Digital bisulfite genomic DNA sequencing; Fig. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instantly rejected claims to have used the known methods of bisulfite sequencing to detect methylation in target DNA sequences, as taught by Weisenberger et al, to detect methylated EBV DNA as an NPC biomarker in the methods of Chan et al in view of Ramayanti et al and Shamay et al. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to use the sequencing methods of Weisenberger et al based on the expressed teachings of Weisenberger et al that methylation at particular sites in a target sequence is detectable and quantifiable by bisulfite sequencing.
Response to Remarks
Applicants have traversed the rejection of claims 81-83 in view of the teachings of Roberston et al as set forth in the Office Action 11/08/2023. In light of the amendments to the claims, and Applicants’ comments (p.10-11 of the Remarks of 12/03/2025), the previous rejection is withdrawn ad a new rejection, including the teachings of Weisenberger et al to provide for the detection of methylation via bisulfite sequencing, as been provided above. Applicants’ arguments of 12/03/2025 assert that the claims are not obvious in light of the particular results of Roberston et al. While the argument is moot in light of the new rejection that is provided above, it is noted that MPEP 2143.02 provides guidance on making a proper rejection of claims as obvious in view of the prior art:
Absolute predictability is not a necessary prerequisite to a case of obviousness. Rather, a degree of predictability that one of ordinary skill would have found to be reasonable is sufficient. The Federal Circuit concluded that "[g]ood science and useful contributions do not necessarily result in patentability."
In the instant the teachigs of Ramayanti et al and Shamay et al provide a reasonable expectation of success in finding methylation of cell-free EBV DNA in a sample as indicative of NPC.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Stephen Kapushoc
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1683
/STEPHEN T KAPUSHOC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683