Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument in pages 7-11, the applicant asserts that “the asserted combination of Louboutin, Beguelin, and Tian neither teaches nor suggests each and every feature recited by claim 2 and the rejection must be withdrawn. The above-presented discussion applies with the same or similar force to independent claim 19. Claims 3-5, 8-13, 15, 16, 18, 20, 22 and 23 depend either directly or indirectly from independent claims 2 and 19. Accordingly, Applicant submits that claims 2-5, 8-13, 15, 16, 18-20, 22, and 23 are presently in condition for allowance and respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection.” Examiner respectively disagrees.
The applicant further asserts in page 8 that “the Office Action fails to establish that Louboutin teaches or suggests the claimed second mode of operation. For the second mode of operation”. Examiner respectively disagrees.
As indicated by par. 25 of LOUBOUTIN, “Accessory 104 can be any device capable of connecting to a portable computing device, such as a laptop computer, a tablet device, a printer, a speaker system, a docking station, a display (e.g., LCD, CRT monitor, projector), a microphone, a keyboard, a computer mouse, a multimedia streaming device, a camera, a remote control, a headphone set, a gaming device, a global positioning device, a multi-function device, a mobile phone, a digital video recorder (DVR), a backup device, a storage device, a portable gaming device, a portable multimedia player, a portable music player, a portable digital stream receiver, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a household appliance or device, and/or any portable or non-portable electro-mechanical device and/or the like. For example, accessory 104 can be a speaker system capable of wirelessly streaming audio to or receiving audio from other devices,” and par. 29, “…portable computing device 102 and accessory 104 can communicate over a Bluetooth or Bluetooth LE connection…”, and at par. 83, 86, “…accessory 104 can receive a response from portable computing device 102. The response can indicate whether accessory 104 is permitted to connect to a WiFi network to which portable computing device 102 is currently connected…accessory 104 can be a multimedia device configured to receive one or more video streams from a computer server connected to the WiFi network (e.g., over the Internet)”, which would indicating the accessory includes “a laptop computer, a tablet device, a printer, a speaker system, a docking station, a display (e.g., LCD, CRT monitor, projector), a microphone, a keyboard, a computer mouse, a multimedia streaming device, a camera, a remote control, a headphone set, a gaming device, a global positioning device, a multi-function device, a mobile phone, a digital video recorder (DVR), a backup device, a storage device, a portable gaming device, a portable multimedia player, a portable music player, a portable digital stream receiver, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a household appliance or device, and/or any portable or non-portable electro-mechanical device and/or the like” that is capable to use WIFI (first channel) and Bluetooth (second channel) for connection for receiving audio and video streams, which would indicating first mode or WIFI for receiving audio or video and second mode or Bluetooth for receiving audio or video. LOUBOUTIN would suggest different modes of operation with different communication channels.
In par. 25 is one example, “accessory 104 can be a speaker system capable of wirelessly streaming audio to or receiving audio from other devices”, which suggest accessor 104 capable of wirelessly streaming audio to or receiving audio from other devices or suggesting second mode of operation.
The applicant further asserts in pages 9-10 that “contrary to the assertions of the Office Action, claim 2 does in fact recite electronic devices that receive credential information and transition through various modes of operation in which they stream media from different sources via different communication channels using the received credential information.” Examiner respectively disagrees.
“During examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow." MPEP § 2111.01 (I) (citing to In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 1369, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
"Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment." MPEP 2111.01 (11) citing to Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “electronic devices that receive credential information and transition through various modes of operation in which they stream media from different sources via different communication channels using the received credential information”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
As indicated by the claim, “…transmit to the electronic device of the user… the credential data for the infrastructure wireless network stored on the first remote network server…in a first mode, upon receiving the credential data for the infrastructure wireless network, connect to the infrastructure wireless network via the wireless access point using the credential data received from the computing device of the user and stream, via the infrastructure wireless network…in a second mode, stream, via the ad hoc wireless communication link, digital media content from the computing device”, in the first mode the electronic device using the credential to set up the connection for streaming but in the second mode, the electronic device does not using the credential. Therefore, the claim does not provide in the second mode, the electronic device using the credential to set up the connection for stream to support the “electronic devices that receive credential information and transition through various modes of operation in which they stream media from different sources via different communication channels using the received credential information”.
Therefore, the combination of Louboutin, Beguelin, and Tian would teach or suggest each and every feature recited by claim 2.
The rejection is maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: there are two claims 23s, one is previously presented and the other is new, which would required to change the new claim 23 to 24. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 2-5, 8-13, 15, 16, 18-20, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Louboutin et al. (US 2013/0014232) in view of Beguelin et al. (US 2012/0290689) and TIAN (US 20100015919).
Regarding claim 2, LOUBOUTIN teaches a system for a user to configure an electronic device of the user to connect to an infrastructure wireless network (Fig. 2; par. 19: By enabling a portable computing device to configure an accessory for wireless network access, embodiments enable a user to avoid having to enter network access information when the user desires an accessory to be configured to operate with a wireless network), the system comprising:
a wireless access point (Fig. 2, par. 23: access point 106) configured to provide wireless connectivity to the infrastructure wireless network (par. 26: Access point 106 can be any suitable device for managing a wireless network, and facilitating communication between networked client devices, external networks, etc. Illustratively, access point 106 can, among other operations, route messages between networked client devices, and/or enable the client devices to access an external network, such as the Internet 4; par. 27: Accessory 104 can thereafter use the wireless network access credential to join and/or access a WiFi network managed by access point 106);
the electronic device (Fig. 2, par. 23: accessory 104) of the user (Fig. 2, par. 19: By enabling a portable computing device to configure an accessory for wireless network access, embodiments enable a user to avoid having to enter network access information when the user desires an accessory to be configured to operate with a wireless network); and
a computing device of the user (Fig. 2 102; par. 19: By enabling a portable computing device to configure an accessory for wireless network access, embodiments enable a user to avoid having to enter network access information when the user desires an accessory to be configured to operate with a wireless network) ... transmit to the electronic device of the user, wirelessly via the ad hoc wireless communication link between the electronic device of the user and the computing device of the user, credential data for the infrastructure network ... (par. 29: portable computing device 102 and accessory 104 can communicate over a Bluetooth or Bluetooth LE connection; par. 73: If the received user response indicates that accessory 104 should be permitted to access the WiFi network to which portable computing device 102 is connected, the portable computing device can transmit a wireless network access credential for the WiFi network at block 622. In some embodiments, the wireless network access credential can include an SSID for the wireless network and/or security information (e.g., a WEP password, a WPA password, etc.). Based on this information, accessory 104 can connect to the WiFi network associated with the wireless network access credential); and
the electronic device of the user comprises a controller and a user control interface (fig. 4, par. 25, 42, FIG. 4 is a block diagram showing an exemplary accessory 400 (e.g., accessory 104) according to an embodiment. In one example, portable computing device 400 can include a controller 402, a WiFi module 404, a storage module 406, a portable computing device I/O interface 408, and accessory specific hardware 410) and is configured to:
in a first mode, upon receiving the credential data for the infrastructure wireless network (par. 83: At block 808, accessory 104 can receive a response from portable computing device 102; par. 85: If accessory 104 determines that the received response indicates that the accessory is authorized to access a WiFi network, accessory 104 can join and/or access the WiFi network at block 812 ... The received wireless network access credential can include any information needed by the accessory to join the network. For example, a wireless network access credential can include an SSID associated with the WiFi network. The network access credential can additionally include security information, such as a WEP password, a WPA password, etc.), connect to the infrastructure wireless network via the wireless access point using the credential data received from the computing device of the user (par. 85: If accessory 104 determines that the received response indicates that the accessory is authorized to access a WiFi network, accessory 104 can join and/or access the WiFi network at block 812 ... Accessory 104 can transmit the received wireless network access credential (and/or information derived from the credential) to access point 106, which manages the operations of the WiFi network. Based on the wireless network access credential, access point 106 can permit accessory 104 to access the WiFi network associated with the access point) and stream, via the infrastructure wireless network, digital media content from a remote digital media content source (par. 86: accessory 104 can be a multimedia device configured to receive one or more video streams from a computer server connected to the WiFi network (e.g., over the Internet)); and
in a second mode, stream, via the ad hoc wireless communication link, digital media content from the computing device (par. 25: accessory 104 can be a speaker system capable of wirelessly streaming audio to or receiving audio from other devices; par. 29: portable computing device 102 and accessory 104 can communicate over a Bluetooth or Bluetooth LE connection); and
wherein the user control interface is configured to receive a user input and the controller can operate in either the first mode or the second mode (fig. 4, par. 25, 42, 44, 48, a controller 402…a portable computing device I/O interface 408…User interface 412).
Louboutin discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of a first remote network server configured to store credential data for an infrastructure wireless network pre- specified by the user, the credential data comprising an identifier and a password for the infrastructure wireless network; wherein the first remote network server is configured to transmit the credential data in response to a request of the user ... a computing device of the user is configured to receive the credential data for the infrastructure wireless network from the first remote network server, and transmit to the electronic device of the user, wirelessly via the ad hoc wireless communication link between the electronic device of the user and the computing device of the user, the credential data for the infrastructure wireless network stored on the first remote network server.
Beguelin from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses a first remote network server configured to store credential data for an infrastructure wireless network pre-specified by the user, the credential data comprising an identifier and a password for the infrastructure wireless network; wherein the first remote network server is configured to transmit the credential data in response to a request of the user (par. 9: On the site, the user enters information about the local network, such as the network gateway, SSID, and WEP password. The website then generates a webpage for the user containing the configuration information along with audio encoded configuration information, the webpage not being necessary, where the user can select to broadcast the encoded information, save it for later broadcast or both) ... the computing device of the user is configured to receive, via the infrastructure wireless network, the credential data for the infrastructure wireless network from the first remote network server (par. 8: network 4 may be the Airport Extreme.RTM., a home wireless WiFi router; par. 9: Computer 6 obtains audio encoded configuration information 14 by any number of known mechanisms. For example, and not by way of limitation, a user points a web browser, on computer 6 and via network 4, to a web site and downloads the configuration information; par. 11: Configuration information may include, without limitation, the network IP address, SSID, WEP or other encrypted password (e.g., WPA, WPA2, TKIP, AES, WPA personal, WPA enterprise)), and transmit the electronic device of the user, wirelessly ... between the electronic device of the user and the computing device of the user (par. 9: Computer 6, or software on it in conjunction with a processor, encodes the configuration information into audio encoded configuration information 14, and transmits it via a speaker (not shown) to microphone 12 on IP camera 2 or other wireless device 10 ... ; par. 11: IP camera 2 has a microphone 12, or other sound receiving device as may be known to the skilled artisan, for receiving audio encoded configuration information 14. Software and/or a processor and/or firmware (i.e. “software") on IP camera 2 listens for the audio encoded configuration information 14, and, after recognizing it, decodes it into configuration information. The same or separate software uses the configuration information to configure the network interface (not shown) of IP camera 2 enabling it to communicate with network 4), the credential data for the infrastructure wireless network stored on the first remote network server (par. 9: Computer 6 obtains audio encoded configuration information 14 by any number of known mechanisms. For example, and not by way of limitation, a user points a web browser, on computer 6 and via network 4, to a web site and downloads the configuration information ... the user points to a website maintained by the manufacturer or by a software as a service site such as Sensr.Net. On the site, the user enters information about the local network, such as the network gateway, SSID, and WEP password. The website then generates a webpage for the user containing the configuration information along with audio encoded configuration information; par. 11: Configuration information may include, without limitation, the network IP address, SSID, WEP or other encrypted password (e.g., WPA, WPAZ2, TKIP, AES, WPA personal, WPA enterprise)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching, i.e., receiving, by an accessary, access credential including SSID, WEP password and a WPA password, etc. associated with WiFi network from smartphone over ad hoc connection such as Bluetooth and accesses to wireless access point via the WiFi network to receive one or more video streams from a computer server connected to the WiFi network (e.g., over the Internet), of Louboutin by entering, by user of computer, information about the local network such as SSID and WEP password of local gateway to website (e.g., remote server), downloading the audio encoded configuration including the SSID and WEP password entered by user via the WiFi network, and transmitting the audio encoded configuration information to IP camera or other sound receiving device wirelessly to configure the respective network interface of the IP camera or other sound receiving device enabling it communicate with the WiFi network of Beguelin, thereby entering, by user, access credential including SSID and password, etc. associated with WiFi network, to website of a server, storing, by the server, the access credential, contacting, by the user, the server to download the access credential entered by the user while connecting to the WiFi network, and receiving, by an accessary of the user, the access credential from smartphone or PC over ad hoc connection such as Bluetooth to connect the WiFi network such that one or more video streams can be received from a computer server connected to the WiFi network over the Internet.
The motivation would have been to make configuring the IP camera much easier than existing mechanisms and methods, and enables simplified camera designs (Beguelin par. 7).
Louboutin discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of the controller can operate in either the first mode or the second mode based on the user input.
But, TIAN from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses wherein the user control interface is configured to receive a user input and the controller can operate in either the first mode or the second mode based on the user input (par. 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of the using WiFi or Bluetooth performed by controller and User interface 412 for input as in Louboutin and Beguelin for selecting the first mode (WiFi) or the second mode (Bluetooth) by user input as disclosed by TIAN to operate in either the first mode or the second mode based on the user input.
The motivation would have been to make reduce the complexity and managing the connections (TIAN par. 10).
Regarding claim 3, Louboutin discloses e wherein the electronic device of the user is a smart home device (par. 25: Accessory 104 can be any device capable of connecting to a portable computing device, such as a laptop computer, a tablet device, ... a display (e.g., LCD, CRT monitor, projector), ... a multimedia streaming device, a camera, ... a mobile phone, a digital video recorder (DVR), ... a portable multimedia player, ... a portable digital stream receiver, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a household appliance).
Regarding claim 4, Louboutin discloses e wherein the smart home device comprises at least one of a lighting device, a camera device, and a video device (par. 25: Accessory 104 can be any device capable of connecting to a portable computing device, such as a laptop computer, a tablet device, ... a display (e.g., LCD, CRT monitor, projector), ...a multimedia streaming device, a camera, ... a mobile phone, a digital video recorder (DVR), ... a portable multimedia player, ... a portable digital stream receiver, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a household appliance).
Regarding claim 5, Louboutin discloses
further comprising a second remote network server, wherein, after connecting to the wireless access point, the smart home device is for receiving control data from the second remote network server (par. 86: Once accessory 104 has joined a WiFi network, the accessory can access the network in any suitable manner. Illustratively, accessory 104 can access the network to communicate with various computing devices and/or other networks (e.g., the Internet) ... accessory 104 can be a multimedia device configured to receive one or more video streams from a computer server connected to the WiFi network (e.g., over the Internet)).
Regarding claim 8, Louboutin discloses e wherein the electronic device comprises a gaming device (par. 25: Accessory 104 can be any device capable of connecting to a portable computing device, such as ... a portable gaming device).
Regarding claim 9, Louboutin discloses e wherein the electronic device of the user comprises an acoustic speaker device (par. 23: accessory 104 (e.g., stereo speakers)).
Regarding claim 10, Louboutin discloses e wherein the acoustic speaker device comprises a set of earphones (par. 25: Accessory 104 can be any device capable of connecting to a portable computing device, such as ... a headphone set).
Regarding claim 11, Louboutin discloses wherein: the system further comprises a second remote network server; and the acoustic speaker device is further for: after connecting to the wireless access point, streaming audio content from the second remote network server via the infrastructure wireless network; and playing the audio content streamed from the second remote network server, such that the acoustic speaker device is enabled to play audio streamed via the infrastructure wireless network (par. 25: accessory 104 can be a speaker system capable of wirelessly streaming audio; par. 86: Once accessory 104 has joined a WiFi network, the accessory can access the network in any suitable manner. illustratively, accessory 104 can access the network to communicate with various computing devices and/or other networks (e.g., the Internet) ... accessory 104 can be a multimedia device configured to receive one or more video streams from a computer server connected to the WiFi network (e.g., over the Internet)).
Regarding claim 12, Louboutin discloses wherein the computing device of the user comprises a smartphone, and wherein the smartphone comprises a radio module for communicating wirelessly via the ad hoc wireless communication link with the electronic device of the user (par. 2: of computing devices include, for example, ... mobile phones, smartphones; par. 24: Portable computing device 102 can be any portable computing device with a wireless interface, such as ... mobile phone, ... a personal digital assistant (PDA); par. 29: portable computing device 102 and accessory 104 can communicate over a Bluetooth or Bluetooth LE connection).
Regarding claim 13, Louboutin discloses wherein: the infrastructure wireless network comprises an infrastructure Wi-Fi network (par. 85: the received response can include a wireless network access credential for the WiFi network with which portable computing device 102 is currently connected. The received wireless network access credential can include any information needed by the accessory to join the network. For example, a wireless network access credential can include an SSID associated with the WiFi network. The network access credential can additionally include security information, such as a WEP password, a WPA password, etc.).
Regarding claim 15, Louboutin discloses wherein the credential data for the infrastructure WiFi network additionally comprises encryption type data for the infrastructure Wi-Fi network (par. 85: the received response can include a wireless network access credential for the WiFi network with which portable computing device 102 is currently connected. The received wireless network access credential can include any information needed by the accessory to join the network. For example, a wireless network access credential can include an SSID associated with the WiFi network. The network access credential can additionally include security information, such as a WEP password, a WPA password, etc.).
Regarding claim 16, Louboutin discloses wherein the ad hoc wireless communication link comprises a Bluetooth wireless network (par. 29: portable computing device 102 and accessory 104 can communicate over a Bluetooth or Bluetooth LE connection).
Regarding claim 18, Louboutin discloses the user of the electronic device of the user (par. 48: A user can press the button, which can cause accessory 400 to request a wireless network access credential from a connected portable computing device) can pre-specify the credential data for the infrastructure wireless network (par. 77: a user can indicate to portable computing device 102 that a password for a particular wireless network has changed. In response, portable computing device 102 can update or change the stored password for the wireless network ... a user can interact with a graphical user interface provided by portable computing device via its touch screen display).
Louboutin discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the first remote network server is configured to host a website configured to receive the credential data via the computing device of the user, such that the user of the electronic device of the user can pre-specify the credential data for the infrastructure wireless network and the first remote network server can receive and store the credential data.
Beguelin from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses wherein the first remote network server is configured to host a website configured to receive the credential data via the computing device of the user, such that the user of the electronic device of the user can pre-specify the credential data for the infrastructure wireless network and the first remote network server can receive and store the credential data (par. 8: network 4 may be the Airport Extreme.RTM., a home wireless WiFi router; par. 9: Computer 6, or software on it in conjunction with a processor, encodes the configuration information into audio encoded configuration information 14, and transmits it via a speaker (not shown) to microphone 12 on IP camera 2 or other wireless device 10 ... On the site, the user enters information about the local network, such as the network gateway, SSID, and WEP password. The website then generates a webpage for the user containing the configuration information along with audio encoded configuration information, the webpage not being necessary, where the user can select to broadcast the encoded information, save it for later broadcast or both; par. 11: IP camera 2 has a microphone 12, or other sound receiving device as may be known to the skilled artisan, for receiving audio encoded configuration information 14. Software and/or a processor and/or firmware (i.e. "software") on IP camera 2 listens for the audio encoded configuration information 14, and, after recognizing it, decodes it into configuration information. The same or separate software uses the configuration information to configure the network interface (not shown) of IP camera 2 enabling it to communicate with network 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching, i.e., receiving, by an accessary, access credential including SSID, WEP password and a WPA password, etc. associated with WiFi network from smartphone over ad hoc connection such as Bluetooth and accesses to wireless access point via the WiFi network to receive one or more video streams from a computer server connected to the WiFi network (e.g., over the Internet), of Louboutin and TIAN by entering, by user of computer 6, about the local network such as SSID and WEP password of local gateway to website (e.g., remote server), downloading the audio encoded configuration including the SSID and WEP password, and transmitting the audio encoded configuration information to IP camera or other sound receiving device wirelessly to configure the respective network interface of the IP camera or other sound receiving device enabling it communicate with WiFi network of Beguelin, thereby entering, by user, access credential including SSID and password, etc. associated with WiFi network, to website of a server, storing, by the server, the access credential, contacting, by the user, the server to download the access credential while connecting to the WiFi network, and receiving, by an accessary of the user, the access credential from smartphone or PC over ad hoc connection such as Bluetooth to connect the WiFi network such that one or more video streams can be received from a computer server connected to the WiFi network over the Internet.
The motivation would have been to make configuring the IP camera much easier than existing mechanisms and methods, and enables simplified camera designs (Beguelin par. 7).
Regarding claim 19, Louboutin discloses a system for a user to configure a smart home device of the user (fig. 4, par. 25, 42, FIG. 4 is a block diagram showing an exemplary accessory 400 (e.g., accessory 104)) to connect to an infrastructure wireless network (Fig. 2; par. 19: By enabling a portable computing device to configure an accessory for wireless network access, embodiments enable a user to avoid having to enter network access information when the user desires an accessory to be configured to operate with a wireless network; par. 23: accessory 104; par. 25: Accessory 104 can be any device capable of connecting to a portable computing device, such as a laptop computer, a tablet device, ... a display (e.g., LCD, CRT monitor, projector), ... a multimedia streaming device, a camera, ... a mobile phone, a digital video recorder (DVR), ... a portable multimedia player, ... a portable digital stream receiver, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a household appliance), the system comprising: a wireless access point (Fig. 2, par. 23: access point 106) configured to provide wireless connectivity to the infrastructure wireless network (par. 26: Access point 106 can be any suitable device for managing a wireless network, and facilitating communication between networked client devices, external networks, etc. illustratively, access point 106 can, among other operations, route messages between networked client devices, and/or enable the client devices to access an external network, such as the Internet; par. 27: Accessory 104 can thereafter use the wireless network access credential to join and/or access a WiFi network managed by access point 106);
a smart home device (Fig. 2, par. 23: accessory 104; par. 25: Accessory 104 can be any device capable of connecting to a portable computing device, such as a laptop computer, a tablet device, ... a display (e.g., LCD, CRT monitor, projector), ... a multimedia streaming device, a camera, ... a mobile phone, a digital video recorder (DVR), ... a portable multimedia player, ... a portable digital stream receiver, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a household appliance) of the user (Fig. 2; par. 19: By enabling a portable computing device to configure an accessory for wireless network access, embodiments enable a user to avoid having to enter network access information when the user desires an accessory to be configured to operate with a wireless network); and
a computing device of the user (Fig. 2 102; par. 19: By enabling a portable computing device to configure an accessory for wireless network access, embodiments enable a user to avoid having to enter network access information when the user desires an accessory to be configured to operate with a wireless network), wherein the computing device of the user is configured to communicate with the smart home device of the user via an ad hoc wireless communication link (par. 29: portable computing device 102 and accessory 104 can communicate over a Bluetooth or Bluetooth LE connection) and a first remote network device via the infrastructure wireless network (par. 24: Portable computing device 102 can be any portable computing device with a wireless interface, such as ... streaming receiver ..., portable computing device 200 can be an iPod.RTM., iPhone.RTM., or iPad.RTM. device available from Apple Inc. of Cupertino, Calif; par. 86: one or more video streams from a computer server connected to the WiFi network (e.g., over the Internet)); and
wherein: the computing device of the user (Fig. 2 102; par. 19: By enabling a portable computing device to configure an accessory for wireless network access, embodiments enable a user to avoid having to enter network access information when the user desires an accessory to be configured to operate with a wireless network) is configured to transmit to the smart home device of the user, wirelessly via the ad hoc wireless communication link between the smart home device of the user and the computing device of the user, the credential data for the infrastructure wireless network ... (par. 29: portable computing device 102 and accessory 104 can communicate over a Bluetooth or Bluetooth LE connection; par. 73: If the received user response indicates that accessory 104 should be permitted to access the WiFi network to which portable computing device 102 is connected, the portable computing device can transmit a wireless network access credential for the WiFi network at block 622. In some embodiments, the wireless network access credential can include an SSID for the wireless network and/or security information (e.g., a WEP password, a WPA password, etc.). Based on this information, accessory 104 can connect to the WiFi network associated with the wireless network access credential); and
the smart home device of the user comprises a controller and a user control interface (fig. 4, par. 25, 42, FIG. 4 is a block diagram showing an exemplary accessory 400 (e.g., accessory 104) according to an embodiment. In one example, portable computing device 400 can include a controller 402, a WiFi module 404, a storage module 406, a portable computing device I/O interface 408, and accessory specific hardware 410) is configured to, in a first mode, upon receiving the credential data for the infrastructure wireless network (par. 83: At block 808, accessory 104 can receive a response from portable computing device 102; par. 85: If accessory 104 determines that the received response indicates that the accessory is authorized to access a WiFi network, accessory 104 can join and/or access the WiFi network at block 812 ... The received wireless network access credential can include any information needed by the accessory to join the network. For example, a wireless network access credential can include an SSID associated with the WiFi network. The network access credential can additionally include security information, such as a WEP password, a WPA password, etc.), connect to the infrastructure wireless network via the wireless access point using the credential data received from the computing device of the user (par. 85: If accessory 104 determines that the received response indicates that the accessory is authorized to access a WiFi network, accessory 104 can join and/or access the WiFi network at block 812 ... Accessory 104 can transmit the received wireless network access credential (and/or information derived from the credential) to access point 106, which manages the operations of the WiFi network. Based on the wireless network access credential, access point 106 can permit accessory 104 to access the WiFi network associated with the access point) and stream, via the infrastructure wireless network, digital media content from a remote digital media content source (par. 86: accessory 104 can be a multimedia device configured to receive one or more video streams from a computer server connected to the WiFi network (e.g., over the Internet)); and
in a second mode, stream, via the ad hoc wireless communication link, digital media content from the computing device (par. 25: accessory 104 can be a speaker system capable of wirelessly streaming audio to or receiving audio from other devices; par. 29: portable computing device 102 and accessory 104 can communicate over a Bluetooth or Bluetooth LE connection); and
wherein the user control interface is configured to receive a user input and the controller can operate in either the first mode or the second mode (fig. 4, par. 25, 42, 44, 48, a controller 402…a portable computing device I/O interface 408…User interface 412).
Louboutin discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of a first remote network server configured to store credential data for an infrastructure wireless network prespecified by the user, the credential data comprising an identifier and a password for the infrastructure wireless network; wherein the first remote network server is configured to transmit the credential data in response to a request of the user ..., wherein the computing device of the user is configured to receive the credential data for the infrastructure wireless network from the first remote network server, and transmit to the electronic device of the user, wirelessly via the ad hoc wireless communication link between the smart home device of the user and the computing device of the user, the credential data for the infrastructure wireless network stored on the first remote network server.
Beguelin from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses a first remote network server configured to store credential data for an infrastructure wireless network pre-specified by the user, the credential data comprising an identifier and a password for the infrastructure wireless network; wherein the first remote network server is configured to transmit the credential data in response to a request of the user (par. 9: On the site, the user enters information about the local network, such as the network gateway, SSID, and WEP password. The website then generates a webpage for the user containing the configuration information along with audio encoded configuration information, the webpage not being necessary, where the user can select to broadcast the encoded information, save it for later broadcast or both) ..., wherein the computing device of the user is configured to receive the credential data for the infrastructure wireless network from the first remote network server (par. 8: network 4 may be the Airport Extreme.RTM., a home wireless WiFi router; par. 9: Computer 6 obtains audio encoded configuration information 14 by any number of known mechanisms. For example, and not by way of limitation, a user points a web browser, on computer 6 and via network 4, to a web site and downloads the configuration information; par. 11: Configuration information may include, without limitation, the network IP address, SSID, WEP or other encrypted password (e.g., WPA, WPA2, TKIP, AES, WPA personal, WPA enterprise}), and transmit to the electronic device of the user, wirelessly ... between the smart home device of the user and the computing device of the user (par. 9: Computer 6, or software on it in conjunction with a processor, encodes the configuration information into audio encoded configuration information 14, and transmits it via a speaker (not shown) to microphone 12 on IP camera 2 or other wireless device 10 ... ; par. 11: IP camera 2 has a microphone 12, or other sound receiving device as may be known to the skilled artisan, for receiving audio encoded configuration information 14. Software and/or a processor and/or firmware (i.e. "software") on IP camera 2 listens for the audio encoded configuration information 14, and, after recognizing it, decodes it into configuration information. The same or separate software uses the configuration information to configure the network interface (not shown) of IP camera 2 enabling it to communicate with network 4), the credential data for the infrastructure wireless network stored on the first remote network server (par. 9: Computer 6 obtains audio encoded configuration information 14 by any number of known mechanisms. For example, and not by way of limitation, a user points a web browser, on computer 6 and via network 4, to a web site and downloads the configuration information ... the user points to a website maintained by the manufacturer or by a software as a service site such as Sensr.Net. On the site, the user enters information about the local network, such as the network gateway, SSID, and WEP password. The website then generates a webpage for the user containing the configuration information along with audio encoded configuration information; par. 11: Configuration information may include, without limitation, the network IP address, SSID, WEP or other encrypted password (e.g., WPA, WPA2, TKIP, AES WPA personal, WPA enterprise)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching, i.e., receiving, by an accessary, access credential including SSID, WEP password and a WPA password, etc. associated with WiFi network from smartphone over ad hoc connection such as Bluetooth and accesses to wireless access point via the WiFi network to receive one or more video streams from a computer server connected to the WiFi network (e.g., over the Internet), of Louboutin by entering, by user of computer, information about the local network such as SSID and WEP password of local gateway to website (e.g., remote server), downloading the audio encoded configuration including the SSID and WEP password entered by user via the WiFi network, and transmitting the audio encoded configuration information to IP camera or other sound receiving device wirelessly to configure the respective network interface of the IP camera or other sound receiving device enabling it communicate with the WiFi network of Beguelin, thereby entering, by user, access credential including SSID and password, etc. associated with WiFi network, to website of a server, storing, by the server, the access credential, contacting, by the user, the server to download the access credential entered by the user while connecting to the WiFi network, and receiving, by an accessary of the user, the access credential from smartphone or PC over ad hoc connection such as Bluetooth to connect the WiFi network such that one or more video streams can be received from a computer server connected to the WiFi network over the Internet.
The motivation would have been to make configuring the IP camera much easier than existing mechanisms and methods, and enables simplified camera designs (Beguelin par. 7).
Louboutin discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of the controller can operate in either the first mode or the second mode based on the user input.
But, TIAN from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses wherein the user control interface is configured to receive a user input and the controller can operate in either the first mode or the second mode based on the user input (par. 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of the using WiFi or Bluetooth performed by controller and User interface 412 for input as in Louboutin and Beguelin for selecting the first mode (WiFi) or the second mode (Bluetooth) by user input as disclosed by TIAN to operate in either the first mode or the second mode based on the user input.
The motivation would have been to make reduce the complexity and managing the connections (TIAN par. 10).
Regarding claim 20, Louboutin discloses
wherein the smart home device of the user comprises at least one of a lighting device, a camera device, and a video device (par. 25: Accessory 104 can be any device capable of connecting to a portable computing device, such as a laptop computer, a tablet device, ... a display (e.g., LCD, CRT monitor, projector), ... a multimedia streaming device, a camera, ... a mobile phone, a digital video recorder (DVR), ... a portable multimedia player, ... a portable digital stream receiver, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a household appliance).
Regarding claim 22, Louboutin discloses
further comprising a second remote network server configured to store digital media content, and wherein the electronic device of the user is further configured to: connect to the second remote network server after connecting to the wireless access point; and stream the digital media content from the second remote network server via the infrastructure wireless network (par. 86: Once accessory 104 has joined a WiFi network, the accessory can access the network in any suitable manner. Illustratively, accessory 104 can access the network to communicate with various computing devices and/or other networks (e.g., the Internet) ... accessory 104 can be a multimedia device configured to receive one or more video streams from a computer server connected to the WiFi network (e.g., over the Internet)).
Regarding claim 23, Louboutin discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the computing device of the user is configured to receive, via the infrastructure wireless network, the credential data for the infrastructure wireless network from the first remote network server.
Beguelin from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses a wherein the computing device of the user is configured to receive, via the infrastructure wireless network, the credential data for the infrastructure wireless network from the first remote network server (par. 8: network 4 may be the Airport Extreme.RTM., a home wireless WiFi router; par. 9: Computer 6 obtains audio encoded configuration information 14 by any number of known mechanisms. For example, and not by way of limitation, a user points a web browser, on computer 6 and via network 4, to a web site and downloads the configuration information; par. 11: Configuration information may include, without limitation, the network IP address, SSID, WEP or other encrypted password (e.g., WPA, WPA2, TKIP, AES WPA personal, WPA enterprise)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching, i.e., receiving, by an accessary, access credential including SSID, WEP password and a WPA password, etc. associated with WiFi network from smartphone over ad hoc connection such as Bluetooth and accesses to wireless access point via the WiFi network to receive one or more video streams from a computer server connected to the WiFi network (e.g., over the Internet), of Louboutin and TIAN by entering, by user of computer, information about the local network such as SSID and WEP password of local gateway to website (e.g., remote server), downloading the audio encoded configuration including the SSID and WEP password entered by user via the WiFi network, and transmitting the audio encoded configuration information to IP camera or other sound receiving device wirelessly to configure the respective network interface of the IP camera or other sound receiving device enabling it communicate with the WiFi network of Beguelin, thereby entering, by user, access credential including SSID and password, etc. associated with WiFi network, to website of a server, storing, by the server, the access credential, contacting, by the user, the server to download the access credential entered by the user while connecting to the WiFi network, and receiving, by an accessary of the user, the access credential from smartphone or PC over ad hoc connection such as Bluetooth to connect the WiFi network such that one or more video streams can be received from a computer server connected to the WiFi network over the Internet.
The motivation would have been to make configuring the IP camera much easier than existing mechanisms and methods, and enables simplified camera designs (Beguelin par. 7).
16. Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louboutin et al. (US 2013/0014232) in view of Beguelin et al. (US 2012/0290689) and TIAN (US 20100015919) applied to claim 2, and further in view of McGrath et al. (US 2004/0204743).
Regarding claim 6, Louboutin in view of Beguelin and TIAN discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the electronic device comprises a medical device.
McGrath from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses wherein the electronic device comprises a medical device (par. 26: remote device 12 and defibrillator 14 may be previously unknown to each other, and may establish an ad hoc network according to one of these specification sets. The ability to establish an ad hoc network allows computing devices, such as remote device 12 to control external medical devices, such as defibrillator 14, that are unknown to each other; par. 53: remote device 12 is a computer such as a tablet computer. Remote device 12 wirelessly controls an external medical device, such as defibrillator 14 by sending one or more of control commands 48 to defibrillator 14 via a wireless communication medium).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching, i.e., entering, by user, access credential including SSID and password, etc. associated with WiFi network, to website of a server, storing, by the server, the access credential, contacting, by the user, the server to download the access credential entered by the user while connecting to the WiFi network, and receiving, by an accessary of the user, the access credential from smartphone or PC over ad hoc connection such as Bluetooth to connect the WiFi network such that one or more video streams can be received from a computer server connected to the WiFi network over the Internet, of Louboutin in view of Beguelin and TIAN by controlling, by a tablet, external medical device via ad hoc communication of McGrath, thereby entering, by user, access credential including SSID and password, etc. associated with WiFi network, to website of a server, storing, by the server, the access credential, contacting, by the user, the server to download the access credential entered by the user while connecting to the WiFi network, and receiving, by an accessary (i.e., external medical device in addition to speaker, camera, etc.,) of the user, the access credential from smartphone or PC over ad hoc connection such as Bluetooth to connect the WiFi network such that one or more video streams can be received from a computer server connected to the WiFi network over the Internet.
The motivation would have been to remotely operating an external medical device (McGrath par. 7).
Regarding claim 7, Louboutin discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the medical device is a wireless device.
McGrath from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses wherein the medical device is a wireless device (par. 26: remote device 12 and defibrillator 14 may be previously unknown to each other, and may establish an ad hoc network according to one of these specification sets. The ability to establish an ad hoc network allows computing devices, such as remote device 12 to control external medical devices, such as defibrillator 14, that are unknown to each other; par. 53: remote device 12 is a computer such as a tablet computer. Remote device 12 wirelessly controls an external medical device, such as defibrillator 14 by sending one or more of control commands 48 to defibrillator 14 via a wireless communication medium).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching, i.e., entering, by user, access credential including SSID and password, etc. associated with WiFi network, to website of a server, storing, by the server, the access credential, contacting, by the user, the server to download the access credential entered by the user while connecting to the WiFi network, and receiving, by an accessary of the user, the access credential from smartphone or PC over ad hoc connection such as Bluetooth to connect the WiFi network such that one or more video streams can be received from a computer server connected to the WiFi network over the Internet, of Louboutin in view of Beguelin and TIAN by controlling, by a tablet, external medical device via ad hoc communication of McGrath, thereby entering, by user, access credential including SSID and password, etc. associated with WiFi network, to website of a server, storing, by the server, the access credential, contacting, by the user, the server to download the access credential entered by the user while connecting to the WiFi network, and receiving, by an accessary (i.e., external medical device in addition to speaker, camera, etc.,) of the user, the access credential from smartphone or PC over ad hoc connection such as Bluetooth to connect the WiFi network such that one or more video streams can be received from a computer server connected to the WiFi network over the Internet.
The motivation would have been to remotely operating an external medical device (McGrath par. 7).
16. Claim 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louboutin et al. (US 2013/0014232) in view of Beguelin et al. (US 2012/0290689) and TIAN (US 20100015919) applied to claim 2, and further in view of KIOK et al. (US 20120210356).
Regarding claim 23, LOUBOUTIN does not explicitly teach the system of claim 2, wherein the user control interface is configured to allow the electronic device to cycle through digital content streams.
But, KIOK et al. (US 20120210356) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the user control interface is configured to allow the electronic device to cycle through digital content streams (par. 17, 26, 44, the content to the requesting user and/or device… the request can specify which streams are of interest for sampling or viewing (e.g., allowing clients to avoid receiving images from streams that are of no interest to the client's user)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of LOUBOUTIN and BEQUELIN, the user control interface is configured to allow the electronic device to request or specify which streams are of interest for sampling or viewing for cycle through digital content streams as in KIOK.
The motivation would have been to allow clients to avoid receiving images from streams that are of no interest to the client's user (KIOK par. 44).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ZANATY (US 20060268793) teaches the Wireless Whooper system 200 can dynamically allocate and withdraw client stations 220A-220N that receive the wireless information, set priorities and privileges on what data streams to be transmitted and at what order to and from specific sources and destinations based on differentiated services (par. 38).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 01/05/2026