DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cousins (US 20200398436 A1) in view of Artes (US 20180292827 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Cousins teaches A mobile robot comprising: ([0029] a robot 102)
a motorized base configured to move the mobile robot on a current floor of a plurality of floors; ([0030] The robot 102 moves using a set of wheels mounted on the bottom surface of the robot. [0099] Elevators 508 may be used by the robot 102 to navigate between floors.)
a robot body on the motorized base; (Fig. 8A)
a mechanical arm rotatably coupled to the robot body: ([0049] Additionally, the vertical structure 500 includes a button pushing element 512. In FIG. 5A, the button pushing element is extended into a perpendicular position. In the embodiment illustrated in FIGS. 5A and 5B, the button pushing element 512 is extended in a perpendicular position using a button pushing element hinge 514. In other embodiments, other mechanisms may be used for extending the button pushing element 512 outwards and/or for rotating the button pushing element 512.)
a memory storing a plurality of maps, each map corresponding to a floor of the plurality of floors: and ([[0038] robot 102 executes mapping software stored in memory. The mapping software, when executed, causes the robot to generate a robot-readable map of its location and/or a route to a destination. In an embodiment, the mapping software instructs the robot 102 to traverse or explore its environment using the onboard sensors. In an embodiment, based on the traversal, the mapping software generates a map of a floor or other environment.)
a controller configured to: ([0030] the robot 102 is an autonomous, wheeled, battery-powered electro-mechanical robot under control of a programmed digital computer contained in the robot.)
communicate with a central system over a network to receive a map of the current floor: ([0029] The networked environment 100 of FIG. 1 provides certain computing infrastructure to support a robot 102, to allow the robot to access building features such as locked doors or elevators, and to allow an operator to communicate directly with the robot. The networked environment 100 includes the robot and one or more computers that are local to the building or campus in which the robot is deployed. In some embodiments, remote computers may be included in the networked environment 100. The local computers within the networked environment 100 may be physically present in the building [0004] Once deployed, a particular robot may navigate a building or set of buildings from its current location to its destination. In order to navigate to its destination, the robot uses data defining a layout of the campus or environment. The data may be stored in the form of a digital map of a campus, building, or floor within a building.)
navigate the motorized base on the current floor based on a route associated with the map of the current floor: ([0010] FIG. 3 is an example of a robot-generated map of a floor of a building [0060] Additionally or alternatively, robot 102 may autonomously navigate a building using a robot-readable map. The map may include labels indicating the location of one or more elevators in the building )
navigate the motorized base to an elevator based on the map of the current floor: ([0065] FIG. 2 is a flowchart of an example process that may be programmed in a robot for operating and navigating an elevator, according to certain embodiments. In an embodiment, robot 102 executes a stored program implementing process 200 shortly after arriving at one or more elevators. Robot 102 may be traversing a route that includes taking an elevator to a particular floor. During execution of process 200, robot 102 calls and takes an elevator to travel to the particular floor.)
move the mechanical arm to actuate a call button associated with an elevator system to call an elevator to the current floor; ([0065] robot 102 executes a stored program implementing process 200 shortly after arriving at one or more elevators. [0070] the robot identifies and pushes an elevator call button.)
identify a door of the elevator opening when the elevator arrives at the current floor; ([0077] robot 102 may face an elevator and use a camera to detect whether the door is open. If robot 102 has a plurality of cameras, it may track a plurality of elevators.)
responsive to identifying the door opening: ([0035] the sensors collect data that can be transformed under program control to, for example…detect opening and closing of doors [0077] robot 102 uses one or more sensors of the robot to determine whether the elevator door has opened. )
cause the motorized base to move the mobile robot toward a target location within the elevator; ([0079] When the elevator arrives, in an operation 210, the robot enters the elevator.)
responsive to determining that the elevator has arrived at the second floor and the door is open: ([0087] In an embodiment, robot 102 uses one or more sensors of the robot to determine whether the elevator door has opened. For example, robot 102 may face an elevator and use a camera to detect whether the door is open. When the elevator door opens, robot 102 uses one or more sensors of the robot to determine whether it is on the correct floor. For example, the robot 102 may use an altimeter or barometer to calculate an estimated floor number. As another example, the robot 102 may use a microphone to detect if the elevator plays an announcement with a floor number or use a camera to identify a number displayed on a floor indicator.)
cause the motorized base to move the mobile robot outside the elevator: and ([0088] In an operation 220, the robot exits the elevator. In an embodiment, the robot 102 is programmed or configured to exit the elevator quickly after the elevator door opens, such that it fully exits the elevator before the elevator door closes. In an embodiment, the robot 102 calculates a path from its location to the elevator door while waiting for the elevator to arrive at the particular floor. When the robot 102 detects that the elevator reached the particular floor, robot 102 traverses the pre-calculated route to exit the elevator.)
cause the motorized base to move the mobile robot on the second floor ([0089] In an embodiment, after exiting the elevator, robot 102 verifies that it has arrived at the correct floor. Robot 102 may use one or more sensors of the robot to determine whether it is on the correct floor. For example, the robot 102 may use an altimeter or barometer to calculate an estimated floor number. As another example, the robot 102 may use one or more cameras to detect if a floor number is displayed near the elevator.)
Cousins does not expressly disclose but Artes discloses in response to determining the mobile robot has lost connectivity with the central server: ([0041] the robot 1 and the mobile device 2 are logged in to the same (local) WLAN and communicate via this connection. If the user with the mobile device 2 leaves the apartment, the mobile device 2 loses the connection to the local WLAN in the area of robot employment and thus also loses the direct connection with the robot) to a location with connectivity. ([0041] The mobile device 2 can now attempt to set up a connection to the communication server 3 (for example, via the mobile phone network), in order to connect by these means with the robot 1. At the same time, the user, for example, is asked whether the robot 1 should begin a task, for example, the monitoring or cleaning of an apartment. Alternatively, the robot can be informed of the change in the connection type. It can then test whether it should change its current status by, for example, automatically beginning a task. For example, the user leaving the apartment can automatically trigger the robot 1 to monitor or clean the apartment)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cousins with the teachings of Artes with a reasonable expectation of success by controlling a robot by means of a device, without the user having to devote undue attention to the communication channel between the device and the robot as taught by Artes ([0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Cousins teaches The mobile robot of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to determine the door is opening by detecting the door opening using a laser sensor based at least in part on a laser beam emitted toward the first elevator. ([0034] the laser sensors, LIDAR, 3D cameras, and color cameras collect data that can be transformed under program control to form a model of an environment and its obstructions or objects; dimensions of features such as rooms, hallways, doors, and windows; [0035] the sensors collect data that can be transformed under program control to, for example…detect opening and closing of doors [0077] robot 102 uses one or more sensors of the robot to determine whether the elevator door has opened)
Regarding claim 3, Cousins teaches The mobile robot of claim 1, wherein the memory stores a semantic map associated with the environment; ([0038] In an embodiment, robot 102 executes mapping software stored in memory. The mapping software, when executed, causes the robot to generate a robot-readable map of its location and/or a route to a destination. In an embodiment, the mapping software instructs the robot 102 to traverse or explore its environment using the onboard sensors. In an embodiment, based on the traversal, the mapping software generates a map of a floor or other environment.) and the controller is configured to determine the door is opening by: ([0035] the sensors collect data that can be transformed under program control to, for example…detect opening and closing of doors [0077] robot 102 uses one or more sensors of the robot to determine whether the elevator door has opened)
querying the semantic map ([0040] the robot port computer 104 or host computer may upload data to the robot 102 including, for example, software updates, map or facility updates, and data used to identify building-specific features such as doors [0101] the robot-generated map may comprise data associating a plurality of map features with respective location information. Other example maps may include object semantic maps and free space maps. The techniques described herein are not limited to any particular type of robot-generated map.)
Regarding claim 6, Cousins teaches The mobile robot of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to cause the mechanical arm to press the call button further by: ([0056] robot 102 executes a stored program implementing process 200 shortly after arriving at one or more elevators. [0070] the robot identifies and pushes an elevator call button.)
capturing an image of a control panel of the elevator system, the control panel comprising one or more buttons; ([0059] robot 102 may capture an image of the button panel and identify, in the image, the location of one or more buttons on the panel.)
performing image recognition on the captured image to determine pixel information associated with each button of the one or more buttons based on the captured image; ([0061] robot 102 may receive a digital image depicting a button panel. The digital image may include labels indicating the locations of each button on the button panel)
selecting the call button from the one or more buttons based on the target floor; and ([0070] the robot identifies and pushes an elevator call button.)
3responsive to selecting the call button, causing the mechanical arm to move toward the button based on the pixel information associated with the selected call button. ([0070] the robot identifies and pushes an elevator call button. the robot 102 navigates to and aligns itself in front of the button panel)
Regarding claim 7, Cousins teaches The mobile robot of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to cause the motorized base to move toward the target location within the elevator further by: ([0079] When the elevator arrives, in an operation 210, the robot enters the elevator.)
causing the motorized base to move to a location outside of the elevator, wherein an interior of the elevator is visible from the location outside the elevator; ([0072] after pushing the button or asking for a person to push the button, the robot waits for an elevator to arrive. In an embodiment, robot 102 navigates to a waiting for elevator pose and waits for an elevator door to open. As referred to herein, an elevator pose represents a defined region where the robot is programmed or configured to navigate to in order to wait for the next action. The defined region may be a region next to or near an elevator door. Additionally or alternatively, the robot may select an open space within the region)
identifying a fiducial tag associated with the target location; and ([0034] the laser sensors, LIDAR, 3D cameras, and color cameras collect data that can be transformed under program control to form a model of an environment and its obstructions or objects; dimensions of features such as rooms, hallways, doors, and windows; identification of features including staircases, elevators, doorways, signs, and fiducials; and other environment data. [0073] robot 102 determines, using one or more sensors of the robot, which elevator is answering the call and navigates to the area in front of the arriving elevator.)
responsive to identifying the fiducial tag associated with the target location, causing the motorized base to move toward the target location. ([0077] robot 102 uses one or more sensors of the robot to determine whether the elevator door has opened. For example, robot 102 may face an elevator and use a camera to detect whether the door is open. If robot 102 has a plurality of cameras, it may track a plurality of elevators [0079] When the elevator arrives, in an operation 210, the robot enters the elevator.)
Claims 9-11, 14-15, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cousins (US 20200398436 A1) in view of Artes (US 20180292827 A1) in further view of Cousins (US 20210302971 A1)
Regarding claim 9, Cousins teaches A method for navigating a mobile robot between two floors of a plurality of floors in an environment, the method comprising: (Claim 1 A method for a robot to autonomously interact with elevator controls [0030] The robot 102 moves using a set of wheels mounted on the bottom surface of the robot. [0099] Elevators 508 may be used by the robot 102 to navigate between floors.)
communicating with a central system over a network to receive a map of a current floor: ([0029] The networked environment 100 of FIG. 1 provides certain computing infrastructure to support a robot 102, to allow the robot to access building features such as locked doors or elevators, and to allow an operator to communicate directly with the robot. The networked environment 100 includes the robot and one or more computers that are local to the building or campus in which the robot is deployed. In some embodiments, remote computers may be included in the networked environment 100. The local computers within the networked environment 100 may be physically present in the building [0004] Once deployed, a particular robot may navigate a building or set of buildings from its current location to its destination. In order to navigate to its destination, the robot uses data defining a layout of the campus or environment. The data may be stored in the form of a digital map of a campus, building, or floor within a building.)
storing, in a memory of the mobile robot, a plurality of maps including a semantic map associated with the environment and the map of the current floor, each map corresponding to a floor of the plurality of floors: ([0038] robot 102 executes mapping software stored in memory. The mapping software, when executed, causes the robot to generate a robot-readable map of its location and/or a route to a destination. In an embodiment, the mapping software instructs the robot 102 to traverse or explore its environment using the onboard sensors. In an embodiment, based on the traversal, the mapping software generates a map of a floor or other environment.)
navigating the motorized base on the current floor based on a route associated with the map of the current floor: ([0010] FIG. 3 is an example of a robot-generated map of a floor of a building [0060] Additionally or alternatively, robot 102 may autonomously navigate a building using a robot-readable map. The map may include labels indicating the location of one or more elevators in the building )
navigating the mobile robot to an elevator based on a map of the current floor: ([0065] FIG. 2 is a flowchart of an example process that may be programmed in a robot for operating and navigating an elevator, according to certain embodiments. In an embodiment, robot 102 executes a stored program implementing process 200 shortly after arriving at one or more elevators. Robot 102 may be traversing a route that includes taking an elevator to a particular floor. During execution of process 200, robot 102 calls and takes an elevator to travel to the particular floor.)
identifying, by the mobile robot, a door of the elevator opening when the elevator arrives at the current floor; ([0077] robot 102 may face an elevator and use a camera to detect whether the door is open. If robot 102 has a plurality of cameras, it may track a plurality of elevators.)
responsive to identifying the door opening: ([0035] the sensors collect data that can be transformed under program control to, for example…detect opening and closing of doors [0077] robot 102 uses one or more sensors of the robot to determine whether the elevator door has opened. )
moving the motorized base toward a target location within the elevator: and ([0079] When the elevator arrives, in an operation 210, the robot enters the elevator.)
Cousins does not expressly disclose but Cousins discloses in response to determining that the mobile robot needs more time to enter the elevator before the door closes:
causing the mobile robot to wait until after the door begins to close; and
causing a mechanical arm of the mobile robot to press a button of the elevator system to cause the door to reopen after the door begins to close but before the door fully closes,
wherein, when the mobile robot presses the button the elevator is configured to leave the door open longer than when a human presses the button; and (Fig. 8A [0078] If the robot cannot board the elevator car (Fail from 880-6), the robot can execute a hall call button push operation as described herein or equivalents. A robot may fail to board an elevator car by arriving too late, or by observing predetermined interaction procedures (sensing people and allowing them to board first). [0080] Once in a button press position 880-14 a robot can press the hall call button 880-16. [0081] If the robot is at the elevator watch pose (880-10) and determines that the hall call button has been activated (Yes from 880-12), the robot can wait at the elevator watch pose (880-17). After a predetermined wait period (about two minutes in some embodiments), a robot can return to a watch pose 880-10)
Therefore, from these teachings of Cousins, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to implement embodiments of the system of Cousins “wherein, when the mobile robot presses the button the elevator is configured to leave the door open longer than when a human presses the button” in that Cousins teaches that it is a matter of design choice to implement embodiments in which the elevator system would leave the doors open longer when a robot, the elderly, etc. need more time to enter the elevator.
Therefore, from these teachings of Cousins and Cousins, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the filing was made would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Cousins to the system of Cousins since doing so would enhance the system by allowing the robot to push the again if the robot fails to board elevator.
causing, by the mobile robot, the motorized base to move toward the target location ([0079] When the elevator arrives, in an operation 210, the robot enters the elevator.)
responsive to determining that the elevator has arrived at the second floor and the door is open: ([0087] In an embodiment, robot 102 uses one or more sensors of the robot to determine whether the elevator door has opened. For example, robot 102 may face an elevator and use a camera to detect whether the door is open. When the elevator door opens, robot 102 uses one or more sensors of the robot to determine whether it is on the correct floor. For example, the robot 102 may use an altimeter or barometer to calculate an estimated floor number. As another example, the robot 102 may use a microphone to detect if the elevator plays an announcement with a floor number or use a camera to identify a number displayed on a floor indicator.)
causing the motorized base to move the mobile robot outside the elevator: and ([0088] In an operation 220, the robot exits the elevator. In an embodiment, the robot 102 is programmed or configured to exit the elevator quickly after the elevator door opens, such that it fully exits the elevator before the elevator door closes. In an embodiment, the robot 102 calculates a path from its location to the elevator door while waiting for the elevator to arrive at the particular floor. When the robot 102 detects that the elevator reached the particular floor, robot 102 traverses the pre-calculated route to exit the elevator.)
causing the motorized base to move the mobile robot on the second floor([0089] In an embodiment, after exiting the elevator, robot 102 verifies that it has arrived at the correct floor. Robot 102 may use one or more sensors of the robot to determine whether it is on the correct floor. For example, the robot 102 may use an altimeter or barometer to calculate an estimated floor number. As another example, the robot 102 may use one or more cameras to detect if a floor number is displayed near the elevator.)
Cousins does not expressly disclose but Artes discloses in response to determining the mobile robot has lost connectivity with the central server: ([0041] the robot 1 and the mobile device 2 are logged in to the same (local) WLAN and communicate via this connection. If the user with the mobile device 2 leaves the apartment, the mobile device 2 loses the connection to the local WLAN in the area of robot employment and thus also loses the direct connection with the robot) to a location with connectivity. ([0041] The mobile device 2 can now attempt to set up a connection to the communication server 3 (for example, via the mobile phone network), in order to connect by these means with the robot 1. At the same time, the user, for example, is asked whether the robot 1 should begin a task, for example, the monitoring or cleaning of an apartment. Alternatively, the robot can be informed of the change in the connection type. It can then test whether it should change its current status by, for example, automatically beginning a task. For example, the user leaving the apartment can automatically trigger the robot 1 to monitor or clean the apartment)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cousins with the teachings of Artes with a reasonable expectation of success by controlling a robot by means of a device, without the user having to devote undue attention to the communication channel between the device and the robot as taught by Artes ([0005]).
Regarding claim 10, Cousins teaches The method of claim 9, wherein determining the door is opening comprises:
emitting a laser beam toward the elevator; ([0034] the laser sensors, LIDAR, 3D cameras, and color cameras collect data that can be transformed under program control to form a model of an environment and its obstructions or objects; dimensions of features such as rooms, hallways, doors, and windows;)
detecting at least a portion of the laser beam reflected by the elevator; and ([0035] the sensors collect data that can be transformed under program control to, for example…detect opening and closing of doors)
determining the door is open based on the detection. ([0077] robot 102 uses one or more sensors of the robot to determine whether the elevator door has opened)
Regarding claim 11, Cousins teaches The method of claim 9, wherein determining the door of is opening comprises: ([0035] the sensors collect data that can be transformed under program control to, for example…detect opening and closing of doors [0077] robot 102 uses one or more sensors of the robot to determine whether the elevator door has opened)
querying the semantic map, ([0040] the robot port computer 104 or host computer may upload data to the robot 102 including, for example, software updates, map or facility updates, and data used to identify building-specific features such as doors [0101] the robot-generated map may comprise data associating a plurality of map features with respective location information. Other example maps may include object semantic maps and free space maps. The techniques described herein are not limited to any particular type of robot-generated map.)
based on the query, determining that the door is opening. ([0077] robot 102 may face an elevator and use a camera to detect whether the door is open. If robot 102 has a plurality of cameras, it may track a plurality of elevators.)
Regarding claim 14, Cousins teaches The method of claim 9, wherein causing the mechanical arm to press the button further comprises: ([0056] robot 102 executes a stored program implementing process 200 shortly after arriving at one or more elevators. [0070] the robot identifies and pushes an elevator call button.)
5capturing an image of a control panel of the elevator system, the control panel comprising one or more buttons; ([0059] robot 102 may capture an image of the button panel and identify, in the image, the location of one or more buttons on the panel.)
performing image recognition on the captured image to determine pixel information associated with each button of the one or more buttons based on the captured image; ([0061] robot 102 may receive a digital image depicting a button panel. The digital image may include labels indicating the locations of each button on the button panel)
selecting a button from the one or more buttons based on the target floor; and ([0070] the robot identifies and pushes an elevator call button.)
responsive to selecting the button, causing the mechanical arm to move toward the button based on the pixel information of the selected button. ([0070] the robot identifies and pushes an elevator call button. the robot 102 navigates to and aligns itself in front of the button panel)
Regarding claim 15, Cousins teaches The method of claim 9, wherein causing the motorized base to move toward the target location further comprises: ([0079] When the elevator arrives, in an operation 210, the robot enters the elevator.)
causing the motorized base to move to a location outside of the elevator, wherein an interior of the first elevator is visible from the location; ([0072] after pushing the button or asking for a person to push the button, the robot waits for an elevator to arrive. In an embodiment, robot 102 navigates to a waiting for elevator pose and waits for an elevator door to open. As referred to herein, an elevator pose represents a defined region where the robot is programmed or configured to navigate to in order to wait for the next action. The defined region may be a region next to or near an elevator door. Additionally or alternatively, the robot may select an open space within the region)
identifying a fiducial tag associated with the target location within the elevator; and ([0034] the laser sensors, LIDAR, 3D cameras, and color cameras collect data that can be transformed under program control to form a model of an environment and its obstructions or objects; dimensions of features such as rooms, hallways, doors, and windows; identification of features including staircases, elevators, doorways, signs, and fiducials; and other environment data. [0073] robot 102 determines, using one or more sensors of the robot, which elevator is answering the call and navigates to the area in front of the arriving elevator.)
responsive to identifying the fiducial tag associated with the target location, causing the motorized base to move toward the target location. ([0077] robot 102 uses one or more sensors of the robot to determine whether the elevator door has opened. For example, robot 102 may face an elevator and use a camera to detect whether the door is open. If robot 102 has a plurality of cameras, it may track a plurality of elevators [0079] When the elevator arrives, in an operation 210, the robot enters the elevator.)
Regarding claim 17, Cousins teaches A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing computer program instructions, the instructions when executed by a processor causing the processor to: ([0104] Computer system 400 also includes a main memory 406, such as a random-access memory (RAM) or other dynamic storage device, coupled to bus 402 for storing information and instructions to be executed by processor 404)
communicate with a central system over a network to receive a map of the current floor; ([0029] The networked environment 100 of FIG. 1 provides certain computing infrastructure to support a robot 102, to allow the robot to access building features such as locked doors or elevators, and to allow an operator to communicate directly with the robot. The networked environment 100 includes the robot and one or more computers that are local to the building or campus in which the robot is deployed. In some embodiments, remote computers may be included in the networked environment 100. The local computers within the networked environment 100 may be physically present in the building [0004] Once deployed, a particular robot may navigate a building or set of buildings from its current location to its destination. In order to navigate to its destination, the robot uses data defining a layout of the campus or environment. The data may be stored in the form of a digital map of a campus, building, or floor within a building.)
navigate the motorized base on the current floor based on a route associated with the man of the current floor: : ([0010] FIG. 3 is an example of a robot-generated map of a floor of a building [0060] Additionally or alternatively, robot 102 may autonomously navigate a building using a robot-readable map. The map may include labels indicating the location of one or more elevators in the building )
move the motorized base to an elevator based on the map: ([0065] FIG. 2 is a flowchart of an example process that may be programmed in a robot for operating and navigating an elevator, according to certain embodiments. In an embodiment, robot 102 executes a stored program implementing process 200 shortly after arriving at one or more elevators. Robot 102 may be traversing a route that includes taking an elevator to a particular floor. During execution of process 200, robot 102 calls and takes an elevator to travel to the particular floor.)
identify a door of the elevator opening when the elevator arrives at the current floor; ([0077] robot 102 may face an elevator and use a camera to detect whether the door is open. If robot 102 has a plurality of cameras, it may track a plurality of elevators.)
responsive to identifying the door opening: ([0035] the sensors collect data that can be transformed under program control to, for example…detect opening and closing of doors [0077] robot 102 uses one or more sensors of the robot to determine whether the elevator door has opened. )
moving the motorized base toward a target location within the elevator: and ([0079] When the elevator arrives, in an operation 210, the robot enters the elevator.)
Cousins does not expressly disclose but Cousins discloses in response to determining that the mobile robot needs more time to enter the elevator before the closes:
cause the mobile robot to wait until after the door begins to close; and
cause a mechanical arm of the mobile robot to press a button of the elevator system to cause the door to reopen after the door begins to close but before the door fully closes,
wherein, when the mobile robot presses the button of the elevator system, the elevator is configured to leave the door open longer than when a human presses the button; and (Fig. 8A [0078] If the robot cannot board the elevator car (Fail from 880-6), the robot can execute a hall call button push operation as described herein or equivalents. A robot may fail to board an elevator car by arriving too late, or by observing predetermined interaction procedures (sensing people and allowing them to board first). [0080] Once in a button press position 880-14 a robot can press the hall call button 880-16. [0081] If the robot is at the elevator watch pose (880-10) and determines that the hall call button has been activated (Yes from 880-12), the robot can wait at the elevator watch pose (880-17). After a predetermined wait period (about two minutes in some embodiments), a robot can return to a watch pose 880-10)
Therefore, from these teachings of Cousins, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to implement embodiments of the system of Cousins “wherein, when the mobile robot presses the button of the elevator system, the elevator is configured to leave the door open longer than when a human presses the button;” in that Cousins teaches that it is a matter of design choice to implement embodiments in which the elevator system would leave the doors open longer when a robot, the elderly, etc. need more time to enter the elevator.
Therefore, from these teachings of Cousins and Cousins, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the filing was made would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Cousins to the system of Cousins since doing so would enhance the system by allowing the robot to push the again if the robot fails to board elevator.
cause a motorized base of the mobile robot to move toward a target location within the elevator; ([0079] When the elevator arrives, in an operation 210, the robot enters the elevator.)
responsive to determining that the elevator has arrived at the second floor and the door is open: ([0087] In an embodiment, robot 102 uses one or more sensors of the robot to determine whether the elevator door has opened. For example, robot 102 may face an elevator and use a camera to detect whether the door is open. When the elevator door opens, robot 102 uses one or more sensors of the robot to determine whether it is on the correct floor. For example, the robot 102 may use an altimeter or barometer to calculate an estimated floor number. As another example, the robot 102 may use a microphone to detect if the elevator plays an announcement with a floor number or use a camera to identify a number displayed on a floor indicator.)
cause the motorized base to move the mobile robot outside the elevator; and ([0088] In an operation 220, the robot exits the elevator. In an embodiment, the robot 102 is programmed or configured to exit the elevator quickly after the elevator door opens, such that it fully exits the elevator before the elevator door closes. In an embodiment, the robot 102 calculates a path from its location to the elevator door while waiting for the elevator to arrive at the particular floor. When the robot 102 detects that the elevator reached the particular floor, robot 102 traverses the pre-calculated route to exit the elevator.)
cause the motorized base to move the mobile robot on the second floor([0089] In an embodiment, after exiting the elevator, robot 102 verifies that it has arrived at the correct floor. Robot 102 may use one or more sensors of the robot to determine whether it is on the correct floor. For example, the robot 102 may use an altimeter or barometer to calculate an estimated floor number. As another example, the robot 102 may use one or more cameras to detect if a floor number is displayed near the elevator.)
Cousins does not expressly disclose but Artes discloses in response to determining the mobile robot has lost connectivity with the central server; ([0041] the robot 1 and the mobile device 2 are logged in to the same (local) WLAN and communicate via this connection. If the user with the mobile device 2 leaves the apartment, the mobile device 2 loses the connection to the local WLAN in the area of robot employment and thus also loses the direct connection with the robot) to a location with connectivity. ([0041] The mobile device 2 can now attempt to set up a connection to the communication server 3 (for example, via the mobile phone network), in order to connect by these means with the robot 1. At the same time, the user, for example, is asked whether the robot 1 should begin a task, for example, the monitoring or cleaning of an apartment. Alternatively, the robot can be informed of the change in the connection type. It can then test whether it should change its current status by, for example, automatically beginning a task. For example, the user leaving the apartment can automatically trigger the robot 1 to monitor or clean the apartment)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cousins with the teachings of Artes with a reasonable expectation of success by controlling a robot by means of a device, without the user having to devote undue attention to the communication channel between the device and the robot as taught by Artes ([0005]).
Regarding claim 20, Cousins teaches The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the instructions to cause the mechanical arm to press the button further comprises instructions to: ([0056] robot 102 executes a stored program implementing process 200 shortly after arriving at one or more elevators. [0070] the robot identifies and pushes an elevator call button.)
capture an image of a control panel of the elevator system, the control panel comprising one or more buttons; ([0059] robot 102 may capture an image of the button panel and identify, in the image, the location of one or more buttons on the panel.)7
perform image recognition on the captured image to determine pixel information associated with each button of the one or more buttons based on the captured image; ([0061] robot 102 may receive a digital image depicting a button panel. The digital image may include labels indicating the locations of each button on the button panel)
perform image recognition on the captured image to determine pixel information associated with each of the one or more buttons based on the captured image;
select the button from the one or more buttons based on the target floor; and ([0070] the robot identifies and pushes an elevator call button.)
responsive to selecting the button, cause the mechanical arm to move toward the button based on the pixel information associated with the selected button. ([0070] the robot identifies and pushes an elevator call button. the robot 102 navigates to and aligns itself in front of the button panel)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Cousins (US 20200398436 A1) in view of Artes (US 20180292827 A1) in further view of Vilup (US 20220063108 A1)
Regarding claim 8, Cousins teaches The mobile robot of claim 1, the mobile robot is configured to operate in an autonomous mode. ([0002] The present disclosure relates to mobile digital computer-controlled robots that autonomously interact with elevator controls. Fig. 2 210 enter elevator)
Cousins does not expressly disclose but Vilup discloses wherein the mobile robot is operated by a remote operator ([0026] The service robot may…be instructed by an outside server and/or a remote operator.),
In this way, the system of Vilup includes assisting mobile robots. Like Cousins, Vilup is concerned with autonomous robots.
Therefore, from these teachings of Vilup and Cousins, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the filing was made would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Vilup to the system of Cousins since doing so would enhance the system by providing an improved and reliable way of assisting mobile robots with their operations.
Cousins does not expressly disclose but Artes discloses and responsive to determining the mobile robot has lost connectivity with the central server ([0041] the robot 1 and the mobile device 2 are logged in to the same (local) WLAN and communicate via this connection. If the user with the mobile device 2 leaves the apartment, the mobile device 2 loses the connection to the local WLAN in the area of robot employment and thus also loses the direct connection with the robot. The mobile device 2 can now attempt to set up a connection to the communication server 3 (for example, via the mobile phone network), in order to connect by these means with the robot 1. At the same time, the user, for example, is asked whether the robot 1 should begin a task, for example, the monitoring or cleaning of an apartment. Alternatively, the robot can be informed of the change in the connection type. It can then test whether it should change its current status by, for example, automatically beginning a task. For example, the user leaving the apartment can automatically trigger the robot 1 to monitor or clean the apartment)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cousins with the teachings of Artes with a reasonable expectation of success by controlling a robot by means of a device, without the user having to devote undue attention to the communication channel between the device and the robot as taught by Artes ([0005]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cousins (US 20200398436 A1) in view of Artes (US 20180292827 A1) in further view of Cousins (US 20210302971 A1) in further view of Vilup (US 20220063108 A1)
Regarding claim 16, Cousins teaches The method of claim 9, wherein while causing the motorized base to move the mobile robot toward the target location ([0002] The present disclosure relates to mobile digital computer-controlled robots that autonomously interact with elevator controls. Fig. 2 210 enter elevator),
Cousins does not expressly disclose but Vilup discloses disabling one or more control functions of remote operators. ([0026] The service robot may…be instructed by an outside server and/or a remote operator.),
In this way, the system of Vilup includes assisting mobile robots. Like Cousins, Vilup is concerned with autonomous robots.
Therefore, from these teachings of Vilup and Cousins, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the filing was made would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Vilup to the system of Cousins since doing so would enhance the system by providing an improved and reliable way of assisting mobile robots with their operations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/13/2024 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant argues that the 35 USC 103 rejection for claim 1 should not be maintained in view of “Applicant submits the proposed Cousins-Iwama-Cousins-2 combination fails to teach or suggest a mobile robot that communicates with a central server and, when connectivity with the central server is lost, navigates using an elevator to a second floor to a location with connectivity” However, a new ground of rejection is above in view of the amendment.
Conclusion
/S.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656