DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leyde (US 20130046358) in view of Llinas (US 20040133118), Kaplan et al., (US 20150202351; hereinafter Kaplan), Ghaffari et al., (US 20100298895; hereinafter Ghaffari), Connor, (US 20170164878), Chou (US 20180014741), and Lawson et al., (US 20110105910; hereinafter Lawson).
Regarding claims 1-2, Leyde discloses (Figures 2 and 6-7) a system comprising: a computer system comprising a processor (4, 18, 42), memory (38) accessible by the processor (4, 18, 42), and program instructions and data stored in the memory ([0073]-[0074]), the program instructions configured to implement a Brain Operating System to analyze an aggregate data stream and formulate instructions for neuromodulations in a closed loop feedback system ([0087]-[0088]); circuitry (6, 8) configured to receive digital data (32) representing neural signals from an implant device (implanted electrode arrays shown for example in Figures 2 and 6), generate the aggregate data stream from the received digital data representing neural signals (32), and transmit the aggregate data stream to the computer system (4, 18, 38, 42), ([0069]-[0073]) and configured to receive instructions for neuromodulations from the computer system (3, 18, 38, 42) and transmit the received instructions to the implant device (implanted electrode arrays shown for example in Figures 2 and 6), ([0087]-[0094]); and the implant device (implanted electrode arrays shown for example in Figures 2 and 6) configured to be implanted within a body of a person for interacting with brain tissue comprising: a plurality of electrodes (A-H/I-P) adapted to receive electrical signals from electrophysiological neural signals of the brain tissue ([0069]-[0073]) and to transmit the electrical signals to provide electrophysiological stimulation of the brain tissue ([0087]-[0094]), the electrodes electrically coupled to at least one readout integrated circuit ([0072]), and the at least one readout integrated circuit comprising a two-dimensional array of cells of circuitry ([0041]-[0047]: the signal connection between each electrode to the A/D converter), each cell of circuitry electrically coupled to at least one electrode, each cell of circuitry comprising: circuitry adapted to receive the electrical neural signals from the plurality of electrodes, to process the electrical neural signals to form digital data representing the neural signals (which is performed by the A/D converter), and to transmit the digital data representing the neural signals, and circuitry configured receive the instructions for neuromodulations, convert the instructions for neuromodulations to electrical neural signals, and to transmit electrical neural signals through a plurality of electrodes so as to provide electrophysiological stimulation of the brain tissue ([0063]-[0064], [0069]-[0094]; [0046]: the sensing and stimulation may be performed by the same electrodes so each cell of circuitry is adapted to receive and transmit electrical neural signals).
Leyde fails to disclose that the plurality of electrodes are a plurality of electrically conductive fibers comprising carbon nanotubes. However, Llinas teaches an implant device adapted to be implanted within a body of a person for interacting with brain tissue comprising a plurality of electrically conductive fibers comprising carbon nanotubes as electrodes ([0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the electrodes disclosed by Leyde with the electrically conductive carbon nanotubes taught by Llinas because both elements perform the same function of transmitting electrical signals, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Leyde/Llinas fails to teach that the plurality of electrically conductive fibers are surrounded by a gel/flesh membrane, wherein the membrane is adapted to dissolve after implantation, the gel is adapted to liquify based on temperature at about 37°C, and the lubrication of the liquified gel is adapted to attract neurons to the plurality of optically conductive fibers. However, Kaplan teaches an implant device comprising a silk gel membrane surrounding electrodes, wherein the silk membrane is adapted to dissolve after implantation, the gel is adapted to liquify based on temperature at about 37°C ([0112]: the silk membrane is adapted to liquify upon placement into target tissue, which is at body temperature about 37°C), and the lubrication of the liquified gel is adapted to attract neurons to the electrodes ([0112], [0180]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde/Llinas to include a gel membrane surrounding the electrodes (the plurality of electrically conductive fibers), as taught by Kaplan, because the modification would improve long-term functionality of the implant device (Kaplan; [0023]).
Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan fails to teach the implant device shaped as an oblate spheroid. However, Ghaffari teaches a method using an implant device (200), which may be shaped as an oblate spheroid ([0079], [0188]). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan to include the implant device shaped as an oblate spheroid, as taught by Ghaffari, since applicant has not disclosed that having the implant device shaped as an oblate spheroid solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either design. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to the criticality of the implant device shaped as an oblate spheroid, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement.
Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari fails to teach at least one earbud including a portion inserted into an ear canal and a portion protruding from the ear canal, configured to wirelessly communicate with the implant device comprising: a signal amplifier; a relay for modulation schemes, algorithms and/or instructions to or from the implant device; at least two dry electrodes; and at least two of an electroencephalogram (EEG) sensor, an electrocardiography (EKG) sensor, a tympanic membrane infrared temperature sensor, an accelerometer configured to measure a heart rate, a breathing rate, and/or track an activity, a blood oxygen saturation measurement (SpO2) sensor, a blood pressure monitor sensor using Pulse Transit Time (PTT) and Pulse Wave Velocity (PWV), and/or a vestibular sensor configured to provide data with the implant device to a cloud platform. However, Connor (Figure 69) teaches a brain-computer interface system ([0320]) including at least one earbud (of ear-worn attachment member 6901) including a portion (inner portion partially inserted into ear canal) inserted into an ear canal and a portion (outer portion) protruding from the ear canal ([0744]), configured to wirelessly communicate with a monitor device ([0320]: separate feedback device of computer-to-brain interface) comprising: a signal amplifier ([0471]); a relay (6905) for modulation schemes, algorithms and/or instructions to or from the monitor device ([0320], [0744]); at least two dry electrodes ([0485]: one or more EEG sensors may be dry electrodes); and at least two of an electroencephalogram (EEG) sensor, an electrocardiography (EKG) sensor ([0321]), a tympanic membrane infrared temperature sensor, an accelerometer configured to measure a heart rate, a breathing rate, and/or track an activity ([0329]), a blood oxygen saturation measurement (SpO2) sensor, a blood pressure monitor sensor using Pulse Transit Time (PTT) and Pulse Wave Velocity (PWV), and/or a vestibular sensor configured to provide data with the implant device to a cloud platform ([0320], [0471], [0744]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari to include at least one earbud including a portion inserted into an ear canal and a portion protruding from the ear canal, configured to wirelessly communicate with the implant device comprising: a signal amplifier; a relay for modulation schemes, algorithms and/or instructions to or from the implant device; at least two dry electrodes; and at least two of an electroencephalogram (EEG) sensor, an electrocardiography (EKG) sensor, a tympanic membrane infrared temperature sensor, an accelerometer configured to measure a heart rate, a breathing rate, and/or track an activity, a blood oxygen saturation measurement (SpO2) sensor, a blood pressure monitor sensor using Pulse Transit Time (PTT) and Pulse Wave Velocity (PWV), and/or a vestibular sensor configured to provide data with the implant device to a cloud platform, as taught by Cain, because the modification would provide a relatively inconspicuous location for the sensor, while providing a better locus for detecting brain wave activity (as evidenced by Cain et al., US 20060094974; [0018]).
Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor fails to teach that the at least two dry electrodes are made of conductive rubber. However, Chou (Figure 7B) teaches an ear-based physiological monitoring device (20) comprising dry electrodes (EEG electrodes) made of conductive rubber ([0041]-[0042], [0066]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor to include the at least two dry electrodes made of conductive rubber, as taught by Chou, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07.
Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor/Chou fails to teach that the at least two dry electrodes are arranged in a staggered fashion. However, Lawson (Figures 1 and 19) teaches an ear-based physiological monitoring device (30), ([0037]), comprising electrodes (100) arranged in a staggered fashion ([0084]). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor/Chou to include the at least two dry electrodes arranged in a staggered fashion since applicant has not disclosed that having the at least two dry electrodes arranged in a staggered fashion solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either design. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to the criticality of the at least two dry electrodes arranged in a staggered fashion, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement.
Regarding claim 3, Leyde further discloses (Figures 6-7) a first multiplexer (38), coupled to at least some of the plurality of cells of circuitry (signal paths) adapted to receive and process the electrical neural signals ([0072]-[0074]), adapted to select at least one of the electrical neural signals from the plurality of fibers ([0084]); and an analog-to-digital converter (34), coupled to the multiplexer, adapted to form digital data representing the electrical neural signals ([0069], [0073]).
Regarding claim 7, Leyde further discloses (Figures 6-7) a digital-to analog converter, coupled to a second multiplexer (42), adapted to form an analog electrical signal based on digital data representing a stimulation signal; and the second multiplexer (42), coupled to the circuitry adapted to transmit electrical neural signals, adapted to select at least one of the plurality of fibers to receive the analog electrical signal ([0074]: the device “may optionally comprise dedicated circuitry of a digital or analog or combined digital/analog nature, ASIC, DSP and/or a fast microprocessor,” therefore, there would need to be a digital-to-analog converter coupled to a multiplexer to turn the digital data into an analog electrical signal for use; [0084]: the device is adapted to select at least one of the different signals).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor/Chou/Lawson, as applied to claim 3, and further in view of Sridhar et al., (US 20160120432; hereinafter Sridhar).
Regarding claim 4, the Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor/Chou/Lawson combination teaches the device of claim 3, but fails to teach that the analog-to-digital converter has a resolution of up to 24 bits per sample. However, Sridhar teaches a neural implant system using an analog-to-digital converter having a resolution of up to 24 bits per sample ([0059]-[0060]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the analog-to-digital converter disclosed by Leyde with the analog-to-digital converter taught by Sridhar because both analog-to-digital converters perform the same function of forming digital data representing electrical signals, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor/Chou/Lawson, as applied to claim 3, and further in view of Jackson et al., (US 20170164852; hereinafter Jackson).
Regarding claim 5, the Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor/Chou/Lawson combination teaches the device of claim 3, but fails to teach that the analog-to-digital converter has a resolution of from 8 bits per sample to 12 bits per sample. However, Jackson teaches a system for a brain-computer interface using an analog-to-digital converter which has a resolution of from 8 bits per sample to 12 bits per sample ([0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the analog-to-digital converter disclosed by Leyde with the analog-to-digital converter taught by Jackson because both analog-to-digital converters perform the same function of forming digital data representing electrical signals, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Regarding claim 6, the Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor/Chou/Lawson combination teaches the device of claim 3, but fails to teach that the analog-to-digital converter has a variable resolution of from 8 bits per sample to 12 bits per sample. However, Jackson teaches a system for a brain-computer interface using an analog-to-digital converter which has a variable resolution of from 8 bits per sample to 12 bits per sample ([0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the analog-to-digital converter disclosed by Leyde with the analog-to-digital converter taught by Jackson because both analog-to-digital converters perform the same function of forming digital data representing electrical signals, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Claims 8-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor/Chou/Lawson, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Frewin et al., (US 20130338744; hereinafter Frewin).
Regarding claim 8, Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor/Chou/Lawson fails to teach that the fibers comprise graphene. However, Frewin teaches an apparatus in which the active elements comprise graphene ([0018]-[0019]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor/Chou/Lawson to include fibers comprising graphene, as taught by Frewin, because the modification would provide excellent biocompatibility for the device (Frewin; [0008]).
Regarding claim 9, Leyde further discloses (Figures 6-7) a first multiplexer (38), coupled to at least some of the plurality of cells of circuitry (signal paths) adapted to receive and process the electrical neural signals ([0072]-[0074]), adapted to select at least one of the electrical neural signals from the plurality of fibers ([0084]); and an analog-to-digital converter (34), coupled to the multiplexer, adapted to form digital data representing the electrical neural signals ([0069]).
Regarding claim 13, Leyde further discloses (Figures 6-7) a digital-to analog converter, coupled to a second multiplexer (42), adapted to form an analog electrical signal based on digital data representing a stimulation signal; and the second multiplexer (42), coupled to the circuitry adapted to transmit electrical neural signals, adapted to select at least one of the plurality of fibers to receive the analog electrical signal ([0074]: the device “may optionally comprise dedicated circuitry of a digital or analog or combined digital/analog nature, ASIC, DSP and/or a fast microprocessor,” therefore, there would need to be a digital-to-analog converter coupled to a multiplexer to turn the digital data into an analog electrical signal for use; [0084]: the device is adapted to select at least one of the different signals) to select at least one of the plurality of fibers to receive the analog electrical signal.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor/Chou/Lawson/Frewin, as applied to claim 9, and further in view of Sridhar.
Regarding claim 10, the Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor/Chou/Lawson/Frewin combination teaches the device of claim 9, but fails to teach that the analog-to-digital converter has a resolution of up to 24 bits per sample. However, Sridhar teaches a neural implant system using an analog-to-digital converter having a resolution of up to 24 bits per sample ([0059]-[0060]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the analog-to-digital converter disclosed by Leyde with the analog-to-digital converter taught by Sridhar because both analog-to-digital converters perform the same function of forming digital data representing electrical signals, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor/Chou/Lawson/Frewin, as applied to claim 9, and further in view of Jackson.
Regarding claim 11, the Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor/Chou/Lawson/Frewin combination teaches the device of claim 9, but fails to teach that the analog-to-digital converter has a resolution of from 8 bits per sample to 12 bits per sample. However, Jackson teaches a system for a brain-computer interface using an analog-to-digital converter which has a resolution of from 8 bits per sample to 12 bits per sample ([0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the analog-to-digital converter disclosed by Leyde with the analog-to-digital converter taught by Jackson because both analog-to-digital converters perform the same function of forming digital data representing electrical signals, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Regarding claim 12, the Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor/Chou/Lawson/Frewin combination teaches the device of claim 9, but fails to teach that the analog-to-digital converter has a variable resolution of from 8 bits per sample to 12 bits per sample. However, Jackson teaches a system for a brain-computer interface using an analog-to-digital converter which has a variable resolution of from 8 bits per sample to 12 bits per sample ([0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the analog-to-digital converter disclosed by Leyde with the analog-to-digital converter taught by Jackson because both analog-to-digital converters perform the same function of forming digital data representing electrical signals, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leyde in view of Flaherty et al., (US 20050273890; hereinafter Flaherty), Kaplan, Ghaffari, Connor, Chou, and Lawson.
Regarding claims 14-15, Leyde discloses (Figures 2 and 6-7) a system comprising: a computer system comprising a processor (4, 18, 42), memory (38) accessible by the processor (4, 18, 42), and program instructions and data stored in the memory ([0073]-[0074]), the program instructions configured to implement a Brain Operating System to analyze an aggregate data stream and formulate instructions for neuromodulations in a closed loop feedback system ([0087]-[0088]); circuitry (6, 8) configured to receive digital data (32) representing neural signals from an implant device (implanted electrode arrays shown for example in Figures 2 and 6), generate the aggregate data stream from the digital data representing neural signals, and transmit the aggregate data stream to the computer system (4, 18, 38, 42), ([0069]-[0073]) and configured to receive instructions for neuromodulations from the computer system (3, 18, 38, 42) and transmit the received instructions to the implant device (implanted electrode arrays shown for example in Figures 2 and 6), ([0087]-[0094]); and the implant device (implanted electrode arrays shown for example in Figures 2 and 6) configured to be implanted within a body of a person for interacting with brain tissue comprising: a plurality of active elements (A-H/I-P) adapted to receive signals from electrophysiological neural signals of the brain tissue ([0069]-[0073]) and to transmit signals to provide electrophysiological stimulation of the brain tissue ([0087]-[0094]), the active elements coupled to at least one readout integrated circuit ([0072]), and at least one readout integrated circuit comprising a two-dimensional array of cells of circuitry ([0041]-[0047]: the signal connection between each electrode to the A/D converter), each cell electrically coupled to at least one active element, each cell of circuitry comprising: circuitry adapted to receive the signals from the plurality of active elements, to process the signals to form digital data representing the neural signals (which is performed by the A/D converter), and to transmit the digital data, and circuitry configured receive the instructions for neuromodulations, convert the instructions for neuromodulations to electrical neural signals, and to transmit signals through the plurality of active elements so as to provide electrophysiological stimulation of the brain tissue ([0063]-[0064], [0069]-[0094]; [0046]: the sensing and stimulation may be performed by the same active element so each cell of circuitry is adapted to receive and transmit electrical neural signals).
Leyde fails to disclose that the plurality of active elements are a plurality of optically conductive fibers comprising optical fibers. However, Flaherty teaches an apparatus for interacting with brain tissue, comprising a plurality of optically conductive fibers comprising optic fibers as active elements ([0031], [0048], [0092]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde to include a plurality of optic fibers, as taught by Flaherty, because the modification would provide other means of transmitting data and/or power, which may be used in combination with other active elements to transmit information between different components of the apparatus (Flaherty; [0048]). Furthermore, in the modified device, the plurality of optically conductive optical fibers would be adapted to receive optical signals from electrophysiological neural signals of the brain tissue, and to transmit optical signals to provide electrophysiological stimulation of the brain tissue, the fibers optically coupled to at least one readout integrated circuit; and the circuitry would be adapted to receive the optical signals from the plurality of fibers and to process the optical signals to form digital data representing the neural signals, and to transmit optical signals through the plurality of carbon fibers so as to provide electrophysiological stimulation of the brain tissue.
Leyde/Flaherty fails to teach that the plurality of electrically conductive fibers are surrounded by a gel/flesh membrane, wherein the membrane is adapted to dissolve after implantation, the gel is adapted to liquify based on temperature at about 37°C, and the lubrication of the liquified gel is adapted to attract neurons to the plurality of optically conductive fibers. However, Kaplan teaches an implant device comprising a silk gel membrane surrounding electrodes, wherein the silk membrane is adapted to dissolve after implantation, the gel is adapted to liquify based on temperature at about 37°C ([0112]: the silk membrane is adapted to liquify upon placement into target tissue, which is at body temperature about 37°C), and the lubrication of the liquified gel is adapted to attract neurons to the electrodes ([0112], [0180]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde/Flaherty to include a gel membrane surrounding the electrodes (the plurality of electrically conductive fibers), as taught by Kaplan, because the modification would improve long-term functionality of the implant device (Kaplan; [0023]).
Leyde/Flaherty/Kaplan fails to teach the implant device shaped as an oblate spheroid. However, Ghaffari teaches a method using an implant device (200), which may be shaped as an oblate spheroid ([0079], [0188]). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde/Flaherty/Kaplan to include the implant device shaped as an oblate spheroid, as taught by Ghaffari, since applicant has not disclosed that having the implant device shaped as an oblate spheroid solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either design. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to the criticality of the implant device shaped as an oblate spheroid, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement.
Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari fails to teach at least one earbud including a portion inserted into an ear canal and a portion protruding from the ear canal, configured to wirelessly communicate with the implant device comprising: a signal amplifier; a relay for modulation schemes, algorithms and/or instructions to or from the implant device; at least two dry electrodes; and at least two of an electroencephalogram (EEG) sensor, an electrocardiography (EKG) sensor, a tympanic membrane infrared temperature sensor, an accelerometer configured to measure a heart rate, a breathing rate, and/or track an activity, a blood oxygen saturation measurement (SpO2) sensor, a blood pressure monitor sensor using Pulse Transit Time (PTT) and Pulse Wave Velocity (PWV), and/or a vestibular sensor configured to provide data with the implant device to a cloud platform. However, Connor (Figure 69) teaches a brain-computer interface system ([0320]) including at least one earbud (of ear-worn attachment member 6901) including a portion (inner portion partially inserted into ear canal) inserted into an ear canal and a portion (outer portion) protruding from the ear canal ([0744]), configured to wirelessly communicate with a monitor device ([0320]: separate feedback device of computer-to-brain interface) comprising: a signal amplifier ([0471]); a relay (6905) for modulation schemes, algorithms and/or instructions to or from the monitor device ([0320], [0744]); at least two dry electrodes ([0485]: one or more EEG sensors may be dry electrodes); and at least two of an electroencephalogram (EEG) sensor, an electrocardiography (EKG) sensor ([0321]), a tympanic membrane infrared temperature sensor, an accelerometer configured to measure a heart rate, a breathing rate, and/or track an activity ([0329]), a blood oxygen saturation measurement (SpO2) sensor, a blood pressure monitor sensor using Pulse Transit Time (PTT) and Pulse Wave Velocity (PWV), and/or a vestibular sensor configured to provide data with the implant device to a cloud platform ([0320], [0471], [0744]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari to include at least one earbud including a portion inserted into an ear canal and a portion protruding from the ear canal, configured to wirelessly communicate with the implant device comprising: a signal amplifier; a relay for modulation schemes, algorithms and/or instructions to or from the implant device; at least two dry electrodes; and at least two of an electroencephalogram (EEG) sensor, an electrocardiography (EKG) sensor, a tympanic membrane infrared temperature sensor, an accelerometer configured to measure a heart rate, a breathing rate, and/or track an activity, a blood oxygen saturation measurement (SpO2) sensor, a blood pressure monitor sensor using Pulse Transit Time (PTT) and Pulse Wave Velocity (PWV), and/or a vestibular sensor configured to provide data with the implant device to a cloud platform, as taught by Cain, because the modification would provide a relatively inconspicuous location for the sensor, while providing a better locus for detecting brain wave activity (as evidenced by Cain et al., US 20060094974; [0018]).
Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor fails to teach that the at least two dry electrodes are made of conductive rubber. However, Chou (Figure 7B) teaches an ear-based physiological monitoring device (20) comprising dry electrodes (EEG electrodes) made of conductive rubber ([0041]-[0042], [0066]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor to include the at least two dry electrodes made of conductive rubber, as taught by Chou, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07.
Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor/Chou fails to teach that the at least two dry electrodes are arranged in a staggered fashion. However, Lawson (Figures 1 and 19) teaches an ear-based physiological monitoring device (30), ([0037]), comprising electrodes (100) arranged in a staggered fashion ([0084]). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari/Connor/Chou to include the at least two dry electrodes arranged in a staggered fashion since applicant has not disclosed that having the at least two dry electrodes arranged in a staggered fashion solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either design. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to the criticality of the at least two dry electrodes arranged in a staggered fashion, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement.
Regarding claim 16, Leyde further discloses (Figures 6-7) a first multiplexer (38), coupled to the circuitry (signal paths) adapted to receive and process the signals ([0072]-[0074]), adapted to select at least one of the signals from the plurality of active elements ([0084]); and an analog-to-digital converter (34), coupled to the circuitry, adapted to form digital data representing the signals ([0069], [0073]). Since the modified device of claim 15 includes optically conductive optical fibers as the active elements, the modified device would include an optical multiplexer, coupled to the circuitry adapted to receive and process the optical signals, adapted to select at least one of the optical signals from the plurality of fibers; circuitry, coupled to the multiplexer, adapted to convert the optical signals to analog electrical signals; and an analog-to-digital converter, coupled to the circuitry adapted to convert the optical signals to analog electrical signals, adapted to form digital data representing the analog electrical signals.
Regarding claim 17, Leyde further discloses (Figures 6-7) circuitry, coupled to a second multiplexer (42), adapted to form an analog electrical signal based on digital data representing a stimulation signal; and the second multiplexer (42), coupled to the circuitry adapted to transmit the signals, adapted to select at least one of the plurality of active elements to receive the signal ([0074]: the device “may optionally comprise dedicated circuitry of a digital or analog or combined digital/analog nature, ASIC, DSP and/or a fast microprocessor,” therefore, there would need to be a digital-to-analog converter coupled to a multiplexer to turn the digital data into an analog electrical signal for use; [0084]: the device is adapted to select at least one of the different signals). Since the modified device of claims 15-16 includes optically conductive optical fibers as the active elements, the modified device would include circuitry, coupled to a multiplexer, adapted to form an analog electrical signal based on digital data representing a stimulation signal; and a multiplexer, coupled to the circuitry adapted to transmit the optical signals, adapted to select at least one of the plurality of carbon fibers to receive the optical signal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/30/2026, regarding the newly amended limitations of claims 1 and 14, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection(s) has/have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is/are made in view of newly found prior art references Connor, Chou, and Lawson, Connor teaches a brain-computer interface comprising at least one earbud including a portion inserted into an ear canal and a portion protruding from the ear canal, configured to wirelessly communicate with the implant device comprising: a signal amplifier; a relay for modulation schemes, algorithms and/or instructions to or from the implant device; at least two dry electrodes; and at least two of an electroencephalogram (EEG) sensor, an electrocardiography (EKG) sensor, a tympanic membrane infrared temperature sensor, an accelerometer configured to measure a heart rate, a breathing rate, and/or track an activity, a blood oxygen saturation measurement (SpO2) sensor, a blood pressure monitor sensor using Pulse Transit Time (PTT) and Pulse Wave Velocity (PWV), and/or a vestibular sensor configured to provide data with the implant device to a cloud platform. Chou teaches an ear-based physiological monitoring device comprising dry electrodes made of conductive rubber. Lawson teaches an ear-based physiological monitoring device comprising dry electrodes arranged in a staggered fashion. In combination with Leyde/Llinas/Kaplan/Ghaffari, the modified system teaches the invention as recited at least in amended independent claim 1. In combination with Leyde/Flaherty/Kaplan/Ghaffari, the modified system teaches the invention as recited at least in amended independent claim 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794