DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 9 filed on 12/29/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 4 and 11 state “means for drawing air through the cassette”. Upon review of the specification filed on 04/06/2020, a vacuum tube or fan assembly is used to draw air through the cassette. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret as the means for drawing air through the cassette being a vacuum tube or fan assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan (US 20050266415; hereinafter “Ryan 1”; previously cited by the Examiner) in view of King, Sr. (US 4,317, 471) in further view of Ryan (US 20080233636; hereinafter “Ryan 2”; previously cited by the Examiner) in further view of Baxter (US 5,693,895; previously cited by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, Ryan 1 teaches a tamper resistant spore trap cassette (100; Figures 1-6; [0001, 0076]), comprising:
an inlet housing (120; Figures 1-6) defining an inlet opening (124; [0032]; Figures 1-6), the inlet housing (120) comprising an outer surface (See annotated Figure 2), wherein said inlet opening (124) comprises opposing tapered walls narrowing towards an inner inlet opening (Figure 5 demonstrates opposing tapered walls of the inlet opening 124 that narrows toward an inner inlet opening 128), the tapered walls forming an angle (Figure 5 demonstrates the tapered walls forming an angle);
an outlet housing (140; Figures 1-6) defining an outlet opening (144; Figures 1-6; [0034]), wherein an interior surface of said outlet housing (140) is configured to receive said inlet housing (Figures 1-2 and 5-6 demonstrates the outlet housing 140 receiving the inlet housing 120), and wherein said outer surface (See annotated Figure 2) of said inlet housing (120) mechanically locks ([0035]) into said interior surface of said outlet housing (140) to secure the inlet housing and the outlet housing together (the friction fit between housings 120 and 140 to secure the housings 120 and 140 together; [0035]), the outlet housing (140) comprising a cavity (upper opening of outlet housing 140 that receives the inlet housing 120; See Figures 1-6) defined by a cavity wall (A; See annotated Figure 2) configured to receive and contact a portion of the inlet housing (Figures 2 and 5 demonstrate that the cavity wall A will receive and contact a portion of the inlet housing 120 since a friction fit is created between inlet housing 120 and outlet housing 140; [0035]), the cavity wall (A) extending from an open end (See annotated Figure 5) to a closed end (See annotated Figure 5);
a sample collection slide (160; Figures 1-6) positioned within a sample collection enclosure (the slide 160 is positioned within a sample collection enclosure made up by an inner face of the inlet housing 120 and an inner face of the outlet housing 160; See Figures 5-6), the sample collection enclosure (the slide 160 is positioned within a sample collection enclosure made up by an inner face of the inlet housing 120 and an inner face of the outlet housing 160; See Figures 5-6) defined by an interior surface of said inlet housing and an interior surface of said outlet housing (the sample collection enclosure where the slide 160 is located is defined by the inner face of the inlet housing 120 and an inner face of the outlet housing 160; Figures 5-6), wherein an airway ([0040]) is defined extending from the inlet opening (124; See Figures 5-6), around the sample collection slide (160; [0040]) within the sample collection enclosure (See Figures 5-6), and to the outlet opening (144; See Figures 5-6), and wherein the sample collection slide (160) is accessible by unlocking the inlet housing from the outlet housing ([0035]).
Ryan 1 teaches the tapered walls of the inlet opening and locking of the inlet housing and the outlet housing but does not expressly teach the tapered walls forming an angle between 1 and 60 degrees, the locking of the 2 housings is done by way of a locking member, wherein the locking member comprises a plurality of teeth distributed circumferentially around said cavity wall, wherein each tooth of said plurality of teeth comprises a surface facing away from said outlet opening, wherein each tooth includes (i) a lead-in surface configured to permit insertion of the inlet housing into the cavity and (ii) a retaining surface oriented substantially transverse to a direction of insertion to resist withdrawal of the inlet housing from the cavity; wherein a mechanical retention is formed between said plurality of teeth and said outer surface of said inlet housing to inhibit separation of the inlet housing from the outlet housing after assembly to inhibit access to the sample collection enclosure after assembly; the sample collection enclosure comprising one or more positioning arms configured to secure the sample collection slide in position; and unlocking the inlet housing from the outlet housing only upon deformation or damage to at least a portion of the locking member.
However, King, Sr. teaches the locking of the 2 housings (20 and 30; Figures 1-3; Column 2, Line 37 – Column 3, Line 5) are done by way of a locking member (plurality of teeth; See annotated Figure 2), wherein the locking member (plurality of teeth; See annotated Figure 2) comprises a plurality of teeth (plurality of teeth; See annotated Figure 2) distributed circumferentially around said cavity wall (See Figure 2), wherein each tooth of said plurality of teeth (plurality of teeth; See annotated Figure 2) comprises a surface (32b; Figure 2) facing away from said outlet opening (See annotated Figure 2), wherein each tooth includes (i) a lead-in surface (angled portion of each respective tooth; See annotated Figure 2) configured to permit insertion of the inlet housing (20) into the cavity (the angled portion of each tooth will permit insertion of the housing 20 into the cavity of housing 30; See Figure 2) and (ii) a retaining surface (surface of each tooth that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of housing 30; See Figure 2) oriented substantially transverse to a direction of insertion (See Figure 2) to resist withdrawal of the inlet housing from the cavity (once the housings 20 and 30 are connected, as seen in Figure 3, the retaining surface of each tooth will resist withdrawal of the housing 20 from the cavity of housing 30); wherein a mechanical retention (Column 2, Line 37 – Column 3, Line 5) is formed between said plurality of teeth (See annotated Figure 2) and said outer surface of said inlet housing (surface of housing 20 that has elements 21; See Figures 1-3) to inhibit separation of the inlet housing (20) from the outlet housing (30) after assembly (Column 2, Line 37 – Column 3, Line 5), unlocking the inlet housing (20) from the outlet housing (30) only upon deformation or damage to at least a portion of the locking member (a toll is used in order to uncouple the housings 20 and 30; therefore, deformation is done to the locking member in order to achieve said uncoupling; Column 2, Line 53 – Column 3, Line 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have King, Sr.’s locking member and associated structure and/or function implemented in Ryan 1’s outlet housing and inlet housing in order to achieve easy and quick connection and disconnect between 2 structural mating surfaces while still providing adequate locking between said housings (See King, Sr. Column 1, Lines 38-45).
** NOTE**: The combination of Ryan 1 and King, Sr. will result in inhibiting access to the sample collection enclosure after assembly when a tool is not present in order to separate/uncouple the relative housings.
The combination of Ryan 1 and King, Sr. teaches the tapered walls of the inlet opening and locking of the inlet housing and the outlet housing but does not expressly teach the tapered walls forming an angle between 1 and 60 degrees; the sample collection enclosure comprising one or more positioning arms configured to secure the sample collection slide in position.
However, Ryan 2 teaches the sample collection enclosure (the slide 50 is positioned within a sample collection enclosure made up by an inner face of the top portion 20 and an inner face of the bottom portion 40; See Figures 5-6) comprising one or more positioning arms (36; Figures 3 and 4; [0041]) configured to secure the sample collection slide (50) in position ([0046]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Ryan 2’s one or more positioning arms implemented in Ryan 1 and King, Sr.’s sample collection enclosure in order to secure the sample collection slide in position, this permits the slide to be positioned at the desired and adequate location for assuring collection of the sample.
The combination of Ryan 1, King, Sr. and Ryan 2 teaches the sample collection enclosure and the tapered walls but does not expressly teach the tapered walls forming an angle between 1 and 60 degrees.
However, Baxter teaches the tapered walls forming an angle between 1 and 60 degrees (Column 3, Lines 51-64; Column 5, Lines 34-42).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Baxter’s tapered wall angle implemented to Ryan 1, King, Sr. and Ryan 2’s tapered walls in order to achieve preferential collection of desired particles (See Baxter Column 3, Lines 51-64; Column 5, Lines 34-42).
Regarding claim 4, Ryan 1 teaches wherein said outlet opening (144) is adapted for connection to a means for (fan; [0027]) drawing ([0027]) air through the cassette (since the gas or air is being drawn through the cassette 100, then the fan needs to be connected to the outlet housing; [0027, 0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Ryan 1 teaches wherein said insertable portion (portion of inlet housing 120 that is inserted into the cavity of outlet housing 160; See Figures 1-6) of said inlet housing (120; Figures 1-6) has a diameter equal to or greater than an internal diameter of said cavity of said outlet housing (in order to obtain a friction fit between housings 120 and 160, the insertable portion of inlet housing 120 needs to have a diameter equal or greater than an internal diameter of the cavity of the outlet housing 160; [0035]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Ryan 1, King, Sr., Ryan 2 and Baxter teach the sample collection slide and the airway but does not expressly teach wherein an adhesive medium is present on a collecting surface of the sample collection slide, and wherein said collecting surface is exposed to said airway.
However, Baxter further teaches wherein an adhesive medium (46; Figures 3 and 4; Column 5, Lines 41-58) is present on a collecting surface of the sample collection slide (the adhesive medium 46 is present in the top surface, i.e. collecting surface, of the sample collection slide 45; See Figures 3 and 4), and wherein said collecting surface (the adhesive medium 46 is present in the top surface, i.e. collecting surface, of the sample collection slide 45; See Figures 3 and 4) is exposed to said airway (Column 5, Lines 41-58).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Baxter’s adhesive medium presented on a collecting surface of Ryan 1, King, Sr., Ryan 2 ad Baxter’s sample collection slide along with having the collecting surface exposed to said airway in order to assure collection of particles on the surface of the slide, thus increasing the reliability and efficiency of the sampling collection (See Baxter Column 5, Lines 41-58).
Regarding claim 22, Ryan 1 teaches wherein the plurality of teeth (16 and 18) form vertically aligned rows (See Figures 1 and 2) of teeth along the entirety of said cavity wall (See Figures 1 and 2).
Claims 9, 11, 17-18 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan 1 in view of Baxter in further view of King, Sr..
Regarding claim 9, Ryan 1 teaches a tamper resistant spore trap cassette (100; Figures 1-6), comprising: an inlet housing (120; Figures 1-6) defining an inlet opening (124; [0032]; Figures 1-6); wherein said inlet opening (124) comprises opposing tapered walls narrowing towards an inner inlet opening (Figure 5 demonstrates opposing tapered walls of the inlet opening 124 that narrows toward an inner inlet opening 128), the tapered walls forming an angle (Figure 5 demonstrates the tapered walls forming an angle); an outlet housing (140; Figures 1-6) defining an outlet opening (144; Figures 1-6; [0034]), wherein said inlet housing (120) and said outlet housing (140) are configured to join together (Figures 1-2 and 5-6 demonstrates the outlet housing 140 receiving the inlet housing 120) by inserting an insertable portion (portion of inlet housing 120 that is inserted into outlet housing 140; Figures 1-6) comprising a cylindrical outer surface (annotated Figure 2 demonstrates that the cylindrical portion that is inserted into outer housing 140 has a cylindrical outer surface) into a receiving area (area of outer housing 140 that receives the portion of the inlet housing 120; Figures 1-6) comprising a cylindrical inner surface (annotated Figure 2 demonstrates that the receiving area of outlet housing has a cylindrical inner surface), wherein said insertable portion (portion of inlet housing 120 that inserts into outlet housing 140) has a diameter equal to or greater than a diameter of said receiving area (area of outlet housing 140 that receives the insertable portion of inlet housing 120) such that upon insertion of said insertable portion into said receiving area said outlet housing and said inlet housing are joined together ([0035]), an airway ([0040]) extending from said inlet opening (124; [0040]) to said outlet opening (144; [0040]); and a sample collection enclosure (the slide 160 is positioned within a sample collection enclosure made up by an inner face of the inlet housing 120 and an inner face of the outlet housing 160; See Figures 5-6) defined by an interior surface of said inlet housing and an interior surface of said outlet housing (the sample collection enclosure where the slide 160 is located is defined by the inner face of the inlet housing 120 and an inner face of the outlet housing 140; Figures 5-6); and a sample collection slide (160; Figures 1-6) positioned within said sample collection enclosure (the slide 160 is positioned within a sample collection enclosure made up by an inner face of the inlet housing 120 and an inner face of the outlet housing 160; See Figures 5-6) and exposed to said airway ([0040]), wherein said airway passes over and around said collection slide ([0040]), and wherein the sample collection slide (160) is accessible by unlocking the inlet housing (120) from the outlet housing (140; [0035]).
Ryan 1 teaches the sample collection enclosure and the tapered walls but does not expressly teach the tapered walls forming an angle between 1 and 60 degrees; a locking member comprising a plurality of teeth extending circumferentially around the entirety of said cylindrical inner surface, wherein each tooth of said plurality of teeth comprises a surface facing away from said cylindrical inner surface, wherein each tooth includes (i) a lead-in surface configured to permit insertion of the insertable portion into the receiving area and (ii) a retaining surface oriented substantially transverse to a direction of insertion to resist withdrawal of the insertable portion after insertion, said outlet housing and said inlet housing are joined together by a mechanical locking engagement friction fitting seal formed by the engagement of said interaction of the plurality of teeth with against the cylindrical outer surface of the insertable portion to inhibit separation of the inlet housing from the outlet housing and inhibit access to an interior of the cassette after assembly; unlocking the inlet housing from the outlet housing only upon deformation or damage to at least a portion of the locking member.
However, Baxter teaches the tapered walls forming an angle between 1 and 60 degrees (Column 3, Lines 51-64; Column 5, Lines 34-42).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Baxter’s tapered wall angle implemented to Ryan 1’s tapered walls in order to achieve preferential collection of desired particles (See Baxter Column 3, Lines 51-64; Column 5, Lines 34-42).
The combination of Ryan 1 and Baxter teaches the sample collection enclosure but does not expressly teach a locking member comprising a plurality of teeth extending circumferentially around the entirety of said cylindrical inner surface, wherein each tooth of said plurality of teeth comprises a surface facing away from said cylindrical inner surface, wherein each tooth includes (i) a lead-in surface configured to permit insertion of the insertable portion into the receiving area and (ii) a retaining surface oriented substantially transverse to a direction of insertion to resist withdrawal of the insertable portion after insertion, said outlet housing and said inlet housing are joined together by a mechanical locking engagement friction fitting seal formed by the engagement of said interaction of the plurality of teeth with against the cylindrical outer surface of the insertable portion to inhibit separation of the inlet housing from the outlet housing and inhibit access to an interior of the cassette after assembly; and unlocking the inlet housing from the outlet housing only upon deformation or damage to at least a portion of the locking member.
However, King, Sr. teaches a locking member (plurality of teeth; See annotated Figure 2) comprising a plurality of teeth (plurality of teeth; See annotated Figure 2) extending circumferentially around the cylindrical inner surface (See Figure 2), wherein each tooth of said plurality of teeth (plurality of teeth; See annotated Figure 2) comprises a surface (32b; Figure 2) facing away from said cylindrical inner surface (See annotated Figure 2), wherein each tooth includes (i) a lead-in surface (angled portion of each respective tooth; See annotated Figure 2) configured to permit insertion of the insertable portion (20) into the receiving area (the angled portion of each tooth will permit insertion of the housing 20 into the cavity of housing 30; See Figure 2) and (ii) a retaining surface (surface of each tooth that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of housing 30; See Figure 2) oriented substantially transverse to a direction of insertion (See Figure 2) to resist withdrawal of the insertable portion after insertion (once the housings 20 and 30 are connected, as seen in Figure 3, the retaining surface of each tooth will resist withdrawal of the housing 20 from the cavity of housing 30), said outlet housing and said inlet housing are joined together by a mechanical locking engagement (Column 2, Line 37 – Column 3, Line 5) formed by the engagement of said interaction of the plurality of teeth (See annotated Figure 2) with against the cylindrical outer surface of the insertable portion (surface of housing 20 that has elements 21; See Figures 1-3) to inhibit separation of the inlet housing from the outlet housing (Column 2, Line 37 – Column 3, Line 5); and unlocking the inlet housing (20) from the outlet housing (30) only upon deformation or damage to at least a portion of the locking member (a toll is used in order to uncouple the housings 20 and 30; therefore, deformation is done to the locking member in order to achieve said uncoupling; Column 2, Line 53 – Column 3, Line 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have King, Sr.’s locking member and associated structure and/or function implemented in Ryan 1 and Baxter’s outlet housing and inlet housing in order to achieve easy and quick connection and disconnect between 2 structural mating surfaces while still providing adequate locking between said housings (See King, Sr. Column 1, Lines 38-45).
NOTE: The combination of Ryan 1, Baxter and King, Sr. will result in inhibiting access to an interior of the cassette after assembly when a tool is not present in order to separate/uncouple the relative housings.
Regarding claim 11, Ryan 1 teaches wherein said outlet opening (144) is adapted for connection to a means for (fan; [0027]) drawing air ([0027]) through the cassette (since the gas or air is being drawn through the cassette 100, then the fan needs to be connected to the outlet housing; [0027, 0034]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Ryan 1, Baxter and King, Sr. teaches the sample collection slide and the airway but does not expressly teach wherein an adhesive medium is present on a collecting surface of the sample collection slide, and wherein said collecting surface is exposed to said airway.
However, Baxter further teaches wherein an adhesive medium (46; Figures 3 and 4; Column 5, Lines 41-58) is present on a collecting surface of the sample collection slide (the adhesive medium 46 is present in the top surface, i.e. collecting surface, of the sample collection slide 45; See Figures 3 and 4), and wherein said collecting surface (the adhesive medium 46 is present in the top surface, i.e. collecting surface, of the sample collection slide 45; See Figures 3 and 4) is exposed to said airway (Column 5, Lines 41-58).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Baxter’s adhesive medium presented on a collecting surface of Ryan 1, Baxter and Lee’s sample collection slide along with having the collecting surface exposed to said airway in order to assure collection of particles on the surface of the slide, thus increasing the reliability and efficiency of the sampling collection (See Baxter Column 5, Lines 41-58).
Regarding claim 18, Ryan 1 teaches wherein said insertable portion (portion of inlet housing 120 that inserts into outlet housing 140; Figures 1-6) is positioned on said inlet housing (portion of inlet housing 120 that inserts into outlet housing 140; Figures 1-6) and said receiving area (area of outlet housing 140 that receives the portion from the inlet housing 120; Figures 1-6) is positioned on said outlet housing (area of outlet housing 140 that receives the portion from the inlet housing 120; Figures 1-6).
Regarding claim 23, Ryan 1 teaches wherein the plurality of teeth (16 and 18) form vertically aligned rows (See Figures 1 and 2) of teeth along the entirety of said cavity wall (See Figures 1 and 2).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ryan 1, Baxter and King, Sr. in further view of Ryan 2.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ryan 1, Baxter and Lee teaches the sample collection slide and the sample collection enclosure but does not expressly teach one or more positioning arms configured to secure the sample collection slide in position within the sample collection enclosure.
However, Ryan 2 teaches one or more positioning arms (36; Figures 3 and 4; [0041]) configured to secure the sample collection slide (50) within the sample collection enclosure ([0046]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Ryan 2’s one or more positioning arms implemented in Ryan 1, Baxter and King, Sr.’s sample collection enclosure in order to secure the sample collection slide within the sample collection enclosure, this permits the slide to be positioned at the desired and adequate location for assuring collection of the sample.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ryan 1, Baxter and King, Sr. in view of Chen et al. (US 20070068223; hereinafter “Chen”; previously relied upon by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Ryan 1, Baxter and Lee teaches the receiving area and the insertable portion but does not expressly teach wherein the receiving area is configured to expand to receive the insertable portion.
However, Chen teaches wherein the receiving area is configured to expand to receive the insertable portion ([0049]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Chen’s expanding characteristic implemented on Ryan 1, Baxter and King, Sr.’s receiving area in order to ease in the connection between 2 portions while still providing a friction fit between them, this increase the ease of usage of the apparatus.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY W MEGNA FUENTES/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/LAURA MARTIN SWEENEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855