DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-21 are pending in the present application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 3 September 2020 were filed before the mailing of an Office action. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Instant claims 1 and 15 each recite “at least about” regarding the concentration of total active herbicide loading of glyphosate monoethanolamine salt and dicamba diglycolamine salt. However, the claims do not include an upper limit for the concentration of the herbicides, and would therefore include any concentration above the recited value. It is unclear how much herbicide can be included in the aqueous herbicidal concentrate composition of the instant invention. Claims 2-14 and 19-21 depend from claim 1 and do not clarify the upper limit for the concentration range.
The highest concentration recited in the instant specification appears to be about 550 g/l ([0023]). The examiner recommends Applicant amend claims 1 and 15 to include an upper limit that has adequate written support in the instant specification, such as from about 360 grams acid equivalent per liter to about 550 grams acid equivalent per liter (i.e., insert the limitations from claim 16 into claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Seifert-Higgins et al. (CA 2 729 738 A1; US 2011/0263430 A1 referred to herein) in view of Wright et al. (WO 2011/019652 A2) and Zhang et al. (US 2010/0331182 A1).
Regarding claims 1-9, 11-12 and 15-18, Seifert-Higgins et al. teach herbicidal compositions comprising a glyphosate salt, a nonionic derivatized saccharide surfactant, such as an alkyl polysaccharide, and an etheramine oxide surfactant, wherein the compositions are efficacious, have low toxicity to aquatic organisms, have “ready biodegradable” classification and can be formulated in high loading in stable solution concentrates having high pesticide concentrations ([0027]-[0028]). Seifert-Higgins et al. teach that the combination of the alkyl polysaccharide surfactants and etheramine oxide surfactants has a substantial enhancing effect on the herbicidal efficacy of glyphosate salt formulations ([0029]).
Seifert-Higgins et al. teach that a preferred herbicide is glyphosate, or a salt or ester thereof, including the monoethanolammonium (“MEA”) salt, wherein the concentration of glyphosate is preferably from about 300 to about 600 gae/L, most preferably from about 480 to about 600 gae/L ([0031]). Seifert-Higgins et al. teach that the alkyl polysaccharide surfactant has the formula R11-O-(sug)u (2) wherein R11 is a straight or branched chain substituted or unsubstituted hydrocarbyl selected from alkyl, alkenyl, alkylphenyl, alkenylphenyl having from about 4 to about 22 carbon atoms; the sug moiety is a saccharide residue; and u is an average number from 1 to about 10 ([0038]). Seifert-Higgins et al. further teach that compounds which enhance the compatibility of the surfactants include quaternary ammonium salts ([0061]); and cationic surfactants and cosurfactants effective in such glyphosate formulations include dialkoxylated quaternary ammonium salt having the formula:
([0063]-[0065]).
Preferred dialkoxylated quaternary ammonium surfactants include EthoquadTM C12 (a PEG 2 coco methyl ammonium chloride from Akzo Nobel), PEG 5 coco methyl ammonium chloride, PEG 5 tallow methyl ammonium chloride, PEG 5 ditallow ammonium bromide, and PEG 10 ditallow ammonium bromide ([0065]). As evidenced by the instant specification ([0030]), EthoquadTM C-12 is cocoalkylmethylbis(2-hydroxyethyl)ammonium chloride surfactant.
Seifert-Higgins et al. also teach that the compositions may further comprise one or more additional surfactants and one or more additional herbicides ([0059]).
Seifert-Higgins et al. teach that the additional surfactant and cosurfactants effective in formulating pesticides such as glyphosate, or a salt or ester thereof, with polysaccharide and etheramine oxide surfactants include nonionic surfactants and cosurfactants, wherein the surfactant component is present in an amount sufficient to enhance pesticidal efficacy while maintaining the desired toxicology and biodegradability characteristics. Preferably the sum of the additional surfactants is less than about 10 wt.% based on the total weight of the composition ([0062]).
Regarding claim 10, Seifert-Higgins et al. teach that a further drawback of ethoxylated tertiary alkylamine surfactants is they tend to form a stiff gel when combined with water which adds to the complexity and expense of manufacturing formulations containing such surfactants, by making it difficult to clean vessels and process piping. In practice, this problem is ameliorated by adding an anti-gel ling agent, such as polyethylene glycol, to the surfactant.
Regarding claim 13, Seifert-Higgins et al. teach that the polysaccharide surfactant may be an alkyl polyglucoside of formula (2) wherein: R11 is a branched or straight chain alkyl group preferably having from 4 to 22 carbon atoms, more preferably from 8 to 18 carbon atoms, or a mixture of alkyl groups having an average value within the given range; sug is a glucose residue (e.g., a glucoside); and u is between 1 and about 5, and more preferably between 1 and about 3 ([0038]).
Regarding claim 14, Seifert-Higgins et al. teach that preferably the sum of the additional surfactants is less than about 10 wt % based on the total weight of the composition ([0062]).
Regarding claim 19, Seifert-Higgins et al. do not teach compositions comprising a polybasic polymer.
Regarding instant claims 20-21, Seifert-Higgins et al. teach that surfactants tending to give the most useful enhancement of glyphosate herbicidal effectiveness are generally but not exclusively cationic surfactants, including surfactants which form cations in aqueous solution or dispersion at pH levels of around 4-5 characteristic of SL formulations of monobasic salts of glyphosate ([0007]).
Seifert-Higgins et al. teach that the herbicidal formulations may optionally contain one or more additional herbicides ([0023], [0030], [0059]; Claims 85-86), but they do not explicitly disclose a composition comprising a combination of glyphosate and dicamba, wherein the dicamba is the diglycolamine salt, from claim 1.
However, Wright et al. teach low volatility dicamba salt herbicide compositions further comprising glyphosate and a surfactant ([0066]-[0105] and [0124]; and Claims 1, 5, 17 and 18). Wright et al. further teach that the dicamba salt may comprise the diglycolamine salt of dicamba ([0247] Table 14f). Wright et al. teach that the composition comprises at least 450 gae/l of herbicide ([0037] Table A; and Claims 3 and 4). Wright et al. also teach that the surfactant comprises an alkoxylated tertiary etheramines and polysaccharides ([0066]-[0105]; and Claim 18). Wright et al. teach compositions comprising a 1:1 or 1:3 weight ratio of dicamba to glyphosate ([0237] and [0243]). Wright et al. further teach that the pH of the composition is from 4 to 11 ([0036]).
Zhang et al. teach herbicidal compositions comprising the monoethanolamide salt of glyphosate, the diglycolamine salt of dicamba, and a surfactant, wherein the total active ingredient loading is greater than about 450 gae/l and the acid equivalent weight ratio of glyphosate to dicamba is 1:1 to 1:3 ([0003]-[0007], [0009]-[0016] and [0023]; and Tables 1-4). Zhang et al. teach that surfactants are included in concentrations sufficient to enhance the herbicidal activity of the resulting composition, preferably in amounts between about 20 g/L and about 200 g/L, most preferably between about 50 g/L and about 100 g/L ([0024]). Zhang et al. further teach that the surfactants are preferably selected to include one or more of quaternary ammonium surfactants, such as Akzo Nobel’s Arquad T/50, Arquad APA-E, Duoquad T/50, EthoquadTM C/12, Ethoquad 18/12 and Air Products’ Tomah Q-14-2, and alkylpolyglycosides, such as Akzo Nobel AG 6202 or AG 6210 ([0023]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare compositions according to Seifert-Higgins et al. comprising monoethanolamine glyphosate salt, a quaternary ammonium salt surfactant and an alkyl polyglucoside surfactant, wherein the compositions further comprise diglycolamine dicamba salt, as reasonably suggested by Wright et al. and Zhang et al. Such would have been obvious because Seifert-Higgins et al. teach that additional herbicides may be included in their compositions, and Wright et al. and Zhang et al. each teach the combination of glyphosate with dicamba as herbicidally effective.
Also, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to include propylene glycol or polyethylene glycol in the compositions according to Seifert-Higgins et al. in order to ameliorate the gelling when combined with water.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 16 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4-5, 8, 10, 12 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 9,743,662. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to herbicide compositions comprising dicamba and glyphosate wherein the weight ratio of dicamba to glyphosate is from about 1:1 to about 1:5 and the total herbicide loading is at least 360 gae/l. US ‘662 claims an herbicidal mixture comprising an auxin herbicide, a co-herbicide, and an adjuvant, wherein the acid equivalent weight ratio of co-herbicide to auxin herbicide is from about 1:1 to about 5:1, and the total herbicide concentration is no greater than about 40% by weight acid equivalent (Claim 4). The auxin herbicide includes dicamba diglycolamine (Claim 8), and the co-herbicide includes glyphosate monoethanolamine (Claim 10). US ‘662 further claims the herbicidal mixture further comprising a surfactant, such as alkoxylated quaternary etheramines, and alkoxylated quaternary amines (Claim 12). The herbicidal mixture is a concentrate wherein the total herbicide content is up to about 40 wt.% a.e. (Claim 14).
Claims 1, 16 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 8, 10, 12, 14, 21, 23-24 of U.S. Patent No. 9,743,664 in view of Seifert-Higgins et al. (CA 2 729 738 A1) and Zhang et al. (US 2010/0331182). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to herbicide compositions comprising dicamba and glyphosate wherein the weight ratio of dicamba to glyphosate is from about 1:1 to about 1:3 and the total herbicide loading is at least 450 gae/l. US ‘664 claims an herbicidal composition comprising at least one auxin herbicide, a non-auxin herbicide including glyphosate, wherein the acid equivalent weight ratio of auxin herbicide to non-auxin herbicide is from about 1:5 to about 2:1 (Claim 1). US ‘664 claims that the auxin herbicide is dicamba (Claims 5 and 8) and the non-auxin herbicide is glyphosate (Claim 10). The sum of the concentration of auxin herbicide and the concentration of the non-auxin herbicide is from about 120 grams (acid equivalent weight)/L to about 600 grams (acid equivalent weight)/L (Claim 12). US ‘664 does not explicitly claim the monoethanolamine salt of glyphosate and the diglycolamine salt of dicamba, or the quaternary ammonium salt surfactant. However, Seifert-Higgins et al. teach herbicidal compositions comprising a salt of glyphosate, such as monoethanolamine, an additional herbicide, and a surfactant system comprising an alkoxylated etheramine oxide and an alkyl polyglucoside. Zhang et al. teach herbicidal compositions comprising the monoethanolamide salt of glyphosate, the diglycolamine salt of dicamba, and a surfactant, wherein the total active ingredient loading is greater than about 450 gae/l, the acid equivalent weight ratio of glyphosate to dicamba is 1:1 to 1:3, and the surfactant includes quaternary ammonium surfactants and alkylpolyglycosides. Therefore, it would have been obvious to prepare compositions comprising monoethanolamine glyphosate salt, diglycolamine dicamba salt, and the surfactant system of Seifert-Higgins et al.
Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-18, 22-24, 26-27 and 29-30 of U.S. Patent No. 10,285,404. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to herbicide compositions methods comprising herbicide compositions comprising dicamba salts, glyphosate salts and a surfactant. US ‘404 claims combining an aqueous glyphosate concentrate composition, a dicamba concentrate composition, and dilution water, wherein the glyphosate concentrate composition comprises glyphosate monoethanolamine salt at a glyphosate loading from about 360 grams acid equivalent per liter to about 550 grams acid equivalent per liter, and a surfactant, and a pH from about 5 to about 6.5 (Claim 1). The ratio of the total weight of the glyphosate salts on an acid equivalent basis to the total weight of the dicamba salt on an acid equivalence basis is from about 1:1 to about 5:1 (Claim 5). The dicamba salt includes diglycolamine salt (Claim 6). The surfactant includes quaternary ammonium salts of formula (I) (Claims 14-18). The surfactant also comprises an alkylpolysaccharide (Claims 22-24). The glyphosate concentrate composition has a surfactant concentration from about 1 wt.% to about 20 wt.% (Claim 26).
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,736,322 in view of Zhang et al. (US 2010/0331182 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to herbicide compositions methods comprising herbicide compositions comprising dicamba salts, glyphosate salts and a surfactant system comprising a quaternary ammonium salt surfactant. US ‘322 claims an aqueous herbicidal concentrate composition comprising monoethanolamine salt of glyphosate, diglycolamine salt of dicamba, and a surfactant system comprising an alkoxylated tertiary etheramine surfactant and an alkylpolysaccharide surfactant, wherein the composition contains a total active herbicide loading of glyphosate monoethanolamine salt and dicamba diglycolamine salt of at least about 360 grams acid equivalent per liter, the pH of the concentrate composition is from about 4.8 to about 5.7, and the acid equivalent weight ratio of glyphosate monoethanolamine salt to dicamba diglycolamine salt is from about 1:1 to about 3:1 (Claim 1). The surfactant system constitutes from about 2.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of the composition (Claims 6, 8, 10).
US ‘322 does not explicitly claim a composition comprising a quaternary ammonium salt surfactant, as instantly claimed. However, Zhang et al. teach herbicidal compositions comprising the monoethanolamide salt of glyphosate, the diglycolamine salt of dicamba, and a surfactant, wherein the total active ingredient loading is greater than about 450 gae/l, the acid equivalent weight ratio of glyphosate to dicamba is 1:1 to 1:3, and the surfactant includes quaternary ammonium surfactants and alkylpolyglycosides ([0023]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to prepare compositions comprising monoethanolamine glyphosate salt, diglycolamine dicamba salt, and the surfactant system of Zhang et al.
Conclusion
/N.W.S/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/SUE X LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1616