DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 01/13/2026.
Claims 1-69 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 17, 18,23, 24, 30, 40, 41, 45, 47, 51, 61, 62, 66, 67, 68, 69 have been amended.
No new claim has been added and no claim has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Independent claim 1 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant's arguments, see “However, turning on fewer antenna panels when operating in a power saving mode, as described by Cheng, does not teach or suggest "indicat[ing] a first set of adjacent channel leakage ratio (ACLR) emission limits associated with the first transmission efficiency operating mode" and "a second set of ACLR emission limits associated with the second transmission efficiency operating mode," as recited in amended independent claim 1,….. However, the Office Action has not shown that Maheshwari teaches or suggests such features at least because 1) the Office Action has not shown that Maheshwari is relevant to any kind of emission limits, much less "adjacent channel leakage ratio (ACLR) emission limits,", as claimed. Accordingly, it is unclear how the Office Action can rely on Maheshwari to teach or suggest a comparison between ACLR emission limits, as is claimed, when the Office Action has not shown that Maheshwari is relevant to any emission limits. Thus, Maheshwari has not been shown to teach or suggest the aforementioned features of amended independent claim 1..” on pages 25-28 , filed on 01/13/2026, with respect to CHENG in view of Maheshwari , have been fully considered but are moot, over the limitations of “indicates a first set of adjacent channel leakage ratio (ACLR) emission limits associated with the first transmission efficiency operating mode" and " indicates a second set of ACLR emission limits associated with the second transmission efficiency operating mode”… “wherein the second set of ACLR emission limits are relaxed relative to the first set of ACLR emission limits”,. Said limitations are newly added to the amended Claim 1 and have been addressed in instant office action, as shown in section 35 USC 103 rejection below, with newly identified prior art teachings from newly found references KAZMI et al. (US 20150111608 A1, henceforth “KAZMI”), thus rendering said Applicant’s arguments moot.
Regarding all dependent claims: the applicant alleges that all dependent claims are allowable since they depend from all the independent claims above. The examiner respectfully disagrees in view of the above explanation of independent claims. Thus the rejection is deemed proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17-30, 34, 35, 37, 38, 40-51, 55, 56, 58, 59, and 61-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAZMI et al. (US 20150111608 A1, henceforth “KAZMI”) in view of over Cheng et al. (US 20200029274, henceforth “Cheng”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to KAZMI unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, KAZMI teaches A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) ( “The present invention relates to a method implemented by a wireless device in a wireless communication system, for adjusting a maximum output power level of the wireless device. The method comprises obtaining (310) an indication indicating a current level of criticality in the system in which a network node serving the wireless device is operating, and adjusting (320) the maximum output power level based on the current level of criticality indicated by the obtained indication.”: [abstract] ), the method ([abstract], Fig. 3) comprising:
transmitting a capability report that indicates a capability of the UE to operate according to both a first transmission efficiency operating mode and a second transmission efficiency operating mode ( UE/Wireless Device transmits “ a capability indicating that the wireless device is capable of adjusting the maximum output power level based on level of criticality in the system. The capability is transmitted to the network node serving the wireless device”: [0128]; UE sends to network device UE’s output power capability information : [0071]; “ Signaling its capability to a network node, indicating that it is capable of adjusting its maximum output power and meeting pre-defined requirements depending upon the criticality level associated with the network operation scenario. The capability may be sent proactively or based on received request from the network node.”: [0080]; “ wireless devices served by the network node and having indicated a capability of adjusting their respective maximum output power level.”: [0146]; See fig. 6a UE/Wireless devices UE “ selecting, 610, from different defined configurations, i.e., modes or effective power classes (==to both first transmission efficiency operation mode and a second transmission efficiency operation mode in claim ), associated with different maximum transmit power levels, a configuration associated with a maximum transmit power level that is reflective of a current criticality with which the device needs to communicate with the system and reflective of transmitter requirements specific to that criticality” : [0160]; then sends UE’s capability information/report with different effective power classes using uplink signal to base station : [0160]);
indicates a first set of adjacent channel leakage ratio (ACLR) emission limits associated with the first transmission efficiency operating mode, and indicates a second set of ACLR emission limits associated with the second transmission efficiency operating mode (UE”s capability information can be ACLR value with 40db (==second set of ACLR emission limit) and ACLR value with 30dB (==first ACLR value ); “ For example when operating in the first scenario, i.e. the public safety network, the UE may have to meet ACLR=40 dB. On the other hand when operating in the second scenario, i.e. the mobile communication network, the UE may have to meet ACLR=30 dB.” “in another example when operating in the first scenario the UE may have to meet MOP tolerance of +1/-4 dB. On the other hand when operating in the second scenario the UE may have to meet MOP tolerance of .+-.2 dB. b. Emergency calls: According to this embodiment during an emergency call the UE which bears additional maximum output power capability, such as an UL MIMO capable UE, may be allowed to operate at a maximum output power above its nominal value (==first transmission efficiency operating mode) . The UE may also disregard the P-MPR or avoid any power reduction required to meet RF exposure requirements. This may be based on a pre-defined rule, or the network may explicitly indicate that in emergency situation or in certain emergency situation, such as an emergency level 3 or above in scale of 0 to 5, it extends its power and disregards the fulfillment of the P-MPR or similar requirement. This is because the emergency situation may be considered to be an operation scenario of a very high criticality level. The indication about this scenario may be acquired by the UE by various means. For example the emergency call may be initiated by the subscriber, or by another subscriber, or by the network, such as a warning of an impending disaster. The emergency call is typically initiated when the subscriber safety is under threat. In this operation scenario the ultimate objective is to prioritize the emergency calls over all the existing operations and ongoing services in the UE. This approach will ensure that any emergency or related call from the subscriber is furnished immediately while ensuring good quality of service. c. Upon loosing coverage. The uplink coverage which is the major limiting factor may be poor due to various factors e.g. network is not fully operational, large cells with sparsely deployed base stations especially where population density is low. Some of these scenarios are further described hereinafter. [0103] Partial network disruption: According to this embodiment the UE which bears additional maximum output power capability, e.g. an UL MIMO capable UE, may be allowed to operate at an output power above its nominal value in case the network is partly disrupted.”: : [0102]-[0105]; “ Notably, in at least some embodiments, the different configurations of the device are not only reflective of different potential criticalities with which the device may need to communicate with the system, but they are also reflective of transmitter requirements specific to a corresponding criticality. That is, depending on the criticality associated with a configuration, that configuration may impose different transmitter requirements on the device (==UE or Wireless Device ), including for instance different emissions requirements, e.g., ACLR, SEM, or SAR thresholds. In this way, the different configurations may prioritize the transmitter requirements differently in relation to the criticality with which the device needs to communicate. For example, a configuration associated with a relatively high criticality may impose some transmitter requirements, e.g., a SAR threshold, or ACLR threshold, that are more relaxed than corresponding requirements imposed by a configuration associated with a relatively low criticality.”: [0166] )
the first transmission efficiency operating mode associated with a first power amplification operation, the second transmission efficiency operating mode associated with a second power amplification operation ( ACLR value with 40dB for critical/emergency call while ACLR value with 30dB is for normal wireless call : [0102]; [0166]; “ For example when operating in the first scenario, i.e. the public safety network, the UE may have to meet ACLR=40 dB. On the other hand when operating in the second scenario, i.e. the mobile communication network, the UE may have to meet ACLR=30 dB”: [0102]);
wherein the second set of ACLR emission limits are relaxed relative to the first set of ACLR emission limits based at least in part on the second transmission efficiency operating mode being associated with a higher transmission efficiency relative to the first transmission efficiency operating mode (ACLR value 40dB is public safety emergency call and ACLR value with 30dB is for normal call : [0102]; [0166]);
receiving, based at least in part on the capability report, a message indicating the first transmission efficiency operating mode or the second transmission efficiency operating mode (UE sends or “Transmitting a capability indicating that the wireless device is capable of adjusting the maximum output power level based on level of criticality in the system. The capability is transmitted to the network node serving the wireless device.”: [0128]; Based on that information, aforesaid UE receiving “ Receiving the indication indicating the current level of criticality from the network node serving the wireless device” : [0131]-132; “ The indication may comprise at least one of an identifier of level of criticality (==the first transmission efficiency operating mode or the second transmission efficiency operating mode in claim ), and an amount of power by which the maximum output power level is to be adjusted. Receiving an identifier of the level of criticality is one example of an explicit mechanism for receiving the indicator.”: “ indication may comprise at least one of warning information related to an emergency situation, and a parameter controlling a radio emission of the wireless device. In this case obtaining the indication indicating the current level of criticality also comprises determining the current level of criticality based on the received indication. This is an example of an implicit mechanism for indicating the level of criticality, as described for embodiment B above. A parameter controlling the radio emission of the wireless device may e.g. be the NS parameter, which may implicitly indicate a level of criticality as already described.
[0132] The step 320 of adjusting the maximum output power level comprises: [0133] 321: Selecting a configuration associated with the adjusted maximum output power level reflective of the indicated current level of criticality. [0134] 322: Applying the selected configuration for transmission. ”: [0131]-[0132]; “ Obtaining (==receiving from network node) an indication indicating a current level of criticality in the system in which a network node serving the wireless device is operating. [0124] 320: Adjusting the maximum output power level based on the current level of criticality indicated by the obtained indication”: [0122]).
KAZMI does not expressively disclose:
transmitting at least one signal according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode or the second transmission efficiency operating mode based at least in part on the message and on the capability of the UE to operate according to both the first transmission efficiency operating mode and the second transmission efficiency operating mode.
Cheng, in an analogous art, discloses:
transmitting at least one a signal (==HARQ-ACK) according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode (==power saving mode) or the second transmission efficiency operating mode based (==non power saving mode) at least in part on the message and the capability of the UE to operate according to both the first transmission efficiency operating mode and the second transmission efficiency operating mode (FIG. 7 in action element 702 where UE is configured with multiple sets of parameters corresponding to different operation modes : : [0151]-[0152]; 706, the UE may apply a TCI state indicated by the DCI message, [0144]. According to FIG. 8, because the TCI state #1 includes a power saving mode IE which is configured with a “true” value, the UE may follow the TCI state #1 to monitor the scheduling PDSCH 1004 in the power saving mode, [0146]. After successfully receiving and decoding the PDSCH 1004, the UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK (==a signal) over a PUCCH 1006 in the slot # n+1 based on the HARQ resource indicator (ARI) contained in the first DCI message DCI_1. Then, the UE may further receive and decode a second DCI message DCI_2 which is transmitted over a PDCCH 1008 in the slot # m. In this example, the second DCI message DCI_2 may indicate to the UE to apply the TCI state #64 for a scheduling PDSCH 1010. According to FIG. 8, because the TCI state #64 includes a power saving mode IE which is configured with a “false” value, the TCI state #64 may indicate to the UE to receive the scheduling PDSCH 1010 in the normal power consumption mode, in which there are N2 antenna panels turned on by the UE, [0147], [0154]).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time when instant application was filed, to modify KAZMI by adding the teachings of Cheng in order to increase the data throughput, beamforming gain and coverage : (Cheng , [0003]).
Regarding claim 24, KAZMI teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see fig. 2: UE, Also, Fig. 5a: Wireless Device 500 ) , comprising:
one or more memories , and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured ( see fig. 5A: Wireless Device 500 with processing unit coupled with interface and memory: : [0149]) to
transmit a capability report that indicates a capability of the ULE to operate according to both a first transmission efficiency operating mode and a second transmission efficiency operating mode, indicates a first set of adjacent channel leakage ratio (ACLR) emission limits associated with the first transmission efficiency operating mode, and indicates a second set of ACLR emission limits associated with the second transmission efficiency operating mode, the first transmission efficiency operating mode
associated with a first power amplification operation, the second transmission efficiency operating mode associated with a second power amplification operation,
wherein the second set of ACLR emission limits are relaxed relative to the first set of ACLR emission limits based at least in part on the second transmission efficiency operating mode being associated with a higher transmission efficiency relative to the first transmission efficiency operating mode;
receive, based at least in part on the capability report, a message indicating the first transmission efficiency operating mode or the second transmission efficiency operating mode; and
transmit at least one signal according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode or the second transmission efficiency operating mode based at least in part on the message and on the capability of the UE to operate according to both the first transmission efficiency operating mode and the second transmission efficiency operating mode.(Regarding rest of claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1).
Regarding claim 47, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 68, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, KAZMI teaches a method for wireless communication at a base station ( UE Sends its capability information to Base Station : “The present invention relates to a method implemented by a wireless device in a wireless communication system, for adjusting a maximum output power level of the wireless device. The method comprises obtaining (310) an indication indicating a current level of criticality in the system in which a network node serving the wireless device is operating, and adjusting (320) the maximum output power level based on the current level of criticality indicated by the obtained indication.”: [abstract] ), comprising:
receiving a capability report that indicates a capability of a user equipment (UE) to operate according to both a first transmission efficiency operating mode and a second transmission efficiency operating mode (UE/Wireless Device transmits “ a capability indicating that the wireless device is capable of adjusting the maximum output power level based on level of criticality in the system. The capability is transmitted to the network node serving the wireless device”: [0128]; UE sends to network device UE’s output power capability information : [0071]; “ Signaling its capability to a network node, indicating that it is capable of adjusting its maximum output power and meeting pre-defined requirements depending upon the criticality level associated with the network operation scenario. The capability may be sent proactively or based on received request from the network node.”: [0080]; “ wireless devices served by the network node and having indicated a capability of adjusting their respective maximum output power level.”: [0146]; See fig. 6a UE/Wireless devices UE “ selecting, 610, from different defined configurations, i.e., modes or effective power classes (==to both first transmission efficiency operation mode and a second transmission efficiency operation mode in claim ), associated with different maximum transmit power levels, a configuration associated with a maximum transmit power level that is reflective of a current criticality with which the device needs to communicate with the system and reflective of transmitter requirements specific to that criticality” : [0160]; then sends UE’s capability information/report with different effective power classes using uplink signal to base station : [0160]),
indicates a first set of adjacent channel leakage ratio (ACLR) emission limits associated with the first transmission efficiency operating mode, and indicates a second set of ACLR emission limits associated with the second transmission efficiency operating mode (UE”s capability information can be ACLR value with 40db (==second set of ACLR emission limit) and ACLR value with 30dB (==first ACLR value ); “ For example when operating in the first scenario, i.e. the public safety network, the UE may have to meet ACLR=40 dB. On the other hand when operating in the second scenario, i.e. the mobile communication network, the UE may have to meet ACLR=30 dB.” “in another example when operating in the first scenario the UE may have to meet MOP tolerance of +1/-4 dB. On the other hand when operating in the second scenario the UE may have to meet MOP tolerance of .+-.2 dB. b. Emergency calls: According to this embodiment during an emergency call the UE which bears additional maximum output power capability, such as an UL MIMO capable UE, may be allowed to operate at a maximum output power above its nominal value (==first transmission efficiency operating mode) . The UE may also disregard the P-MPR or avoid any power reduction required to meet RF exposure requirements. This may be based on a pre-defined rule, or the network may explicitly indicate that in emergency situation or in certain emergency situation, such as an emergency level 3 or above in scale of 0 to 5, it extends its power and disregards the fulfillment of the P-MPR or similar requirement. This is because the emergency situation may be considered to be an operation scenario of a very high criticality level. The indication about this scenario may be acquired by the UE by various means. For example the emergency call may be initiated by the subscriber, or by another subscriber, or by the network, such as a warning of an impending disaster. The emergency call is typically initiated when the subscriber safety is under threat. In this operation scenario the ultimate objective is to prioritize the emergency calls over all the existing operations and ongoing services in the UE. This approach will ensure that any emergency or related call from the subscriber is furnished immediately while ensuring good quality of service. c. Upon loosing coverage. The uplink coverage which is the major limiting factor may be poor due to various factors e.g. network is not fully operational, large cells with sparsely deployed base stations especially where population density is low. Some of these scenarios are further described hereinafter. [0103] Partial network disruption: According to this embodiment the UE which bears additional maximum output power capability, e.g. an UL MIMO capable UE, may be allowed to operate at an output power above its nominal value in case the network is partly disrupted.”: : [0102]-[0105]; “ Notably, in at least some embodiments, the different configurations of the device are not only reflective of different potential criticalities with which the device may need to communicate with the system, but they are also reflective of transmitter requirements specific to a corresponding criticality. That is, depending on the criticality associated with a configuration, that configuration may impose different transmitter requirements on the device (==UE or Wireless Device ), including for instance different emissions requirements, e.g., ACLR, SEM, or SAR thresholds. In this way, the different configurations may prioritize the transmitter requirements differently in relation to the criticality with which the device needs to communicate. For example, a configuration associated with a relatively high criticality may impose some transmitter requirements, e.g., a SAR threshold, or ACLR threshold, that are more relaxed than corresponding requirements imposed by a configuration associated with a relatively low criticality.”: [0166]0,
the first transmission efficiency operating mode associated with a first power amplification operation, the second transmission efficiency operating mode associated with a second power amplification operation ( ACLR value with 40dB for critical/emergency call while ACLR value with 30dB is for normal wireless call : [0102]; [0166]; “ For example when operating in the first scenario, i.e. the public safety network, the UE may have to meet ACLR=40 dB. On the other hand when operating in the second scenario, i.e. the mobile communication network, the UE may have to meet ACLR=30 dB”: [0102]),
wherein the second set of ACLR emission limits are relaxed relative to the first set of ACLR emission limits based at least in part on the second transmission efficiency operating mode being associated with a higher transmission efficiency relative to the first transmission efficiency operating mode (ACLR value 40dB is public safety emergency call and ACLR value with 30dB is for normal call : [0102]; [0166]);
transmitting, based at least in part on the capability report, a message indicating the first transmission efficiency operating mode or the second transmission efficiency operating mode (UE sends or “Transmitting a capability indicating that the wireless device is capable of adjusting the maximum output power level based on level of criticality in the system. The capability is transmitted to the network node serving the wireless device.”: [0128]; Based on that information, aforesaid UE receiving “ Receiving the indication indicating the current level of criticality from the network node serving the wireless device” : [0131]-132; “ The indication may comprise at least one of an identifier of level of criticality (==the first transmission efficiency operating mode or the second transmission efficiency operating mode in claim ), and an amount of power by which the maximum output power level is to be adjusted. Receiving an identifier of the level of criticality is one example of an explicit mechanism for receiving the indicator.”: “ indication may comprise at least one of warning information related to an emergency situation, and a parameter controlling a radio emission of the wireless device. In this case obtaining the indication indicating the current level of criticality also comprises determining the current level of criticality based on the received indication. This is an example of an implicit mechanism for indicating the level of criticality, as described for embodiment B above. A parameter controlling the radio emission of the wireless device may e.g. be the NS parameter, which may implicitly indicate a level of criticality as already described.
[0132] The step 320 of adjusting the maximum output power level comprises: [0133] 321: Selecting a configuration associated with the adjusted maximum output power level reflective of the indicated current level of criticality. [0134] 322: Applying the selected configuration for transmission. ”: [0131]-[0132]; “ Obtaining (==receiving from network node) an indication indicating a current level of criticality in the system in which a network node serving the wireless device is operating. [0124] 320: Adjusting the maximum output power level based on the current level of criticality indicated by the obtained indication”: [0122]).
KAZMI does not expressively disclose:
receiving at least one signal according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode or the second transmission efficiency operating mode based at least in part on the message and on the capability of the UE to operate according to both the first transmission efficiency operating mode and the second transmission efficiency operating mode.
Cheng, in an analogous art, discloses:
receiving at least one signal (==HARQ-ACK ) according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode (==non power saving mode) or the second transmission efficiency operating mode (==non power saving mode) based at least in part on the message and on the capability of the UE to operate according to both the first transmission efficiency operating mode and the second transmission efficiency operating mode (FIG. 7 in action 706, the UE may apply a TCI state indicated by the DCI message, [0144]. According to FIG. 8, because the TCI state #1 includes a power saving mode IE which is configured with a “true” value, the UE may follow the TCI state #1 to monitor the scheduling PDSCH 1004 in the power saving mode, [0146]. After successfully receiving and decoding the PDSCH 1004, the UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK (==a signal) over a PUCCH 1006 in the slot # n+1 based on the HARQ resource indicator (ARI) contained in the first DCI message DCI_1. Then, the UE may further receive and decode a second DCI message DCI_2 which is transmitted over a PDCCH 1008 in the slot # m. In this example, the second DCI message DCI_2 may indicate to the UE to apply the TCI state #64 for a scheduling PDSCH 1010. According to FIG. 8, because the TCI state #64 includes a power saving mode IE which is configured with a “false” value, the TCI state #64 may indicate to the UE to receive the scheduling PDSCH 1010 in the normal power consumption mode, in which there are N2 antenna panels turned on by the UE, [0147], [0154]).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time when instant application was filed, to modify KAZMI in view of Kimata by adding the teachings of Cheng in order to increase the data throughput, beamforming gain and coverage : (Cheng , [0003]).
Regarding claim 41, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 18.
Regarding claim 62, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 41.
Regarding claim 69, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 41.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claims 2, 25 and 48: KAZMI, in view of Cheng teaches, all the claim limitations of claims 1, 24 and 48 respectively; and Cheng further teaches wherein transmitting the at least one signal according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode or the second transmission efficiency operating mode comprises:
transmitting a first signal according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode (FIG. 7 in action 706, the UE may apply a TCI state indicated by the DCI message, [0144]. According to FIG. 8, because the TCI state #1 includes a power saving mode IE which is configured with a “true” value, the UE may follow the TCI state #1 to monitor the scheduling PDSCH 1004 in the power saving mode, [0146]. After successfully receiving and decoding the PDSCH 1004, the UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK over a PUCCH 1006 in the slot # n+1 based on the HARQ resource indicator (ARI) contained in the first DCI message DCI_1, [0147]. So, transmitting a first signal according to the TCI state #1 or the first transmission efficiency operating mode);
determining to switch to transmitting according to the second transmission efficiency operating mode (Then, the UE may further receive and decode a second DCI message DCI_2 which is transmitted over a PDCCH 1008 in the slot # m. In this example, the second DCI message DCI_2 may indicate to the UE to apply the TCI state #64 for a scheduling PDSCH 1010. According to FIG. 8, because the TCI state #64 includes a power saving mode IE which is configured with a “false” value, the TCI state #64 may indicate to the UE to receive the scheduling PDSCH 1010 in the normal power consumption mode, in which there are N2 antenna panels turned on by the UE, [0147]; Switch from non power saving mode to power saving mode: 0156]; “ UE may apply a long triggering offset value (e.g., aperiodic TriggeringOffset) for the CSI request to switch from the power saving mode to the normal power consumption mode”: [0156] ); and
transmitting a second signal according to the second transmission efficiency operating mode based at least in part on the determining (As noted above, because the UE needs to turn on a number of antenna panels to enter the normal power consumption mode, the UE may apply a long K0 value for receiving the PDSCH 1010, [0147]. After successfully receiving and decoding the PDSCH 1010, the UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK over a PUCCH 1012 in the slot # m+6 based on the ARI contain in the second DCI message DCI_2, as shown in FIG. 10B, [0148]).
Regarding claims 3 and 26: KAZMI, in view of Cheng teaches, all the claim limitations of claim 1 and 24 respectively; and Cheng further teaches wherein determining to switch comprises:
receiving a command to switch to the second transmission efficiency operating mode (The UE may further receive and decode a second DCI message DCI_2 which is transmitted over a PDCCH 1008 in the slot # m. In this example, the second DCI message DCI_2 may indicate to the UE to apply the TCI state #64 for a scheduling PDSCH 1010. According to FIG. 8, because the TCI state #64 includes a power saving mode IE which is configured with a “false” value, the TCI state #64 may indicate to the UE to receive the scheduling PDSCH 1010 in the normal power consumption mode, in which there are N2 antenna panels turned on by the UE, [0147]; switch power saving modes: [0051]-[0052]); and
determining to switch to the second transmission efficiency operating mode in response to the received command (As noted above, because the UE needs to turn on a number of antenna panels to enter the normal power consumption mode, the UE may apply a long K0 value for receiving the PDSCH 1010, [0147]. After successfully receiving and decoding the PDSCH 1010, the UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK over a PUCCH 1012 in the slot # m+6 based on the ARI contain in the second DCI message DCI_2, as shown in FIG. 10B, [0148]; [0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claims 4 and 27: KAZMI, in view of Cheng teaches, all the claim limitations of claims 2 and 25 respectively; and Cheng further teaches wherein determining to switch comprises:
identifying a change in one or more UE operating condition (According to FIG. 8, because the TCI state #1 includes a power saving mode IE which is configured with a “true” value, the UE may follow the TCI state #1 to monitor the scheduling PDSCH 1004 in the power saving mode, [0146]. The UE may further receive and decode a second DCI message DCI_2 which is transmitted over a PDCCH 1008 in the slot # m. In this example, the second DCI message DCI_2 may indicate to the UE to apply the TCI state #64 for a scheduling PDSCH 1010. According to FIG. 8, because the TCI state #64 includes a power saving mode IE which is configured with a “false” value, the TCI state #64 may indicate to the UE to receive the scheduling PDSCH 1010 in the normal power consumption mode, in which there are N2 antenna panels turned on by the UE, [0147]); and
determining to switch to the second transmission efficiency operating mode based at least in part on the identified change command (As noted above, because the UE needs to turn on a number of antenna panels to enter the normal power consumption mode, the UE may apply a long K0 value for receiving the PDSCH 1010, [0147]. After successfully receiving and decoding the PDSCH 1010, the UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK over a PUCCH 1012 in the slot # m+6 based on the ARI contain in the second DCI message DCI_2, as shown in FIG. 10B, [0148]).
Regarding claim 5, 20, 28, 43, 49 and 64: KAZMI, in view of Cheng teaches, all the claim limitations of claims 2, 18, 24, 41, 47, and 62 respectively; and
Cheng further teaches wherein the capability report comprises a first index identifying the first transmission efficiency operating mode, or a second index identifying the second transmission efficiency operating mode, or a combination thereof (FIG. 5 is an example of a data structure indicating UE capability information, in accordance with example implementations of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 5, UE capability information 502 includes a number of parameters related to the antenna panel status of the US. The parameters may include at least one of a power saving indicator (which may be used as the indicator for antenna panel status described herein), a timer for antenna panel status (for which the value may be set as “true/support” or “false/not support”), a maximum number of support antenna panels (e.g., one, two, four or eight), a support indication method (e.g., which may indicate whether an RRC, MAC-CE, or DCI approach is supported), a required time for antenna panel status switch (e.g., 1 ms, 2 ms, 3 ms, or 4 ms), and a UE assistance indication (for which the value may be set as “true/support” or “false/not support”). The UE may transmit the UE capability information 502 to the BS after establishing an RRC connection to the BS. If the UE supports the timer for antenna panel status, the BS may configure the length of the timer for antenna panel status to the UE, as shown in FIG. 6, [0134]. FIG. 7, in action 702, a UE may be configured with multiple sets of parameters corresponding to different operation modes (e.g., the power saving mode and the normal power consumption mode, [0138]).
Regarding claim 6, 21, 29, 44, 50 and 65: KAZMI, in view of Cheng teaches, all the claim limitations of claims 2, 18, 24, 41, 47, and 62 respectively; and
Cheng further teaches wherein the capability report comprises a value for each of a set of parameters for the UE, wherein the set of parameters, are associated with the first transmission efficiency operating mode, or the second transmission efficiency operating mode, or a combination thereof (FIG. 5 is an example of a data structure indicating UE capability information, in accordance with example implementations of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 5, UE capability information 502 includes a number of parameters related to the antenna panel status of the US. The parameters may include at least one of a power saving indicator (which may be used as the indicator for antenna panel status described herein), a timer for antenna panel status (for which the value may be set as “true/support” or “false/not support”), a maximum number of support antenna panels (e.g., one, two, four or eight), a support indication method (e.g., which may indicate whether an RRC, MAC-CE, or DCI approach is supported), a required time for antenna panel status switch (e.g., 1 ms, 2 ms, 3 ms, or 4 ms), and a UE assistance indication (for which the value may be set as “true/support” or “false/not support”), [0134]. FIG. 7, in action 702, a UE may be configured with multiple sets of parameters corresponding to different operation modes (e.g., the power saving mode and the normal power consumption mode, [0138]. Referring back to FIG. 7. In action 704, the UE may receive a DCI message from the BS. In action 706, the UE may apply a TCI state indicated by the DCI message. In action 708, the UE may apply a K0 value corresponding to the antenna panel status associated with the TCI state, [0144]).
Regarding claim 7, 22, 30, 45, 51 and 66: KAZMI, in view of Cheng teaches, all the claim limitations of claims 6, 21, 29, 44, 50 and 65 respectively; and
KAZMI further teaches The method of claim 6, wherein the set of parameters comprises one or more of a power headroom, or a maximum power reduction, or an indication of an antenna configuration, or a battery level, or an ACLR, or an error vector magnitude, or a specific absorption rate, or a maximum permissible exposure, or a switching speed or latency between the first transmission efficiency operating mode and the second transmission efficiency operating mode, or a transmission bandwidth for the first transmission efficiency operating mode, or the second transmission efficiency operating mode, or a combination thereof ( “The UE maximum output power is limited due to the following major factors: [0010] Radio emissions, e.g. out of band emission and RF exposure [0011] Terminal battery life [0012] Heat dissipation”: [0009]; [0021]; [0102]-[0105]).
Regarding claims 11, 34 and 55: KAZMI, in view of Cheng teaches, all the claim limitations of claims 1, 24 and 47 respectively; and
Cheng further teaches wherein receiving the message indicating the first transmission efficiency operating mode or the second transmission efficiency operating mode comprises:
receiving an indication for the UE to use the first transmission efficiency operating mode (FIG. 7 in action 702, a UE may be configured with multiple sets of parameters corresponding to different operation modes (e.g., the power saving mode and the normal power consumption mode), [0138]. In action 704, the UE may receive a DCI message from the BS, [0144]. FIG. 8, a TCI state configuration 802 includes 64 TCI states, and each TCI state may include a power saving mode IE for indicating whether to enable the power saving mode when the corresponding TCI state is applied, [0141]-[0143]. FIG. 10A, the UE may receive and decode a first DCI message DCI_1 which is transmitted over a PDCCH 1002 in the slot # n. The first DCI message DCI_1 may indicate to the UE to apply a particular TCI state (e.g., the TCI state #1 contained in the TCI state configuration 802 in FIG. 8) for a scheduling PDSCH 1004, [0146]),
wherein the at least one signal is transmitted according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode based at least in part on the received indication (FIG. 7 in action 706, the UE may apply a TCI state indicated by the DCI message, [0144]. According to FIG. 8, because the TCI state #1 includes a power saving mode IE which is configured with a “true” value, the UE may follow the TCI state #1 to monitor the scheduling PDSCH 1004 in the power saving mode, [0146]. After successfully receiving and decoding the PDSCH 1004, the UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK over a PUCCH 1006 in the slot # n+1 based on the HARQ resource indicator (ARI) contained in the first DCI message DCI_1, [0147]).
Regarding claims 12, 35, 38, 56 and 59: KAZMI, in view of Cheng teaches, all the claim limitations of claims 11, 34, 37, 55, and 58 respectively; and
Cheng further teaches wherein receiving the indication comprises: receiving the indication in a configuration, a scheduling grant, a semi- persistent layer 1 signaling, or a media access control (MAC) control element (In some implementations of the present disclosure, the BS may configure multiple antenna panel status to a UE via an RRC configuration, and the BS may indicate one of the multiple antenna panel status through a MAC-CE message (e.g., which is called a “MAC-CE approach”), [0078]. FIG. 14 is an example of a MAC-CE message, in accordance with example implementations of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 14, a MAC-CE message 1402 includes several reserved bits (which are denoted as “R” in FIG. 14), a cell ID, and a control bit (which is denoted as “C” in FIG. 14). The cell ID may contain the serving cell ID (e.g., “00000” in this example). The control bit “C” may be used for indicating to the UE to enable/disable the power saving mode. For example, the UE may be indicated to enable the power saving mode when the control bit is set to a first value (e.g., “1”), or indicated to disable the power saving mode when the control bit is set to a second value (e.g., “0”), [0162]).
Regarding claims 14, 37 and 58 : KAZMI, in view of Cheng teaches, all the claim limitations of claims 1, 24 and 47 respectively; and
Cheng further teaches wherein receiving the message indicating the first transmission efficiency operating mode or the second transmission efficiency operating mode comprises:
receiving an indication that the UE is permitted to select one of the first transmission efficiency operating mode or the second transmission efficiency operating mode (FIG. 7 in action 702, a UE may be configured with multiple sets of parameters corresponding to different operation modes (e.g., the power saving mode and the normal power consumption mode), [0138]. In action 704, the UE may receive a DCI message from the BS, [0144]. In action 704, the UE may receive a DCI message from the BS, [0144]. FIG. 8, a TCI state configuration 802 includes 64 TCI states, and each TCI state may include a power saving mode IE for indicating whether to enable the power saving mode when the corresponding TCI state is applied, [0141]-[0143]. FIG. 10A, the UE may receive and decode a first DCI message DCI_1 which is transmitted over a PDCCH 1002 in the slot # n. The first DCI message DCI_1 may indicate to the UE to apply a particular TCI state, [0146]); and
selecting, based at least in part on the received indication, to transmit according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode, wherein the at least one signal is transmitted according to the selected first transmission efficiency operating mode (FIG. 7 in action 706, the UE may apply a TCI state indicated by the DCI message, [0144]. According to FIG. 8, because the TCI state #1 includes a power saving mode IE which is configured with a “true” value, the UE may follow the TCI state #1 to monitor the scheduling PDSCH 1004 in the power saving mode, [0146]. After successfully receiving and decoding the PDSCH 1004, the UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK over a PUCCH 1006 in the slot # n+1 based on the HARQ resource indicator (ARI) contained in the first DCI message DCI_1, [0147]).
Regarding claim 15, : KAZMI, in view of Cheng teaches, , all the claim limitations of claim 14 above; and KAZMI further teaches wherein receiving the indication comprises:
receiving the indication in a configuration, a scheduling grant, a semi- persistent layer 1 signaling, or a media access control (MAC) control element ( UE capability “ information may for be used by the network to correctly interpret the relevant UE measurements such as power headroom (PH), which is typically used for the radio resource management (e.g. scheduling, resource allocation). The UE may also notify the network when its maximum output power is restored to the nominal level.”: [0099]-[-0100]).
Regarding claims 17, 23, 40, 46, 61 and 67 : KAZMI, in view of Cheng teaches, all the claim limitations of claims 1, 21, 24, 41, 47 and 62 respectively; and
Cheng further teaches wherein transmitting the capability report comprises:
transmitting, via the capability report, a first indication of a first capability corresponding to the first transmission efficiency operating mode, wherein the first capability comprises a first ACLR, or a first error vector magnitude, or a first specific absorption rate, or a first maximum permissible exposure, or a combination thereof;(FIG. 5 is an example of a data structure indicating UE capability information…The UE capability information 502 includes a number of parameters related to the antenna panel status of the US. The parameters may include at least one of a power saving indicator…The UE may transmit the UE capability information 502 to the BS after establishing an RRC connection to the BS, [0134]. FIG. 7 in action 702, a UE may be configured with multiple sets of parameters corresponding to different operation modes (e.g., the power saving mode and the normal power consumption mode), [0138]) and
and transmitting, via the capability report, a second indication of a second capability corresponding to the second transmission efficiency operating mode, wherein the second capability comprises a second ACLR, or a second error vector magnitude, or a second specific absorption rate, or a second maximum permissible exposure, or a combination thereof. (FIG. 5 is an example of a data structure indicating UE capability information…The UE capability information 502 includes a number of parameters related to the antenna panel status of the US. The parameters may include at least one of a power saving indicator…The UE may transmit the UE capability information 502 to the BS after establishing an RRC connection to the BS, [0134]. FIG. 7 in action 702, a UE may be configured with multiple sets of parameters corresponding to different operation modes (e.g., the power saving mode and the normal power consumption mode), [0138])).
Regarding claims 19, 42 and 63: KAZMI, in view of Cheng teaches, all the claim limitations of claims 18, 41 and 62 respectively; and
Cheng further teaches wherein receiving the at least one signal according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode or the second transmission efficiency operating mode comprises:
receiving one or more first uplink signals according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode (FIG. 7 in action 706, the UE may apply a TCI state indicated by the DCI message, [0144]. According to FIG. 8, because the TCI state #1 includes a power saving mode IE which is configured with a “true” value, the UE may follow the TCI state #1 to monitor the scheduling PDSCH 1004 in the power saving mode, [0146]. After successfully receiving and decoding the PDSCH 1004, the UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK over a PUCCH 1006 in the slot # n+1 based on the HARQ resource indicator (ARI) contained in the first DCI message DCI_1, [0147]. So, transmitting a first signal according to the TCI state #1 or the first transmission efficiency operating mode);
transmitting a command to switch to the second transmission efficiency operating mode (The UE may further receive and decode a second DCI message DCI_2 which is transmitted over a PDCCH 1008 in the slot # m. In this example, the second DCI message DCI_2 may indicate to the UE to apply the TCI state #64 for a scheduling PDSCH 1010. According to FIG. 8, because the TCI state #64 includes a power saving mode IE which is configured with a “false” value, the TCI state #64 may indicate to the UE to receive the scheduling PDSCH 1010 in the normal power consumption mode, in which there are N2 antenna panels turned on by the UE, [0147]); and
receiving one or more second uplink signals uplink signals according to the second transmission efficiency operating mode (As noted above, because the UE needs to turn on a number of antenna panels to enter the normal power consumption mode, the UE may apply a long K0 value for receiving the PDSCH 1010, [0147]. After successfully receiving and decoding the PDSCH 1010, the UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK over a PUCCH 1012 in the slot # m+6 based on the ARI contain in the second DCI message DCI_2, as shown in FIG. 10B, [0148]).
Claims 8-10, 31-33, 52-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAZMI in view of Cheng and further in view of Athalye et al. (US 20090191910, henceforth “Athalye”).
Regarding claim 8, 31 and 52, KAZMI in view of Cheng teaches, all the claim limitations of claims 1, 24 and 47 respectively; and Cheng further teaches wherein receiving the message indicating the first transmission efficiency operating mode or the second transmission efficiency operating mode comprises:
receiving a configuration identifying a first bandwidth for the UE (The scalable OFDM numerology, such as the adaptive sub-carrier spacing, the channel bandwidth, and the Cyclic Prefix (CP) may also be used, [0045]. In some power saving schemes the focus is on minimizing the dominate factors of power consumption during the network access phase. Such dominate factors may include, for example, the processing of an aggregated bandwidth, the active Radio Frequency (RF) chain number, the active reception/transmission time, and the dynamic transition to a power efficient mode…The dynamic adaptation to the data traffic may be implemented in different dimensions, such as carriers, antennas, beamforming mechanisms, and bandwidths, [0048]);
(In some implementations of the present disclosure, the antenna panel status of a UE may be affected by Bandwidth Part (BWP) related operations. The UE may enable the power saving mode or the normal power consumption mode based on whether the UE operates in a particular BWP. For example, when the UE operates on a default, an initial, or a first active DL/UL BWP, the UE may always enable the normal power consumption mode or the power saving mode., [0069]. The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Athalye); and
determining to operate according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode based at least in part (FIG. 7 in action 706, the UE may apply a TCI state indicated by the DCI message, [0144]. According to FIG. 8, because the TCI state #1 includes a power saving mode IE which is configured with a “true” value, the UE may follow the TCI state #1 to monitor the scheduling PDSCH 1004 in the power saving mode, [0146]. After successfully receiving and decoding the PDSCH 1004, the UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK over a PUCCH 1006 in the slot # n+1 based on the HARQ resource indicator (ARI) contained in the first DCI message DCI_1, [0147]. The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Athalye.).
As noted above, Cheng is silent about the aforementioned missing/crossed limitations of: (1) identifying that the first bandwidth configured for the UE is associated with the first transmission efficiency operating mode, (2) determining to operate according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode based at least in part on the identifying.
However, Athalye discloses the missing/crossed limitations comprising: (1) identifying that the first bandwidth configured for the UE is associated with the first transmission efficiency operating mode, (2) determining to operate according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode based at least in part on the identifying (For 1 and 2: The data rate of a transmitter can depend on a bandwidth allocated to the transmitter and the spectral efficiency at which respective transmissions are scheduled. In an example, a data rate at the transmitter can be defined as a product of a MCS and allocated bandwidth, and/or by any other appropriate metric, [0048]. FIG. 4, the system 400 includes one or more base stations 410 and one or more mobile stations 420, which can communicate on both the UL and DL using a specified set of resources. The resource scheduler 414 at base station 410 provides an assignment for bandwidth, power, MCS, and/or other communication parameters to mobile station 420 in a similar manner to resource scheduler 214 in system 200, see [0052]. FIG. 7, the methodology 700 begins at block 702, wherein a bandwidth allocation is identified (e.g., by a resource scheduler 414). Next, at block 704, position of the bandwidth allocation is determined along the bandwidth of the system in which methodology 700 is performed. Following the determination at block 704, methodology 700 proceeds to block 706, wherein the bandwidth allocation is mapped to a predetermined power backoff according to the position of the bandwidth allocation (e.g., using a power lookup table 412), see [0066]).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time when instant application was filed, to modify KAZMI in view of Cheng method by adding the teachings of Athalye in order to make a more effective method by minimizing spurious emissions outside the system frequency band and/or excessive interference, see (Athalye, [abstract]).
Regarding claim 9, 32 and 53, KAZMI in view of Cheng, and Athalye teach all the claim limitations of claims 8, 31 and 52 respectively; and Cheng further teaches wherein the configuration identifying the first bandwidth comprises a first bandwidth part configuration for the UE (In some implementations of the present disclosure, the indicator for antenna panel status may be a single bit IE used for indicating whether the UE is in the power saving mode or not. For example, the UE may be configured with an available number of antenna panels for each BWP configuration. Once the UE receives the indicator for antenna panel status (e.g., in the form of a single bit IE) being set to a first value (e.g., the bit value “0”), the UE may turn on only part of the antenna panels to operate in the power saving mode. In contrast, if the indicator for antenna panel status is set to a second value (e.g., the bit value “1”), the UE may turn on all of the antenna panels to enable the normal power consumption mode (or disable the power saving mode), [0069]. In some implementations of the present disclosure, the numerology of the timer for antenna panel status may be determined based on the scheduling PDSCH of the active DL BWP, [0151]).
Regarding claims 10, 33 and 54, KAZMI in view of Cheng teaches, all the claim limitations of claims 1, 24 and 47 respectively; and Cheng further teaches further comprising:
receiving a grant of uplink resources, the uplink resource being within in a first bandwidth (The scalable OFDM numerology, such as the adaptive sub-carrier spacing, the channel bandwidth, and the Cyclic Prefix (CP) may also be used, [0045]. In some power saving schemes the focus is on minimizing the dominate factors of power consumption during the network access phase. Such dominate factors may include, for example, the processing of an aggregated bandwidth, the active Radio Frequency (RF) chain number, the active reception/transmission time, and the dynamic transition to a power efficient mode…The dynamic adaptation to the data traffic may be implemented in different dimensions, such as carriers, antennas, beamforming mechanisms, and bandwidths, [0048]);
wherein the at least one signal is transmitted on the uplink resources according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode (FIG. 7 in action 706, the UE may apply a TCI state indicated by the DCI message, [0144]. According to FIG. 8, because the TCI state #1 includes a power saving mode IE which is configured with a “true” value, the UE may follow the TCI state #1 to monitor the scheduling PDSCH 1004 in the power saving mode, [0146]. After successfully receiving and decoding the PDSCH 1004, the UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK over a PUCCH 1006 in the slot # n+1 based on the HARQ resource indicator (ARI) contained in the first DCI message DCI_1, [0147]. The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Athalye).
As noted above, Cheng is silent about the aforementioned missing/crossed limitations of:
(1) receiving a grant … the first bandwidth,
(2) wherein the at least one signal is transmitted …. based at least in part on the first bandwidth being associated with the first transmission efficiency operating mode.
However, Athalye discloses the missing/crossed limitations comprising:
receiving a grant … the first bandwidth, (2 wherein the at least one signal is transmitted …. based at least in part on the first bandwidth being associated with the first transmission efficiency operating mode (For 1 and 2: The data rate of a transmitter can depend on a bandwidth allocated to the transmitter and the spectral efficiency at which respective transmissions are scheduled. In an example, a data rate at the transmitter can be defined as a product of a MCS and allocated bandwidth, and/or by any other appropriate metric, [0048]. FIG. 4, the system 400 includes one or more base stations 410 and one or more mobile stations 420, which can communicate on both the UL and DL using a specified set of resources. The resource scheduler 414 at base station 410 provides an assignment for bandwidth, power, MCS, and/or other communication parameters to mobile station 420 in a similar manner to resource scheduler 214 in system 200, see [0052]. The mobile station 420 can receive a bandwidth allocation from base station 410, based on which a power amplifier 424 at mobile station 420 can reference a local power lookup table 422 to obtain and apply a mandated power backoff value corresponding to the assigned bandwidth allocation, [0055]. FIG. 7, the methodology 700 begins at block 702, wherein a bandwidth allocation is identified (e.g., by a resource scheduler 414). Next, at block 704, position of the bandwidth allocation is determined along the bandwidth of the system in which methodology 700 is performed. Following the determination at block 704, methodology 700 proceeds to block 706, wherein the bandwidth allocation is mapped to a predetermined power backoff according to the position of the bandwidth allocation (e.g., using a power lookup table 412), see [0066].
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time when instant application was filed, to modify KAZMI in view of Cheng method by adding the teachings of Athalye in order to make a more effective method by minimizing spurious emissions outside the system frequency band and/or excessive interference, see (Athalye, [abstract]).
Claims 13, 36, 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAZMI in view of Cheng and further in view of Park et al. (US 20180102817, henceforth “Park”).
Regarding claims 13, 36 and 57, KAZMI in view of Cheng teach all the claim limitations of claims 1, 24 and 47 respectively; and Cheng further teaches wherein receiving the message comprising :
(For SRS transmissions, a UE may be configured to switch its antenna panel status for a sounding procedure for a DL CSI acquisition. If the UE is configured with a higher layer parameter such as “SRS-SetUseusage (or SRS-usage)” in an SRS resource set (e.g., SRS-ResourceSet), and the SRS-SetUseusage (or SRS-usage) is set as “antennaSwitching,” the UE may be configured with one of the following configurations depending on the UE's capability: 1TX2RX, 2TX4RX, 1TX4RX, 1TX4RX/2TX4RX, and TX=RX. The BS may configure the UEs having different capabilities with different number of SRS resource sets which contain different SRS resources, [0059]. The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Park); and
transmitting the at least one signal (In some implementations, there is only one leading time value for each DL/UL channel/RSs reception/transmission… Such a leading time value may be defined by the UE's capability for example… all DL/UL channel/RSs may be configured with one or more additional scheduling/triggering offset values for the situations where the UE may need to apply a long leading time value for beam switching, such as a PDSCH scheduling offset, a CSI-RS resource reception, a PUSCH transmission, and an SRS antenna switch, [0109]. The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Park).
As noted above, Cheng is silent about the aforementioned missing/crossed limitations of:
(1) receiving an instruction for the UE to transmit sounding reference signals using the first transmission efficiency operating mode,
(2) transmitting the at least one signal comprises transmitting the sounding reference signals according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode based at least in part on the instruction.
However, Park discloses the missing/crossed limitations comprising:
(1) receiving an instruction for the UE to transmit sounding reference signals using the first transmission efficiency operating mode (The UE may transmit a capability signaling including information indicating whether to support (alternatively, implement) only enhanced periodic SRS transmission, or whether to support (alternatively, implement) only enhanced aperiodic SRS transmission, or whether to support both the enhanced periodic SRS transmission and the enhanced aperiodic SRS transmission in association with an RRC configuration message for enhanced periodic SRS/aperiodic SRS transmission to the base station. The base station may configure the UE to perform additional SRS transmission based on the capability signaling transmitted by the corresponding UE, see [0931]-[0932]. This technique is used for receiving, from the base station, an instruction for the UE to transmit sounding reference signals using the first transmission efficiency operating mode.),
(2) transmitting the at least one signal comprises transmitting the sounding reference signals according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode based at least in part on the instruction (FIG. 22 at S2260, the UE transmits the channel measurement result to the base station, see [0709]. This technique is used for transmitting the sounding reference signals according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time when instant application was filed, to modify KAZMI in view of Cheng method by adding the teachings of Park in order to make a more effective method by reducing complexity of UE implementation, see (Park, [0024]).
Claims 16, 39, 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAZMI in view of Cheng and further in view of LI et al. (US 20200163024, henceforth “LI”).
Regarding claims 16, 39 and 60, KAZMI in view of Cheng teaches, all the claim limitations of claims 1, 24 and 47; and Cheng further teaches further comprising:
identifying a frequency allocation for uplink transmission, the frequency allocation comprising a set of resource blocks (FIG. 7 in action 702, a UE may be configured with multiple sets of parameters corresponding to different operation modes (e.g., the power saving mode and the normal power consumption mode), [0138]. In action 704, the UE may receive a DCI message from the BS, [0144]. In action 704, the UE may receive a DCI message from the BS, [0144]. FIG. 8, a TCI state configuration 802 includes 64 TCI states, and each TCI state may include a power saving mode IE for indicating whether to enable the power saving mode when the corresponding TCI state is applied, [0141]-[0143]. FIG. 10A, the UE may receive and decode a first DCI message DCI_1 which is transmitted over a PDCCH 1002 in the slot # n. The first DCI message DCI_1 may indicate to the UE to apply a particular TCI state, [0146]. The described mechanisms can be applied for the cases that the BS configures the UE to measure the CSI-RS resource/SSB by a single antenna panel, whereas the UE is actually able to (or has to) apply multiple antenna panels in the time resource for receiving the CSI-RS resource/SSB, [0123]);
determining that a first power level associated with FIG. 7 in action 702, a UE may be configured with multiple sets of parameters corresponding to different operation modes (e.g., the power saving mode and the normal power consumption mode), [0138]. The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of LI); and
selecting a subset of the set of resource blocks for transmission of the at least one signal according to the first transmission efficiency operating mode based at least in part on the determining (FIG. 7 in action 706, the UE may apply a TCI state indicated by the DCI message, [0144]. According to FIG. 8, because the TCI state #1 includes a power saving mode IE which is configured with a “true” value, the UE may follow the TCI state #1 to monitor the scheduling PDSCH 1004 in the power saving mode, [0146]. After successfully receiving and decoding the PDSCH 1004, the UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK over a PUCCH 1006 in the slot # n+1 based on the HARQ resource indicator (ARI) contained in the first DCI message DCI_1, [0147]).
As noted above, Cheng is silent about the aforementioned missing/crossed limitations of:
(1) determining that a first power level associated with using the first transmission efficiency operating mode for the frequency allocation is less than a second power level associated with using the second transmission efficiency operating mode for the frequency allocation.
However, LI discloses the missing/crossed limitations comprising: (1) determining that a power level associated with using the first transmission efficiency operating mode for the frequency allocation is less than a power associated with using the second transmission efficiency operating mode for the frequency allocation (The duration of each OFDM symbol is different when different numerologies are used. For example, the duration of each OFDM symbol at a subcarrier spacing of 30 kHz is half that of a subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz. Therefore, assuming that the PUCCHs with respective different numerologies use the same symbol number and the same physical resource block (PRB) number, the quantities of Resource Elements (REs) of the PUCCHs with respective different numerologies are the same, but the duration of the PUCCH at 30 kHz is only half of that at 15 kHz. If the UE transmits the PUCCH with the same power on each symbol, according to the formula W=P*t (W represents work, P represents power, t represents time), the larger the subcarrier spacing (SCS), the shorter the duration of the PUCCH, the smaller the signal energy received by the receiving end, and the smaller the energy for transmitting each bit of information, the worse the demodulation performance, see [0004]. This technique is used for determining that a power level associated with using the first transmission efficiency operating mode for the frequency allocation is less than a power associated with using the second transmission efficiency operating mode for the frequency allocation).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time when instant application was filed, to modify KAZMI in view of Cheng method by adding the teachings of LI in order to make a more effective method by configuring the power adjustment parameter corresponding to the transmission parameter while maximizing total spectrum efficiency, see (LI , [0018], [0052], [0053]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411