DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Applicant Arguments/Remarks filed 10/6/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/6/2025 have been fully considered.
Regarding the arguments on pages 9-10 that Able does not teach “linking of process-representing visual elements representing portions of code instructions in a graphical user interface as a visual modeling tool for the development of a set of code instructions to execute an end-to-end business integration process including determining a database query for the end-to-end business integration process”, the teachings of Able is “distinct from an enterprise based customized end-to-end business integration process modeling tool using the linking of process representing visual elements representing code portions of instructions in a graphical user interface and customization of natural language suggested API query generation as claimed”, examiner respectfully disagrees.
Able teaches end-to-end business integration – See para. 16: large companies and government entities (enterprises) typically use mainframe computing systems; para. 7: Web pages may be generated dynamically by a server by integrating a variety of elements into a formatted page prior to transmission to a Web client. Web servers, and information servers of other types, await requests for the information from Internet/remote clients; para. 9: Web services further facilitate access to information on the Internet by computer users. Web services address the need to integrate legacy mainframe applications by acting as platform-independent interfaces that allow communication with other applications using standards-based Internet technologies,
such as HTTP and XML.
para. 85-87: the definition may be processed by popular Integrated Development Environment ("IDE") products that supply the capability to automatically build the Java, C# or other language interface code for processing the service described by the definition. The server side instructions (rules) contain a mixture of execution and data flow. The model designer details completely how the server is to operate. Data flow is completely described within the modeling diagram process.
para. 75-76: a client uses a graphical interface to build a business process by defining inputs and expected outputs and then stepping through the application using graphical icons or nodes for each step. This graphical user interface allows the modeling of a service via graphical objects. The graphical objects are connected using connection points to form a flow through the various applications or methods needed to create the single process or composite process web service. The modeler provides the server with the rules required to navigate or otherwise invoke a business logic process, a transactional or conversational type application or even Web services which exist on the same or external servers; para. 77-78: the server or manager is a rules-based engine used to process rules generated as instructions from the modeler. The composite processing of applications provided by the server are a direct result of building the application flow using a graphical design tool. The graphical tool serves as one facet of the overall systems and methods described herein. Use of this tool allows no additional programming to be required once the modeler tool has deployed the rules to the server or manager software; para. 296: using the modeler or server, the existing program and business process can be converted to a Web service through a graphical definition, and no changes to the original program are required Thus, Able teaches automatically generating a set of connector code instructions for execution of the future data set query.
para. 95: a user builds a business process by defining inputs and expected outputs and then stepping through the application using graphical icons for each step. Each of the functions, for example business logic functions, starts and stop, logic flow, or XML remap, is represented by an icon. The end result is a graphical design of the application from the service inputs to the final service response. Menus and screen literals may optionally be based in resource files to allow for support of languages other than English; para. 160: the modeler or studio function typically includes a high quality graphical display process to achieve the easy graphical building of application flow process. Icons and images are used to associate tasks and functions required to build or orchestrate an application or set of application flows. FIG. 13 depicts a sample screen of one example interface with features. Thus, Able teaches the “linking of process representing visual elements representing code portions of instruction in the graphical user interface”.
para. 316-325: interaction with a business partner with a different computer system. Provide the ability to combine these separate business processes into a single business process implemented as one or more Web services, e.g., may have a separate application or business process for each type of insurance policy: home, car, and health.
Regarding the arguments on pages 11-12 in relating to the limitation: “generate a natural language sentence describing a suggested remote API query for the first portion of code instructions in a dataset query selection user interface displayed via a display as part of the graphical user interface for modeling the end-to-end business integration process”,
Able teaches at fig. 23: prompt users for an action selection, e.g., search an account, process an account by display, add, change, delete functions etc. and press enter to search or go to action (in natural language sentence), clear to exit. (Each user selection is a suggested remote API query for the first portion of code instructions in a dataset query selection user interface displayed via a display as part of the graphical user interface for modeling the end-to-end business integration process.)
It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN. "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including non-preferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123). The Examiner has cited particular locations in the reference(s) as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, typically other passages and figures will apply as well.
Franchitti also teaches “generate a natural language sentence describing a suggested remote API query for the first portion of code instructions in a dataset query selection user interface displayed via a display as part of the graphical user interface for modeling the end-to-end business integration process” at
para. 126: advances in artificial intelligence (AI) deep learning, Internet of Machine (IoM), and interactive user interface (UI) technologies are facilitating natural language interfaces;
para. 152: applicability in a wide range of applications and contexts, including (but not limited to) finance, healthcare, manufacturing, hobbyists (e.g., collectors), insurance, autonomous vehicles, music, legal, real estate, museum (e.g., art museums),
interactive human training; para. 183: end to end business solutions; para. 186: listening to the calm voice of your day-to-day digital assistant telling you about the work that your portfolio of intelligent active and/or autonomous applications has accomplished on your behalf while you were busy doing other things. This brief would include any new learnings that your applications have acquired to make your life easier. Of course, your assistant would inquire about your willingness to leverage such learnings and add them to your subscription plan.
The autonomous vehicles, interactive human training, digital assistants do provide natural language sentence(s)/prompt, question(s) in API question/query to user for selection, e.g., products, services… - See para. 221: for companies that sell physical products, this may mean having customers interact with an intelligent active and/or autonomous agent via an augmented reality interface to gain access to store location and product taxonomies. As the agent keeps learning, it makes it increasingly easier for customers to locate the stores and products that suit their needs ( or buy them online ). Thus, the combination of references does teach the argued limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Able (US 20080209392) in view of in view of Franchitti et al. (US 20190171438).
Specification, para. 86 teaches “the integration application management system in an embodiment may associate the start element 402 with a connector code set, written in a human- readable, machine-executable code language (e.g., JSON or XML), that includes code instructions for accessing a data set field value associated with a user-specified data set field name defined within the start element 402”.
As per claim 1, Able teaches
an information handling system operating an automated data set query suggestion system comprising: a processor executing code instructions to model an integration process with arrangement and linking of process-representing visual elements representing portions of code instructions in a graphical user interface as a visual modeling tool for the development of a set of code instructions to execute an end-to-end business integration process (para. 16: large companies and government entities (enterprises) typically use mainframe computing systems; para. 7: Web pages may be generated dynamically by a server by integrating a variety of elements into a formatted page prior to transmission to a Web client. Web servers, and information servers of other types, await requests for the information from Internet/remote clients; para. 9: Web services further facilitate access to information on the Internet by computer users. Web services address the need to integrate legacy mainframe applications by acting as platform-independent interfaces that allow communication with other applications using standards-based Internet technologies,
such as HTTP and XML; para. 85-87: the definition may be processed by popular Integrated Development Environment ("IDE") products that supply the capability to automatically build the Java, C# or other language interface code for processing the service described by the definition. The server side instructions (rules) contain a mixture of execution and data flow. The model designer details completely how the server is to operate. Data flow is completely described within the modeling diagram process.
para. 75-76: a client uses a graphical interface to build a business process by defining inputs and expected outputs and then stepping through the application using graphical icons or nodes for each step. This graphical user interface allows the modeling of a service via graphical objects. The graphical objects are connected using connection points to form a flow through the various applications or methods needed to create the single process or composite process web service. The modeler provides the server with the rules required to navigate or otherwise invoke a business logic process, a transactional or conversational type application or even Web services which exist on the same or external servers; para. 77-78: the server or manager is a rules-based engine used to process rules generated as instructions from the modeler. The composite processing of applications provided by the server are a direct result of building the application flow using a graphical design tool. The graphical tool serves as one facet of the overall systems and methods described herein. Use of this tool allows no additional programming to be required once the modeler tool has deployed the rules to the server or manager software; para. 296: using the modeler or server, the existing program and business process can be converted to a Web service through a graphical definition, and no changes to the original program are required Thus, Able teaches automatically generating a set of connector code instructions for execution of the future data set query.
para. 95: a user builds a business process by defining inputs and expected outputs and then stepping through the application using graphical icons for each step. Each of the functions, for example business logic functions, starts and stop, logic flow, or XML remap, is represented by an icon. The end result is a graphical design of the application from the service inputs to the final service response. Menus and screen literals may optionally be based in resource files to allow for support of languages other than English; para. 160: the modeler or studio function typically includes a high quality graphical display process to achieve the easy graphical building of application flow process. Icons and images are used to associate tasks and functions required to build or orchestrate an application or set of application flows. FIG. 13 depicts a sample screen of one example interface with features. Thus, Able teaches the “linking of process representing visual elements representing code portions of instruction in the graphical user interface.)
including determining a database query for the end-to-end business integration process for transformation and transfer of a data set among disparate computing networks from a first database with a first data format to a second database with a second data format in the end-to-end business integration process (para. 25-26, 69-70: multiple related data stores accessible through a unified management system, which together serve as the SDS/system data store; or multiple independent data stores individually accessible through disparate management systems, which may in some implementations be collectively viewed as the SDS; para. 76-78: the modeler software is resident on the client's workstation and converts the client's input into processing rules in a single format, for example XML. The modeler provides the server with the rules required to navigate or otherwise invoke a business logic process, a transactional or conversational type application or even Web services which exist on the same or external servers. The modeler or studio tooling builds the WSDL file automatically for the client or user of the system and removes the need to have the knowledge of building these interface files; para. 85: the definition may be processed by popular Integrated Development Environment ("IDE") products that supply the capability to automatically build the Java, C# or other language interface code for processing the service described by the definition; para. 99: each node is converted into a set of rules that allow the various processes of a Web service to be applied to information and procedures resident on a server, for example the CICS TS server/first format or on IMS-based server/second format processes; para. 112-113: Data Source node provides access to external file systems and database data, for example, DL/I, IMS, DB2, and other ISV databases. Each Data Source node will have unique options for each of the different Data Source databases or file systems supported; para. 152: the application meta data mapping and data transformation algorithm may be based on the imported meta data information collected from the modeler or studio execution rules instructions);
where part of the modeled integration process to identifying the data set occurs through customizing a first process-representing visual element representing a first portion of code instructions to customize a remote application program interface (API) query as part of the first portion of code instructions for access by the end-to-end business integration process being modeled (para. 19: services are defined with respect to one or more functions available from applications executing on one or more remote systems. In a further aspect, such definitions are used to generate a programmatic implementation that is communicated to a server executing on, or in communication with, the remote system(s); para. 75: a graphical user interface allows the modeling of a service via graphical objects. The graphical objects are connected using connection points to form a flow through the various applications or methods needed to create the single process or composite process web service; fig. 9: leading mainframe integration since 1982: company, products, solutions that depicts an Integrated Development Environment (IDE) for an exemplary modeler; para. 85: the definition may be processed by popular IDE products that supply the capability to automatically build the Java, C# or other language interface code for processing the service described by the definition; para. 96-99: the modeler allows users access to multiple applications in a single service by combining application available functions. The modeler may incorporate functions to import copybooks that are converted to an easy to understand XML format, which allows for easy expansion of the resulting meta data dictionary. The modeler may also incorporate a BMS macro importer to convert the BMS source into XML format; para. 169, 172: graphical toolbox of icons used to manage the various nodes required for building application flows and composite application processes. The toolbar may be fully customizable to allow clients to place important or high use items on toolbars for easy access);
performing a user-selected action via the remote API query on the identified data set during the end-to-end business integration process (para. 19, 80-82: the importing process provides a way to communicate between various different system types, and the meta data collected through importation allow systems designers to communicate in a known language. The graphical building of a service may use imported information to define communication with business logic and/or application processes. Each node has a unique function and properties that define the service and the operations performed by the service. For example, in a particular implementation, a Start node can describe the service and can serve the anchor or parent node for all other operations. A Start node can further represent multiple operations and/or configuration settings; para. 296: using the modeler or server, the existing program and business process can be converted to a Web service through a graphical definition, and no changes to the original program are required);
the processor to generate a natural language sentence describing a suggested remote API query for the first portion of code instructions in a dataset query selection user interface displayed via a display as part of the graphical user interface for modeling the end-to-end business integration process (para. 75, 78-80: the modeler or studio tooling builds the WSDL file automatically for the client or user of the system and removes the need to have the knowledge of building these interface files. Existing business logic and/or application information can be imported into the systems and methods described herein. An interface can be provided for such importation such as depicted in fig. 2. Imported business logic and/or application information can then be used to build Web and/or batch services. The importing process provides a way to communicate between various different system types, and the metadata collected through importation allow systems designers to communicate in a known language; fig. 23: prompt users for an action selection, e.g., search an account, process an account by display, add, change, delete functions etc. and press enter to search or go to action (in natural language sentence), clear to exit. (Each user selection is a suggested remote API query for the first portion of code instructions in a dataset query selection user interface displayed via a display as part of the graphical user interface for modeling the end-to-end business integration process)),
where the suggested remote API query is, based on first node value and a first to second edge value for a previously executed database query describing previously executed remote API query parameters used in previous modeling of an already-deployed end-to-end business integration process (para. 19: services are defined with respect to one or more functions available from applications executing on one or more remote systems. In a further aspect, such definitions are used to generate a programmatic implementation that is communicated to a server executing on, or in communication with, the remote system(s); fig. 25: using the modeler or server, the existing program and business process can be converted to a Web service through a graphical definition, and no changes to the original program are required; para. 69: multiple related data stores accessible through a unified management system, which together serve as the SDS; or multiple independent data stores individually accessible through disparate management systems, which may in some implementations be collectively viewed as the SDS. The various storage elements that comprise the physical architecture of the SDS may be centrally located or distributed across a variety of diverse locations; para. 80: the importing process provides a way to communicate between various different system types, and the metadata collected through importation allow systems designers to communicate in a known language; para. 83: once the service operations have been defined the user may select the correct processing or point node. Each processing or point node defines the information required to access the target source; para. 169-173: graphical toolbox of icons used to manage the various nodes required for building application flows and composite application processes. The nodes will be placed in a logical order that a developer might be using; para. 204: the collection point for movements of metadata from all previously referenced storage to the API area used to communicate to the application; para. 322-323: provide the ability to combine these separate business processes into a single business process implemented as one or more Web services);
the dataset query selection user interface configured to receive a user instruction to perform the suggested remote API query, as described by the natural language sentence, to access the identified data set within the modeled end-to-end business integration process (fig. 1: nodes GetAccountByName, AccountVerify, GetNameAddress, GetAccountStatus each has different operation(s); fig.30: inputs including last name, first name in the "GetAccountByName" Node, account number in Account Verify Node, and Execute Web Service Client Node etc., e.g., save account number operation in fig. 29A, thus, each node has a different operation; para. 91: once the user selects an operation from the list the input field, meta data will be used to build a tree view of the required input fields. Thus, based on the user's selection of for a certain service, a number of the user inputs are prompted/required - See figs. 23-24: a user can enter last name, first name, account number or address etc. Operations can be view/display, add, change, delete in relating to the user account);
a network interface device configured to transmit a generated set of connector code instructions and a runtime engine for execution of the modeled end-to-end business integration process accessing the identified dataset at a remote location in deployment of the end-to-end business integration process generated from the model with process-representing visual elements via the graphical user interface (para. 10: Web services using the request and response methods are further described as being a Service Oriented Architecture ("SOA'') approach to integration of electronic business applications or processes; para. 26: allows the modeler and manager to communicate changes to the flow before runtime that take place at runtime. The manager can allow for called projects, so that an application program can call other application flows at any time based on application or business requirements. This can provide a very powerful way to extend working application flows. An application flow can call other deployed application flows at any time during its processing; para. 85-87: the definition may be processed by popular Integrated Development Environment ("IDE") products that supply the capability to automatically build the Java, C# or other language interface code for processing the service described by the definition. The server side instructions (rules) contain a mixture of execution and data flow. The model designer details completely how the server is to operate. Data flow is completely described within the modeling diagram process; para. 75-76: a client uses a graphical interface to build a business process by defining inputs and expected outputs and then stepping through the application using graphical icons or nodes for each step. This graphical user interface allows the modeling of a service via graphical objects. The graphical objects are connected using connection points to form a flow through the various applications or methods needed to create the single process or composite process web service. The modeler provides the server with the rules required to navigate or otherwise invoke a business logic process, a transactional or conversational type application or even Web services which exist on the same or external servers. Thus, automatically generating a set of connector code instructions for execution of the future data set query).
Even if Able does not explicitly teach the suggested remote API query is, based on first node value and a first to second edge value for a previously executed database query,
Franchitti teaches
where the suggested remote API query is, based on first node value and a first to second edge value for a previously executed database query describing previously executed remote API query parameters used in previous modeling of an already-deployed end-to-end business integration process (para. 5, 183: building end-to-end solutions to business problems calls for a deep understanding of the underlying business domains, value chains, and capabilities; para. 494: fig. 54 illustrates at a conceptual level the end-to-end SBPM capabilities implemented within the DKMF business solutions manager; para. 601: helps recommend the selection and integration of these reusable components in intelligent active and/or autonomous business solutions. ArchViz™ is an interactive AR visualization tools that facilitates the browsing of reusable solution components within the knowledge base; para. 636: dynamic environment aimed at facilitating the end-to-end lifecycle of connected intelligent active and/or autonomous business solutions that power the DKME marketplace; para. 669: manages the reuse of business problems and solutions knowledge to help evolve business solutions and make them more available and suitable to business users).
receive a user instruction to perform the suggested remote API query, as described by the natural language sentence, to access the identified data set within the modeled end-to-end business integration process (para. 6, 151: a needed or recommended modification to a compute node and/or to a compute node network architecture, software, component set, etc., is detected by a compute node and can result in a signal generated to request that a user accept or authorize the needed or recommended modification; para. 126: advances in artificial intelligence (AI) deep learning, Internet of Machine (IoM), and interactive user interface (UI) technologies are facilitating natural language interfaces; para. 152: applicability in a wide range of applications and contexts, including (but not limited to) finance, healthcare, manufacturing, hobbyists (e.g., collectors), insurance, autonomous vehicles, music, legal, real estate, museum (e.g., art museums), interactive human training; para. 186: listening to the calm voice of your day-to-day digital assistant telling you about the work that your portfolio of intelligent active and/or autonomous applications has accomplished on your behalf while you were busy doing other things. This brief would include any new learnings that your applications have acquired to make your life easier. Of course, your assistant would inquire about your willingness to leverage such learnings and add them to your subscription plan. The autonomous vehicles, interactive human training, digital assistants do provide natural language sentence in API question/query to user for selection, e.g., products, services… - See para. 221: for companies that sell physical products, this may mean having customers interact with an intelligent active and/or autonomous agent via an augmented reality interface to gain access to store location and product taxonomies. As the agent keeps learning, it makes it increasingly easier for customers to locate the stores and products that suit their needs ( or buy them online ); para. 214, 605: the DKMF development environment is designed to support end-to-end-development of DKMF-based intelligent active and/or autonomous business solutions);
Thus, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Able and the suggested remote API query of Franchitti to effectively display and allow users to view and select any of the available options on the interface that best serve the users’ needs for achieving desired results of deploying business integration solutions.
As per claim 2, Able teaches
the processor configured to identify the previously executed remote API query parameters within a previously executed set of connector code instructions of the already deployed end-to-end business integration process (fig. 1: toolbox, connector; para. 124-125: GIICALZ was designed in conjunction with Ivory Server for z/OS to allow IMS applications to connect to an Ivory Server running in CICS, z/OS or Windows. The target application can be hosted on the same platform, or a completely different platform running on any machine connected via TCPIP connectivity; para. 204: the collection point for movements of meta data from all previously referenced storage to the API area used to communicate to the application. Previous storage could be SOAP input, other applications called via LINK Point, 3270 Point or Web Service Client Point Nodes.)
and the processor configured to generate a previously executed query database comprising a first node, having a suggested query object as the first node value, connected to a second node, having the user-selected query object as the second node value, - 80 -Attorney Docket No.: DC-118598 via a first to second edge, having the first to second edge value including a natural language relationship between the first node and the second node (para. 201: move to 3270 - collections of movements of data using meta data information from any previously access information; para. 257-258: Go back to display the previously displayed information – See fig. 7: back and forward buttons, history button; para. 311: any data previously collected can be marked as information to be included in the SOAP reply).
As per claims 3, 9, 16, Able teaches
wherein a previously executed set of connector code instructions of the already deployed end-to-end business integration process are executed by a first user; the set of connector code instructions for future execution of the modeled end-to-end business integration process are transmitted to a remote location of a second user (para. 26, 114-116: I/O device interface 530 may provide an interface for connection of one or more I/O devices 560 to computer system 500. I/O devices may include devices that receive input (e.g., from a user) or output information (e.g., to a user). A computer program may be deployed to be executed on one or more computer processors located locally at one site or distributed across multiple remote sites and interconnected by a communication network; fig. 23: users can add, change, delete certain task/operation/node using said interface; para. 269.)
As per claim 4, Able teaches
wherein the previously executed database query comprises a third node value including an identification of an API to be queried, and the third node connected to the first node value via a first to third edge value to describe a natural language relationship between the first node value and the third node value (figs. 1, 30: inputs including last name, first name in the "GetAccountByName" Node, account number in Account Verify Node, and Execute Web Service Client Node etc., e.g., save account number operation in fig. 29A, thus, each node has a different operation and is connected to the first node by the client/user account; para. 82-83: as users build the diagram or model of the service they may connect the nodes to form the logic or processing flow. The logic path is traced to insure that the connection operation is to a valid parent and is not crossing Web service operation paths or boundaries. Each Web Service Operation node defines the expected SOAP input and output for the service operation path. The WSDL is created from the properties entered for each of the nodes).
As per claim 5, Able teaches
wherein the previously executed database query is written in a non-structured query language, and the processor generates the previously executed database query based on metadata describing a previous execution of a previously executed set of connector code instructions for the already deployed end-to-end business integration process (para. 70: the data store may use database systems with other architectures such as object-oriented, spatial, object-relational or hierarchical; para. 85: the definition may be processed by popular Integrated Development Environment ("IDE") products that supply the capability to automatically build the Java, C# or other language interface code for processing the service described by the definition; para. 113: the additional ability to modify the processing approaches using a modeling facility which caters to the batch environments on various platforms, which could include, for example, z/OS, z/VSE and z/Linux; para. 257-258).
As per claims 6-7, Able teaches
wherein a previously executed set of connector code instructions of an already deployed end-to-end business integration process comprises code instructions for a previously executed remote query of a relational database; wherein the previously executed set of connector code instructions of an already deployed end-to-end business integration process comprises code instructions for a previously executed remote query of a non-relational database (para. 77: use of this tool allows no additional programming to be required once the modeler tool has deployed the rules to the server or manager software; fig. 1: toolbox, connector; para. 204: the collection point for movements of meta data from all previously referenced storage to the API area used to communicate to the application. Previous storage could be SOAP input, other applications called via LINK Point, 3270 Point or Web Service Client Point Nodes; para. 123: the target Ivory Server may in some implementations be deployed on z/OS standalone, under CICS, on Windows Server, on a UNIX type platform such as Linux, z/Linux, and AIX, or on other platforms not limited to UNIX type processing; fig. 6: remote system Ivory);
As per claims 8, 15, Able teaches
a method of automatically generating data set query suggestions comprising: executing code instructions with a processor, via a graphical user interface on an information handling system, as a visual modeling tool for the development of a set of code instructions to execute an end-to-end business integration process (fig. 9: leading mainframe integration since 1982: company, products, solutions that depicts an Integrated Development Environment (IDE) for an exemplary modeler; para. 85: the definition may be processed by popular IDE products that supply the capability to automatically build the Java, C# or other language interface code for processing the service described by the definition; para. 77: use of this tool allows no additional programming to be required once the modeler tool has deployed the rules to the server or manager software; para. 96-99: the modeler allows users access to multiple applications in a single service by combining application available functions. The modeler may incorporate functions to import copybooks that are converted to an easy to understand XML format, which allows for easy expansion of the resulting meta data dictionary. The modeler may also incorporate a BMS macro importer to convert the BMS source into XML format. An FTP client can be provided to pull copybooks and/or BMS - Basic Mapping Support macros from the mainframe or other computer; para. 169-172.)
including determining a database query for the end-to-end business integration process via a first process-representing visual element representing a first portion of code instructions for the database query including a natural language sentence with a suggested remote application program interface (API) query for customizing the first portion of code instructions for an API access by the end-to-end business integration process being modeled (para. 25-26, 69-70: multiple related data stores accessible through a unified management system, which together serve as the SDS/system data store; or multiple independent data stores individually accessible through disparate management systems, which may in some implementations be collectively viewed as the SDS; para. 76-78: the modeler software is resident on the client's workstation and converts the client's input into processing rules in a single format, for example XML. The modeler provides the server with the rules required to navigate or otherwise invoke a business logic process, a transactional or conversational type application or even Web services which exist on the same or external servers. The modeler or studio tooling builds the WSDL file automatically for the client or user of the system and removes the need to have the knowledge of building these interface files; para. 85: the definition may be processed by popular Integrated Development Environment ("IDE") products that supply the capability to automatically build the Java, C# or other language interface code for processing the service described by the definition; para. 99: each node is converted into a set of rules that allow the various processes of a Web service to be applied to information and procedures resident on a server, for example the CICS TS server/first format or on IMS-based server/second format processes; para. 112-113: Data Source node provides access to external file systems and database data, for example, DL/I, IMS, DB2, and other ISV databases. Each Data Source node will have unique options for each of the different Data Source databases or file systems supported; para. 152: the application meta data mapping and data transformation algorithm may be based on the imported meta data information collected from the modeler or studio execution rules instructions);
where the modeled end-to-end business integration process includes arrangement and linking of a plurality of process-representing visual elements representing portions of code instructions in the graphical user interface for transformation and transfer of a data set from a first databases with a first data format to a second database in a second data format in the end-to-end business integration (para. 19: services are defined with respect to one or more functions available from applications executing on one or more remote systems. In a further aspect, such definitions are used to generate a programmatic implementation that is communicated to a server executing on, or in communication with, the remote system(s); para. 75: a graphical user interface allows the modeling of a service via graphical objects. The graphical objects are connected using connection points to form a flow through the various applications or methods needed to create the single process or composite process web service; fig. 9: leading mainframe integration since 1982: company, products, solutions that depicts an Integrated Development Environment (IDE) for an exemplary modeler; para. 85: the definition may be processed by popular IDE products that supply the capability to automatically build the Java, C# or other language interface code for processing the service described by the definition; para. 96-99: the modeler allows users access to multiple applications in a single service by combining application available functions. The modeler may incorporate functions to import copybooks that are converted to an easy to understand XML format, which allows for easy expansion of the resulting meta data dictionary. The modeler may also incorporate a BMS macro importer to convert the BMS source into XML format; para. 169, 172: graphical toolbox of icons used to manage the various nodes required for building application flows and composite application processes. The toolbar may be fully customizable to allow clients to place important or high use items on toolbars for easy access);
identifying previously executed remote API query parameters, via the processor, including a previously executed query object and a previously queried data set source within a previously executed set of connector code instructions for identification of the dataset used with a previous end-to-end business integration process (para. 19: services are defined with respect to one or more functions available from applications executing on one or more remote systems. In a further aspect, such definitions are used to generate a programmatic implementation that is communicated to a server executing on, or in communication with, the remote system(s); fig. 25: using the modeler or server, the existing program and business process can be converted to a Web service through a graphical definition, and no changes to the original program are required; para. 69: multiple related data stores accessible through a unified management system, which together serve as the SDS; or multiple independent data stores individually accessible through disparate management systems, which may in some implementations be collectively viewed as the SDS. The various storage elements that comprise the physical architecture of the SDS may be centrally located or distributed across a variety of diverse locations; para. 74, 80: the importing process provides a way to communicate between various different system types, and the metadata collected through importation allow systems designers to communicate in a known language);
for transformation and transfer of a previous data set from a third database having a first data format to a fourth database having a second data format (para. 25-26, 69-70: multiple related data stores accessible through a unified management system, which together serve as the SDS/system data store; or multiple independent data stores individually accessible through disparate management systems, which may in some implementations be collectively viewed as the SDS; para. 76-78: the modeler software is resident on the client's workstation and converts the client's input into processing rules in a single format, for example XML. The modeler provides the server with the rules required to navigate or otherwise invoke a business logic process, a transactional or conversational type application or even Web services which exist on the same or external servers. The modeler or studio tooling builds the WSDL file automatically for the client or user of the system and removes the need to have the knowledge of building these interface files; para. 85: the definition may be processed by popular Integrated Development Environment ("IDE") products that supply the capability to automatically build the Java, C# or other language interface code for processing the service described by the definition; para. 99: each node is converted into a set of rules that allow the various processes of a Web service to be applied to information and procedures resident on a server, for example the CICS TS server/first format or on IMS-based server/second format processes; para. 112-113: Data Source node provides access to external file systems and database data, for example, DL/I, IMS, DB2, and other ISV databases. Each Data Source node will have unique options for each of the different Data Source databases or file systems supported; para. 152: the application meta data mapping and data transformation algorithm may be based on the imported meta data information collected from the modeler or studio execution rules instructions);
generating from a first node value including the previously executed query object, and a second node value, including the previously queried data set source, connected to the first node-81 -Attorney Docket No.: DC-118598 value via a first to second edge value a natural language sentence for a natural language suggested remote API query for the data set to be accessed by the to customize the process-representing visual element in the integration process being modeled to generate code instructions to execute the future business integration process (para. 69: multiple related data stores accessible through a unified management system, which together serve as the SDS; or multiple independent data stores individually accessible through disparate management systems, which may in some implementations be collectively viewed as the SDS. The various storage elements that comprise the physical architecture of the SDS may be centrally located or distributed across a variety of diverse locations; para. 80: the importing process provides a way to communicate between various different system types, and the metadata collected through importation allow systems designers to communicate in a known language; para. 161-168: multi-document window interface for controlling several containers of information in a single User Interface (UI). Drag-and-drop lockable windows allow customization of the UI to match the clients or users preferences; para. 181-182: diagram window may be part of an MDI interface that provides a customizable grid layout process to allow nodes to be dragged to the diagram processing area and dropped. Certain nodes may provide collections of information about meta data or data movements. The collections may be accessible via a mouse click or keyboard selection of the collection expansion process; para. 201: move to 3270 - collections of movements of data using meta data information from any previously access information; para. 257-258: Go back to display the previously displayed information – See fig. 7: back and forward buttons, history button; para. 311: any data previously collected can be marked as information to be included in the SOAP reply);
receiving selection of the natural language suggested API query/prompt, via the processor, to access the identified dataset for the modeled end-to-end business integration (figs. 1, 30: inputs including last name, first name in the "GetAccountByName" Node, account number in Account Verify Node, and Execute Web Service Client Node etc., e.g., save account number operation in fig. 29A, thus, each node has a different operation and is connected to the first node by the client/user account; para. 82-83: as users build the diagram or model of the service they may connect the nodes to form the logic or processing flow. The logic path is traced to insure that the connection operation is to a valid parent and is not crossing Web service operation paths or boundaries; para. 95, 169-173: graphical toolbox of icons used to manage the various nodes required for building application flows and composite application processes. The nodes will be placed in a logical order that a developer might be using);
automatically generating a set of connector code instructions for execution of the future data set query as part of the future business integration process executed on the modeled end-to-end business integration process via the processor upon execution of the natural language suggested API query for determination of a future data set query; transmitting, via a network interface device, the set of connector code instructions and a runtime engine for execution at a remote location in deployment of the future business integration process generated from the modeled end-to-end business integration process with the process-representing visual elements via the graphical user interface (para. 77: use of this tool allows no additional programming to be required once the modeler tool has deployed the rules to the server or manager software; fig. 1: toolbox, connector; para. 82-83: as users build the diagram or model of the service they may connect the nodes to form the logic or processing flow. The logic path is traced to insure that the connection operation is to a valid parent and is not crossing Web service operation paths or boundaries. Each Web Service Operation node defines the expected SOAP input and output for the service operation path. The WSDL is created from the properties entered for each of the nodes; para. 114-116: I/O devices may include devices that receive input (e.g., from a user) or output information (e.g., to a user). A computer program may be deployed to be executed on one or more computer processors located locally at one site or distributed across multiple remote sites and interconnected by a communication network; fig. 23: users can add, change, delete certain task/operation/node using said interface; para. 206: the process may provide an import function at this node to collect WSDL files for building the SOAP client needed to access the process).
Even if Able does not explicitly teach generating from a first node value including the previously executed query object, and a second node value, including the previously queried data set source, connected to the first node value via a first to second edge value a natural language sentence for a natural language suggested remote API query for the data set to be accessed.
Franchitti teaches said limitation at para. 5, 183: building end-to-end solutions to business problems calls for a deep understanding of the underlying business domains, value chains, and capabilities; para. 494: fig. 54 illustrates at a conceptual level the end-to-end SBPM capabilities implemented within the DKMF business solutions manager; para. 601: helps recommend the selection and integration of these reusable components in intelligent active and/or autonomous business solutions. ArchViz™ is an interactive AR visualization tools that facilitates the browsing of reusable solution components within the knowledge base; para.126, 157: the user-selected application software unit/ASU is then deployed either locally or to at least one remote compute device, in response to receiving the user selection. Deployment can include the user-selected candidate ASU being integrated into a local or remote software package, thus defining a modified software package that is configured to provide the system capability; provide this type of DKMF end-to-end automation provide great value overall as it helps accelerate the deployment of the next-generation P2P marketplaces that leverage services; para. 214, 605: the DKMF development environment is designed to support end-to-end-development of DKMF-based intelligent active and/or autonomous business solutions; para. 636: dynamic environment aimed at facilitating the end-to-end lifecycle of connected intelligent active and/or autonomous business solutions that power the DKME marketplace; para. 669: manages the reuse of business problems and solutions knowledge to help evolve business solutions and make them more available and suitable to business users
Thus, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Able and Franchitti to effectively display and allow users to view and select any of the available options on the interface that best serve the users’ needs for achieving desired results of deploying business integration solutions.
As per claim 10, Able teaches
wherein the remote data set source to be queried in the future execution of the modeled business integration process is a relational database (para. 70: database(s) are used to store and manipulate the data; in some such implementations, one or more relational database management systems, such as DB2 (IBM, White Plains, N.Y.), SQL Server; para. 83: Once the service operations have been defined the user may select the correct processing or point node. Each processing or point node defines the information required to access the target source. Additional data sources such as DL/1, IMS, DB2, VSAM, could also be used).
As per claims 11, 13, Able teaches
wherein the previously queried data set source is a remotely managed non-relational database; wherein the previously queried data set source is a remotely managed relational database (para. 70: database(s) are used to store and manipulate the data; in some such implementations, one or more relational database management systems, such as DB2 (IBM, White Plains, N.Y.), SQL Server etc.; figs. 9-16: objects for building application flows and composite application are from internal and different remote systems and data formats; para. 201: move to 3270 - collections of movements of data using meta data information from any previously access information; para. 257-258: Go back to display the previously displayed information – See fig. 7: back and forward buttons, history button; para. 311: any data previously collected can be marked as information to be included in the SOAP reply).
As per claim 12, Able teaches
wherein the remote data set source to be queried in the future execution of the modeled end-to-end business integration process is a non-relational database (para. 70: the data store may use database systems with other architectures such as object-oriented, spatial, object-relational or hierarchical; para. 85: the definition may be processed by popular Integrated Development Environment ("IDE") products that supply the capability to automatically build the Java, C# or other language interface code for processing the service described by the definition; para. 113: the additional ability to modify the processing approaches using a modeling facility which caters to the batch environments on various platforms, which could include, for example, z/OS, z/VSE and z/Linux; para. 123.)
As per claim 14, Able teaches
wherein the remote data set source to be queried in the future execution of the modeled end-to-end business integration process is an application programming interface (API) (figs. 8-9; para. 26, 114-116: I/O device interface 530 may provide an interface for connection of one or more I/O devices 560 to computer system 500. I/O devices may include devices that receive input (e.g., from a user) or output information (e.g., to a user). A computer program may be deployed to be executed on one or more computer processors located locally at one site or distributed across multiple remote sites and interconnected by a communication network; fig. 23: users can add, change, delete certain task/operation/node using said interface; para. 132-133.)
As per claim 17, Able teaches
wherein the previously queried data set source is a remotely managed software application (para. 204: the collection point for movements of meta data from all previously referenced storage to the API area used to communicate to the application. Previous storage could be SOAP input, other applications called via LINK Point, 3270 Point or Web Service Client Point Nodes).
As per claims 18-19, Able teaches
wherein the previously queried data set source is a remotely managed relational, non-relational database (para. 70: database(s) are used to store and manipulate the data; in some such implementations, one or more relational database management systems, such as DB2 (IBM, White Plains, N.Y.), SQL Server, the data store may use database systems with other architectures such as object-oriented, spatial, object-relational or hierarchical; para. 123: the target Ivory Server may in some implementations be deployed on z/OS standalone, under CICS, on Windows Server, on a UNIX type platform such as Linux, z/Linux, and AIX, or on other platforms not limited to UNIX type processing; fig. 6: remote system Ivory).
As per claim 20, Able teaches
wherein the previously queried data set source is an application programming interface (API) (figs. 10, 31; para. 133: SOA services hosted on external web services is the main thrust of this new SOA solution, but access to CICS, IMS and other data sources is possible via the same standardized interface; para. 324-325: the described systems and methods can include design and runtime functions. The design component can include a modeler and/or an interface to a mainframe application).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhou (US 20040059564) teaches at para. 22: provides an effective system which helps users write in a non-native language and polish their sentences by referring to suggestive sentences. The suggestive sentences, which can be confirming sentences and hint sentences, are retrieved automatically from a sentence database using the user's sentences as queries. To realize this system, several technologies are proposed. For example, a first is related to improved example sentence recommendation methods. A second is related to improved cross-lingual information retrieval methods and technology which facilitate searching in the user's native language others are also proposed.
Lu et al. (US 20110258212) teaches at para. 12-13: the query suggestions can be generated automatically. Part of the increase in the number of terms is the increase in use of "natural language" queries, where a query is a partial or even a complete sentence rather than a collection of keywords. Such long queries are easier to formulate for less experienced users. Longer queries can also be used to further specify a desired search target. When searching a large document collection, a longer query can be helpful for generating a more relevant ordering of the search results.
Lee (US 20050015619) teaches at para. 27-28: the client access interfaces can transform data from the format of the front-office applications to a common data format. The business object server can perform object assembly and disassembly, caching and synchronization, and service invocation functions.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINH BLACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2163 1/19/2026
/TONY MAHMOUDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2163