DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manthiram (US 2015/0349380) in view of Yoshimura (US 2010/0316908).
Regarding claims 15 and 44, Manthiram discloses a lithium sulfur battery ([0076]-[0094]) comprising:
(a) an electrolyte composition ([0084]-[0086])
(b) an anode comprising lithium metal ([0077]); and
(c) a sulfur-containing cathode ([0079]).
The electrolyte composition comprises an active salt, such as lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide ([0086]), a liquid electrolyte solvent that includes one or more organic solvents and LINO3 ([0015], [0105] & [0107]). Suitable organic solvents include, without limitation, acyclic ethers such as trimethoxymethane, (which is also known as trimethyl orthoformate) and dimethoxyethane (DME, [0085]) and cyclic ethers such as dioxolanes. Manthiram further discloses the solvent combination of 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME) and 1,3- dioxolane (DOL; [0082], [0107], [0114], [0130], and [0144]). Manthiram teaches lithium sulfur batteries (example 1) that have electrolyte solvents comprising DME and DOL in a 50/50 vol. % mixture [107].
Manthiram does not directly disclose a battery having an electrolyte solvent that comprises 25 vol. % to 75 vol. % of triethylorthoformate and 75 vol. % to 25 vol. % of 1,2-dimethoxyethane based on the total volume of the solvent portion.
Yoshimura teaches lithium batteries having an electrolyte including an ionically conductive salt ([0049]) dissolved in nonaqueous electrolyte solvents including triethyl orthoformate (TEO and triethoxymethane), 1,2- dimethoxyethane, (DME), and 1,3-dioxolane (DOL). The nonaqueous solvent may be used singly or in a mixture ([0053]-[0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to specify the orthoformate of Manthiram with triethyl orthoformate as taught by Yoshimura, in order to create nonaqueous electrolyte with nonaqueous solvent of low-viscosity solvent ([0055]- [0056)). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an electrolyte solvent that comprises 25 vol. % to 75 vol. % of triethylorthoformate and 75 vol. % to 25 vol. % of 1,2-dimethoxyethane because Manthiram teaches that suitable organic electrolyte solvents include, without limitation, one or more acyclic ethers such as trimethoxymethane, (also known as trimethyl orthoformate) and dimethoxyethane (DME, [0085]) as organic solvents. (Triethylorthoformate, or triethoxymethane, is an acyclic ether.)
While Manthiram teaches that the liquid electrolyte includes one or more organic solvents ({0085]), Manthiram does not specify an electrolyte solvent that comprises 25 vol. % to 75 vol. % of triethylorthoformate and 75 vol. % to 25 vol. % of 1,2-dimethoxyethane based on the total volume of the solvent portion.
However, Manthiram discloses that multiple solvent compositions can be used and teaches a variety of mixtures (everything from 100-0 to 0-100). Manthiram specifically teaches lithium sulfur batteries (example 1) that have electrolyte solvents comprising DME and DOL in a 50/50 vol. % mixture [107]. Therefore, considering the broad range claimed in the present case, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results to provide the co-solvents in the amount claimed including 50:50 vol. %.
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manthiram (US 2015/0349380) and Yoshimura (US 2010/0316908) and applied, and further in view of Nimon (US 6,225,002).
Regarding claim 45, Manthiram in view of Yoshimura discloses the electrolyte composition of claim 15, but does not teach that the electrolyte composition comprises an organophosphorus flame-retardant compound.
Nimon teaches an electrolyte including a main solvent of an electrolyte solvent mixture that includes a co-solvent (col. 3 Lines 15-25). Nimon further teaches suitable organophosphorus co-solvents such as hexamethyl-phosphoramide (HMPA), tributylphosphate, and trimethylphosphate assist in solvation of lithium ions (Col. 7 Lines 14-22; organophosphorus compound).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the electrolyte composition of Manthiram, to include an organophosphorus compound of Nimon, in order to assist in the solvation of lithium ions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claims have been amended to be commensurate in scope with the unexpected result example, which contains the very specific features new recited in claim 15, and (response 3/20/2025) that the test results described in Examples 1 and 2 show that the inventive orthoformate-containing E5 formulation included in a battery exhibit substantially improved performance.
This argument is not persuasive. Applicants’ arguments on pages 6-7 appear to focus on example E5. Despite the amendment, the claims are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Applicants’ examples have specific materials and combination of materials that are not claimed. The electrolyte is E5 is disclosed in Table 2 to be:
In order to compare the various battery properties, the electrolyte would need to be the only change in the examples. The disclosure (page 22, line 5 to page 23, line 10) notes a Ketjen black/sulfur composite (IKB/S) electrode with CMC and CNF. It is not clear if these are utilized in all examples and specifically E5.
Further, the unexpected results are not clear with respect to example E5 as compared with the other examples. The specification notes that the electrolytes (E3, E4 and E5) based on ethers and orthoformates show much high CE of above 99%, which is much higher than the conventional carbonate electrolyte E1 and the regular ether electrolyte E2. It would be helpful to have a clear record of what applicant regards as the unexpected result and how it is different than electrolytes E3 and E4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785