DETAILED ACTION
In the Final Rejection mailed 3/11/2026:
Claims 1-17, 19, 24, and 30 were cancelled.
Claims 18, 20-23, 25-29, and 31-37 were rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/8/2026 is being considered.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims filed 6/8/2026 has been entered:
Claims 18, 20-23, 25-29, and 31-37 are active.
Claims 1-17, 19, 24, and 30 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 6/8/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Tertin does not disclose the limitation of compressing the non-metal tube axially between the sleeve nut and the abutment surface, and the reaction force of that compression places the barrel tube in axial tension, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Tertin states that “muzzle cap 18 is attached 96 to the barrel liner 12 by inserting the muzzle end portion 38 of the barrel liner 12 within the muzzle cap through bore 54, engaging the thread 42 on the outer surface of the barrel liner muzzle end portion 38 with the thread 60 on the inner surface of the muzzle cap through bore 54 and rotating the muzzle cap 18 relative to the barrel liner 12 until the muzzle end 30 of the barrel tube 14 abut the rear shoulder 52 of the muzzle cap 18” (col. 4 lines 60-67). This indicates that Tertin is not simply suggesting threading the muzzle cap 18 onto the barrel liner 12. Rather, engagement between the rear shoulder 52 of the muzzle cap 18 and the muzzle end 30 of the barrel tube 14 is required. Tertin then discloses that “muzzle cap 18 may be torqued at 130 to 140 inch pounds” (col. 5 line 1) and that “contact between the barrel tube 14 and the front shoulder 76 of the breech cap 16 and the rear shoulder 52 of the muzzle cap 18 prevent the barrel liner 12 from shrinking” (col. 5 lines 6-9). These passages clearly disclose that the barrel tube 14 of Tertin is compressed between the front shoulder 76 of the breech cap 16 and the rear shoulder 52 of the muzzle cap 18 as the muzzle cap 18 is torqued against the front of the barrel tube 14. Since the rear end of the barrel liner 12 is fixedly secured with breech cap 16 and the front end of the barrel liner 12 is fixedly secured with muzzle cap 18 such that the barrel liner 12 cannot shrink, torquing the muzzle cap 18 against the front of the barrel tube 14 inherently results in a tension force that is absorbed by the barrel liner 12 to create a very solid mechanically locked assembly. As such, Tertin clearly discloses that the sleeve nut compresses the outer tube, which results in a corresponding tension in the barrel tube, as claimed.
Regardless, Johnson explicitly states that “shroud cap 60 may contact the barrel shroud 21 and force the shroud 21 against the shoulder 39 such that an axial compressive force is applied to the barrel shroud 21, resulting in an equal and opposite axial tensile force applied to the barrel 30. The shroud cap 60 may include a threaded opening formed through the center of the cap 60, thereby enabling the cap 60 to be screwed onto mating threads formed in the barrel 30 at or near the muzzle end 12. Alternatively, the shroud cap 60 may be attached to the barrel 30 by any suitable means that enables the shroud cap 60 to apply an axial compressive force to the barrel shroud 21 while generating an equal and opposite axial tensile force applied to the barrel 30” (col. 4 lines 51-63). As such, the combination of Tertin and Johnson clearly discloses the limitation.
The examiner also notes that Bradley (US 4211146), which was previously cited, states in the abstract that “[to] increase the strength, rigidity and accuracy of a rifle gun barrel, a multi-part composite rifle barrel is created by enclosing the inner rifled tube with an outer sleeve, the two fastened together in a way that introduces compression in the outer part and tension in the inner part. The tension in the inner part increases the barrel's rigidity and reduces its vibration, thus increasing the accuracy of the rifle.” As such, it readily apparent that it was well known in the art that tightening a sleeve nut compresses an outer tube between the sleeve nut and an entrance end of a barrel tube and tensions a length of the barrel tube between an abutment surface and the sleeve nut.
In response to applicant’s argument that Tertin does not disclose a continuous, unobstructed air gap extending from the sleeve nut all the way to the sleeve support section, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner notes that it is not claimed that the air gap is unobstructed, as argued by applicant. Regardless, the heat sink 20 of Tertin is disclosed only as being bonded to the barrel liner 12. As such, the air gap 87 between the inner surface of the barrel tube 14 and the outer surface of the barrel liner 12 would still likely exist between the exterior surface of the heat sink 20 and the inner surface of the barrel tube 14. As such, the air gap 87 would still extend continuously between the muzzle cap 18 and the breech cap 16.
In response to applicant’s argument that the Reese Declaration shows that the claimed invention is superior to the prior art, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Reese Declaration only compares the test data to Johnson. In the Record of Oral Healing document, dated 12/4/2025, applicant indicated that they only compared to Johnson because Johnson provides shot pattern data, while Tertin does not. However, Tertin is the primary reference in the rejection and is believed to be the closest prior art. MPEP § 716.02(e) states that “[an] affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness”. As such, the Reese Declaration cannot be effective as evidence showing unexpected results, since the comparison was not made to the closest prior art.
In response to applicant’s argument that the Painter Declaration is sufficient to refute obviousness over the prior art based on commercial success derived from the claimed invention, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
As previously discussed, the declaration is insufficient to establish commercial success derived from the claimed invention. MPEP § 716.03(b)(IV) states that "Gross sales figures do not show commercial success absent evidence as to market share". However, the declaration makes no mention whatsoever of market share when indicating the sales data. As such, the declaration fails to establish commercial success derived from the claimed invention.
Claim Objections
Claims 18, 22, 29, and 35 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 18, “the reaction force” in line 16 should say “[[the]] a reaction force”.
Regarding claim 22, “the reaction force” in line 16 should say “[[the]] a reaction force”.
Regarding claim 29, “the reaction force” in line 14 should say “[[the]] a reaction force”.
Regarding claim 35, the word “includes” in line 3 should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18, 20-23, 25-29, and 31-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “said length of said barrel tube” in lines 18-19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since a length of the barrel tube was not previously recited. The examiner notes that “the length of said barrel tube” is also recited in line 22 of the claim.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “the length of said barrel tube” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since a length of the barrel tube was not previously recited.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “a diameter” twice in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations in the claim. A diameter of the outer barrel surface of the barrel tube was previously recited in line 4 of claim 22, and a diameter of the raised sleeve support was also previously recited in line 4 of claim 22.
Claim 29 recites the limitations “said air gap” (line 4), “the length of said barrel tube” (lines 4-5), “said sleeve nut” (line 5), “an air gap (line 6), and “a sleeve nut” (line 7). There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations in the claim. Respectively, an air gap was not previously recited, a length of the barrel tube was not previously recited, a sleeve nut was not previously recited, an air gap was already recited, and a sleeve nut was already recited.
Claim 37 recites the limitation “said raised sleeve support” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because a raised sleeve support was not previously claimed.
Claims 20-21, 25-28, and 31-36 are rejected for depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Regarding claim 23, the entirety of the claim recites that the outer barrel surface of the barrel tube has a diameter which is less than a diameter of the raised sleeve support (lines 3-4). However, applicant previously recited in lines 3-4 of claim 22, from which claim 23 depends, that the raised sleeve support has a diameter greater than a diameter of the outer barrel surface. As such, claim 23 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 20-23, 25-26, 28-29, and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tertin et al. (US 9796057), herein referenced ‘Tertin’, and further in view of Johnson (US 8595971), herein referenced ‘Johnson’.
Regarding claims 18 and 20, Tertin discloses a firearm barrel (Fig. 1) comprising:
a barrel tube (12, 16, and/or 20) including an outer barrel surface (Fig. 2), an inner barrel surface (34), an entrance end (36), an exit end (38), and a sleeve thread (42) formed on said exit end;
said entrance end comprising an abutment surface (76) and an integral sleeve support section (66 and/or 20) having a diameter (70) greater than a diameter (83) of said outer barrel surface (Fig. 1; col. 4 lines 4-15);
an outer tube (14) including an inner surface (85; Fig. 1) sized to receive said integral sleeve support section at said entrance end such that said outer tube is registered on and supported by said sleeve support section (Fig. 1; col. 4 lines 55-59);
an air gap (87) created between said outer tube inner surface and said outer barrel surface (Fig. 1; col. 4 lines 23-26), said air gap extending continuously from said sleeve nut to said sleeve support section along a length of the barrel tube such that the barrel tube floats within the outer tube between the sleeve nut and the sleeve support section (Fig. 1; col. 4 lines 23-27); and
a sleeve nut (18) including a tube end (46), a sleeve inner thread (60) formed through said sleeve nut (Fig. 4), and an outer surface of said tube end in contact with said inner surface of said outer tube (Fig. 1; col. 4 line 60 – col. 5 line 21),
wherein said barrel tube is inserted through said outer tube (col. 4 lines 55-56),
wherein said sleeve nut is threaded on to said sleeve thread to retain said outer tube between said sleeve nut and said abutment surface (Fig. 1; col. 4 line 60 – col. 5 line 3), compressing said outer tube axially between said sleeve nut and said abutment surface (Fig. 1; col. 4 line 60 – col. 5 line 21),
wherein a reaction force of said axial compression places said barrel tube in axial tension between said abutment surface and said sleeve nut (Fig. 1; col. 4 line 60 – col. 5 line 21),
wherein tightening said sleeve nut increases the axial compression on said outer tube and the corresponding axial tension on said length of said barrel tube (col. 4 line 60 – col. 5 line 21),
wherein tightening of said sleeve nut is not limited by a discontinuation of said sleeve thread on said barrel tube when said sleeve nut is in contact with an end of said outer tube (col. 4 lines 60-67).
Tertin does not expressly teach wherein the outer tube is fabricated from carbon fiber.
Johnson teaches a firearm barrel (20) comprising a barrel tube (30) surrounded by an outer tube (21) and attached thereto by a sleeve nut (60; Figs. 1 and 4; col. 4 lines 48-63), wherein the outer tube may comprise a metal, alloy, polymer, composite, fiberglass, carbon fiber, or other suitable material (col. 4 lines 32-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the outer tube of Tertin to be fabricated from a non-metal material such as carbon fiber as taught by Johnson with a reasonable expectation of success since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 21, the modified Tertin discloses wherein a threaded tap (40) is formed in said entrance end of said barrel tube (Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 22-23 and 25, Tertin discloses a firearm barrel (Fig. 1) comprising:
a barrel tube (12, 16, and/or 20) including an outer barrel surface (Fig. 2), an inner barrel surface (34), an entrance end (36), an exit end (38), a sleeve thread (42) formed on said exit end, and a raised sleeve support (66 or 20) formed on said entrance end, said raised sleeve support having a diameter (70) greater than a diameter (83) of said outer barrel surface (Fig. 1; col. 4 lines 4-15);
an outer tube (14) including an inner surface (85; Fig. 1) sized to receive said raised sleeve support (Fig. 1) such that said outer tube is registered on said raised sleeve support at said entrance end (Fig. 1; col. 4 lines 55-59);
an air gap (87) created between said outer tube inner surface and said outer barrel surface (Fig. 1; col. 4 lines 23-26), said air gap extending continuously along a length of said barrel tube between said sleeve nut and said raised sleeve support (Fig. 1; col. 4 lines 23-27); and
a sleeve nut (18) including a sleeve inner thread (60) and a rotation flange (44);
wherein said barrel tube is inserted through said outer tube (col. 4 lines 55-56);
wherein said sleeve nut is threaded on to said sleeve thread to retain said outer tube (col. 4 lines 60-67);
wherein tightening said sleeve nut on said sleeve thread compresses said outer tube axially between said sleeve nut and said entrance end (Fig. 1; col. 4 line 60 – col. 5 line 21);
wherein a reaction force of said axial compression places said barrel tube in axial tension between said entrance end and said sleeve nut (col. 4 line 60 – col. 5 line 21); and
wherein said barrel tube floats within said outer tube along said air gap when said outer tube is compressed between said sleeve nut and said entrance end (Fig. 1; col. 4 lines 23-27).
Tertin does not expressly teach wherein the outer tube is fabricated from carbon fiber.
Johnson teaches a firearm barrel (20) comprising a barrel tube (30) surrounded by an outer tube (21) and attached thereto by a sleeve nut (60; Figs. 1 and 4; col. 4 lines 48-63), wherein the outer tube may comprise a metal, alloy, polymer, composite, fiberglass, carbon fiber, or other suitable material (col. 4 lines 32-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the outer tube of Tertin to be fabricated from a non-metal material such as carbon fiber as taught by Johnson with a reasonable expectation of success since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 26, the modified Tertin discloses wherein said sleeve nut includes a tube end (46) extending from said rotation flange (Fig. 4), wherein said tube end is sized to receive said inner surface of said non-metal tube (Fig. 1; col. 4 line 60 – col. 5 line 21).
Regarding claim 28, the modified Tertin discloses wherein a threaded tap (40) is formed in said entrance end of said barrel tube (Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 29 and 31, Tertin discloses a firearm barrel (Fig. 1) comprising:
a barrel tube (12, 16, and/or 20) including an outer barrel surface (Fig. 2), an inner barrel surface (34), an entrance end (36), an exit end (38), and a sleeve thread (42) formed on said exit end;
an outer tube (14) including an inner surface (85; Fig. 1);
an air gap (87) created between said outer tube inner surface and said outer barrel surface (Fig. 1; col. 4 lines 23-26); and
a sleeve nut (18) including a tube end (46);
wherein an outer surface of said tube end is in contact with said inner surface of said outer tube (Fig. 1; col. 4 line 60 – col. 5 line 21);
wherein said outer surface of said tube end is not threadably engaged with said inner surface of said outer tube (Figs. 1, 4, and 10; col. 4 line 60 – col. 5 line 21);
wherein said barrel tube is inserted through said outer tube (col. 4 lines 55-56);
wherein said air gap extends continuously along a length of said barrel tube between said sleeve nut and a shoulder (76) at said entrance end (Fig. 1; col. 4 lines 23-27);
wherein said sleeve nut is threaded on to said sleeve thread (col. 4 lines 60-67) such that said sleeve nut contacts an end of said outer tube and compresses said outer tube axially between said sleeve nut and said shoulder (Fig. 1; col. 4 line 60 – col. 5 line 21);
wherein a reaction force of said axial compression places said barrel tube in axial tension between said shoulder and said sleeve nut (col. 4 line 60 – col. 5 line 21);
wherein said barrel tube is radially unsupported by said outer tube along the air gap between the sleeve nut and the shoulder (Fig. 1; col. 4 lines 23-27); and
wherein the axial compression of said outer tube and the corresponding axial tension of said barrel tube are not limited by a discontinuation of said sleeve thread on said barrel tube when said sleeve nut is in contact with said end of said outer tube (col. 4 line 60 – col. 5 line 21).
Tertin does not expressly teach wherein the outer tube is fabricated from carbon fiber.
Johnson teaches a firearm barrel (20) comprising a barrel tube (30) surrounded by an outer tube (21) and attached thereto by a sleeve nut (60; Figs. 1 and 4; col. 4 lines 48-63), wherein the outer tube may comprise a metal, alloy, polymer, composite, fiberglass, carbon fiber, or other suitable material (col. 4 lines 32-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the outer tube of Tertin to be fabricated from a non-metal material such as carbon fiber as taught by Johnson with a reasonable expectation of success since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 32, the modified Tertin discloses wherein said sleeve nut includes a rotation flange (44) from which said tube end extends (Fig. 4), wherein said tube end is sized to receive said inner surface of said non-metal tube (Fig. 1; col. 4 line 60 – col. 5 line 21).
Regarding claim 33, the modified Tertin discloses wherein said inner surface of said non-metal tube is smooth (Figs. 1, 4, and 10; col. 4 line 60 – col. 5 line 21).
Regarding claim 34, the modified Tertin discloses wherein a threaded tap (40) is formed in said entrance end of said barrel tube (Fig. 2).
Claims 27, 35, 36, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tertin et al. (US 9796057) in view of Johnson (US 8595971) as applied to claims 22, 18, 22, and 29 above, respectively, and further in view of Briggs (US 2007/0193102), herein referenced ‘Briggs’.
Regarding claims 27 and 35-37, the modified Tertin discloses wherein said barrel tube includes a raised sleeve support (16 and/or 20), but does not expressly teach wherein the raised sleeve support includes a rotation-resistant feature in the form of a knurling.
Briggs teaches a firearm barrel assembly (20) comprising a barrel tube (32) and an outer tube (34), wherein the outer tube comprises an inner surface with raised areas that are received in recessed areas on an exterior surface (40) of the barrel tube to bond the barrel tube and the outer tube together (par. 6), wherein the recessed areas on the exterior surface of the barrel tube may be in the form of a knurled surface (60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the raised sleeve support of the modified Tertin to have a rotation-resistant feature in the form of knurling as taught by Briggs with a reasonable expectation of success in order to bond the barrel tube and the outer tube together (Briggs; par. 6 lines 11-14).
Conclusion
Claims 18, 20-23, 25-29, and 31-37 are rejected. Claims 1-17, 19, 24, and 30 are cancelled.
/Troy Chambers/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3641
/BENJAMIN S. GOMBERG/
Examiner
Art Unit 3641