DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 01/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-16, 18-19, 21-26 remain pending in the application. Claims 27-29 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/26/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding Applicant’s argument about “Applicant submits that Kishigami's radar requires Np pulses to be transmitted along each direction. Rittenbach's radar, however, requires shifting the beam direction back and forth between two directions in each successive switching. Therefore, by transmitting a single pulse along each direction of each switching cycle, Rittenbach teaches away from Kishigami which requires Np pulses along each direction. Combining Kishigami with Rittenbach in the manner suggested by the Examiner would thus frustrate Kishigami's purpose and would have no reasonable expectation of success” (REMARKS page 8 lines 12-18) , Examiner disagrees because Rittenbach (‘655) discloses the claimed language “wherein a switching speed of the transmit antenna is selected such that during cycle i when the transmit antenna is set to direction j a first single sample of a reflected signal, generated in response to reflection of the signal transmitted by the transmit antenna along direction j, is received by the receiver” {Fig.1 items 11 (RF SW and driver), 12 (timing and code generator); Fig.2 (see marks below for directions, transmit / receive timing); col.1 lines 25-26 (A series of switching pulses occurring at the same repetition rate as the transmitted rf pulses), 43-46 (This first group is transmitted along a first beam and the corresponding group of returns from the target received along this frst beam are processed), 68 (the switch); col.2 lines 1-2 (ing of antenna beams is accomplished at a rate sufficiently high), 14-15 (FIG. 2 is an illustrative of the transmitted and received pulses of a typical target acquisition cycle), 51-53 (The switching is done by means of rf switch 11 driven by switching pulses drived from a timing and code generator 12); col.5 lines 54-55 (A switching pulse is supplied to the RF Switch and Driver 11)}. The combination of Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) is for “a switching speed of the transmit antenna” at sufficient high rate so that transmitted signal at each direction is received corresponding return signal from target along the transmitted signal, which do not relate to the number of transmitted pulses in each direction. Therefore there is no teach away issue in the combination.
Regarding newly added limitation (see REMARKS from page 8 line 10 from bottom to page 9 line 2) in claims 1 and 14, Examiner disagrees because prior art Kishigami (‘209) does disclose claimed language “wherein during at least one of the N time periods of the repeating cycles, the Doppler sensing system detects a movement of an object using a signal reflected off the object in response to the signal transmitted during the at least one time period and without requiring signals reflected off the object during remaining (N-1) time periods of the repeating cycles” {col.9 lines 4-5 (at the discrete time k in the M-th radar transmission period Tr[M]); col.10 lines 33-34 (The switching section 212 selectively switches among NBs), 61-62 (The Doppler frequency analyzing section 213-y performs coherent integration); col.11 lines 5-15 (
), 19 (at the discrete time k), 29 (every second switching period,), 46-49 (The Doppler frequency analyzing section 213 may sequentially perform the multiply-accumulate operation indicated by the expression (8) without performing FFT processing), 53 (obtained every discrete time k); Examiner’s note: “without performing FFT processing” for claimed language “without requiring signals reflected off the object during remaining (N-1) time periods of the repeating cycles”}.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (REMARKS page 9) “Widmar fails to disclose a "Doppler sensing system to transfer power wirelessly via a radiating radio frequency(RF) signal", as claim 13” (see REMARKS page 9 lines 7-8) about amended Claims 13 and 26, Examiner disagrees because prior art Widmer (‘401) does disclose that “wherein said processor causes the Doppler sensing system to transfer power wirelessly via a radiating radio frequency (RF) signal to charge a recovery unit during at least one of the N periods when the Doppler sensing system in not sensing” {Fig.1; col.2 lines 16-18 (apparatus for detecting a presence of an object, The apparatus comprises a printed circuit board), 23-25 (The apparatus comprises a first transmit coil of a wireless charger disposed over the printed circuit board.); col.3 line 11 (wireless power transfer system); col.7 lines 6-7 (a chargeable energy storage device (e.g., one or more rechargeable electrochemical cells or other type of battery).), 10-11 (to charge the vehicle's battery.), 35-38 (An electric vehicle 112 may include a battery unit 118, an electric vehicle induction coil 116, and an electric vehicle wireless charging system 114); col.11 lines 34-38 ("coils" is intended to refer to a component that may wirelessly output or receive energy four coupling to another "coil." The coil may also be referred to as an "antenna" of a type that is configured to wirelessly output or receive power.); col.14 lines 10-14 (To communicate between a base wireless charging system 302 and an electric vehicle charging system 314, the wireless power transfer system 300 may use both in-band signaling and an RF data modem (e.g., Ethernet over radio in an unlicensed band).), 44-46 (To enable wireless high power transfer, some implementations may be configured to transfer power at a frequency in the range from 10-150 kHz); col.34 lines 20-21 (The antenna 4722 may be deployed when the vehicle has parked); col.35 line 40 (vehicle is being parked e.g. for charging); col.37 lines 20-23 (supplying power to a first transmit coil of a wireless charger disposed over the printed circuit board based at least in part on the determining the presence of the object.)}. Specifically, Widmer (‘401) col.11 lines 34-38 and col.14 lines 10-14, 44-46 are for claimed language “via a radiating radio frequency (RF) signal”, in which “antenna” in col.11 line 36 for “radiating” and “10-150 kHz” in col.14 line 46 for “radio frequency (RF)”}. Examiner added explanation for clarification in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 12, 14-16, 18-19, 22, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishigami et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10379209, hereafter Kishigami) in view of Rittenbach (US 4,430,655, hereafter Rittenbach).
Regarding claim 1, Kishigami (‘209) discloses that a Doppler sensing system {Fig.3 item 213} comprising:
at least one transmit antenna {Fig.3 item 108};
a processor configured to cause the transmit antenna to transmit signals during M repeating cycles of a sequence {Fig.3 item 100 (radar transmitting section); Fig.12, repeat cycle of T1(1)+T1(2), Examiner’s note: Nc addresses claimed language “M”}, wherein for each cycle the transmit antenna is switched between N different transmit directions {Fig.12 θTx(u1), θTx(u2), col.5 lines 10-11 (switching a transmission beam direction)} each during a different one of N time periods {Fig.12 θTx(u1) in T1(1) and θTx(u2) in T1(2)} to transmit N different signals {Fig.12 transmission signals during T1(1) and T1(2); Examiner’s note: signal with Np1 pulses and signal with Np2 pulses are two different signals}; and
a receiver configured to receive reflections of the signals transmitted by the transmit antenna {col.5 lines 13-15 (The radar receiving section 200 receives, via an array antenna, reflected signals each of which is the radar transmission signal reflected by a target)};
wherein i is an integer ranging from 1 to M { Fig.12, repeat cycle of T1(1)+T1(2), Examiner’s note: Nc addresses claimed language “M”}, and j is an integer ranging from 1 to N { Fig.12 u1, u2 for N directions}, and wherein during at least one of the N time periods of the repeating cycles, the Doppler sensing system detects a movement of an object using a signal reflected off the object in response to the signal transmitted during the at least one time period and without requiring signals reflected off the object during remaining (N-1) time periods of the repeating cycles {col.9 lines 4-5 (at the discrete time k in the M-th radar transmission period Tr[M]); col.10 lines 33-34 (The switching section 212 selectively switches among NBs), 61-62 (The Doppler frequency analyzing section 213-y performs coherent integration); col.11 lines 5-15 (
), 19 (at the discrete time k), 29 (every second switching period,), 46-49 (The Doppler frequency analyzing section 213 may sequentially perform the multiply-accumulate operation indicated by the expression (8) without performing FFT processing), 53 (obtained every discrete time k); Examiner’s note: “without performing FFT processing” for claimed language “without requiring signals reflected off the object during remaining (N-1) time periods of the repeating cycles”}.
However, Kishigami (‘209) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “wherein a switching speed of the transmit antenna is selected such that during cycle i when the transmit antenna is set to direction j a first single sample of a reflected signal, generated in response to reflection of the signal transmitted by the transmit antenna along direction j, is received by the receiver”. In the same field of endeavor, Rittenbach (‘655) discloses that
wherein for each cycle the transmit antenna is switched between N different transmit directions each during a different one of N time periods to transmit N different signals {Fig.2 (see marks below for directions, transmit / receive timing)};
wherein a switching speed of the transmit antenna is selected such that during cycle i when the transmit antenna is set to direction j a first single sample of a reflected signal, generated in response to reflection of the signal transmitted by the transmit antenna along direction j, is received by the receiver {Fig.1 items 11 (RF SW and driver), 12 (timing and code generator); Fig.2 (see marks below for directions, transmit / receive timing); col.1 lines 25-26 (A series of switching pulses occurring at the same repetition rate as the transmitted rf pulses), 43-46 (This first group is transmitted along a first beam and the corresponding group of returns from the target received along this first beam are processed), 68 (the switch); col.2 lines 1-2 (ing of antenna beams is accomplished at a rate sufficiently high), 14-15 (FIG. 2 is an illustrative of the transmitted and received pulses of a typical target acquisition cycle), 51-53 (The switching is done by means of rf switch 11 driven by switching pulses drived from a timing and code generator 12); col.5 lines 54-55 (A switching pulse is supplied to the RF Switch and Driver 11)},
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kishigami (‘209) with the teachings of Rittenbach (‘655) {switch radiation beams between different directions at sufficient high rate controlled by a timing generator, transmit signal at each direction, and receive corresponding return signal from target along the transmitted signal} to switch radiation beams between different directions, transmit signal at each direction, and receive corresponding return signal from target along the transmitted signal. Doing so would avoid an undesirable response to said changes in target cross section, range, azimuth, elevation or velocity to maximize the unambiguous range so as to improve the accuracy of measurement of the angle of a target, as recognized by Rittenbach (‘655) {col.1 lines 17-18 (improving the accuracy of measurement of the angle of a target); col.2 lines 2-4 (avoid an undesirable response to said changes in target cross section, range, azimuth, elevation or velocity); col.5 line 56 (maximize the unambiguous range)}.
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) discloses that in the Doppler sensing system,
said sequence is a uniform sequence {see Kishigami (‘209) Fig.12, same Tr*(Np1+NP2)}.
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) discloses that in the Doppler sensing system,
said sequence is a non- uniform sequence { see Kishigami (‘209) Fig.13 T1 different width, Tr*(Np1+NP2) and Tr*(Np3+NP4) are different} according to which at least one of the N different transmit directions is repeated more than once per cycle {see Kishigami (‘209) Fig.13 (see marks in green below), T1(1) in direction θTx(u1) more than once in a cycle T2(1)}.
Regarding claim 5, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) discloses that in the Doppler sensing system,
the N time periods are substantially similar {see Kishigami (‘209) Fig.8, Tr *Np same}.
Regarding claim 6, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) discloses that in the Doppler sensing system,
at least one of the N time periods is different than remaining ones of the time periods {see Kishigami (‘209) Fig. 13 T1(1), T1(2) different}.
Regarding claim 8, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) discloses that in the Doppler sensing system,
said receiver comprises a first frequency downconverter adapted to generate in-phase (I) signals and a second frequency downconverter adapted to generate quadrature-phase (Q) signals { see Kishigami (‘209) Fig.3 items 205, 206}.
Regarding claim 9, which depends on claims 1 and 8, the combination of Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) discloses that in the Doppler sensing system, the processor is further configured to
generate I and Q signals associated with each transmit direction from the signals the processor receives from the receiver { see Kishigami (‘209) Fig.3 items 206 output (I, Q); col.8 lines 50 (time K, M-th, radar, transmission period), 52-53 [x(k,M) = Ir(k, M) +jQr(k,M)]}.
Regarding claim 12, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) discloses that in the Doppler sensing system,
said sequence comprises, in part, uniform { see Kishigami (‘209) Fig.12 same Tr*(Np1+NP2)} and non-uniform cycles {Fig. 13 T1 different width, Tr*(Np1+NP2) and Tr*(Np3+NP4) are different}.
Regarding claim 14, as modified above, Kishigami (‘209) discloses that A method of determining a Doppler signal having a frequency defined by a difference between a frequency of a transmitted signal and a frequency of a signal reflected by at least one moving object {Fig.3 implement a method, radar transmitting, radar receiving, items 205 (frequency converter), 213 (Doppler frequency analyzing section); Fig.17 (at least one moving object); col.5 lines 21-23 (radar receiving section, performs, Doppler frequency analyzing processing); col.10 lines 25-28 (speed, target, fluctuation, Doppler frequency, reflected wave, from, target); col.11 line 2 (Doppler frequencies fsΔΦ, Eq.(8) a method); Examiner’s note: “the amount of fluctuation of a Doppler frequency” addresses claimed language “a difference”. Doppler frequency is defined as a frequency shift between transmitted signal and received signal, caused by moving targe.}, the method comprising:
transmitting signals during M repeating cycles of a sequence, wherein for each cycle a transmit antenna is set to N different transmit directions during each of N different time periods to transmit N different signals, and
receiving reflections of the signals transmitted by the transmit antenna,
wherein a switching speed of the transmit antenna is selected such that during cycle i when the transmit antenna is set to direction j a first single sample of a reflected signal, generated in response to reflection of the signal transmitted by the transmit antenna along direction j, is received by the receiver, wherein i is an integer ranging from 1 to M, and j is an integer ranging from 1 to N, and detecting, during at least one of the N time periods of the repeating cycles, a movement of the moving object using a signal reflected off the moving object in response to the signal transmitted during the at least one time period and without requiring signals reflected off the moving object during remaining (N-1) time periods of the repeating cycles.
{The claim limitations above are the same or substantially the same scope as the corresponding claim limitations in claim 1. Therefore the claim limitations above are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 1. See the rejections of claim 1}
Regarding claims 15-16, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claims 2-3, respectively. Accordingly, claims 15-16 are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claims 2-3, respectively, shown above.
Regarding claims 18-19, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claims 5-6, respectively. Accordingly, claims 18-19 are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claims 5-6, respectively, shown above.
Regarding claim 22, which depends on claim 14, the combination of Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) discloses that the method further comprising:
down-converting a frequency of the received signal to generate in-phase (I) and quadrature-phase (Q) signals using a frequency down-converter {see Kishigami (‘209) Fig.3 items 205, 206}.
Regarding claim 25, which depends on claim 14, the combination of Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) discloses that in the method,
said sequence comprises in part, uniform { see Kishigami (‘209) Fig.12 same Tr*(Np1+NP2)} and non-uniform cycles {Fig. 13 T1 different width, Tr*(Np1+NP2) and Tr*(Np3+NP4) are different}.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Funai (U.S. Patent No. 6646587, hereafter Funai).
Regarding claim 10, which depends on claim 1, Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) do not explicitly disclose “a phase switching circuit adapted to switch a phase of a local oscillator (LO) signal by 900 in responses to a phase control signal supplied by the processor; and a frequency downconverter adapted to generate in-phase (I) and quadrature-phase (Q) signals from the signal received by the receiver and in response to the phases of the LO signal”. In the same field of endeavor, Funai (‘587) discloses that the Doppler sensing system further comprising:
a phase switching circuit adapted to switch a phase of a local oscillator (LO) signal by 90° in responses to a phase control signal supplied by the processor {Fig.1 item 19 (90-degree shifter), 5 (LO)}; and
a frequency downconverter adapted to generate in-phase (I) and quadrature- phase (Q) signals from the signal received by the receiver and in response to the phases of the LO signal {Fig.1 items 20-21 (mixer), I-output (output of item 25), Q-output (output of item 26)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) with the teachings of Funai (‘587) {provide local oscillation signal with 90-degree difference for use by frequency downconverter and down-converting received signal to generate an in-phase (I) signal and a quadrature- phase (Q) signal frequency down-converters} to provide local oscillation signal with 90-degree difference for use by frequency downconverter and down-converting received signal to generate an in-phase (I) signal and a quadrature- phase (Q) signal frequency down-converters. Doing so would provide in-phase and quadrature-phase signals for extracting Doppler signal, as recognized by Funai (‘587) {col.1 lines 33-35 (90-degree shifters, providing, phase difference of 90 degrees, for, extracting, Doppler signal)}.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kishigami et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2015/0247924, hereafter Kishigami-2).
Regarding claim 11, which depends on claim 1, Kishigami (‘209) discloses that the Doppler sensing system further comprising:
a phase switching circuit adapted to switch a phase of a transmit signal {Fig.3 item 102 (code generating section); Col.6 lines 48-49, phase shift keying, code an} .
However, Kishigami (‘209) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “a phase switching circuit adapted to switch a phase of a transmit signal by ±90° in responses to a phase control signal supplied by the processor, wherein said processor causes the transmitter to transmit a first signal defined by a first phase, and a second signal defined by a second phase”. Rittenbach (‘655) does not disclose the limitation, which Kishigami (‘209) does not disclose, as well. In the same field of endeavor, Kishigami-2 (‘924) discloses that
a phase switching circuit adapted to switch a phase of a transmit signal by ±90° in responses to a phase control signal supplied by the processor, wherein said processor causes the transmitter to transmit a first signal defined by a first phase, and a second signal defined by a second phase {[0063] lines 3-5, code generation portion, alternately, generates transmission code, in two periods; [0065] lines 4-7, QPSK, Cn, [1, -1, j, -j]; “j” for 90-degree}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute phase shift keying in the combination of Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) with the teachings of Kishigami-2 (‘924) { use binary phase-shift keying} to use binary phase-shift keying. Doing so would provide four values in transmission codes so as to make it possible to achieve low sidelobe performance in received reflection signal via code sequences configuration, as recognized by Kishigami-2 (‘924) {[0062] lines 4-9}.
Claims 13, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishigami (‘209) in view of Luebbert et al. (US 2011/0181456, hereafter Luebbert) and Widmer et al . (US 9,772,401, hereafter Widmer).
Regarding claim 13, Kishigami (‘209) discloses that a Doppler sensing system {Fig.3} comprising:
at least one transmit antenna {Fig.3 item 108};
a processor configured to cause the transmit antenna to transmit signals during M repeating cycles of a sequence {Fig.3 item 100 (radar transmitting section); Fig.12, repeat cycle of T1(1)+T1(2), Examiner’s note: Nc addresses claimed language “M”}, wherein for each cycle {Fig.12 T1(1)+T1(2)} the transmit antenna is set to N different transmit directions {Fig.12 θTx(u1), θTx(u2)} each during a different one of N time periods {Fig.12 θTx(u1) in T1(1) and θTx(u2) in T1(2)} to generate N different signals {Fig.12 transmission signals during T1(1) and T1(2), Examiner’s note: signal with Np1 pulses and signal with Np2 pulses are two different signals}, ; and
a receiver configured to receive, during each of the N time periods, reflections of the signals generated by the transmit antenna to determine a frequency shift during the time period {Fig.3 item 200 (radar receiving section), 213 (Doppler frequency analyzing section); Fig.6 rows 2-3 (radar reception signal); col.5 lines 21-23 (radar receiving section, performs, Doppler frequency analyzing processing); col.10 lines 26-27 (speed, target, fluctuation, Doppler frequency), Examiner’s note: “the amount of fluctuation of a Doppler frequency” addresses claimed language “frequency shift”},
wherein said processor causes the Doppler sensing system to transfer power wirelessly via a radiating radio frequency (RF) signal {Fig.3 item 108 wirelessly transfer power; Fig.6 transmission period and reception period have no overlap in time; col.5 lines 5-6 (The radar transmitting section 100 generates a high-frequency (radio-frequency) radar signal); Examiner’s note: antennas 108-1~N in Fig.3 for “transfer power wirelessly via a radiating radio frequency (RF) signal”}.
However, Kishigami (‘209) does not disclose (see words with underlines) “wherein N is at least 3” and “wherein said processor causes the Doppler sensing system to transfer power wirelessly via a radiating radio frequency (RF) signal to charge a recovery unit during at least one of the N periods when the Doppler sensing system in not sensing”. In the same field of endeavor, Luebbert (‘456) discloses that
wherein N is at least 3 {Fig.1; Fig.2; Examiner’s note: TB1, TB2, TB3 are 3 directions in Fig.1. M_TB1_1, M_TB2_1, M_TB3_1 are pulses in 3 directions within one cycle MZ1};
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kishigami (‘209) with the teachings of Luebbert (‘456) {transmit different pulses to different directions (e.g. 3 different directions) in a transmission cycle} to transmit different pulses to different directions (e.g. 3 different directions) in a transmission cycle. Doing so would use segmentation of a coverage area of the radar system by means of a sequential overlay with a number of part-areas to which in each case an angular segment from the coverage area is allocated so that due to the temporal separation, the processing can take place in each case in the same receiving channel and only requires one receiving channel for processing the radar signals, as recognized by Luebbert (‘456) {[0005] lines 2-5 (use, segmentation, coverage area, sequential overlay, part-areas, each case, angular segment, coverage area, allocated); [0018] lines 3-6 (due to, separation, processing, take place, each case, same receiving channel, requires one receiving channel, processing, radar signals)}.
However, Luebbert (‘456) does not disclose (see words with underline) “wherein said processor causes the Doppler sensing system to transfer power wirelessly via a radiating radio frequency (RF) signal to charge a recovery unit during at least one of the N periods when the Doppler sensing system in not sensing”. In the same field of endeavor, Widmer (‘401) discloses that
wherein said processor causes the Doppler sensing system to transfer power wirelessly via a radiating radio frequency (RF) signal to charge a recovery unit during at least one of the N periods when the Doppler sensing system in not sensing {Fig.1; col.2 lines 16-18 (apparatus for detecting a presence of an object, The apparatus comprises a printed circuit board), 23-25 (The apparatus comprises a first transmit coil of a wireless charger disposed over the printed circuit board.); col.3 line 11 (wireless power transfer system); col.7 lines 6-7 (a chargeable energy storage device (e.g., one or more rechargeable electrochemical cells or other type of battery).), 10-11 (to charge the vehicle's battery.), 35-38 (An electric vehicle 112 may include a battery unit 118, an electric vehicle induction coil 116, and an electric vehicle wireless charging system 114); col.11 lines 34-38 ("coils" is intended to refer to a component that may wirelessly output or receive energy four coupling to another "coil." The coil may also be referred to as an "antenna" of a type that is configured to wirelessly output or receive power.); col.14 lines 10-14 (To communicate between a base wireless charging system 302 and an electric vehicle charging system 314, the wireless power transfer system 300 may use both in-band signaling and an RF data modem (e.g., Ethernet over radio in an unlicensed band).), 44-46 (To enable wireless high power transfer, some implementations may be configured to transfer power at a frequency in the range from 10-150 kHz); col.34 lines 20-21 (The antenna 4722 may be deployed when the vehicle has parked); col.35 line 40 (vehicle is being parked e.g. for charging); col.37 lines 20-23 (supplying power to a first transmit coil of a wireless charger disposed over the printed circuit board based at least in part on the determining the presence of the object.); Examiner’s note: “antenna” in col.11 line 36 for “radiating”. col.14 lines 10-14, 44-46 for “via a radiating radio frequency (RF) signal”. “10-150 kHz” in col.14 line 46 for “radio frequency (RF)”};
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Kishigami (‘209) and Luebbert (‘456) with the teachings of Widmer (‘401) { wirelessly provide power using radio frequency signal} to wirelessly provide power using radio frequency signal. Doing so would perform power transfer (e.g. from a ground based charging unit to a vehicle based charging unit) automatically and/or virtually so as to improving convenience to a user (e.g. electric vehicles without driver intervention and manipulations), as recognized by Widmer (‘401) {col.1 lines 19-20 (wireless power transfer from a ground based charging unit to a vehicle based charging unit); col.8 lines 29-32 (Charging electric vehicles wirelessly may provide numerous benefits. For example, charging may be performed automatically, virtually without driver intervention and manipulations thereby improving convenience to a user.)}.
Regarding claim 26, as modified above, Kishigami (‘209) discloses that A method of determining a frequency shift of a signal reflected by at least one moving object {Fig.3 implement a method; Fig.17 (at least one moving object); col.10 lines 25-28 (speed, target, fluctuation, Doppler frequency, reflected wave, from, target), Examiner’s note: “the amount of fluctuation of a Doppler frequency” addresses claimed language “frequency shift”. Doppler frequency is a frequency shift, caused by moving target; col.11 Eq.(8) a method}, the method comprising:
transmitting signals during M repeating cycles of a sequence, wherein for each cycle a transmit antenna is set to N different transmit directions during each of N different time periods to generate N different signals, wherein N is at least 3;
receiving, during each of the N time periods, reflections of the signals generated by the transmit antenna to determine a frequency shift during the time period; and
transferring power by the transmitter wirelessly via a radiating radio frequency (RF) signal to charge a recovery unit during at least one of the N periods when the transmit antenna is caused not to receive the reflections of the signals generated by the transmit antenna.
{The claim limitations above are the same or substantially the same scope as the corresponding claim limitations in claim 13. Therefore the claim limitations above are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 13. See the rejections of claim 13}.
Claims 21, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Funai (‘587).
Regarding claim 21, which depends on claim 14, Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) do not explicitly disclose “down-converting a frequency of the received signal to generate an in-phase (I) signal using a first frequency down-converter; and down-converting a frequency of the received signal to generate a quadrature-phase (Q) signal using a second frequency down-converter”. In the same field of endeavor, Funai (‘587) discloses that the method further comprising:
down-converting a frequency of the received signal to generate an in-phase (I) signal using a first frequency down-converter {Fig.11 items 20}; and
down-converting a frequency of the received signal to generate a quadrature- phase (Q) signal using a second frequency down-converter {Fig.11 items 21}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) with the teachings of Funai (‘587) {provide local oscillation signal with 90-degree difference for use by frequency downconverters and down-converting received signal to generate an in-phase (I) signal and a quadrature- phase (Q) signal frequency down-converters} to provide local oscillation signal with 90-degree difference for use by frequency downconverters and down-converting received signal to generate an in-phase (I) signal and a quadrature- phase (Q) signal frequency down-converters. Doing so would provide in-phase and quadrature-phase signals for extracting Doppler signal, as recognized by Funai (‘587) {col.1 lines 33-35, 90-degree shifters, providing, phase difference of 90 degrees, for, extracting, Doppler signal}.
Regarding claim 23, which depends on claim 14, Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) do not explicitly disclose “switching a phase of a local oscillator (LO) signal by 900 in responses to a phase control signal supplied by a processor; and generating in-phase (I) and quadrature-phase (Q) signals from the received signal in response to the phases of the LO signal”. In the same field of endeavor, Funai (‘587) discloses that the method further comprising:
switching a phase of a local oscillator (LO) signal by 90° in responses to a phase control signal supplied by a processor {Fig.1 item 19 (90-degree shifter), 5 (LO)}; and
generating in-phase (I) and quadrature-phase (Q) signals from the received signal in response to the phases of the LO signal {Fig.1 items 20-21 (mixer), I-output (output of item 25), Q-output (output of item 26)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) with the teachings of Funai (‘587) {provide local oscillation signal with 90-degree difference for use by frequency downconverter and down-converting received signal to generate an in-phase (I) signal and a quadrature- phase (Q) signal frequency down-converters} to provide local oscillation signal with 90-degree difference for use by frequency downconverter and down-converting received signal to generate an in-phase (I) signal and a quadrature- phase (Q) signal frequency down-converters. Doing so would provide in-phase and quadrature-phase signals for extracting Doppler signal, as recognized by Funai (‘587){col.1 lines 33-35, 90-degree shifters, providing, phase difference of 90 degrees, for, extracting, Doppler signal}.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishigami (‘209), and Rittenbach (‘655) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Kishigami-2 (‘924).
Regarding claim 24, which depends on claim 14, Kishigami (‘209) discloses that the method further comprising:
switching a phase of a transmit signal {Fig.3 item 102 (code generating section); Col.6 lines 48-49, phase shift keying, code an}
.
However, Kishigami (‘209) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “switching a phase of a transmit signal by ±90° in responses to a phase control signal supplied by a processor and transmitting a first signal defined by a first phase and a second signal defined by a second phase”. Rittenbach (‘655) does not disclose the limitation, which Kishigami (‘209) does not disclose, as well. In the same field of endeavor, Kishigami-2 (‘924) discloses that
switching a phase of a transmit signal by ±90° in responses to a phase control signal supplied by a processor and transmitting a first signal defined by a first phase and a second signal defined by a second phase {[0063] lines 3-5, code generation portion, alternately, generates transmission code, in two periods; [0065] lines 4-7, QPSK, Cn, [1, -1, j, -j]; “j” for 90-degree}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute phase shift keying in the combination of Kishigami (‘209) and Rittenbach (‘655) with the teachings of Kishigami-2 (‘924) {use binary phase-shift keying} to use binary phase-shift keying. Doing so would provide four values in transmission codes so as to make it possible to achieve low sidelobe performance in received reflection signal via code sequences configuration, as recognized by Kishigami-2 (‘924) {[0062] lines 4-9}.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2012/0092284 discloses that “transfer power wirelessly via a radiating radio frequency (RF) signal to charge a power recovery unit” {[0144] lines 13-14 (a wireless power conversion signal at a frequency corresponding to the wireless power conversion tone.), 18-20 (The power conversion signal may be transmitted throughout the portable computing device and to the multi-mode RF units via the RF link)}, which further support the rejections of claims 13 and 26.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONGHONG LI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3648