DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 7, 10-11, 13-15 are is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ji et al (Circ.Res. 2007, 100: 1579-1588, of record) and in further view of Barst et al (Journal of the American College of Cardiology, 2004, vol.43,12, Supplements: 40S - 47S, of record), Mann (US 5406959, April 1995, of record) and Biedermann (WO 2007/116295, October 2007).
Ji et al teach a method of identifying dysregulated miRNAs in injured vascular wall to clarify the role of such miRNAs in the disease (see Abstract) by taking a sample of affected artery and of normal one, extracting RNA and comparing levels of miRNAs, identifying dysregulated, downregulated or upregulated, ones (see second column on page 1580), with further administration of an agent known to inhibit an upregulated miRNA (see Abstract).
Ji et al do not teach a disease being pulmonary arterial hypertension, or assessing a stage of the vascular-related disease in the individual based on flow rates and blood pressure within an artery of the individual or obtaining a biopsy sample from a diseased artery using a pulmonary endoarterial biopsy catheter, or personalization of such treatment.
Barst et al teach that such parameters as flow rates and blood pressure within an artery of individual are routinely used to assess a stage of vascular-related disease, including pulmonary arterial hypertension (see Abstract, page 41S, last paragraph of first column).
Mann teaches pulmonary endoarterial biopsy catheter allowing to obtain a biopsy from the inner surface of artery (see Abstract, lines 35-40 in column 5, lines 30-40 in column 3).
Biedermann teaches creating personalized treatments for a variety of diseases including pulmonary arterial hypertension (see Abstract, page 2, Table 1, claim 21).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to apply methods of Ji et al to determine dysregulated miRNAs in healthy or diseased tissues of pulmonary artery of an individual suffering from pulmonary arterial hypertension and according to stage of the disease as taught by Barst et al by obtaining biopsy using catheter taught by Mann and inhibit or promote respective miRNAs for disease treatment designing personalized treatment according to Biedermann, arriving at instant invention. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to clarify the role of miRNAs in pulmonary arterial hypertension by identifying dysregulated miRNAs according to disease stage as taught by Barst et al and Ji et al and administer the agent known to inhibit upregulated miRNA as taught by Ji et al or an agent to promote miRNA to increase downregulates miRNA. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use catheter taught by Mann, because it allows to obtain a biopsy from pulmonary artery. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to design personalized treatment because Biedermann teaches design of such treatments for a variety of diseases, including pulmonary hypertension.
Double Patenting
Claims 7, 10-11, 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 9,499,816. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims from '816 recite methods of treatment of pulmonary arterial hypertension by inhibiting or promoting specific miRNAs based on the stage of the disease. Further, specification of '816 teaches obtaining of biopsy from pulmonary artery using endoarterial biopsy catheter (see lines 30-40 in column 3) and comparing level of miRNAs in diseased and healthy artery to identify dysregulated miRNAs (see lines 1-20 in column 5). Further, Example IV from ‘816 specification relates to design of personalized treatments. Therefore, claims from '816 anticipate instant claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Concerning 103 rejection Applicant argues that none of the reference teach new limitation of personalized treatment. In response, new reference by Biedermann (see amended rejection above) teaches the limitation.
Double patenting rejection is maintained for the reasons of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637