DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 8, filed 7/1/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 12 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art DE 3921015 (Blasczyk) which discloses an activity pool with an axial flow pump supplying water from a water reservoir to an activity pool and FR 3058992 (Berthod) which teaches providing a raisable activity deck in an activity pool with a current flow provided by a pump.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the:
Axial flow pump nozzle having a cross-sectional area proximal a water flow channel of the pump which is larger than a cross-sectional area proximate the activity pool reservoir
Axial flow pump nozzle having a cross-sectional area proximal a water flow channel of the pump which is smaller than a cross-sectional area proximate the activity pool reservoir
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 29 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 29 states that “the motor of the axial flow pump is disclosed above the water reservoir)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 10-12, 14 and 16-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially coplanar” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially coplanar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Applicant’s disclosure defines ‘substantially’ as within 5% or 10% of a referenced value (Para. 106). These are two separate ranges and no value has been defined to be within 5% or 10% of.
Claims 2, 10-11 and 22-29 are rejected due to their dependency from claim 1.
The term “substantially coplanar” in claim 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially coplanar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Applicant’s disclosure defines ‘substantially’ as within 5% or 10% of a referenced value (Para. 106). These are two separate ranges and no value has been defined to be within 5% or 10% of.
Claims 14 and 16-21 are rejected due to their dependency from claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 10, 12, 14, 16-17, 22, 26-27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 3921015 (Blasczyk) in view of FR 3058992 (Berthod).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Blasczyk discloses an activity pool comprising:
a pool comprising a top opening and a depth (Fig. 2), wherein the pool comprises a water reservoir (2/8/11) and an activity pool reservoir (1) disposed adjacent to the water reservoir, wherein the water reservoir and the activity pool reservoir are separated in part by a wall (8/11/12/13);
a floor (14) in the activity pool reservoir;
an axial flow pump (3/4/5/8/10/15) comprising a motor (10), a drive shaft (15) and an impeller (9), wherein the drive shaft extends below the motor along a vertical axis and is coupled with the motor on one end and the impeller on the other end (Fig. 2);
wherein the axial flow pump is capable of forcing water from the water reservoir through the axial flow pump into the activity pool reservoir above the floor (14) and wherein the inlet aperture of the axial flow pump is disposed below the lowest point of the floor of the activity pool reservoir (Fig. 2).
Blasczyk, however, does not disclose that the activity pool reservoir has a vertically adjustable activity deck moveable through a plurality of lifts positioned in a U-shaped or H-shaped configuration.
Berthod teaches an activity pool (1) having an activity pool reservoir (10) provided with a current for swimming by a pump (70) (Specification) and comprising an activity deck (5) disposed within the activity pool reservoir above a floor (2) of the reservoir and moveable in a vertical direction between a plurality of configurations. The configurations including a full pool configuration corresponding to a lowest position of the activity deck (Fig. 4), a sport pool configuration where the activity deck is positioned below the top opening of the pool at a second level above the first level (Specification - intermediate level selectable between lowest and highest points of the deck movement) and an activity court configuration where a top surface of the activity deck is substantially coplanar with the top opening of the activity pool reservoir (Fig. 5; highest position). A plurality of lifts (40) capable of moving the activity deck are arranged in an H-shaped or U-shaped configuration (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a vertically movable activity deck configured to be positioned at different heights in the activity pool reservoir through the use of a plurality of lifts in a U-shaped or H-shaped configuration, as taught by Berthod, to better accommodate different users such as children, to provide additional functionality by facilitating use of the pool area for non-swimming activities and/or to block off the pool water to conserve water loss from evaporation when it is not in use and/or for safety.
Regarding claim 2, the activity deck as taught by Berthod comprises a frame (50/51/52) which can be made of metal (Specification - aluminum) and a composite material (53; Specification - fiber-reinforced concrete slabs, tiled slabs or composite material).
Regarding claims 12, 14 and 16, Blasczyk discloses an activity pool comprising:
a pool volume comprising a top opening and a depth (Fig. 2),
a floor (14) in the activity pool reservoir;
a water reservoir (2/8/11) disposed in the pool volume;
an activity pool reservoir (1) disposed adjacent to the water reservoir;
an axial flow pump (3/4/5/8/10/15) capable of forcing water from the water reservoir through the axial flow pump into the activity pool reservoir;
the axial flow pump comprising a motor (10), a drive shaft (15) and an impeller (9), wherein the drive shaft extends below the motor along a vertical axis and is coupled with the motor on one end and the impeller on the other end (Fig. 2);
wherein an inlet aperture of the axial flow pump is disposed below the lowest point of the floor of the activity pool reservoir (Fig. 2).
Blasczyk, however, does not disclose that the activity pool reservoir has a vertically adjustable activity deck comprising a composite material moved through a plurality of lifts disposed between the activity deck and bottom of the pool in a U-shaped or H-shaped configuration.
Berthod teaches an activity pool (1) having an activity pool reservoir (10) provided with a current for swimming by a pump (70) (Specification) and comprising an activity deck (5) comprising composite material (Specification) disposed within the activity pool reservoir above a floor (2) of the reservoir and moveable in a vertical direction between a plurality of configurations. The configurations including a full pool configuration corresponding to a first and lowest level of the activity deck (Fig. 4), a sport pool configuration where the activity deck is positioned below the top opening of the pool at a second level above the first level (Specification - intermediate level selectable between lowest and highest points of the deck movement), an activity court configuration where a top surface of the activity deck is substantially coplanar with the top opening of the activity pool reservoir (Fig. 5; highest position) and a kiddie pool configuration at a third level between the second level and activity court level (Specification – intermediate levels can be selected between lowest and highest points of deck movement). A plurality of lifts (40) capable of moving the activity deck are positioned between the pool bottom (2) and the activity deck (5) and are arranged in an H-shaped or U-shaped configuration (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a vertically movable activity deck configured to be positioned at different heights in the activity pool reservoir through the use of a plurality of lifts positioned between the activity deck and pool floor in a U-shaped or H-shaped configuration, as taught by Berthod, to better accommodate different users such as children, to provide additional functionality by facilitating use of the pool area for non-swimming activities and/or to block off the pool water to conserve water loss from evaporation when it is not in use and/or for safety.
Regarding claim 17, the activity deck as taught by Berthod comprises a frame (50/51/52) which can be made of metal (Specification - aluminum) and a composite material (53; Specification - fiber-reinforced concrete slabs, tiled slabs or composite material).
Regarding claim 22, Blasczyk states that the pool comprises a sloped portion configured such that a bottom of the water reservoir is positioned below a bottom of the activity pool reservoir (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 26, Blasczyk states that the axial flow pump comprises an outlet nozzle capable of directing water flow produced by the axial flow pump over the activity deck, wherein directing the water flow comprises one of spreading the water flow across the activity pool reservoir and converging the water flow within the activity pool reservoir (Fig. 3, annotated below. The outlet of the pump assembly converges the water flow prior to dispensing through 12).
.
Regarding claim 27, Blasczyk states that the axial flow pump comprises an outlet nozzle configured such that a cross-sectional area of outlet nozzle proximal to a water flow channel (4) of the axial flow pump is larger than a cross-sectional area of the outlet nozzle proximal to the activity pool reservoir (Fig. 3, annotated figure below. Pump outlet path converges/narrows towards the activity pool reservoir).
Regarding claim 29, Blasczyk states that the motor of the axial flow pump is disposed above the water reservoir (Fig. 2) and the plurality of lifts as taught by Berthod are hydraulic lifts positioned between the activity deck and a bottom of the activity pool reservoir. Regarding the height/depth of the second level, the activity deck as taught by Berthod is configured to stop at any intermediate point between the first/lowest level and the top of the pool as previously discussed and as such is configured to stop at a second level between 1 and 3 feet below the pool top.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blasczyk in view of Berthod as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of DE 19515285 (Doege).
Regarding claim 28, Blasczyk states that the axial flow pump assembly is configured to distribute a uniform flow (Specification) but does not state the inclusion of a nozzle with a cross-sectional area that increases from an area proximal the pump water flow channel to an area proximal the activity pool reservoir.
Doege teaches an activity pool (1) comprising an activity pool reservoir (1/7/12) and a water reservoir (13) with an axial flow pump (2/5) having a nozzle outlet (8) that increases in cross-sectional area from a location (8.1) proximal a flow channel (6) of the pump to a position (8.2) proximal to the activity pool reservoir to assist in distributing the flow of water in a uniform manner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an expanding outlet nozzle on the flow pump outlet, as taught by Doege, to further assist in uniformly distributing the flow of water across the pool for user comfort and/or predictability/repeatability of the flow as may be needed for various exercises/activities.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 18-21 and 23-25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A ROS/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754