DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments have removed the Drawing objection and 35 USC 112(a) rejection for claim 1. However, there are still grounds for a Drawing objection and 35 USC 112(a) rejection for claim 13.
A new Claim objection has been added in the present Office action.
Applicant’s Arguments, filed 2 March 2026, regarding one of the embodiments taught in a prior art reference have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, another embodiment in this reference teaches the amended portions of the claims. Therefore, the claims remain rejected as obvious in view of the prior art.
Status of the Claims
In the amendment dated 2 March 2026, the status of the claims is as follows: Claims 1, 8-9, 13, and 21-23 have been amended.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-14, and 16-23 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “a nozzle configured to be attached solely to the second contact tip holder and supported by the second contact tip holder” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from claim 13. Figure 5 shows an insulation layer 330 and a nozzle insert 332 between the nozzle 314 and 316 and the second holder 306. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: recommend amending claim 23 to recites “the Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are the following:
In claims 1 and 13, the “first contact tip holder” (means for holding the first contact tip) is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f)
Structure that is used from the Specification to cover the functional limitation is “threads” (paragraph 0061). Claim 19 has sufficient structure such that 35 USC 112(f) is not invoked for this limitation in the claim.
In claims 1 and 13, the “second contact tip holder” (means for holding the second contact tip) is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). The claims require the “second contact tip holder…configured to receive shielding gas from the insulator.”
Structure that is used from the Specification to cover the functional limitation is “threads” (paragraph 0065) and a “manifold” (paragraph 0071).
In claim 8, the “weld current connector” (means for connecting to weld current) is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
Structure that is used from the Specification to cover the functional limitation is a “cable connector” (paragraph 0030).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-14, 16-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 13, the limitation “a nozzle configured to be attached solely to the second contact tip holder” is not mentioned in the original Specification or in the original set of claims. As a result, by using this limitation, the Applicant introduces new matter into the patent application. This new matter was submitted in the claims filed 2 February 2024.
Claims 14, 16-21, and 23 are rejected based on their dependency to claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-14, and 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sigl et al. (US-20180354056-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sigl teaches a conversion apparatus (welding assembly 1902, fig. 20) for a welding torch (“torch,” para 0137), comprising:
a first nozzle body (valve assembly housing 2028, fig. 20) configured to be coupled to a first contact tip holder (torch neck 2044, fig. 20) of the welding torch and supported by the first contact tip holder (the entire welding assembly 1902 is supported by the neck 2044, fig. 20);
an insulator (valve assembly 2024 and valve assembly insulator 2026, fig. 20) configured to be mechanically coupled to the welding torch via the first nozzle body (the inner assembly 2024 and insulator 2026 are connected to the torch via the outer housing 2028, fig. 21) by being connected to an end of the first nozzle body (left end of the neck 2044, fig. 20), the insulator configured to insulate the first contact tip holder from a second contact tip (front contact tip 2012, fig. 20; insulator 2026 provides insulation between tip 2012 and neck 2044), wherein the first contact tip holder is configured to be in electrical contact with a first contact tip (rear contact tip 2006, fig. 20; para 0148);
a second contact tip holder (cooling body 2018 and diffuser 2014, fig. 20; cooling body 2018 includes a threaded ring 2042, fig. 20; the diffuser is construed as being the equivalent of a manifold, para 0148) configured to be attached to the welding torch via direct attachment to the insulator (the cooling body 2018 is directly attached to the valve assembly 2024 through a hand nut 2020, para 0144) on an opposite end of the insulator (left end of assembly 2024 ad insulator 2026, fig. 20) from the first contact tip holder (right end), the second contact tip holder configured to hold the second contact tip (the diffuser 2014 holds the tip 2012, figs. 20-21), to conduct welding current to the second contact tip (“the cooling body 2018 and the valve assembly 2024 are in electrical contact to transfer welding current and/or preheating current with the front contact tip 2012 via the diffuser 2014,” para 0148), and to receive the shielding gas from the insulator (“an annulus to provide gas flow to the weld assembly 1902 for output to the weld via the diffuser 2014,” para 0148); and
a nozzle (nozzle 2008 and nozzle insulator 2010, fig. 20) configured to be attached to the welding torch via the second contact tip holder (diffuser 2014 and cooling body 2018, fig. 20; the nozzle 2008 threads onto ring 2042, which is on the cooling body 2018, para 0147) and supported by the second contact tip holder (para 0147).
Sigl, fig. 20
In this embodiment, Sigl does not explicitly disclose a first contact holder (interpreted under 35 USC 112f; Sigl does not explicitly disclose threads for the neck 2044); an insulator configured to guide shielding gas through a bore of the insulator and a nozzle configured to guide the shielding gas from the second contact tip holder toward a location of an arc (although Sigl discloses there is an “annulus” in the middle of the torch from the neck 2044 to the diffuser 2014 for gas flow, para 0148, Sigl does not explicitly disclose specific details on the gas flow).
However, in the fig. 3 embodiment, Sigl teaches a first contact holder (torch neck 1002 has to threads to connect with tip 314, fig. 10 and para 0088); an insulator (contact tip insulator 316, fig. 10) configured to guide shielding gas through a bore of the insulator (insulator 316 covers the contact tip 314, fig. 10; contact tip 314 has slots 1308 through which the gas flows, figs. 13A-13C; para 0090; “an inner diameter 1012 of the second contact tip insulator 316,” para 0089; construed such that the insulator 316 has a bore inside its inner diameter) and a nozzle (nozzle 302, fig. 10) configured to guide the shielding gas from the second contact tip holder (gas flows from the diffuser 310 to the outlet of the nozzle 302, fig. 10) toward a location of an arc (para 0093; “welding arc,” para 0077).
Sigl, fig. 3
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the embodiment of fig. 20, in view of the teachings of fig. 3, by using threads on the neck, as taught in fig. 3, to secure the rear contact tip 2006 with the torch neck 2044, as taught in fig. 20, and by flowing gas, as taught in the fig. 3 embodiment, through the bore inside the valve assembly 2024, as taught in fig. 20 embodiment, such that gas flowed out of the nozzle and to a welding arc, as taught in the fig. 3 embodiment, in order to (a) use a threaded connection for the rear contact tip so that the tip can be easily removed and maintained and (b) enable metal inert gas (MIG), submerged arc welding (SAW), or tungsten inert gas (TIG) welding operations, because these types of welding operations rely on the shielding provided by inert gas in order to form a weld a bead (paras 0003, 0088, 0142, and 0152).
Regarding claim 2, Sigl teaches wherein the second contact tip holder (cooling body 2018 and diffuser 2014, fig. 20) and the nozzle (nozzle 2008, fig. 20) are configured to hold the second contact tip (front contact tip 2012, fig. 21) coaxially with the first contact tip (rear contact tip 2006, fig. 21; coaxial along the axis through the middle of the electrode wire 114, fig. 21).
Regarding claim 3, Sigl teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose in the fig. 20 embodiment, wherein the first nozzle body comprises a nozzle insert configured to secure the first contact tip to the first contact tip holder.
However, in the fig. 3 embodiment, Sigl teaches wherein the first nozzle body (nozzle mount 318 and clamp 320, fig. 10) comprises a nozzle insert (nozzle mount 318, fig. 10) configured to secure the first contact tip (second contact tip 314, fig. 10) to the first contact tip holder (torch neck 1002, fig. 10; nozzle mount secures to the torch neck 1002, para 0083 and fig. 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the embodiment of fig. 20, in view of the teachings of fig. 3, by using a nozzle mount 318, as taught in fig. 3, to clamp onto the valve housing assembly 2028, as taught in fig. 20, in order to provide an attachment point for sliding the valve housing assembly onto the torch neck, which is rigid (para 0083).
Regarding claim 5, Sigl teaches wherein the nozzle (nozzle 2008 and nozzle insulator 2010, fig. 20) comprises a second nozzle body (nozzle insulator 2010, fig. 20) and a nozzle cone (nozzle 2008, fig. 20) configured to be attached to the second nozzle body (fig. 21).
Regarding claim 7, Sigl teaches wherein the insulator (valve assembly 2024 and valve assembly insulator 2026, fig. 20) is configured to connect to the first nozzle body (housing 2028, fig. 20; connection between insulator 2026 and housing 2028 is shown in fig. 21) of the welding torch via at least one of threads (“threaded together,” para 0148) or a press fit connection (“force the cooling body 2018 toward the valve assembly 2024,” para 0144; forcing the cooling body 2018 onto the valve assembly 2024 is construed as providing a “press fit connection”).
Regarding claim 8, Sigl teaches wherein the second contact tip holder (cooling body 2018 and diffuser 2014, fig. 20) comprises a portion (the cooling body 2018 and diffuser 2014 without the insulator 2110, fig. 20) having an outer surface that extends radially outward past an outer surface of the nozzle (annotated in fig. 21 below), wherein the portion of the second contact tip holder is configured to be attached to a weld current connector (the cooling body 2018 and diffuser 2014 are attached to “a conductor layer,” para 0148, which is construed as being equivalent to a cable connector).
Fig. 21 (annotated)
Regarding claim 9, Sigl teaches wherein the second contact tip holder (cooling body 2018 and diffuser 2014, fig. 20) comprises threads (threaded ring 2042, fig. 20) configured to receive a screw (“the hand nut 2020 has internal screw threads,” para 0144; the hand nut 2020 is construed as being a screw) to attach the weld current connector (“When secured (e.g., threaded together), the cooling body 2018 and the valve assembly 2024 are in electrical contact to transfer welding current and/or preheating current with the front contact tip 2012 via the diffuser 2014,” para 0148; construed such that the hand nut 2020 attaches the cooling body 2018 to the “conductor layer” from para 0148).
Regarding claim 10, Sigl teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the insulator and the second contact tip holder are configured to, when installed, separate the second contact tip from the first contact tip by less than one inch.
However, Sigl teaches wherein the insulator and the second contact tip holder are configured to, when installed, separate the second contact tip from the first contact tip by less than one inch (“a distance between the first and second contact tips is less than 3.5 inches,” para 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Sigl to include, modifying the distance between the front tip 2012 and the rear tip 2006 from less than 3.5 inches, as taught by Sigl, to less than an inch, as claimed, in order to adjust the preheat lengths between the contact tips, which should be based on the desired nozzle length and angle, will still providing the benefits of electrode preheating at the welding assembly (Sigl, para 0102; tables 1 and 2 in para 0099 teach 1.78 inch neck to contact tip lengths) and since it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
Regarding claim 11, Sigl teaches wherein the insulator (valve assembly 2024 and insulator 2026, fig. 20) is configured to provide an annulus (labeled in fig. 21 below) between the bore of the insulator (inner diameter of valve assembly 2024, fig. 20) and the first contact tip (contact tip 2006, fig. 21) to enable the shielding gas to flow through the insulator to the second contact tip holder (diffuser 2012, fig. 21; para 0148).
Sigl, fig. 21 (annotated)
Regarding claim 12, Sigl teaches wherein the second contact tip holder (cooling body 2018 and diffuser 2014, fig. 20) is configured to conduct preheating current and the welding current to the second contact tip (contact tip 2012; para 0148).
Regarding claim 13, Sigl teaches a welding torch (“torch,” para 0137), comprising:
a first contact tip holder (torch neck 2044, fig. 20) configured to hold a first contact tip (torch neck 2044 holds the rear contact tip 2006, fig. 20), to conduct preheating current to the first contact tip (para 0148), and to guide shielding gas from an interior of the first contact tip holder (gas is construed as coming from inside the neck 2044, fig. 20) to an exterior (opening of the annulus for the neck 2044 that the tip 2006 fits into, fig. 20) of the first contact tip holder (“to provide gas flow to the weld assembly 1902 for output to the weld via the diffuser 2014,” para 0148);
a nozzle body (valve assembly housing 2028, fig. 20) configured to be coupled to the first contact tip holder (torch neck 2044, fig. 20) and supported by the first contact tip holder (the entire welding assembly 1902 is supported by the neck 2044, fig. 20);
an insulator (valve assembly 2024 and valve assembly insulator 2026, fig. 20) configured to be mechanically coupled to the first contact tip holder via the nozzle body (the inner assembly 2024 and insulator 2026 are connected to the torch via the outer housing 2028, fig. 21) and by being connected to an end of the nozzle body (left end of the neck 2044, fig. 20), to insulate the first contact tip holder from a second contact tip (front contact tip 2012, fig. 20; insulator 2026 provides insulation between tip 2012 and neck 2044);
a second contact tip holder (cooling body 2018 and diffuser 2014, fig. 20; cooling body 2018 includes a threaded ring 2042, fig. 20; the diffuser is construed as being the equivalent of a manifold, para 0148) configured to be attached to the welding torch via attachment to the insulator (the cooling body 2018 is attached to the valve assembly 2024 through a hand nut 2020, para 0144) on an opposite end of the insulator (left end of assembly 2024 ad insulator 2026, fig. 20) from the first contact tip holder (right end), the second contact tip holder configured to hold the second contact tip (the diffuser 2014 holds the tip 2012, figs. 20-21), to conduct welding current to the second contact tip (“the cooling body 2018 and the valve assembly 2024 are in electrical contact to transfer welding current and/or preheating current with the front contact tip 2012 via the diffuser 2014,” para 0148), and to receive the shielding gas from the insulator (“an annulus to provide gas flow to the weld assembly 1902 for output to the weld via the diffuser 2014,” para 0148), wherein the insulator is positioned between the first contact tip holder and the second contact tip holder (the valve assembly 2024 and insulator 2026 are between the cooling body 2018 and the neck 2044, fig. 20); and
a nozzle (nozzle 2008 and nozzle insulator 2010, fig. 20) configured to be attached solely to the second contact tip holder (diffuser 2014 and cooling body 2018, fig. 20; the nozzle 2008 threads onto ring 2042, which is on the cooling body 2018, para 0147) and supported by the second contact tip holder (para 0147).
In this embodiment, Sigl does not explicitly disclose a first contact holder (interpreted under 35 USC 112f; Sigl does not explicitly disclose threads for the neck 2044); an insulator configured to guide the shielding gas and a nozzle configured to guide the shielding gas from the second contact tip holder toward a location of an arc (although Sigl discloses there is an “annulus” in the middle of the torch from the neck 2044 to the diffuser 2014 for gas flow, para 0148, Sigl does not explicitly disclose specific details on the gas flow).
However, in the fig. 3 embodiment, Sigl teaches a first contact holder (torch neck 1002 has to threads to connect with tip 314, fig. 10 and para 0088); an insulator (contact tip insulator 316, fig. 10) configured to guide shielding gas (insulator 316 covers the contact tip 314, fig. 10; contact tip 314 has slots 1308 through which the gas flows, figs. 13A-13C; para 0090; “an inner diameter 1012 of the second contact tip insulator 316,” para 0089; construed such that the insulator 316 guides gas through a bore inside its inner diameter) and a nozzle (nozzle 302, fig. 10) configured to guide the shielding gas from the second contact tip holder (gas flows from the diffuser 310 to the outlet of the nozzle 302, fig. 10) toward a location of an arc (para 0093; “welding arc,” para 0077).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the embodiment of fig. 20, in view of the teachings of fig. 3, by using threads on the neck, as taught in fig. 3, to secure the rear contact tip 2006 with the torch neck 2044, as taught in fig. 20, and by flowing gas, as taught in the fig. 3 embodiment, through the bore inside the valve assembly 2024, as taught in fig. 20 embodiment, such that gas flowed out of the nozzle and to a welding arc, as taught in the fig. 3 embodiment, in order to (a) use a threaded connection for the rear contact tip so that the tip can be easily removed and maintained and (b) enable metal inert gas (MIG), submerged arc welding (SAW), or tungsten inert gas (TIG) welding operations, because these types of welding operations rely on the shielding provided by inert gas in order to form a weld a bead (paras 0003, 0088, 0142, and 0152).
Regarding claim 14, Sigl teaches wherein the insulator (valve assembly 2024 and valve assembly insulator 2026, fig. 20) is coupled to the first contact tip holder (the assembly 2024 and insulator 2026 couples to the neck 2044, fig. 20) such that the first contact tip (tip 2006, fig. 20) of the welding torch is within a bore of the insulator (tip 20 is within the bore of the assembly 2024, fig. 21).
Regarding claim 16, Sigl teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose in the fig. 20 embodiment, further comprising a nozzle insert coupled to the nozzle body, wherein the insulator is coupled to the first contact tip holder via the nozzle body and the nozzle insert.
However, in the fig. 3 embodiment, Sigl teaches further comprising a nozzle insert (conductive layers 606a and 606b of the liquid cooling assemblies 214, figs. 6 and 9) coupled to the nozzle body (nozzle mount 318, fig. 10; para 0083), wherein the insulator (insulator 316, fig. 10) is coupled to the first contact tip holder (torch neck 1002, fig. 10) via the nozzle body (nozzle mount 318 and clamp 320, fig. 10) and the nozzle insert (the liquid cooling assemblies are on top of the insulator 316, fig. 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the embodiment of fig. 20, in view of the teachings of fig. 3, by using a nozzle mount 318 and conductive layers 606a and 606b, as taught in figs. 3 and 6, to clamp the conductive layers onto the valve housing assembly 2028, as taught in fig. 20, in order to provide an attachment point for sliding the valve housing assembly onto the torch neck, which is rigid, and in order to provide conductive layers that can be disconnected and removed from the welding assembly so that the welding assembly can be disassembled (paras 0083 and 0089).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of the fig. 20 embodiment in view of the fig. 3 embodiment as set forth above regarding claim 16 teaches the invention of claim 17. Specifically, Sigl teaches further comprising an insulating layer (insulative layers 608 and 608b, fig. 6) between the nozzle body (nozzle mount 318, fig. 10) and the nozzle insert (conductive layers 606a and 606b, fig. 6), the insulating layer configured to electrically insulate the nozzle body (nozzle mount 318, fig. 10) from the first contact tip holder (torch neck 1002, fig. 10; torch mount 318 fits over the liquid-cooled power cable assembly 322, para 0083; torch neck 1002 is under the liquid-cooled power cable assembly, fig. 10).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of the fig. 20 embodiment in view of the fig. 3 embodiment as set forth above regarding claim 16 teaches the invention of claim 18. Specifically, Sigl teaches wherein the nozzle insert (conductive layers 606a and 606b of the liquid cooling assemblies 214, figs. 6 and 9) is configured to hold the first contact tip (second contact tip 314, fig. 10) in contact with the first contact tip holder (torch neck 1002, fig. 10) when attached to the first contact tip holder (torch neck 1002, fig. 10; torch neck 1002 is under the liquid-cooled power cable assembly, fig. 10).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of the fig. 20 embodiment in view of the fig. 3 embodiment as set forth above regarding claim 13 teaches the invention of claim 19. Specifically, Sigl teaches wherein the first contact tip (second contact tip 314, fig. 10) is configured to be threaded into threads (threads 1305, figs. 13A-13C) of the first contact tip holder (torch neck 1002, fig. 10; paras 0088-0089).
Regarding claim 20, Sigl teaches wherein the second contact tip holder (cooling body 2018 and diffuser 2014, fig. 20) comprises a manifold (diffuser 2014, fig. 20) configured to direct the shielding gas (“gas flow,” para 0148) from the insulator (valve assembly 2024 and valve assembly insulator 2026, fig. 20) at an interior of the second contact tip holder (inside cooling body 18, fig. 21) to an exterior of the second contact tip holder (left side of diffuser 2012, fig. 21; “output to the weld,” para 0148).
Regarding claim 21, Sigl teaches wherein the second contact tip holder (cooling body 2018 and diffuser 2014, fig. 20) comprises a portion (the cooling body 2018 and diffuser 2014 without the insulator 2110, fig. 20) having an outer surface that extends radially outward past an outer surface of the nozzle (annotated in fig. 21 above), the welding torch further comprising; a cable configured to conduct the preheating current and the welding current (the cooling body 2018 and diffuser 2014 are attached to “a conductor layer” which provides preheating and welding current, para 0148, which is construed as being a cable); and a cable connector (liquid cooling assemblies 1912 and 1914, fig. 21) configured to attach (“When secured (e.g., threaded together,” para 0148) the cable to the portion of the second contact tip holder (para 0148 and fig. 21).
Regarding claim 22, Sigl teaches wherein the insulator (valve assembly 2024 and valve assembly insulator 2026, fig. 20) is configured to directly connect to an interior surface of the first nozzle body (insulator 2026 contacts interior surface of housing 2028, fig. 21) and to directly connect to the second contact tip holder (cooling body 2018 contacts assembly 2024, fig. 21).
Regarding claim 23, Sigl teaches wherein the insulator (valve assembly 2024 and valve assembly insulator 2026, fig. 20) is configured to directly connect to an interior surface of the first nozzle body (insulator 2026 contacts interior surface of housing 2028, fig. 21).
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 2 March 2026 have been fully considered.
The Drawing Objections
Page 7 of the arguments states that “solely” was removed from claim 13. However, respectfully submit that “solely” is still present in the claim. As a result, a drawing objection is maintained for claim 13.
The Rejections under 35 USC § 112(a)
Page 7 of the arguments states that “solely” was removed from claim 13. However, respectfully submit that “solely” is still present in the claim. As a result, a 35 USC 112(a) rejection is maintained for claim 13.
Interpretation under 35 USC § 112(f)
Page 8 of the arguments states the following:
“the ‘first contact tip holder’ encompasses a class of structures that are configured to hold a first contact tip, the term "second contact tip holder" encompasses a class of structures that are configured to hold a second contact tip, and ‘weld current connector’ encompasses a class of structures that are configured to connect something to weld current. See Office Action, p. 5. The applicant's specification provides multiple examples of these terms, as noted in the Office Action. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would, in view of the specification, understand the structures associated with the ‘first contact tip holder,’ ‘second contact tip holder,’ and ‘weld current connector.’
The examiner agrees with the Applicant that these terms are generic “structures” that are defined by their respective functions. As a result, 35 USC 112(f) was invoked to use structure from the Specification to cover these functions. The examiner also agrees that sufficient structure is present in the Specification to cover the limitations.
Respectfully submit that if the Applicant wishes to avoid 35 USC 112(f), then page 6 of the previous Office action provided two options to the Applicant—(a) add structure to the claims or (b) show that structure is already present in the claims to cover the functional limitations.
The Art-Based Rejections
Claims 1, 8, 13, and 21
The examiner agrees with the Applicant that Sigl does not teach the amended portions of the claims based on the fig. 3 embodiment. However, Sigl teaches another embodiment in fig. 20, which can be used to cover the amended portions of the claims (please see rejections above). Although the fig. 20 embodiment was used as a modifying reference in the previous Office action, Applicant’s arguments are directed to the fig. 3 embodiment and not the fig. 20 embodiment
For the above reasons, the rejections to the pending claims are respectfully sustained by the examiner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERWIN J WUNDERLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 4/17/2026