This Office action is in response to amendments filed on 05/27/2025. Claims 1-3, 5, 8-12, 14-16, 19-23, and 25-26 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-11, 14, 16, 19-22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Morin (US 2020/0000302) in view of KR 20120129191 (KR ‘191), as provided by the Examiner in previous Office action, and further in view of Li (US 2020/0323413).
Regarding claim 1, Morin (US 2020/0000302) discloses a robotic cleaner (item 100, figures 1-11) comprising:
a chassis (item 102; pp. [0043]; figs. 1-2);
a plurality of drive wheels (items 194A; pp. [0037]; fig. 2) coupled to the chassis;
a motor (item 176A) coupled to the chassis (within inner portion of chassis 102);
a controller (item 198; pp. [0035]) for autonomously controlling the drive wheels to maneuver the robotic cleaner over a cleaning surface (pp. [0041], [0070]); and
a wet cleaning module (item 160; figs. 9-10) removably coupled to the chassis (wet cleaning module 160 is removably coupled to chassis 102 in order to be interchangeable; pp. [0034]), the wet cleaning module comprising
a tank (item 174A; pp. [0060]; fig. 11) for holding a cleaning fluid (item 175; pp. [0060]; fig. 11), the tank being fixed in position relative to the chassis when the wet cleaning module is coupled to the chassis (when robotic cleaner 100 is in use, the tank 174A is fixed relative to chassis 102 in order for cleaning fluid 175 to move from wet cleaning module to floor surface; pp. [0060-0063]),
a cleaning pad plate (item 162; pp. [0055-0056]; figs. 9-10) movably coupled to a bottom of the tank (via agitation system 176),
a cam (item 176B; pp. [0063]) coupled to the cleaning pad plate when the wet cleaning module is coupled to the chassis to thereby cause motion of the cleaning pad plate relative to the chassis (pp. [0063]); and
a cleaning pad (item 164; pp. [0055]; figs. 9-10) coupled to a leading edge of the cleaning pad plate (designated in annotated fig. 9 below) for contacting the cleaning surface (paragraph 0057), whereby the wet cleaning module is configured to impart motion to a leading edge of the cleaning pad (the agitation system 176, which is a part of the wet cleaning module 160, imparts motion to a leading edge of cleaning pad, designated in annotated fig. 9, via scrubbing action onto the cleaning surface; pp. [0063]).
Morin First Annotated Figure 9.
Though Morin discloses the wet cleaning module may move the cleaning pad left and right, up and down, oscillating, or a combination thereof (pp. [0063]), Morin does not explicitly disclose the details of the wet cleaning module, such as the cleaning pad plate movably coupled to the bottom of the tank for movement relative to the tank and the wet cleaning module further including a collar coupled to the cleaning pad plate at a forward portion of the cleaning pad plate, the collar having an open top and an open side; a sideways cam coupled to the collar with the collar disposed between the motor and the sideways cam, and a coupling attached to and disposed on the drive shaft for rotation with the drive shaft, the coupling interfacing with and extending into the collar for rotating with respect to the collar with rotation of the drive shaft when the wet cleaning module is coupled to the chassis, whereby rotation of the coupling with the drive shaft and with respect to the collar is configured to drive the sideways cam and thereby, cause linear motion of the cleaning pad plate relative to the chassis, as well as the location of the linear agitation (as required by claims 2-3; refer to the rejections below).
However, KR ‘191 teaches a cleaner (fig. 1) comprising a chassis (item 10; fig. 1), a pair of drive wheels (items 11, 12; fig. 2), a motor (item 81; fig. 8) having a drive shaft (item 81a; fig. 8), a coupling (item 83; fig. 8) attached to and disposed on the drive shaft for rotation with the drive shaft (p. 5 of NPL translation; coupling portion, item 83a, rotates with the motor 81), a wet cleaning module (item 30) comprising a cleaning pad plate (item 32; figs. 6-8), a cleaning pad (item 21; figs 4-6), a tank (item 50), wherein the cleaning pad plate movably coupled to a bottom of a tank (fig. 9) for movement relative to the tank (tank 50 is coupled to the chassis 10 while cleaning pad 21 and cleaning pad plate 32 are disposed separate from and below the tank to move relative to the tank, i.e. tank remains stationary to chassis 10 during movement of cleaning pad plate), a collar (item 83d; fig. 8) coupled to the cleaning pad plate at a forward portion of the cleaning pad plate (designated in annotated fig. 8 below), the collar having an open top and an open side (open top and side of collar 83d designated in annotated fig. 8 below), a sideways cam (item 82; fig. 8) coupled to the collar (via intermediate components; when coupling 83 moves within collar 83d, the cleaning pad plate 32 is transportable via linear motion by sideways cam 82; p. 4 of NPL translation) with the collar disposed between the motor and the sideways cam (according to Dictionary.com, “between” is defined as at, into, or across the space separating two objects or regions; therefore, collar 83d is positioned between motor 81 and sideways cam 82, i.e. item 82b, in left-right direction in view of annotated fig. 8 below), the coupling interfacing with and extending into the collar for rotating with respect to the collar with rotation of the drive shaft (item 83c, which is a portion of coupling 83, interfaces with and extends into collar 83d, while item 83a, which is a portion of coupling, rotates relative to collar via motor drive shaft; p. 5 of NPL; fig. 8)) when the wet cleaning module is coupled to the chassis, whereby rotation of the coupling with the drive shaft is configured to drive the sideways cam and thereby, cause linear motion of the cleaning pad plate relative to the chassis (p. 4-5 of NPL translation; when motor 81 rotates, coupling 83 rotates, i.e. item 83a of coupling rotates, and translates the rotational motion via 83b, 83c which is portion of coupling portion extended into collar 83d in order for the cleaning pad plate 32 to move in a linear motion via sideways cam 82).
KR’191 Annotated Fig. 8.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robotic cleaner as disclosed in Morin to include the cleaning module and the above components which movably couple the cleaning pad plate relative to the tank and generate linear motion to the cleaning pad, as taught in KR ‘191, in order to improve cleaning efficiency by reciprocating the cleaning pad and/or cleaning pad plate while cleaning and replacing the cleaning pad (Abstract; p. 1 of NPL translation of KR ‘191).
Furthermore, though Morin discloses the cleaning pad and/or cleaning pad plate may include any suitable pad retention mechanism and pad release mechanism, Morin or KR ‘191 do not disclose the explicit details of the mechanisms such as the cleaning pad removably coupled to a leading edge of the cleaning pad plate.
However, Li (US 2020/0323413) teaches a robotic cleaner (fig. 1) comprising a chassis (item 1), a plurality of drive wheels (items 71; fig. 6), a controller for autonomously controlling the robotic cleaner (pp. [0003]), and a wet cleaning module coupled to the chassis, the wet cleaning module comprising a cleaning pad plate (item 31) and a cleaning pad (item 4, figs. 27-28) removably coupled to a leading edge of the cleaning pad plate (via item 44; figs. 27-29).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wet cleaning module as disclosed in Morin to include the retention/release mechanism comprising a rigid slider (corresponding to item 44 in Li), as taught in Li, in order for the cleaning pad to be fixed to the cleaning pad plate to improve the fixing stability and prevent the cleaning pad from falling off (Li; pp. [0120]).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Morin as modified discloses the robotic cleaner as claimed in claim 1. Though KR’191 teaches the linear motion is directly coupled to the cleaning pad plate at a distance greater than 0cm from the leading edge (KR’191; linear motion caused by coupling 83, collar 83d, and sideways cam 82 is directly coupled to cleaning pad 21, which is a part of the cleaning module), KR ‘191 does not explicitly teach wherein the linear motion is directly coupled to the cleaning pad plate at a location within 5cm (as required by claim 2) and within 2cm (as required by claim 2) from the leading edge of the cleaning pad.
The claimed dimensions are recognized as result effective variable, i.e. a variable in which achieves a recognized result as set forth above. The location from a leading edge of the cleaning pad to the agitation module can vary depending on the design need to solve a problem. If there is a shorter distance (1cm) from a leading edge of the cleaning pad to the agitation module, the portion closer to the leading edge of the cleaning pad will agitate at a greater force than the rearward portion which helps to disrupt cleaning surfaces with hardened dirt, debris, mud, etc. in a smaller area. If there is a larger distance (5cm) from a leading edge of the cleaning pad to the agitation module, the cleaning pad will agitate/vibrate more uniformly which will help to clean larger areas on the cleaning surface at one time. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim (e.g. having the claimed structure as recited above) is disclosed by Morin in view of KR ‘191 and Li, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when the invention was filed to make the location of the agitation module from a leading edge within 5cm (as required by 2) and/or within 2cm (as required by claim 3). Further in the instant application, page 28, paragraph [00135], the application has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 5, Morin as modified discloses the robotic cleaner as claimed in claim 1, the cleaning pad having a rigid slider (Li; item 44 on cleaning pad 4, corresponding to cleaning pad 164 in Morin) at the leading edge of the cleaning pad, wherein the cleaning pad is removably coupled to the leading edge of the cleaning pad plate (Li; leading edge of cleaning pad designated in annotated fig. 27 below; corresponding to leading edge annotated in Morin fig. 9 above) by the rigid slider being slidably disposed in a corresponding channel (Li; channel 323 within cleaning pad plate 3; fig. 29) defined in the leading edge of the cleaning pad plate.
Li Annotated Figure 27.
Regarding claim 8, Morin as modified discloses the robotic cleaner as claimed in claim 5, wherein a portion of the rigid slider extends outwardly from the channel at a side of the chassis (designated in first annotated fig. 29 below).
The recitation “to allow a user to grip the rigid slider to remove the cleaning pad from the wet cleaning module” is considered to be an intended use limitation. The application is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim, as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114-II. In the instant case, the rigid slider extends outwardly from a bottom side of a chassis and is capable of being grasped by a user while not in use.
Li First Annotated Figure 29.
Regarding claim 9, Morin as modified discloses the robotic cleaner as claimed in claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a portion of the rigid slider extends outwardly from the channel at the side of the chassis by at least 1cm.
The claimed dimensions are recognized as result effective variable, i.e. a variable in which achieves a recognized result as set forth above. The length of the rigid slider form the channel at a side of the chassis can vary depending on the design need to solve a problem. If the length from the side of the chassis is too small, the user would not be able to pull the rigid slider when necessary. If the length from the side of the chassis is too larger, the rigid slider could interfere with cleaning. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim (e.g. having the claimed structure as recited above) is disclosed by Morin in view of KR ‘191 and Li, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when the invention was filed to outwardly extend the rigid slider from the side of the chassis by at least 1cm. Further, in the instant application, page 19, paragraph [00104], the application has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 10, Morin as modified discloses the robotic cleaner as claimed in claim 5, wherein the rigid slider extends along only a portion of the leading edge of the cleaning pad (Li; the rigid slider 44 only extends along an upper portion of the leading edge of the cleaning pad 4, corresponding to cleaning pad 164 in Morin; fig. 27 of Li).
Regarding claim 11, Morin as modified discloses the robotic cleaner as claimed in claim 5, wherein the rigid slider has a flat portion coupled to the lead edge of the cleaning pad and a head portion at a forward portion of the rigid slider, and wherein the leading edge of the cleaning pad abuts the head portion of the rigid slider (Li; both portions designated in second annotated fig. 29 below; similar to applicant’s disclosure as understood from pp. [00159] in disclosure and figs. 20A-20B, the head portion abuts leading edge via body portion).
Li Second Annotated Figure 29.
Regarding claim 14, Morin as modified discloses the robotic cleaner as claimed in claim 1, the robotic cleaner further comprising a vacuum (Morin; via item 118; pp. [0074]) coupled to the chassis (item 118 is within chassis in both vacuum module 130 and wet cleaning module 160; figs. 3 and 9) and comprising a suction conduit (through items 108A-108B; figs. 3 and 9) at the bottom of the chassis, wherein the cleaning pad is coupled to the cleaning pad plate aft of the vacuum and aft of the drive wheels (according to The Free Dictionary, “aft” is defined as at, in toward, or close to; therefore, the cleaning pad 164 is coupled to cleaning pad plate 162 at a position close to the vacuum 118 and drive wheels; fig. 9).
Regarding claim 16, Morin (US 2020/0000302) discloses a robotic cleaner (item 100, figures 1-11) comprising:
a chassis (item 102; pp. [0043]; figs. 1-2);
a plurality of drive wheels (items 194A; pp. [0037]; fig. 2) coupled to the chassis;
a motor (item 176A) coupled to the chassis (within inner portion of chassis 102);
a controller (item 198; pp. [0035]) for autonomously controlling the drive wheels to maneuver the robotic cleaner over a cleaning surface (pp. [0041], [0070]); and
a wet cleaning module (item 160; figs. 9-10) removably coupled to the chassis (wet cleaning module 160 is removably coupled to chassis 102 in order to be interchangeable; pp. [0034]), the wet cleaning module comprising
a tank (item 174A; pp. [0060]; fig. 11) for holding a cleaning fluid (item 175; pp. [0060]; fig. 11), the tank being fixed in position relative to the chassis when the wet cleaning module is coupled to the chassis (when robotic cleaner 100 is in use, the tank 174A is fixed relative to chassis 102 in order for cleaning fluid 175 to move from wet cleaning module to floor surface; pp. [0060-0063]),
a cleaning pad plate (item 162; pp. [0055-0056]; figs. 9-10) movably coupled to a bottom of the tank (via agitation system 176),
a cleaning pad (item 164; pp. [0055]; figs. 9-10) coupled to the cleaning pad plate to contact the cleaning surface (pp. [0057]).
Though Morin discloses the wet cleaning module may move the cleaning pad left and right, up and down, oscillating, or a combination thereof (pp. [0063]), Morin does not explicitly disclose the details of the wet cleaning module, such as the cleaning pad plate movably coupled to the bottom of the tank for movement relative to the tank and the wet cleaning module further including a collar coupled to the cleaning pad plate, the collar having an open top and an open side; a sideways cam coupled to the collar with the collar disposed between the motor and the sideways cam, and a coupling attached to and disposed on the drive shaft for rotation with the drive shaft, the coupling interfacing with and extending into the collar for rotating with respect to the collar when the wet cleaning module is coupled to the chassis, whereby rotation of the coupling with the drive shaft and with respect to the collar is configured to cause linear motion of the cleaning pad plate relative to the chassis.
However, KR ‘191 teaches a cleaner (fig. 1) comprising a chassis (item 10; fig. 1), a pair of drive wheels (items 11, 12; fig. 2), a motor (item 81; fig. 8) having a drive shaft (item 81a; fig. 8), a coupling (item 83; fig. 8) attached to and disposed on the drive shaft for rotation with the drive shaft (p. 5 of NPL translation; coupling portion, item 83a, rotates with the motor 81), a wet cleaning module (item 30) comprising a cleaning pad plate (item 32; figs. 6-8), a cleaning pad (item 21; figs 4-6), a tank (item 50; fig. 9), wherein the cleaning pad plate movably coupled to a bottom of the tank (fig. 9) for movement relative to the tank (tank 50 is coupled to the chassis 20 while cleaning pad 21 and cleaning pad plate 32 are disposed separate from and below the tank to move relative to the tank, i.e. tank remains stationary to chassis 10 during movement of cleaning pad plate), a collar (item 83d; fig. 8) coupled to the cleaning pad plate (via inner side of cleaning pad plate 32, i.e. inward towards chassis), the collar having an open top and an open side (both sides designated in annotated fig. 8 above), a sideways cam (item 82; fig. 8) coupled to the collar (via intermediate components; when coupling 83 moves within collar 83d, the cleaning pad plate 32 is transportable via linear motion by sideways cam 82; p. 4 of NPL translation) with the collar disposed between the motor and the sideways cam (according to Dictionary.com, “between” is defined as at, into, or across the space separating two objects or regions; therefore, collar 83d is positioned between motor 81 and sideways cam 82, i.e. item 82b, in left-right direction, as annotated in fig. 8 above), the coupling interfacing with and extending into the collar for rotating with respect to the collar with rotation of the drive shaft (item 83c, which is a portion of coupling 83, interfaces with and extends into the collar 83d, while item 83a, which is a portion of coupling, rotates relative to collar via motor drive shaft; p. 5 of NPL; fig. 8) when the wet cleaning module is coupled to the chassis, whereby rotation of the coupling with the drive shaft and with respect to the collar is configured to cause linear motion of the cleaning pad plate relative to the chassis (p. 4-5 of NPL translation; when motor 81 rotates, coupling 83 rotates, i.e. item 83a of coupling rotates, and translates the rotational motion via 83b, 83c which is portion of coupling portion extended into collar 83d in order for the cleaning pad plate 32 to move in a linear motion via sideways cam 82).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robotic cleaner as disclosed in Morin to include the cleaning module and the above components which movably couple the cleaning pad plate relative to the tank and generate linear motion to the cleaning pad, as taught in KR ‘191, in order to improve cleaning efficiency by reciprocating the cleaning pad and/or cleaning pad plate while cleaning and replacing the cleaning pad (Abstract; p. 1 of NPL translation of KR ‘191).
Furthermore, though Morin discloses the cleaning pad and/or cleaning pad plate may include any suitable pad retention mechanism and pad release mechanism, Morin or KR ‘191 do not disclose the explicit details of the mechanisms such as the cleaning pad having a rigid slider at a leading edge of the cleaning pad, the rigid slider being slidably disposed in a corresponding channel of the cleaning pad plate to removably couple the leading edge of the cleaning pad to the wet cleaning module.
However, Li (US 2020/0323413) teaches a robotic cleaner (fig. 1) comprising a chassis (item 1), a plurality of drive wheels (items 71; fig. 6), a controller for autonomously controlling the robotic cleaner (pp. [0003]), and a wet cleaning module coupled to the chassis, the wet cleaning module comprising a cleaning pad plate (item 31), a cleaning pad (item 4, figs. 27-28), the cleaning pad having a rigid slider (Li; item 44 on cleaning pad 4, corresponding to cleaning pad 164 in Morin) at a leading edge of the cleaning pad (corresponding to leading edge of cleaning pad in Morin; annotated fig. 9 above), the rigid slider being slidably disposed in a corresponding channel of the cleaning pad plate (Li; channel 323 within cleaning pad plate 3; fig. 29) to removably couple the leading edge of the cleaning pad to the wet cleaning module.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wet cleaning module as disclosed in Morin to include the retention/release mechanism comprising a rigid slider (corresponding to item 44 in Li), as taught in Li, in order for the cleaning pad to be fixed to the cleaning pad plate to improve the fixing stability and prevent the cleaning pad from falling off (Li; pp. [0120]).
Regarding claim 19, Morin as modified discloses the robotic cleaner as claimed in claim 16, wherein a portion of the rigid slider extends outwardly from the channel at a side of the chassis (designated in first annotated fig. 29 above).
The recitation “to allow a user to grip the rigid slider to remove the cleaning pad from the wet cleaning module” is considered to be an intended use limitation. The application is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim, as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114-II. In the instant case, the rigid slider extends outwardly from a bottom side of a chassis and is capable of being grasped by a user while not in use.
Regarding claim 20, Morin as modified discloses the robotic cleaner as claimed in claim 19, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a portion of the rigid slider extends outwardly from the channel at the side of the chassis by at least 1cm.
The claimed dimensions are recognized as result effective variable, i.e. a variable in which achieves a recognized result as set forth above. The length of the rigid slider form the channel at a side of the chassis can vary depending on the design need to solve a problem. If the length from the side of the chassis is too small, the user would not be able to pull the rigid slider when necessary. If the length from the side of the chassis is too larger, the rigid slider could interfere with cleaning. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim (e.g. having the claimed structure as recited above) is disclosed by Morin in view of KR ‘191 and Li, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when the invention was filed to outwardly extend the rigid slider from the side of the chassis by at least 1cm. Further, in the instant application, page 19, paragraph [00104], the application has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 21, Morin as modified discloses the robotic cleaner as claimed in claim 16, wherein the rigid slider extends along only a portion of the leading edge of the cleaning pad (Li; the rigid slider 44 only extends along an upper portion of the leading edge of the cleaning pad 4, corresponding to cleaning pad 164 in Morin; fig. 27 of Li).
Regarding claim 22, Morin as modified discloses the robotic cleaner as claimed in claim 16, wherein the rigid slider has a flat portion coupled to the lead edge of the cleaning pad and a head portion at a forward portion of the rigid slider, and wherein the leading edge of the cleaning pad abuts the head portion of the rigid slider (Li; both portions designated in second annotated fig. 29 above; similar to applicant’s disclosure as understood from pp. [00159] in disclosure and figs. 20A-20B, the head portion abuts leading edge via body portion).
Regarding claim 25, Morin as modified discloses the robotic cleaner as claimed in claim 16, the robotic cleaner further comprising a vacuum (Morin; via item 118; pp. [0074]) coupled to the chassis (item 118 is within chassis in both vacuum module 130 and wet cleaning module 160; figs. 3 and 9) and comprising a suction conduit (through items 108A-108B; figs. 3 and 9) at the bottom of the chassis, wherein the cleaning pad is coupled to the cleaning pad plate aft of the vacuum and aft of the drive wheels (according to The Free Dictionary, “aft” is defined as at, in toward, or close to; therefore, the cleaning pad 164 is coupled to cleaning pad plate 162 at a position close to the vacuum 118 and drive wheels; fig. 9).
Claims 12 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morin (US 2020/0000302) in view of KR 20120129191 (KR ‘191), as provided by the Examiner in previous Office action, Li (US 2020/0323413) and further in view of Buckley (US D455,996).
Regarding claim 12, Morin as modified discloses the robotic cleaner as claimed in claim 1, with drive wheels having a tread surface (Morin; fig. 8) however, the details of the drive wheels are not explicitly disclosed.
However, Buckley teaches a drive wheel that is capable of being used for various wheeled devices wherein the drive wheels (fig. 1) comprise associated first and second sidewalls (first sidewall designated in annotated fig. 1 below; second sidewall is defined to be on opposite side of wheel even though not explicitly shown), the first side wall having a first perimeter edge (designated in annotated fig. 1 below) and the second sidewall having a second perimeter edge (defined to be on opposite side of wheel even though not explicitly shown), and a tread surface (defined as surface in which raised tread pattern is positioned on; figs. 1-4) extending in an axial direction from the first perimeter edge to the second perimeter edge (tread surface extends across the drive wheel from the first perimeter edge to the second perimeter edge) whereby the first and second perimeter edges define a transition between the sidewalls and the tread surface (first and second perimeter edges define the change from the tread surface to the first and second sidewalls; fig. 1), the drive wheels further comprising a tread pattern (defined as divots and raised features designated in annotated fig. 1 below) on the tread surface that does not intersect the perimeter edge (edge does not include any tread pattern as shown in fig. 1 below).
Both Morin and Buckley teach drive wheels with a tread surface capable of being used within a robotic vacuum cleaner to drive the cleaner. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the drive wheels with tread surface as disclosed in Morin for the drive wheels with tread surface, two sidewalls, and two perimeter edges as shown in Buckley to achieve the predictable result of carrying the load (i.e. weight of the robotic cleaner) and improve traction on smooth surfaces and have better control on a surface that is not very cohesive.
Buckley First Annotated Figure 1.
Regarding claim 23, Morin as modified discloses the robotic cleaner as claimed in claim 16, with drive wheels having a tread surface (Morin; fig. 8) however, the details of the drive wheels are not explicitly disclosed.
However, Buckley teaches a drive wheel that is capable of being used for various wheeled devices wherein the drive wheels (fig. 1) comprise associated first and second sidewalls (first sidewall designated in annotated fig. 1 above; second sidewall is defined to be on opposite side of wheel even though not explicitly shown), the first side wall having a first perimeter edge (designated in annotated fig. 1 above) and the second sidewall having a second perimeter edge (defined to be on opposite side of wheel even though not explicitly shown), and a tread surface (defined as surface in which raised tread pattern is positioned on; figs. 1-4) extending in an axial direction from the first perimeter edge to the second perimeter edge (tread surface extends across the drive wheel from the first perimeter edge to the second perimeter edge) whereby the first and second perimeter edges define a transition between the sidewalls and the tread surface (first and second perimeter edges define the change from the tread surface to the first and second sidewalls; fig. 1), the drive wheels further comprising a tread pattern (defined as divots and raised features designated in annotated fig. 1 above) on the tread surface that does not intersect the perimeter edge (edge does not include any tread pattern as shown in fig. 1 above).
Both Morin and Buckley teach drive wheels with a tread surface capable of being used within a robotic vacuum cleaner to drive the cleaner. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the drive wheels with tread surface as disclosed in Morin for the drive wheels with tread surface, two sidewalls, and two perimeter edges as shown in Buckley to achieve the predictable result of carrying the load (i.e. weight of the robotic cleaner) and improve traction on smooth surfaces and have better control on a surface that is not very cohesive.
Claims 15 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morin (US 2020/0000302) in view of KR 20120129191 (KR ‘191), as provided by the Examiner in previous Office action, Li (US 2020/0323413) and further in view of Park (US 2015/0182090).
Regarding claim 15, Morin as modified discloses the robotic cleaner as claimed in claim 1, wherein the wet cleaning module further comprises a liquid applicator (item 174; pp. [0060]) configured to apply cleaning fluid onto the cleaning pad (liquid applicator 174 applies cleaning fluid 175 to surface; pp. [0060]). Though Morin discloses the motor to be a part of the wet cleaning module (motor 176A; pp. [0060-0067]), Morin does not explicitly disclose wherein the motor drives both the liquid applicator and the agitation module.
However, Park (US 2015/0182090) teaches a robotic cleaner comprising a liquid applicator, a plurality of cleaning pads, and a driving module to control the direction of the cleaner. There are lesser numbers of motors within the robotic cleaner from Park in order to generate driving forces and rotate the plurality of cleaning pads during cleaning. It is old and well-known technique to reduce the number of motors in a cleaning device. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robotic cleaner as disclosed in Morin to include one motor to drive both the liquid applicator and agitation to the cleaning pad plate (i.e. the sideways cam within the wet cleaning module modified by KR’ 191) to reduce material costs (Park, pp. [0008]) and reduce the weight of the cleaner.
Regarding claim 26, Morin as modified discloses the robotic cleaner as claimed in claim 16, wherein the wet cleaning module further comprises a liquid applicator (item 174; pp. [0060]) configured to apply cleaning fluid onto the cleaning pad (liquid applicator 174 applies cleaning fluid 175 to surface; pp. [0060]). Though Morin discloses the motor to be a part of the wet cleaning module (motor 176A; pp. [0060-0067]), Morin does not explicitly disclose wherein the motor drives both the liquid applicator and the agitation module.
However, Park (US 2015/0182090) teaches a robotic cleaner comprising a liquid applicator, a plurality of cleaning pads, and a driving module to control the direction of the cleaner. There are lesser numbers of motors within the robotic cleaner from Park in order to generate driving forces and rotate the plurality of cleaning pads during cleaning. It is old and well-known technique to reduce the number of motors in a cleaning device. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robotic cleaner as disclosed in Morin to include one motor to drive both the liquid applicator and agitation to the cleaning pad plate (i.e. the sideways cam within the wet cleaning module modified by KR’ 191) to reduce material costs (Park, pp. [0008]) and reduce the weight of the cleaner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-12 of Remarks, filed 05/27/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are moot because they are addressing newly amended claim limitations, as compared to the rejection of record. Upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of the same references, Morin (US 2020/0000302), KR 20120129191 (KR ‘191), and Li (US 2020/0323413), with additional structure and limitations taught from KR’19, as necessitated by the amendments.
In regard to applicant’s argument that “KR’191 does not teach or suggest a sideways cam 82 coupled to the collar 83d ‘with the collar [83d] disposed between the motor [81] and the sideways cam [82]’. Instead, the collar 83d is positioned to right of the sideways cam 82 in fig. 9 KR’191 and cannot be considered to be between the motor and the sideways cam” (p. 11-12 of Remarks), the Examiner respectfully disagrees and KR’191 is still relevant for the amended claims. As included in rejection above, “between” is defined by Dictionary.com as at, into, or across the space separating two objects or regions. Therefore, the collar 83d is structurally positioned between the motor 81 and the sideways cam 82, i.e. 82b portion, in the left-right direction along the cleaning pad plate 32, as annotated in fig. 8 above. If the applicant intended for the collar to be disposed between the motor and sideways cam in a vertical orientation relative to a surface to be cleaned, then that structure is not recited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Neff (US Patent No. 2,885,833) discloses a cleaner machine comprising a motor, a coupling attached to and disposed on a drive shaft on the motor, a cleaning module comprising a cleaning pad plate, a cleaning pad removably coupled to the cleaning pad plate, a collar coupled to the cleaning pad plate, a sideways cam coupled to the collar, and the coupling configured to drive the sideways cam and thereby cause linear motion of the cleaning pad plate.
KR 20100088453 (KR’453), as provided by the Examiner, discloses a cleaning comprising a chassis, a driver having a drive shaft, a coupling attached to and disposed on the drive shaft for rotation, a cleaning module comprising a cleaning pad plate, a cleaning component removably coupled to the cleaning pad plate, a collar coupled to the cleaning pad plate, a sideways cam coupled to the collar with the collar disposed between the motor and sideways cam (in a vertical position), the coupling interfacing into the collar, and whereby rotation of the coupling is configured to drive the sideways cam and thereby cause linear motion of the cleaning pad.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723