DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 21: Line 1-3 states: “The coupling system of claim 14, further comprising an electrically-insulating isolating ring configured to electrically isolate the electric motor from the pump, wherein:”. It is unclear the exact limitations the applicant is introducing here, specifically it is unclear if the electrically insulating isolating ring recited in Line 2 of claim 21 is the same structure as the electrically insulating isolating ring recited in Line 17-18 of claim 14 or if it is a different element? Accordingly the scope of claim 21 is unclear. Since there is only one electrically insulating isolating ring illustrated in Fig 2A & Fig 2B of the instant application, for the purpose of examination, the limitations in question will be read as: --The coupling system of claim 14,
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-16, 18-19, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stuessel US 2012/0067289. It is noted that Stuessel was published in 2012.
Annotated Figure 2 of Stuessel US 2012/0067289 (Attached Figure B)
Regarding Claim 14: Stuessel US 2012/0067289 does disclose the limitations: A coupling system (the coupling system is defined by the sum of its parts) between an electric motor (22,24 - ¶0027-¶0028) and a fluid pump (28,30 - ¶0027), comprising:
an electrically-insulating isolating coupler (122,128,55,124; Figs 2-13, ¶0036-¶0038, insulation components include isolation bushings 55, isolation plate 122, pins 128, and isolation spacer 166 are all made of non-conducting material such as Delrin or nylon ¶0045, nylon is known to be electrically insulating & also elements 122 and 55 of the coupler prevents (i.e. isolates) electric current from flowing from the motor to the pump (¶0045); accordingly the coupler is an electrically insulating isolating coupler as claimed) configured to transmit mechanical power output by the electric motor (elements 128,55,124 transmit rotation output by motor output shaft 70 via mounting shaft 80 - ¶0032-¶0033) to the fluid pump (to impeller shaft 72 driving impeller 62 of pump 28 - ¶0032-¶0033 & ¶0036, also see Fig 2, Fig 4 and Fig 6),
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating coupler (122,128,55,124) is a mechanical link (it is, it mechanically links mounting shaft 80 to impeller shaft 72 of pump 28, see Fig 6) fabricated from an electrically-insulating material (elements 55,122,128 of the coupler are made from nylon - ¶0045, nylon is known to be electrically insulating) that defines a first end (left end of element 128 in Fig 6) and a second end (right end of element 128 in Fig 6), and
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating coupler (122,128,55,124) is configured to mechanically engage the electric motor via the first end (the left end of element 128 is capable of mechanically engaging with motor shaft 70 of the motor via pin holes 104 formed in flange 100 of mounting shaft 80 and setscrew 92 in mounting shaft 80) and the fluid pump via the second end (the right end of element 128 is capable of mechanically engaging with impeller shaft 72 of the pump via pin holes 119 in flange 114 of impeller shaft 72) and to transfer torque from the electric motor to the fluid pump (pins 128 of the coupler are robust enough to transfer the load (i.e. the torque) from the motor as disclosed in ¶0036);
an electrically-insulating isolating clamp configured to secure the electric motor to the fluid pump (electrically-insulating isolating clamp = 56 and the two assemblies 38; each assembly 38 includes studs 52 that have a threaded end 53 to thread into the motor housing 24, and isolation bushings 55 - ¶0029; elements 55 are able to insulate a central portion of studs 52 and prevent (i.e. isolating) electric current from flowing from the motor to the pump as disclosed in ¶0045, additionally nylon is known to be electrically insulating; further as disclosed in ¶0029-¶0031 elements 56,38 secure the housing 30 of the pump to housing 24 of the motor), by clamping around a first circumference (see Annotated Figure 2 of Stuessel US 2012/0067289 (Attached Figure B) above;--it is noted that clamp 56 is shaped to fit over and secure element 30 of the pump (28,30) to element 24 - ¶0031; additionally as seen in Attached Figure B and Figure 1 element 56 surrounds (i.e. is located around) the identified first circumference in Attached Figure B, thus element 56 performs the function of “clamping around a first circumference” as claimed--) of a first portion (30, Attached Figure B, ¶0031) of the fluid pump (28,30) and around a second circumference (as seen in Fig 4, ¶0029 each isolator connection assembly 38 includes a stud 52; & as seen from Attached Figure B each stud 52 is fastened to (i.e. clamped) at a position that is both close to (i.e. around) and located radially outside of (i.e. around) the identified cylindrical side wall that defines the second circumference; accordingly assemblies 38 perform the function of “clamping around a second circumference” as claimed) of a second portion (Attached Figure B) of the electric motor (22,24),
an electrically-insulating isolating ring (166, Fig 2, ¶0045, ¶0039-¶0041, element 166 is cylindrical - ¶0039) configured to electrically isolate the electric motor from the pump (spacer 166 is made from non-conductive material such as nylon - ¶0045, nylon is known to be electrically insulating – the nylon material of the spacer prevents (i.e. isolates) electrical current from flowing from the motor to the pump),
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating ring 166 is configured to (i.e. capable of) provide clearance and creepage between the motor and the pump (the nylon spacer 166 is capable of providing a predetermined axial spacing (i.e. clearance) between the motor (22,24) and the pump (28,30) as seen in Fig 2; additionally the prior art ring 166 made from insulating nylon provides creepage between the motor and the pump in the same manner that ring 242 made from an insulating material provides creepage as described in ¶0023-¶0025 of the SPEC in the instant application), and
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating clamp (56 & the two assemblies 38, element 38 includes isolation bushings 55 - ¶0029) is configured to (i.e. capable of) also provide clearance and creepage between the motor and the pump (the structure of the clamp 56,38 is capable of providing a predetermined axial spacing (i.e. clearance) between the motor (22,24) and the pump (28,30) as seen in Fig 2; additionally the prior art clamp includes isolation bushings 55 are made from non-conductive material such as nylon - ¶0045, and thus provides creepage between the motor and the pump in the same manner that clamp 244 made from an insulating material provides creepage as described in ¶0023-¶0026 of the SPEC in the instant application).
Regarding Claim 15: Stuessel US 2012/0067289 does disclose the limitations: comprising wherein the electrically-insulating isolating coupler is configured to go through the electrically-insulating isolating ring (as seen in Fig 2 & Fig 6 the electrically-insulating isolating coupler (122,128,55,124) extends through element 166).
Annotated Figure 2 of Stuessel US 2012/0067289 (Attached Figure A)
Regarding Claim 16: Stuessel US 2012/0067289 does disclose the limitations: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating ring (166, Fig 2, ¶0045, ¶0039-¶0041, element 166 is cylindrical - ¶0039, spacer 166 is made from non-conductive material such as nylon - ¶0045, nylon is known to be electrically insulating – the nylon material of the spacer prevents (i.e. isolates) electrical current from flowing from the motor to the pump) is configured to provide at least a threshold clearance (see Annotated Figure 2 of Stuessel US 2012/0067289 (Attached Figure A) above; provides a threshold clearance between the pump housing and the motor housing in the axial direction) and a threshold creepage (the prior art of Stuessel discloses a threshold creepage within the same confines as the instant application addresses this limitation).
Regarding Claim 18: Stuessel US 2012/0067289 does disclose the limitations: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating clamp (56,38, element 38 includes isolation bushings 55 - ¶0029) is configured to provide at least a threshold clearance (Attached Figure A, provides a threshold clearance between element 52 & element 56 in the radial direction) and a threshold creepage (the prior art of Stuessel discloses a threshold creepage within the same confines as the instant application addresses this limitation).
Regarding Claim 19: Stuessel US 2012/0067289 does disclose the limitations: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating coupler (122,128,55,124) comprises a flange 122, such that the flange provides 122 an electrical spacing (Attached Figure A) to increase creepage (the flange (i.e. the electrical isolation plate 122) allows for an axial gap between elements 100 and 114; this gap provides a significant layer of insulation and also a high creepage value between the structure connecting motor shaft 70 to the pump shaft 72; without the electrical isolation plate (i.e. flange) to operate the pump, the flanges 100,114 of the mounting shaft and the impeller shaft would not be electrically isolated from each other ¶0037 and thus would result in a lower creepage value; therefore provision of the flange (i.e. 122) provides an increased electrical spacing to increase creepage as claimed).
Regarding Claim 25: Stuessel US 2012/0067289 does disclose the limitations: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating clamp (56 & the two assemblies 38) is configured to directly contact both of the motor and the pump when the electrically-insulating isolating clamp is clamped (as understood from Figs 2-5, in the assembled/clamped state threads 53 (which are part of assembly 38) directly contact tapped recess 54 (¶0029) of the motor 22,24; additionally, as illustrated in Figure 1 & Attached Figure B element 56 (which is part of the identified clamp) directly contacts element 30 of the pump when the clamp is clamped; thus the articulated clamp is configured to directly contact both the motor and the pump when clamped as claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16, 18, 20-21, and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 202250897. Examiners Note: For the purposes of examining the instant application, the examiners submitted English translation of CN 202250897 (11 Page FOR – 04/22/2025 in the file wrapper), is referenced hereinafter.
Annotated Fig 1 of CN 202250897 (Attached Figure R)
Annotated Fig 2 of CN 202250897 (Attached Figure T)
Annotated Fig 2 of CN 202250897 (Attached Figure S)
Regarding Claim 14: CN 202250897 does disclose the limitations: A coupling system (the coupling system is defined by the sum of its parts) between an electric motor (electric motor = pump casing 1, stator within pump casing 1, and magnet rotor 8 - ¶0017; a device with a magnet rotor inherently has a stator) and a fluid pump (fluid pump = pump cover 2, impeller 3, ¶0017, Fig 2), comprising:
an electrically-insulating isolating coupler (electrically-insulating isolating coupler = shaft 6 connected to the impeller ¶0017-¶0018, since ¶0018 states that the shaft 6 can be a ceramic shaft, element 6 is electrically insulating as claimed; also since element 6 separates (i.e. isolates) impeller 3 from the magnets in rotor 8, it is an isolating part as claimed) configured to transmit mechanical power output by the electric motor (element 6 transmits the rotation output from motor rotor 8 to impeller 3 through the connection disclosed in ¶0017) to the fluid pump (pump = pump cover 2, impeller 3, ¶0017, Fig 2),
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating coupler is a mechanical link (it is a mechanical link as described in ¶0017) fabricated from an electrically-insulating material (element 6 is ceramic ¶0018, which is a known electrically-insulating material) that defines a first end (see Annotated Fig 1 of CN 202250897 (Attached Figure R) above) and a second end (Attached Figure R), and
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating coupler is coupled to the electric motor via the first end (i.e. coupled to element 8 of the motor via the first end as shown in Attached Figure R) and the fluid pump via the second end (i.e. coupled to element 3 of the pump via the second end as shown in Attached Figure R & Fig 2, ¶0017) and is configured to mechanically engage the pump via the second end (since the impeller 3 of the pump (2,3) is disclosed as being fixed to the shaft 6 (¶0017), element 6 would inherently engage the impeller 3 of the pump via the second end (Attached Figure R) as claimed) and to transfer torque from the electric motor to the fluid pump (since the only connection between the rotor 8 and the impeller 3 is element 6, it would inherently transfer torque from the motor to the fluid pump (2,3) as claimed);
an electrically-insulating isolating clamp (electrically-insulating isolating clamp = identified portion of the electrically-insulating isolating sleeve 9 which defines the electrically-insulating isolating clamp portion in Attached Figure T which fixes elements 1&2 together as shown in Fig 1-2, also see Annotated Fig 2 of CN 202250897 (Attached Figure S) above) configured to secure the electric motor to the fluid pump (i.e. used to secure element 1 of the motor to element 2 of the pump as seen in Figs 1-2, ¶0004, ¶0007-¶0009) by clamping around a first circumference (as seen in Attached Figure S the first circumference extends from a back surface of the first portion 2 of the pump and is received within the annular recess on the front surface of element 9, thus when element 9 is fixed to element 2, the first circumference in Attached Figure S it is fixed (i.e. clamped) within the annular recess (Attached Figure R) which is the portion of element 9 in Attached Figure S which clamps around the first circumference as claimed) of a first portion (2, Attached Figure S) of the fluid pump (2,3) and around a second circumference (Attached Figure R, Attached Figure S) of a second portion of the electric motor (Attached Figure R, Attached Figure S, when element 9 is fixed to element 1 the identified second circumference in Attached Figure R it is fixed (i.e. clamped) within the portion of element 9 in Attached Figure S which clamps around the second circumference as claimed; a second portion of the electric motor = pump casing 1 of the electric motor 1,8); and
an electrically-insulating isolating ring (see Annotated Fig 2 of CN 202250897 (Attached Figure T) above) configured to (i.e. capable of) electrically isolate the electric motor from the pump (the identified electrically-insulating isolating ring portion is able to isolate the impeller of the pump from the identified inner surface of pump casing 1 of the electric motor in Attached Figure T by forming a physical barrier between the impeller and the inner surface of the pump casing, additionally as disclosed in ¶0018 the identified electrically-insulating isolating ring portion is made from ceramic material – which is known to be electrically-insulating – accordingly the prior art is able to electrically isolate the motor from the pump via the ceramic material of the identified ring portion in Attached Figure T, thus the prior art discloses the electrically-insulating isolating ring is capable of isolating the electric motor from the pump as claimed),
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating ring (Attached Figure T) is configured to (i.e. capable of) provide clearance and creepage between the motor and the pump (since the identified isolating ring in Attached Figure T physically separates element 2 of the pump from a part of the motor (e.g. the stator within pump casing 1 – which is a part of the articulated motor) – the articulated isolation ring provides a clearance between the motor and pump; also as disclosed in ¶0018 the identified electrically-insulating isolating ring portion is made from ceramic material – which is known to be electrically-insulating; thus the prior art ring made from insulating ceramic provides creepage between the motor and the pump in the same manner that ring 242 made from an insulating material provides creepage as described in ¶0023-¶0025 of the SPEC in the instant application), and
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating clamp (Attached Figure T & Attached Figure S) is configured to also provide clearance and creepage between the motor and the pump (since the identified isolating clamp in Attached Figure T physically separates element 2 of the pump from a part of the motor (e.g. pump casing 1 – which is a part of the articulated motor) – the articulated isolating clamp provides a clearance between the motor and pump; also as disclosed in ¶0018 the identified electrically-insulating isolating clamp portion is made from ceramic material – which is known to be electrically-insulating; thus the prior art clamp made from insulating ceramic provides creepage between the motor and the pump in the same manner that clamp 244 made from an insulating material provides creepage as described in ¶0023-¶0026 of the SPEC in the instant application).
Additionally Regarding Claim 14: CN 202250897 discloses the claimed limitations except for: “the first end of the electrically-insulating isolating coupler being configured to mechanically engage the motor”. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to --design the motor rotor and the electrically-insulating isolating coupler to be two parts, and mechanically engage the motor rotor via the first end of the electrically-insulating isolating coupler--, since no stated problem is solved or unexpected results obtained in having the electrically-insulating isolating coupler configured to mechanically engage the motor via the first end versus the design taught by CN 202250897. Applicant has not disclosed why it is important/critical that the first end of the electrically-insulating isolating coupler is configured to mechanically engage the motor and has not demonstrated that this feature solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Specifically, ¶0023-¶0024 of the SPEC indicates that the coupler 240 made from electrically insulating material is used to transfer mechanical force from the motor 220 to the pump 230 (e.g. like the ceramic shaft 6 connected with motor rotor 8 of CN 202250897 in ¶0017-¶0018). Thus, when the motor rotor and the electrically-insulating isolating coupler are designed to be two parts which are connected by mechanically engaging the motor rotor via the first end of the electrically-insulating isolating coupler, the ceramic shaft 6 connected with motor rotor 8 of CN 202250897 will also meet Applicant’s disclosed functional limitation of transferring mechanical force from the motor (i.e. motor rotor 8) to the pump (i.e. pump impeller 3).
Regarding Claim 15: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating coupler (shaft 6 connected to the impeller) is configured to go through the electrically-insulating isolating ring (the shaft 6/isolating coupler passes axially through the identified electrically-insulating isolating ring as seen in Attached Figure T).
Regarding Claim 16: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating ring is configured to (i.e. capable of) provide at least a threshold clearance and a threshold creepage (threshold clearance = particular dimension of the spacing/separation between element 2 of the pump from the stator of the motor that is present (i.e. provided) because the isolating ring is located between element 2 and the stator; threshold creepage = particular creepage value between element 2 of the pump from the stator of the motor that is present (i.e. provided) because the isolating ring is located between element 2 and the stator).
Regarding Claim 18: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating clamp is configured to provide at least a threshold clearance and a threshold creepage (threshold clearance = particular dimension of the spacing/separation between element 2 of the pump from the pump casing 1 that is present (i.e. provided) because the isolating clamp is located between element 2 and the casing 1; threshold creepage = particular creepage value between element 2 of the pump from the pump casing 1 of the motor that is present (i.e. provided) because the isolating clamp is located between element 2 and the casing 1).
Regarding Claim 20: An electrically isolated pump system (the pump system is defined by the sum of its parts), comprising:
a motor (motor = pump casing 1, stator within pump casing 1, and magnet rotor 8 - ¶0017; a device with a magnet rotor inherently has a stator) configured to use an input voltage of an input power to output mechanical power (the stator of the motor is inherently able to use an input voltage of an input power to create a rotating magnetic field to rotate the magnet rotor 8 and output mechanical power as claimed, given how motors inherently operate as known in the art); and
an electrically-insulating coupling system (the coupling system is defined by the sum of its parts) comprising:
an electrically-insulating isolating coupler (electrically-insulating isolating coupler = shaft 6 connected to the impeller ¶0017-¶0018, since ¶0018 states that the shaft 6 can be a ceramic shaft, element 6 is electrically insulating as claimed; also since element 6 separates (i.e. isolates) impeller 3 from the magnets in rotor 8, it is an isolating part as claimed) configured to transmit the mechanical power from the motor (element 6 transmits the rotation output from motor rotor 8 to impeller 3 through the connection disclosed in ¶0017) to a pump (pump = pump cover 2, impeller 3, ¶0017, Fig 2),
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating coupler is a mechanical link (it is a mechanical link as described in ¶0017) fabricated from an electrically-insulating material (element 6 is ceramic ¶0018, which is a known electrically-insulating material) as a singular component (Fig 2) that defines a first end (see Annotated Fig 1 of CN 202250897 (Attached Figure R) above) and a second end (Attached Figure R), and
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating coupler is coupled to the motor via the first end (i.e. coupled to element 8 of the motor via the first end as shown in Attached Figure R) and the pump via the second end (i.e. coupled to element 3 of the pump via the second end as shown in Attached Figure R & Fig 2, ¶0017) and is configured to mechanically engage the pump via the second end (since the impeller 3 of the pump (2,3) is disclosed as being fixed to the shaft 6 (¶0017), element 6 would inherently engage the impeller 3 of the pump via the second end (Attached Figure R) as claimed) and to transfer torque from the electric motor to the fluid pump (since the only connection between the rotor 8 and the impeller 3 is element 6, it would inherently transfer torque from the motor to the fluid pump (2,3) as claimed);
an electrically-insulating isolating ring (see Annotated Fig 2 of CN 202250897 (Attached Figure T) above) configured to electrically isolate the motor from the pump (the identified electrically-insulating isolating ring portion is able to isolate the impeller of the pump from the identified inner surface of pump casing 1 of the electric motor in Attached Figure T by forming a physical barrier between the impeller and the inner surface of the pump casing, additionally as disclosed in ¶0018 the identified electrically-insulating isolating ring portion is made from ceramic material – which is known to be electrically-insulating – accordingly the prior art is able to electrically isolate the motor from the pump via the ceramic material of the identified ring portion in Attached Figure T, thus the prior art discloses an electrically-insulating isolating ring as claimed), wherein the electrically-insulating isolating coupler is configured to go through the electrically-insulating isolating ring (Attached Figure T); and
an electrically-insulating isolating clamp (electrically-insulating isolating clamp = identified portion of the electrically-insulating isolating sleeve 9 which defines the electrically-insulating isolating clamp portion in Attached Figure T which fixes elements 1&2 together as shown in Fig 1-2, also see Annotated Fig 2 of CN 202250897 (Attached Figure S) above) configured to secure the motor to the pump (i.e. used to secure element 1 of the motor to element 2 of the pump as seen in Figs 1-2, ¶0004, ¶0007-¶0009) by clamping around a first circumference (as seen in Attached Figure S the first circumference extends from a back surface of the first portion 2 of the pump and is received within the annular recess on the front surface of element 9, thus when element 9 is fixed to element 2, the first circumference in Attached Figure S it is fixed (i.e. clamped) within the annular recess (Attached Figure R) which is the portion of element 9 in Attached Figure S which clamps around the first circumference as claimed) of a first portion (2, Attached Figure S) of the pump (2,3) and around a second circumference (Attached Figure R, Attached Figure S) of a second portion of the motor (Attached Figure R, Attached Figure S, when element 9 is fixed to element 1 the identified second circumference in Attached Figure R it is fixed (i.e. clamped) within the portion of element 9 in Attached Figure S which clamps around the second circumference as claimed; a second portion of the electric motor = pump casing 1 of the electric motor 1,8),
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating ring (Attached Figure T) is configured to (i.e. capable of) provide clearance and creepage between the motor and the pump (since the identified isolating ring in Attached Figure T physically separates element 2 of the pump from a part of the motor (e.g. the stator within pump casing 1 – which is a part of the articulated motor) – the articulated isolation ring provides a clearance between the motor and pump; also as disclosed in ¶0018 the identified electrically-insulating isolating ring portion is made from ceramic material – which is known to be electrically-insulating; thus the prior art ring made from insulating ceramic provides creepage between the motor and the pump in the same manner that ring 242 made from an insulating material provides creepage as described in ¶0023-¶0025 of the SPEC in the instant application), and
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating clamp (Attached Figure T & Attached Figure S) is configured to also provide clearance and creepage between the motor and the pump (since the identified isolating clamp in Attached Figure T physically separates element 2 of the pump from a part of the motor (e.g. pump casing 1 – which is a part of the articulated motor) – the articulated isolating clamp provides a clearance between the motor and pump; also as disclosed in ¶0018 the identified electrically-insulating isolating clamp portion is made from ceramic material – which is known to be electrically-insulating; thus the prior art clamp made from insulating ceramic provides creepage between the motor and the pump in the same manner that clamp 244 made from an insulating material provides creepage as described in ¶0023-¶0026 of the SPEC in the instant application).
Additionally Regarding Claim 20: CN 202250897 discloses the claimed limitations except for: “the first end of the electrically-insulating isolating coupler being configured to mechanically engage the motor”. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to --design the motor rotor and the electrically-insulating isolating coupler to be two parts, and mechanically engage the motor rotor via the first end of the electrically-insulating isolating coupler--, since no stated problem is solved or unexpected results obtained in having the electrically-insulating isolating coupler configured to mechanically engage the motor via the first end versus the design taught by CN 202250897. Applicant has not disclosed why it is important/critical that the first end of the electrically-insulating isolating coupler is configured to mechanically engage the motor and has not demonstrated that this feature solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Specifically, ¶0023-¶0024 of the SPEC indicates that the coupler 240 made from electrically insulating material is used to transfer mechanical force from the motor 220 to the pump 230 (e.g. like the ceramic shaft 6 connected with motor rotor 8 of CN 202250897 in ¶0017-¶0018). Thus, when the motor rotor and the electrically-insulating isolating coupler are designed to be two parts which are connected by mechanically engaging the motor rotor via the first end of the electrically-insulating isolating coupler, the ceramic shaft 6 connected with motor rotor 8 of CN 202250897 will also meet Applicant’s disclosed functional limitation of transferring mechanical force from the motor (i.e. motor rotor 8) to the pump (i.e. pump impeller 3).
Regarding Claim 21: wherein:
the electrically-insulating isolating clamp and the electrically-insulating isolating ring form a singular component (Attached Figure T) extending radially about the electrically-insulating coupler (Attached Figure T); and
when the electrically-insulating isolating clamp is clamped (Attached Figure T), the electrically-insulating isolating ring is configured to directly contact both of the motor and the pump (Attached Figure T).
Regarding Claim 25: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating clamp is configured to directly contact both of the motor and the pump (Attached Figure T) when the electrically- insulating isolating clamp is clamped (Attached Figure T).
Regarding Claim 26: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating clamp is configured to directly contact both of the motor and the pump when the electrically- insulating isolating clamp is clamped (Attached Figure T).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 13 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeCoster US 2005/0205542 in view of Stuessel US 2012/0067289.
Annotated Figure 2 of DeCoster US 2005/0205542 (Attached Figure C)
Regarding Claim 1: DeCoster US 2005/0205542 discloses the limitations: A pump system (pump system which circulates fluid through elements 47,48,32,60 as seen in Figure 2) for a welding system 10 configured to perform a welding operation (i.e. generation of welding arc 52 between electrode 35 of torch 32 and workpiece 36, Figure 2, ¶0021-¶0022; additionally it is noted that ¶0021 states that the torch is an electrode holder with the language “the electrode holder or torch 32”, thus torch 32 holds electrode 35; and given that ¶0021 states that the welding system 10 is designed to condition raw power from “a raw power input 11 into a form usable in a welding-type process” and that element 13 is “a power conditioning or transformer assembly”, then it follows from what is illustrated in Figure 2, that element 13 conditions raw power from power input 11 to electrode holder/torch 32 so that the conditioned power can be used in a welding-type process (i.e. can be used for welding); a welding operation = welding with torch 32), comprising:
a welding-type power source (13; it is noted that Page 9-10 - ¶0037 of the SPEC of the instant application states that “a welding-type power source” is any device capable of using input power to supply power for welding, thus since element 13 is able to supply power for welding - ¶0020 and ¶0021 - it is a welding-type power source as claimed) configured to convert an input power 11 to a welding power for use during the welding operation (Fig 2, ¶0021, “power conditioning or transformer assembly 13” conditions the input power so it can be delivered to torch 32 and used in a welding-type process (i.e. can be used for welding (welding power = power used in a welding type process) thus element 13 provides welding power as claimed); welding operation = welding with torch 32 with arc 52 as illustrated in Figure 2);
a welding torch assembly 32 configured to receive the welding power (the raw power input 11 is conditioned by power conditioning or transformer assembly 13 to be used in a welding type process – ¶0021-¶0022, additionally electrode weld output terminal 30 is used to connect the torch 32 to the power source 12, so as to receive the conditioned power from element 13, ¶0019, ¶0021, also see Fig 2);
a motor 58 configured to output a mechanical power (i.e. work provided by the motor) using a motor voltage (i.e. voltage output from controller 50 in Figure 1 which is sent to motor 58) derived from the input power (i.e. derived from power input to 50 as seen in Figure 2) via motor power conversion circuitry (motor power conversion circuitry = 50, ¶0019, ¶0023-¶0025, ¶0027-¶0028; Applicant should note that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the motor voltage that powers the pump of Decoster is derived from the input source through motor power conversion if needed since DeCoster uses the term “raw power” to describe the power from the power supply. This “raw power” would necessarily have to go through a conversion to a power/voltage suitable for the pump motor);
a pump 48 configured to receive (i.e. via the pump shaft illustrated in Attached Figure C) the mechanical power (¶0024, Fig 2) to circulate a coolant fluid through the welding torch assembly (i.e. circulate coolant in tank 47 through path 49 and return path 62, ¶0024, Fig 2) to cool at least a portion of the welding torch assembly (i.e. to cool the torch 32 of the torch assembly, ¶0021-¶0025);
a coupler (see Annotated Figure 2 of DeCoster US 2005/0205542 (Attached Figure C) above, the coupler couples rotation of the motor to the pump 48) configured to transmit the mechanical power from the motor (the coupler is able to transmit the work from motor 58) to pump (the pump 48 pumps coolant from tank 47 to torch 32, ¶0020-¶0021) using the mechanical power (¶0024). DeCoster US 2005/0205542 is silent regarding the limitations:
an electrically-insulating isolating coupler to electrically isolate said pump from the motor,
an electrically-insulating isolating clamp configured to secure the motor to the pump by clamping around a first circumference of a first portion of the pump and around a second circumference of a second portion of the motor; and
an electrically-insulating isolating ring configured to mechanically couple the motor to the pump and to electrically isolate the motor from the pump;
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating ring is configured to provide clearance and creepage between the motor and the pump, and
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating clamp is configured to also provide clearance and creepage between the motor and the pump.
However, Stuessel US 2012/0067289 does disclose the limitations: a motor (22,24 - ¶0027-¶0028) configured to output a mechanical power (i.e. to output rotary motion by motor shaft 70 - ¶0032-¶0033);
an electrically-insulating isolating coupler (electrically insulating isolating coupler =122,128,55,124; Figs 2-13, ¶0036-¶0038, insulation components include isolation bushings 55, isolation plate 122, pins 128, and isolation spacer 166 are all made of non-conducting material such as Delrin or nylon ¶0045 & nylon is known to be an electrically insulating material & also elements 122 and 55 of the coupler prevents (i.e. isolates) electric current from flowing from the motor to the pump (¶0045); accordingly the coupler is an electrically insulating isolating coupler as claimed) configured to transmit the mechanical power (elements 128,55,124 transmit rotation output by motor output shaft 70 via mounting shaft 80 - ¶0032-¶0033) from the motor (i.e. from motor 22,24) to pump (i.e. to pump via impeller 62; the coupler transmits the rotation output to impeller shaft 72 driving impeller 62 of pump 28 - ¶0032-¶0033 & ¶0036, also see Fig 2, Fig 4 and Fig 6; the claimed pump = 28,30 - ¶0027) and to electrically isolate said pump from the motor (Abstract, ¶0029, ¶0036-¶0039, ¶0045);
an electrically-insulating isolating clamp (56 & the two assemblies 38, element 38 includes isolation bushings 55 - ¶0029) configured to (i.e. capable of) secure the motor to the pump (electrically-insulating isolating clamp = 56 and the two assemblies 38; each assembly 38 includes isolation bushings 55 - ¶0029; elements 55 are able to insulate a central portion of studs 52 and prevent (i.e. isolating) electric current from flowing from the motor to the pump as disclosed in ¶0045, additionally nylon is known to be electrically insulating; further as disclosed in ¶0029-¶0031 elements 56,38 secure the housing 30 of the pump to housing 24 of the motor, as understood from Figs 1-5) by clamping around a first circumference (see Annotated Figure 2 of Stuessel US 2012/0067289 (Attached Figure B) above;--it is noted that clamp 56 is shaped to fit over and secure element 30 of the pump (28,30) to element 24 - ¶0031; additionally as seen in Attached Figure B and Figure 1 element 56 surrounds (i.e. is located around) the identified first circumference in Attached Figure B, thus element 56 performs the function of “clamping around a first circumference” as claimed--) of a first portion (30, Attached Figure B, ¶0031) of the pump (28,30) and around a second circumference (as seen in Fig 4, ¶0029 each isolator connection assembly 38 includes a stud 52; & as seen from Attached Figure B each stud 52 is fastened to (i.e. clamped) at a position that is both close to (i.e. around) and located radially outside of (i.e. around) the identified cylindrical side wall that defines the second circumference; accordingly assemblies 38 perform the function of “clamping around a second circumference” as claimed) of a second portion (Attached Figure B) of the motor (22,24); and
an electrically-insulating isolating ring (166, Fig 2, ¶0045, ¶0039-¶0041, element 166 is cylindrical - ¶0039) configured to mechanically couple the motor to the pump (as understood from Figs 1-3 the structure of element 166 is used to mechanically attach (i.e. couple) the motor to the pump) and to electrically isolate the motor from the pump (spacer 166 is made from non-conductive material such as nylon - ¶0045, nylon is known to be electrically insulating – the nylon material of the spacer prevents (i.e. isolates) electrical current from flowing from the motor to the pump);
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating ring 166 is configured to (i.e. capable of) provide clearance and creepage between the motor and the pump (the nylon spacer 166 is capable of providing a predetermined axial spacing (i.e. clearance) between the motor (22,24) and the pump (28,30) as seen in Fig 2; additionally the prior art ring 166 made from insulating nylon provides creepage between the motor and the pump in the same manner that ring 242 made from an insulating material provides creepage as described in ¶0023-¶0025 of the SPEC in the instant application), and
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating clamp (56 & the two assemblies 38, element 38 includes isolation bushings 55 - ¶0029) is configured to (i.e. capable of) also provide clearance and creepage between the motor and the pump (the structure of the clamp 56,38 is capable of providing a predetermined axial spacing (i.e. clearance) between the motor (22,24) and the pump (28,30) as seen in Fig 2; additionally the prior art clamp includes isolation bushings 55 are made from non-conductive material such as nylon - ¶0045, and thus provides creepage between the motor and the pump in the same manner that clamp 244 made from an insulating material provides creepage as described in ¶0023-¶0026 of the SPEC in the instant application).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unknown housing of motor 58, the unknown housing of pump 48, and the coupler of DeCoster US 2005/0205542 with the motor housing 24, pump housing 30, backplate 40, pump 28, spacer 166, motor shaft 70, mounting shaft 80, impeller shaft 72, set screw 92, isolation connector assemblies 38, wingnuts 58, and coupler (122,128,55,124) of Stuessel US 2012/0067289 in order to provide a pump assembly that prevents electrical current from flowing from the motor to the pump (¶0045, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 2: Stuessel US 2012/0067289 does disclose the limitations: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating coupler is configured to go through the electrically-insulating isolating ring (as seen in Fig 2 & Fig 6 the electrically-insulating isolating coupler (122,128,55,124) extends through element 166).
Regarding Claim 3: Stuessel US 2012/0067289 does disclose the limitations: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating ring 166 is configured to provide at least a threshold clearance (see Attached Figure A; provides a threshold clearance between the pump housing and the motor housing in the axial direction ) and a threshold creepage (the prior art of Stuessel discloses a threshold creepage within the same confines as the instant application addresses this limitation).
Regarding Claim 6: Stuessel US 2012/0067289 does disclose the limitations: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating clamp (56,38, element 38 includes isolation bushings 55 - ¶0029) is configured to provide at least a threshold clearance (Attached Figure A, provides a threshold clearance between element 52 & element 56 in the radial direction) and a threshold creepage (the prior art of Stuessel discloses a threshold creepage within the same confines as the instant application addresses this limitation).
Regarding Claim 13: Stuessel US 2012/0067289 does disclose the limitations: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating coupler (122,128,55,124) comprises a flange 122 configured to increase creepage (the flange (i.e. the electrical isolation plate 122) allows for an axial gap between elements 100 and 114; this gap provides a significant layer of insulation and also a high creepage value between the structure connecting motor shaft 70 to the pump shaft 72; without the electrical isolation plate (i.e. flange) to operate the pump the flanges 100,114 of the mounting shaft and the impeller shaft would not be electrically isolated from each other ¶0037 and thus result in a lower creepage value; therefore provision of the flange (i.e. 122) provides an increased electrical spacing to increase creepage as claimed).
Regarding Claim 22: Stuessel US 2012/0067289 does disclose the limitations: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating clamp (56 & the two assemblies 38, each assembly 38 includes studs 52 that have a threaded end 53 to thread into the motor housing 24, and isolation bushings 55) is configured to directly contact both of the motor and the pump when the electrically-insulating isolating clamp is clamped (the motor = (22,24); the pump = (28,30); the studs 52 (which are part of assembly 38 of the identified clamp) directly contact element 24 of the motor when the clamp is clamped, additionally as illustrated in Figure 1 & Attached Figure B element 56 (which is part of the identified clamp) directly contacts element 30 of the pump when the clamp is clamped; thus the articulated clamp is configured to directly contact both of the motor and the pump when clamped as claimed).
Regarding Claim 23: Stuessel US 2012/0067289 does disclose the limitations: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating coupler (122,128,55,124) is a mechanical link (it is, it mechanically links mounting shaft 80 to impeller shaft 72 of pump 28, see Fig 6) fabricated from an electrically-insulating material (elements 55,122,128 of the coupler are made from nylon - ¶0045, nylon is known to be an electrically insulating material) that defines a first end (left end of element 128 in Fig 6) and a second end (right end of element 128 in Fig 6).
Regarding Claim 24: Stuessel US 2012/0067289 does disclose the limitations: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating coupler is configured to mechanically engage the motor via the first end (the left end of element 128 is capable of mechanically engaging with motor shaft 70 of the motor via pin holes 104 formed in flange 100 of mounting shaft 80 and setscrew 92 in mounting shaft 80) and the pump via the second end (the right end of element 128 is capable of mechanically engaging with impeller shaft 72 of the pump via pin holes 119 in flange 114 of impeller shaft 72) and to transfer torque from the motor to the pump (pins 128 of the coupler are robust enough to transfer the load (i.e. the torque) from the motor as disclosed in ¶0036).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeCoster US 2005/0205542 in view of CN 202250897.
Regarding Claim 1: DeCoster US 2005/0205542 discloses the limitations: A pump system (pump system which circulates fluid through elements 47,48,32,60 as seen in Figure 2) for a welding system 10 configured to perform a welding operation (i.e. generation of welding arc 52 between electrode 35 of torch 32 and workpiece 36, Figure 2, ¶0021-¶0022; additionally it is noted that ¶0021 states that the torch is an electrode holder with the language “the electrode holder or torch 32”, thus torch 32 holds electrode 35; and given that ¶0021 states that the welding system 10 is designed to condition raw power from “a raw power input 11 into a form usable in a welding-type process” and that element 13 is “a power conditioning or transformer assembly”, then it follows from what is illustrated in Figure 2, that element 13 conditions raw power from power input 11 to electrode holder/torch 32 so that the conditioned power can be used in a welding-type process (i.e. can be used for welding); a welding operation = welding with torch 32), comprising:
a welding-type power source (13; it is noted that Page 9-10 - ¶0037 of the SPEC of the instant application states that “a welding-type power source” is any device capable of using input power to supply power for welding, thus since element 13 is able to supply power for welding - ¶0020 and ¶0021 - it is a welding-type power source as claimed) configured to convert an input power 11 to a welding power for use during the welding operation (Fig 2, ¶0021, “power conditioning or transformer assembly 13” conditions the input power so it can be delivered to torch 32 and used in a welding-type process (i.e. can be used for welding (welding power = power used in a welding type process) thus element 13 provides welding power as claimed); welding operation = welding with torch 32 with arc 52 as illustrated in Figure 2);
a welding torch assembly 32 configured to receive the welding power (the raw power input 11 is conditioned by power conditioning or transformer assembly 13 to be used in a welding type process – ¶0021-¶0022, additionally electrode weld output terminal 30 is used to connect the torch 32 to the power source 12, so as to receive the conditioned power from element 13, ¶0019, ¶0021, also see Fig 2);
a motor 58 configured to output a mechanical power (i.e. work provided by the motor) using a motor voltage (i.e. voltage output from controller 50 in Figure 1 which is sent to motor 58) derived from the input power (i.e. derived from power input to 50 as seen in Figure 2) via motor power conversion circuitry (motor power conversion circuitry = 50, ¶0019, ¶0023-¶0025, ¶0027-¶0028; Applicant should note that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the motor voltage that powers the pump of Decoster is derived from the input source through motor power conversion if needed since DeCoster uses the term “raw power” to describe the power from the power supply. This “raw power” would necessarily have to go through a conversion to a power/voltage suitable for the pump motor);
a pump 48 configured to receive (i.e. via the pump shaft illustrated in Attached Figure C) the mechanical power (¶0024, Fig 2) to circulate a coolant fluid through the welding torch assembly (i.e. circulate coolant in tank 47 through path 49 and return path 62, ¶0024, Fig 2) to cool at least a portion of the welding torch assembly (i.e. to cool the torch 32 of the torch assembly, ¶0021-¶0025);
a coupler (see Annotated Figure 2 of DeCoster US 2005/0205542 (Attached Figure C) above, the coupler couples rotation of the motor to the pump 48) configured to transmit the mechanical power from the motor (the coupler is able to transmit the work from motor 58) to pump (the pump 48 pumps coolant from tank 47 to torch 32, ¶0020-¶0021) using the mechanical power (¶0024). DeCoster US 2005/0205542 is silent regarding the limitations:
an electrically-insulating isolating coupler to electrically isolate said pump from the motor,
an electrically-insulating isolating clamp configured to secure the motor to the pump by clamping around a first circumference of a first portion of the pump and around a second circumference of a second portion of the motor; and
an electrically-insulating isolating ring configured to mechanically couple the motor to the pump and to electrically isolate the motor from the pump;
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating ring is configured to provide clearance and creepage between the motor and the pump, and
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating clamp is configured to also provide clearance and creepage between the motor and the pump.
However, CN 202250897 does disclose the limitations:
a motor (motor = pump casing 1, stator within pump casing 1, and magnet rotor 8 - ¶0017; a device with a magnet rotor inherently has a stator) configured to output a mechanical power (the stator of the motor is inherently able to use an input voltage of an input power to create a rotating magnetic field to rotate the magnet rotor 8 and output mechanical power as claimed, given how motors inherently operate as known in the art);
an electrically-insulating isolating coupler (electrically-insulating isolating coupler = shaft 6 connected to the impeller ¶0017-¶0018, since ¶0018 states that the shaft 6 can be a ceramic shaft, element 6 is electrically insulating as claimed; also since element 6 separates (i.e. isolates) impeller 3 from the magnets in rotor 8, it is an isolating part as claimed) configured to transmit the mechanical power from the motor (element 6 transmits the rotation output from motor rotor 8 to impeller 3 through the connection disclosed in ¶0017) to pump (e.g. to the pump; pump = pump cover 2, impeller 3, ¶0017, Fig 2; by transmitting the rotation output the coupler allows the pump to move fluid (i.e. pump) as claimed) and to electrically isolate said pump from the motor (since ¶0018 states that the shaft 6 can be a ceramic shaft, the prior art coupler 6 made from ceramic/insulating material is able to electrically isolate the pump 2,3 from the articulated motor in the same manner that coupler 240 made from an insulating material is able to electrically isolate the pump from the motor as described in ¶0023-¶0029 of the SPEC in the instant application);
an electrically-insulating isolating clamp (electrically-insulating isolating clamp = identified portion of the electrically-insulating isolating sleeve 9 which defines the electrically-insulating isolating clamp portion in Attached Figure T which fixes elements 1&2 together as shown in Fig 1-2, also see Annotated Fig 2 of CN 202250897 (Attached Figure S) above) configured to secure the motor to the pump (i.e. used to secure element 1 of the motor to element 2 of the pump as seen in Figs 1-2, ¶0004, ¶0007-¶0009) by clamping around a first circumference (as seen in Attached Figure S the first circumference extends from a back surface of the first portion 2 of the pump and is received within the annular recess on the front surface of element 9, thus when element 9 is fixed to element 2, the first circumference in Attached Figure S it is fixed (i.e. clamped) within the annular recess (Attached Figure R) which is the portion of element 9 in Attached Figure S which clamps around the first circumference as claimed) of a first portion (2, Attached Figure S) of the pump (2,3) and around a second circumference (Attached Figure R, Attached Figure S) of a second portion of the motor (Attached Figure R, Attached Figure S, when element 9 is fixed to element 1 the identified second circumference in Attached Figure R it is fixed (i.e. clamped) within the portion of element 9 in Attached Figure S which clamps around the second circumference as claimed; a second portion of the electric motor = pump casing 1 of the electric motor 1,8); and
an electrically-insulating isolating ring (see Annotated Fig 2 of CN 202250897 (Attached Figure T) above) configured to (i.e. capable of) mechanically couple the motor to the pump (as understood from Attached Figure R, Attached Figure T & Attached Figure S) and to electrically isolate the motor from the pump (the identified electrically-insulating isolating ring portion is able to isolate the impeller of the pump from the identified inner surface of pump casing 1 of the electric motor in Attached Figure T by forming a physical barrier between the impeller and the inner surface of the pump casing, additionally as disclosed in ¶0018 the identified electrically-insulating isolating ring portion is made from ceramic material – which is known to be electrically-insulating – accordingly the prior art is able to electrically isolate the motor from the pump via the ceramic material of the identified ring portion in Attached Figure T, thus the prior art discloses the electrically-insulating isolating ring is capable of isolating the electric motor from the pump as claimed);
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating ring (Attached Figure T) is configured to (i.e. capable of) provide clearance and creepage between the motor and the pump (since the identified isolating ring in Attached Figure T physically separates element 2 of the pump from a part of the motor (e.g. the stator within pump casing 1 – which is a part of the articulated motor) – the articulated isolation ring provides a clearance between the motor and pump; also as disclosed in ¶0018 the identified electrically-insulating isolating ring portion is made from ceramic material – which is known to be electrically-insulating; thus the prior art ring made from insulating ceramic provides creepage between the motor and the pump in the same manner that ring 242 made from an insulating material provides creepage as described in ¶0023-¶0025 of the SPEC in the instant application), and
wherein the electrically-insulating isolating clamp (Attached Figure T & Attached Figure S) is configured to also provide clearance and creepage between the motor and the pump (since the identified isolating clamp in Attached Figure T physically separates element 2 of the pump from a part of the motor (e.g. pump casing 1 – which is a part of the articulated motor) – the articulated isolating clamp provides a clearance between the motor and pump; also as disclosed in ¶0018 the identified electrically-insulating isolating clamp portion is made from ceramic material – which is known to be electrically-insulating; thus the prior art clamp made from insulating ceramic provides creepage between the motor and the pump in the same manner that clamp 244 made from an insulating material provides creepage as described in ¶0023-¶0026 of the SPEC in the instant application).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unknown housing of motor 58, the unknown housing of pump 48, and the coupler of DeCoster US 2005/0205542 with the motor housing 1, pump housing 2, electrically-insulating isolating clamp portion (Attached Figure T), electrically-insulating isolating ring portion (Attached Figure T), and electrically-insulating isolating coupler 6 of CN 202250897 in order to provide a water pump assembly that can reduce noise and has a long service life (¶0006-¶0007).
Regarding Claim 2: CN 202250897 does disclose the limitations: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating coupler (shaft 6 connected to the impeller) is configured to go through the electrically-insulating isolating ring (the shaft 6/isolating coupler passes axially through the identified electrically-insulating isolating ring as seen in Attached Figure T).
Regarding Claim 3: CN 202250897 does disclose the limitations: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating ring is configured to (i.e. capable of) provide at least a threshold clearance and a threshold creepage (threshold clearance = particular dimension of the spacing/separation between element 2 of the pump from the stator of the motor that is present (i.e. provided) because the isolating ring is located between element 2 and the stator; threshold creepage = particular creepage value between element 2 of the pump from the stator of the motor that is present (i.e. provided) because the isolating ring is located between element 2 and the stator).
Regarding Claim 6: CN 202250897 does disclose the limitations: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating clamp is configured to provide at least a threshold clearance and a threshold creepage (threshold clearance = particular dimension of the spacing/separation between element 2 of the pump from the pump casing 1 that is present (i.e. provided) because the isolating clamp is located between element 2 and the casing 1; threshold creepage = particular creepage value between element 2 of the pump from the pump casing 1 of the motor that is present (i.e. provided) because the isolating clamp is located between element 2 and the casing 1).
Regarding Claim 22: CN 202250897 does disclose the limitations: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating clamp is configured to directly contact both of the motor and the pump (Attached Figure T) when the electrically- insulating isolating clamp is clamped (Attached Figure T).
Regarding Claim 23: CN 202250897 does disclose the limitations: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating coupler is a mechanical link (it is a mechanical link as described in ¶0017) fabricated from an electrically-insulating material (element 6 is ceramic ¶0018, which is a known electrically-insulating material) that defines a first end (see Annotated Fig 1 of CN 202250897 (Attached Figure R) above) and a second end (Attached Figure R).
Regarding Claim 24: CN 202250897 does disclose the limitations: wherein the electrically-insulating isolating coupler is coupled to the motor via the first end (i.e. coupled to element 8 of the motor via the first end as shown in Attached Figure R) and the pump via the second end (i.e. coupled to element 3 of the pump via the second end as shown in Attached Figure R & Fig 2, ¶0017) and is configured to mechanically engage the pump via the second end (since the impeller 3 of the pump (2,3) is disclosed as being fixed to the shaft 6 (¶0017), element 6 would inherently engage the impeller 3 of the pump via the second end (Attached Figure R) as claimed) and to transfer torque from the electric motor to the fluid pump (since the only connection between the rotor 8 and the impeller 3 is element 6, it would inherently transfer torque from the motor to the fluid pump (2,3) as claimed).
Additionally, Regarding Claim 24: DeCoster US 2005/0205542 as modified by CN 202250897 discloses the claimed invention except for “the first end of the electrically-insulating isolating coupler being configured to mechanically engage the motor”. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to --design the motor rotor and the electrically-insulating isolating coupler to be two parts, and mechanically engage the motor rotor via the first end of the electrically-insulating isolating coupler--, since no stated problem is solved or unexpected results obtained in having the electrically-insulating isolating coupler configured to mechanically engage the motor via the first end versus the design taught by DeCoster US 2005/0205542 as modified by CN 202250897. Applicant has not disclosed why it is important/critical that the first end of the electrically-insulating isolating coupler is configured to mechanically engage the motor and has not demonstrated that this feature solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Specifically, ¶0023-¶0024 of the SPEC indicates that the coupler 240 made from electrically insulating material is used to transfer mechanical force from the motor 220 to the pump 230 (e.g. like the ceramic shaft 6 connected with motor rotor 8 of CN 202250897 in ¶0017-¶0018). Thus, when the motor rotor and the electrically-insulating isolating coupler are designed to be two parts which are connected by mechanically engaging the motor rotor via the first end of the electrically-insulating isolating coupler, the ceramic shaft 6 connected with motor rotor 8 of CN 202250897 in the combination of DeCoster US 2005/0205542 as modified by CN 202250897 will also meet Applicant’s disclosed functional limitation of transferring mechanical force from the motor (i.e. motor rotor 8) to the pump (i.e. pump impeller 3).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeCoster US 2005/0205542 in view of Stuessel US 2012/0067289 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hammond USPN 6087738.
Regarding Claim 8: DeCoster US 2005/0205542 does not disclose the limitations: wherein the motor power conversion circuitry is an autotransformer.
However Hammond USPN 6087738 in a disclosure directed to a voltage controller for controlling a voltage delivered to a motor (Abstract) like the motor power conversion circuitry 50 of DeCoster US 2005/0205542 (¶0021, ¶0023). Additionally, Hammond USPN 6087738 does disclose the limitations: a three phase transformer having a variable output utilizes an auxiliary winding to minimize the number of taps required to provide a plurality of output voltages (i.e. an autotransformer 52, Column 6 Line 18-27) that can be used as a motor starter (Abstract).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the controller 50 of DeCoster US 2005/0205542 with the autotransformer 52 of Hammond USPN 6087738 in order to provide a starter for the motor with more precise control for the motor starting voltage (Abstract).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeCoster US 2005/0205542 in view of Stuessel US 2012/0067289 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fosbinder US 2006/0157459.
Regarding Claim 7: DeCoster US 2005/0205542 does not disclose the limitations: wherein the motor uses a motor voltage that is 240 volts AC.
However Fosbinder US 2006/0157459 in a disclosure directed to a welding apparatus similar to DeCoster US 2005/0205542 does disclose the limitations: welding-type power supplies include an auxiliary output in addition to the welding-type output to power auxiliary devices; the auxiliary output is 240 VAC .
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the power conditioner 13 of DeCoster US 2005/0205542 with the 240 volt AC output taught by Fosbinder US 2006/0157459 in order to power the motor with a common output voltage found on welding devices.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeCoster US 2005/0205542 in view of Stuessel US 2012/0067289 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McMaster.
Regarding Claim 9: DeCoster US 2005/0205542 discloses the limitations: an electrical connection (Attached Figure C) to communicate the motor voltage from the motor power conversion circuitry 50 to the motor (as seen in Figure 2 and Attached Figure C, the electrical connection provides electrical communication between element 50 and motor 58).
DeCoster US 2005/0205542 is silent regarding the limitations: a switch to communicate the motor voltage from the motor power conversion circuitry to the motor.
However McMaster in a disclosure directed to switches (i.e. a switch) which can be used to communicate electricity to a device like the electrical connection between motor power conversion circuitry 50 and element 58 of DeCoster US 2005/0205542 (¶0021, ¶0023). Additionally, McMaster does disclose: an emergency stop switch (Page 828) that can be used to immediately break a circuit and cut off electrical power, wherein the emergency stop switch switches a circuit from on to off when pressed (Page 828), and maintains the off position of the circuit after being pressed (Page 828).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical connection (Attached Figure C) between element 50 and element 58 of DeCoster US 2005/0205542 with the emergency stop switch (Page 828) of McMaster in order to cut off electrical power to the rotating machinery with the emergency-stop switch in case of an emergency and/or to be able to lock out the electrical power to the rotating machinery with the emergency-stop switch during maintenance of the rotating machinery.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeCoster US 2005/0205542 in view of Stuessel US 2012/0067289 and McMaster as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Bunker US 2014/0001167.
Regarding Claim 10: DeCoster US 2005/0205542 in view of Stuessel US 2012/0067289 and McMaster discloses in the above mentioned Figures and Specifications the limitations set forth in claim 9. Additionally, DeCoster US 2005/0205542 as modified by McMaster does disclose the limitations: the switch (McMaster stop switch) is configured to be connected to an output of the motor power conversion circuitry (DeCoster - Attached Figure C; the indicated position of the “electrical connection” (which is modified with the stop switch of McMaster) is connected to an output of motor power conversion circuitry 50 as seen in Figure 2) that outputs the motor voltage (the output of element 50 outputs the motor voltage as ¶0027 states that element 50 activates motor 58). DeCoster US 2005/0205542 is silent regarding what happens when an input voltage of the input power is greater than the motor voltage.
However Bunker US 2014/0001167 does disclose the limitations: a DC input welder (12, Figure 2); an input power (94, Figure 4, ¶0030), wherein an input voltage of the input power (i.e. high AC voltage of public utility 94, ¶0030, Fig 4) is greater than the voltage used (i.e. greater than the voltage used by DC bus 40 in Fig 4, ¶0030; AC voltage from 94 is transformed to a lower AC voltage by transformer 96 before it is converted by converter 98, thus the voltage used by DC bus 40 is less than the input voltage of public utility 94).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the electrical connection between input power 11 and power conditioner 13 of DeCoster US 2005/0205542 with the transformer 96 and AC/DC converter 98 of Bunker US 2014/0001167 in order to provide usable power from a higher voltage AC power source (¶0030).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeCoster US 2005/0205542 in view of Stuessel US 2012/0067289 and McMaster as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Cecil USPN 4151394.
Regarding Claim 11: DeCoster US 2005/0205542 in view of Stuessel US 2012/0067289 and McMaster discloses in the above mentioned Figures and Specifications the limitations set forth in claim 9. Additionally, DeCoster US 2005/0205542 as modified by McMaster does disclose the limitations: the switch (McMaster stop switch) is configured to be connected to an output of the motor power conversion circuitry (DeCoster - Attached Figure C; the indicated position of the “electrical connection” (which is modified with the stop switch of McMaster) is connected to an output of motor power conversion circuitry 50 as seen in Figure 2) that outputs the motor voltage (the output of element 50 outputs the motor voltage as ¶0027 states that element 50 activates motor 58). Also, there is nothing to suggest in the prior art of DeCoster US 2005/0205542 that the motor voltage is not equal to an input voltage of input power 11 of DeCoster US 2005/0205542.
Additionally, Cecil USPN 4151394 discloses: a motor voltage (i.e. 120 volts, Column 6 Line 5-11, 120 volt source actuates vertical motor 100); an input power (120 volt source Fig 16, “power in” in Figure 14); when an input voltage (i.e. 120 volts) of the input power (120 volt source Fig 16, “power in” in Figure 14, Column 5 Line 12-40, Column 6 Line 5-11) is not greater than the motor voltage (the voltages are the same, thus the input voltage is not greater than the motor voltage). Thus Cecil USPN 4151394 provides evidence that additional structure is not necessary to change the voltage when the input voltage of the input power is not greater than the motor voltage.
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the structure of DeCoster US 2005/0205542 as modified by Stuessel US 2012/0067289 and McMaster in a situation where the input voltage of the input power 11 of DeCoster US 2005/0205542 is not greater than the motor voltage (e.g. is equal to the motor voltage) of motor 58 of DeCoster US 2005/0205542, since additional structure to change the voltage would not be necessary as taught by the evidence of Cecil USPN 4151394.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeCoster US 2005/0205542 in view of Stuessel US 2012/0067289 and McMaster as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Anna USPN 3568026.
Regarding Claim 12: DeCoster US 2005/0205542 in view of Stuessel US 2012/0067289 and McMaster discloses in the above mentioned Figures and Specifications the limitations set forth in claim 9. DeCoster US 2005/0205542 is silent regarding the limitations: wherein, when an input voltage of the input power is equal to the motor voltage, the motor is connected to the input voltage without use of the motor power conversion circuitry.
However Anna USPN 3568026 does disclose the limitations: an input power (power of voltage source 1), a motor 2 operated by the input power (Abstract, Column 2 Line 28-46), a motor voltage derived from the input power via a motor power conversion circuitry (motor power conversion circuitry = 3, motor voltage = nominal voltage of motor, when the output level of the power source 1 is higher than the nominal voltage of the motor then circuitry 3 will alter the voltage sent to the motor so that it is equal to the nominal voltage of the motor, Column 2 Line 28-46) wherein, when an input voltage (i.e. voltage of voltage source 1) of the input power is equal to the motor voltage (i.e. is equal to the nominal voltage of the motor), the motor 2 is connected to the input voltage without use of the motor power conversion circuitry (i.e. connects the motor directly to the input voltage Column 2 Line 28-36).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the motor power conversion circuitry 50 of DeCoster US 2005/0205542 with the control arrangement 3 of Anna USPN 3568026 in order to power the motor with a voltage source which has a voltage level that varies considerably Column 2 Line 28-46.
--It should be noted that DeCoster US 2005/0205542 in view of CN 202250897 and in further view of Hammond USPN 6087738 could be used to make obvious claim 8 in addition to the rejections made in this action.--
--It should be noted that DeCoster US 2005/0205542 in view of CN 202250897 and in further view of Fosbinder US 2006/0157459 could be used to make obvious claim 7 in addition to the rejections made in this action.--
--It should be noted that DeCoster US 2005/0205542 in view of CN 202250897 and in further view of McMaster could be used to make obvious claim 9 in addition to the rejections made in this action.—
--It should be noted that DeCoster US 2005/0205542 in view of CN 202250897, McMaster, and in further view of Bunker US 2014/0001167 could be used to make obvious claim 10 in addition to the rejections made in this action.—
--It should be noted that DeCoster US 2005/0205542 in view of CN 202250897, McMaster, and in further view of Cecil USPN 4151394 could be used to make obvious claim 11 in addition to the rejections made in this action.—
--It should be noted that DeCoster US 2005/0205542 in view of CN 202250897, McMaster, and in further view of Anna USPN 3568026 could be used to make obvious claim12 in addition to the rejections made in this action.—
Examiner's Note: The Examiner respectfully requests of the Applicants in preparing responses, to fully consider the entirety of the references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention.
It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments (see MPEP § 2123).
Additionally the origin of the drawing is immaterial. For instance, drawings in a design patent can anticipate or make obvious the claimed invention, as can drawings in utility patents. When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). (See MPEP § 2125).
The Examiner has cited particular locations in the reference(s) as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, typically other passages and figures will apply as well.
Furthermore: with respect to the prior art and the determination of obviousness, it has been held that Prior art is not limited just to the references being applied, but includes the understanding of one of ordinary skill in the art. The "mere existence of differences (i.e. a gap) between the prior art and an invention DOES NOT ESTABLISH the inventions nonobviousness." Dann v. Johnston, 425 U.S. 219, 230, 189 USPQ 257, 261 (1976). Rather, in determining obviousness the proper analysis is whether the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art after consideration of all the facts. And factors other than the disclosures of the cited prior art may provide a basis for concluding that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to bridge the gap. (See MPEP § 2141).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Page 9 ¶2-Page 11 ¶2: Applicant argues that the prior art of Stuessel does not anticipate claim 14 because Stuessel does not teach a coupling system as claimed in Claim 14.
--Examiner disagrees. In the rejection above the elements of the claim are mapped to the prior art of Stuessel to explain how the art of Stuessel addresses each and every element in the claim. With regards to the newly added claim language in claim 14 (e.g. the electrically isolate and provide clearance and creepage between the motor and the pump language), the examiner has explained how the insulating/non-conductive material used in the prior art of Stuessel prevents the flow of electrical current between the motor and the pump and thus addresses the electrically isolate claim language. Furthermore, since each of the isolating clamp and the isolating ring of Stuessel both include insulating/non-conductive material that is located between the motor and the pump, this means that the structure of the isolating clamp and the isolating ring of Stuessel are both able to provide creepage between the motor and the pump within the same confines that this same feature is achieved with the insulating structure of the isolating clamp and the isolating ring in the instant application. Finally with regard to the clearance of the isolating clamp and the isolating ring the examiner notes that the physically structure of the isolating clamp and the isolating ring of Stuessel provide the clearance being recited in claim 14.
Accordingly for the reasons explained above, Applicants arguments are not persuasive.--.
Page 11 ¶3-Page 12 Line 2: Applicant traverses the rejection(s) of claim(s) 15-16 and 18-19 based entirely on the arguments discussed above with respect to claim(s) 14.
--Applicants arguments are not persuasive. Applicant makes no new arguments with respect to claim(s) 15-16 and 18-19. Thus applicants arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons already discussed above.--.
Page 13 ¶2-Page 14 ¶3: Applicant traverses the rejection of claim 1 with the art of DeCoster and Stuessel, by arguing that the prior art does not teach a coupling system as claimed in Claim 1.
--Examiner disagrees. Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. Additionally, the examiner notes that the Prior art of Stuessel addresses the language added to claim 1, in a similar manner as was explained with respect to claim 14 argued above. Accordingly, the remarks made by the examiner with respect to claim 14 are incorporated by reference here.
Accordingly for the reasons explained above, Applicants arguments are not persuasive.--.
Page 15 ¶1-Page 16 ¶2: Applicant traverses the rejection of Claim 20 based on the prior art of CN 202250897.
--Arguments not persuasive. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Additionally, Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Accordingly for the reasons explained above, Applicants arguments are not persuasive.--.
Page 16 ¶3-Page 17 ¶7:
Applicant traverses the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2-3, 6-13, and 21-22 based entirely on the arguments discussed above with respect to claim(s) 1 & 20.
--Applicants arguments are not persuasive. Applicant makes no new arguments with respect to claim(s) 2-3, 6-13, and 21-22. Thus applicants arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons already discussed above.--.
Conclusion
/CHARLES G FREAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/JOSEPH S. HERRMANN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3746