DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s Amendment/Remarks filed 6/10/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 51 and 58 have been amended. Claims 1-50 and 57 are cancelled. Claim 61 is newly added. Accordingly, claims 51-56 and 58-61 remain pending in the application and are currently under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 51-56 and 58-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin et al. (WO 2016/011387 A1, pub. Jan. 21, 2016, eff. filing date Jul. 17, 2015, hereafter as “Griffin ‘387”) in view of Kim et al. (US 2007/0005140 A1, Jan. 4, 2007, hereafter as “Kim”). It is noted that the Griffin ‘387 reference qualifies as prior art under 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2).
The instant claims are drawn to a method of treating an orthopedic disorder in a subject, the method comprising: (a) delivering a hydrogel composition to the subject, the hydrogel composition comprising: (i) a plurality of microgel particles, wherein at least one microgel particle of the plurality of microgel particles comprises: (1) a first annealing component comprising a vinyl group, a free cysteine, a thiol, an amine, triethanolamine, a transglutaminase substrate, a substrate of enzyme Factor XIII, a collagen peptide, a K peptide, or a Q peptide; and (2) a backbone polymer present at a concentration of about 1% w/v to about 15% w/v of the hydrogel composition; and (ii) a plurality of interconnected pores; (b) treating the orthopedic disorder in the subject; and (c) coupling the first annealing component to a second annealing component to form a stabilized scaffold having interstitial spaces therebetween, wherein the stabilized scaffold has a compressive modulus of about 50,000 Pa to about 200,00 Pa, wherein the interstitial spaces within the stabilized scaffold occupy about 5% to about 30% of the total volume of the stabilized scaffold.
Regarding instant claim 51, Griffin ‘387 teaches a microporous gel system for biomedical applications comprising an aqueous solution containing a plurality of microgel particles formed by a reaction of a backbone polymer having one or more cell attachment moieties, one or more annealing components, and a biodegradable network crosslinker component; and methods of treating tissue comprising delivering said gel system to said tissue (Abstract; [0016]-[0017]). Griffin ‘387 teaches that annealing agents allow the microgel particles to anneal to one another and produces an interconnected network of pores/interstitial spaces (abstract; [0025], [0078] and [0088]; Fig. 1). Griffin ‘387 teaches said gels are injectable directly into tissue ([0011]). Griffin ‘387 teaches the particular backbone polymers, poly(ethylene glycol) vinyl sulfone, polyethylene glycol, polyacrylamide, polymethacrylate, polyester, polyamide, polyurethan and heparin ([0021] and [0092]). Griffin ‘387 also teaches a particular embodiment comprising 5% by weight of the particular backbone polymer, poly(ethylene glycol) vinyl sulfone ([00102]). Griffin ‘387 teaches that Michael and pseudo-Michael addition reactions, including α,β-unsaturated carbonyl groups (e.g., acrylates, vinyl sulfones, maleimides, and the like) )(i.e., first annealing component) to a nucleophilic group (e.g., thiol, amine, aminoxy) (i.e., second annealing component) may be used to anneal microgel particles which forms a scaffold having interstitial spaces therebetween ([0095]; Fig. 1). Griffin ‘387 further teaches the particular annealing components, K peptide and Q peptide, collagen or a fragment thereof, a substrate of enzyme Factor XIII, a free cysteine, triethanolamine, a transglutaminase substrate ([0021], [0094], [00100], [00118], [00122], [00124], [00130] and [00144]). Griffin ‘387 also teaches a void volume of about 10% to about 50% and about 26 to about 36% ([0013] and [0078]).
While Griffin does not explicitly teach “the interstitial spaces within the stabilized scaffold occupy about 5% to about 30% of the total volume of the stabilized scaffold”, MPEP 2144.05(I) states, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Because the claimed range of about 5% to about 30% overlaps with the ranges of about 10% to about 50% and about 26% to about 36% disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Griffin ‘387 is silent to “the stabilized scaffold has a compressive modulus of about 50,000 Pa to about 200,00 Pa”.
However, MPEP 2112.01(I) states,
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433.
MPEP 2112.01(II) also states that if the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties. Griffin ‘387 teaches the same scaffold comprising annealed hydrogel particles as claimed. Accordingly, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, it is reasonable to conclude that the prior art product possesses the same characteristics or properties as that of the claimed product including a compressive modulus of about 50,000 Pa to about 200,000 Pa.
Griffin ‘387 is silent to “treating an orthopedic disorder” (instant claim 51), “wherein the orthopedic disorder comprises musculoskeletal trauma, arthritis, a fracture, an infection, osteoporosis, or a ligament injury” (instant claim 52), “further comprising delivering an implantable orthopedic device to a tissue of the subject” (instant claim 54), “wherein the implantable orthopedic device comprises an implant, a biomaterial, a mesh, a fabric, a prosthetic device, an artificial knee, an artificial hip, an artificial meniscus, an artificial elbow, a spinal implant, a screw, a rod, an artificial disc, or a portion thereof (instant claim 55), and “wherein delivering in (a) comprises delivering the hydrogel composition at a location of the subject selected from the group consisting of a skull, a spine, a nasal sinus, a neck, a chest, a shoulder, a hip, a pelvis, a leg, an arm, a knee, an elbow, a hand, and a foot” (instant claim 56).
Kim teaches the fabrication and use of biocompatible polymers (e.g., microgel particles) that are injected percutaneously into the inner portion of a defective region of a spinal disc (musculoskeletal trauma) and swell or expand or subsequently cure in situ to form a disc nucleus prosthesis (abstract; [0017]). Kim teaches osteoarthritis is a common cause of disc degeneration ([0008]). Kim also teaches that the microgel particles can be affixed (annealed) to one another ([0054]). Kim teaches that an implantable balloon device (i.e., a spinal implant) can be used in conjunction with the microgel particles within a spinal disc void ([0061]; Figs. 5A-5E). Kim also teaches closure devices (i.e., a spinal implant or portion thereof) or biocompatible glue (i.e., a biomaterial) to seal the opening within the disc annulus ([0064]; Figs. 8A-D).
Griffin ‘387 and Kim are drawn to a composition comprising affixed or annealed microgel particles for the purpose of biomedical applications, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to administer the microgel composition of Griffin ‘387 to treat an orthopedic disorder such as musculoskeletal trauma or arthritis of the spine in combination with a biomaterial or a spinal implant (or portion thereof) as suggested by Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Kim teaches that such a combination is an effective minimally invasive treatment of the spinal disc that allows for disc cell regeneration and tissue ingrowth ([0010]-[0011]).
Regarding instant claim 53, Griffin ‘387, as discussed above, teaches said gels are injectable directly into tissue ([0011]).
Regarding instant claim 58, Griffin ‘387, as discussed above, teaches a void volume of about 10% to about 50% ([0013]). MPEP 2144.05(I) states, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Because the claimed range of about 5% to about 20% overlaps with the range of about 10% to about 50% disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding instant claims 59 and 60, Griffin ‘387, as discussed above, teaches the particular backbone polymers, poly(ethylene glycol) vinyl sulfone, polyethylene glycol, polyacrylamide, polymethacrylate, polyester, polyamide, polyurethan and heparin ([0021] and [0092]).
Regarding instant claim 61, Griffin ‘387, as discussed above, teaches that Michael and pseudo-Michael addition reactions, including α,β-unsaturated carbonyl groups (e.g., acrylates, vinyl sulfones, maleimides, and the like) )(i.e., first annealing component) to a nucleophilic group (e.g., thiol, amine, aminoxy) (i.e., second annealing component) may be used to anneal microgel particles which forms a scaffold having interstitial spaces therebetween ([0095]; Fig. 1). Griffin ‘387 further teaches the particular annealing components, K peptide and Q peptide, collagen or a fragment thereof, a substrate of enzyme Factor XIII, a free cysteine, triethanolamine, a transglutaminase substrate ([0021], [0094], [00100], [00118], [00122], [00124], [00130] and [00144]).
Thus, the combined teachings of Griffin ‘387 and Kim render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 6/10/2026, regarding the 103 rejection over Griffin ‘387 and Kim have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the newly added limitations to claim 51 renders the rejection moot. Remarks, page 5.
In response, it is respectfully submitted that the newly added limitations have been considered and are met by the references cited. See rejection above for details.
Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill would not have had any reason to combine the hydrogels of Griffin with the orthopedic devices of Kim to arrive at the method recited in claim 51. Applicant asserts that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the purpose of Kim was “to overcome the lack of mechanical strength of hydrogels” [0051] like those disclosed in Griffin and, as such, Kim teaches away from swapping the interpenetrating networks and or double network systems or DNS of Kim with the hydrogels of Griffin. Remarks, pages 5-6.
In response, it is respectfully submitted that while Kim teaches IPNs and DNSs, Kim also teaches that “the microgel particles may be made of normal, pH-sensitive or temperature-sensitive hydrogel that would swell upon contact within the body” even though an IPN is preferable ([0053]). Kim teaches generically one or more polymers in the form of a hydrogel as suitable for the invention (abstract; [0013] and [0017]; claim 20). Thus, there is no teaching in Kim that IPNs or DNSs are required as applicant contends. Both references discuss tissue regeneration and tissue ingrowth ([0005]-[0006], [0009], [0088]-[0089] in Griffin ‘387 and [0044] and [0046] in Kim). Griffin ‘387 additionally teaches that the resulting formed scaffold comprising the microgel particles can be tuned to match the mechanical properties of the surrounding tissue ([0003], [0077], [0087] and [0089]). MPEP 2123 states that references are relevant as prior art for all they contain and disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. Kim’s teachings of IPNs or DNSs do not constitute a teaching away from the broader disclosure. Thus, applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
The rejection has been modified to take into account the newly added limitations. The rejection is not overcome.
Double Patenting
Claims 51-56 and 58-61 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 are of U.S. Patent No. 10,576,185 in view of Kim et al. (US 2007/0005140 A1, Jan. 4, 2007, hereafter as “Kim”).
The instant invention is described above.
The patent is drawn to a method of delivering a hydrogel system to an in vivo site of an implanted medical device in a subject, the method comprising: (a) implanting a medical device in an in vivo site of a subject; (b) delivering a hydrogel into the in vivo site of the implanted medical device by injection, the hydrogel comprising: (1) a network of microgel particles, each microgel particle having a median diameter of about 10 micrometers to about 500 and comprising: (i) annealing components, wherein an annealing component is configured to bond to an adjacent annealing component; and (ii) a backbone polymer; and (2) a plurality of interconnected pores, the plurality of interconnected pores having a median size of at least 10 microns; (c) delivering an annealing agent to the in vivo site of the implanted medical device; and (d) exposing the hydrogel and the annealing agent to light causing the annealing components to bond to adjacent annealing components to stabilize the network of microgel particles comprising the plurality of interconnected pores, the stabilized hydrogel comprising: (1) an inner surface molded to a shape of the implanted medical device; (2) an outer surface molded to a shape of the in vivo site of the implanted medical device in the subject; and (3) a compressive modulus of between 1,500 and 200,000 Pascal (Pa). The patent additionally recites that the annealing component is a functional group selected from a vinyl sulfone, thiol, amine, imidazole, aldehyde, ketone, hydroxyl, azide, alkyne, vinyl, alkene, maleimide, carboxyl, N-hydroxysuccinimide (NHS) ester, isocyanate, isothiocyanate, hydroxylamine, thione, catechol, sialic acid, boronic acid, molecular cage, adamantane, biotin, and streptavidin; the backbone polymer comprises poly(ethylene glycol); the annealing component is coupled/covalently bonded to an adjacent annealing component; and 10-40% of the hydrogel comprises the plurality of interconnected pores.
While the patent does not explicitly recite “a compressive modulus of between 50,000 and 200,000 Pa”, MPEP 2144.05(I) states, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Because the claimed range of 50,000 and 200,000 Pa overlaps with the range of 1,500 and 200,000 Pa disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
While the patent does not explicitly recite, “the interstitial spaces within the stabilized scaffold occupy about 5% to about 30% of the total volume of the stabilized scaffold”, MPEP 2144.05(I) states, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Because the claimed pore/void percentage range of 10-40% overlaps with the range of about 5% to about 30% disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
The patent does not explicitly claim, “a backbone polymer present at a concentration of about 1% w/v to about 15% w/v of the hydrogel composition”, however the patent discloses that the backbone polymer may be present at a concentration of about 1% w/v to about 15% w/v of the microporous gel (para. bridging cols. 14-15). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a backbone polymer in a concentration of about 1% w/v to about 15% w/v of the microporous gel with a reasonable expectation of success because the patent claims “a backbone polymer” and one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to look to the disclosure for guidance as to how the backbone polymer is defined including an amount thereof. The examiner has relied upon the specification to delineate the scope of the invention embraced by the patent, consistent with the decision in Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Co. U.S. Court of Appeals Federal Circuit, 95 USPQ2d 1797.
The patent does not explicitly teaches that the method is for the purpose of treating an orthopedic disorder (instant claim 51), “wherein the orthopedic disorder comprises musculoskeletal trauma, arthritis, a fracture, an infection, osteoporosis, or a ligament injury” (instant claim 52), “further comprising delivering an implantable orthopedic device to a tissue of the subject” (instant claim 54), “wherein the implantable orthopedic device comprises an implant, a biomaterial, a mesh, a fabric, a prosthetic device, an artificial knee, an artificial hip, an artificial meniscus, an artificial elbow, a spinal implant, a screw, a rod, an artificial disc, or a portion thereof (instant claim 55), and “wherein delivering in (a) comprises delivering the hydrogel composition at a location of the subject selected from the group consisting of a skull, a spine, a nasal sinus, a neck, a chest, a shoulder, a hip, a pelvis, a leg, an arm, a knee, an elbow, a hand, and a foot” (instant claim 56).
Kim teaches the fabrication and use of biocompatible polymers (e.g., microgel particles) that are injected percutaneously into the inner portion of a defective region of a spinal disc (musculoskeletal trauma) and swell or expand or subsequently cure in situ to form a disc nucleus prosthesis (abstract; [0017]). Kim teaches osteoarthritis is a common cause of disc degeneration ([0008]). Kim also teaches that the microgel particles can be affixed (annealed) to one another ([0054]). Kim teaches that an implantable balloon device (i.e., a spinal implant) can be used in conjunction with the microgel particles within a spinal disc void ([0061]; Figs. 5A-5E). Kim also teaches closure devices (i.e., a spinal implant or portion thereof) or biocompatible glue (i.e., a biomaterial) to seal the opening within the disc annulus ([0064]; Figs. 8A-D).
The patent and Kim are drawn to a composition comprising affixed or annealed microgel particles for the purpose of biomedical applications, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to administer the patented microgel composition to treat an orthopedic disorder such as musculoskeletal trauma or arthritis of the spine in combination with a biomaterial or a spinal implant (or portion thereof) as suggested by Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Kim teaches that such a combination is an effective minimally invasive treatment of the spinal disc that allows for disc cell regeneration and tissue ingrowth ([0010]-[0011]).
Thus, the instant claims are unpatentable over the patented claims in view of the teachings of Kim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 6/10/2026, regarding the double patenting rejection over USPN 10,576,185 in view of Kim have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the newly added limitations to claim 51 renders the rejection moot. Remarks, page 6.
In response, it is respectfully submitted that the newly added limitations have been considered and are met by the patent/Kim. See rejection above for details. Thus, applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
The rejection has been modified to take into account the newly added limitations. The rejection is not overcome.
Conclusion
All claims have been rejected; no claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/CASEY S HAGOPIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1617