DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-45 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10, 12-13, 19-22, 30-31, 37, and 40-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by SHIMEZAWA; KAZUYUKI et al. US PGPUB 20160029351 A1, in view of Gollamudi, Sridhar et al. US 20050265250 A1, further in view of KIM; Younsun et al. US PGPUB 20130265955 A1.
Regarding claim 1. Shimezawa teaches A method of wireless communication comprising:
selecting a reference signal configuration from a plurality of reference signal configurations, (Fig. 8, [0212] In a case where the transmission mode configured by the base station 100 is the first transmission mode, in Step S13, the terminal 200 selects the first DMRS as the DMRS used in processing on the channel. In a case where the transmission mode configured by the base station 100 is the second transmission mode, in Step S14, the terminal 200 selects the second DMRS as the DMRS used in processing on the channel.)
the plurality of reference signal configurations associated with a plurality of reference signal density configurations ([0151] However, the second DMRS is mapped onto a plurality of resource elements which are separate from each other as far as possible in the time direction in one resource block pair, in comparison with the first DMRS.) and a plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines, ([0151] (x) A terminal may perform interpolation processing by using the resource element onto which the reference signal is mapped, and estimate a channel for a resource element onto which the reference signal is not mapped.
… Thus, it is possible to suppress an increase of the number of resource elements for which channel estimation is performed by extrapolation. As a result, it is possible to improve estimation accuracy of overall channels for the resource elements in one resource block pair by using the second DMRS.)
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), an indication of the selected reference signal configuration ([0189] The transmission mode is information indicating a transmission method for the base station 100 communicating with the terminal 200. The transmission mode is defined in advance as Transmission Modes 1 to 11. The transmission mode is configured in the terminal 200 through RRC signaling from the base station 100.), the indication of the selected reference signal configuration indicating a reference signal density configuration of the plurality of reference signal density configurations (see Fig. 8, Transmission mode determines selecting first or second DMRS) and the indication of the selected reference signal configuration indicating a downlink data decoding processing timeline of the plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines for communicating with the UE. (see [0151] first and second DMRS determines using interpolation or extrapolation method of channel estimation, e.g. “[0151] (x) A terminal may perform interpolation processing by using the resource element onto which the reference signal is mapped, and estimate a channel for a resource element onto which the reference signal is not mapped. In resource elements (for example, in the example of FIG. 6, resource elements having the OFDM symbol number of 0 and 1 in the first slot) on the outside of the resource element onto which the reference signal is mapped, channel estimation is performed by extrapolation and thus estimation accuracy may be deteriorated. However, the second DMRS is mapped onto a plurality of resource elements which are separate from each other as far as possible in the time direction in one resource block pair,)
Shimezawa does not teach
and the plurality of reference signal density configurations corresponding to a plurality of demodulation reference signal quantities within a transmission time interval;
the plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines associated with different process times for transmission of acknowledgment of a downlink transmission after the end of the downlink transmission;
However, Kim teaches
the plurality of reference signal density configurations corresponding to a plurality of demodulation reference signal quantities within a transmission time interval; (Fig. 5 and Fig. 8, [0094] The DMRS resource size, assigned DMRS group, and allocated DMRS port included in the DMRS allocation information are notified to the UE as summarized in Tables 2 and 3.. see table 2 and 3 on page 6)
in order to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density
Shimezawa and Kim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of DMRS density configuration in Kim in order to to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density
Shimezawa and Kim does not teach
the plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines associated with different process times for transmission of acknowledgment of a downlink transmission after the end of the downlink transmission;
However, Gollamudi teaches
the plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines associated with different process times for transmission of acknowledgment of a downlink transmission after the end of the downlink transmission; ([0025] Channel estimates .sub.l(n) may be a one-shot estimate, or may be an interpolated channel estimate or a Wiener filter-based estimate for the l.sup.th finger. In an effort to make ACK/NACK decisions available as early as possible to the NodeB scheduler, the channel estimate may be assumed to be causal. The channel estimate may also be non-causal, such as a look-ahead smoothed estimate, at the expense of additional processing delay.)
in order to reduce delay in ACK/NACK processing (Id.)
Shimezawa and Gollamudi are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of different channel estimation techniques in Gollamudi in order to reduce the delay in ACK/NACK processing.
Regarding claim 2. Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teach The method of claim 1, and Shimezawa and Gollamudi do not teach wherein the plurality of reference signal density configurations comprise a plurality of demodulation reference signal positions within a transmit time interval
However, Kim teaches
wherein the plurality of reference signal density configurations comprise a plurality of demodulation reference signal positions within a transmit time interval (Fig. 5 and Fig. 8, [0094] The DMRS resource size, assigned DMRS group, and allocated DMRS port included in the DMRS allocation information are notified to the UE as summarized in Tables 2 and 3.. see table 2 and 3 on page 6)
in order to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density
Shimezawa and Kim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of DMRS density configuration in Kim in order to to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density
Regarding claim 3. Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teach The method of claim 1, and Shimezawa teaches further comprising: transmitting, by the base station, a downlink data burst including reference signals and data in accordance with the first reference signal density configuration. ([0048] The DMRS for a PDSCH may be transmitted by using the antenna ports 7 to 14 and the antenna ports 7A to 14A, and be used for modulation of the PDSCH by the terminal 200. A DMRS for a PDSCH which is transmitted through the antenna port 7 to 14 is also referred to as a first DMRS for a PDSCH. A DMRS for a PDSCH which is transmitted through the antenna port 7A to 14A is also referred to as a second DMRS for a PDSCH. The antenna ports 7 to 14 and the antenna ports 7A to 14A are independent antenna ports from each other. That is, the first DMRS for a PDSCH and the second DMRS for a PDSCH are independent DMRSs for a PDSCH from each other.)
Regarding claim 10, Shimezawa teaches A method of wireless communication comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE), an indication of a reference signal configuration ([0189] The transmission mode is information indicating a transmission method for the base station 100 communicating with the terminal 200. The transmission mode is defined in advance as Transmission Modes 1 to 11. The transmission mode is configured in the terminal 200 through RRC signaling from the base station 100.) the indication of the reference signal configuration indicating a reference signal density configuration of a plurality of reference signal density configurations and indicating a downlink data decoding processing timeline of a plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines, (see Fig. 8, Transmission mode determines selecting first or second DMRS) and the indication of the reference signal configuration indicating a downlink data decoding processing timeline of the plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines for communicating with the UE. (see [0151] first and second DMRS determines using interpolation or extrapolation method of channel estimation, e.g. “[0151] (x) A terminal may perform interpolation processing by using the resource element onto which the reference signal is mapped, and estimate a channel for a resource element onto which the reference signal is not mapped. In resource elements (for example, in the example of FIG. 6, resource elements having the OFDM symbol number of 0 and 1 in the first slot) on the outside of the resource element onto which the reference signal is mapped, channel estimation is performed by extrapolation and thus estimation accuracy may be deteriorated. However, the second DMRS is mapped onto a plurality of resource elements which are separate from each other as far as possible in the time direction in one resource block pair,)
receiving one or more reference signals and data in accordance with the indicated reference signal configuration; ([0049] The first DMRS for a PDSCH and the second DMRS for a PDSCH may be transmitted by using the same antenna port.)
and decoding the data (Fig. 2, [0057] The PDSCH processing section 230 includes a channel equalization unit 231, a demodulation unit 232, and a decoding unit 233.) based at least in part on the indicated downlink data decoding processing timeline. ([0064] The channel equalization unit 231 performs channel equalization (channel compensation) on the PDSCH by using the PDSCH input from the separation unit 203 and the channel estimation value input from the channel estimation unit 204.
[0060] The channel estimation unit 204 performs channel estimation for the PDCCH, the EPDCCH, and/or the PDSCH by using a reference signal. The channel estimation for the PDCCH is performed by using a cell-specific reference signal. The channel estimation for the EPDCCH is performed by using a DMRS for an EPDCCH. The channel estimation for the PDSCH is performed by using a DMRS for a PDSCH.
Shimezawa does not teach
and the plurality of reference signal density configurations corresponding to a plurality of demodulation reference signal quantities within a transmission time interval;
the plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines associated with different process times for transmission of acknowledgment of a downlink transmission after the end of the downlink transmission;
However, Kim teaches
the plurality of reference signal density configurations corresponding to a plurality of demodulation reference signal quantities within a transmission time interval; (Fig. 5 and Fig. 8, [0094] The DMRS resource size, assigned DMRS group, and allocated DMRS port included in the DMRS allocation information are notified to the UE as summarized in Tables 2 and 3.. see table 2 and 3 on page 6)
in order to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density
Shimezawa and Kim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of DMRS density configuration in Kim in order to to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density
Shimezawa and Kim do not teach
the plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines associated with different process times for transmission of acknowledgment of a downlink transmission after the end of the downlink transmission;
However, Gollamudi teaches
the plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines associated with different process times for transmission of acknowledgment of a downlink transmission after the end of the downlink transmission; ([0025] Channel estimates .sub.l(n) may be a one-shot estimate, or may be an interpolated channel estimate or a Wiener filter-based estimate for the l.sup.th finger. In an effort to make ACK/NACK decisions available as early as possible to the NodeB scheduler, the channel estimate may be assumed to be causal. The channel estimate may also be non-causal, such as a look-ahead smoothed estimate, at the expense of additional processing delay.)
in order to reduce delay in ACK/NACK processing (Id.)
Shimezawa and Gollamudi are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of different channel estimation techniques in Gollamudi in order to reduce the delay in ACK/NACK processing.
Regarding claim 12. Shimezawa and Kim and Gollamudi teach The method of claim 10, and Shimezawa and Gollamudi do not teach wherein the plurality of reference signal density configurations comprise a plurality of demodulation reference signal positions within a transmit time interval
However, Kim teaches
wherein the plurality of reference signal density configurations comprise a plurality of demodulation reference signal positions within a transmit time interval (Fig. 5 and Fig. 8, [0094] The DMRS resource size, assigned DMRS group, and allocated DMRS port included in the DMRS allocation information are notified to the UE as summarized in Tables 2 and 3.. see table 2 and 3 on page 6)
in order to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density
Shimezawa and Kim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of DMRS density configuration in Kim in order to to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density
Shimezawa and Kim does not teach
the plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines associated with different process times for transmission of acknowledgment of a downlink transmission after the end of the downlink transmission;
Regarding claim 13. Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teach The method of claim 10, and Shimezawa teaches the plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines are associated with extrapolation ([0151] it is possible to suppress an increase of the number of resource elements for which channel estimation is performed by extrapolation. ) and interpolation wireless channel estimation techniques. ([0151] (x) A terminal may perform interpolation processing by using the resource element onto which the reference signal is mapped,)
Regarding claim 19, 21 and 22 Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teaches An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; (Shimezawa [0339] A program which relates to the above-described embodiments and is operated in the base station 100 and the terminal 200 is a program (program causing a computer to perform functions) for controlling a CPU and the like such that the functions of the above-described embodiments according to the present invention are realized.) one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the code ([0339]) to cause the apparatus to perform the method in claim 1-3, respectively. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 20 and 30 and 31, Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teaches An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Shimezawa [0339] A program which relates to the above-described embodiments and is operated in the base station 100 and the terminal 200 is a program (program causing a computer to perform functions) for controlling a CPU and the like such that the functions of the above-described embodiments according to the present invention are realized.); one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the code ([0339]) cause the apparatus to perform the method in claim 10 and 12 and 13. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 37, Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teach the apparatus of claim 20, and Shimezawa teaches included in a mobile device. ([0019] FIG. 2 is a schematic block diagram illustrating a structure of a terminal according to this embodiment.)
Regarding claim 40, Shimezawa and Gollamudi teaches The apparatus of claim 19, Shimezawa and Gollamudi do not teach wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a first downlink transmission comprising one or more demodulation reference signals and data in accordance with the indicated reference signal configuration; and receive an acknowledgment message in the uplink transmission that follows and end of the first downlink transmission based at least in part on the the indicated downlink data decoding processing timeline.
However, Kim teaches
transmit a first downlink transmission comprising one or more demodulation reference signals and data in accordance with the indicated reference signal configuration; ([0134] Otherwise, if the UE determines that the UE has received the DMRS resource configuration information of cell B through higher layer signaling at step 1110, the UE proceeds to step 1130 at which the UE configures the DMRS resource size as signaled and receives the allocated DMRS group and DMRS port(s) information based on the DMRS resource size. Thereafter, the UE proceeds to step 1140 at which the UE receives PDSCH using the assigned DMRS port(s) based on the signaled DMRS resource size.) and
receive an acknowledgment message in the uplink transmission that follows and end of the first downlink transmission based at least in part on the the indicated downlink data decoding processing timeline. ([0061] 5. Other control channels (e.g., Physical Hybrid-ARQ Indicator Channel (PHICH), Physical Control Format Indicator Channel (PCFICH), PDCCH, and the like): Used for the UE to transmit the control information necessary for receiving PDSCH or Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) ACK/NACK corresponding to the uplink data transmission.)
in order to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density
Shimezawa and Kim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of DMRS density configuration in Kim in order to to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density
Regarding claim 41. Shimezawa teaches The apparatus of claim 20, but Shimezawa and Gollamudi do not teach the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: receive a first downlink transmission comprising the one or more demodulation reference signals and the data in accordance with the indicated reference signal configuration; and transmit an acknowledgment in an uplink transmission that follows an end of the first downlink transmission, based at least in part on the indicated downlink data decoding processing timeline.
However, Kim teaches
receive a first downlink transmission comprising the one or more demodulation reference signals and the data in accordance with the indicated reference signal configuration; ([0134] Otherwise, if the UE determines that the UE has received the DMRS resource configuration information of cell B through higher layer signaling at step 1110, the UE proceeds to step 1130 at which the UE configures the DMRS resource size as signaled and receives the allocated DMRS group and DMRS port(s) information based on the DMRS resource size. Thereafter, the UE proceeds to step 1140 at which the UE receives PDSCH using the assigned DMRS port(s) based on the signaled DMRS resource size.) and
transmit an acknowledgment in an uplink transmission that follows an end of the first downlink transmission, based at least in part on the indicated downlink data decoding processing timeline. ([0061] 5. Other control channels (e.g., Physical Hybrid-ARQ Indicator Channel (PHICH), Physical Control Format Indicator Channel (PCFICH), PDCCH, and the like): Used for the UE to transmit the control information necessary for receiving PDSCH or Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) ACK/NACK corresponding to the uplink data transmission.)
in order to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density
Shimezawa and Kim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of DMRS density configuration in Kim in order to to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density.
Regarding claim 42. Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teach The apparatus of claim 19, Shimezawa and Gollamudi do not teach wherein the transmission time interval comprises a subframe.
However, Kim teaches wherein the transmission time interval comprises a subframe.
([0085] The DMRS port information sent a UE changes in every transmission, and the number of DMRS ports can change depending on the scheduling decision of the eNB. For example, the UE may be allocated the DMRS port 1 at the ith subframe and DMRS ports 3 and 4 at the (i+1).sup.th subframe. In this way, the DMRS port allocation is performed depending on the scheduling decision of the eNB and radio resource distribution.)
in order to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density
Shimezawa and Kim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of DMRS density configuration in Kim in order to to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density
Regarding claim 43. Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teach The apparatus of claim 20, Shimezawa and Gollamudi do not teach wherein the transmission time interval comprises a subframe.
However, Kim teaches wherein the transmission time interval comprises a subframe.
([0085] The DMRS port information sent a UE changes in every transmission, and the number of DMRS ports can change depending on the scheduling decision of the eNB. For example, the UE may be allocated the DMRS port 1 at the ith subframe and DMRS ports 3 and 4 at the (i+1).sup.th subframe. In this way, the DMRS port allocation is performed depending on the scheduling decision of the eNB and radio resource distribution.)
in order to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density
Shimezawa and Kim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of DMRS density configuration in Kim in order to to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density
Regarding claim 44. Shimezawa teaches An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the code ([0339] A program which relates to the above-described embodiments and is operated in the base station 100 and the terminal 200 is a program (program causing a computer to perform functions) for controlling a CPU and the like such that the functions of the above-described embodiments according to the present invention are realized.) to cause the apparatus to:
select a reference signal configuration from a plurality of reference signal configurations, (Fig. 8, [0212] In a case where the transmission mode configured by the base station 100 is the first transmission mode, in Step S13, the terminal 200 selects the first DMRS as the DMRS used in processing on the channel. In a case where the transmission mode configured by the base station 100 is the second transmission mode, in Step S14, the terminal 200 selects the second DMRS as the DMRS used in processing on the channel.)
the plurality of reference signal configurations associated with a plurality of reference signal density configurations ([0151] However, the second DMRS is mapped onto a plurality of resource elements which are separate from each other as far as possible in the time direction in one resource block pair, in comparison with the first DMRS.) and a plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines, ([0151] (x) A terminal may perform interpolation processing by using the resource element onto which the reference signal is mapped, and estimate a channel for a resource element onto which the reference signal is not mapped.
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), an indication of the selected reference signal configuration, ([0189] The transmission mode is information indicating a transmission method for the base station 100 communicating with the terminal 200. The transmission mode is defined in advance as Transmission Modes 1 to 11. The transmission mode is configured in the terminal 200 through RRC signaling from the base station 100.) the indication of the selected reference signal configuration indicating a reference signal density configuration of the plurality of reference signal density configurations, (see Fig. 8, Transmission mode determines selecting first or second DMRS) and
the indication of the selected reference signal configuration indicating a downlink data decoding processing timeline of the plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines, for communicating with the UE; (see [0151] first and second DMRS determines using interpolation or extrapolation method of channel estimation, e.g. “[0151] (x) A terminal may perform interpolation processing by using the resource element onto which the reference signal is mapped, and estimate a channel for a resource element onto which the reference signal is not mapped. In resource elements (for example, in the example of FIG. 6, resource elements having the OFDM symbol number of 0 and 1 in the first slot) on the outside of the resource element onto which the reference signal is mapped, channel estimation is performed by extrapolation and thus estimation accuracy may be deteriorated. However, the second DMRS is mapped onto a plurality of resource elements which are separate from each other as far as possible in the time direction in one resource block pair,)
Shimezawa does not teach
the plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines associated with different process times for transmission of acknowledgment of a downlink transmission after the end of the downlink transmission;
transmit a first downlink transmission comprising one or more demodulation reference signals and data in accordance with the indicated reference signal configuration; and
receive an acknowledgment message in an uplink transmission that follows an end of the first downlink transmission based at least in part on the indicated downlink data decoding processing timeline.
However, Kim teaches
transmit a first downlink transmission comprising one or more demodulation reference signals and data in accordance with the indicated reference signal configuration; and ([0036] FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating exemplary structures of an RB with Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) and DMRS from a viewpoint of a UE in a transmission method according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention;
[0119] Referring to FIG. 9, the UE is notified of the DMRS resource size of 4 through higher layer signaling. If one of DMRS groups 1, 2, 3, and 4 is assigned, the corresponding UE assumes that the remaining three DMRS groups are not used for PDSCH transmission.)
receive an acknowledgment message in an uplink transmission that follows an end of the first downlink transmission based at least in part on the indicated downlink data decoding processing timeline. ([0061] 5. Other control channels (e.g., Physical Hybrid-ARQ Indicator Channel (PHICH), Physical Control Format Indicator Channel (PCFICH), PDCCH, and the like): Used for the UE to transmit the control information necessary for receiving PDSCH or Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) ACK/NACK corresponding to the uplink data transmission.)
in order to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density.
Shimezawa and Kim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of DMRS density configuration in Kim in order to to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density.
Shimezawa and Kim do not teach
the plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines associated with different process times for transmission of acknowledgment of a downlink transmission after the end of the downlink transmission;
However, Gollamudi teaches
the plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines associated with different process times for transmission of acknowledgment of a downlink transmission after the end of the downlink transmission; ([0025] Channel estimates .sub.l(n) may be a one-shot estimate, or may be an interpolated channel estimate or a Wiener filter-based estimate for the l.sup.th finger. In an effort to make ACK/NACK decisions available as early as possible to the NodeB scheduler, the channel estimate may be assumed to be causal. The channel estimate may also be non-causal, such as a look-ahead smoothed estimate, at the expense of additional processing delay.)
in order to reduce delay in ACK/NACK processing (Id.)
Shimezawa and Gollamudi are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of different channel estimation techniques in Gollamudi in order to reduce the delay in ACK/NACK processing.
Regarding claim 45. Shimezawa teaches An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; ([0339] A program which relates to the above-described embodiments and is operated in the base station 100 and the terminal 200 is a program (program causing a computer to perform functions) for controlling a CPU and the like such that the functions of the above-described embodiments according to the present invention are realized.) and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (Fig. 2 Information Processing Unit) and operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:
receive an indication of a reference signal configuration, ([0189] The transmission mode is information indicating a transmission method for the base station 100 communicating with the terminal 200. The transmission mode is defined in advance as Transmission Modes 1 to 11. The transmission mode is configured in the terminal 200 through RRC signaling from the base station 100.)
the indication of the reference signal configuration indicating a reference signal density configuration of a plurality of reference signal density configurations, , (see Fig. 8, Transmission mode determines selecting first or second DMRS) and
and the indication of the reference signal configuration indicating a downlink data decoding processing timeline of a plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines, (see [0151] first and second DMRS determines using interpolation or extrapolation method of channel estimation, e.g. “[0151] (x) A terminal may perform interpolation processing by using the resource element onto which the reference signal is mapped, and estimate a channel for a resource element onto which the reference signal is not mapped. In resource elements (for example, in the example of FIG. 6, resource elements having the OFDM symbol number of 0 and 1 in the first slot) on the outside of the resource element onto which the reference signal is mapped, channel estimation is performed by extrapolation and thus estimation accuracy may be deteriorated. However, the second DMRS is mapped onto a plurality of resource elements which are separate from each other as far as possible in the time direction in one resource block pair,)
Shimezawa does not teach
the plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines associated with different process times for transmission of acknowledgment of a downlink transmission after the end of the downlink transmission;
receive a first downlink transmission comprising one or more demodulation reference signals and data in accordance with the indicated reference signal configuration;
decode the data based at least in part on the indicated downlink data decoding processing timeline; and
transmit an acknowledgement message in an uplink transmission that follows an end of the first downlink transmission based at least in part on the indicated data decoding processing timeline.
However, Kim teaches
receive a first downlink transmission comprising one or more demodulation reference signals and data in accordance with the indicated reference signal configuration; ([0036] FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating exemplary structures of an RB with Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) and DMRS from a viewpoint of a UE in a transmission method according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention;
[0119] Referring to FIG. 9, the UE is notified of the DMRS resource size of 4 through higher layer signaling. If one of DMRS groups 1, 2, 3, and 4 is assigned, the corresponding UE assumes that the remaining three DMRS groups are not used for PDSCH transmission.)
decode the data based at least in part on the indicated downlink data decoding processing timeline; ([0064] As aforementioned, the DMRS is precoded along with the PDSCH in the LTE system such that the UE is capable of using the channel estimation value acquired through the channel estimation on the DMRS for decoding PDSCH.) and
transmit an acknowledgement message in an uplink transmission that follows an end of the first downlink transmission based at least in part on the indicated data decoding processing timeline. ([0061] 5. Other control channels (e.g., Physical Hybrid-ARQ Indicator Channel (PHICH), Physical Control Format Indicator Channel (PCFICH), PDCCH, and the like): Used for the UE to transmit the control information necessary for receiving PDSCH or Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) ACK/NACK corresponding to the uplink data transmission.)
in order to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density.
Shimezawa and Kim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of DMRS density configuration in Kim in order to to increase data transmission capability by increasing DRMS density.
Shimezawa and Kim do not teach
the plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines associated with different process times for transmission of acknowledgment of a downlink transmission after the end of the downlink transmission;
However, Gollamudi teaches
the plurality of downlink data decoding processing timelines associated with different process times for transmission of acknowledgment of a downlink transmission after the end of the downlink transmission; ([0025] Channel estimates .sub.l(n) may be a one-shot estimate, or may be an interpolated channel estimate or a Wiener filter-based estimate for the l.sup.th finger. In an effort to make ACK/NACK decisions available as early as possible to the NodeB scheduler, the channel estimate may be assumed to be causal. The channel estimate may also be non-causal, such as a look-ahead smoothed estimate, at the expense of additional processing delay.)
in order to reduce delay in ACK/NACK processing (Id.)
Shimezawa and Gollamudi are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of different channel estimation techniques in Gollamudi in order to reduce the delay in ACK/NACK processing.
Claims 4, 5, 8, 11, 15, 23-24, 27, 29, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi as applied to 1, 10, 19 and 20 above, further in view of BALDEMAIR ROBERT et al. WO 2015038057 A1
Regarding claim 4. Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teaches The method of claim 1, but they do not teach further comprising: receiving, by the base station, an uplink data burst including reference signals and data in accordance with the first reference signal density configuration.
However, Baldemair teaches receiving, by the base station, an uplink data burst including reference signals and data in accordance with the first reference signal density configuration. (see generally Figs. 9-15, e.g. Fig. 9, Data and RS are transmitted in Zone 2, also see Page 4, line 27 “While the solution presented herein is generally described in terms of downlink transmissions from an access point to a radio communication device, the solution presented herein applies equally well to uplink transmissions from the radio communication device to the access point.”)
in order to optimize reference signal transmission by arranging reference signal distribution.
Shimezawa and Baldemair are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of reference signal distribution in Baldemair in order to optimize reference signal transmission.
Regarding claim 5. Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teaches The method of claim 1, but they do not teach determining a Doppler characteristic associated with a wireless channel and the UE; and communicating with the UE in accordance with the indicated reference signal density configuration and based at least in part on the Doppler characteristic.
However, Baldemair teaches further comprising: determining a Doppler characteristic associated with a wireless channel and the UE; (page 10, line 22 “the resource defining circuit 114 may adjust the defined physical layer characteristics with respect to maximum Doppler spread due to mobility, e.g., may increase the number of reference signals as the speed increases. “) and communicating with the UE in accordance with the indicated reference signal density configuration (page 8, line 30, “particular, the transmitter is configured to transmit the data packet according to the defined physical layer characteristics in one or more allocated sub-frames.” and based at least in part on the Doppler characteristic. (page 10, line 22)
in order to optimize reference signal transmission by arranging reference signal distribution.
Shimezawa and Baldemair are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of reference signal distribution in Baldemair in order to optimize reference signal transmission.
Regarding claim 8. Shimezawa, Kim, and Gollamudi teach The method of claim 1, but they do not teach
determining that a Doppler characteristic associated with a wireless channel and the UE satisfies a second threshold, wherein the decoding processing timeline is associated with an interpolation wireless channel estimation technique; and communicating with the UE in accordance with the indicated reference signal density configuration and based at least in part on the Doppler characteristic.
Baldemair teaches further comprising:
determining a Doppler characteristic associated with a wireless channel and the UE; (page 11, line 16, Exemplary channel conditions include, … a Doppler shift of the radio channel.)
determining that the Doppler characteristic indicates a higher Doppler shift value than a previously-determined Doppler characteristic; (page 11, line 22, the resource defining circuit 114 may adjust the defined physical layer characteristics with respect to maximum Doppler spread due to mobility, e.g., may increase the number of reference signals as the speed increases. ) and
determining a second reference signal density configuration based at least in part on the Doppler characteristic, (Id. adjust the defined physical layer characteristics with respect to maximum Doppler spread) the second reference signal density configuration having more reference signals per transmit time interval than the indicated reference signal density configuration. (Id. ncrease the number of reference signals as the speed increases)
Regarding claim 11. Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teach The method of claim 10, but they not teach further comprising: determining a Doppler characteristic associated with a wireless channel and a base station, and wherein receiving one or more reference signals and data comprises receiving the one or more reference signals and the data from the base station in accordance with the reference signal configuration and based at least in part on the Doppler characteristic.
However, Baldemair teaches further comprising: determining a Doppler characteristic associated with a wireless channel and the UE; (page 10, line 22 “the resource defining circuit 114 may adjust the defined physical layer characteristics with respect to maximum Doppler spread due to mobility, e.g., may increase the number of reference signals as the speed increases. “) and communicating with the UE in accordance with the indicated reference signal density configuration (page 8, line 30, “particular, the transmitter is configured to transmit the data packet according to the defined physical layer characteristics in one or more allocated sub-frames.” and based at least in part on the Doppler characteristic. (page 10, line 22)
in order to optimize reference signal transmission by arranging reference signal distribution.
Shimezawa and Baldemair are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of reference signal distribution in Baldemair in order to optimize reference signal transmission.
Regarding claim 15. Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teaches The method of claim 10, and but they do not teach
transmitting, by the UE, an uplink data burst including reference signals and data in accordance with the indicated reference signal density configuration.
However, Baldemair teaches wherein communicating with the base station comprises: transmitting, by the UE, an uplink data burst including reference signals and data in accordance with the first reference signal density configuration. (see generally Figs. 9-15, e.g. Fig. 9, Data and RS are transmitted in Zone 2, also see Page 4, line 27 “While the solution presented herein is generally described in terms of downlink transmissions from an access point to a radio communication device, the solution presented herein applies equally well to uplink transmissions from the radio communication device to the access point.”)
in order to optimize reference signal transmission by arranging reference signal distribution.
Shimezawa and Baldemair are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of reference signal distribution in Baldemair in order to optimize reference signal transmission.
Regarding claim 23-24 and 27, Shimezawa, Kim, Gollamudi and Baldemair teaches the apparatus of claim 19, performing the method in claim 4-5 and 8. It is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 29, and 33, Shimezawa, Kim, Gollamudi and Baldemair teaches the apparatus of claim 20, performing the method in claim 11, and 15. It is rejected for the same reason.
Claim 18 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi as applied to claim 10, further in view of Takeda; Kazuki et al. US PGPUB 20140293900 A1.
Regarding claim 18. Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teaches The method of claim 10, and they do not teach wherein receiving, by the UE, the indication of the reference signal configuration comprises: receiving, via a resource grant from the base station, the indication of the reference signal configuration.
However, Takeda teaches
receiving, by the UE, the indication of the reference signal configuration comprises: receiving, via a resource grant from the base station, the indication of the reference signal configuration. [0149] In a first variation, the DMRS pattern during the transmission of the PUSCH and the power (power density) offset amount X of the additional data resource are notified by the control bit (DPI (DMRS Pattern Indicator)) instructing the DMRS pattern included in the UL grant.
See Fig. 4 for DMRS patterns with different density)
in order to improve communication throughput by dynamically adjust DMRS density ([0125)
Shimezawa and Takeda are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of DMRS density adjustment in Takeda in order to improve system efficiency by reducing the reference signal overhead.
Regarding claim 36, Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi and Takeda teach the apparatus for wireless communication in claim 20 performing the method in claim 18. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 6-7 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Baldemair and Chen; Wanshi et al. US PGPUB 20170295596 A1.
Regarding claim 6. Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teach The method of claim 1, but they do not teach
further comprising: determining that a Doppler characteristic associated with a wireless channel and the UE satisfies a first threshold, wherein the downlink data decoding processing timeline is associated with an extrapolation wireless channel estimation technique; and communicating with the UE in accordance with the indicated reference signal density configuration and based at least in part on the Doppler characteristic.
However, Baldemair teaches
wherein the downlink data decoding processing timeline is associated with an extrapolation wireless channel estimation technique; (page 11, line 24, The accuracy of the reuse/extrapolation of the channel estimates from the first sub-frame for the second sub-frame may be improved) and
communicating with the UE in accordance with the first reference signal density configuration (page 8, line 30, “particular, the transmitter is configured to transmit the data packet according to the defined physical layer characteristics in one or more allocated sub-frames.” and based at least in part on the Doppler characteristic. (page 10, line 22)
in order to optimize reference signal transmission by arranging reference signal distribution.
Shimezawa and Baldemair are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of reference signal distribution in Baldemair in order to optimize reference signal transmission.
Shimezawa and Baldemair don’t teach further comprising: determining that a Doppler characteristic associated with a wireless channel and the UE satisfies a first threshold,
However, Chen teaches
determining that a Doppler characteristic associated with a wireless channel and the UE satisfies a first threshold, ([0062] In some cases, the system information may include a threshold indication (e.g., a Doppler condition value). In such cases, the base station 105-b may also transmit a PRACH association indicator indicating to UE 115-b that UE 115-b is to determine, based on an estimated Doppler condition and the threshold indicated by the threshold indication, whether to associate with the enhanced PRACH resource set or the unenhanced PRACH resource set.
See [0081] for RS density selection related to Doppler conditions)
in order to improve system reliability by selecting random access channel based on Doppler conditions. ([0004]
Shimezawa and Chen are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of RACH selection in Chen in order to improve system reliability
Regarding claim 7. Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teach The method of claim 1, and but they do not teach
further comprising: determining that a Doppler characteristic associated with a wireless channel and the UE satisfies a second threshold, wherein the downlink data decoding processing timeline is associated with an interpolation wireless channel estimation technique; and communicating with the UE in accordance with the indicated reference signal density configuration and based at least in part on the Doppler characteristic.
However, Baldemair teaches wherein the downlink data decoding processing timeline is associated with an interpolation wireless channel estimation technique; (Page 11, line 35, The accuracy of the reuse/interpolation of the channel estimates from the first and/or third subframes for the second sub-frame may be improved if the reference signals in the first and/or third sub-frames are distributed along the edges of their respective sub-frames so as to be closest to the middle sub-frame. ) and
communicating with the UE in accordance with the first reference signal density configuration (page 8, line 30, “particular, the transmitter is configured to transmit the data packet according to the defined physical layer characteristics in one or more allocated sub-frames.” and based at least in part on the Doppler characteristic. (page 10, line 22).
in order to improve system reliability by selecting random access channel based on Doppler conditions. ([0004]
Shimezawa and Baldemair are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of reference signal distribution in Baldemair in order to optimize reference signal transmission.
Shimezawa and Baldemair doesn’t teach
further comprising: determining that a Doppler characteristic associated with a wireless channel and the UE satisfies a second threshold,
However, Chen teaches
determining that a Doppler characteristic associated with a wireless channel and the UE satisfies a second threshold, ([0062] In some cases, the system information may include a threshold indication (e.g., a Doppler condition value). In such cases, the base station 105-b may also transmit a PRACH association indicator indicating to UE 115-b that UE 115-b is to determine, based on an estimated Doppler condition and the threshold indicated by the threshold indication, whether to associate with the enhanced PRACH resource set or the unenhanced PRACH resource set.
See [0081] for RS density selection related to Doppler conditions)
in order to improve system reliability by selecting random access channel based on Doppler conditions. ([0004]
Shimezawa and Chen are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of RACH selection in Chen in order to improve system reliability
Regarding claim 25-26. Shimezawa, Kim, Gollamudi and Chen and Baldermair and Chen teaches the apparatus for wireless communication in claim 19, performing the method in claim 6-7, respectively. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 9, 17, 28 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kakishima; Yuichi et al. US PGPUB 20200336259.
Regarding claim 9. Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teaches The method of claim 1, but they don’t teach wherein transmitting, by the base station to the UE, the indication of the reference signal configuration comprises: transmitting, via a signaling radio bearer channel, the indication of the reference signal configuration.
However, Kakishima teaches wherein transmitting, by the base station to the UE, the indication of the reference signal configuration comprises: transmitting, via a signaling radio bearer channel, the indication of the reference signal configuration. ([0101] The BS 20 may transmit information on the CSI-RS density by higher layer signaling such as RRC signaling.)
In order to improve the accuracy of the channel estimation ([0101])
Shimezawa and Kakishima are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of sending reference signal configuration in Kakishima in order to improve the accuracy of the channel estimation.
Regarding claim 17. Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teach The method of claim 10, but they do not teach wherein receiving, by the UE, the indication of the reference signal configuration comprises: receiving, via a signaling radio bearer channel, the indication of the reference signal configuration.
However, Kakishima teaches receiving, by the UE, the indication of the reference signal configuration comprises: receiving, via a signaling radio bearer channel, the indication of the reference signal configuration. ([0101] The BS 20 may transmit information on the CSI-RS density by higher layer signaling such as RRC signaling.)
In order to improve the accuracy of the channel estimation ([0101])
Shimezawa and Kakishima are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of sending reference signal configuration in Kakishima in order to improve the accuracy of the channel estimation.
Regarding claim 28. Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi and Kakishima teach the apparatus for wireless communication performing the method in claim 9. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 35, Shimezawa and Kim and Gollamudi and Kakishima teach the apparatus for wireless communication in claim 20 performing the method in claim 17. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 14 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Baldemair, and further in view of Choi; Jun Won et al. US PGPUB 20140341326 A1.
Regarding claim 14. Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teaches The method of claim 10, but it does not teach further comprising: transmitting, by the UE, information related to Doppler effects measured by the UE, and wherein receiving the indication of the reference signal configuration is based at least in part on transmitting the information related to the Doppler effects.
However, Baldemair teaches wherein receiving the indication of the reference signal configuration is based at least in part on transmitting the information related to the Doppler effects. (page 10, line 22 “the resource defining circuit 114 may adjust the defined physical layer characteristics with respect to maximum Doppler spread due to mobility, e.g., may increase the number of reference signals as the speed increases. “)
in order to optimize reference signal transmission by arranging reference signal distribution.
Shimezawa and Baldemair are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of reference signal distribution in Baldemair in order to optimize reference signal transmission.
Shimezawa and Baldemair doesn’t teaches further comprising: transmitting, by the UE, information related to Doppler effects measured by the UE,
However, Choi teaches
transmitting, by the UE, information related to Doppler effects measured by the UE, ([0139] At block 1320, a Doppler frequency of a channel over which the instances of the pilot signal are received may be identified.)
in order to improved channel estimation ([0039])
Shimezawa and Choi are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of Doppler information in Choi in order to improved channel estimation.
Regarding claim 32 Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi Chen and Baldemair and Choi teaches An apparatus for wireless communication in claim 20 performing the method in claim 14. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 16 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KIM; Kitae et al. US PGPUB 20160205677 A1 (hereinafter Kitae)
Regarding claim 16. Shimezawa, Kim and Gollamudi teach The method of claim 10, Shimezawa and Baldemair and KIM do not teach further: transmitting, by the UE, an indication of a suggested reference signal density configuration.
However, Kitae teaches
transmitting, by the UE, an indication of a suggested reference signal density configuration.
([0119] Meanwhile, the UE may select a preferred RS pattern using the estimated movement speed and transmit information about the preferred RS pattern to the BS.)
In order to more efficiently manage radio resources ([0102])
Shimezawa and Kitae are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Shimezawa with the technique of RS density configuration in Kitae to more efficiently manage radio resources.
Regarding claim 34 Shimezawa, and Gollamudi Chen and Kitae teaches the apparatus for wireless communication performing the method in claim 16. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/ZHAOHUI YANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468