DETAILED ACTION
Status
Applicant’s response dated 25 August 2025 to the previous Office action dated 25 February 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 2, 4, 6-11, 15-18, and 20 are pending in the application.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 made in the previous Office action is maintained.
The double patenting rejections made in the previous Office action are maintained.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4 and 6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 23 November 2022.
Applicant’s election without traverse of inhibitor of an Aβ oligomer (AβO) biological activity species memantine in the reply filed on 23 November 2022 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-11, 15-17, and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 23 November 2022. It is noted that claim 20 is drawn to nonelected inhibitor of an Aβ oligomer (AβO) biological activity species nitromemantine, rather than elected species memantine.
Claims 2, 7-8, and 18 are under current consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7-8, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozachuk (US 2004/0102525 A1; published 27 May 2004; of record) in view of Laruelle (FR 2 977 159 A1; published 04 January 2013; of record; citations herein to English machine translation made 20 February 2025; of record) and Koo et al. (WO 2018/062941 A1; published 05 April 2018; of record; citations herein to English language version EP 3 520 792 A1 published 07 August 2019; of record).
Kozachuk discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically effective amount of a compound such as memantine (claim 1) and a method of treatment or prophylaxis (i.e., prevention) of a neurological disease comprising administering to a patient a pharmaceutically effective amount of a compound such as memantine (claim 2) wherein the neurological disease may be familial Alzheimer’s disease (FAD) (claim 3) wherein memantine will have efficacy in FAD patients at risk (increased ApoE4) for developing dementia but clinically normal (paragraph [0040]).
However, Kozachuk does not explicitly disclose any working examples of prophylaxis (i.e., prevention) of Alzheimer’s disease by administering to a patient a pharmaceutically effective amount of memantine wherein the memantine is in a composition.
Laruelle discloses a memantine as an active ingredient for preventing Alzheimer’s disease (title) wherein memantine is disclosed as being prescribed for the prevention of Alzheimer’s disease (page 2 at paragraph 2).
Koo et al. discloses a pharmaceutical composition for preventing dementia comprising memantine (title) wherein memantine is known as a useful drug for the prevention of Alzheimer’s disease (paragraph [0050]).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Kozachuk as discussed above and to administer to a patient/subject a pharmaceutically effective amount of memantine in a pharmaceutical composition for prophylaxis (i.e., prevention) of familial Alzheimer’s disease (i.e., inhibiting development of all symptoms associated with Alzheimer’s disease, the subject is pre-symptomatic for Alzheimer’s disease), with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so because not only does Kozachuk suggest doing so but also both Laruelle and Koo et al. provide further motivation to use and a reasonable expectation of success in using memantine as a prophylactic for Alzheimer’s disease because they disclose that memantine is prescribed for the prevention of Alzheimer’s disease and memantine is known as a useful drug for the prevention of Alzheimer’s disease.
Additionally regarding claim 18, it also would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Kozachuk as discussed above and to additionally perform such method as discussed above wherein the patient/subject is a FAD patient with increased ApoE4 (i.e., APOE4-positive) and therefore at risk for developing dementia but clinically normal, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 2 and 7-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of copending Application No. 17/436,882 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the memantine of the ‘882 claims to the composition of the ‘882 claims for the convenience and ease of administering a single composition rather than two compositions, with a reasonable expectation of success, and a subject at risk for developing disease as in the ‘882 claims is necessarily pre-symptomatic.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 2, 7-8, and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of copending Application No. 17/436,882 in view of Kozachuk and Laruelle and Koo et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the memantine of the ‘882 claims to the composition of the ‘882 claims for the convenience and ease of administering a single composition rather than two compositions, with a reasonable expectation of success, and a subject at risk for developing disease as in the ‘882 claims is necessarily pre-symptomatic.
Moreover, although the ‘882 claims do not disclose that the patient/subject is APOE4-positive as in claim 18, Kozachuk discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically effective amount of a compound such as memantine (claim 1) and a method of treatment or prophylaxis (i.e., prevention) of a neurological disease comprising administering to a patient a pharmaceutically effective amount of a compound such as memantine (claim 2) wherein the neurological disease may be familial Alzheimer’s disease (FAD) (claim 3) wherein memantine has efficacy in FAD patients at risk (increased ApoE4) for developing dementia but clinically normal (paragraph [0040]).
Moreover, Laruelle discloses a memantine as an active ingredient for preventing Alzheimer’s disease (title) wherein memantine is disclosed as being prescribed for the prevention of Alzheimer’s disease (page 2 at paragraph 2).
And Koo et al. discloses a pharmaceutical composition for preventing dementia comprising memantine (title) wherein memantine is known as a useful drug for the prevention of Alzheimer’s disease (paragraph [0050]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the ‘882 claims and Kozachuk by using a patient/subject having increased ApoE4 (i.e., APOE4-positive) and therefore at risk for developing dementia but clinically normal as suggested by Kozachuk as the patient/subject in the method of the ‘882 claims, with a reasonable expectation of success, given that the ‘882 claims suggest inhibiting disease in a subject at risk for developing the disease, and Kozachuk identifies subjects having increased ApoE4 (i.e., APOE4-positive) as such subjects that are at risk for developing dementia from Alzheimer’s disease, and given that both Laruelle and Koo et al. provide further motivation to use and a reasonable expectation of success in using memantine as a prophylactic for Alzheimer’s disease because they disclose that memantine is prescribed for the prevention of Alzheimer’s disease and memantine is known as a useful drug for the prevention of Alzheimer’s disease.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 August 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the obviousness rejection lacks articulated reasoning and a reasonable expectation of success (remarks pages 4-8). In response, Kozachuk specifically teaches a method of treatment or prophylaxis (i.e., prevention) of a neurological disease comprising administering to a patient a pharmaceutically effective amount of a compound such as memantine (claim 2) wherein the neurological disease may be familial Alzheimer’s disease (FAD) (claim 3) wherein memantine will have efficacy in FAD patients at risk (increased ApoE4) for developing dementia but clinically normal (paragraph [0040]). Laruelle and Koo et al. both teach use of memantine for prevention of Alzheimer’s disease. Thus, following such teachings of Kozachuk would have been obvious given that two other references also teach the use of memantine for prevention of Alzheimer’s disease, and such teachings in the references provide a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicant argues that the cited references lack experimental evidence (remarks pages 5-6). In response, it is not necessary that references provide experimental evidence in order for such references to be used in an obviousness rejection. See, e.g., MPEP 2121(III)(“Efficacy Is Not A Requirement For Prior Art Enablement”).
Applicant argues that Kozachuk teaches away from sporadic, pre-mild, moderate, or severe Alzheimer’s disease (remarks pages 5-8). Kozachuk clearly discloses a method of treatment or prophylaxis (i.e., prevention) of a neurological disease comprising administering to a patient a pharmaceutically effective amount of a compound such as memantine (claim 2) wherein the neurological disease may be familial Alzheimer’s disease (FAD) (claim 3) wherein memantine will have efficacy in FAD patients at risk (increased ApoE4) for developing dementia but clinically normal (paragraph [0040]), which is encompassed by the current claims.
Applicant requests that the double patenting rejections be held in abeyance until allowance (remarks page 9). In response, double patenting rejections cannot be held in abeyance, as “[O]nly compliance with objections or requirements as to form not necessary for further consideration of the claims may be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated” per MPEP 804(I)(B)(1).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL B. PALLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617