DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed 1/10/26 are acknowledged. Claim 1 has been amended and claims 22 – 26 added. Claims 1 – 7, 9, 10, and 22 – 26 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 1/10/26 has been received and considered by the Examiner.
Response to Amendments / Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding the amended claims versus the previously-raised rejections under 35 USC 103(a) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Furthermore, the arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Amended claim 1:
(a) Applicant argues that “Dolgoff does not teach or suggest an SLM device that would receive a set of input data as electrical signals via electrical wires. Instead, in Dolgoff, the RF signals are received via antenna elements, such as antenna elements 1410 depicted in FIG. 14 of Dolgoff” (1st complete para. on p. 8 of the Remarks).
The Examiner notes that Applicant’s description of the Dolgoff reference is incomplete. The antennae 1410 receive (from free space) signals from RF sources/emitters and convert the received RF signals into RF voltages and apply the RF voltages to the (downstream) electro-optic modulator array 1420 (Mach-Zehnder modulators) in order to electro-optically modulate light from the laser source 1430, as shown in the lower portion of Fig. 14 (para. 0177). While it is well known that an RF antenna can be electrically coupled/connected to an electro-optic modulator by using an electrical wire, Dolgoff does not detail electrical connectors/conduits between the antennae 1410 and respective electro-optic modulators 1420. As such, the Examiner applies an additional reference by Zheng et al (CN 107664720 A) that has been yielded by an updated prior art search, discloses (Fig. 3) an electro-optic Mach-Zehnder modulator, and explicitly illustrates that it is electrically coupled/connected to an RF antenna 3 by an electrical wire.
(b) Applicant further argues that “Even assuming that the RF signals in Dolgoff may be associated with the recited input data, which Applicant does not concede, Dolgoff's system does not receive the input data in the form of electrical signals via electrical wires. Instead, in the system of Dolgoff's Fig. 14, antenna elements 1410 receive those data in the form of RF signals that are utilized by MZI modulators 1420 to produce sidebands of an optical carrier beam” (3rd complete para. on p. 8).
The Examiner notes that the antennae 1410 receive (from free space) signals from RF sources/emitters and convert the received RF signals into RF voltages, the latter containing data transmitted by the RF signals. Indeed, Dolgoff teaches that the RF signals are properly configured so as to produce a holographic effect that results in an aggregate RF filed localized within an intended region. Dolgoff details (Fig. 13C; para. 0022, 0166, and 0167; claim 1) that each RF source is configured by using data (applied to the modulator array 1370) in order to properly configure a frequency and the spatial distributions of the amplitude and phase of the emitted RF signals (“A computer is employed to calculate the Fourier series of sine waves needed to produce a desired complex wave (representing an existing or an imagined energy distribution), and if those sine waves are added back together they will produce that same complex wave, even if the complex wave was initially just imagined and never physically existed before. With that data, a computer can generate the data for a holographic interference pattern (a computer generated hologram) that will define the sine waves that are required to be added together to produce any complex wave pattern of energy in space. Such a computer-generated hologram (“CGH”), when properly illuminated, can alter and redirect the illumination to provide the aforementioned sine waves of any amplitude, frequency, or phase required, as dictated by the Fourier analysis calculation, and they can be sent in any directions required (by holographic reconstruction from a hologram), to produce the final desired complex wave energy pattern in space” at para. 0022: “The computer generated electronic modulation signals sent to the lithium niobate modulators in the array 1370 directly alter the amplitude and phase of the output beams 1387 exiting the linear polarizer 1375” at para. 01666, emphasis added).
The Examiner also notes that the limitation “input data” has a very board scope, as was discussed in the interview on 12/16/25.
New claim 24 has a scope similar to that of claim 1 and has the limitation “the set of input data in the form of predetermined data”. Again, the limitation has a very board scope under the BRI and is met the applied prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 7, 9, 10, and 22 – 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolgoff (US 2021/0138257 A1) in view of Wight et al (US 5,239,598), and further in view of Zheng et al (CN 107664720 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 24, Dolgoff discloses (Fig. 14; para. 0177 – 0180) a spatial light modulating (SLM) device comprising:
at least one optical input (from a laser 1430; para. 0177);
at least one optical output;
a first module comprising;
a first plurality of single mode waveguides 1440 (fibers 1440 arranged into a first (2D) array; para. 0143), wherein each of the first plurality of single mode waveguides/fibers 1440 is coupled to the at least one optical input (from the laser 1430 and a downstream splitter) to receive coherent light from the at least one optical input; and
at least one light modulating element 1420 (2D array of modulators; para. 0177 and 0178) for modulating the received coherent light passing through at least one of the first plurality of single mode waveguides/fibers 1440 based on a set of input data (contained in the RF signals from antennae 1410; see a detailed explanation below) to generate a modulated light (para. 0177 and 0178); and
a plurality of photodetectors 1498 (a 2D array of photodetectors; para. 0180),
wherein:
each of the first plurality of single mode waveguides/fibers 1440 is also coupled to a free space region occupied at least in part by a vacuum, gas, liquid, or solid medium (with a lens 1496 that performs an optical Fourier transform),
each of the plurality of first single mode waveguides is configured to emit the modulated light into the free space region (as seen in the upper portion of Fig. 14),
each of the plurality of photodetectors 1496 is coupled to the free space region (as seen in the upper portion of Fig. 14),
the plurality of photo-detectors 1498 are integrated as a common module,
the SLM device is configured to provide a Fourier transform arrangement between the first plurality of single mode waveguides/fibers 1440 and the plurality of photodetectors 1496 such that the plurality of photodetectors 1496 receive from the free space region a Fourier transform (produced by the lens 1496) of the modulated light emitted into the free space region by the first plurality of single mode waveguides/fibers 1440; para. 0179), and
the plurality photodetectors 1498 convert the light received from the lens 1496 into electrical signals representing a Fourier transform of the set of input data (in the RF signals; “The optical lens produces an optical Fourier-transform making it quick and easy to spatially process the complex RF signals over the entire array-antenna aperture” at para. 0176; also para. 0180).
Dolgoff illustrates an embodiment implemented by using fiber-optic and bulk-optic elements and does not illustrate an embodiment with integrated-optic waveguides for the first plurality of (input) waveguides (in lieu of the fibers 1440) and a second plurality of single mode waveguides (to receive light form the lens 1496 and direct it to the plurality of detectors 1498). However, Wight discloses (Figs. 1, 10, 16, 22, and 26; 22:15 – 23:18) an SLM device 200 comprising:
at least one optical input 230;
at least one optical output (from output waveguides 222);
a first module comprising;
a first plurality of single mode waveguides 206 arranged into a first array (as seen in Fig. 16; 22:21 – 28); the first plurality of waveguides 206 being and enclosed in a first chip, wherein each of the first plurality of single mode waveguides is coupled to the at least one optical input 230 to receive coherent light from the at least one optical input 230 (as seen in Fig. 16); and
at least one light modulating element (modulators comprising electrodes 210) for modulating the received coherent light passing through at least one of the first plurality of single mode waveguides 206 based on a set of input data (applied to pads 212) to generate a modulated light;
a second module comprising a second plurality of single mode waveguides 222 arranged into a second array and enclosed in a second chip; and
a plurality of photodetectors (418 in Fig. 22; 510 in Fig. 26),
wherein:
the first plurality of single mode waveguides 206 and the at least one light modulating element 210 are integrated as a common module (as seen in Fig. 16),
each of the first plurality of single mode waveguides is also coupled to a free space region 224 occupied at least in part by a vacuum, gas, liquid, or solid medium (22:40 – 54),
each of the plurality of first single mode waveguides 206 is configured to emit the modulated light into the free space region,
each of the second plurality of single mode waveguides is coupled to the free space region 224,
each of the second plurality of single mode waveguides 222 is also coupled to a respective photodetector of the plurality of photo-detectors (as evident from Figs. 16, and 22), the plurality of photo-detectors are integrated as a common module with the second plurality of single mode waveguides 222 (“the receive waveguides 222 might terminate at respective detectors providing electrical signals for subsequent processing” at 23:16 – 18).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the single mode fibers 1440 in Dolgoff can be implemented, in accordance with the teachings of Wight, as the first plurality of (input) integrated-optic waveguides and that the plurality of detectors 1498 can be optically coupled to the lens 1496 via a second plurality of integrated- optic single mode waveguides, as a suitable arrangement suggested by Wight. The motivation for using such integrated-optic modules is that they can have a greatly reduced size compared to fiber-optic and bulk-optic elements in Dolgoff and be controlled/modulated by much lower voltages (e.g., 4:29 – 65 of Wight).
The Dolgoff – Wight combination considers an SLM implemented in an integrated-optic embodiment wherein the first plurality of integrated-optic single mode waveguides is enclosed in a first chip, a second module comprise a second plurality of integrated-optic single mode waveguides arranged into a second array and enclosed in a second chip, each of the second plurality of single mode waveguides is coupled to a respective photodetector of the plurality of photo-detectors, and that the plurality of photo-detectors are integrated as a common module with the second plurality of single mode waveguides.
Further, Dolgoff discloses that the antennae 1410 receive (from free space) signals from RF sources/emitters and convert the received RF signals into RF voltages and apply the RF voltages to the (downstream) electro-optic modulator array 1420 (Mach-Zehnder modulators) in order to electro-optically modulate light from the laser source 1430, as shown in the lower portion of Fig. 14 (para. 0177). While it is well known that an RF antenna can be electrically coupled/connected to an electro-optic modulator by using an electrical wire, Dolgoff does not detail electrical connectors/conduits between the antennae 1410 and respective electro-optic modulators 1420. However, Zheng discloses (Fig. 3; para. 0006, 0007, and 0013 – 0015) an electro-optic Mach-Zehnder modulator and explicitly illustrates that it is electrically coupled/connected to an RF antenna 3 by an electrical wire. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the SLM of the Dolgoff – Wight combination can comprise electrical wires configured to receive a set of input data (from the antennae 1410) and to deliver the set of input data to the at least one light modulating element (a Mach-Zehnder modulator(s) 1420), as needed for proper operation (electro-optic modulation/up-conversion) so that the set of input data received by the SLM device in the form of electrical signals is used to generate a modulated light.
As relevant comments, the following is also noted:
(i) The antennae 1410 receive (from free space) signals from RF sources/emitters and convert the received RF signals into RF voltages, the latter containing data transmitted by the RF signals. Indeed, Dolgoff teaches that the RF signals are properly configured so as to produce a holographic effect that results in an aggregate RF filed localized within an intended region. Dolgoff details (Fig. 13C; para. 0022, 0166, and 0167; claim 1) that each RF source is configured by using data (applied to the modulator array 1370) in order to properly configure a frequency and the spatial distributions of the amplitude and phase of the emitted RF signals (“A computer is employed to calculate the Fourier series of sine waves needed to produce a desired complex wave (representing an existing or an imagined energy distribution), and if those sine waves are added back together they will produce that same complex wave, even if the complex wave was initially just imagined and never physically existed before. With that data, a computer can generate the data for a holographic interference pattern (a computer generated hologram) that will define the sine waves that are required to be added together to produce any complex wave pattern of energy in space. Such a computer-generated hologram (“CGH”), when properly illuminated, can alter and redirect the illumination to provide the aforementioned sine waves of any amplitude, frequency, or phase required, as dictated by the Fourier analysis calculation, and they can be sent in any directions required (by holographic reconstruction from a hologram), to produce the final desired complex wave energy pattern in space” at para. 0022: “The computer generated electronic modulation signals sent to the lithium niobate modulators in the array 1370 directly alter the amplitude and phase of the output beams 1387 exiting the linear polarizer 1375” at para. 01666, emphasis added).
(ii) The limitations “input data” and “the set of input data in the form of predetermined data” have board scopes and are met by Dolgoff, as detailed above.
In light of the foregoing analysis, the Dolgoff – Wight – Zheng combination teaches expressly or renders obvious all of the recited limitations.
Regarding claim 2, the Dolgoff – Wight – Zheng combination considers that the first module has an electro-optic interconnection for connection to a processing system (comprising antennae 1410 and RF sources, as shown in Fig. 14 of Dolgoff).
Regarding claim 3, the Dolgoff – Wight – Zheng combination considers that the at least one light modulating element of the first module comprises at least one a phase-shifter 1450 (in Fig. 14 of Dolgoff; para. 0177). The Examiner took official notice in the Office Action of 7/29/25 that a wide variety of phase shifters, including thermo-optic phase shifters, were well known in the art. Since Applicant has not traversed the official notice, the fact of common knowledge has become applicant admitted prior art. Thermo-optic phase shifters would be a suitable/workable type for the phase-shifters 1450.
Regarding claim 4, the Dolgoff – Wight – Zheng combination considers that the first (input) module further includes a surface with contiguous emitters located across at least two dimensions of the surface (according to a 2D array of emitter in Fig. 14 of Dolgoff); and the surface of the contiguous emitters of the first module further comprises a micro-lens array (corresponding to microlenses 564,566 in Fig. 27 of Wight; 31:36 – 59) for capturing the modulated light after passing through the at least one of the first plurality of waveguides and projects for projecting the captured modulated light towards the free space region occupied in part by a vacuum, gas, liquid, and/or solid medium.
Regarding claim 5, the Dolgoff – Wight – Zheng combination renders obvious that the first plurality of waveguides of the first module can branch out from a single waveguide coupled to the optical input (according to Figs. 16 and 22 of Wight).
Regarding claim 6, the Dolgoff – Wight – Zheng combination considers that the first module integrates the first plurality of waveguides and possesses a light-emitting surface and a light- receiving surface (which are separated by 1.8 mm in Fig. 16 of Wight).
Regarding claim 7, the Dolgoff – Wight – Zheng combination considers an optical processing system comprising a plurality of SLM devices according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the Dolgoff – Wight – Zheng combination considers that at least one of the SLM devices interfaces with an electro-optic carrier (a radio-over-fiber arrangement in Fig. 14 of Dolgoff).
Regarding claim 10, the Dolgoff – Wight – Zheng combination considers that the photo-detection device detects at least one of the following: the phase of light; the amplitude of light; the polarization of light; and the intensity of light.
Regarding claim 22, the Dolgoff – Wight combination considers that the first and second modules can be integral with each other or separate from each other, as a matter suitable/workable design choices. In the latter case, the free space region formed by the first surface of emitters is external from the first chip.
Regarding claims 23 and 26, the Dolgoff – Wight – Zheng combination considers that the light modulating element (Mach-Zehnder modulator) is configured to modulate the light by modulating at least one of phase (in the interferometer arms), intensity, amplitude, and polarization of the light.
Regarding claim 25, the Dolgoff – Wight combination considers that the SLM device further comprises electrical wires (electrically connecting the antennae 1410 and the Mach-Zehnder modulators 1420 in Fig. 13 of Dolgoff) configured to deliver the set of input data (contained in voltages produced by the antennae 1410 by receiving input data contained in the RF signals emitted by the Rf sources) to the at least one light modulating element 1420 (Mach-Zehnder modulators), wherein the at least one light modulating element is further configured to receive input data as electrical signals through the electrical wires (as generally rendered obvious by Dolgoff and explicitly illustrated by Zheng).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT TAVLYKAEV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896