DETAILED ACTION
This office action addresses Applicant’s response filed on 19 November 2025. Claims 20, 22, 26, 27, 30-36, 39, 41, 42, 45, 46, 48, and 49 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 48 objected to because of the following informalities: claim 48 depends on claim 47, which has been cancelled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 20, 22, 26, 27, 30-36, 39, 45, 46, 48, and 49 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Karaoguz (US 2011/0127843) in view of Popescu (US 2005/0253560), Ishino (US 2005/0189931), Kohout (US 2005/0200341), Hu (US 2008/0138680), and Shimomoto (US 5,500,584).
Regarding claim 20, Karaoguz discloses a wireless power receiving device (Figs. 4-5, 10) comprising:
a power receiving coil configured to receive a wireless power signal from a wireless power transmitting device (Fig. 5, coil in receiver 86; Fig. 10, RX coil 260);
an impedance matching and rectifying unit configured to rectify the wireless power signal, the impedance matching and rectifying unit having a configurable impedance (Fig. 5, block 96; Fig. 10, circuits 258 and 280; ¶¶69, 92); and
a charging power supply unit electrically coupled to the impedance matching and rectifying unit, the charging power supply unit configured to convert the rectified wireless power signal to a charging power and provide the charging power to a power receiving unit (Fig. 5, blocks 98 and 104; Fig. 10, charging/converter circuits connected between circuits 258 and battery 266);
a current detecting unit configured to detect current in the power receiving unit (¶94); and
a control unit configured to control the configurable impedance of the impedance matching and rectifying unit based on an intensity or resonance of the wireless power signal received via the power receiving coil (¶¶69, 92, 158-159).
Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose that the charging power supply unit is capable of converting the rectified wireless power signal to the charging power using low-heat power transforming in which a switching element alternatively passes and blocks the rectified wireless power signal without reducing a voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal and converting the rectified wireless power signal to the charging power using high-heat power transforming in which a voltage regulator reduces the voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal to supply a stable direct current (DC) power at a target voltage, wherein the control unit is configured to: turn on both a low-heat transforming and a high-heat power transforming for a light load state, determine a charging load state, and selectively turn on either or both of a low-heat power transforming and a high-heat power transforming based, at least in part, on the charging load state.
Popescu discloses that the charging power supply unit is capable of converting the rectified wireless power signal to the charging power using low-heat power transforming in which a switching element alternatively passes and blocks the rectified wireless power signal without reducing a voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal and converting the rectified wireless power signal to the charging power using high-heat power transforming in which a voltage regulator reduces the voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal to supply a stable direct current (DC) power at a target voltage (¶5); a current detecting unit configured to detect current in the power receiving unit (¶29); wherein the control unit is configured to determine a charging load state (¶¶7, 8) and selectively turn on either or both of a low-heat power transforming and a high-heat power transforming based, at least in part, on the charging load state (¶¶7, 8, 35).
Ishino discloses that the charging power supply unit is capable of converting the rectified wireless power signal to the charging power using low-heat power transforming in which a switching element alternatively passes and blocks the rectified wireless power signal without reducing a voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal (Fig. 1, switching DC-DC converter 30; ¶¶97, 108); and
converting the rectified wireless power signal to the charging power using high-heat power transforming in which a voltage regulator reduces the voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal to supply a stable direct current (DC) power at a target voltage (Fig. 1, LDO converter 20; ¶96);
wherein the control unit is configured to:
turn on both a low-heat power transforming and a high-heat power transforming for a light load state (Fig. 7, T1 or T2; ¶68);
determine a charging load state (¶67);
selectively turn on either or both of a low-heat power transforming and a high-heat power transforming based, at least in part, on the charging load state. (Fig. 7; ¶¶67, 99).
Specifically, Ishino discloses selecting between a switching DC-DC transforming technique and a low drop output (LDO) transforming technique, based on the load. The LDO transforming technique is a high-heat technique because it dissipates energy from direct voltage change. The switching DC-DC transforming technique is a low-heat technique because it is more efficient (no/less energy dissipated) due to controlling the power duty cycle (on/off time) rather than directly changing the input voltage. Ishino’s arrangement is identical to Applicant’s disclosed invention (see ¶¶52-53 of the Specification as filed).
Thus, Karaoguz discloses a wireless charging system. Popescu teaches that the charging system includes selectable low-heat and high-heat power transforming units, that are selected based on the charging load state. Ishino then teaches that the selection between low-heat and high-heat power transforming units (as taught by Popescu) is based on the charging load state (in the context of Karaoguz and Popescu), and turning on both the low-heat and high-heat power transforming unit for a light load state when transitioning between light and high load states.
It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Karaoguz, Popescu, and Ishino, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques, and/or the routine application of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, to produce merely the predictable results of increasing power transforming efficiency by selectively enabling transforming units based on load. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Karaoguz discloses a wireless power transfer system that transforms input power to a desired output power for charging a battery. Popescu teaches that the charging system includes selectable low-heat and high-heat power transforming units based on charging load. Ishino discloses that such power transformation should be performed by selecting appropriate transforming units based on the load to improve transformation efficiency, and turning both transforming units when transitioning between different load states. The teachings of Popescu and Ishino are directly applicable to Karaoguz in the same way, so that Karaoguz’s wireless power transfer system would similarly use different transforming techniques that are selectively enabled to improve power transformation efficiency.
If Ishino is found to be unclear regarding the low-heat power transforming not reducing a voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal, Kohout also explicitly discloses these limitations (¶¶3-4). Specifically, Ishino discloses a switching transforming technique, which passes or blocks DC power by toggling switches (Fig. 3, switches 31, 32; ¶¶101, 108). Identically to Applicant’s invention, Ishino’s arrangement in Fig. 3 does not reduce the voltage level of received power signal. Nevertheless, in the interest of compact prosecution, Kohout provides further explicit disclosure of switching power transforming techniques that do not reduce a voltage level of a received power signal (¶4). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Karaoguz, Popescu, Ishino, and Kohout, because doing so would have involved merely the routine substitution of an element for a known equivalent to achieve merely the predictable results of selecting a switching power transforming technique that can operate at different voltages. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Karaoguz discloses a wireless power transfer system that transforms input power to a desired output power for charging a battery. Ishino teaches that such power transformation should be performed by selecting either LDO or switching transforming technique based on load to improve transformation efficiency. Kohout teaches that switching transforming technique can be performed at various voltages. The teachings of Kohout are directly applicable to Karaoguz and Ishino in the same way, so that Karaoguz’s power transfer would similarly use a switching transformation technique performed at various voltages.
Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose turning off both the low-heat power transforming and the high-heat power transforming when the charging load state indicates charging is complete. However, persons having ordinary skill in the art would clearly understand that the low-heat and high-heat power transforming units used for charging, as taught by Popescu and Ishino, would be turned off when the charging load state indicates that charging (that the units are performing in the first place) is complete; i.e. it is clear that when the function that the units are performing (charging) is complete, the units would be turned off. Hu discloses the same (¶114). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Karaoguz, Popescu, Ishino, Kohout, and Hu, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques, or the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, to produce merely the predictable results of turning off charging components when their operation is finished. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Karaoguz discloses Karaoguz discloses a wireless power transfer system that transforms input power to a desired output power for charging a battery. Popescu and Ishino teach specific power transforming units for charging the battery. Persons having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the transforming units would be shut off when charging is completed, as taught by Hu. The teachings of Hu are directly applicable to Karaoguz, Popescu, and Ishino, so that the power transforming units of Karaoguz, Popescu, and Ishino would similarly be turned off when the charging is complete and the operation of the transforming units is finished.
Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose that the determination of charging load state is based on a time-lapse of charging the power receiving unit and a current level detected by the current detecting unit. As discussed with regard to Popescu, battery chargers use initial light charging load states, normal/quick charging load states, and ending/tapering charging load states (¶¶7, 8), and Shimomoto discloses the determination of charging load state is based on a time-lapse of charging the power receiving unit and a current level detected by the current detecting unit (Fig. 1; col. 3, lines 61-66).
It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Karaoguz, Popescu, Ishino, Kohout, Hu, and Shimomoto, because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of quickly and efficiently charging a battery while reducing risk of overcharging and damage. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Karaoguz discloses a wireless power transfer system that transforms input power to a desired output power for charging a battery. Shimomoto teaches that when charging a battery, an initial light load charging period of predetermined time allows gradual increase in charging power while monitoring the battery for anomalies, before transitioning to a middle load charging period to charge the battery more rapidly. The teachings of Shimomoto are directly applicable to Karaoguz in the same way, so that Karaoguz’s power transfer would similarly use an initial light load charging period of predetermined time followed by a middle load charging period to quickly charge a battery while reducing risk of faults or damage.
Regarding claim 22, Karaoguz discloses that the impedance matching and rectifying unit configured to match the impedance of the wireless power receiving device with that of the wireless power transmitting device so that the power receiving coil can resonate with the wireless power signal (¶¶76-77, 92).
Regarding claim 26, Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose that the high-heat power transforming provides a stable output power by downing the voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal using. Ishino discloses these limitations (¶96). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 20.
Regarding claim 27, Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose that the low-heat power transforming uses a field effect transistor (FET) switching element and the high-heat power transforming uses a low drop output (LDO) voltage regulator. Ishino discloses these limitations (¶¶96, 108). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 20.
Regarding claim 30, Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose that the low-heat power transforming unit has a lower power loss than the high-heat power transforming, and the high-heat power transforming provides a greater charging power than the low-heat power transforming. Ishino discloses these limitations (¶¶3, 67, 96, 97). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 20.
Regarding claim 31, Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose that the control unit is configured to: determine that the charging load state is an initial light load state when the power receiving unit starts to be charged, determine that the charging load state is a middle load state after a predetermined charging time in the initial light load state. Popescu discloses that the charging load state is an initial light load state when the power receiving unit starts to be charged (¶7). Ishino discloses that the control unit is configured to: determine that the state is an initial light load state when the power receiving unit starts, and determine that the state is the middle load state after a predetermined time in the initial light load state (Fig. 7). Shimomoto discloses determine that the charging state is an initial light load state when the power receiving unit starts to be charged, and determine that the charging state is the middle load state after a predetermined charging time in the initial light load state (Fig. 1, periods ‘a’ and ‘b’). The combination of Karaoguz, Popescu, Ishino, Hu, and Shimomoto suggests a control unit controlling a charging process (per Karaoguz) in which an initial light loading period is followed by a middle load period after a predetermined time period (per Shimomoto), the high-heat transforming being turned on during the light load and the low-heat transforming being turned on during the middle load (per Ishino).
It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Karaoguz, Popescu, Ishino, Kohout, Hu, and Shimomoto, because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of quickly and efficiently charging a battery while reducing risk of overcharging and damage. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Karaoguz discloses a wireless power transfer system that transforms input power to a desired output power for charging a battery. Shimomoto teaches that when charging a battery, an initial light load charging period allows gradual increase in charging power while monitoring the battery for anomalies, before transition to a middle load charging period to charge the battery more rapidly, and transitioning to another light load charging period to avoid overcharging as battery approaches full charge. Ishino discloses that power transformation should be performed by selecting appropriate transforming techniques based on load to improve transformation efficiency. The teachings of Shimomoto and Ishino are directly applicable to Karaoguz in the same way, so that Karaoguz’s power transfer would similar use an initial light load charging period followed by a middle load charging period to quickly charge a battery while reducing risk of faults or damage, and another light load period as the battery approaches full charge, where light load charging uses a low-heat transforming technique and middle load charging uses a high-heat transforming technique to improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 32, Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose that the control unit is configured to: turn on both the low-heat power transforming and the high-heat power transforming for a predetermined time based on a charging state transition, and maintain the low-heat power transforming being turned on and turn off the high-heat power transforming when the predetermined time has passed. Ishino discloses these limitations (Fig. 7; ¶68). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 20.
Regarding claim 33, Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose that the control unit is configured to: determine that the charging load state is a subsequent light load state when the power receiving unit reaches a first level lower than a charged-up state, and turn off the low-heat power transforming and turn on the high-heat power transforming during the subsequent light load state. Shimomoto discloses that the control unit is configured to determine that the charging load state is a subsequent light load state when the power receiving unit reaches a first level lower than a charged-up state (Fig. 1, period ‘c’); Popescu also discloses the same (¶7). Ishino discloses that the control unit is configured to turn off the low-heat power transforming and turn on the high-heat power transforming during the subsequent light load state (Fig. 7, ¶67). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claims 20 and 31.
Regarding claim 34, Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose that the control unit configured to turn off the low-heat power transforming and turn on the high-heat power transforming includes the control unit being configured to: turn on both the low-heat power transforming and the high-heat power transforming for a predetermined time in response to determining the subsequent light load state, and maintain the high-heat power transforming being turned on and turn off the low-heat power transforming when the predetermined time has passed. Ishino discloses these limitations (Fig. 7; ¶68). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claims 20 and 31.
Regarding claim 35, Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose that the control unit is configured to determine that the power receiving unit has been charged up, and turn off both the first power transforming unit and the second power transforming unit. However, as discussed above with regard to claim 20, persons having ordinary skill in the art would clearly understand that the low-heat and high-heat power transforming units used for charging, as taught by Popescu and Ishino, would be turned off when the charging load state indicates that charging (that the units are performing in the first place) is complete; i.e. it is clear that when the function that the units are performing (charging) is complete, the units would be turned off. Hu discloses the same (¶114). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 20.
Regarding claim 36, Karaoguz discloses a method performed by a wireless power receiving device (Figs. 5 and 10), the method comprising:
receiving, via a power receiving coil, a wireless power signal from a wireless power transmitting device (Fig. 5, coil in receiver 86; Fig. 10, RX coil 260; ¶92);
rectifying the wireless power signal using an impedance matching and rectifying unit coupled to the power receiving coil, the impedance matching and rectifying unit having a configurable impedance (Fig. 5, block 96; Fig. 10, circuits 258 and 280; ¶¶69, 92);
controlling the configurable impedance of the impedance matching and rectifying unit based on an intensity or resonance of the wireless power signal (Fig. 5, block 96; Fig. 10, circuits 258 and 280; ¶¶69, 92, 158-159);
using a charging power supply unit electrically coupled to the impedance matching and rectifying unit: converting the wireless power signal to a charging power (Fig. 5, blocks 98 and 104; Fig. 10, charging/converter circuits connected between circuits 258 and battery 266);
a power receiving unit electrically coupled to the wireless power receiving device (Figs. 5 and 10, battery).
Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose using the charging power supply unit: when low-heat power transforming is turned on, converting the wireless power signal to a charging power using low-heat power transforming in which a switching element alternatively passes and blocks the rectified wireless power signal without reducing a voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal, and when high-heat power transforming is turned on, converting the wireless power signal to the charging power using high-heat power transforming in which a voltage regulator reduces the voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal to supply a stable direct current (DC) power at a target voltage, turning on both a low-heat transforming and a high-heat power transforming for a light load state, determine a charging load state, and selectively turning on either or both of a low-heat power transforming and a high-heat power transforming based, at least in part, on the charging load state.
Popescu discloses using the charging power supply unit: when low-heat power transforming is turned on, converting the wireless power signal to a charging power using low-heat power transforming in which a switching element alternatively passes and blocks the rectified wireless power signal without reducing a voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal, and when high-heat power transforming is turned on, converting the wireless power signal to a charging power using high-heat power transforming in which a voltage regulator reduces the voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal to supply a stable direct current (DC) power at a target voltage (¶5); wherein the control unit is configured to determine a charging load state (¶¶7, 8) and selectively turn on either or both of a low-heat power transforming and a high-heat power transforming based, at least in part, on the charging load state (¶¶7, 8, 35).
Ishino discloses using the charging power supply unit: when low-heat power transforming is turned on, converting the wireless power signal to a charging power using low-heat power transforming in which a switching element alternatively passes and blocks the rectified wireless power signal without reducing a voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal (Fig. 1, switching DC-DC converter 30; ¶¶97, 108); and
and when high-heat power transforming is turned on, converting the wireless power signal to a charging power using high-heat power transforming in which a voltage regulator reduces the voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal to supply a stable direct current (DC) power at a target voltage (Fig. 1, LDO converter 20; ¶96);
turning on both a low-heat power transforming and a high-heat power transforming for a light load state (Fig. 7, T1 or T2; ¶68);
determine a charging load state (¶67);
selectively turning on either or both of a low-heat power transforming and a high-heat power transforming based, at least in part, on the charging load state. (Fig. 7; ¶¶67, 99).
Specifically, Ishino discloses selecting between a switching DC-DC transforming technique and a low drop output (LDO) transforming technique, based on the load. The LDO transforming technique is a high-heat technique because it dissipates energy from direct voltage change. The switching DC-DC transforming technique is a low-heat technique because it is more efficient (no/less energy dissipated) due to controlling the power duty cycle (on/off time) rather than directly changing the input voltage. Ishino’s arrangement is identical to Applicant’s disclosed invention (see ¶¶52-53 of the Specification as filed).
Thus, Karaoguz discloses a wireless charging system, Popescu teaches that the charging system includes selectable low-heat and high-heat power transforming units, that are selected based on the charging load state. Ishino then teaches that the selection between low-heat and high-heat power transforming units (as taught by Popescu) is based on the charging load state (in the context of Karaoguz and Popescu), and turning on both the low-heat and high-heat power transforming unit for a light load state when transitioning between light and high load states.
It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Karaoguz, Popescu, and Ishino, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques, and/or the routine application of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, to produce merely the predictable results of increasing power transforming efficiency by selectively enabling transforming units based on load. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Karaoguz discloses a wireless power transfer system that transforms input power to a desired output power for charging a battery. Popescu teaches that the charging system includes selectable low-heat and high-heat power transforming units based on charging load. Ishino discloses that such power transformation should be performed by selecting appropriate transforming units based on the load to improve transformation efficiency, and turning both transforming units when transitioning between different load states. The teachings of Popescu and Ishino are directly applicable to Karaoguz in the same way, so that Karaoguz’s wireless power transfer system would similarly use different transforming techniques that are selectively enabled to improve power transformation efficiency.
If Ishino is found to be unclear regarding the low-heat power transforming not reducing a voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal, Kohout also explicitly discloses these limitations (¶4). Specifically, Ishino discloses a switching transforming technique, which passes or blocks DC power by toggling switches (Fig. 3, switches 31, 32; ¶¶101, 108). Identically to Applicant’s invention, Ishino’s arrangement in Fig. 3 does not reduce the voltage level of received power signal. Nevertheless, in the interest of compact prosecution, Kohout provides further explicit disclosure of switching power transforming techniques that do not reduce a voltage level of a received power signal (¶4). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Karaoguz, Popescu, Ishino, and Kohout, because doing so would have involved merely the routine substitution of an element for a known equivalent to achieve merely the predictable results of selecting a switching power transforming technique that can operate at different voltages. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Karaoguz discloses a wireless power transfer system that transforms input power to a desired output power for charging a battery. Ishino teaches that such power transformation should be performed by selecting either LDO or switching transforming technique based on load to improve transformation efficiency. Kohout teaches that switching transforming technique can be performed at various voltages. The teachings of Kohout are directly applicable to Karaoguz and Ishino in the same way, so that Karaoguz’s power transfer would similarly use a switching transformation technique performed at various voltages.
Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose turning off both the low-heat power transforming and the high-heat power transforming when the charging load state indicates charging is complete. However, persons having ordinary skill in the art would clearly understand that the low-heat and high-heat power transforming units used for charging, as taught by Popescu and Ishino, would be turned off when the charging load state indicates that charging (that the units are performing in the first place) is complete; i.e. it is clear that when the function that the units are performing (charging) is complete, the units would be turned off. Hu discloses the same (¶114). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Karaoguz, Popescu, Ishino, Kohout, and Hu, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques, or the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, to produce merely the predictable results of turning off charging components when their operation is finished. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Karaoguz discloses a wireless power transfer system that transforms input power to a desired output power for charging a battery. Popescu and Ishino teach specific power transforming units for charging the battery. Persons having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the transforming units would be shut off when charging is completed, as taught by Hu. The teachings of Hu are directly applicable to Karaoguz, Popescu, and Ishino, so that the power transforming units of Karaoguz, Popescu, and Ishino would similarly be turned off when the charging is complete and the operation of the transforming units is finished.
Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose that the determination of charging load state is based on a time-lapse of charging a power receiving unit electrically coupled to the powerless power receiving device and a current level of the power receiving unit. As discussed with regard to Popescu, battery chargers use initial light charging load states, normal/quick charging load states, and ending/tapering charging load states (¶¶7, 8), and Shimomoto discloses the determination of charging load state is based on a time-lapse of charging a power receiving unit electrically coupled to the powerless power receiving device and a current level of the power receiving unit (Fig. 1; col. 3, lines 61-66).
It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Karaoguz, Popescu, Ishino, Kohout, Hu, and Shimomoto, because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of quickly and efficiently charging a battery while reducing risk of overcharging and damage. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Karaoguz discloses a wireless power transfer system that transforms input power to a desired output power for charging a battery. Shimomoto teaches that when charging a battery, an initial light load charging period of predetermined time allows gradual increase in charging power while monitoring the battery for anomalies, before transitioning to a middle load charging period to charge the battery more rapidly. The teachings of Shimomoto are directly applicable to Karaoguz in the same way, so that Karaoguz’s power transfer would similarly use an initial light load charging period of predetermined time followed by a middle load charging period to quickly charge a battery while reducing risk of faults or damage.
Regarding claim 39, Karaoguz discloses detecting, by a current detecting unit, the amount of power stored in the power receiving unit and controlling the charging power supply unit based, at least in part, on the charging load state (Figs. 10, 11, 14, and 15; ¶¶93-94). These limitations are also taught Popescu (¶¶5-7), and Ishino (¶67) in the manner explained in the rejection of claim 36. Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 36.
Regarding claim 45, Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose that the control unit is configured to: select the high-heat power transforming during an initial light load state and a subsequent light load state to provide the stable DC power at the target voltage, and select the low-heat power transforming during a middle load state between the initial light load state and the subsequent light load state. Ishino discloses these limitations (Fig. 7; ¶¶67, 96, 97); Shimomoto (Fig. 1)) and Popescu (¶¶7, 8) also disclose the initial light load state, subsequent light load state, and middle load state. Motivation to combine remains consistent with claims 20 and 31.
Regarding claim 46, Karaoguz discloses a method performed by a wireless power receiving device (Figs. 4-5, 10), the method comprising:
receiving a wireless power signal from a wireless power transmitting device (Fig. 5, coil in receiver 86; Fig. 10, RX coil 260; ¶92);
rectifying the wireless power signal using an impedance matching and rectifying unit (Fig. 5, block 96; Fig. 10, circuits 258 and 280; ¶¶69, 92); and
using a charging power supply unit electrically coupled to the impedance matching and rectifying unit, converting the wireless power signal to either a first charging power or a second charging power based on a charging load state (Fig. 5, blocks 98 and 104; Fig. 10, charging/converter circuits connected between circuits 258 and battery 266; ¶¶93, 94);
a power receiving unit electrically coupled to the wireless power receiving device (Figs. 5 and 10, battery).
Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose that converting the wireless power includes: converting the wireless power signal to the first charging power using a low-heat power transforming in which a switching element alternatively passes and blocks the rectified wireless power signal without reducing a voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal; and converting the wireless power signal to the second charging power using a high-heat power transforming in which a voltage regulator reduces the voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal to supply a stable direct current (DC) power at a target voltage; and turning on both a low-heat transforming and a high-heat power transforming for a light load state.
Popescu discloses that converting the wireless power includes: converting the wireless power signal to the first charging power using a low-heat power transforming in which a switching element alternatively passes and blocks the rectified wireless power signal without reducing a voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal; and converting the wireless power signal to the second charging power using a high-heat power transforming in which a voltage regulator reduces the voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal to supply a stable direct current (DC) power at a target voltage (¶5); determining the charging load state of a power receiving unit electrically coupled to the wireless power receiving device (¶¶7, 8); selecting the low-heat power transforming, the high-heat power transforming, or both, based on the charging load state (¶¶7, 8, 35).
Ishino discloses that converting the wireless power includes: converting the wireless power signal to the first charging power using a low-heat power transforming in which a switching element alternatively passes and blocks the rectified wireless power signal without reducing a voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal (Fig. 1, switching DC-DC converter 30; ¶¶97, 108); and
converting the wireless power signal to the second charging power using a high-heat power transforming in which a voltage regulator reduces the voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal to supply a stable direct current (DC) power at a target voltage (Fig. 1, LDO converter 20; ¶96); and
turning on both a low-heat power transforming and a high-heat power transforming for a light load state (Fig. 7, T1 or T2; ¶68).
determining the charging load state of a power receiving unit electrically coupled to the wireless power receiving device (¶67);
selecting the low-heat power transforming, the high-heat power transforming, or both, based on the charging load state (Fig. 7; ¶¶67, 99).
Specifically, Ishino discloses selecting between a switching DC-DC transforming technique and a low drop output (LDO) transforming technique, based on the load. The LDO transforming technique is a high-heat technique because it dissipates energy from direct voltage change. The switching DC-DC transforming technique is a low-heat technique because it is more efficient (no/less energy dissipated) due to controlling the power duty cycle (on/off time) rather than directly changing the input voltage. Ishino’s arrangement is identical to Applicant’s disclosed invention (see ¶¶52-53 of the Specification as filed).
Thus, Karaoguz discloses a wireless charging system, Popescu teaches that the charging system includes selectable low-heat and high-heat power transforming units, that are selected based on the charging load state. Ishino then teaches that the selection between low-heat and high-heat power transforming units (as taught by Popescu) is based on the charging load state (in the context of Karaoguz and Popescu), and turning on both the low-heat and high-heat power transforming unit for a light load state when transitioning between light and high load states.
It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Karaoguz, Popescu, and Ishino, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques, and/or the routine application of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, to produce merely the predictable results of increasing power transforming efficiency by selectively enabling transforming units based on load. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Karaoguz discloses a wireless power transfer system that transforms input power to a desired output power for charging a battery. Popescu teaches that the charging system includes selectable low-heat and high-heat power transforming units based on charging load. Ishino discloses that such power transformation should be performed by selecting appropriate transforming units based on the load to improve transformation efficiency, and turning both transforming units when transitioning between different load states. The teachings of Popescu and Ishino are directly applicable to Karaoguz in the same way, so that Karaoguz’s wireless power transfer system would similarly use different transforming techniques that are selectively enabled to improve power transformation efficiency.
If Ishino is found to be unclear regarding the low-heat power transforming not reducing a voltage level of the rectified wireless power signal, Kohout also explicitly discloses these limitations (¶¶3-4). Specifically, Ishino discloses a switching transforming technique, which passes or blocks DC power by toggling switches (Fig. 3, switches 31, 32; ¶¶101, 108). Identically to Applicant’s invention, Ishino’s arrangement in Fig. 3 does not reduce the voltage level of received power signal. Nevertheless, in the interest of compact prosecution, Kohout provides further explicit disclosure of switching power transforming techniques that do not reduce a voltage level of a received power signal (¶4). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Karaoguz, Popescu, Ishino, and Kohout, because doing so would have involved merely the routine substitution of an element for a known equivalent to achieve merely the predictable results of selecting a switching power transforming technique that can operate at different voltages. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Karaoguz discloses a wireless power transfer system that transforms input power to a desired output power for charging a battery. Ishino teaches that such power transformation should be performed by selecting either LDO or switching transforming technique based on load to improve transformation efficiency. Kohout teaches that switching transforming technique can be performed at various voltages. The teachings of Kohout are directly applicable to Karaoguz and Ishino in the same way, so that Karaoguz’s power transfer would similarly use a switching transformation technique performed at various voltages.
Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose turning off both the low-heat power transforming and the high-heat power transforming when the charging load state indicates charging is complete. However, persons having ordinary skill in the art would clearly understand that the low-heat and high-heat power transforming units used for charging, as taught by Popescu and Ishino, would be turned off when the charging load state indicates that charging (that the units are performing in the first place) is complete; i.e. it is clear that when the function that the units are performing (charging) is complete, the units would be turned off. Hu discloses the same (¶114). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Karaoguz, Popescu, Ishino, Kohout, and Hu, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques, or the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, to produce merely the predictable results of turning off charging components when their operation is finished. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Karaoguz discloses a wireless power transfer system that transforms input power to a desired output power for charging a battery. Popescu and Ishino teach specific power transforming units for charging the battery. Persons having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the transforming units would be shut off when charging is completed, as taught by Hu. The teachings of Hu are directly applicable to Karaoguz, Popescu, and Ishino, so that the power transforming units of Karaoguz, Popescu, and Ishino would similarly be turned off when the charging is complete and the operation of the transforming units is finished.
Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose that the determination of charging load state is in accordance with a time-lapse of charging the power receiving unit and a detected current level of the power receiving unit. As discussed with regard to Popescu, battery chargers use initial light charging load states, normal/quick charging load states, and ending/tapering charging load states (¶¶7, 8), and Shimomoto discloses the determination of charging load state is in accordance with a time-lapse of charging the power receiving unit and a detected current level of the power receiving unit (Fig. 1; col. 3, lines 61-66).
It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Karaoguz, Popescu, Ishino, Kohout, Hu, and Shimomoto, because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of quickly and efficiently charging a battery while reducing risk of overcharging and damage. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Karaoguz discloses a wireless power transfer system that transforms input power to a desired output power for charging a battery. Shimomoto teaches that when charging a battery, an initial light load charging period of predetermined time allows gradual increase in charging power while monitoring the battery for anomalies, before transitioning to a middle load charging period to charge the battery more rapidly. The teachings of Shimomoto are directly applicable to Karaoguz in the same way, so that Karaoguz’s power transfer would similarly use an initial light load charging period of predetermined time followed by a middle load charging period to quickly charge a battery while reducing risk of faults or damage.
Regarding claim 48, Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose turning off the low-heat power transforming and turning on the high-heat power transforming when the charging load state is an initial light load state, turning on both the low-heat power transforming and the high-heat power transforming based on a charging load state transition from the initial light load state to a middle load state, and turning on the low-heat power transforming and turning off the high-heat power transforming when the charging load state is the middle load state. Ishino discloses these limitations (Fig. 7; ¶¶67, 99, 135). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 46.
Regarding claim 49, Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose that the control unit is configured to turn off the low-heat power transforming and turn on the high-heat power transforming when the charging state is an initial light load state, turn on both the low-heat power transforming and the high-heat power transforming based on a charging state transition from the initial light load state to a middle load state, and turn on the low-heat power transforming and turn off the high-heat power transforming when the charging state is the middle load state. Ishino discloses these limitations (Fig. 7; ¶¶67, 99, 135). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 20.
Claims 41 and 42 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Karaoguz in view of Popescu, Ishino, Kohout, Hu, Shimomoto, and Lee (US 2011/0081857).
Regarding claims 41 and 42, Karaoguz does not appear to explicitly disclose that the control unit is configured to detect an intensity of the wireless power signal received via the power receiving coil while changing the configurable impedance of the impedance matching and rectifying unit and control the configurable impedance to a setting associated with maximizing the intensity of the wireless power signal received via the power receiving coil. However, these limitations are strongly implied in Karaoguz because Karaoguz discloses impedance matching to optimize the transmission performance/efficiency between the transmitting and receiving wireless coils based on various parameters (¶¶69, 92, 158-159). Nevertheless, Lee discloses a configurable impedance controlled by a control unit, the control unit is configured to detect an intensity of the wireless power signal received via the power receiving coil while changing the configurable impedance of the impedance matching and rectifying unit and control the configurable impedance of the impedance matching and rectifying unit to maximize the detected intensity of the wireless power signal (¶22).
It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Karaoguz, Popescu, Ishino, Kohout, Hu, Shimomoto, and Lee, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques to produce merely the predictable results of impedance matching based on intensity of the received power signal. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Karaoguz discloses impedance matching a wireless power receiving circuit based on various parameters of the wireless power transmitting/receiving system, which persons having ordinary skill in the art would understand already implies adjusting the impedance based on the received power signal. Lee provides explicit details of impedance matching which changes a configurable impedance based on the intensity of the wireless power signal, which is directly applicable to the Karaoguz in the same way, so that Karaoguz’s impedance matching would similarly configure impedance based on intensity of the wireless power signal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 20, 36, and 46 have been amended to recite that the charging load state is based on a time-lapse of charging the power receiving unit and a current level, which Applicant asserts is not taught by the prior art of record. Remarks 10. The examiner disagrees. As discussed in the new grounds of rejection, Shimomoto explicitly discloses that the charging load state is based on a time-lapse of charging the power receiving unit and a current level (Fig. 1; col. 3, lines 61-66). Specifically, Shimomoto teaches at least two charging load states, an initial light load state and a heavier load state, which are determined based on both elapsed time (e.g. 30 seconds) and the charging current level reached. Applicant has not made any specific assertions regarding why Shimomoto fails to teach the limitations at issue, beyond noting that Shimomoto was not previously relied upon to teach the (newly-added) limitations.
Conclusion
10 January 2026
/ARIC LIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2851