DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 5-6 and 17 are cancelled.
Claims 1-4, 7-16 and 18-28 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-16 and 18-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doucet (2011/0135805) in view of the combination of Sahasranamam (US 20020001662) and Action-on-Salt.
Action-on-Salt: 2013 Butter and margarine Survey; published online at least by May 18, 2018 at: https://web.archive.org/web/20180518115147/http://www.actiononsalt.org.uk/news/surveys/2013/fat-spreads/
Independent claims 1 and 15
Doucet teaches methods of making lipid blends, with spreadable consistencies comprising beta-prime crystal structures (ab.)
Plant based oils (i.e. vegetable oils, i.e. liquid oil)
Doucet teaches the lipid blends, comprises, about 77 to 97 wt% of edible oils, including a variety of liquid vegetables oil (i.e. plant based oils) (0037).
The lower limit of about 77 wt% of plant-based liquid oils encompasses the upper limit of the claimed range of the plant-based liquid oil, because about 77 wt%, as taught, encompasses about 75.5 wt%, as claimed.
Therefore, Doucet provides a range of plant-based liquid oils that encompasses from about 57 to 75.5 wt%, as claimed.
In the alternative, for specificity, Sahasranamam also teaches methods of making plant oil based spread (ab.), and further provides the use of 60 to 95 wt% of a liquid oil (ref. clm. 1), which encompasses from about 57 to 75.5 wt% of a plant-based liquid oil, as in claims 1 and 15.
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art, at the time of filing to modify the method of making spreadable lipid mixtures comprising liquid oils and structuring fats, as Doucet, to include from about 57 to 75.5 wt% of a plant-based liquid oils----------------------, as claimed, because: 1) Doucet shows the use of about 77 to 97 wt% of edible plant oils, which shows a range that is so close that one skilled in the art would have expected it to reach down to about 57 to 75.5 wt%, as claimed, because it would be obvious to one of skill in the art to do such a thing on the basis of its suitability for a similar intended use; and 2) Sahasranamam shows that it was known for encompassing amounts to have been successfully achieved and published at the time of filing, wherein making spreadable fat mixtures, comprising plant based liquid oils which means it was within the general skill of a worker in the art to select this amount of liquid oil, because it would be obvious to one of skill in the art to do such a thing on the basis of its suitability for a similar intended use. See MPEP 2144.07 that discussed that when the prior art recognizes something is suitable for a similar intended use/purpose, such a thing is obvious.
Structuring oil
Doucet teaches the lipid blends, comprises, about 3 to 35 wt% of a hydrogenated fat system (0012), comprising a mixture of glycerides (0012, 0037, ref. clm. 1), which encompasses the use of from about 27 to 38.5 wt % of a structuring oil, blended with the plant-based liquid oil, as claimed.
Salt
Doucet provides an embodiment where salt is used (Table 7) in an amount of 1.5 wt%, however does not discuss its broad use.
Action-on-Salt also teaches about spreadable fats, and further provides that they have from zero to 2.5 grams of salt per 100 grams of the fat compositions (see High examples of Margarines/Spreads; and Low examples of Margarines/Spreads), which encompasses from about 0.5 to 3.0 wt% salt suspended in the composition, as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art, at the time of filing to modify the method of making margarine/plant-based spreads, as Doucet, to include the use of salt, as claimed, because Action-on-Salt shows that it was known for such a thing to have been successfully achieved and published at the time of filing, which means it was within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the claimed use of salt when making margarine/plant-based spreads, because it would be obvious to one of skill in the art to do such a thing on the basis of its suitability for a similar intended use. See MPEP 2144.07 that discussed that when the prior art recognizes something is suitable for a similar intended use/purpose, such a thing is obvious.
Less than 1 wt% water
Doucet shows embodiments having no water (see Table A-F), therefore imparts an option wherein the spread includes less than 1% by weight water, as claimed..
Less than 0.01% by weight dairy or dairy-derived products
Doucet does not discuss the use of dairy products in the mixtures of blended fat, therefore imparts the use of less than 0.01% by weight dairy or dairy-derived products, as claimed.
Less than 0.01% by weight soy or soy-derived products
Doucet provides the optional use of soybean oil (0012, ref. clm. 3), however, does not require its use, therefore imparts the use of less than 0.01% by weight soy or soy-derived products, as claimed.
On the composition comprising beta prime crystal structures
When looking for light in the pending Specification, it is noted that the claimed crystal structure, beta prime crystal structures, are formed by the heated blended mixture being cooled wherein mechanical work is used by shearing.
Doucet provides that it is known for crystal structure of fats and oils to be mechanically tempered to have beta-prime crystal structures, wherein after controlled heating, a subsequent cooling rate determines the crystal properties of the lipid composition, including a stable crystal formation wherein alpha crystals are modified into a measurable beta-prime form (0011).
Doucet further provides that said tempering of the lipids into the beta-prime form is dependent on the types of lipids used, wherein some types transition very rapidly (i.e., in seconds), while others types transition much slower (i.e. minutes).
Therefore, Doucet provides that it is known for blended fat compositions to comprise a beta prime crystal structure (0011), by showing how to achieve such a thing, which provides one in the art enough information that they would have a reasonable expectation of success in producing fat blends comprising this structure, as claimed, because they have sufficient information to design an expereint to achieve such a thing, and further because it would be obvious to one of skill in the art to do such a thing on the basis of its suitability for a similar intended use.
Function of the oil composition
On spreadability: When looking for light in the pending Specification, it is noted that the spreadability is due to the beta prime crystal structure of the composition, wherein when tested for spreadability under a constant shear rate of 7.5 s-1 at a temperature of 40 °F, has a stress overshoot of about 4,000 to 8,000 Pa (see pending paras. 0026-0027).
Therefore, since the modified teaching provides a blended fat composition, withing the scope of the claims, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art, at the time of filing to modify the method of making blended fat compositions comprising beta prime crystal structure, as taught, to include that said composition will have similar utility, including: when tested under conditions, including applying a constant shear rate of 7.5 s-1 at a temperature of 40 °F, said composition would function to have a stress overshoot of about 4,000 to 8,000 Pa, as claimed, because the composition established through the teachings above, provides a sufficiently close relationship between the ingredients to create an expectation that such a similar compositions would have similar capabilities, properties or functionality because the claims are not physically or structurally distinguishable over the prior art compositions. See MPEP 2144. III, which states that when case law imparts legal precedence, wherein the facts in this prior legal decision are sufficiently similar to those in an application, wherein the court applied the law of obviousness to similar facts. This includes a wide spectrum of illustrations and accompanying reasoning (i.e. obviousness) that exist in case law. In re Eli Lilly & Co., 902 F.2d 943, 14 USPQ2d 1741 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Herein, although not cited in the MPEP, more recent caselaw on the topic, “In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688 (1990)” ( (https://cite.case.law/f2d/919/688/)) provides that when a claimed compositions has been made obvious from combined teachings, it is clear that the discovery that the claimed composition possesses a property not disclosed for the prior art subject matter, and this itself does not defeat a prima facie case.
Dependent claims
As for claim 2, Doucet provides the use of canola and sunflower oils (0037) and the modified teaching in Sahasranamam provides at least one of olive oil, canola oil (ref. clm. 1), and sunflower seed oil (0011).
As for claims 3 and 18, Doucet provides the use of canola and sunflower oils (0037) and the modified teaching in Sahasranamam provides the structuring oil includes at least one of palm kernel oil (0002).
As for claims 4 and 19, Doucet provides the use of sunflower oils (0037); and the modified teaching, in Sahasranamam, provides the plant-based liquid oil includes at least one of olive oil (ref. clm. 1), and wherein the structuring oil includes palm kernel oil (0002).
As for claims 5 and 20, the modified teaching, in Sahasranamam, provides the use of 5 to 40 wt% of a structuring fat blending with the liquid oil (ref. clm. 1), which encompasses wherein the plant oil based spread has a solid fat content from about 19.1 to 25 wt%.
As for the solid fat content being at 40°F, since the teaching provides the specifically claimed type of structuring fat blending with the liquid oil, as discussed in the rejection of claims 3 and 18 above, it would be reasonable to expect that it functions at a temperature of 40°F, as claimed, absent a showing of criticality, because the teaching of a similar composition imparts a suggestion in or expectation that the composition taught will have the same or a similar utility.
As for claim 21, Sahasranamam teaches the use of 5 to 40 wt% of a structuring fat blending with the liquid oil (ref. clm. 1), which encompasses wherein the plant oil based spread has a solid fat content from about 3.4 to about 5.5 %
As for the solid fat content being at 70°F, since the teaching provides the specifically claimed type of structuring fat blending with the liquid oil, as discussed in the rejection of claims 3 and 18 above, it would be reasonable to expect that it functions at a temperature of 70°F, as claimed, absent a showing of criticality, because the teaching of a similar composition imparts a suggestion in or expectation that the composition taught will have the same or a similar utility.
As for claim 7, Doucet provides the optional use of emulsifiers (0039), which encompasses less than 0.01% by weight emulsifier, as claimed.
As for claim 8, Doucet does not discuss the use of preservatives, therefore encompasses the claimed amount of less than 0.01 wt%.
As for claims 9 and 22, as discussed above, Doucet teaches the lipid blends, comprises, about 77 to 97 wt% of edible oils, including a variety of liquid vegetables oil (i.e. plant based oils) (0037), which encompasses from about 61.5 to 75.5 wt%, as claimed. Also, for specificity, Sahasranamam is discussed above as providing 60 to 95 wt% of a liquid oil (ref. clm. 1), which encompasses an amount from about 61.5 to 75.5 wt%, as claimed.
As for claims 10 and 23, as discussed above, Doucet teaches the lipid blends, comprises, about 3 to 35 wt% of a hydrogenated fat system (0012), comprising a mixture of glycerides (0012, 0037, ref. clm. 1), which encompasses structuring oil in an amount from about 27 to 33 wt%, as claimed.
The modified teaching, in Sahasranamam, also provides 5 to 40 wt% of a structuring fat blending with the liquid oil (ref. clm. 1), which encompasses wherein the plant oil based spread includes the structuring oil in an amount from about 27 to 33 wt%, as claimed.
As for claims 11 and 24, as discussed above, the modifed teaching, in Sahasranamam provides the use of 60 to 95 wt% of a liquid oil (ref. clm. 1), which encompasses wherein the plant oil based spread includes the plant based liquid oil in an amount from about 57 to 70 wt%.
As for claims 12 and 25, as discussed above, Doucet teaches the lipid blends, comprises, about 3 to 35 wt% of a hydrogenated fat system (0012), comprising a mixture of glycerides (0012, 0037, ref. clm. 1), which encompasses structuring oil in an amount about 31.5 to 38.5 wt%, as claimed.
The modified teaching, in Sahasranamam, also provides 5 to 40 wt% of a structuring fat blending with the liquid oil (ref. clm. 1), which encompasses wherein the plant oil based spread includes the structuring oil in an amount from about 31.5 to 38.5 wt%, as claimed.
As for claims 13 and 26, as for the plant oil based spread having a melting point from about 68.5 to 74°F, since the modified teaching provides a similar composition comprising similar amounts of similar ingredients, which similarly functions as a plant oil based spread having beta-prime crystal structures, which reflects the breadth of the claim composition, it would be reasonable to expect that the plant oil has a similar melting point, as claimed, absent a showing of criticality, because the teaching of a similar composition imparts a suggestion in or expectation that the composition taught will have the same or a similar utility.
As for claims 14 and 27, as for the plant oil based spread having a fatty acid nutritional profile, comprising:
a saturated fat content from about 27.7g/100g to about 36.9g/100g,
a polyunsaturated fat content from about 5.4g/100g to about 15.7g/100g, and
a monounsaturated fat content from about 35.4g/100g to about 53.9g/100g, wherein these fat profiles are specifically dependent on the types and amounts of lipids used to make the blended oil composition.
Therefore, since the modified teaching provides a similar composition comprising similar amounts of similar ingredients, which similarly functions as a plant oil based spread comprising beta-prime crystal structures, which reflects the breadth of the claim composition, it would be reasonable to expect that the plant oil based spread has a fatty acid nutritional profile, as claimed, absent a showing of criticality, because the teaching of a similar composition imparts a suggestion in or expectation that the composition taught will have the same or a similar utility.
As for claim 16, the modified teaching above, in Action-on-Salt, provides salt suspended in the plant-based liquid oil, as discussed above.
As for claim 28, since the modified teaching provides a blended fat composition, withing the scope of the claims, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art, at the time of filing to modify the method of making blended fat compositions comprising beta prime crystal structure, as taught, to include that said composition will have similar utility, including: when tested under conditions, including applying a constant shear rate of 7.5 s-1 at a temperature of 40 °F, wherein the constant shear rate, a rheological property, is measured by a rheometer having a serrated parallel plate on a serrated surface, that said composition would function to have a stress overshoot of about 4,000 to 8,000 Pa, as claimed, because the composition established through the teachings above, provides a sufficiently close relationship between the ingredients to create an expectation that such a similar compositions would have similar capabilities, properties or functionality because the claims are not physically or structurally distinguishable over the prior art compositions. See MPEP 2144. III, which states that when case law imparts legal precedence, wherein the facts in this prior legal decision are sufficiently similar to those in an application, wherein the court applied the law of obviousness to similar facts. This includes a wide spectrum of illustrations and accompanying reasoning (i.e. obviousness) that exist in case law. In re Eli Lilly & Co., 902 F.2d 943, 14 USPQ2d 1741 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Herein, although not cited in the MPEP, more recent caselaw on the topic, “In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688 (1990)” ( (https://cite.case.law/f2d/919/688/)) provides that when a claimed compositions has been made obvious from combined teachings, it is clear that the discovery that the claimed composition possesses a property not disclosed for the prior art subject matter, and this itself does not defeat a prima facie case.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the references fail to disclose or suggest the following claim language, a) “wherein the plant oil based spread includes less than 1% by weight water and less than 0.01% by weight emulsifier”, and b) “wherein the plant oil spread has a Beata Prime crystal structure and a stress overshot form about 4000 Pa to about 8000 Pa at a temperature 40 degrees F and a constant shear rate of 7.5 s^-1”.
Regarding a), Applicant notes that Tables A-D of Doucet are merely ingredients for shortening; not a list of ingredients for a spread, let alone a plant oil based spread. Applicant also notes that Table E of Doucet does not contain a description and merely includes the fatty acid ranges for use as a “High-Ratio Cake Shortening”. Applicant also pointed to Table F of Doucet for teaching the presence of water through “aqueous phase”.
Regarding b), Applicant did not follow the argument with any rationale or evidence.
Applicant’s argument has been considered; however, it is not found persuasive. Regarding item a) looking to Table F, Applicant is correct to note that water is present. With respect to Tables A-E, no water is present. It should further be noted that contrary to Applicant’s assertion that the noted tables are merely ingredients for shortening. The tables list the mixture of shortening and edible oils. The shortening of Doucet reads on Applicant’s plant-based liquid oil. The edible oils of Doucet reads on the claimed structuring oil.
Regarding item b), in the absence of any rationale or evidence supporting the argument, said argument is not found persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/EMILY M LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793