DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 61-90, 95, 97 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bora et al. “Bora” US 2013/0234598 in view of Brown et al. “Brown” US 2015/0356289 and further in view of Albert et al. “Albert” US 2008/0007404 and further in view of Xue et al. “Xue” US 9,907,007.
Regarding claims 61 and 76, Bora teaches a method and an electric control device comprising (Figure 1): a real time clock circuit (Figure 1 110); a wireless transceiver circuit (Figure 1 112); an antenna communicably coupled to the wireless transceiver circuit (Figure 1 114) a light emitting diode (LED) current control circuit (Figure 1 120); and
a controller/processor (Figure 1 106) communicably coupled to the real time clock circuit, the wireless transceiver circuit and the LED control circuit, wherein the controller/processor controls the LED current control circuit to produce a light having a specified color, a specified intensity or both (Paragraphs 82 and 97 teach adjusting the color and intensity).
While Bora teaches the use of Bluetooth (Paragraph 53), Bora does not expressly disclose that the Bluetooth signaling broadcasts an ID number of the device or that the broadcast includes signal strength/movement information. Brown, however, teaches a device can broadcast a secure ID (Mac, device ID, etc.) using Bluetooth; Paragraph 33. Thus, one can see when using Bluetooth transmissions, the signaling is broadcast which includes the devices own ID. Brown further teaches that the received broadcasts include signal strength information as well as location information; Paragraph 109.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Bora to include broadcasting an identification number as well as signal strength/location information as taught by Brown.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that other devices in the network can identify and verify a device as taught by Brown; Paragraph 33.
The prior art does not expressly disclose detecting motion of an object based on fluctuation of signal strength wherein the object is not the device itself or one of the other devices and initiating an action based on detected motion of the object; however, Albert teaches a computer 16 (i.e. claimed electronic device) connected to a router and a plurality of sensor devices (i.e. device and one or more other devices), see Figure 2 sensors 35; Paragraph 40. When an intruder (i.e. object) enters the building and walks around, the intruder’s body causes changes to the signal strength; Paragraphs 41-43. The computer (16) will send a text message to the owner and alert the police department (i.e. initiating an action); Paragraph 42. Thus one can see that the detection of an object that isn’t one of the wireless devices can be determined by changes in signal strength as claimed.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include determining movement of an object, which isn’t one of the devices, based on signal strength fluctuation and initiating an action based on the detected motion of the object as taught by Albert.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system can determine if there is an intruder in a building and notify the owners/police as taught by Albert; Paragraph 42.
The prior art does not expressly disclose the signal strength fluctuation value crosses the defined threshold for a defined interval of time or samples; however, Xue teaches measuring signal strengths, determining the rate of signal strength change (i.e. fluctuation) and compare it to a threshold to determine the speed (i.e. movement) of the device; Figure and Column 4 lines 6-32. Further, Column 9 lines 45-50 teaches that the signal strength can change over a given period of time. Thus the system is determining the rate of change over a period of time as claimed. Further, the claims do not define what the interval or sample amount is, thus under a reasonable interpretation, only one sample needs to be taken to properly read on the broad claim limitation.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include determining signal strength fluctuation over a predetermined time as taught by Xue.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system determine to perform an action of scanning or connecting to a network as taught by Xue; Figure 4 steps 408 and 410.
Regarding claim 62, Bora teaches one or more LEDs connected to the LED current control circuit (Figure 1 122a and 122b); and
The controller/processor provides an on/off signal having a cycle time such that the LEDs produce the light having a specified color or intensity based on how long each LED is turned on or off during the cycle time (the processor/controller sends signals which provides an on/off timing based on a cycle time for providing a particular color / intensity; Paragraphs 82 and 97).
Regarding claims 63 and 81, Bora teaches the one or more LEDs include two or more LEDs that are not turned ON at the same time (Paragraph 97).
Regarding claims 64 and 82, Bora teaches the LED current control comprises a PWM driver, switching or mux circuit or one or more LED control units (Paragraph 81).
Regarding claims 65 and 83, Bora teaches a battery connected to the real time clock circuit (Paragraph 91).
Regarding claims 66 and 84, Bora teaches a hard-reset circuit coupled to the controller/processer (Figure 1 116).
Regarding claim 67, Bora teaches executing one or more programs (Paragraphs 79 and 189 teaches a wireless device sending commands).
Regarding claims 68 and 78, Bora teaches the one or more programs include scheduling, automation, default, user created, quick setup, soft reset, hard rest, or combination (Paragraph 189 teaches a software application is used to manage, automate, and program the lights by the user).
Regarding claims 69 and 85, Bora teaches a user device sending/receiving commands to the controller/processor (Paragraph 79 teaches a wireless device sending commands).
Regarding claims 70, 77, and 86 Bora teaches the commands are selected, created, modified or sent using a user interface on the user device (a user interface is used to control the lights; Paragraph 75. Further paragraph 189 teaches a user interface to receive user’s commands).
Regarding claims 71 and 87, Bora teaches a sensor coupled to the controller/processor (Figure 1 118); and
the sensor is a light sensor (Figure 1 118 is an ambient light sensor).
Regarding claims 72 and 79, Bora teaches the controller/processor updates or monitors the RTC (Paragraph 258 teaches the processor monitoring the RTC. Figure 1 shows the controller and RTC coupled directly together thus some form of monitoring would take place for communication).
Regarding claims 73 and 88, Bora teaches a connection to an AC or DC power source coupled to the RTC, transceiver, control circuit and processor (100, 102, 104 of Figure 1 are the power connections, see Paragraph 83).
Regarding claims 74 and 89, Bora teaches the device operating in a mesh network; Paragraphs 77, 79, and 160).
Regarding claims 75 and 90, Bora teaches the broadcast signal includes a command (Paragraph 79 teaches a wireless device sending commands).
While Bora teaches the use of Bluetooth (Paragraph 53), Bora does not expressly disclose that the Bluetooth signaling broadcasts information. Brown, however, teaches a device can broadcast a secure ID (Mac, device ID, etc.) using Bluetooth; Paragraph 33. Thus, one can see when using Bluetooth transmissions, the signaling is broadcast.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Bora to include broadcasting an identification number as taught by Brown.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that other devices in the network can identify and verify a device as taught by Brown; Paragraph 33.
Regarding claim 80, Bora teaches a light emitting diode (LED) current control circuit coupled to the processor/controller (Figure 1 120);
one or more LEDs connected to the LED current control circuit (Figure 1 122a and 122b);
The controller/processor provides an on/off signal having a cycle time such that the LEDs produce the light having a specified color or intensity based on how long each LED is turned on or off during the cycle time (the processor/controller sends signals which provides an on/off timing based on a cycle time for providing a particular color / intensity; Paragraphs 82 and 97).
Regarding claims 95 and 97, the prior art does not expressly disclose the signal strength fluctuation value crosses a defined threshold; however, Xue teaches measuring signal strengths, determining the rate of signal strength change (i.e. fluctuation) and compare it to a threshold to determine the speed (i.e. movement) of the device; Figure and Column 4 lines 6-32. Further, Column 9 lines 45-50 teaches that the signal strength can change over a given period of time. Thus the system is determining the rate of change over a period of time as claimed. Further, the claims do not define what the interval or sample amount is, thus under a reasonable interpretation, only one sample needs to be taken to properly read on the broad claim limitation.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include determining signal strength fluctuation over a predetermined time as taught by Xue.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system determine to perform an action of scanning or connecting to a network as taught by Xue; Figure 4 steps 408 and 410.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the independent claims, Applicant argues the prior art does not teach whenever a signal strength fluctuation crosses a defined threshold value, initiating one or more defined actions based on the detected motion of the object. Applicant argues Albert’s computer (16) determines if a drop in signal strength is caused by the intruder whereas the controller/processor of the claim language that receives the signal does not send that information to another device for analysis. Instead, the same controller/processor that receives the signal and monitors the strength of the signal determines whether an object is moving based on the signal strength.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The computer (16) is equivalent to the claimed “electronic device”. The computer receives signal strength information from the plurality of sensors (i.e. claimed monitoring a signal strength of signals from each of one or more devices); Paragraph 41. The signal strength fluctuations enable the computer to determine that there is movement (i.e. detect motion of an object based on signal strength). The computer then sends a text message to the local police and the café owner; Paragraph 42. Thus, one can see a singular device (computer 16) of Albert performs detecting and initiating an action steps. Therefore, the claims stand properly rejected.
Conclusion
/BRANDON M RENNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411