DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to applicants’ amendment filed November 5, 2025 in reissue application 16/919,900 filed July 2, 2020 of US Patent Number US 10,195,950 B2 issued to Dow on Jan. 23, 2018. For reissue applications filed on or after September 16, 2012, all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the current provisions.
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceeding in which Patent No. 10,195,950 is or was involved. These proceedings would include interferences, reissues, reexaminations, and litigation.
Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely
apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under
consideration in this reissue application.
Claims 1, 4-5, 21-27, 29-31, 33-34 and 37 are pending and amended
Claims 2-3, 6-20, 28, 32, and 35-36 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 4-5, 21-27, 29-31, 33-34 and 37 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
The previous 35 U.S.C. §112(6th ¶) claim interpretation 35 U.S.C. §112(1st ¶) written description and 35 U.S.C. §251 rejections have been withdrawn since the amendments to the claims have overcome the rejections and 35 U.S.C. §112(6th ¶) claim interpretation.
The amendments to the claims have necessitated a new grounds of rejection. Accordingly, the arguments are moot. However, the examiner has responded to some of the pertinent arguments below.
With respect to the arguments 35 U.S.C. §103 that start on page 22 of the 11/5/2025 remarks that Ichikawa and SAE (4.1.1.2-4.1.1.4) that a display of a charging efficiency does not “represent a progression of the receiving of the power with respect to a charging finish”. The examiner maintains that Ichikawa para [0130] displays a charging efficiency or a charging unit price to a user that does show how much it costs with respect to the finishing state with respect to state of charge (SOC).
4.1.1.1 states the following
Wireless charging technology for stationary vehicles consists of three major partitions: (1) the base station grid-connected converter with its attendant transmit coil for power coupling and IEEE 802 wireless type communications (e.g., 802.11p DSRC) to facilitate power regulation; (2) the vehicle mounted receiver or capture coil with rectification, filtering components and IEEE 802 wireless type communications to initiate power transfer and feedback of control messages; (3) The secondary energy storage system, battery management system components, and associated modules necessary for in-vehicle communications (CAN, LIN) and message sets for battery SOC, charge rate and other necessary information.
4.1.1.2 states in part
The IEEE 802 wireless type communications system communicates vehicle information to the grid connected power converter for the purpose of regulating the level of transmitted power and to communicate enable and inhibit signals depending on vehicle energy storage system status. The vehicle
This is communication between the base station and the vehicle with start and stop commands.
The displays of the of Ichikawa, SAE, and Winstup discloses the use of more than one display for communicating information including position (SAE 4.2.3 and table A3) that discloses that for manual positioning this information is used to drive the vehicle and/or station display interface to assist the driver in parking the vehicle. Ichikawa discloses displaying charging efficiency, SAE discloses starting and stopping charging (enable or inhibit signal) and Winstrup is disclosed to show that it is known to have a progression state of a charge and display that to a user. An artisan of ordinary skill would understand charging information that is presented to the user so that the user could make an informed decision with respect to how long charging is going to take and how much it is going to cost regardless of which display shows the information. Accordingly, this information can and would be presented for the convenience of the user in order to make the decision to charge the user vehicle or go elsewhere.
The applicant argues on page 25 that the combination of references do not disclose an initial screen through which charging by wireless power transmission is selected, and an execution screen through which the wireless power transmission is executed. However as disclosed in the rejection below an artisan that understands computers would understand a start screen and an execution screen could be on the same display and that a user would understand how to navigate a computer with screens and sub screens that include inputs.
The examiner notes that on page 25 and 26 there is a chart that points out the errors in the Offices interpretations of the prior art with respect to claim 21. The first section argues “based on an arrival or elapse of the determined charging start time” and that Ichikawa and SAE do not disclose this claim element. As best that can be determined this claim element is a reservation for a particular time and if the vehicle is there on time or late then charging can progress. SAE discloses a reservation process as disclosed in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 and 21 contain the limitations “in response to a user set charging start time having arrived or elapsed, starting a receiving of power…” or “ based on an arrival or elapse of the determined charging start time, transmitting a charging start command…” respectively. Pages 16 and 17 of the 11/5/2025 remarks purportedly provides support for this limitation. However the examiner has reviewed all of the citations and the closest support is in C22:L24-27. “In addition, the user interface module 110 may transmit state information of the user interface module, a charging start/finish command, a command or response for charging time setting/charging quantity setting/charging power setting, etc., to the power receiving module 30.” The examiner maintains that the provided citations do not provide support for a “charging stop time having arrived or elapsed”. Additionally, previously presented Claim 21 has the limitation “regardless of whether the charging start time has arrived or elapsed” which when read by one of ordinary skill makes the whole claim limitation optional with the prefix of “regardless of whether”.
Claim 21 has the limitation “performing another transmitting of the charging start command”. The examiner notes that there is no support in the specification for the claimed limitation.
Claim 21 contains the following limitation;
wherein each transmitting of the charging start command is performed dependent on communication state setup information received from the power transmission device, information representing a standby state of the power transmission device, and information representing a normal state of the power transmission device, and
The examiner notes that there is no information in the specification representing a standby state or a normal state. Furthermore, “standby” and “normal” are not defined or present in the specification.
Accordingly, The examiner finds that claims 1 and 21 and the claims that depend therefrom are rejected as having new matter added to the claims.
35 USC § 251 New Matter
Claims 1, 4-5, 21-27, 29-31, 33-34 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 251 as being based upon new matter added to the patent for which reissue is sought. The added material which is not supported by the prior patent is described above in the 35 U.S.C. §112(1st ¶) rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As best understood, claim(s) 1, 4-5, 21-27, 29-31, 33-34 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2013/0335015 to Ichikawa in view of SAE (AAPA) and infurther view of US 2012/0169511 (Winstrup).
The cited prior art teaches the claimed elements as follows:
1. (Thrice Amended) A method of a wireless power transmission [device]system of a
vehicle, the method comprising:
(Ichikawa: Figs. 1, 2, 7 and 8)
[a power receiving module installed on a vehicle and configured to receive]in response to a user set charging start time having arrived or elapsed, starting a receiving of power by a receiving coil of the wireless power transmission system (SAE at 4.1.1.3) from a transmission coil of a power transmitting [module]device (SAE at Fig. 1 - primary) dependent on communication from a power receiving device to the power transmission device, (SAE at 4.1.1.2 - communications module communicates message sets necessary for proper power level, timing and status to the grid converter.) where the receiving of the power includes a regulating of the receiving of the power by circuitry comprised by the power receiving device, and where the transmission coil is outside of the vehicle; Sea SAE 4.2.4.1
Ichikawa discloses a power receiving module shown as power receiving unit 110 (inclusive of 200) that is capable of data communication via communication unit 230 with receiving module 110 (inclusive of 100) (Fig. 7[110] inclusive of vehicle position Fig. 9). SAE 4.2.4.1 teaches After negotiating the charging options the EV issues the power transfer message specifying the initial power transfer parameters. The EV will ramp up the transfer current and also regulate the output to the car batteries. Note that though the EV is issuing commands to the WEVSE, the WEVSE remains in control of the power supply.
a user interface device comprising a second processor configured to provide guide positioning of the vehicle (with respect to the power transmission device based on position information (SAE at 4.2.3, Table A2) with respect to the vehicle and position information (with respect to the power transmission device (and
transmitting state information, from the power receiving device to a display of the vehicle, where the state information includes a charging progression state of the receiving of the power by the wireless power transmission system, a state about the power receiving device, and a state about the power transmission device;
Windstrap discloses a networked display has multiple modes of operation. In the first operating mode, the display receives and shows information related to charging an electric vehicle. In a second mode of operation, the display receives and shows information related to home energy usage (abstract). Many charging stations may provide a display of some sort for monitoring the status of the battery in the EV [0006]. Figures 3a and 3b discloses a charging progression state and an indication of the state of the power transmission device is the EV charging icon that indicates that the vehicle is charging and shows the charging progression state.
[0029] FIGS. 3A and 3B show two different possible display patterns for the multi-mode display 100 related to charging an electric vehicle (EV). Both the display pattern 300 of FIG. 3A and the display pattern 310 of FIG. 3B turn on the EV charging icon 127 to indicate that the multi-mode display 100 is currently showing information related to charging an EV. Display pattern 300 may show the current battery charge level of 14.3% in the "Actual" display area 303 and a target charge level of 75% in the target/average display area 304. The gauge 302 may show both the actual battery charge and the target in a graphical manner. The character display 305 shoes an amount of time left to charge the battery to the target level. The indicators at the top of the display show "LOW" to highlight that the battery is below a pre-determined charge level.
Winstrap para [0029]
displaying guidance with respect to a positioning of the vehicle SAE at 4.2.3) with respect to the power transmission device based on position information with respect to the vehicle and position information SAE at A.3 Table A2) with respect to the power transmission device; SAE at 4.1.1.3, 4.2, Table A2);
Ichikawa discloses ECU 300 which includes a central processing unit (CPU), a storage unit and an input/output buffer, which 300 inputs signals from the sensors, and the like, outputs control signals to the devices, and controls the vehicle 100 and the devices. (Ichikawa at 0118, 0120, Fig. 7) Ichikawa further discloses power transmitting device 200 includes a charging station 210 and the power transmitting unit 220. The charging station 210 further includes a power transmitting ECU 240 that serves as a control unit, a power supply unit 250, a display unit 242 and a fee reception unit 246 in addition to the communication unit 230. (Ichikawa at 0120)
[a display unit configured]displaying, using the [to ]display [a]the charging progression state[ of the wireless power transmission device,] resulting from the transmitting of the state information; and
[wherein information transmitted from the power receiving module to the display unit comprises information about the charging progression state and state information of the power receiving module and the power transmitting module]
displaying navigation information,
wherein the charging progression state of the receiving of the power is a state that
represents a progression of the receiving of the power with respect to a charging finish.
Ichikawa discloses display unit 242 (Figs. 7&8) displaying charging progressing (0153, 0161)
Ichikawa further discloses that display unit 242 of the power transmitting device 200 shows the charging efficiency or a charging electric power unit price corresponding to the charging efficiency and results to a user. (0130, 0161) To the extent that Ichikawa may not expressly disclose the provision of the state information using the communication network, SAE discloses this feature (4.1.1.2 - A communications module communicates message sets…, 4.1.1.3, 4.1.1.4)
To the extent that neither SAE or Ichikawa may not expressly disclose that that charging progression is displayed, this feature is disclosed by Winstrup as disclosed above.
Ichikawa discloses a guide unit capable of navigation. [0011-0016], [0019], [0328]. SAE discloses parking/alignment (Fig. 1, table A2). SAE also discloses in many place a display to help with positioning information See 4.2.3 “In response to the message the WEVSE shall turn on its RFID readers and provide triangulation information to the EV to facilitate the display of positioning information. The WEVSE shall also turn on a "sense current" in the primary coil
(approximately 10% of its normal output) to allow the vehicle to sense the position of optimal coupling between the primary and secondary pads.” See also table A1 and A2 scenario description that discloses a display to help with parking alignment.
Motivation to Combine
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to combine the various embodiments of Ichikawa relating to a wireless power transmission system of a vehicle inclusive of a power transmitting/receiving controller with the teachings of SAE relating to controller communication to realize the invention as claimed. See e.g. MPEP 2143: Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness. I. A. Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. In this case all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. In this case the wireless charging unit (WCU) of Ichikawa discloses an ECU 300 that transmits control signals wirelessly to power transmitting device 200 by the communication unit 160. This would be motivation to one of skill in the art to find other WCU such as SAE J3826 which discloses on page 1 under rational that communication may occur via local wireless (ZigBee, Wi-Fi, etc.), vehicle telematics, long-range wireless (GSM, CDMA, WiMax, etc.), Internet protocols, or a combination of these methods. Therefore, it would be obvious to combine the embodiments of Ichikawa relating to a wireless power transmission system of a vehicle inclusive of a power transmitting/receiving controller with the teachings of SAE relating to the communication protocol with the display of Windstrup that shows the progression of a charge of an electric vehicle.
The cited prior art teaches the claimed elements as follows:
4. (Twice Amended) The [device]method of claim 1, wherein ]the displaying of the guidance includes displaying, using another display, a position of [a transmitting]the transmission coil, [[a]the receiving coil[ connected to the power receiving module], and [guide]corresponding guidance for a movement path of the vehicle so as to allow [a]the user to drive the vehicle to match [a]the position of the transmission coil with the position of the
[transmitting coil with a position of the ]receiving coil.
Ichikawa discloses in the abstract a power transmitting unit and a guide unit. Para[0016] discloses that the guide unit may be configured to inform a parking position and para [0020] discloses set and position. Para[0169] discloses the vehicle shows a frame, or the like, indicating the parking position on the display unit 142 on the basis of the information received in step S452. Furthermore, as shown in step S454, parking assist control for parking the vehicle at the target parking position may be executed. Parking assist control may, be configured to completely automatically move the vehicle or may be configured such that steering operation is automatically carried out and the user instructs a forward or reverse speed with the use of an accelerator pedal, or the like. In addition, parking assist control may be configured such that a steering operation amount is indicated on a screen, or the like, and the user manually conducts steering operation.
Ichikawa also discloses a power transmitting module shown as power transmitting unit 220 (inclusive of 200) that is capable of data communication via communication unit 230 with receiving module 110 (inclusive of 100). (Ichikawa at [0111, 0115, 0127, 0206,] Figs 1, 2, 7, 8, 16A, 31A) To the extent that neither SAE nor Ichikawa’s displays can be considered a second display, this feature is rejected in further view of Winstrup which also displays a charging progression state. An artisan of ordinary skill would understand providing charging information and parking assist information on any screen available using the motivation that the convenience of the user improves (see [0191] and [0222]).
5. (Twice Amended) The [device]system of claim 1,
wherein the displaying of the guidance includes displaying the guidance using another
display, and
wherein the method further comprises[user interface module is further configured to provide] displaying, using the other display, an initial screen through which charging by wireless power transmission is selected, and an execution screen through which the wireless power
transmission is executed.
(Ichikawa discloses display unit 142 (Figs. 7&8, 16A, 31A[S740, S910) showing an initial charging screen ([0160-0162, 0211-0213) where charging can be selected (0216). The display has an initial screen that selects charging by wireless power and an execution screen through which wireless power transmission is executed. The examiner notes that the initial screen and the execution screen are the same display. Anyone operating a display on a device would recognize that various selections are available and various information can be presented at any time and in any manner deemed fit by the designer. Accordingly, presenting information to the user to start a charge and then after starting display information such as the state of charge would be known to anyone that uses a computer.
21. (Thrice Amended) A method of a power transmission system of a vehicle, the
method comprising:
(Ichikawa: Figs. 1, 2, 7 and 8), SAE Fig. 1.
displaying, using a display, a user interface(SAE at 4.2.3, Table A2, 7(a)) to determine a charging start time (SAE 4.2.3)that is input by a user for a starting of a receiving of power by a receiving coil of the vehicle from a transmission coil of a power transmission device that is outside the vehicle;
a user interface device comprising a first display, and a first processor configured to control a displaying of a user interface (Table A2, 7(a)), and determine a charging start time input (SAE 4.2.3) by the user to the user interface;
Ichikawa likewise discloses ECU 300 which includes a central processing unit (CPU), a storage unit and an input/output buffer, which 300 inputs signals from the sensors, and the like, outputs control signals to the devices, and controls the vehicle 100 and the devices. (Ichikawa at 0118, 0120, Fig. 7) Ichikawa further discloses display unit 242 (Figs. 7&8) displaying charging progressing (0153, 0161).
With respect to a charging start time input by the user please see SAE 2836/6 page 12 and 13 where a user may place a reservation for the charging station as a common charging infrastructure feature. This is a start time that is input by the user and/or in response to a reservation made by the user “a user set charging start time having arrived or elapsed” which is not defined in the specification which the examiner takes to mean on time or late for said reservation. The examiner notes that the user may input a start time as discussed immediately below.
displaying, using another display, a charging start request input for the user for the starting of the receiving of the power, charging progression state information of the receiving of the power, and state information related to the power transmission device;
Once the vehicle is aligned and the system indicates that it is in a state where a charge can be accepted; the vehicle operator may either issue a command to begin charging with system provided default parameters. Generally the user may specify particular parameters to be used for the charging session the parameters negotiated during this phase enable "smart charging" that allow the charging infrastructure to optimize energy usage and minimize impact on the grid. Many of these parameters will be passed through from the EVSE to the supporting back-end infrastructure and the processes will follow those specified in SAE J2836/1.
J2836/6 pp 14 emphasis added
The examiner maintains that the user may specify particular parameters to be used for a charging session including the start time. The user may also just pull in and access the system and start charging after everything else is accomplished such as alignment etc..
based on an arrival or elapse of the determined charging start time,(reservation) transmitting a charging start command for starting a charging of the vehicle to the power transmission device; See above
after the input of the charging start request by the user, performing another transmitting of the charging start command to the power transmission device regardless of whether the determined charging start time has arrived or elapsed; See above with respect to start time and reservations
transmitting, to the power transmission device, charging start possible state information and state information regarding a readiness related to the transmitting of the charging start command; and Ichikawa para [0127] discloses start and stop commands. See also SAE pp 14 (above) and 15. Ichikawa also discloses state, charging start command, and a charging completion Command. (See, e.g. Fig. 16B[S450])
displaying, using the display, navigation information,
Ichikawa discloses a guide unit capable of navigation. [0011-0016], [0019], [0238]. SAE discloses parking/alignment (Fig. 1, table A2)
wherein each transmitting of the charging start command is performed dependent on communication state setup information received from the power transmission device, information representing a standby state of the power transmission device, and information representing a normal state of the power transmission device, and
As noted above, Ichikawa also discloses state, charging start command, and a charging completion Command. (See, e.g. Fig. 16B[S450]). Ichikawa also discloses a power receiving module (e.g. power receiving unit 110, Figs. 8 and 17) (Ichikawa at [0111, 0115, 0127, 0206,] Figs 16A, 31A, in particular display unit 242 (Figs. 7&8) displaying charging progressing (0153, 0161)) Ichikawa also discloses state, charging start command, and a charging completion Command. (See, e.g. Fig. 16B[S450]). Ichikawa also disclose in para [0118] The vehicle ECU 300 includes a central processing unit (CPU), a storage unit and an input/output buffer, which are not shown in FIG. 7. The ECU 300 inputs signals from the sensors, and the like, outputs control signals to the devices, and controls the vehicle 100 and the devices. Note that control over the vehicle 100 and the devices are not only limited to processing by software but may also be processed by exclusive hardware (electronic circuit). SAE discloses on page 14 and 15 table A3 discloses a start command with system provided default parameters or user specified parameters. While the reference do not use the terminology of standby and normal they do teach communications to allow charging including messages between the system an artisan of ordinary skill in any electrical art would understand that standby would mean before transmission of power and “normal” would be to transmit power of the power transmission device because that is the function of a power transmission device.
wherein the charging progression state information of the receiving of the power is state information that represents a progression of the receiving of the power with respect to a charging finish.
Ichikawa discloses display unit 242 (Figs. 7&8) displaying charging progressing (0153, 0159-0166) Ichikawa further discloses that display unit 242 of the power transmitting device 200 shows the charging efficiency or a charging electric power unit price corresponding to the charging efficiency and results to a user. (0130, 0161) To the extent that Ichikawa may not expressly disclose the provision of the state information using the communication network, SAE discloses this feature (4.1.1.2 - A communications module communicates message sets…, 4.1.1.3, 4.1.1.4) To the extent that neither SAE or Ichikawa may not expressly disclose that that charging progression is displayed, this feature is disclosed by Windstrup as applied to claim 1 above which is incorporated herein. The references may be properly combinable and the information may be presented at either display unit using the motivation of Ichikawa that it for the convenience of the user to smoothly start charging and displaying information relative to charging provides information to the user that aids in a smooth transfer of power.
22. (Thrice Amended) The method of claim 21, the method further comprising:
displaying, by the other display, a charging stop request input; and
after the input of the charging stop request by the user is determined, transmitting a
charging stop command to the power transmission device.
See also page 17 of SAE that states When the EVSE determines that the power transfer session needs to terminate, it shall send a message indicating to the EV that the session is complete and stop the power transfer. Under some fault conditions the power transfer may be terminated first with a notification sent subsequently. See above with respect to the start and stop commands.
23. (Thrice Amended) The method of claim 22, wherein the charging stop command
is a command to stop the charging of the vehicle during the receiving of the power.
(See, also, Ichikawa Figs. 16A/B, 31A/B, [00117, 0019]) Ichikawa also discloses state, charging start command, and a charging completion Command. (See, e.g. Fig. 16B[S450]) (See also, Ichikawa at [0019, 0072, Fig. 5). See also the rejection of claim 22 above.
24. (Amended) The Method of claim 21, wherein the charging progression state information includes remaining time against full charging. (Winstrup 3a/b)
(See also, progress Ichikawa at [0111, 0115, 0127, 0206,] Figs 16A, 31A, in particular display unit 242 (Figs. 7&8) displaying charging progressing (0153, 0161))
25. (Thrice Amended) The method of claim 21, further comprising regulating the
receiving of the power based on a charging mode that includes a constant voltage value or a
constant current value.
Ichikawa at [0091] disclosing at least constant current supplied at power transmitting unit 220. (See, also e.g. Ichikawa at 0091 discussing power receiving unit 110. See also, [0111, 0115, 0127, 0206,] Figs 16A, 31A). See also SAE table A4 that describes Load voltage, load current and load power. To manage transient conditions the secondary load regulation information must be provided as "realtime" continuing feedback to the WEVSE.
26. (Twice Amended) The method of claim 21, further comprising transmitting a
vehicle identification number to the power transmission device, for the charging of the vehicle.
Ichikawa also discloses a power transmitting module shown as power transmitting unit 220 (inclusive of 200) that is capable of data communication via communication unit 230 with receiving module 110 (inclusive of 100). See also SAE table A3 page 15 VehicleID.
27. (Twice Amended) The method of claim 21, further comprising receiving a charger
number indication for a location related to the transmission coil from the power transmission
device, and transmitting a charger number confirmation message, corresponding to the received charger number, to the power transmission device. (SAE at 4.1.1.2, 4.1.1.3, 4.1.2)
Ichikawa discloses a power transmitting module shown as power transmitting unit 220 (inclusive of 200) that is capable of data communication via communication unit 230 with receiving module 110 (inclusive of 100). As noted above, to the extent that Ichikawa’s power transmitting unit is not considered to be located outside of the vehicle, this feature would be an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious was of improving accessibility using the motivation of Ichikawa for the convenience of the user. (Ichikawa at [0023,0024, 0111, 0115, 0127, 0206,] Figs 1, 2, 7, 8, 16A, 31A)
29. (Thrice Amended) The method of claim 21, wherein the charging start time is a
pre-set charging start time. (SAE at 4.1.1.1 – message set batter SOC (State of Charge)
Ichikawa discloses that display unit 242 of the power transmitting device 200 shows the charging efficiency or a charging electric power unit price corresponding to the charging efficiency, progression (time), and results to a user. (0130, 0161) Ichikawa further discloses display unit 142 (Figs. 7&8, 16A, 31A [S740, S910) showing an initial charging screen ([0160-0162, 0211-0213) where charging can be selected (0216).
30. (Amended) A method of a power transmission system of a vehicle, the method comprising:
(Ichikawa: Figs. 1, 2, 7 and 8) Also see claim 21 above.
displaying, using a display, a user interface to determine a charging start time that is
input by a user for a starting of a receiving of power by a receiving coil of the vehicle from a transmission coil of a power transmission device that is outside the vehicle; see Sae 4.2.3 and Table A2, 7a
Ichikawa likewise discloses ECU 300 which includes a central processing unit (CPU), a storage unit and an input/output buffer, which 300 inputs signals from the sensors, and the like, outputs control signals to the devices, and controls the vehicle 100 and the devices. (Ichikawa at 0118, 0120, Fig. 7) Ichikawa further discloses display unit 242 (Figs. 7&8) displaying charging progressing (0153, 0161)
respectively generating a charging start command, for starting a charging of the vehicle,
and a charging stop command, for stopping the charging of the vehicle, in response to
respective user manipulations of a user pressable button of the vehicle;
Ichikawa discloses that display unit 242 may have a function as an input unit, such as a touch panel, and is able to accept user's input for whether to approve the charging electric power unit price. (e.g. a button, [Ichikawa para [0127] discloses start and stop commands. See also SAE pp 14 (above) and 15. Ichikawa also discloses state, charging start command, and a charging completion Command. (See, e.g. Fig. 16B[S450]) 0130]) With respect to start and stop command see above with respect to claim 21.
generating a first command based on an arrival or elapse of the determined charging
start time;
See claim 21 above with respect to reservation and start and stopping the charge and the use of a reservation. Ichikawa discloses a power receiving module shown as power receiving unit 110 (inclusive of 200) that is capable of data communication via communication unit 230 with receiving module 110 (inclusive of 100) (Fig. 7[110] inclusive of vehicle position Fig. 9) SAE also discloses that it shall send a message indicating to the EV that the session is complete and stop the power transfer. (See, e.g. SAE at Table A5 (Scenario Description (1))
transmitting the first command to the power transmission device to cause the starting of
the charging of the vehicle;
See claim 21 above with respect to reservation and start and stopping the charge which is a command. Ichikawa discloses a power transmitting module shown as power transmitting unit 220 (inclusive of 200) that is capable of data communication via communication unit 230 with receiving module 110 (inclusive of 100). To the extent that Ichikawa’s power transmitting unit is not considered to be located outside of the vehicle, this feature would be an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious was of improving accessibility. (Ichikawa at [0111, 0115, 0127, 0206,] Figs 1, 2, 7, 8, 16A, 31A) SAE likewise discloses generating commands (messages) via a controller (See, e.g. regulation control & communications Fig. 1)
generating a second command based on the charging stop command, including
generating the second command while the vehicle is charging based on the transmitted first
command; See claim 21 above with respect to reservation and start and stopping the charge which is a command
transmitting the second command to the power transmission device to cause the
stopping of the charging of the vehicle; and
See claim 21 above with respect to reservation and start and stopping the charge which is a command. Ichikawa discloses a power receiving module shown as power receiving unit 110 (inclusive of 200) that is capable of data communication via communication unit 230 with receiving module 110 (inclusive of 100) (Fig. 7[110] inclusive of vehicle position Fig. 9) SAE also discloses that it shall send a message indicating to the EV that the session is complete and stop the power transfer. (See, e.g. SAE at Table A5 (Scenario Description (1))
displaying, using the display, navigation information.
See claim 21 above with respect to navigation information Ichikawa discloses a guide unit capable of navigation. [0011-0016], [0019], [0328]. SAE discloses parking/alignment (Fig. 1, table A2)
31. (Twice Amended) The method of claim 30, wherein the transmitted second
command results in a stoppage of the receiving of the power.
As noted above, Ichikawa discloses a power transmitting module shown as power transmitting unit 220 (inclusive of 200) that is capable of data communication via communication unit 230 with receiving module 110 (inclusive of 100). SAE also discloses that it shall send a message indicating to the EV that the session is complete and stop the power transfer. (See, e.g. SAE at Table A5 (Scenario Description (1))
33. (Thrice Amended) The method of claim 30, further comprising displaying, by the display, state information related to the power transmitting device, charging progression state information dependent on the first command and the second command, and state information related to the receiving of the power that is different from the charging progression state
information, wherein the charging progression state information is state information that represents a progression of the receiving of the power with respect to a charging finish.
Ichikawa discloses that display unit 242 of the power transmitting device 200 shows the charging efficiency or a charging electric power unit price corresponding to the charging efficiency, progression (time), and results to a user. (0130, 0161). As disclosed above Ichikawa discloses that display unit 242 may have a function as an input unit, such as a touch panel, and is able to accept user's input for whether to approve the charging electric power unit price. (e.g. a button, [Ichikawa para [0127] discloses start and stop commands. See also SAE pp 14 (above) and 15. Ichikawa also discloses state, charging start command, and a charging completion Command. Winstrup discloses a charging progression state in figure 3a/3b which is discussed above and incorporated herein.
34. (Thrice Amended) The method of claim 30, further comprising regulating the receiving of the power based on a charging mode that includes a constant voltage value or a
constant current value.
Ichikawa at [0091] disclosing at least constant current supplied at power transmitting unit 220.
37. (Twice Amended) The method of claim 30, further comprising:
generating another first command based on the charging start command; and
transmitting the other first command to the power transmission device for starting
another charging of the vehicle.
Ichikawa also discloses state, charging start command, and a charging completion Command. (See, e.g. Fig. 16B[S450]) and SAE table A3 p15 in the general overview section discloses a start command and other communications that enable “smart charging”. See also SAE 4.3.4.1 where the EV is issuing commands. SAE 4.2.4.2 discloses that the EV will request changes in the power flow from the WEVSE in order to maintain optimal performance and that the
needs of the BMS are satisfied.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to combine the various embodiments of Ichikawa relating to a wireless power transmission system of a vehicle inclusive of a power transmitting/receiving controller, and to further modify the teachings of Ichikawa and SAE with the teachings of Winstup, relating to a display, to realize the invention as claimed. See e.g. MPEP 2143: Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness. I. A. Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. In this case all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. Ichikawa, SEA and Winstrup are all analogous references in that they all related to a wireless charging device for a vehicle and a person of ordinary skill in the art could easily understand that various communication protocols could be used in order to provide convenience to the user as disclosed by Ichikawa.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Andrew J. Fischer can be reached at 571 272 6779. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JOHN M HOTALING II/Reexamination Specialist, Art Unit 3992
Conferees:
/C. Michelle Tarae/Reexamination Specialist, Art Unit 3992
/ANDREW J. FISCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3992