DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to communication filed 9/9/2025. Claims 2-9, 11-20 are cancelled. Claims 1 and 10 are pending for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: a) the term “frame type of the second field” is border. The applicant should define the term. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2016/0050093 A1) {patented as US 9935802 B2} in view of Chavali (US 2013/0077718 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Choi teaches a method for receiving a Physical layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) in a wireless local area network (WLAN), the method comprising:
receiving the PPDU ( [0111], HEW STA receives a PPDU {HEW PPDU of Fig. 8-see [0116]}.), wherein the PPDU includes a first field (L-SIG-Fig. 8) and a second field (HEW-SIG-Fig. 8) (see Fig. 8; [0106]);
identifying the first field(L-SIG) and the second field(HEW-SIG) following the first field(L-SIG)(see Fig. 8, HEW-SIG is after L-SIG)( [0111], HEW STA receives a PPDU; wherein [0116], In an HEW PPDU, HEW STA may distinguish{determines-see [0111]} an HEW PPDU based on constellations used in reference OFDM symbol {810-L-SIG-see [0106]} to third OFDM symbol{820, 830,840—HEW-SIG-see [0106]}. ) (Hence HEW STA determines L-SIG and HEW-SIG in a HEW PPDU.);
Identifying a type (format/HEW-see [0079]) of the PPDU based on the identified first field (L-SIG-Fig. 8) and the identified second field (HEW-SIG-Fig. 8) (see Fig. 8; [0116], In an HEW PPDU, an HEW-SIG is transmitted through three OFDM symbols. Thus, HEW STA may distinguish{determines-see [0111]} an HEW PPDU based on constellations used in reference OFDM symbol {810--L-SIG-see [0106]} to third OFDM symbol{820, 830,840—HEW-SIG-see [0106]}.)(Hence, HEW STA determines HEW PPDU based on the L-SIG and the HEW-SIG field.), the second field(HEW-SIG) including a first symbol(820), a second symbol(830), and a third symbol(840)(See Fig. 8), indicating the type(format/HEW-see [0079]) of the PPDU ( [0161], AP retransmits a PPDU to an STA, the AP transmits retransmission indication/identification information{via HEW-SIG-see [0162]—that includes 1st , 2nd and 3rd symbol-Fig. 8} for indicating that the transmitted PPDU is a previously transmitted PPDU via the PPDU{HEW PPDU-see [0116]}; Wherein [0164], the HEW-SIG may include various pieces of information{i.e. type of PPDU} for supporting the HEW.)(Hence HEW-SIG includes 1st , 2nd and 3rd symbols, indicating HEW PPDU.), and
Choi does not teach identifying a frame type of the second field based on a modulation of the second symbol
However, in an analogous art, Chavali teaches identifying a frame type(format) of the second field (VHT-SIG-A 262-that includes 2nd signal field symbol as 1st VHT-SIG-A 262 and 3rd signal field symbol as 2nd VHT-SIG-A 262--[0076]; Fig. 2) based on a modulation of the second symbol (3rd signal field symbol- 2nd VHT-SIG-A 262-[0076]; Fig. 2) ( [0072]-step 510; wherein [0076], Fig. 6, frame detector verifies whether 3rd signal field symbol {2nd VHT-SIG-A 262} includes the second modulation or Q-BPSK modulation. If the 3rd signal field symbol includes the second modulation, the method 600 moves to a step 618; where the frame detector detects the format of the received frame as the VHT frame format {208} or the third format.) (Hence, detector detects VHT frame format of the VHT-SIG-A based on the modulation of 2nd VHT-SIG-A symbol 262.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Chavali and apply them on the teaching of Choi to provide development in a very high throughput physical layer and a medium access controller (MAC) layer of the VHT devices to support a data rate of more than 1 Gbps (Chavali; [0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Choi teaches an apparatus (1550) for receiving a Physical layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) in a wireless local area network (WLAN), the apparatus comprising:
a transceiver (1580-Fig. 15; [0172]); and
a processor (1560-Fig.15; [073]),
wherein the processor is configured to:
receive the PPDU ( [0111], HEW STA receives a PPDU {HEW PPDU of Fig. 8-see [0116]}.), wherein the PPDU includes a first field (L-SIG-Fig. 8) and a second field (HEW-SIG-Fig. 8) (see Fig. 8; [0106]);
identify the first field(L-SIG) and the second field(HEW-SIG) following the first field(L-SIG)(see Fig. 8, HEW-SIG is after L-SIG)( [0111], HEW STA receives a PPDU; wherein [0116], In an HEW PPDU, HEW STA may distinguish{determines-see [0111]} an HEW PPDU based on constellations used in reference OFDM symbol {810-L-SIG-see [0106]} to third OFDM symbol{820, 830,840—HEW-SIG-see [0106]}. ) (Hence HEW STA determines L-SIG and HEW-SIG in a HEW PPDU.);
Identify a type (format/HEW-see [0079]) of the PPDU based on the identified first field (L-SIG-Fig. 8) and the identified second field (HEW-SIG-Fig. 8) (see Fig. 8; [0116], In an HEW PPDU, an HEW-SIG is transmitted through three OFDM symbols. Thus, HEW STA may distinguish{determines-see [0111]} an HEW PPDU based on constellations used in reference OFDM symbol {810--L-SIG-see [0106]} to third OFDM symbol{820, 830,840—HEW-SIG-see [0106]}.)(Hence, HEW STA determines HEW PPDU based on the L-SIG and the HEW-SIG field.), the second field(HEW-SIG) including a first symbol(820), a second symbol(830), and a third symbol(840)(See Fig. 8), indicating the type(format/HEW-see [0079]) of the PPDU( [0161], AP retransmits a PPDU to an STA, the AP transmits retransmission indication/identification information{via HEW-SIG-see [0162]—that includes 1st , 2nd and 3rd symbol-Fig. 8} for indicating that the transmitted PPDU is a previously transmitted PPDU via the PPDU{HEW PPDU-see [0116]}; Wherein [0164], the HEW-SIG may include various pieces of information{i.e. type of PPDU} for supporting the HEW.) (Hence HEW-SIG includes 1st , 2nd and 3rd symbols, indicating HEW PPDU.), and
Choi does not teach identifying a frame type of the second field based on a modulation of the second symbol
However, in an analogous art, Chavali teaches identifying a frame type (format) of the second field (VHT-SIG-A 262-that includes 2nd signal field symbol as 1st VHT-SIG-A 262 and 3rd signal field symbol as 2nd VHT-SIG-A 262--[0076]; Fig. 2) based on a modulation of the second symbol (3rd signal field symbol- 2nd VHT-SIG-A 262-[0076]; Fig. 2) ( [0072]-step 510; wherein [0076], Fig. 6, frame detector verifies whether 3rd signal field symbol {2nd VHT-SIG-A 262} includes the second modulation or Q-BPSK modulation. If the 3rd signal field symbol includes the second modulation, the method 600 moves to a step 618; where the frame detector detects the format of the received frame as the VHT frame format {208} or the third format.) (Hence, detector detects VHT frame format of the VHT-SIG-A based on the modulation of 2nd VHT-SIG-A symbol 262.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Chavali and apply them on the teaching of Choi to provide development in a very high throughput physical layer and a medium access controller (MAC) layer of the VHT devices to support a data rate of more than 1 Gbps (Chavali; [0004]).
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to MEHEDI S ALEY whose telephone number is (571)270-0439. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Thus, Fri: 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey M Rutkowski can be reached at 571-270-01215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MEHEDI S ALEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415