DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to papers filed 4/20/2026.
Applicant’s election of the species of ZFP36L1, DCXR and Chr4:90790001-90792000 in the reply filed on 6/08/2022 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
4. Claims 2, 5-6, 10, 12-13 are pending. Claim 1, 3-4, 7-9 and 11 has been cancelled. Claims 5-6 has been withdrawn as being drawn to nonelected species.
5. The following rejections for claims 2, 10, 12-13 are newly applied necessitated by amendment.
6. This action is FINAL.
Withdrawn Rejections
The 35 USC 112a rejection made in the previous office action is withdrawn based upon amendments to the claims.
The 35 USC 112b rejection made in the previous office action is withdrawn based upon the amendments that cancel the “optional” step.
Claim Interpretation
The claims have been amended to delete the requirement that FPKM value is greater than or equal to 10, and as such the claims have been broaden in the interpretation for obviousness. Further, it is noted that “consisting essentially of” is being interpreted as “comprising”. This interpretation is based upon the response to arguments stating that the language may be construed equivalently to comprising for examination purposes (see page 7 of reply).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erbenstein et al. (WO 2014/191981 December 4, 2014) in view of Dor et al. (WO2015/159293 April 14, 2025) and Lee et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0376612 Dec 31, 2015)
With regard to claim 2, Erbenstein et al. teaches obtaining samples and incubating the DNA with β-glucosyltransferase and UDP and placing 5hmc on a solid support (p 3 , 6, and 24).
Erbenstein et al. does not teach that the sample is from cfDNA.
Erbenstein et al. teaches providing a reference hydroxy methylome reference (p. 44-45). Erbenstein et al. teaches dividing the full length of DNA to give a normalized value for 5hmC, however, does not teach FPKM (p 43-44 and 48). Erbenstein et al. teaches mapping to determine differences (p. 44). Erbenstein et al. teaches measurement of increased expression of hydroxy methylation (p. 30). Erbenstein et al. teaches that 5hmC levels vary greatly between different tissues and suggests detection of epigenetic modifications in tissue distribution (p 1, 6 and 47).
With regard to claim 2, Dor et al teaches that cfDNA can be used in tissue of origin methodologies (p. 12-16). Dor et al. teaches that 5 hydroxymethylcytosine can be detected in cfDNA (p. 12-16).
With regard to claims 10, 12, Dor et a. teaches that cfDNA profiles can be used to compare to particular tissue references (p 12-16). Dor et al teaches methylome comparisons and as such these steps can be combined with Erbenstein et al. to measure and compare 5hmC.
With regard to claim 2, Lee et al. teaches methods of assembling transcript expression data (para 41-46 and 145 and 244). Lee et al. teaches that one method of calculating and assembling is by used FPKM (para 41-46).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method of Erbenstein et al. to use the method steps and sample type of Dor et al. and Lee et al in order to screen easily obtained cfDNA from fluid samples and use the comparison methodology for large number of expression products as taught by Lee et al. The ordinary artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success of combining known steps of determining 5mC differences.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE D SALMON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682