DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26, 28, 29 and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 5,495,769 issued to Broden et al. (“Broden”) in view of U.S. Patent 9,234,776 issued to Strei (“Strei”), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0106648 by Eastoe et al. (“Eastoe”), U.S. Patent 6,267,010 issued to Hatanaka et al. (“Hatanaka”), JP 2015-038841 by Hirose (“Hirose”), U.S. Patent 8,033,175 issued to Sundet et al. (“Sundet”), U.S. Patent 7,441,461 issued to Muth et al. (“Muth”) and CN 205898203 by Jiang et al. (“Jiang”).
As for claim 26, Broden discloses a multivariable transmitter for measuring multiple process fluid variables (Fig. 1), the multivariable transmitter comprising:
a process fluid conduit (4), the process fluid conduit having first and second process fluid penetrations (implicitly provided to sense differential pressure; col. 3,lines 13-15),
a first pressure sensor (52) operably coupled to the first process fluid penetration;
a temperature probe (8, 10) having a temperature sensor (Broden: 8) therein, the temperature sensor (8) being coupled to the measurement circuitry (Broden: 57, 58-64, 72, 80) to provide an indication of process fluid temperature;
a housing (14, 16);
measurement circuitry (57, 58-64, 72, 80) operably coupled to the first pressure sensor (52) disposed within the housing (col. 3, lines 59-61 and col. 4, lines 41-43).
Broden does not explicitly disclose that the process fluid conduit and the housing is constructed from a material suitable for exposure to saltwater.
However, Strei discloses a material suitable (col. 2, line 64 - col. 3, line 9) for exposure to saltwater.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the process fluid conduit and housing of Broden to be constructed of the material as disclosed by Strei in order ensure that the conduit and housing will not corrode or degrade in salt water (Strei: col. 2, lines 61-64).
Broden as modified by Strei does not disclose that the process fluid conduit has a second pressure sensor operably coupled to the second process fluid penetration. Broden discloses that line pressure (via first pressure sensor 52) and differential pressure are measured, and that the differential pressure may be measured using a venturi tube (Broden: col. 3, lines 13-20), but Broden does not specifically disclose a second pressure sensor arranged to perform these measurements in conjunction with a first pressure sensor.
However, Eastoe discloses a second pressure sensor (22, 52) operably coupled to a second process fluid penetration (12), along with a first pressure sensor (21, 51) operably coupled to a first process fluid penetration (11). Eastoe discloses that the first and second pressure sensors are used to measure line pressure and differential pressure (paragraphs [0058] and [0059]), and that the differential pressure is measured using a venturi tube (paragraph [0046]).
Because Broden and Eastoe both disclose structures for measuring line pressure and differential pressure with a venturi tube, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the first and second pressure sensors and venturi tube of Eastoe for the differential pressure sensor and line pressure sensor of Broden to achieve the predictable result of providing structures that measure line pressure and differential pressure.
Broden as modified by Strei and Eastoe discloses a subsea (Strei: col. 2, line 64 - col. 3, line 9) multivariable transmitter for measuring multiple process fluid variables (Broden: Fig. 1), the multivariable transmitter comprising:
a subsea (Strei: col. 2, line 64 - col. 3, line 9) process fluid conduit (Broden: 4 and Eastoe: 101) constructed from a material (Strei: col. 2, line 64 - col. 3, line 9) suitable for exposure to saltwater, the process fluid conduit (Eastoe: 101) having a first internal diameter proximate the first process fluid penetration (Eastoe: at 11; see Fig. 1) and a second internal diameter proximate the second process fluid penetration (Eastoe: at 12; see Fig. 1), wherein the first and second internal diameters are different (Eastoe: see Fig. 1);
a first pressure sensor (Eastoe: 21, 51) operably coupled to a first process fluid penetration (Eastoe: 11) via a first remote seal (Eastoe: paragraph [0056]);
a second pressure sensor (Eastoe: 22, 52) operably coupled to a second process fluid penetration (Eastoe: 12);
a housing (Broden: 16) suitable for exposure to saltwater (Strei: col. 2, line 64 -col. 3, line 9);
measurement circuitry (Broden: 57, 58-64, 72, 80 and Eastoe: 50) operably coupled to the first pressure sensor (Broden: 52 and Eastoe: 21, 51) and the second pressure sensor (Eastoe: 22, 52); and
a temperature probe (Broden: 8, 10) mounted to the subsea process conduit (Broden: see Fig. 1), the temperature probe being spaced form the first and second process fluid penetrations (Broden: see Fig. 1 and Eastoe: see Fig. 1), the temperature probe having a temperature sensor (Broden: 8) therein, the temperature sensor (Broden: 8) being coupled to the measurement circuitry (Broden: 57, 58-64, 72, 80) to provide an indication of process fluid temperature.
Broden as modified by Strei and Eastoe does not disclose that the temperature probe is mounted to the first remote seal.
However, Hatanaka discloses a temperature probe (20) that is mounted to a first remote seal (12).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the temperature probe of Broden, Strei and Eastoe to be mounted to a first remote seal as disclosed by Hatanaka in order to simplify the process of attaching sensors to the conduit (Hatanaka: Abstract).
Although Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe and Hatanaka discloses that the temperature probe (Broden: 8, 10 and Hatanaka: 20) has cabling (Broden: 10 and Hatanaka: 23), Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe and Hatanaka does not disclose that the temperature probe has an outer surface constructed from metal suitable for exposure to the saltwater.
However, Hirose discloses cabling (1E; Fig. 4) that has an outer surface (20E) constructed from metal suitable for exposure to the saltwater (Embodiment 5).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the cabling of the temperature probe of Broden, Strei, Eastoe and Hatanaka to have an outer surface constructed from metal as disclosed by Hirose in order to protect the cabling when it is used underwater (Hirose: Abstract and Embodiment 5).
Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hatanaka and Hirose does not explicitly disclose that the multivariable transmitter is configured to provide an indication of line pressure, differential pressure, and temperature.
However, Sundet discloses a multivariable transmitter (10) that is configured to provide an indication of line pressure, differential pressure, and temperature (see step 416).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the multivariable transmitter of Broden, Strei, Eastoe, Hatanaka and Hirose to provide an indication of line pressure, differential pressure, and temperature as disclosed by Sundet in order to allow a user to monitor the line pressure, differential pressure, and temperature of the process fluid.
Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hatanaka, Hirose and Sundet does not disclose that the outer surface of the temperature probe is welded to the housing.
However, Muth discloses that an outer surface of a temperature probe is welded to a housing (col. 2, lines 6-9).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the outer surface of the temperature probe of Broden, Strei, Eastoe, Hatanaka, Hirose and Sundet to be welded as disclosed by Muth in order to provide a connection that is explosion-protected (Muth: col. 2, lines 6-9).
Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hatanaka, Hirose, Sundet and Muth does not disclose that the temperature probe is mounted within a blind hole of the subsea process conduit.
However, Jiang discloses a temperature probe (9) that is mounted within a blind hole (10) of a process conduit (1).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the temperature probe of Broden, Strei, Eastoe, Hatanaka, Hirose and Sundet and Muth to be mounted in a blind hole as disclosed by Jiang in order to ensure better heat conduction and a better heat measurement (Jiang: see the paragraph beginning “As shown in Fig. 1 …”).
As for claim 28, Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hatanaka, Hirose, Sundet, Muth and Jiang discloses that the second pressure sensor is operably coupled to the second process fluid penetration via a second remote seal (Eastoe: paragraph [0056]).
As for claim 29, Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hatanaka, Hirose, Sundet, Muth and Jiang discloses that the multivariable transmitter is configured to calculate a process fluid flow output based on a signal from the first pressure sensor, a signal from the second pressure sensor, and the indication of process fluid temperature (Broden: col. 1, lines 41-48 and Eastoe: paragraph [0065]).
As for claim 31, Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hatanaka, Hirose, Sundet, Muth and Jiang discloses the multivariable transmitter of claim 26 (see the rejection of claim 26 above).
Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hatanaka, Hirose, Sundet, Muth and Jiang does not disclose a third pressure transmitter as recited.
However, Eastoe discloses a third pressure sensor (31) coupled to a third process fluid penetration (at 13) in a process fluid conduit, the third process fluid penetration being disposed opposite one of the first (at 11) and second process fluid penetrations (see Fig. 1). Easton discloses that third (31) and fourth pressure (32) sensors, and an additional temperature sensor (33) are provided to provide redundancy (Easton: paragraph [0023]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to further modify the multivariable transmitter of Broden, Strei, Eastoe, Hatanaka, Hirose, Sundet, Muth and Jiang to include a third pressure sensor along with a fourth pressure sensor and an additional temperature sensor as disclosed by Easton, in order to provide redundancy (Easton: paragraph [0023]).
As for claim 32, Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hatanaka, Hirose, Sundet, Muth and Jiang discloses a fourth pressure sensor (Eastoe: 32) coupled to a fourth process fluid penetration (Eastoe: at 14), the fourth process fluid penetration being disposed opposite the other (Eastoe: at 12) of the first and second process fluid penetrations (Eastoe: see Fig. 1).
As for claim 33, Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hatanaka, Hirose, Sundet, Muth and Jiang discloses an additional temperature probe (Eastoe: 33) having an additional temperature sensor (Eastoe: 33) therein, the additional temperature being mounted within a second blind hole (Jiang: 10) of the process fluid circuit (Eastoe: see Fig. 1), the additional temperature probe the having an outer surface constructed from a metal suitable for exposure to the saltwater sensor (Hirose: 1E; Fig. 4; 20E; Embodiment 5).
As for claim 34, Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hatanaka, Hirose, Sundet, Muth and Jiang discloses that the third pressure sensor, fourth pressure sensor, and the additional temperature probe provide redundant indications of line pressure, differential pressure, and process fluid temperature (Easton: paragraph [0023]).
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 5,495,769 issued to Broden et al. (“Broden”) in view of U.S. Patent 9,234,776 issued to Strei (“Strei”), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0106648 by Eastoe et al. (“Eastoe”), U.S. Patent 6,267,010 issued to Hatanaka et al. (“Hatanaka”), JP 2015-038841 by Hirose (“Hirose”), U.S. Patent 8,033,175 issued to Sundet et al. (“Sundet”) and U.S. Patent 7,441,461 issued to Muth et al. (“Muth”) as applied to claim 26, further in view of U.S. Patent 8,840,301 issued to Hashemian et al. (“Hashemian”).
As for claim 35, Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hatanaka, Hirose, Sundet, Muth and Jiang discloses the multivariable transmitter of claim 26 (see the rejection of claim 26 above) and that the temperature probe (Broden: 8) is an RTD element (Broden: col. 2, lines 57-59)
Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hatanaka, Hirose, Sundet, Muth and Jiang does not explicitly disclose that the RTD element is a dual element RTD.
However, Hashemian discloses an RTD element that is a dual element type RTD (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the RTD element of Broden, Strei, Eastoe, Hatanaka, Hirose, Sundet and Muth to be a dual element type as disclosed by Hashemian in order to maintain diversity while increasing redundancy in measuring an environment’s temperature (Hashemian: col. 4, line 11-15).
Claims 36, 39 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 5,495,769 issued to Broden et al. (“Broden”) in view of U.S. Patent 9,234,776 issued to Strei (“Strei”), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0106648 by Eastoe et al. (“Eastoe”), JP 2015-038841 by Hirose (“Hirose”), U.S. Patent 4,407,065 issued to Gray (“Gray”), CN 205898203 by Jiang et al. (“Jiang”) and U.S. Patent 7,441,461 issued to Muth et al. (“Muth”).
As for claim 36, Broden discloses a system for measuring multiple process fluid variables (Fig. 1), the system comprising:
a process fluid conduit (4), the process fluid conduit having first and second process fluid penetrations (implicitly provided to sense differential pressure; col. 3,lines 13-15),
a first pressure sensor (52) operably coupled to the first process fluid penetration; and
a first temperature probe (8, 10) having a first temperature sensor (Broden: 8) therein, and
first multivariable transmitter (14, 16) coupled to the first pressure sensor, the second pressure sensor and the first temperature probe (see Fig. 1).
Broden does not explicitly disclose that the process fluid conduit is constructed from a material suitable for exposure to saltwater.
However, Strei discloses a material suitable (col. 2, line 64 - col. 3, line 9) for exposure to saltwater.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the process fluid conduit of Broden to be constructed of the material as disclosed by Strei in order ensure that the conduit will not corrode or degrade in salt water (Strei: col. 2, lines 61-64).
Broden as modified by Strei does not disclose that the process fluid conduit has a second pressure sensor operably coupled to the second process fluid penetration. Broden discloses that line pressure (via first pressure sensor 52) and differential pressure are measured, and that the differential pressure may be measured using a venturi tube (Broden: col. 3, lines 13-20), but Broden does not specifically disclose a second pressure sensor arranged to perform these measurements in conjunction with a first pressure sensor.
However, Eastoe discloses a second pressure sensor (22, 52) operably coupled to a second process fluid penetration (12), along with a first pressure sensor (21, 51) operably coupled to a first process fluid penetration (11). Eastoe discloses that the first and second pressure sensors are used to measure line pressure and differential pressure (paragraphs [0058] and [0059]), and that the differential pressure is measured using a venturi tube (paragraph [0046]).
Because Broden and Eastoe both disclose structures for measuring line pressure and differential pressure with a venturi tube, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the first and second pressure sensors and venturi tube of Eastoe for the differential pressure sensor and line pressure sensor of Broden to achieve the predictable result of providing structures that measure line pressure and differential pressure.
Broden as modified by Strei and Eastoe discloses a process fluid conduit (Broden: 4 and Eastoe: 101) constructed from a material (Strei: col. 2, line 64 - col. 3, line 9) suitable for exposure to saltwater, the process fluid conduit (Eastoe: 101) having a first internal diameter proximate the first process fluid penetration (Eastoe: at 11; see Fig. 1) and a second internal diameter proximate the second process fluid penetration (Eastoe: at 12; see Fig. 1), wherein the first and second internal diameters are different (Eastoe: see Fig. 1);
a first pressure sensor (Eastoe: 21, 51) operably coupled to a first process fluid penetration (Eastoe: 11) via a first remote seal (Eastoe: paragraph [0056]); and
a second pressure sensor (Eastoe: 22, 52) operably coupled to a second process fluid penetration (Eastoe: 12) via a second remote seal (Eastoe: paragraph [0056]);
a first temperature probe (Broden: 8, 10) having a first temperature sensor (Broden: 8) therein, and
a first multivariable transmitter (Broden: 14, 16) coupled to the first pressure sensor, the second pressure sensor and the first temperature probe (Broden: see Fig. 1), wherein the first temperature probe (Broden: 8, 10) is coupled to the first multivariable transmitter by a cable (Broden: 10).
Broden as modified by Strei and Eastoe does not disclose that the first temperature probe has an outer surface constructed from metal suitable for exposure to the saltwater.
However, Hirose discloses cabling (1E; Fig. 4) that has an outer surface (20E) constructed from metal suitable for exposure to the saltwater (Embodiment 5).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the cabling of the first temperature probe of Broden, Strei and Eastoe to have an outer surface constructed from metal as disclosed by Hirose in order to protect the cabling when it is used underwater (Hirose: Abstract and Embodiment 5).
Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe and Hirose does not explicitly disclose that the cable is mineral-insulated.
However, Gray discloses a cable that is mineral-insulated (Abstract and col. 7, lines 18-25).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the cable of Broden, Strei, Eastoe and Hirose to be mineral-insulated as disclosed by Gray in order to provide enhanced tensile strength and to provide protection against corrosion and pressure (Gray: col. 7, lines 18-22).
Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hirose and Gray does not disclose that the first temperature probe is mounted within a blind hole of the subsea process conduit.
However, Jiang discloses a first temperature probe (9) that is mounted within a blind hole (10) of a process conduit (1).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the first temperature probe of Broden, Strei, Eastoe, Hirose and Gray to be mounted in a blind hole as disclosed by Jiang in order to ensure better heat conduction and a better heat measurement (Jiang: see the paragraph beginning “As shown in Fig. 1 …”).
Broden as presently modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hirose, Gray and Jiang does not disclose a third pressure sensor, a fourth pressure sensor, and a second temperature probe as recited.
However, Eastoe discloses a third pressure sensor (31) coupled to a third process fluid penetration (at 13) in a process fluid conduit, the third process fluid penetration being disposed opposite one of the first (at 11) and second process fluid penetrations (see Fig. 1);
a fourth pressure sensor (Eastoe: 32) coupled to a fourth process fluid penetration (Eastoe: at 14), the fourth process fluid penetration being disposed opposite the other (Eastoe: at 12) of the first and second process fluid penetrations (Eastoe: see Fig. 1); and
a second temperature probe (Eastoe: 33) having a second temperature sensor (Eastoe: 33) therein, the second temperature sensor the having an outer surface constructed from a metal suitable for exposure to the saltwater sensor (Hirose: 1E; Fig. 4; 20E; Embodiment 5).
Easton discloses that third (31) and fourth pressure (32) sensors, and the second temperature sensor (33) are provided to provide redundancy (Easton: paragraph [0023]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to further modify the system of Broden, Strei, Eastoe, Hirose, Gray and Jiang to include a third pressure sensor, a fourth pressure sensor, and a second temperature sensor as disclosed by Easton in order to provide redundancy (Easton: paragraph [0023]).
Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hirose, Gray and Jiang discloses:
a process fluid conduit (Broden: 4 and Eastoe: 101) constructed from a material (Strei: col. 2, line 64 - col. 3, line 9) suitable for exposure to saltwater, the process fluid conduit (Eastoe: 101) having a first internal diameter proximate the first process fluid penetration (Eastoe: at 11; see Fig. 1) and a second internal diameter proximate the second process fluid penetration (Eastoe: at 12; see Fig. 1), wherein the first and second internal diameters are different (Eastoe: see Fig. 1);
a first pressure sensor (Eastoe: 21, 51) operably coupled to a first process fluid penetration (Eastoe: 11) via a first remote seal (Eastoe: paragraph [0056]);
a second pressure sensor (Eastoe: 22, 52) operably coupled to a second process fluid penetration (Eastoe: 12) via a second remote seal (Eastoe: paragraph [0056]);
a third pressure sensor (31) coupled to a third process fluid penetration (at 13) via a third remote seal (Eastoe: paragraph [0056]) , the third process fluid penetration being disposed opposite one of the first (at 11) and second process fluid penetrations (see Fig. 1);
a fourth pressure sensor (Eastoe: 32) coupled to a fourth process fluid penetration (Eastoe: at 14) via a fourth remote seal (Eastoe: paragraph [0056]), the fourth process fluid penetration being disposed opposite the other (Eastoe: at 12) of the first and second process fluid penetrations (Eastoe: see Fig. 1);
a first temperature probe (Broden: 8, 10) having a first temperature sensor (Broden: 8) therein,
a first multivariable transmitter (Broden: 14, 16) coupled to the first pressure sensor, the second pressure sensor and the first temperature probe (Broden: see Fig. 1), wherein the first temperature probe (Broden: 8) is coupled to the first multivariable transmitter by a mineral-insulated cable (Gray: Abstract and col. 7, lines 18-25) that has an outer metallic surface that is suitable for exposure to saltwater (Hirose: 1E; Fig. 4; 20E; Embodiment 5);
a second temperature probe (Eastoe: 33) having a second temperature sensor (Eastoe: 33) therein,
a second multivariable transmitter (Broden: 14, 16 and Eastoe: Fig. 1) coupled to the third pressure sensor, the fourth pressure sensor and the second temperature probe (Broden: see Fig. 1), wherein the second temperature probe (Broden: 8) is coupled to the second multivariable transmitter by a mineral-insulated cable (Gray: Abstract and col. 7, lines 18-25) that has an outer metallic surface that is suitable for exposure to saltwater (Hirose: 1E; Fig. 4; 20E; Embodiment 5).
Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hirose, Gray and Jiang does not disclose that the outer surface of the first temperature probe is welded to a housing of the first multivariable transmitter.
However, Muth discloses that an outer surface of a temperature probe is welded to a housing (col. 2, lines 6-9).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the outer surface of the temperature probe of Broden, Strei, Eastoe, Hirose, Gray and Jiang to be welded as disclosed by Muth in order to provide a connection that is explosion-protected (Muth: col. 2, lines 6-9).
Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hirose, Gray, Jiang and Muth discloses that the outer surface of the second temperature probe is welded to a housing of the second multivariable transmitter (Muth: col. 2, lines 6-9).
As for claim 39, Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hirose, Gray, Jiang and Muth discloses that the multivariable transmitter is configured to calculate a process fluid flow output based on a signal from the first pressure sensor, a signal from the second pressure sensor, and the indication of process fluid temperature (Broden: col. 1, lines 41-48 and Eastoe: paragraph [0065]).
As for claim 44, Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hirose, Gray, Jiang and Muth discloses the first and second blind holes are disposed on opposite sides of the process fluid circuit (Eastoe: see Fig.1 ).
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 5,495,769 issued to Broden et al. (“Broden”) in view of U.S. Patent 9,234,776 issued to Strei (“Strei”), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0106648 by Eastoe et al. (“Eastoe”), JP 2015-038841 by Hirose (“Hirose”), U.S. Patent 4,407,065 issued to Gray (“Gray”), CN 205898203 by Jiang et al. (“Jiang”) and U.S. Patent 7,441,461 issued to Muth et al. (“Muth”) as applied to claim 36, further in view of U.S. Patent 8,840,301 issued to Hashemian et al. (“Hashemian”).
As for claim 38, Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hirose, Gray, Jiang and Muth discloses the multivariable transmitter of claim 36 (see the rejection of claim 36 above) and that at least one of the first temperature sensor and the second temperature sensor (Broden: 8) is an RTD element (Broden: col. 2, lines 57-59)
Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hirose, Gray, Jiang and Muth does not explicitly disclose that the RTD element is a dual element RTD.
However, Hashemian discloses an RTD element that is a dual element type RTD (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the RTD element of Broden, Strei, Eastoe, Hirose, Gray, Jiang and Muth to be a dual element type as disclosed by Hashemian in order to maintain diversity while increasing redundancy in measuring an environment’s temperature (Hashemian: col. 4, line 11-15).
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 5,495,769 issued to Broden et al. (“Broden”) in view of U.S. Patent 9,234,776 issued to Strei (“Strei”), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0106648 by Eastoe et al. (“Eastoe”), JP 2015-038841 by Hirose (“Hirose”), U.S. Patent 4,407,065 issued to Gray (“Gray”), CN 205898203 by Jiang et al. (“Jiang”) and U.S. Patent 7,441,461 issued to Muth et al. (“Muth”) as applied to claim 36, further in view of U.S. Patent 8,033,175 issued to Sundet et al. (“Sundet”).
As for claim 40, Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hirose, Gray, Jiang and Muth discloses the multivariable transmitter of claim 36 (see the rejection of claim 36 above).
Broden as modified by Strei, Eastoe, Hirose, Gray, Jiang and Muth does not explicitly disclose that the multivariable transmitter is configured to provide an indication of line pressure, differential pressure, and temperature.
However, Sundet discloses a multivariable transmitter (10) that is configured to provide an indication of line pressure, differential pressure, and temperature (see step 416).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the multivariable transmitter of Broden, Strei, Eastoe, Hirose, Gray, Jiang and Muth to provide an indication of line pressure, differential pressure, and temperature as disclosed by Sundet in order to allow a user to monitor the line pressure, differential pressure, and temperature of the process fluid.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 26 and 36 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN N OLAMIT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853