DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicants’ amendment filed June 8, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending with claims 4, 11-13 and 18-20 being previously withdrawn. An action on the merits is as follows.
Objection to claim 16 has been withdrawn.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 includes the limitation “the learning procedure performed by the controller of the in-car display comprises: gathering floor information for all floors of the elevator system”. However applicant’s originally filed disclosure does not properly describe the in-car display to gather floor information for all floors. The term “gather” is understood to mean “to bring together: collect” as defined by Merriam-Webster Dictionary. Although the specification describes “a learning system to be implemented in an in-car display”, the configurations or configuration changes are learned via communication with an elevator control system (applicant’s published specification page 2 paragraph [0020]). The specification further describes that floor information of all floors are gathered from an elevator control system (applicant’s published specification page 2 paragraph [0025]), and the floor information gathered by the elevator control system is provided to the in-car display (applicant’s published specification page 3 paragraph [0031]). Therefore the floor information for all floors is not shown to be “gathered” by the in-car display, but instead the elevator control system. It is unclear how an elevator in-car display would gather such information, e.g. from a previously stored table, as the elevator passes each floor, etc., and what structure would be included in the in-car display to provide such function. Therefore this limitation is considered new matter.
Claims 2, 3, 5-10, 14 and 15 depend from claim 1 and therefore inherit all claimed limitations. These claims then also include the limitation considered as new matter.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 includes the limitation “the learning procedure performed by the controller of the in-car display comprises: gathering floor information for all floors of the elevator system”. However applicant’s disclosure does not properly describe how the in-car display gathers floor information for all floors. The term “gather” is understood to mean “to bring together: collect” as defined by Merriam-Webster Dictionary. It is unclear how applicant’s elevator in-car display would gather information for all floors, e.g. from a previously stored table, as the elevator passes each floor, etc., and what structure would be included in the in-car display to provide such function.
Claims 2, 3, 5-10, 14 and 15 depend from claim 1 and therefore inherit all claimed limitations. These claims do not correct the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pineau et al. (US 8,688,664 B2) in view of Kattainen et al. (US 11,897,729 B2).
Claim 16: Pineau et al. discloses a system for configuring a display of an elevator system based on a learning procedure for a display unit (114a-b,134a-c) (column 3 lines 59-67), where the display unit includes an in-car display for an elevator car of the elevator system (column 2 lines 40-44). The in-car display includes a controller for controlling displayed information and communications with components of the elevator system, as is recognized in the art. An in-car display for an elevator is shown in FIG. 3 be configured with a floor label in a position indicator area (302) which corresponds to floor labels (floor names) for each floor that is accessible to the elevator system (column 4 lines 3-8). The in-car display is further shown to display a destination floor to which the elevator car is traveling. A learning mode is implemented to retrieve current floor label information (updated information) during an update to the elevator system in order to provide the current floor label information and updated information for display by the in-car display (column 3 lines 43-46, 56-67). An elevator control system provides the current floor label information to the controller of the in-car display, wherein the current floor information is the floor label for each floor (column 4 lines 3-8). The learning procedure then is at least in part performed by the controller of the in-car display. The elevator control system would be connected to the in-car display via a serial connection in order to properly provide communications between the elevator control system and the in-car display, as is recognized in the art. This reference fails to disclose the in-car display to indicate a learning mode.
However Kattainen et al. teaches a system, where an in-car display (car operating panel) indicates when the system is in a different mode (service mode) (column 4 lines 16-19).
Given the teachings of Kattainen et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed in Pineau et al. with providing the in-car display to indicate a learning mode. Doing so would notify potential passengers that the elevator car is “not available for passenger transport” as taught in Kattainen et al. (column 4 lines 16-20).
Claim 17: Pineau et al. modified by Kattainen et al. discloses a system as stated above, where the elevator control system is disclosed in Pineau et al. to receive and fulfill requests to update the floor labels from a location that is remote to the elevator system (column 1 lines 46-48).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims1-3, 5-10, 14 and 15 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 1: Although the prior art (US 8,688,664 B2) teaches a method for configuring a display unit (114a-b,134a-c) (column 3 lines 59-67), where the display unit includes an in-car display of an elevator system (column 2 lines 40-44) and the in-car display includes a controller for controlling displayed information and communications with components of the elevator system, as is recognized in the art, where information corresponding to a request is received via a property server that is required to initiate a learning procedure of the in-car display (column 1 lines 56-61), and the learning procedure retrieves data from an elevator control of the elevator system (column 4 lines 4-8), and is started so as to update a configuration of the in-car display by gathering floor information for all floors of the elevator system along with any updated information and generating the configuration of the in-car display based on the floor information that has been gathered for displaying the updated information (column 3 lines 43-46, 56-67) such that the floor information is a floor label (floor name) for each floor (column 4 lines 3-6), the prior art does not teach nor suggest the in-car display to perform the learning procedure including gathering of floor information for all floors of the elevator system, where the term “gathering” is understood to mean “to bring together: collect” as defined by Merriam-Webster Dictionary. The combinations of the claimed limitations are novel and found to be allowable over prior art. The cited references taken singly or in combination do not anticipate nor make obvious applicant's claimed invention.
Claims 2, 3, 5-10, 14 and 15 depend from claim 1 and therefore inherit all allowed claim limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher Uhlir/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 September 2, 2026