Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see, filed 10/17/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tschudin et al (US 20040048551) in view of Memmelaar (US 20050148288 A1), Jackson (US 2982062 A) and Dunbar (US 2127210 A).
Regarding Applicants argument pointed towards Memmelaar failing to disclose a base component of the moveable operating panel is connected to the portion of the second area of the machine bed that extends beyond the end point of the carriage track and encloses the end point of the carriage track at a position aligned with a center axis of the carriage track parallel to the positioning axis Yw.
Memmelaar discloses a portion of an area extending beyond the end point of the carriage track (cross roller way slide mentioned in Para [0043] “Platform 423 is attached to ram assembly 433. Ram assembly 433 moves on a cross rollerway slide (not shown) laterally toward and away from grinding wheel 425. This lateral movement, in combination with forward and backward movement of the workpiece through the working area, grinds the workpiece in accordance with a predetermined grinding profile programmed into computer system 457.”) in the direction of the positioning axis Yw (The lateral movement described in Para [0043] is towards and away from the grinding wheel, see the position of 425 and 433 in Fig. 6a) encloses the end point of the carriage track (The cross rollerway slide is enclosed by the housing 435, see fig 6b and Para [0043] “The cross rollerway slide comprises two platforms with bearings between them to enable movement of the upper platform. Ram assembly 433 is attached to the upper platform, and housing 435 supports the lower platform.”), the enclosing portion is partially formed by the housing 435, thus Memmelaar does disclose a base component of the moveable operating panel is connected to the portion of the second area of the machine bed that extends beyond the end point of the carriage track and encloses the end point of the carriage track at a position aligned with the carriage track parallel to the positioning axis Yw. As the housing 435 makes up a portion that of the part that encloses the end point of the carriage. Then regarding the exact positioning of the control panel base being aligned with the center axis of the carriage, this would be a matter of rearrangement of parts, as shifting the position of the operating panel in such a manner would not affect the operation of the device. See MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
As such Examiner does not find this argument persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Brickers does not disclose the cover is entirely retractable into the machine bed the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In this case, the combined teachings of Townsend (disclosing a cover covering the entire machine bed) and Brickers (disclosing a retractable cover) would suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that retracting the cover fully into the machine bed would be beneficial as doing so would allow for the cover to be easily moved out of the way and then be replaced before and after grinding operations. As such Examiner does not find this argument persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 13, 14, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tschudin et al (US 20040048551) in view of Memmelaar (US 20050148288 A1), Jackson (US 2982062 A) and Dunbar (US 2127210 A).
Regarding claim 1, Tschudin discloses:
A centerless cylindrical grinding machine for through feed and plunge grinding of arbitrary workpieces (Tschudin Abstract “A centerless cylindrical grinding machine, for through-feed and in-feed grinding of various workpieces”) comprising
a first drivable positioning axis XS (Tschudin XS, see Fig. 2 and para [0030] for the following citations) for a grinding headstock (Tschudin 2) with a grinding wheel (Tschudin 1) rotatable about an axis of rotation (Tschudin 5) and a second drivable positioning axis XR (Tschudin XR) for a regulating wheel headstock (Tschudin 4) with a regulating wheel (Tschudin 3) rotatable about an axis of rotation (Tschudin 6) (Tschudin para [0030] “A grinding wheel 1 on a grinding spindle head 2 can be moved in a first driven positioning axis XS. A regulating wheel 3 on a regulating spindle head 4 can be moved in a second driven positioning axis XR. The positioning axis XS here runs parallel to the positioning axis XR. The positioning axes XS and XR are arranged at right angles to each of the rotating axes 5, 6 of the grinding wheel 1 and the regulating wheel 3”),
a workpiece support (Tschudin 7) arrangeable substantially between the grinding headstock (Tschudin 2) and the regulating wheel headstock (Tschudin 4),
a machine bed (Tschudin 14) supporting the grinding headstock (Tschudin 2), the regulating wheel headstock (Tschudin 4), and the workpiece support (Tschudin 7),
wherein a further drivable positioning axis YW (Tschudin YW), extending orthogonal to at least one of the positioning axes XS and XR, is mounted for a carriage (Tschudin 12) on a carriage track (Tschudin 13), via which the workpiece support (Tschudin 7) is movable (Tschudin para [0030] “Disposed between the grinding spindle head 2 and the regulating spindle head 4 is a workpiece support 7 for a workpiece 8. The workpiece support 7 and a wheel-true device 9, which comprise a first dresser 10 for the grinding wheel 1 and a second dresser 11 for the regulating wheel 3, are situated on a carriage 12 which can be moved in a carriage track 13 at a right angle to the axes XS and XR in a driven positioning axis YW”),
wherein the machine bed (Tschudin 14) consists of a first area (See Annotated Figure A) and a second area (See Annotated Figure B)
wherein the grinding headstock (Tschudin 2) and the regulating wheel headstock (Tschudin 4) are arranged in the first area (Tschudin para [0033] “inside a safety space, formed by the safety housing 15”. See annotated Figure A) of the machine bed (Tschudin 14), and the carriage track (Tschudin 13) is at least partially arranged in the second area (Tschudin para [0033] “outside the safety housing 15”. See annotated Figure A) of the machine bed (Tschudin 14),
wherein the second area of the machine bed forms a projection (See Annotated Figure A), protruding out from the first area of the machine bed and extending in the direction of positioning axis Yw (see Yw axis marker extending along second area forming a projection) and
wherein the second area (See annotated Figure A) of the machine bed (Tschudin 14) has a lesser extension (See annotated Figure A) in a direction across the positioning axis YW (Tschudin YW) than the first area (See annotated Figure A) of the machine bed (Tschudin 14) (Tschudin para [0033] “centreless cylindrical grinding machine with a closed safety housing 15 and with the carriage 12 inside a safety space, formed by the safety housing 15. The carriage is in a working position here, though it is evident that the carriage 12 can be moved on the carriage track 13 into a position lying outside the safety housing 15”),
and suggests but does not explicitly disclose
Wherein a portion of the second area of the machine bed extends beyond an end point of the carriage track in the direction of the positioning axis Yw (See Figure 2, 3 or Annotated Figure A below, 13 is referred to as a carriage track, and the portions that mount carriage 12 on the carriage track 13 seems to be on the rails shown in figure 3, and the total second area extends further than the rails as seen in figure 3).
wherein the projection formed by the second area of the machine bed has a smaller extension in a direction perpendicular to the positioning axis Yw than the first area of the machine bed (See Figure 2, 13 extending in Yw direction forms the projection, and seems to form a rectangle, which the side extending in the Yw direction is longer than the side extending in a direction perpendicular to the Yw, and the projection seems to be smaller than the side areas of 14 that aren’t in the track 13).
But does not explicitly teach:
A smaller extension in a direction perpendicular to the positioning axis Yw than the first area of the machine bed such that the machine bed is T-shaped.
Wherein the portion of the second area extending beyond the end point of the carriage track in the direction of the positioning axis Yw encloses the end point of the carriage track,
a movable operating panel which is movable from a side of the second area of the machine bed, extending parallel to the positioning axis Yw, to the respectively other side, wherein a base component of the moveable operating panel is connected to a portion of the second area of the machine bed extending beyond an end point of the carriage track and encloses the end point of the carriage track at a position aligned with a center axis of the carriage track parallel to the positioning axis Yw.
Annotated Figure A (Tschudin Fig. 2)
And Memmelaar teaches a similar centerless grinder including
a portion of an area extending beyond the end point of the carriage track (cross roller way slide mentioned in Para [0043] “Platform 423 is attached to ram assembly 433. Ram assembly 433 moves on a cross rollerway slide (not shown) laterally toward and away from grinding wheel 425. This lateral movement, in combination with forward and backward movement of the workpiece through the working area, grinds the workpiece in accordance with a predetermined grinding profile programmed into computer system 457.”) in the direction of the positioning axis Yw (The lateral movement described in Para [0043] is towards and away from the grinding wheel, see the position of 425 and 433 in Fig. 6a) encloses the end point of the carriage track (The cross rollerway slide is enclosed by the housing 435, see fig 6b and Para [0043] “The cross rollerway slide comprises two platforms with bearings between them to enable movement of the upper platform. Ram assembly 433 is attached to the upper platform, and housing 435 supports the lower platform.”),
and a movable operating panel (447) which is movable from a side of the second area of the machine bed (see swing arm 449 in Figure 4), wherein a base component (449 and portion seen in figure 6A where 449 connects to the base) of the moveable operating panel is connected to a portion of the second area of the machine bed extending beyond an end point of the carriage track and encloses the end point of the carriage track at a position aligned with the carriage track parallel to the positioning axis Yw (See 449 and 457 which extends outward past ram assembly 433. Further see Para [0043] “Platform 423 is attached to ram assembly 433. Ram assembly 433 moves on a cross roller way slide (not shown) laterally toward and away from grinding wheel 425. This lateral movement, in combination with forward and backward movement of the workpiece through the working area, grinds the workpiece in accordance with a predetermined grinding profile programmed into computer system 457.” Finally see Figures 6a and 6b showing the arm 449 extending from a portion of the housing 435)
And suggests extending parallel to the positioning axis Yw, to the respectively other side (See figure 4, Yw axis being parallel to the elongated housing 415, see how swing arm 449 extends transverse to 415 in figure 4 and based on the base 449 extends from visible in figure 6a Memmelaar seems to suggest that panel can pivot 180 degrees from perpendicular to 415 to perpendicular in the opposite direction to 415).
While Jackson teaches a similar grinding device with a pivoting control panel (132 attached to 128 and 130) that can pivot from one forward side of the machine to the other (See Swivel axis 128 and further see Col 6 Line 3-14 “In use, we provide a generally upright pivoted post 126 mounted on and projecting above the top 22 of the machine or otherwise, which has a boom 128 and suitable depending cables or leads 130 to a control board or panel 132, which is at waist or chest level or otherwise for use by the operator. The panel has a plurality of control buttons and the operator in starting, stopping, and otherwise handling the machine, may pivot the control panel from one side to the other of the rotary table and grinding zone so that he can, at all times, simultaneously observe and control the operations of any of the moving parts.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the control panel to be moveable in at least 180 degrees as doing so allows the operator to move around the device while still being near the control panel in order to control and monitor the process operated by the machine as advantageously suggested by Jackson (See above citation of Jackson).
Further, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the size projection in such a way where the projection formed by the second area of the machine bed has a smaller extension in a direction perpendicular to the position axis Yw than the first area of the machine bed as it has been held that if the difference between the prior art and instant invention is a recitation of relative dimensions, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art (See MPEP 2144.04 IV A), and it would be obvious to modify the shape of the projection in such a way where the projection formed by the second area of the machine bed has a smaller extension in a direction perpendicular to the position axis Yw than the first area of the machine bed as doing so would be a matter of design choice which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention (See MPEP 2144.04 IV B).
Additionally, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the second are of the machine bed to extend beyond an end point of the carriage track in the direction of the positioning axis Yw and as doing so would be a matter of a change in shape or size which has been held to be a matter of obvious design choice that would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B). It would be further obvious to modify the base component of the moveable operating panel to be connected to the portion of the second area of the machine bed that extends beyond the end point of the carriage track and encloses the end point of the carriage track at a position aligned with a center axis of the carriage track parallel to the positioning axis Yw as doing so would be a matter of relocating the base of the operating panel which would be a matter of rearrangement of parts which has been held to be obvious absent persuasive evidence that the claimed location is significant. (MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
Finally, Dunbar discloses a similar grinding apparatus with a machine bed (10) with at least two areas (See Annotated Figure C) wherein the second area of the machine bed forms a projection protruding out from the first area of the machine bed and extending in the direction of the position Yw (direction in which the second area extends lengthwise), with a smaller extension a direction perpendicular to the positioning axis Yw (the widthwise direction of the second area) such that the machine bed is T-shaped (Machine bed is at least lower case t shaped, Examiner notes that the second area could be considered a second and a third area (See Annotated Figure C) and thus the second area could be considered to form a capital T shape with the first area).
Annotated Figure C (Fig. 1 of Dunbar)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to remove the free/open spaces (See Annotated Figure B below) to be open spaces from the machine bed such that the Second area forms a T shape with respect to the first area as doing so would allow for an operator to more closely observe and control the ongoing grinding process.
Regarding claim 2, Tschudin discloses the centerless cylindrical grinding machine of claim 1 and further discloses: wherein due to the lesser extension, free spaces (See annotated Figure B) are formed at both sides of the second area (Tschudin para [0033] “outside the safety housing 15”. See annotated Figure A) of the machine bed (Tschudin 14) adjacent to the first area (Tschudin para [0033] “inside a safety space, formed by the safety housing 15”. See annotated Figure A) of the machine bed (Tschudin 14).
Annotated Figure B (Tschudin Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 3, Tschudin discloses the centerless cylindrical grinding machine of claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the second area (Tschudin para [0033] “outside the safety housing 15”. See annotated Figure A) of the machine bed (Tschudin 14) extends, starting from the first area (Tschudin para [0033] “inside a safety space, formed by the safety housing 15”. See annotated Figure A) of the machine bed (Tschudin 14) in a direction parallel to the positioning axis YW (Tschudin YW), at least over a length of the workpiece support (Tschudin 7) in said direction (Tschudin para [0033] “the carriage 12 can be moved on the carriage track 13 into a position lying outside the safety housing 15”).
Regarding claim 4, Tschudin discloses the centerless cylindrical grinding machine of claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the extension of the second area (Tschudin para [0033] “outside the safety housing 15”. See annotated Figure A) of the machine bed (Tschudin 14), parallel to at least one of the positioning axes XS and XR (Tschudin XS and XR), is substantially symmetrical, with respect to a center axis (See annotated Figure B) of the carriage track (Tschudin 13) parallel to the positioning axis YW (Tschudin YW).
Regarding claim 13, Tschudin discloses the centerless cylindrical grinding machine of claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the centerless cylindrical grinding machine (Tschudin Abstract) comprises a second cover (Tschudin 15), which is movable from an access position (Tschudin Fig. 4 and para [0034] “raised safety housing 15”) into a protection position (Tschudin Fig. 3 and para [0033] “closed safety housing 15”), and at least partially encompasses the first area (Tschudin para [0033] “inside a safety space, formed by the safety housing 15”. See annotated Figure B) of the machine bed (Tschudin 14) (Tschudin Abstract “During operation, the grinding spindle head (2), the regulating spindle head (4), the workpiece support (7) and the wheel-true device (9) are located within a safety housing (15)”).
Regarding claim 14, Tschudin discloses the centerless cylindrical grinding machine of claim 13 and further discloses: wherein the second cover (Tschudin 15) is foldable (See Tschudin Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 16, Tschudin teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition teaches wherein the moveable operating panel is a pivotable operating panel which is pivotable from a side of the second area of the machine bed (See Pivot arm 449 in Figure 4 of Memmelaar), the pivoting is extending parallel to the positioning axis Yw, to the respectively other side (See 132 of Jackson seems to be pivotable at least 180 degrees in figure 1) extending parallel to the positioning axis Yw to the respectively other side (Memmelaar See figure 4, Yw axis being parallel to the elongated housing 415, see how swing arm 449 extends transverse to 415 in figure 4 and based on the base 449 extends from visible in figure 6a Memmelaar seems to suggest that panel can pivot 180 degrees from perpendicular to 415 to perpendicular in the opposite direction to 415).
Regarding Claim 18, Tschudin as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and in addition discloses wherein the free spaces are openings without material (See Annotated Figure A, Free spaces are empty open surfaces with no material).
Regarding Claim 20, Tschudin as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose, wherein the base component of the moveable operating panel is connected to a top surface of the portion of the second area of the machine bed that extends beyond the end point of the carriage track and encloses the end point of the carriage track.
However, Jackson discloses an operating panel (132) connected to a boom (128) which has a base component which is mounted to a top surface of the grinding machine (See Fig. 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to further modify the location of the base component of the operating panel to be connecting to a boom mounted to a top surface of the portion of the second area of the machine bed that extends beyond the end point of the carriage track and encloses the end point of the carriage track as doing so would allow for an operator to easily simultaneously control and observe the operations of any of the moving parts of the grinding machine as advantageously discloses by Jackson. See Col 6 Line 3-20 “In use, we provide a generally upright pivoted post 126 mounted on and projecting above the top 22 of the machine or otherwise, which has a boom 128 and suitable depending cables or leads 130 to a control board or panel 132, which is at waist or chest level or otherwise for use by the operator. The panel has a plurality of control buttons and the operator in starting, stopping, and otherwise handling the machine, may pivot the control panel from one side to the other of the rotary table and grinding zone so that he can, at all times, simultaneously observe and control the operations of any of the moving parts. For example, we prefer that the controls on the panel be such that the operator may manually feed the saddles in or out, independently or together, raise or lower the crossrail, start and stop the grinding heads, and pivot the spindles about their pivot points on the saddles. Also, the operator should be able to start and stop the table, as well as other things.”).
Claims 6, 8, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Tschudin in view of Memmelaar (US 20050148288 A1), Jackson (US 2982062 A) and Dunbar (US 2127210 A) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of Townsend et al. (US 3,131,517 A).
Regarding claim 6, Tschudin discloses the centerless cylindrical grinding machine of claim 1. Tschudin does not disclose:
wherein the centerless cylindrical grinding machine comprises a first cover, which is movable from a loading position into a protection position, and, in the protection position, at least partially encompasses the second area of the machine bed, starting from the first area of the machine bed.
However, Townsend, directed to a grinding machine, discloses analogous structure including:
wherein the centerless cylindrical grinding machine (Townsend 10) comprises a first cover (Townsend 14, 15, 16), which is movable from a loading position into a protection position (Townsend Fig. 1 and Col. 4 lines 3-5 “The machine portion 12 is provided with removable covers 14, 15, and 16 which are also slidable sideways for access to the operating elements”), and, in the protection position, at least partially encompasses the second area (Townsend 29, Figs. 2-3, analogous to Tschudin as seen in annotated Figure A) of the machine bed (Townsend 12), starting from the first area (Townsend 32) of the machine bed (Townsend Figs. 2-3 and Col. 4 lines 25-29 “It can be seen that the machine portion 12 consists of a base 29, on one side of which is mounted a wheel head portion 31 and a secondary base 32 which is slidable forwardly or rearwardly over the base 29”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second area of Tschudin with the slidable and removable covers of Townsend, motivated by the benefit of providing protection from hazards associated with operation of the centerless cylindrical grinding machine in and around the second area of the machine bed while also providing access to the second area of the machine bed for loading/unloading and other operations.
Regarding claim 8, Tschudin in view of Townsend discloses the centerless cylindrical grinding machine of claim 6 and further discloses:
wherein the first cover (Townsend 14, 15, 16) is at least partially open in the protection position on a side facing away from the second area (Townsend 29) of the machine bed (Townsend Fig. 1 and Col. 4 lines 9-12 “Extending upwardly through the cover 14 is a feed chute 19 whereby workpieces may be introduced into the machine without the necessity of removing the covers”).
Regarding claim 9, Tschudin in view of Townsend discloses the centerless cylindrical grinding machine of claim 6 and further discloses:
wherein the first cover (Townsend 14, 15, 16) is at least partially transparent at least in sections (Townsend Fig. 1 and Col. 4 lines 6-7 “The cover 14 is provided with a transparent window 17 permitting observation of the operation taking place”).
Regarding claim 12, Tschudin in view of Townsend discloses the centerless cylindrical grinding machine of claim 6 and further discloses:
wherein the first cover (Townsend 14, 15, 16) does not substantially project beyond the workpiece support (Townsend 34) in the loading position (Townsend Figs. 1, 2. Examiner notes that the cover 14 of Townsend is not shown to substantially project beyond the workpiece support 34 in the vertical or horizontal directions as seen in Townsend Figures 1 and 2).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Tschudin in view of Memmelaar (US 20050148288 A1), Townsend et al. (US 3,131,517 A), Dovel (US 20190084113 A1), Bricker (US 4314425 A) and Dunbar (US 2127210 A).
Regarding claim 7, Tschudin discloses:
A centerless cylindrical grinding machine for through feed and plunge grinding of arbitrary workpieces (Tschudin Abstract “A centerless cylindrical grinding machine, for through-feed and in-feed grinding of various workpieces”) comprising
a first drivable positioning axis XS (Tschudin XS, see Fig. 2 and para [0030] for the following citations) for a grinding headstock (Tschudin 2) with a grinding wheel (Tschudin 1) rotatable about an axis of rotation (Tschudin 5) and a second drivable positioning axis XR (Tschudin XR) for a regulating wheel headstock (Tschudin 4) with a regulating wheel (Tschudin 3) rotatable about an axis of rotation (Tschudin 6) (Tschudin para [0030] “A grinding wheel 1 on a grinding spindle head 2 can be moved in a first driven positioning axis XS. A regulating wheel 3 on a regulating spindle head 4 can be moved in a second driven positioning axis XR. The positioning axis XS here runs parallel to the positioning axis XR. The positioning axes XS and XR are arranged at right angles to each of the rotating axes 5, 6 of the grinding wheel and the regulating wheel 3”),
a workpiece support (Tschudin 7) arrangeable substantially between the grinding headstock (Tschudin 2) and the regulating wheel headstock (Tschudin 4),
a machine bed (Tschudin 14) supporting the grinding headstock (Tschudin 2), the regulating wheel headstock (Tschudin 4), and the workpiece support (Tschudin 7),
wherein a further drivable positioning axis YW (Tschudin YW), extending orthogonal to at least one of the positioning axes XS and XR, is mounted for a carriage (Tschudin 12) on a carriage track (Tschudin 13), via which the workpiece support (Tschudin 7) is movable (Tschudin para [0030] “Disposed between the grinding spindle head 2 and the regulating spindle head 4 is a workpiece support 7 for a workpiece 8. The workpiece support 7 and a wheel-true device 9, which comprise a first dresser 10 for the grinding wheel 1 and a second dresser 11 for the regulating wheel 3, are situated on a carriage 12 which can be moved in a carriage track 13 at a right angle to the axes XS and XR in a driven positioning axis YW”),
wherein the machine bed (Tschudin 14) consists of a first area (See Annotated Figure A) and a second area (See Annotated Figure B)
wherein the grinding headstock (Tschudin 2) and the regulating wheel headstock (Tschudin 4) are arranged in the first area (Tschudin para [0033] “inside a safety space, formed by the safety housing 15”. See annotated Figure A) of the machine bed (Tschudin 14), and the carriage track (Tschudin 13) is at least partially arranged in the second area (Tschudin para [0033] “outside the safety housing 15”. See annotated Figure A) of the machine bed (Tschudin 14),
wherein the second area of the machine bed forms a projection (See Annotated Figure A), protruding out from the first area of the machine bed and extending in the direction of positioning axis Yw (see Yw axis marker extending along second area forming a projection)
wherein the second area (See annotated Figure A) of the machine bed (Tschudin 14) has a lesser extension (See annotated Figure A) in a direction across the positioning axis YW (Tschudin YW) than the first area (See annotated Figure A) of the machine bed (Tschudin 14) (Tschudin para [0033] “centreless cylindrical grinding machine with a closed safety housing 15 and with the carriage 12 inside a safety space, formed by the safety housing 15. The carriage is in a working position here, though it is evident that the carriage 12 can be moved on the carriage track 13 into a position lying outside the safety housing 15”),
and suggests but does not explicitly disclose
Wherein a portion of the second area of the machine bed extends beyond an end point of the carriage track in the direction of the positioning axis Yw (See Figure 2, 3 or Annotated Figure A below, 13 is referred to as a carriage track, and the portions that mount carriage 12 on the carriage track 13 seems to be on the rails shown in figure 3, and the total second area extends further than the rails as seen in figure 3).
but does not explicitly disclose
A smaller extension in a direction perpendicular to the positioning axis Yw than the first area of the machine bed such that the machine bed is T-shaped.
Wherein the portion of the second area extending beyond the end point of the carriage track in the direction of the positioning axis Yw encloses the end point of the carriage track,
wherein the centerless cylindrical grinding machine comprises a first cover, which is movable from a loading position into a protection position, wherein the cover is movable perpendicular to the surface formed by the second area of the machine bed, and wherein, in the protection position, the cover at least partially encompasses the portion of the second area of the machine bed that extends beyond the end point of the carriage track in the direction of the positioning axis Yw and ecloses the end point of the carriage track, starting from the first area of the machine bed, and in the loading position, the cover is provided completely within the machine bed and the cover is entirely retractable into the machine bed.
Memmelaar teaches a similar centerless grinder including
a portion of an area extending beyond the end point of the carriage track (cross roller way slide mentioned in Para [0043] “Platform 423 is attached to ram assembly 433. Ram assembly 433 moves on a cross rollerway slide (not shown) laterally toward and away from grinding wheel 425. This lateral movement, in combination with forward and backward movement of the workpiece through the working area, grinds the workpiece in accordance with a predetermined grinding profile programmed into computer system 457.”) in the direction of the positioning axis Yw (The lateral movement described in Para [0043] is towards and away from the grinding wheel, see the position of 425 and 433 in Fig. 6a) encloses the end point of the carriage track (The cross rollerway slide is enclosed by the housing 435, see fig 6b and Para [0043] “The cross rollerway slide comprises two platforms with bearings between them to enable movement of the upper platform. Ram assembly 433 is attached to the upper platform, and housing 435 supports the lower platform.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the size projection in such a way where the projection formed by the second area of the machine bed has a smaller extension in a direction perpendicular to the position axis Yw than the first area of the machine bed as it has been held that if the difference between the prior art and instant invention is a recitation of relative dimensions, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art (See MPEP 2144.04 IV A), and it would be obvious to modify the shape of the projection in such a way where the projection formed by the second area of the machine bed has a smaller extension in a direction perpendicular to the position axis Yw than the first area of the machine bed as doing so would be a matter of design choice which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention (See MPEP 2144.04 IV B).
Additionally, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the second are of the machine bed to extend beyond an end point of the carriage track in the direction of the positioning axis Yw and as doing so would be a matter of a change in shape or size which has been held to be a matter of obvious design choice that would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (See MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B).
And Dunbar discloses a similar grinding apparatus with a machine bed (10) with at least two areas (See Annotated Figure C) wherein the second area of the machine bed forms a projection protruding out from the first area of the machine bed and extending in the direction of the position Yw (direction in which the second area extends lengthwise), with a smaller extension a direction perpendicular to the positioning axis Yw (the widthwise direction of the second area) such that the machine bed is T-shaped (Machine bed is at least lower case t shaped, Examiner notes that the second area could be considered a second and a third area (See Annotated Figure C) and thus the second area could be considered to form a capital T shape with the first area).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to remove the free/open spaces (See Annotated Figure B below) to be open spaces from the machine bed such that the Second area forms a T shape with respect to the first area as doing so would allow for an operator to more closely observe and control the ongoing grinding process.
However, Townsend does teach wherein the centerless cylindrical grinding machine (Townsend 10) comprises a first cover (Townsend 14, 15, 16), which is movable from a loading position into a protection position (Townsend Fig. 1 and Col. 4 lines 3-5 “The machine portion 12 is provided with removable covers 14, 15, and 16 which are also slidable sideways for access to the operating elements”), wherein the first cover (Townsend 14, 15, 16) is movable perpendicular to the surface formed by the second area (Townsend 29) of the machine bed (Townsend Col. 4 line 4 “removable covers 14, 15, and 16”. Examiner notes that the removable covers of Townsend would be capable of being movable perpendicular to the surface formed by the second area as claimed) in the protection position, at least partially encompasses the second area (Townsend 29, Figs. 2-3, analogous to Tschudin as seen in annotated Figure A) of the machine bed (Townsend 12), starting from the first area (Townsend 32) of the machine bed (Townsend Figs. 2-3 and Col. 4 lines 25-29 “It can be seen that the machine portion 12 consists of a base 29, on one side of which is mounted a wheelhead portion 31 and a secondary base 32 which is slidable forwardly or rearwardly over the base 29”) wherein the first cover covers the entire machine bed (See Figure 1 of Townsend).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second area of Tschudin with the slidable and removable covers of Townsend the cover at least partially encompasses portion of the second area of the machine bed that extends beyond the end point of the carriage track in the direction of the positioning axis Yw and ecloses the end point of the carriage track, motivated by the benefit of providing protection from hazards associated with operation of the centerless cylindrical grinding machine in and around the second area of the machine bed while also providing access to the second area of the machine bed for loading/unloading and other operations.
And Doval discloses a similar cover (644) for a grinding device that is capable of being retractable (See Para [0144] “The indicator mechanism 612 in FIG. 23 uses an actuator 642 and a movable cover 644 to provide the user directed indications for sharpening locations. The actuator can take the form of a solenoid, a spring, etc. adapted to controllable advance and retract the cover adjacent the respective sharpening ports 620A and 620B. While the cover is shown to be laterally translatable in FIG. 23 (e.g., slidable to the left and right), other cover configurations are readily contemplated including covers that rotate, open, retract, etc. in any suitable direction.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cover of Tschudin as modified to allow the cover in the loading position to be located within the machine bed. As modifying the cover to be retractable in such a mater would allow for the operator the be able to completely hide the cover when it is not necessary allowing the cover to be unintrusive.
However, Tschudin as modified does not disclose and the cover is entirely retractable into the machine bed.
Bricker discloses a cover (34) for a rotary tool (14) that is fully retractable away from the into the machine bed (12, see Col 2 Line 19-24 “In the preferred embodiment, the wheelhead housing has selectively defined cutouts 50 and 52 to allow the hood 34 to be fully retracted within the housing without interference with the pivotal connections to the rod 37 and second link 48, respectively.”) It would be obvious to further modify Tschudin to have the cover be entirely retractable into the machine bed as doing so would improve the operator’s ability to access and view the device and any work piece during operation or maintenance of the device by easily getting the guard out of the way.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tschudin in view Memmelaar (US 20050148288 A1), Jackson (US 2982062 A) and Dunbar (US 2127210 A) and Townsend et al. (US 3,131,517 A) as modified in claim 6 and in further in view of Bannayan et al. (US 5,480,342 A).
Regarding claim 10, Tschudin in view of Townsend discloses the centerless cylindrical grinding machine of claim 6. Tschudin in view of Townsend does not disclose:
wherein the centerless cylindrical grinding machine comprises a detection unit, which detects whether a protection area is accessed in a protection position of the first cover.
However, Bannayan, directed to a centerless grinding machine, discloses analogous structure including:
wherein the centerless cylindrical grinding machine (Bannayan Abstract “centerless grinding machine”) comprises a detection unit (Bannayan 30), which detects whether a protection area is accessed in a protection position of the first cover (Bannayan Fig. 2 and Col. 4 line 12 “Mounted along the feed bed 28 are sensors 30” and Col. 4 lines 16-20 “When the wire is present, reflected light is sensed and the sensor generates an electrical signal (“on”). After the trailing end of the wire has passed the sensor, reflected light is no longer sensed and the electrical signal is no longer generated (“off”)”. Examiner notes that the sensors of Bannayan are capable of detecting whether a protection area is accessed in a protection position of the cover).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protection area of Tschudin in view of Townsend with the sensors mounted in the feed bed of Bannayan, motivated by the benefit of providing a method for determining position and feed rate of a workpiece in a protection area when the first cover is in a protection position.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Tschudin in view of Memmelaar (US 20050148288 A1), Jackson (US 2982062 A) and Dunbar (US 2127210 A) as modified in claim 1 and in view of Hofer (US 8,070,555 B2).
Regarding claim 11, Tschudin discloses the centerless cylindrical grinding machine of claim 1. Tschudin does not disclose:
wherein the centerless cylindrical grinding machine comprises a 3D scanner, which covers at least the second area of the machine bed as a scanning area and detects whether the scanning area is accessed.
However, Hofer, directed to a visual feedback system for polishing, discloses analogous structure including:
wherein the centerless cylindrical grinding machine (Hofer 100) comprises a 3D scanner (Hofer 125), which covers at least the second area of the machine bed as a scanning area (Hofer 110) and detects whether the scanning area is accessed (Hofer Fig. 1 and Col. 2 lines 44-47 “Scanning system 125 uses well-known part-shape analysis methodologies to measure the current shape of bucket 115 and generate a three-dimensional surface map of bucket 115 in real-time”. Examiner notes that the scanning system 125 of Hofer is capable of detecting whether the scanning area is accessed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the centerless cylindrical grinding machine of Tschudin with the 3D scanning system of Hofer, motivated by the benefit of providing real-time feedback regarding the position and shape of a workpiece in at least the second area of the machine bed.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Tschudin in view of Memmelaar (US 20050148288 A1), Jackson (US 2982062 A) and Dunbar (US 2127210 A) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of Mayr et al. (DE 10 2016 117 915 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Tschudin discloses the centerless cylindrical grinding machine of claim 1. Tschudin does not disclose:
wherein the second area of the machine bed is movable into the first area of the machine bed.
However, Mayr, directed to a grinding device, discloses analogous structure including:
wherein the second area of the machine bed (Mayr 7, analogous to Tschudin as seen in annotated Figure A) is movable into the first area (Mayr 6, analogous to Tschudin as seen in annotated Figure A) of the machine bed (Mayr Fig. 1 and para [0049] “table 6 can also be moved along the translation axis X2”. Examiner notes that, in regards to Mayr, the machine bed 7 is inside the machine table 6 and the machine bed and machine table are movable relative to each other).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second area of Tschudin with the machine bed of Mayr, motivated by the benefit of providing improved positioning movement of the areas of the machine bed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723