DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 filed May 20, 2025 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. In this particular case, claim 17 recites a means to process processor-executable instructions and a means to issue processor-issuable instructions, therefore claim 17 is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Double Patenting
14. Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of provisional nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent 11,367,077 and claims 1-9 and 10-27 of U.S. Patent 11,715,109. In fact, the ‘109 and ‘077 patents are more detailed and more specific and encompasses almost all of the elements of the broader, current ‘281 application as seen below.
15. This is an obviousness nonstatutory double patenting rejection because although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed limitations from the present application and U.S. Patent 11,367,077 and U.S. Patent 11,715,109 above are significantly similar and the claimed features seem to be identical with various obvious alternate methods. The omission of an element with a corresponding loss of function is an obvious expedient. See In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 and Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375. For these reasons, claims 1-20 of the instant application are not identical to claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent 11,367,077 and claims 1-9 and 10-27 of U.S. Patent 11,715,109, but they are not patentably distinct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
20. Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graylin et al (2016/0247141) in view of Hammad (2012/0226582) and Yeager (2013/0054474).
21. Re Claims 1, 16-18: Graylin discloses comprising:
a memory (see Fig. 7 ref. 600, [0079]);
a component collection in the memory (see Fig. 7 ref. 600, [0079]);
a processor disposed in communication with the memory, and configured to issue a plurality of processing instructions from the component collection stored in the memory to (see Fig. 7 ref. 600, [0079]):
obtain, via at least one processor, a payment request from a third-party server for a payment transaction associated with a user (see Fig. 9, ref. 910, [0096], Fig. 11 ref. 1110, [0104]);
determine, via at least one processor, an antifraud resilient account identifier of an antifraud resilient enrolled payment card selected by the user for the payment transaction (see Fig. 9 refs. 922, 924, and [0097-0098] discloses the checkout server 600 forwarding the transaction to payment processor 926, which may include generating and forwarding transaction/payment data including dynamic cryptogram to payment processor 926… cryptogram may be generated using payment token, primary account number (PAN), expiration or expiry date (EXP), timestamp, and/or counter, at time of transaction…);
generate, via at least one processor, a payment cryptogram request, wherein the payment cryptogram request includes transaction data sufficient to generate a transaction payment request cryptogram and transaction description data sufficient to allow the user to identify the payment transaction (see Fig. 9 refs. 922, 924, and [0097-0098] discloses the checkout server 600 forwarding the transaction to payment processor 926, which may include generating and forwarding transaction/payment data including dynamic cryptogram to payment processor 926… cryptogram may be generated using payment token, primary account number (PAN), expiration or expiry date (EXP), timestamp, and/or counter, at time of transaction… cryptogram may be generated locally at mobile device fig. 11 ref. 1122, [0105] which discloses one authenticated, customer 900 confirms transaction with checkout server 600, and checkout application 502 calls 1122 the checkout server 600 or web site API 602 to complete the transaction identified by checkout token);
query, via at least one processor, an antifraud resilient enrolled client of the user for a transaction payment request cryptogram authorized by the user and signed with a cryptographic key associated with the antifraud resilient account identifier (see Figs. 9 refs. 922-930, [0097], Fig. 11 ref. 1116, [0105]);
query, via at least one processor, a payment transaction processing server for a payment transaction authorization using the transaction payment request cryptogram(see Figs. 9 refs. 922-930, [0097], Fig. 11 ref. 1116, [0105]);
and provide, via at least one processor, a transaction confirmation to the third-party server upon obtaining the payment transaction authorization (see Fig. 9, ref. 938, [0099], Fig. 11 ref. 1138, [0106]).
wherein the antifraud resilient enrolled payment cards were issued by an issuing bank (see [0064] issuer of a card can be a bank).
However, Graylin fails to explicitly disclose a list of cards. Meanwhile, Hammad teaches:
instruct, via at least one processor, a client of the user to display a list of antifraud resilient enrolled payment cards associated with the user, wherein each of the antifraud resilient enrolled payment cards in the list is identified by a secondary identifier that is sufficient to allow the user to identify the respective antifraud resilient enrolled payment card without exposing the respective antifraud resilient enrolled payment card’s antifraud resilient account identifier (see [0018] a dialog box to select one of cards to use for payment);
wherein the payment transaction authorization is based on validation of the transaction payment request cryptogram by an issuer server associated with an issuer of the antifraud resilient enrolled payment card (see [0019] validation determines if cryptogram is valid and if valid associates the return information to user’s account).
From the teaching of Hammad, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Graylin’s mobile checkout system with Hammad’s disclosure of listing cards and validating a cryptogram in order “… for effecting secure communication of payment information to merchants… (see Hammad Abstract).”
However, Graylin and Hammad fails to explicitly disclose a cryptographic key and a cryptogram request. Meanwhile, Yeager teaches:
a cryptographic key (see [0041, 0149] cryptographic keys);
a cryptogram request (see [0163, 0197, 0215] cryptogram request).
From the teaching of Yeager, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Graylin’s mobile checkout system and Hammad’s disclosure of validation of cryptogram and listing of cards further with Yeager’s disclosure of cryptographic keys and cryptogram request in order “… for performing a timely authorization of digital credential data… (see Yeager Abstract).”
22. Re Claim 2: Graylin discloses wherein the third-party server is a merchant server (see Fig. 9 ref. 904, merchant server).
23. Re Claim 3: Graylin discloses wherein the antifraud resilient account identifier is a primary account number printed on a physical version of the antifraud resilient enrolled payment card (see [0057] discloses PAN with cards).
24. Re Claim 4: Graylin discloses wherein the antifraud resilient account identifier is a second primary account number that is different from a first primary account number printed on a physical version of the antifraud resilient enrolled payment card (see [0098] token may be used instead of PAN for payment).
25. Re Claim 5: However, Graylin fails to disclose the following. Meanwhile, Hammad discloses further, comprising: the processor issues instructions from the component collection, stored in the memory, to:
obtain, via at least one processor, the user’s payment card selection from the list, wherein the user’s payment card selection is the antifraud resilient enrolled payment card selected by the user for the payment transaction (see [0018] a dialog box to select one of cards to use for payment);
From the teaching of Hammad, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Graylin’s mobile checkout system with Hammad’s disclosure of listing cards and validating a cryptogram in order “… for effecting secure communication of payment information to merchants… (see Hammad Abstract).”
26. Re Claim 6: Graylin discloses wherein the client is one of: the antifraud resilient enrolled client of the user, a non-enrolled client of the user (see [0093] discloses enrolled/non-enrolled).
27. Re Claim 7: Graylin discloses wherein the antifraud resilient enrolled payment card selected by the user for the payment transaction is a default payment card selected by the user for payment transactions prior to initiating the payment transaction (see [0061, 0062] default payment and selection between payment cards stored in secure element).
28. Re Claim 8: However, Graylin and Hammad fail to disclose the following. Meanwhile, Yeager discloses wherein the transaction payment request cryptogram conforms to ISO8583 authorization request cryptogram message format (see [0217] discloses ISO8583 format). From the teaching of Yeager, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Graylin’s mobile checkout system and Hammad’s disclosure of validation of cryptogram and listing of cards further with Yeager’s disclosure of the cryptogram message format in order “… for performing a timely authorization of digital credential data… (see Yeager Abstract).”
29. Re Claim 9: Graylin discloses further comprising:
the processor issues instructions from the component collection, stored in the memory, to: instruct, via at least one processor, the antifraud resilient enrolled client of the user to provide a push notification to the user requesting transaction authorization of the payment transaction, wherein the push notification identifies the antifraud resilient enrolled payment card selected by the user for the payment transaction, wherein the push notification is generated using the transaction description data (see Fig. 11 ref. 1116, [0106] push notification to user request transaction authorization of payment transaction).
30. Re Claim 10: Graylin discloses wherein the user is required to authenticate to the antifraud resilient enrolled client of the user to be able to provide the transaction authorization (see Fig. 9 ref. 920, [0097], Fig. 11 ref. 1120, [0105]).
31. Re Claim 11: However, Graylin and Hammad fail to disclose the following. Meanwhile, Yeager discloses wherein the cryptographic key is stored in a secure storage location of the antifraud resilient enrolled client (see [0188] secure storage of cryptographic key). From the teaching of Yeager, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Graylin’s mobile checkout system and Hammad’s disclosure of validation of cryptogram and listing of cards further with Yeager’s disclosure of the secure storage in order “… for performing a timely authorization of digital credential data… (see Yeager Abstract).”
32. Re Claim 12: Graylin discloses wherein the payment transaction processing server is configured to emulate a physical point of sale device using a network connected appliance (see Fig. 9, [0096-0100], Fig. 11, [0104-0108]).
33. Re Claim 13: Graylin discloses wherein the payment transaction processing server is one of: a payment gateway, the issuer server (see Fig. 9 ref. 926, payment processor).
34. Re Claim 14: Graylin discloses wherein the transaction confirmation to the third-party server includes a default shipping address selected by the user for payment transactions prior to initiating the payment transaction (see [0093] checkout server storing shipping address for user).
35. Re Claim 15: Graylin discloses further, comprising:
the processor issues instructions from the component collection, stored in the memory, to: instruct, via at least one processor, the antifraud resilient enrolled client of the user to provide a push notification to the user with a transaction confirmation (see Fig. 11 ref. 1130, [0105] discloses checkout server returning transaction results to checkout application).
Examiner Notes
36. In order to advance prosecution, the Examiner suggests clarifying what an antifraud resilient account identifier can be, or comprises of. The Examiner also suggests clarifying what a component collection in the memory is. The Examiner suggests incorporating the elements of claims 5, 7, and 10-12 (dependent on claim 9) together into all of the independent claims. Finally, the Examiner suggests incorporating more hardware from the Specification and any unique arrangements of hardware, unique hardware, or unique ways the hardware is communicating. The aforementioned claim suggestions, in combination together, is suggested to help advance prosecution forward, although further search, examination, and consideration is required.
Response to Arguments
37. Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/25 have been fully considered and are not found to be convincing. The applicant argues that the following is not disclosed: “… determine, via at least one processor, an antifraud resilient account identifier of an antifraud resilient enrolled payment card selected by the user for the payment transaction… wherein the payment transaction authorization is based on validation of the transaction payment request cryptogram by an issuer server associated with an issuer of the antifraud resilient enrolled payment card.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In multiple places such as [0097-0098], Graylin discloses the checkout server 600 forwarding the transaction to payment processor 926, which may include generating and forwarding transaction/payment data including dynamic cryptogram to payment processor 926, where the cryptogram may be generated using payment token, primary account number (PAN), expiration or expiry date (EXP), timestamp, and/or counter, at time of transaction. Then, Hammad teaches in [0019] that a validation determines if cryptogram is valid and if valid associates the return information to user’s account.
Conclusion
38. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Abughazalah et al (Secure Mobile Payment on NFC-Enabled Mobile Phones Formally Analysed Using CasperFDR, NPL) is found to be the most pertinent NPL prior art.
39. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAWAAD HAIDER/Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/FLORIAN M ZEENDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627