DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kamen (US Pub. No. 2017/0333623 A1).
Claim 1. Kamen discloses a method for operating a syringe pump assembly comprising:
receiving a syringe (i.e., reservoir received by syringe pump 10) in an opening (i.e., opening of syringe pump 10) of a drug receptacle of a pump (10) of the syringe pump assembly ([0418]);
determining, at a controller separate from the pump ([0413] and [0418]; i.e., controller of monitoring client 2 is separate from syringe pump 10), information (i.e., serial number) indicative of the contents of the syringe using a sensor (i.e., scanner) positioned in the drug receptacle of the pump of the syringe pump assembly ([0418]); and
receiving, at an electronic medical records system in communication with the controller, drug administration data from a user ([0413]; via monitoring client 2 communicating with EMR records regarding the patient treatment);
determining, utilizing embedded information in the electronic medical records system ([0460]; i.e., via querying EMR database for stored patient information)without input from a physician ([0413], [0420], the EMR is used to determine the appropriateness of the received drug administration), an appropriateness of the received drug administration data view of the determined information indicative of the contents of the syringe ([0418]) and further in view of patient-specific information stored in a patient database of the electronic medical records system ([0413], [0420]); and
making, at the electronic medical records system without input from a physician ([0413], [0420] the EMR is used to determine the appropriateness and not a separate physician determination) an administration decision for the contents of the syringe based on the determined appropriateness of the received drug administration data using a controller separate from the pump ([0422], [0413] and [0418]; i.e., controller of monitoring client 2 is separate from syringe pump 10 and makes administration decision for the contents of the syringe by verifying preprogrammed treatment information being safe or matches with prescribed treatment stored in the EMR records, see [0413], and also determine if the correct medication is administered to the correct patient, see [0418]).
Furthermore, while Kamen discloses a syringe being received by syringe pump 10 since it is a syringe pump, see method described in [0811], Fig. 105 for loading a syringe pump, Kamen does not further disclose "wherein the syringe extends lengthwise between a first end and a second end, and wherein receiving the syringe in the opening comprises receiving the first end and the second end of the syringe in the opening" for syringe pump 10. However, Kamen further discloses an alternative embodiment of the syringe pump in the form of syringe pump 500, wherein the method of using syringe pump 500 comprises:
receiving a syringe (504) in an opening (see annotated Fig. 29; i.e., opening form by 506, 518, 522) of a drug receptacle of a pump (501) of the syringe pump assembly ([0452)-[0454]; Fig. 28), wherein the syringe extends lengthwise between a first end and a second end (see annotated Fig. 28), and wherein receiving the syringe in the opening comprises receiving the first end and the second end of the syringe in the opening (see annotated Fig. 28);
determining information indicative of the contents of the syringe using a sensor (8127) positioned in the drug receptacle of the pump of the syringe pump assembly (Fig. 29; [0465]-[0467]);
receiving drug administration data from a user ([0457]-[0458]; via display 514); operating via electrical system 4000 which is architected to provide safe operation ([0586]) comprising a user interface and safety processor managing telecommunication, user interface 3701, and providing safety checks ([0587]).
Therefore, since Kamen discloses that syringe pump 500 as an exemplary syringe pump, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of operating system 1 with inserting a syringe into the syringe pump such as inserting of syringe 504 into syringe pump 500 disclosed by Kamen ([0452]-[0454] of Kamen) since such modification would be considered obvious to one skilled in the art without departing from the disclosure ([0877]).
Claim 2. Kamen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Kamen further discloses the determining the appropriateness of the received drug administration data comprises confirming the received drug administration data is appropriate in view of the determined information indicative of the contents of the syringe and further in view of the patient-specific information ([0413]-[0420] of Kamen), and wherein Kamen further discloses that the method further comprising administering the contents of the syringe, via a plunger of the syringe pump (522,524) ([0475]; Fig. 28), according to the received drug administration data in response to confirming the received drug administration data is appropriate ([0421]).
Claim 3. Kamen discloses method of claim 1, wherein Kamen discloses the determining the appropriateness of the received drug administration data comprises determining the received drug administration data is not appropriate in view of the determined information indicative of the contents of the syringe and further in view of the patient-specific information ([0413]-[0420] of Kamen), and wherein Kamen further discloses the method further comprising providing a notification, via the controller, to the user indicative of received drug administration data not being appropriate ([0419], [0422]; i.e., since monitoring client 2 determines if safe).
Claim 4. Kamen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Kamen further discloses the receiving drug administration data from the user comprises receiving the drug administration data from the user through the syringe pump assembly ([0420]).
Claim 5. Kamen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Kamen further discloses the receiving drug administration data from the user comprises receiving the drug administration data from the user through the electronic medical records system ([0420]).
Claim 6. Kamen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Kamen further discloses the patient-specific information includes known allergies, weight-dose check information, or both ([0420]).
Claim 7. Kamen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Kamen further discloses the determining information indicative of the contents of the syringe using the sensor comprises sensing data indicative of the contents of the syringe using the sensor from an indicia (i.e., barcode or RFID tag) on the syringe after the syringe is loaded into the opening of the drug receptacle ([0418]). Similarly, Kamen also discloses that camera 8127 of syringe pump 500 reading QR code from syringe to identify the syringe ([0466]).
Claim 8. Kamen discloses the method of claim 7, wherein Kamen further discloses the sensing the data indicative of the contents of the syringe using the sensor from the indicia on the syringe comprises reading a barcode on the syringe with the sensor after the syringe is loaded into the opening of the drug receptacle ([0418]).
Claim 9. Kamen discloses the method of claim 7, wherein Kamen further discloses the sensor is positioned within the opening of the drug receptacle, or the sensor is positioned to define a line of sight to the opening of the drug receptacle ([0418]; [0466], Fig. 28).
Claim 10. Kamen discloses the method of claim 7, wherein Kamen further discloses the sensor is an optical sensor ([0418] for scanner of barcode; [0465] for camera 8127).
Claim 11. Kamen discloses the method of claim 7, wherein Kamen further discloses comprising: displaying information to the user in response to the determined information indicative of the contents of the syringe to solicit drug administration data ([0420] [0422]).
Claim 12. Kamen discloses the method of claim 7, wherein Kamen further discloses the drug administration data includes dosage information and rate of administration data ([0420]; i.e., flow rate and dosage is part of the treatment regime).
Claim 22. Kamen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Kamen discloses the making the administration decision for the contents of the syringe based on the determined appropriateness of the received drug administration data ([0413], [0420]) comprises providing, by the electronic medical records system to the controller separate from the pump ([0413], [0420]), instructions to proceed and Kamen discloses providing feedback to the user via user interface of syringe pump 10 based on verification with the EMR records that the information matches the prescribed treatment stored in the EMR records, since Kamen further discloses that monitoring client 2 communicates with EMR records to verify that the preprogrammed treatment information is safe for an identified patient and/or the preprogrammed treatment information matches the prescribed treatment stored in the EMR records ([0413], [0419]-[0422]).
Claim 13. Kamen discloses syringe pump assembly (1) comprising:
a drug receptacle (i.e., receptacle of syringe pump 10) defining an opening for receiving a syringe (i.e., since syringe pump 10 is a syringe pump, it is capable of receiving a syringe such as illustrated by exemplary embodiment of syringe pump 500 in Fig. 28);
a pump (10) operable with the opening foradministering contents of the syringe when the syringe is positioned within the opening ([0418]);
a sensor (i.e., scanner) configured to sense data indicative of information indicative of a content of the syringe when the syringe is positioned within the opening ([0418]);
and a controller (i.e., controller of monitoring client 2) separate from the pump (Fig. 1; i.e., controller of monitoring client 2 is separate from syringe pump 10) and operable with both the pump ([0418]) and the sensor ([0412], [0419]), the controller configured to
receive the sensed data indicative of the contents of the syringe ([0418] for syringe pump 10; [0412], [0419] for monitoring client 2);
send drug administration data from a user to an electronic medical record system ([0413]; via monitoring client 2 communicating with EMR records regarding the patient treatment); make an administration decision for the contents of the syringe based on a determined appropriateness of the received drug administration data ([0413] and [0418]; i.e., controller of monitoring client 2 makes administration decision for the contents of the syringe by verifying preprogrammed treatment information being safe or matches with prescribed treatment stored in the EMR records, see [0413], and also determine if the correct medication is administered to the correct patient, see [0418]), utilizing embedded information in the electronic medical records system ([0460]; i.e., via querying EMR database for stored patient information) and
receive, from the electronic medical records system, an administration decision for the contents of the syringe based on determined appropriateness of the received drug administration data made by the electronic medical records system via embedded information in the electronic medical records system without input from a physician ([0413], [0420], the EMR is used to determine appropriateness by comparing with a programmed information on the patient and is not dependent on a physician input to determine the appropriateness).
Again, while Kamen discloses a syringe being received by syringe pump 10 since it is a syringe pump, see method described in [0811], Fig. 105 for loading a syringe pump, Kamen does not further disclose "wherein the syringe extends lengthwise between a first end and a second end, and wherein receiving the syringe in the opening comprises receiving the first end and the second end of the syringe in the opening" for syringe pump 10. However, Kamen further discloses an alternative embodiment of the syringe pump in the form of syringe pump 500, wherein the method of using syringe pump 500 comprises: receiving a syringe (504) in an opening (see annotated Fig. 29; i.e., opening form by 506, 518, 522) of a drug receptacle of a pump (501) of the syringe pump assembly ([0452)-[0454]; Fig. 28), wherein the syringe extends lengthwise between a first end and a second end (see annotated Fig. 28), and wherein receiving the syringe in the opening comprises receiving the first end and the second end of the syringe in the opening (see annotated Fig. 28); determining information indicative of the contents of the syringe using a sensor (8127) positioned in the drug receptacle of the pump of the syringe pump assembly (Fig. 29; [0465]-[0467]); receiving drug administration data from a user ([0457]-[0458]; via display 514); operating via electrical system 4000 which is architected to provide safe operation ([0586]) comprising a user interface and safety processor managing telecommunication, user interface 3701, and providing safety checks ([0587]).
Therefore, since Kamen discloses that syringe pump 500 as an exemplary syringe pump, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of operating system 1 with inserting a syringe into the syringe pump such as inserting of syringe 504 into syringe pump 500 disclosed by Kamen ([0452]-[0454] of Kamen) since such modification would be considered obvious to one skilled in the art without departing from the disclosure ([0877]).
Claim 14. Kamen discloses the syringe pump assembly of claim 13, wherein Kamen further discloses the sensor is a barcode reader (i.e., scanner), and wherein the sensed data indicative of the contents of the syringe is a barcode ([0418]).
Claim 15. Kamen discloses the syringe pump assembly of claim 13, wherein Kamen further discloses the sensor is positioned within the opening of the drug receptacle ([0418]).
Claim 16. Kamen discloses the syringe pump assembly of claim 13, wherein Kamen further discloses the opening is a first opening, wherein the pump is a first pump, wherein the sensor is a first sensor (Fig. 1), but does not further disclose that system 1 comprises wherein the drug receptacle further defines a second opening for receiving a second syringe, and wherein the syringe pump assembly further comprises: a second pump operable with the second opening for administering contents of the second syringe when the second syringe is positioned within the second opening; a second sensor configured to sense data indicative of a content of the second syringe when the syringe is positioned within the second opening. However, Kamen also discloses an embodiment with several medical devices 402 wherein the medical devices 402 includes an infusion pump, a syringe pump, a monitoring client ([0442]). Therefore, it follows that the embodiment of system 400 of Figs. 17-18 discloses multiple syringe pumps and thus, Kamen discloses the opening is a first opening, wherein the pump is a first pump, wherein the sensor is a first sensor (syringe pump 10 illustrated in Fig. 1), wherein the drug receptacle further defines a second opening for receiving a second syringe, and wherein the syringe pump assembly further comprises: a second pump operable with the second opening for administering the contents of the second syringe when the second syringe is positioned within the second opening; a second sensor configured to sense data indicative of a content of the second syringe when the syringe is positioned within the second opening (i.e., second syringe pump as another medical device of system 400).
However, even if the disclosure for system 400 cannot be relied upon as Kamen explicitly disclosing wherein the drug receptacle further defines a second opening for receiving a second syringe, and wherein the syringe pump assembly further comprises: a second pump operable with the second opening for administering the contents of the second syringe when the second syringe is positioned within the second opening; a second sensor configured to sense data indicative of a content of the second syringe when the syringe is positioned within the second opening, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify system 400 with a second syringe pump as one of the medical devices since Kamen discloses that a system with multiple syringe pumps is one of the embodiments (see Fig. 2; [0423]). Thus, such modification would be considered obvious to one skilled in the art without departing from the disclosure ([0877]).
Claim 17. Kamen discloses the syringe pump assembly of claim 13, wherein Kamen further discloses the electronic medical records system is configured to determine the appropriateness of the received drug administration data at least in part in view of the sensed data indicative of the contents of the syringe, wherein the electronic records system is further configured to determine the appropriateness of the received drug administration data at least in part in view of the sensed data indicative of the contents of the syringe and patient-specific information stored in the electronic medical records system ([0413], [0420]).
Claim 18. Kamen discloses the syringe pump assembly of claim 17, wherein Kamen in view of Krusz further discloses upon receiving the administration decision for the contents of the syringe comprises administering the contents of the syringe according to the received drug administration data in response to confirming the received drug administration data is appropriate ([0421] of Kamen since the administration decision of Kamen is received while monitoring client 2 communicates with the EMR records).
Claim 23. Kamen discloses a method for operating an Electronic Medical Records (EMR)- controlled syringe pump assembly comprising:
determining information (i.e., serial number) indicative of the contents of a syringe (i.e., reservoir received by syringe pump 10) received in an opening (i.e., opening of syringe pump 10) ofa drug receptacle of a pump (10) ofthe EMR-controlled syringe pump assembly ([0413], [0418]);
receiving, at an EMR system, drug administration data from a user ([0413]; via monitoring client 2 communicating with EMR records regarding the patient treatment);
determining, at the EMR system without input from a physician ([0413], [0420]), an appropriateness of the received drug administration data view of the determined information indicative of the contents of the syringe ([0418]) and further in view of patient-specific information received in a patient database of the EMR system ([0413], [0420]); and
making, utilizing embedded information in the electronic medical records system without input from a physician ([0460]; i.e., via querying EMR database for stored patient information, [0413], [0420]), an administration decision for the contents of the syringe based on the determined appropriateness of the received drug administration data, wherein the making the administration decision for the contents of the syringe based on the determined appropriateness of the received drug administration data comprises providing, from the EMR system to a controller separate from the pump ([0413] and [0418]; i.e., controller of monitoring client 2 is separate from syringe pump 10), instructions to proceed ([0413], [0419]-[0422]; i.e., via providing feedback to the user via user interface of syringe pump 10 based on verification with the EMR records that the information matches the prescribed treatment stored in the EMR records, since Kamen further discloses that monitoring client 2 communicates with EMR records to verify that the preprogrammed treatment information is safe for an identified patient and/or the preprogrammed treatment information matches the prescribed treatment stored in the EMR records ([0413]) and monitors the liquid being delivered to a patient may be monitored to determine if all the medications being delivered are safe for the patient via communications with syringe pump 10 ([0418] and depending on whether the treatment regime is determined to be safe or not, different instructions are provided to the user, see [0421]-[0422]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18, 22-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant amended claims to include the limitation “without input from a physician” in order to overcome the Krusz reference. In light of the arguments, the Krusz is being withdrawn. However, upon further examination it appears that the Kamen reference teaches these limitations without the need for a secondary reference. [0413] and [0420] teaches that the syringe pump communicates with the EMR in order to verify programmed treatment information and also verifies the patient information that is already stored in the EMR records. There is not teach that a physician must interfere in the communication between the pump and the EMR in order to verify/determine the appropriateness of the treatment program. Further [0422] teaches that in certain embodiments a physician intervention is needed, however, in the present embodiment that is being described Kamen describes that the “EMR may prevent treatment from being delivered if the EMR determines that the treatment regime exceeds a second set of criteria”. Thus Kamen appears to teach that the EMR determines the appropriateness of the drug administration data and further the EMR can make an administration decision (“prevents treatment”) based on the appropriateness of the received drug administration data.
Because the Examiner has changed on this application, the current Examiner is open to having an interview in order to discuss steps forward in order to further prosecution on this application.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Lauren P Farrar/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783