DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments filed on 12/05/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-2 and 5-7 are currently under examination on the merits.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al (WO2018021841, English equivalent US 2019/0312212, of record, ‘212 hereafter is cited in this office action) in view of Lee (US 2020/0203623, ‘623 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 5, ‘212 discloses a plurality of host materials comprising a first host material represented by following chemical formula reading upon instantly claimed formulae (1) and (1-2) as in claim 1([0022]-[0038], Compound C-90, page 16):
Wherein X can be N or CR ([0011]), L can be a single bond, a C1-C30 alkylene group, C3-C30 cycloalkylene or an C6-C30 aryl group ([0012]), and Ar can be a C1-C30 alkyl group, C3-C30 cycloalkyl an C6-C30 aryl group, a heteroaryl group containing B, N, O, S or P, -NR1R2, or -SiR3R4R5 ([0013], [0014]). ‘212 also specifically name a compound as shown above reading upon H-1-137 as in the present claim 5 (Compound C-90, page 16). ‘212 discloses that the host materials further include a second host material which can be a compound having triazinyl-group (page 32-34, compounds B-73, B-73, B-87 and B-88) but does not specifically set forth the second host material having a chemical structure represented by one of the formulae 2-4 to 2-6 as recited in the present claim 1. However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘623 discloses a compound having triazinyl-group being one of the host materials in a plurality of host materials represented by following chemical formulae ([0009]-0013], [0055]-[0093]) to render an organic electro-luminescent device having low driving voltage with improved luminous efficiency and lifespan ([0013], Examples):
The formula reads upon presently claimed chemical formula 2-5 which also are position isomers of the formulae (2-4 ) and (2-6) as in the present claim 1, wherein X1 is O or S, L3 is a single bond or an arylene group which connects to a substituted triazinyl group. In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the host material as taught by ‘623, to modify the host materials of ‘212, in order to render a host material having better performance in an organic electroluminescent device.
Regarding claim 7, modified ‘212 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘212 also discloses an organic electroluminescent device comprising the host compounds and other components as claimed ([0071]-[0083], [0114]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The reason for the allowance is that the prior art of record does not specifically disclose a host material as set forth in the present claim 1, wherein the second host material is one of the specific compounds as listed on the present claim 6.
.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection in light of Applicant's amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782