DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 7, 10-11, 13-15 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ji et al (Circ.Res. 2007, 100: 1579-1588, of record) and in further view of Barst et al (Journal of the American College of Cardiology, 2004, vol.43,12, Supplements: 40S -47S, of recvord) and Mann (US 5406959, April 1995).
Ji et al teach a method of identifying dysregulated miRNAs in injured vascular wall to
clarify the role of such miRNAs in the disease (see Abstract) by taking a sample of affected
artery and of normal one, extracting RNA and comparing levels of miRNAs, identifying
dysregulated, downregulated or upregulated, ones (see second column on page 1580), with
further administration of an agent known to inhibit an upregulated miRNA (see Abstract).
Ji et al do not teach a disease being pulmonary arterial hypertension, or assessing a
stage of the vascular-related disease in the individual based on flow rates and blood pressure
within an artery of the individual or obtaining a biopsy sample from a diseased artery using a pulmonary endoarterial biopsy catheter.
Barst et al teach that such parameters as flow rates and blood pressure within an artery
of individual are routinely used to assess a stage of vascular-related disease, including
pulmonary arterial hypertension (see Abstract, page 41S, last paragraph of first column).
Mann teach pulmonary endoarterial biopsy catheter allowing to obtain a biopsy from the inner surface of artery (see Abstract, lines 35-40 in column 5, lines 30-40 in column 3).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
invention to apply methods of Ji et al to determine dysregulated miRNAs in healthy or diseased
tissues of pulmonary artery of an individual suffering from pulmonary arterial hypertension and
according to stage of the disease as taught by Barst et al by obtaining biopsy using catheter taught by Mann and inhibit or promote respective miRNAs for disease treatment, arriving at instant invention. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to clarify the role of miRNAs in pulmonary arterial hypertension by identifying dysregulated miRNAs according to disease stage as taught by Barst et al and Ji et al and administer the agent known to inhibit upregulated miRNA as taught by Ji et al or an agent to promote miRNA to increase downregulates miRNA. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use catheter taught by Mann, because it allows to obtain a biopsy from pulmonary artery.
Double Patenting
Claims 7, 10-11, 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 9,499,816. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims from ‘816 recite methods of treatment of pulmonary arterial hypertension by inhibiting or promoting specific miRNAs based on the stage of the disease. Further, specification of ‘816 teaches obtaining of biopsy from pulmonary artery using endoarterial biopsy catheter (see lines 30-40 in column 3) and comparing level of miRNAs in diseased and healthy artery to identify dysregulated miRNAs (see lines 1-20 in column 5). Therefore claims from ‘816 anticipate instant claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Previous 112 rejection is withdrawn in view of new amendments, arguments are moot.
Concerning 103 rejection Applicant argues that the references do not teach newly introduced limitation of obtaining of biopsy from pulmonary artery using endoarterial biopsy catheter. In response, new reference by Mann teaches such catheter. Amended rejection is presented above.
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637