DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein the support stand further comprises a pocket defined on a bottom surface thereof, wherein the magnetic element is received within the pocket” in lines 1-3. This limitation is unclear as claim 8 is dependent on claim 7, which recites the limitation "wherein the support stand defines a reception cavity on the bottom surface that receives the magnetic element, and a center axis of the reception cavity is aligned with a center axis of the tip retainer" in lines 14-16. It is unclear if the pocket of claim 8 is intended to refer to the cavity of claim 7, or if the pocket of claim 8 is intended to refer to a second pocket which receives the magnetic element. In light of the Figures 8A-8D, which appear to show a single cavity which receives the magnetic element, Examiner will interpret the pocket of claim 8 lines 1-3 as referring to the reception cavity of claim 7, and suggests Applicant amend to clarify.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for their dependence on one or more rejected base and/or intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 12-13, 17, 20, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum et al (U.S. Patent No. 4,989,590 A, hereinafter “Baum”) in view of Sintech (https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3959950 and attached PDF).
In regard to claim 1, Baum discloses an oral cleansing device (Figs. 1-11) comprising:
a base (22 in Fig. 2) comprising a top (top surface in annotated Fig. 2) and bottom surface (bottom surface in annotated Fig. 2), the bottom surface being capable of facing towards a support surface supporting the base (Fig. 2);
a tip (75 in Fig. 2); and
a tip holder (tip holder in annotated Fig. 2, col. 3 lines 47-51, located in annotated top surface in Fig. 2) on the base (Fig. 2), the tip holder being capable of storing the tip (col. 3 lines 47-51) for the oral cleansing device in an upright position when removed from a handle of the oral cleansing device (Fig. 2, col. 3 lines 47-51), such that one end of the tip (2nd tip end in annotated Fig. 2) is elevated above the tip holder and the top surface of the base when stored on the tip holder (Fig. 2).
Baum does not disclose that the tip holder comprises a support stand having a bottom surface, a top surface, and a post extending from the top surface of the support stand, the support stand having a width along the bottom surface of the support stand substantially greater than a height of the tip holder from the bottom surface of the support stand to a top surface of the post wherein the tip holder is removably coupled to the top surface of the base, wherein the top surface of the base is free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base.
Sintech teaches a tip holder (Fig. A) which comprises a support stand (support stand in annotated Fig. A) having a bottom surface (bottom surface in annotated Fig. A), a top surface (top surface in annotated Fig. A), and a post (post in annotated Fig. A) extending from the top surface of the support stand (Fig. A), the support stand having a width (width in annotated Fig. A) along the bottom surface of the support stand substantially greater than a height (height in annotated Fig. A) of the tip holder from the bottom surface of the support stand to a top surface of the post (Fig. A) wherein the tip holder is removably coupled to a top surface of a base (p. 2, can stick to a shelf or anywhere else with double sided adhesive tape), the tip holder being capable of storing a tip for an oral cleansing device (Sintech p. 2, Oral-B toothbrush head), and that the tip holder can be attached to a flat base free from indentations or icons in a removeable manner (Sintech p. 2, the tip holder can stick to anywhere else with double sided adhesive tape).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base and tip holder of Baum by replacing the tip holder hole of Baum with the removable tip holder that comprises a support stand having a bottom surface, a top surface, and a post extending from the top surface of the support stand, the support stand having a width along the bottom surface of the support stand substantially greater than a height of the tip holder from the bottom surface of the support stand to a top surface of the post wherein the tip holder is removably coupled to the top surface of the base as taught by Sintech in order to allow for a simple yet elegant toothbrush head holder to be used with the device (Sintech p. 2).
The device made obvious as set forth above would therefore be such that the wherein the top surface of the base (Baum top surface in annotated Fig. 2) is free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base, as the hole tip holders of Baum have been replaced with the removable tip holder of Sintech which can be attached to the flat top surface of the base which is now free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base (similar to the smooth area of the top surface area of annotated Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 6, Baum in view of Sintech discloses the invention of claim 1. Baum further discloses further comprising the tip (75 in Fig. 2), wherein the tip is an irrigating jet tip (col. 3 lines 50-52).
In regard to claim 31, Baum in view of Sintech discloses the invention of claim 1. Baum does not explicitly disclose wherein the location on the base where the tip holder is securable to the base is free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base.
Sintech teaches a tip holder (Fig. A) that can be attached to a flat base free from indentations or icons in a removeable manner (Sintech p. 2, the tip holder can stick to anywhere else with double sided adhesive tape).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base and tip holder of Baum by replacing the tip holder hole of Baum with the removable tip holder which can be removably coupled to the top surface of the base as taught by Sintech in order to allow for a simple yet elegant toothbrush head holder to be used with the device (Sintech p. 2).
The device made obvious as set forth above would therefore be such that the location on the base (on top surface in annotated Baum Fig. 2) where the tip holder is securable to the base is free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base, as the hole tip holders of Baum have been replaced with the removable tip holder of Sintech which can be attached to the flat top surface of the base which is now free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base (similar to the smooth area of the top surface area of annotated Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 12, Baum discloses an oral cleansing device (Figs. 1-11) comprising:
a reservoir (reservoir in annotated Fig. 2, col. 3 lines 33-40);
a handle (76 in Fig. 2) having a removable tip (75 in Fig. 2) and in fluid communication with the reservoir (col. 3 lines 33-40);
a base (22 in Fig. 2) supporting the reservoir (Fig. 2), the base comprising a top surface (top surface in annotated Fig. 2) and a bottom surface (bottom surface in annotated Fig. 2), wherein the bottom surface is capable of facing towards a support surface supporting the base (Fig. 2); and
a tip holder (tip holder in annotated Fig. 2, col. 3 lines 47-51) capable of supporting the removable tip in an upright position relative to the base when removed from the handle (Fig. 2, col. 3 lines 47-51), such that a first tip end (1st tip end in annotated Fig. 2) of the removable tip is in contact with the tip holder (Fig. 2) and a second tip end (2nd tip end in annotated Fig. 2) of the removable tip is elevated above the tip holder and the base (Fig. 2).
Baum does not disclose the tip holder comprises a support stand having a bottom surface, a top surface, and a post extending from the top surface of the support stand, the support stand having a width along the bottom surface of the support stand substantially greater than a height of the tip holder from the bottom surface of the support stand to a top surface of the post, wherein the tip holder is removably coupled to the base, wherein the top surface of the base is free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base.
Sintech teaches a tip holder (Fig. A) which comprises a support stand (support stand in annotated Fig. A) having a bottom surface (bottom surface in annotated Fig. A), a top surface (top surface in annotated Fig. A), and a post (post in annotated Fig. A) extending from the top surface of the support stand (Fig. A), the support stand having a width (width in annotated Fig. A) along the bottom surface of the support stand substantially greater than a height (height in annotated Fig. A) of the tip holder from the bottom surface of the support stand to a top surface of the post (Fig. A) wherein the tip holder is removably coupled to a base (p. 2, can stick to a shelf or anywhere else with double sided adhesive tape), the tip holder is capable of supporting a removable tip (Sintech p. 2, Oral-B toothbrush head), and that the tip holder can be attached to a flat base free from indentations or icons in a removeable manner (Sintech p. 2, the tip holder can stick to anywhere else with double sided adhesive tape).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base and tip holder of Baum by replacing the tip holder hole of Baum with the removable tip holder which comprises a support stand having a bottom surface, a top surface, and a post extending from the top surface of the support stand, the support stand having a width along the bottom surface of the support stand substantially greater than a height of the tip holder from the bottom surface of the support stand to a top surface of the post, wherein the tip holder is removably coupled to the base as taught by Sintech in order to allow for a simple yet elegant toothbrush head holder to be used with the device (Sintech p. 2).
The device made obvious as set forth above would therefore be such that the wherein the top surface of the base (Baum top surface in annotated Fig. 2) is free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base, as the hole tip holders of Baum have been replaced with the removable tip holder of Sintech which can be attached to the flat top surface of the base which is now free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base (similar to the smooth area of the top surface area of annotated Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 13, Baum in view of Sintech discloses the invention of claim 12. Baum further discloses wherein the tip holder is on the top surface of the base adjacent to the reservoir (Fig. 2). Baum does not disclose wherein the tip holder is removably coupled to the base.
Sintech teaches wherein the tip holder is removably coupled to a top surface of a base (p. 2, can stick to a shelf or anywhere else with double sided adhesive tape).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tip holder of Baum in view of Sintech by specifying the tip holder is removably coupled to the base as taught by Sintech in order to allow for the tip holder to be placed where the user desires (Sintech p. 2, stick anywhere else).
In regard to claim 17, Baum in view of Sintech discloses the invention of claim 12. Baum does not disclose wherein the post is capable of supporting the removable tip.
Sintech teaches wherein the post (post in annotated Fig. A) is capable of supporting a removable tip (Sintech p. 2, Oral-B toothbrush head).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tip holder of Baum in view of Sintech by specifying the post is capable of supporting the removable tip as taught by Sintech in order to allow the device to store additional devices such as a toothbrush head (Sintech p. 2).
In regard to claim 20, Baum in view of Sintech discloses the invention of claim 12. Baum further discloses wherein the removable tip (75 in Fig. 2) is a jet tip (col. 3 lines 50-52).
In regard to claim 29, Baum discloses an oral cleansing device (Figs. 1-11) comprising:
a reservoir (reservoir in annotated Fig. 2, col. 3 lines 33-40);
a base (22 in Fig. 2) supporting the reservoir (Fig. 2) and comprising:
a reservoir support portion (reservoir support portion in annotated Fig. 2) supporting the reservoir, and
a platform (platform in annotated Fig. 2) extending laterally from the reservoir support portion (Fig. 2) and having a planar top surface (top surface in annotated Fig. 2) and a bottom surface (bottom surface in annotated Fig. 2), the bottom surface being capable of facing towards a support surface supporting the base (Fig. 2);
a tip (75 in Fig. 2); and
a tip holder (tip holder in annotated Fig. 2, col. 3 lines 47-51), the tip holder being capable of storing the tip for the oral cleansing device in an upright position when removed from a handle of the oral cleansing device (Fig. 2, col. 3 lines 47-51), such that one end of the tip (1st tip end in annotated Fig. 2) is elevated above the tip holder and the top surface of the base when stored on the tip holder (Fig. 2).
Baum does not disclose that the tip holder comprises a support stand having a bottom surface, a top surface, and a post extending from the top surface of the support stand, the support stand having a width along the bottom surface of the support stand substantially greater than a height of the tip holder from the bottom surface of the support stand to a top surface of the post, and the tip holder removably coupled to the top surface of the platform, wherein the top surface of the platform is free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the platform.
Sintech teaches a tip holder (Fig. A) which comprises a support stand (support stand in annotated Fig. A) having a bottom surface (bottom surface in annotated Fig. A), a top surface (top surface in annotated Fig. A), and a post (post in annotated Fig. A) extending from the top surface of the support stand (Fig. A), the support stand having a width (width in annotated Fig. A) along the bottom surface of the support stand substantially greater than a height (height in annotated Fig. A) of the tip holder from the bottom surface of the support stand to a top surface of the post (Fig. A) wherein the tip holder is removably coupled to a surface (p. 2, can stick to a shelf or anywhere else with double sided adhesive tape), the tip holder is capable of supporting a tip (Sintech p. 2, Oral-B toothbrush head), and that the tip holder can be attached to a flat platform free from indentations or icons in a removeable manner (Sintech p. 2, the tip holder can stick to anywhere else with double sided adhesive tape).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base, top surface of the platform, and tip holder of Baum by replacing the tip holder hole of Baum with the removable tip holder which comprises a support stand having a bottom surface, a top surface, and a post extending from the top surface of the support stand, the support stand having a width along the bottom surface of the support stand substantially greater than a height of the tip holder from the bottom surface of the support stand to a top surface of the post, and is removably coupled to the surface as taught by Sintech in order to allow for a simple yet elegant toothbrush head holder to be used with the device (Sintech p. 2).
The device made obvious as set forth above would therefore be such that the wherein the top surface of the platform (Baum top surface in annotated Fig. 2) is free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the platform, as the hole tip holders of Baum have been replaced with the removable tip holder of Sintech which can be attached to the flat top surface of the platform which is now free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the platform (similar to the smooth area of the top surface area of annotated Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 30, Baum in view of Sintech discloses the invention of claim 29. Baum further discloses wherein the tip holder is removed from the top surface of the platform, a portion of the top surface of the platform to which the tip holder was coupled is free from features indicating the portion of the top surface to which the tip holder was coupled (Fig. 2, portion of area to the right of the annotated tip holder in annotated top surface; Sintech p. 2 can stick to area).
Furthermore, Sintech teaches that the surface that tip holder secures to is free from indentations/icons since it can be placed on any surface with double sided adhesive tape. The device made obvious as set forth above would therefore be such that the base would have not indentations/icons on top surface.
Claims 2-4, 14-16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum in view of Sintech in view of Kim (KR 20110011401 U and translated PDF)
In regard to claim 2, Baum in view of Sintech discloses the invention of claim 1. Baum does not disclose wherein the tip holder comprises: a magnetic element coupled to the support stand, wherein the magnetic element secures the tip holder onto the top surface of the base.
Kim further discloses a device comprising a tip holder (500 in Fig. 5, paras. 0133-0139) which comprises: a magnetic element (502a in Fig. 5, paras. 0146-0149) coupled to the support stand (Fig. 5), wherein the magnetic element secures the tip holder onto the top surface of the base (paras. 0126-0127, 0146-0149).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tip holder and base of Baum in view of Sintech by replacing the adhesive tape with a magnetic element coupled to the support stand which secures the tip holder onto the top surface of the base, and make associated changes to the base as taught by Kim in order to allow for the tip holder to be attached and detached from a magnetic surface as desired without the tip holder slipping (Kim paras. 0008-0010) and without the residue of adhesive tape. Furthermore, the use of adhesive tape and magnets are shown be known equivalents for temporary attachment of parts.
In regard to claim 3, Baum in view of Sintech in view of Kim discloses the invention of claim 2. Baum does not disclose wherein the base further comprises a base magnetic element positioned within an interior of the base, wherein the base magnetic element exerts an attraction force on the magnetic element of the tip holder to secure the tip holder to the top surface of the base.
Kim further teaches that the base (200 in Fig. 5) further comprises a base magnetic element (300 in Fig. 5, paras. 0126-0127) positioned within an interior of the base (Fig. 5), wherein the base magnetic element exerts an attraction force on the magnetic element of the tip holder (502a in Fig. 5, paras. 0146-0149) to secure the tip holder to the top surface of the base (para. 0009).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base of Baum in view of Sintech in view of Kim and specified the base further comprises a base magnetic element positioned within an interior of the base as taught by Kim in order to allow for the tip holder to be attached and detached from a magnetic surface as desired without the tip holder slipping (Kim paras. 0008-0010) and without the residue of adhesive tape.
In regard to claim 4, Baum discloses an oral cleansing device (Figs. 1-11) comprising:
a base (22 in Fig. 2) comprising a top (top surface in annotated Fig. 2) and bottom surface (bottom surface in annotated Fig. 2), the bottom surface being capable of facing towards a support surface supporting the base (Fig. 2); and
a tip holder (tip holder in annotated Fig. 2, col. 3 lines 47-51) on the base (Fig. 2), the tip holder being capable of storing a tip (col. 3 lines 47-51) for the oral cleansing device in an upright position when removed from a handle of the oral cleansing device (Fig. 2, col. 3 lines 47-51), such that one end of the tip (2nd tip end in annotated Fig. 2) is elevated above the tip holder and the top surface of the base when stored on the tip holder (Fig. 2).
Baum does not disclose that the tip holder is removably coupled to the top surface of the base, wherein the tip holder comprises: a support stand including a top surface, a bottom surface, and a post extending from the top surface of the support stand for supporting a tip thereon, the support stand having a width along the bottom surface of the support stand substantially greater than a height of the tip holder from the bottom surface of the support stand to a top surface of the post, and a magnetic element coupled to the support stand, wherein the magnetic element secures the tip holder onto the top surface of the base, and wherein the top surface of the base is free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base.
Sintech teaches a tip holder (Fig. A) wherein the tip holder is removably coupled to a top surface of a base (p. 2, can stick to a shelf or anywhere else with double sided adhesive tape), the tip holder being capable of storing a tip for an oral cleansing device (Sintech p. 2, Oral-B toothbrush head), wherein the tip holder comprises a support stand (support stand in annotated Fig. A) including a top surface (top surface in annotated Fig. A), a bottom surface (bottom surface in annotated Fig. A), and a post (post in annotated Fig. A) extending from the top surface of the support stand (Fig. A) for supporting a tip thereon (p. 2), the support stand having a width (width in annotated Fig. A) along the bottom surface of the support stand substantially greater than a height (height in annotated Fig. A) of the tip holder from the bottom surface of the support stand to a top surface of the post (Fig. A), and that the tip holder can be attached to a flat base free from indentations or icons in a removeable manner (Sintech p. 2, the tip holder can stick to anywhere else with double sided adhesive tape).
Kim teaches a device comprising a tip holder (500 in Fig. 5, paras. 0133-0139) which comprises: a magnetic element (502a in Fig. 5, paras. 0146-0149) coupled to the support stand (Fig. 5), wherein the magnetic element secures the tip holder onto the top surface of the base (paras. 0126-0127, 0146-0149).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base and tip holder of Baum by replacing the tip holder hole of Baum with the removable tip holder which is removably coupled to the top surface of the base, wherein the tip holder comprises: a support stand including a top surface, a bottom surface, and a post extending from the top surface of the support stand for supporting a tip thereon, the support stand having a width along the bottom surface of the support stand substantially greater than a height of the tip holder from the bottom surface of the support stand to a top surface of the post as taught by Sintech in order to allow for a simple yet elegant toothbrush head holder to be used with the device (Sintech p. 2).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tip holder and base of Baum in view of Sintech by replacing the adhesive tape of the tip holder with a magnetic element coupled to the support stand which secures the tip holder onto the top surface of the base, and make associated changes to the base as taught by Kim in order to allow for the tip holder to be attached and detached from a magnetic surface as desired without the tip holder slipping (Kim paras. 0008-0010) and without residue from adhesive tape. Furthermore, the use of adhesive tape and magnets are shown be known equivalents for temporary attachment of parts.
The device made obvious as set forth above would therefore be such that the wherein the top surface of the base (Baum top surface in annotated Fig. 2) is free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base, as the hole tip holders of Baum have been replaced with the removable tip holder of Sintech which can be attached to the flat top surface of the base which is now free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base (similar to the smooth area of the top surface area of annotated Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 14, Baum in view of Sintech discloses the invention of claim 12. Baum does not disclose wherein: the base includes a first magnetic element positioned below the top surface of the base; and the tip holder includes a second magnetic element, wherein an interaction between the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element acts to removably couple the tip holder to the base.
Kim teaches an apparatus wherein the base (200 in Fig. 5) includes a first magnetic element (300 in Fig. 5, paras. 0126-0127) positioned below the top surface of the base (top surface in annotated Fig. 4); and the tip holder includes a second magnetic element (502a in Fig. 5, paras. 0146-0149), wherein an interaction between the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element acts to removably couple the tip holder to the base (para. 0009).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tip holder and base of Baum in view of Sintech and specified the base includes a first magnetic element positioned below the top surface and replaced the adhesive tape of the tip holder is replaced by a second magnetic element as taught by Kim in order to allow for the tip holder to be attached and detached from a magnetic surface as desired without the tip holder slipping (Kim paras. 0008-0010) and without residue from adhesive tape.
In regard to claim 15, Baum in view of Sintech in view of Kim discloses the invention of claim 14. Baum does not disclose wherein the base comprises a retaining wall coupled to an interior surface, wherein the first magnetic element is received within the retaining wall.
Furthermore, the use of adhesive tape and magnets are shown be known equivalents for temporary attachment of parts.
Kim further teaches that the base (200 in Fig. 5) comprises a retaining wall (wall in annotated Fig. 5) coupled to an interior surface (interior surface in annotated Fig. 5), wherein the first magnetic element (300 in Fig. 5) is received within the retaining wall (Fig. 5).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base of Baum in view of Sintech in view of Kim by specifying the base comprises a retaining wall coupled to an interior surface and the first magnetic element is received within the retaining wall as taught by Kim in order to allow for the magnet to be supported at the top of the base (Kim Fig. 5) while allowing for the magnetic element to be protected from coming in contact with external moisture (Kim para. 0009)
In regard to claim 16, Baum in view of Sintech in view of Kim discloses the invention of claim 14. Baum does not disclose wherein the first magnetic element is not visible from an exterior of the base.
Kim further teaches that the first magnetic element (300 in Fig. 5) is not visible from an exterior of the base (200 in Fig. 5).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base of Baum in view of Sintech in view of Kim by specifying the first magnetic element is not visible from an exterior of the base as taught by Kim in order to allow for the magnetic element to be protected from coming in contact with external moisture (Kim para. 0009)
In regard to claim 18, Baum in view of Sintech discloses the invention of claim 17. Baum does not disclose wherein the tip holder further comprises a magnet, and the magnet is received within a pocket of the support stand.
Kim teaches that the tip holder (500 in Fig. 5, paras. 0133-0139) further comprises a magnet (502a in Fig. 5, paras. 0146-0149), and the magnet is received within a pocket (pocket in annotated Fig. 5) of the support stand (400 and 502 in Fig. 5).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tip holder of Baum in view of Sintech by replacing the adhesive tape of the tip holder with a magnet, and the magnet is received within a pocket of the support stand as taught by Kim in order to allow for the tip holder to be attached and detached from a magnetic surface as desired without the tip holder slipping (Kim paras. 0008-0010) without residue from adhesive tape, and allow for the magnetic element to be protected from coming in contact with external moisture (Kim para. 0009) Furthermore, the use of adhesive tape and magnets are shown be known equivalents for temporary attachment of parts.
In regard to claim 19, Baum in view of Sintech in view of Kim discloses the invention of claim 18. Baum does not disclose wherein the tip holder further comprises a cap to secure the magnet within the pocket, wherein a portion of the cap is flush with a bottom surface of the support stand.
Kim further teaches that the tip holder (500 in Fig. 5, paras. 0133-0139) further comprises a cap (400 in Fig. 5 “A”) to secure the magnet (502a in Fig. 5) within the pocket (pocket in annotated Fig. 5), wherein a portion of the cap (portion of cap in annotated Fig. 5) is flush with a bottom surface (bottom surface in annotated Fig. 5) of the support stand (Fig. 5).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tip holder of Baum in view of Sintech in view of Kim by specifying the tip holder further comprises a cap to secure the magnet wherein a portion of the cap is flush with a bottom surface as taught by Kim in order to allow for the magnetic element to be protected from coming in contact with external moisture (Kim para. 0009).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Even2442 (https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3537231 and attached PDF) in view of Kim.
In regard to claim 7, Even2442 discloses a tip holder (Figure B) for use with an oral cleansing device including a handle (p. 1-2, Oral-B electric toothbrush), the tip holder comprising:
a support stand (support stand in annotated Fig. B) comprising top (top surface in annotated Fig. B) and bottom surfaces (bottom surface in annotated Fig. B), the bottom surface being capable of resting on a support surface (p. 1);
a tip retainer (retainer in annotated Fig. B) fixed to the top surface and extending from the top surface (Fig. B), wherein the support stand has a width (width in annotated Fig. B) along the bottom surface substantially greater than a height (height in annotated Fig. B) of the tip holder from the bottom surface of the support stand to a top surface of the tip retainer (Fig. B), and the tip retainer being capable of holding an oral cleansing device tip in an upright position when removed from the handle (p. 1 and 2, toothbrush head), such that one end of the oral cleansing device tip is elevated above the tip retainer and the top surface of the support stand when stored on the tip retainer (p. 1 and 2, see image of toothbrush on stand).
Even2442 does not disclose a magnetic element coupled to the support stand and configured to removably secure the tip holder to the oral cleansing device, wherein the support stand defines a reception cavity on the bottom surface that receives the magnetic element, and a center axis of the reception cavity is aligned with a center axis of the tip retainer.
Kim teaches a device (Fig. 5) for use with an oral cleansing device including a handle (paras. 0133-0139), the tip holder comprising: a support stand (502 and 400 in Fig. 5) comprising top (top surface in annotated Fig. 5) and bottom (bottom surface in annotated Fig. 5) surfaces, the bottom surface being capable of resting on a support surface (201 in Fig. 5); a tip retainer (501 in Fig. 5, paras. 0138-0139) fixed to the top surface (Fig. 5), and a magnetic element (502a in Fig. 5) coupled to the support stand and capable of removably securing the tip holder to the oral cleansing device (paras. 0147-0149), wherein the support stand defines a reception cavity (pocket in annotated Fig. 5, para. 0149) on the bottom surface (bottom surface 2 in annotated Fig. 5) that receives the magnetic element (502a in Fig. 5, para. 0149), and a center axis of the reception cavity (axis 1 in annotated Fig. 5) is aligned with a center axis of the tip retainer (axis 2 in annotated Fig. 5).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support stand of Even2442 by adding the magnetic element to the support stand wherein the support stand defines a reception cavity on the bottom surface that receives the magnetic element, and a center axis of the reception cavity is aligned with a center axis of the tip retainer as taught by Kim in order to allow for the tip holder to be attached and detached from a magnetic surface as desired without the tip holder slipping (Kim paras. 0008-0010) and allow for the magnetic element to be protected from coming in contact with external moisture (Kim para. 0009).
In regard to claim 8, Even2442 in view of Kim discloses the invention of claim 7. Even2442 does not disclose wherein the support stand further comprises a pocket defined on a bottom surface thereof, wherein the magnetic element is received within the pocket.
Kim teaches that the support stand (502 and 400 in Fig. 5) further comprises a pocket (pocket in annotated Fig. 5, para. 0149) defined on a bottom surface (bottom surface 2 in annotated Fig. 5) thereof, wherein the magnetic element (502a in Fig. 5) is received within the pocket (Fig. 5, para. 0149)(see above 112(b) rejection).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support stand of Even2442 in view of Kim by specifying the support stand further comprises a pocket wherein the magnetic element is received as taught by Kim in order to allow for the magnetic element to be protected from coming in contact with external moisture (Kim para. 0009)
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Even2442 in view of Kim in view of Gebhard (U.S. Patent No. 7,862,197 B2).
In regard to claim 9, Even2442 in view of Kim discloses the invention of claim 8. Even2442 does not disclose further comprising a cap positioned at least partially within the pocket and secured to the support stand, wherein the cap acts to retain the magnetic element within the pocket.
Kim further teaches a cap (400 in Fig. 5 “A”) secured to the support stand (paras 0126-0127 and 0146-0149), wherein the cap acts to retain the magnetic element (502a in Fig. 5) within the pocket.
Gebhard teaches a device (Figs. 1-8) comprising a pocket (Fig. 4) and a magnetic element (108 in Fig. 4), further comprising a cap (109 in Fig. 4) positioned at least partially within the pocket (Fig. 4, col. 2 lines 36-39), wherein the cap acts to retain the magnetic element within the pocket (col. 2 lines 33-39).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of holders.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tip holder of Even2442 view of Kim by specifying the tip holder further comprises a cap which acts to retain the magnetic element as taught by Kim in order to allow for the parts to be protected from coming in contact with external moisture (Kim para. 0009).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tip holder of Even2442 view of Kim by specifying the cap is positioned at least partially within the pocket as taught by Gebhard in order to aid in holding the magnet to the pocket (col. 2 lines 33-39).
In regard to claim 10, Even2442 view of Kim in view of Gebhard discloses the invention of claim 9. Even2442 does not disclose wherein an exterior surface of the cap is flush with the bottom surface of the support stand.
Kim further teaches that an exterior surface of the cap (portion of cap in annotated Fig. 5) is flush with the bottom surface (bottom surface in annotated Fig. 5) of the support stand (Fig. 5).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of holders. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cap of Even2442 view of Kim in view of Gebhard by specifying the exterior surface of the cap is flush with the bottom surface of the support stand as taught by Kim in order to allow for the magnetic element to be protected from coming in contact with external moisture (Kim para. 0009).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum in view of Sintech in view of Gunter (EP 0245628 A2).
In regard to claim 21, Baum in view of Sintech discloses the invention of claim 1. Baum further discloses wherein the tip (75 in Fig. 2) comprises a first tip end (1st tip end in annotated Fig. 2) capable of contacting the tip holder when the tip is stored, and wherein the tip comprises a second tip end (2nd tip end in annotated Fig. 2) elevated above the tip holder and the top surface of the base (top surface in annotated Fig. 2) when the tip is stored (Fig. 2).
Baum does not disclose the second tip end comprising a brush head.
Gunter teaches a device comprising a tip (5 in Fig. 1) comprising a second tip end (second tip end in annotated Fig. 1) comprising a brush head (9 in Fig. 1, para. 0009).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tip of Baum in view of Sintech by specifying second tip end includes a brush head as taught by Gunter in order to make the removal of deposits and impurities with an oral irrigator safer (Gunter para. 0003).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum in view of Sintech in view of Even2442.
In regard to claim 22, Baum in view of Sintech discloses the invention of claim 1. Baum does not disclose wherein when a tip is positioned on the tip holder, a center axis is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the tip.
Even2442 teaches an apparatus wherein when a tip (tip in annotated Fig. C) is positioned on the tip holder, a center axis (center axis in annotated Fig. C) is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the tip (tip axis in annotated Fig. C).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tip holder and tip of Baum in view of Sintech by specifying that when a tip is positioned on the tip holder, a center axis is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the tip as taught by Even2442 in order to allow for the device to fit the needs of a user (Even2442 p. 2).
Claims 24 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum in view of Sintech in view of ZenziWerken (https://cults3d.com/en/3d-model/home/toothbrush-stand-the-snout-cnc, see PDF).
In regard to claim 24, Baum in view of Sintech discloses the invention of claim 1. Baum does not disclose wherein the support stand comprises a plurality of sidewalls forming a triangular-shaped member.
ZenziWerken teaches a support stand (support stand in annotated Fig. D, p. 1 and 6) comprises a plurality of sidewalls (sidewalls 1-3 in annotated Fig. D) forming a triangular-shaped member (Fig. D).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support stand of Baum in view of Sintech by adding a plurality of sidewalls forming a triangular-shaped member as taught by ZenziWerken in order to encourage users to place an oral care device in the holder (ZenziWerken p. 2 3D Model Description).
In regard to claim 28, Baum in view of Sintech discloses the invention of claim 12. Baum does not disclose wherein the support stand further comprises at least a first straight sidewall, a second convex sidewall and a third concave sidewall, wherein the at least one sidewall, the second sidewall, and the third sidewall form a triangular-shaped member.
ZenziWerken teaches a support stand (support stand in annotated Fig. D, p. 1 and 6) wherein the support stand further comprises at least a first straight sidewall (sidewall 1 in annotated Fig. D), a second convex sidewall (sidewall 2 in annotated Fig. D) and a third concave sidewall (sidewall 3 in annotated Fig. D), wherein the at least one sidewall, the second sidewall, and the third sidewall form a triangular-shaped member (Fig. D).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support stand of Baum in view of Sintech by adding a first straight sidewall, a second convex sidewall and a third concave sidewall, wherein the at least one sidewall, the second sidewall, and the third sidewall form a triangular-shaped member as taught by ZenziWerken in order to encourage users to place an oral care device in the holder (ZenziWerken p. 2 3D Model Description).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum in view of Sintech in view of Kim in view of ZenziWerken.
In regard to claim 26, Baum in view of Sintech in view of Kim discloses the invention of claim 4. Baum does not disclose wherein the support stand further comprises at least a first straight sidewall, a second convex side wall and a third concave sidewall, wherein the at least one sidewall, the second sidewall, and the third sidewall form a triangular-shaped member.
ZenziWerken teaches a support stand (support stand in annotated Fig. D, p. 1 and 6) wherein the support stand further comprises at least a first straight sidewall (sidewall 1 in annotated Fig. D), a second convex sidewall (sidewall 2 in annotated Fig. D) and a third concave sidewall (sidewall 3 in annotated Fig. D), wherein the at least one sidewall, the second sidewall, and the third sidewall form a triangular-shaped member (Fig. D).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support stand of Baum in view of Sintech in view of Kim by adding a first straight sidewall, a second convex sidewall and a third concave sidewall, wherein the at least one sidewall, the second sidewall, and the third sidewall form a triangular-shaped member as taught by ZenziWerken in order to encourage users to place an oral care device in the holder (ZenziWerken p. 2 3D Model Description).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Even2442 in view of Sintech in view of Kim in view of ZenziWerken.
In regard to claim 27, Even2442 in view of Sintech in view of Kim discloses the invention of claim 7. Even2442 does not disclose wherein the support stand further comprises at least a first straight side wall, a second convex sidewall and a third concave sidewall, wherein the at least one sidewall, the second sidewall, and the third sidewall form a triangular-shaped member.
ZenziWerken teaches a support stand (support stand in annotated Fig. D, p. 1 and 6) wherein the support stand further comprises at least a first straight sidewall (sidewall 1 in annotated Fig. D), a second convex sidewall (sidewall 2 in annotated Fig. D) and a third concave sidewall (sidewall 3 in annotated Fig. D), wherein the at least one sidewall, the second sidewall, and the third sidewall form a triangular-shaped member (Fig. D).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of oral cleansing device holders. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support stand of Even2442 in view of Sintech in view of Kim by adding a first straight sidewall, a second convex sidewall and a third concave sidewall, wherein the at least one sidewall, the second sidewall, and the third sidewall form a triangular-shaped member as taught by ZenziWerken in order to encourage users to place an oral care device in the holder (ZenziWerken p. 2 3D Model Description).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 claim rejections, Applicant argues that Sintech does not disclose the limitation “removably coupled” because in the Applicant’s Specification, “removably coupled” is taught and enabled through a magnetic coupling architecture repeatedly attachable/detachable by the user without creating markings or surface changes on the base, and is removed simply by grasping the holder and applying an upward force sufficient to overcome magnetic attraction. Applicant argues that in light of Applicant’s specification, a person of ordinary skill would understand that “removably coupled” in Applicant’s claims refers to a non-destructive, residue-free, repeatable coupling—accomplished via internal magnetic elements—such that the top surface remains clean and unmarked upon removal in exactly the manner the Specification describes. Applicant argues that Sintech’s “double-sided adhesive tape” is not interchangeable with Applicant’s removable magnetic coupling because Sintech’s tape would leave a residue, in contrast the Applicant’s Specification’s coupling and decoupling steps, the internalized base magnet, and the “as-if-never-there” clean surface. Applicant argues that Sintech’s adhesive-based “sticking” is not what Applicant disclosed or claimed as “removably coupled,” and thus Sintech’s tape does not satisfy the “removably coupled” element of the independent claims as understood in view of the Specification.
Examiner notes that Applicant’s arguments are narrower than the claim limitations. The independent claims 1, 4, 12, and 29 recite the limitation “removably coupled” but do not recite that the removably coupled tip holder is enabled through a magnetic coupling without creating markings or surface changes on the base, removed simply by grasping the holder and applying an upward force sufficient to overcome magnetic attraction. The independent claims 1, 4, 12, and 29 also do not recite that the coupling is a non-destructive, residue-free, repeatable coupling, accomplished via internal magnetic elements such that the top surface remains clean and unmarked upon removal, and only recites that the tip holder is “removably coupled”. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims, and Sintech discloses a tip holder removably coupled to the base (p. 2, can stick to a shelf or anywhere else with double sided adhesive tape) as claimed. Examiner notes that in the above rejections, claims 1, 12, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum in view of Sintech, and claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum in view of Sintech in view of Kim. Applicant is directed to the rejections in view of the amendments.
In regard to the amended independent claims 1, 4, 12, and 29, Applicant argues that Baum in view of Sintech does not disclose a top surface “free from indentations/icons” as Baum’s base top surface itself includes molded recesses for storing tips, which are indentations that plainly indicate storage locations on the top surface. Applicant also argues that Sintech’s “stick anywhere” adhesive holder does not remove Baum’s existing recesses; nor does it suggest eliminating Baum’s base-top recess features. Applicant argues that adding Sintech’s holder to Baum does not erase or negate Baum’s integrated, indentation-based storage geometry. Applicant argues that even when combined with Sintech, Baum fails to disclose or render obvious the amended claims 1, 4, 12, and 29 element that the top surface of the base be “free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base.”
Examiner notes that in the above rejection, the base and tip holder of Baum are modified by replacing the tip holder hole of Baum with the removable tip holder of Sintech. Sintech teaches that the tip holder can be attached to a flat base free from indentations or icons in a removeable manner (Sintech p. 2, the tip holder can stick to anywhere else with double sided adhesive tape). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Baum by the teachings of Sintech in order to allow for a simple yet elegant toothbrush head holder to be used with the device (Sintech p. 2). The device made obvious as set forth above would therefore be such that the wherein the top surface of the base (Baum top surface in annotated Fig. 2) is free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base, as the hole tip holders of Baum have been replaced with the removable tip holder of Sintech which can be attached to the flat top surface of the base (similar to the smooth area of the top surface area of annotated Fig. 2). Applicant is directed to the rejections in view of the amendments.
In regard to claim 4, Applicant argues that Baum’s base shows integrated recesses on the top surface (see FIGS. 1–2) that indicate storage locations, not “the top surface of the base is free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base.” Applicant argues that even in view of Kim, the combined art does not teach or suggest a base top surface “free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base.”
Examiner notes that in the above rejection, as noted above, the base and tip holder of Baum are modified by replacing the tip holder hole of Baum with the removable tip holder of Sintech. The device made obvious as set forth above would therefore be such that the wherein the top surface of the base (Baum top surface in annotated Fig. 2) is free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base, as the hole tip holders of Baum have been replaced with the removable tip holder of Sintech which can be attached to the flat top surface of the base (similar to the smooth area of the top surface area of annotated Fig. 2). Applicant is directed to the rejections in view of the amendments.
In regard to the rejection of independent claim 7 under § 103 as being unpatentable over Even2442 in view of Kim, Applicant argues that the cited art does not disclose the limitations of amended claim 7, as Even2442 does not disclose a reception cavity on the bottom surface whose center axis is aligned with the center axis of a tip retainer/post. Applicant argues that Kim likewise fails to disclose or suggest aligning the center axis of the reception cavity with the center axis of the tip retainer/post. Applicant argues that neither Even2442 nor Kim teaches or suggests the newly recited axis-alignment element and the combination fails to render amended claim 7 obvious.
Examiner notes that in the above rejection, Kim discloses wherein the support stand defines a reception cavity (pocket in annotated Fig. 5, para. 0149) on the bottom surface (annotated Fig. 5) that receives the magnetic element (502a in Fig. 5, para. 0149), and a center axis of the reception cavity (Fig. 5) is aligned with a center axis of the tip retainer (Fig. 5). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Even2442 by the teachings of Kim in order to allow for the tip holder to be attached and detached from a magnetic surface as desired without the tip holder slipping (Kim paras. 0008-0010) and allow for the magnetic element to be protected from coming in contact with external moisture (Kim para. 0009). Applicant is directed to the rejections in view of the amendments.
In regard to the dependent claims, Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable at least because they depend from an allowable independent claim and for additional features they contain.
Examiner notes that Applicant is directed to the above rejections in view of the amendments.
In regard to new claim 31, Applicant argues that new claim 31 further clarifies the “location on the base where the tip holder is securable” is itself free from indentations/icons. Applicant argues that these elements address any possible suggestion the Office may have that any existence of a feature-free region elsewhere on the base satisfies the independent claims.
Examiner notes that in regard to claim 31, Baum does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 31, but Sintech teaches a tip holder (Fig. A) that can be attached to a flat base free from indentations or icons in a removeable manner (Sintech p. 2, the tip holder can stick to anywhere else with double sided adhesive tape). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Baum by the teachings of Sintech by replacing the tip holder hole of Baum with the removable tip holder which can be removably coupled to the top surface of the base as taught by Sintech in order to allow for a simple yet elegant toothbrush head holder to be used with the device (Sintech p. 2). The device made obvious as set forth above would therefore be such that the location on the base (on top surface in annotated Baum Fig. 2) where the tip holder is securable to the base is free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base, as the hole tip holders of Baum have been replaced with the removable tip holder of Sintech which can be attached to the flat top surface of the base which is now free from indentations or icons indicating a location of where the tip holder is securable to the base (similar to the smooth area of the top surface area of annotated Fig. 2). Applicant is directed to the above rejections in view of the amendments.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COURTNEY N HUYNH/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/ERIC J ROSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772