DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed 13 January 2026 containing remarks and amendments to the claims.
Claims 1-16, 18-21, 23, 25, and 27-29 are pending.
The previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims. The updated rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirkwood (US 5,364,995).
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-9, and 27-29, Kirkwood teaches steam cracking a mixture of naphtha (predominantly c5-12, which lies within the claimed range of predominantly C5-C22) with wax obtained from pyrolysis of high density and low density polyethylene (column 9, lines 1-50 and column 8, lines 20-40). Kirkwood teaches steam to hydrocarbon ratios of 0.2-1:1 (column 5, lines 20-30), which encompasses the claimed range. Kirkwood teaches that the hydrogenation step is optional (column 6, lines 8-15). In this regard, Kirkwood includes embodiments with or without hydrotreatment.
Kirkwood teaches the wax fed to the steam cracker is obtained from fluidized pyrolysis of HDPE and LDPE at temperatures of 300-690°C (column 3, lines 20-68 and column 2, lines 7-15 and column 8, lines 20-40).
It is expected that the Kirkwood wax feed would have the same or similar C24+ and C12+ content and boiling point curve as claimed, since the instant specification teaches the same pyrolysis of HDPE or LDPE at the same temperatures as Kirkwood [0042], [0114], [0139].
Kirkwood teaches pyrolysis of high density polyethylene at temperatures of 500°C (see example no 1 in table 1) to create wax feedstock to be combined with naphtha and fed to radiant section of the steam cracker. Examiner notes that the instant specification similarly teaches creation of the recycle content oil by pyrolysis of high density polyethylene [0130], [0131] at temperatures of above 325°C, above 350°C, above 375°C, above 400°C, above 425°C, above 450°C, above 475°C above 500°C [0139].
Therefore, it is expected that the Kirkwood wax feed obtained from pyrolysis of high density polyethylene at a temperature of 500°C would have the same or similar properties, including being liquid at 25°C and 1 atm, since it is formed by the same pyrolysis of high density polyethylene at the same temperature as identified in the applicant’s instant specification.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art that the Kirkwood feed obtained from pyrolysis of high density polyethylene at a temperature of 500°C would have the same or similar properties, including being liquid at 25°C and 1 atm, since it is formed by the same pyrolysis of high density polyethylene at the same temperature as identified in the applicant’s instant specification.
Regarding claim 6, Kirkwood teaches 5-50% wax (waste plastic derived pyrolysis oil feed) (column 3, lines 20-35).
Regarding claims 10-11, Kirkwood teaches introduction of the steam into the convective bank with the naphtha feed, and then combining the heated mixture with the wax feed prior to radiative bank (see figure 4). Examiner additionally notes that the order of mixing is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results.
Claims 12-16, 18-21, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirkwood (US 5,364,995) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rubin (US 5,523,502).
Regarding claims 12-16, 18-21, 23, and 25, the Kirkwood teaches the limitations of claims 1-5 and 7-11 as discussed above. Examiner notes that as discussed with respect to the claims above, it is expected that the wax of Kirkwood would have the same or similar C13-22, C4-12, and aromatic contents and additional properties as claimed, since Kirkwood teaches the same pyrolysis of waste plastic to form the wax feeds.
Kirkwood does not explicitly disclose C2-4 feed to the steam cracker.
However, Rubin teaches that non-recycle feedstocks to steam cracking include gas oils, naphtha, propane, ethane or mixtures thereof (column 4, lines 1-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used a stream of at least 60 wt % non-recycled propane or ethane or a mixture thereof in place of or in combination with the naphtha feed of Kirkwood, since Rubin teaches that these are also conventional feeds to steam cracking furnaces to produce olefin products.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 13 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner considers Applicant’s arguments to be:
The claims have been amended to exclude hydrotreatment, which is required by Kirkwood.
Regarding Applicant’s first argument, Examiner notes that the previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims. Kirkwood teaches that the hydrogenation step is optional (column 6, lines 8-15). In this regard, Kirkwood includes embodiments with or without hydrotreatment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stabel (US 5,731,483) – previously relied on, teaches steam cracking of waste plastic derived pyrolysis oils
Ward (US 2016/0362609) – previously relied on, teaches replacing at least a portion of steam cracker feeds with products of waste plastic pyrolysis [0010]. Such mixtures of feedstock improves the economic situation for steam crackers [0010].
EP 687692 – teaches liquid wax product derived from pyrolysis of plastic sent to steam cracking (page 5, lines 49-54, see figure).
US Application 16881030 – drawn to a similar process for steam cracking of recycle pyrolysis oil. It is noted that if the claims are amended, double patenting issues may arise.
US 5,656,150 – teaches steam cracking furnace with convection section, radiant section, and crossover section
US 2016/0264885 – teaches pyrolysis of waste plastics followed by steam cracking
US 2019/0177626 - teaches pyrolysis of waste plastics to make steam cracker feedstocks
US 2018/0002609 – teaches plastic pyrolysis
US 2009/0050530 – teaches steam cracking with addition of hydrocarbons, steam, and diluent at different locations in the furnace
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE STEIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771