DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 1 is amended. Claims 5-6 and 10-22 are cancelled. Claims 1-4, 7-9 and 23 are presently examined.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim interpretation of claim 9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The interpretation of 7/2/2025 is withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The use of the term Gore-Tex [0056], which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “the first membrane and the second membrane configured to allow escape of air from within the reservoir” (lines 21-22), which is considered to be a statement regarding the intended use of the claimed membranes. The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP § 2114. Therefore, for the purposes of this Office action, the limitation will be interpreted as if it required membranes through which air can leave the reservoir.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 9,956,357) in view of Biel (US 2018/0220707) and Mudde (US 3,879,493) and von Borstel (US 8,646,461).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an atomizer (figure 3, reference numeral 100), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a reservoir assembly, having a second housing (figure 3, reference numeral 114), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of an outer housing, that defines a liquid reservoir for storing liquid at its inner surface (column 3, lines 56-67, column 4, lines 1-3, figure 3, reference numeral 115). A lower end is defined by a gasket (figure 3, reference numeral 120) that has a liquid conducting hole through it (column 4, lines 17-31, figure 3, reference numeral 122). A wick extends into an open end of the reservoir (column 4, lines 4-16, figure 3, reference numeral 140). A liquid absorbing sheet is located between the gasket and the wick, and outside of the reservoir, that regulates the amount of liquid that passes through it to control the amount of liquid delivered to the wick (column 4, lines 32-49, figure 3, reference numeral 130), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a transfer material. Chen does not explicitly disclose (a) first and second openings, (b) the membrane being a fabric, (c) the first and second openings located in the claimed locations and (d) the formulation being a non-nicotine formulation.
Regarding (a), Biel teaches an electronic smoking device [0001] having a liquid reservoir having a semi-permeable membrane located in at least a part of the casing of the reservoir that allows air to enter into the liquid reservoir while prevent liquid from escaping the reservoir to allow air pressure to equalize inside the liquid reservoir while preventing a liquid leakage [0054]. There may be multiple membranes [0056] provided at different locations and in different shapes along the reservoir [0055]. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the membrane would allow air to leave the reservoir since the membrane has pores of a constant size and Biel teaches that air is able to pass across the membrane [0054].
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the second housing of Chen with the membrane of Biel. One would have been motivated to do so since Biel teaches a membrane that allows air pressure to equalize.
Regarding (b), Mudde teaches a water vapor permeable composition comprising a blend of hydrophilic and hydrophobic polymeric materials (abstract) that is used as a film to prepare breathable yet water impermeable coated fabrics from woven textile products (column 29, lines 1-15). The textiles can be in the form of fibers and can have many different possible end uses (column 26, lines 13-23).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the vapor permeable fabric of Mudde as the membrane of modified Chen. One would have been motivated to do so since Mudde teaches a fabric that is suitable for use in varied end uses as a vapor permeable but water impermeable barrier. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding (c), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the membranes of modified Chen at the claimed locations. One would have been motivated to do so since Biel teaches that the membranes can be located at different locations. Rearrangement of parts where both arrangements are known equivalents is a design choice that gives predicable results. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI C.
Regarding (d), von Borstel teaches a device for simulating a chemosensation of smoking (abstract) having a liquid composition that provides a strong throat hit and chest sensation while using a nicotine-free liquid (column 15, lines 27-44). Von Borstel additionally teaches that this liquid allows a smoker to alleviate their craving in areas where smoking is prohibited (column 1, lines 14-28).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the liquid of von Borstel as the liquid of modified Chen. One would have been motivated to do so since von Borstel teaches a liquid that allows a smoker to alleviate their craving in areas where smoking is prohibited. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claim 2, it is evident that the coated fibers of Mudde of hydrophobic since the fabric itself is water impermeable (column 29, lines 1-15) and the film is prepared by laminating the fabric with the composition (column 29, lines 16-32). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore recognize that the composition coats the fibers of the fabric rather than forming a film that is separate from the fibers. Since there is no feature besides the coated fibers in the fabric of Mudde, and the fabric is water impermeable, it is evident that the coated fibers themselves must be water impermeable since there are no additional layers of components of the overall fabric.
Regarding claim 3, modified Chen teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Biel additionally teaches that the membrane may be provided in different shapes [0056]. Modified Chen does not explicitly teach the membrane being provided in an opening having a slit shape.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the opening in the second housing of modified Chen in a slit shape. One would have been motivated to do so since Biel teaches that the membrane may be provided in different shapes. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV B.
Regarding claim 4, modified Chen teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Biel additionally discloses that there may be multiple membranes [0056] provided at different locations and in different shapes along the reservoir [0055]. Modified Chen does not explicitly teach a plurality of pinholes.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide multiple openings in the second housing of modified Chen covered with the membrane of Biel. One would have been motivated to do so since Biel teaches that multiple membranes that can be provided in different locations and sizes can be provided. The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI B. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV B.
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses that an air flow passage extends through the central portion of the of the atomizer (figure 3, reference numeral 113) and is defined by a first housing (column 3, lines 56-67, column 4, lines 1-3, figure 3, reference numeral 112), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a conduit. The reservoir is defined between the first and second housings, and the wick extends between the outer surface of the first housing and the inner surface of the second housing since it occupies the space between the two housings (column 3, lines 56-67, column 4, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses that the atomizer has an atomizing base containing an atomizing element (column 5, lines 10-22, figure 3, reference numeral 160) that atomizes liquid (column 9, lines 50-65) to form a vapor (column 3, lines 51-55). The atomizing element includes a heating wire (column 6, lines 23-34, figure 7, reference numeral 152), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a heater.
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses that the atomizer is connected to a power assembly (column 7, lines 3-20) that electrically connects to the atomizing assembly (column 8, lines 36-42).
Regarding claim 23, Mudde teaches that the hydrophobic polymeric material is provided in the form of an emulsion that is then coated onto the substrate to form the vapor permeable composition (column 7, lines 34-47).
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are entered as set forth above.
Conclusion
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755