DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant amendment to the claimed filed April 07, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 5 and 14 are cancelled. Claims 2, 4, 6 – 13, and 15 – 26 are pending and under examination. Applicant’s arguments have been considered and found persuasive.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 8 – 13, filed 04/07/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2, 4, 6 – 13, and 15 – 26 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Green et al. (US 2007/0029690 A1; of record), in view of Gans et al. (US 2009/0233053 A1, “Gans”), and further in view of Donzis (US Pat. No. 4,486,901; of record), and G.E. MORGAN, JR. (US Pat. No. 2,863,151; “Morgan”; of record).
New Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 6 – 13, 15 – 20, 22, 24 and 26 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Green et al. (US 2007/0029690 A1; of record), in view of Gans et al. (US 2009/0233053 A1, “Gans”), and further in view of Donzis (US Pat. No. 4,486,901; of record), and G.E. MORGAN, JR. (US Pat. No. 2,863,151; “Morgan”; of record).
Regarding claim 2. Green et al. teaches an energy absorbing blends and methods of manufacturing a component for an article of sport gear (e.g., [0055] discloses the energy absorbing material may be employed for applications such as headwear and helmets, among others), the method comprising:
a) molding a core of polymeric cellular material (e.g., soles of footwear [0062], a solid foamed sheet [0083]), to impart a final three-dimensional shape of the core of polymeric cellular material that comprises a first side and a second side opposite one another, a peripheral surface extending from the first side to the second side (e.g., see FIG. 2, [0062] discloses an example where an article of sport gear – e.g., soles of footwear, comprised by a core of polymeric material e.g. innersoles, midsoles or outer soles – wherein a polymeric material is molded between the innersole (1) and the outersole (2), where the interfaces between both the innersole and midsole (3) and the outersole and midsole are “favourably contoured or textured to induce large amounts of shear deformation in the foamed composite material.”; “This type of construction may be formed by incorporating the foamed composite material into the cavity between the inner and outer sole such that the resulting midsole solidifies and bonds to both the inner and outer sole. A similar structure is achieved as a one-part moulding whereby the material foams within a mould, the inner and outer soles being formed by the "skin" produced at the mould surfaces.” Consequently, under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), reading on imparting “a final three-dimensional shape of the core of polymeric cellular material that comprises a first side and a second side opposite one another”),
and a body of expanded polymeric microspheres (see [0041 – 0042], and “Expancel microballoons” [0086]) by applying heat to expand polymeric microspheres each comprising a polymeric shell and a fluid encapsulated in the polymeric shell (see Green et al. at [0083] “The blends, as well as pure Hytrel with the same content of Expancel were then sheet extruded… by using a heated screw feeder fed by a hopper containing the material in pellet form. As the pellets of material are screw fed down the barrel of the machine the heaters raise the temperature of the pellets to around 200 °C which takes the material into the molten state.”); and
b) molding a fabric covering (e.g., an inner sole, and an outer sole [0062]) onto the core of polymeric cellular material such that the fabric covering conforms to at least part of the final three-dimensional shape of the core of polymeric cellular material (e.g., [0062] “incorporating the foamed composite material into the cavity between the inner and outer sole such that the resulting midsole solidifies and bonds to both the inner and outer sole”) and covers at least part of the first side, at least part of the second side and at least part of the peripheral surface of the core of polymeric cellular material (e.g., [0062] “incorporating the foamed composite material into the cavity between the inner and outer sole such that the resulting midsole solidifies and bonds to both the inner and outer sole”; and Green et al. at [0044 – 0047] discloses that the composite material [the core of polymeric cellular material], if desired, may be incorporated within an envelope [hence, covering at least parts or the whole of the first/second sides, and/or the peripheral surface] which may be rigid or flexible, it may also be associated with a textile layer [analogous to the claimed “fabric covering”] or similar “where the textile has the facility to enhance the abrasion performance and in some cases the resistance to intrusion from sharp objects and/or assist in the attachment of the composite material to other systems or products. A stretchable textile backing will also serve to limit the elongation of the material and thereby provide durability [analogous to the claimed “the fabric covering covers at least part of the first side and at least part of the second side of the core of polymeric cellular material”]).
Green et al. does not explicitly disclose: a step a) of pre-expanding an amount of unexpanded polymeric microspheres each comprising a polymeric shell and a fluid encapsulated in the polymeric shell by heating the amount of unexpanded polymeric microspheres to a first temperature to produce pre-expanded polymeric microspheres,
wherein at step b) a peripheral surface extending from the first side to the second side and a body of expanded polymeric microspheres by placing a quantity of the pre-expanded polymeric microspheres into a mold and applying heat to a second temperature higher than the first temperature to further expand the pre-expanded polymeric microspheres each comprising a polymeric shell and a fluid encapsulated in the polymeric shell in the mold, and
wherein the step c) of molding a fabric covering onto the core of polymeric cellular material is performed after the final three-dimensional shape of the core of polymeric cellular material has been imparted.
Gans, in the same field of endeavor of expandable microspheres [0024 – 0025] and methods of fabricating a formed structure with expandable polymeric shell microspheres for sports ([0001, 0054 – 0055], Abstract), teaches a method of fabricating a formed structure with expandable polymeric shell microspheres wherein a first plurality of polymeric shell microspheres are heated from an unexpanded state to a partially expanded state (analogous to the claimed pre-expanded polymeric microspheres) to form a plurality of expanded microspheres (i.e., a pre-expanding step analogous to the claimed step a) in claim 2) [0007, 0053],
Gans [0007 – 0009, 0053] discloses that said partially expanded microspheres can be mixed with a plurality of expanded microspheres with an epoxy resin and a second plurality of unexpanded polymeric shell microspheres to create a mixture, which is formed to create a preform, and said preform is placed in a mold, the mold is heated, expanding the first plurality of partially expanded microspheres and the second plurality of unexpanded microspheres from an unexpanded state to an expanded state, cooling the mold and the formed structure is removed from the mold.
[0051] “The mold is heated to an appropriate temperature. In one embodiment, the mold is heated to 140 degrees C. Upon heating, the epoxy softens. Additionally, the unexpanded microspheres, as well as the microspheres that previously were partially expanded, expand further with this additional hearing.”
Gans further discloses at [0023] that, “The temperature at which expansion starts as well as the temperature at which the maximum expansion and the lowest density is obtained depends on a variety of factors including the rate of heating of the shells. At temperatures above the temperature at which the highest expansion is obtained the microspheres gradually collapse.” Hence, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been encouraged to perform the initial expansion of the unexpanded polymeric shell microspheres at an first temperature lower than the temperature at which the maximum expansion happens to obtain the microspheres in a partially expanded state, as suggested by Gans [0023].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the method of Green et al. with step a) of pre-expanding an amount of unexpanded polymeric microspheres each comprising a polymeric shell and a fluid encapsulated in the polymeric shell (e.g., Green’s “Expancel microballoons”, or Gans’ “unexpanded polymeric shell microspheres”) by heating the amount of unexpanded polymeric microspheres to a first temperature e.g., a temperature at which expansion starts, as suggested by Gans [0023], for the purpose of, as taught and suggested by Gans, producing pre-expanded polymeric microspheres and avoiding higher temperatures at which maximum expansion occur as well as temperatures above the maximum expansion temperatures that will result in collapse of the microspheres, since Gans teaches that “At temperatures above the temperature at which the highest expansion is obtained the microspheres gradually collapse.” [0023] See MPEP 2143 (I) (Rationale G).
As to the limitation of step b), Green discloses the claimed invention, except for explicitly disclosing, “a peripheral surface extending from the first side to the second side and a body of expanded polymeric microspheres by placing a quantity of the pre-expanded polymeric microspheres into a mold and applying heat to a second temperature higher than the first temperature to further expand the pre-expanded polymeric microspheres each comprising a polymeric shell and a fluid encapsulated in the polymeric shell in the mold”.
Green et al, however, discloses that molding a core of polymeric cellular material could be achieved by a method of “one-part moulding.” That is, the core is being molded and imparted with a final three-dimensional shape by itself, e.g. see Green et al. at [0062] “A similar structure is achieved as a one-part moulding whereby the material foams within a mould, the inner and outer soles being formed by the "skin" produced at the mould surfaces.” Said “skin” produced at the mold surfaces is analogous to the claimed “a peripheral surface extending from the first side to the second side” in view of Applicant’s Specification ¶[0035] of the published patent application, “The periphery 81 of the core of polymeric cellular material 60 defines the three-dimensional external configuration (analogous to “a skin”) of the inner pad 15.”. Consequently, at least rendering the claimed “peripheral surface” as an obvious modification, as suggested by Green “by a method of “one-part molding”, with predictable expectations of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Gans, however, discloses placing a quantity of the pre-expanded polymeric microspheres into a mold and applying heat to a second temperature higher than the first temperature (e.g., Gans [0023] discloses a temperature at which the maximum expansion and the lowest density is obtained, e.g., 140 °C [0051]) to further expand the pre-expanded polymeric microspheres each comprising a polymeric shell and a fluid encapsulated in the polymeric shell in the mold (see Gans [0007 – 0009, 0051 – 0053]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the step b) in the method of Green/Gans with a peripheral surface extending from the first side to the second side and a body of expanded polymeric microspheres, as suggested by Green et al., by placing a quantity of the pre-expanded polymeric microspheres into a mold and applying heat to a second temperature higher than the first temperature to further expand the pre-expanded polymeric microspheres in the mold, as taught and suggested by the prior art of Gans [0023, 0051 – 0053], since "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). See MPEP § 2141 (I).
As to the limitation in step c), Green/Gans teaches the claimed invention, except for explicitly disclosing, that during the step c) of molding a fabric covering onto the core of polymeric cellular material is performed after the final three-dimensional shape of the core of polymeric cellular material has been imparted.
Green et al., however, discloses that “if desired”, a fabric covering may be molded onto the core of polymeric cellular material (which may be rigid or flexible textile layer or similar), “where the textile has the facility to enhance the abrasion performance and in some cases the resistance to intrusion from sharp objects and/or assist in the attachment of the composite material to other systems or products.” (Green et al. at [0044 – 0047]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Green/Gans, so that after the final three-dimensional shape of the core of polymeric cellular material has been imparted a fabric covering is molded onto the core of polymeric cellular material, for the purpose of, as suggested by Green et al., enhance the abrasion performance and in some cases the resistance to intrusion from sharp objects and/or assist in the attachment of the composite material to other systems or products (Green et al. at [0044 – 0047]). See MPEP 2143 (I) (Rationale G).
Furthermore, Donzis, in the same field of endeavor of manufacturing methods of components for articles of sport gear (Abstract), teaches a core of polymeric cellular material (foam portion 16), comprising a first face 32, a second face 34, and a peripheral edge 36; wherein fabric pieces 12, 14 (fabric coverings) are molded to the core 16 after the core final three-dimensional shape has been imparted by “any suitable method of bonding pieces of relatively air-tight fabric to foam” (Col. 4, lines 24 – 31 “first and second faces 32 and 34 of the foam portion 16 are bonded to the coated fabric faces 38 and 40, respectively, to form a laminate which permits adjacent fabric/foam faces to move as a unit. When a nylon fabric having a polyurethane coating is used, the fabric pieces may be bonded to the foam portion by adheringly applying the fabric pieces to the foam portion, such as by heat sealing”, and Col. 4, lines 46 – 51 “peripheral edge 36 of the foam portion 16 may also be bonded to the faces 38 and 40 of the fabric pieces 12 and 14. While such bonding is not necessary, it further enhances control over the transfer of air between the cellular structure of the foam portion inside the enclosure and the atmosphere outside the enclosure.”; see Donzis Col. 4, lines 18 – 63, and FIG. 5).
Additionally, in the same field of endeavor of methods of manufacturing component for an article of sport gear (e.g., protective pad), Morgan teaches a shock-absorbing element 32 (analogous to core of polymeric material), and a pair of incasing elements 33, 34 (analogous to fabric covering) (Morgan Col. 4, lines 50-55); Morgan discloses that attaching means, such as snap fastener 37 can be attached to the incasing elements (Morgan Col. 4, lines 74-75, cont. Col. 5, lines 1-11);
The core 32 is imparted its final three-dimensional shape (“suitably shaped and accurately dimensioned”) before it has the covering molded onto (see Morgan Col., lines 56-72); Morgan discloses that the contoured of the incasing elements (fabric coverings), are molded to the precise size and configuration of the core element 32 by e.g., molding a soft, pliable leather sheet between molds under heat and pressure (Morgan Col. 5, lines 19-70).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have transpose the molding steps in the method of manufacturing an article of sport gear of Green/Gans, so that after the final three-dimensional shape of the core of polymeric cellular material has been imparted, as taught and suggested by any of Donzis and/or Morgan, molding a fabric covering (e.g., Green’s “envelope”, “textile fabric” [0044-0047]; Donzis 12, 14; Morgan 33, 34) onto the core of polymeric cellular material such that the fabric covering conforms to at least part of the final three-dimensional shape of the core of polymeric cellular material and covers at least part of the first side, at least part of the second side and at least part of the peripheral surface of the core of polymeric cellular material, as taught and suggested by any of Donzis and/or Morgan, with good expectation of success an no unexpected results, and the modification will yield the predictable result of an article of sport gear comprising a final three-dimensional shaped core of polymeric cellular material with a fabric covering onto the core of polymeric cellular material, since the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.). See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(C).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Green/Gans method in view of Donzis/Morgan, so that the molding of the core polymeric cellular material and the molding of the covering fabric are separate steps, for the purpose, as suggested by Morgan of being able to attached fastening means to the covering fabric beforehand (Morgan Col. 4, lines 74-75, cont. Col. 5, lines 1-11), and/or motivated to add a step of molding a covering fabric, for the purpose, as suggested by Green et al. of enhancing the abrasion performance and in some cases the resistance to intrusion from sharp objects and/or assist in the attachment of the composite material to other systems or products, and/or a stretchable textile backing that will serve to limit the elongation of the material and thereby provide durability, as taught by Green et al. [0046]. See MPEP 2143 (I) (Rationale G).
Regarding claim 4, Green/Gans/Donzis/Morgan teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the core of polymeric cellular material is molded in a first mold (e.g., see Green et al. [0062] wherein the core of polymeric cellular material is formed independently “one-part moulding”; Donzis Col. 4, lines 24 – 31; Morgan Col., lines 56-72) and the fabric covering (e.g., Green’s “envelope”, “textile fabric” [0044-0047]; Donzis 12, 14; Morgan 33, 34) is molded onto the core of polymeric cellular material in a second mold different from the first mold (e.g., Morgan teaches using different molds 42 and 48 Col. 5, lines 56-75).
Regarding claim 6, Green/Gans/Donzis/Morgan teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the fabric covering is molded onto the core of polymeric cellular material by applying heat to the fabric covering onto the core of polymeric cellular material (see (Donzis Col. 4, lines 24 – 31, Morgan Col. 5, lines 19-70).
Regarding claim 7, Green/Gans/Donzis/Morgan teaches the method of claim 2, wherein molding the core of polymeric cellular material further comprises lowering the temperature from the second temperature to a third temperature after application of heat to the second temperature (e.g., see the discussion of Gans above and Gans at [0053] “The mold is cooled as shown at 314, and the formed structure is removed from the mold as shown at 316.”; see Green et al. [0073 – 0074] “On cooling the mixes solidified” and [0040] “A secondary lower pressure/temperature cycle then allows the trapped nitrogen to expand the surrounding material to form a foam”).
Regarding claim 8, Green/Gans/Donzis/Morgan teaches the method of claim 7, wherein molding the fabric covering on the core of polymeric cellular material comprises lowering a temperature (Green et al. [0040] discloses “A secondary lower pressure/temperature cycle then allows the trapped nitrogen to expand the surrounding material to form a foam. The exact pressure and temperature cycle of this second process will determine the final density of the foam produced.” ; Gans [0053]).
Regarding claim 9, for the sake of brevity of the Office action, those limitations which are shared by the methods of claim 2 and claim 9, are hereby omitted. See the discussion of claim 2 above. Green/Gans/Donzis/Morgan teaches the method of manufacturing a component for an article of sport gear, as discussed in claim 2 above, the method comprising:
c) after the final three-dimensional shape of the core of polymeric cellular material has been imparted (see the discussion of claim 2 above), molding a covering (Green et al. [0044] “If desired, the composite of the invention may be incorporated within an envelope which may be rigid or flexible”) onto the core of polymeric cellular material such that the covering conforms to at least part of the final three-dimensional shape of the core of polymeric cellular material and covers at least part of the first side, at least part of the second side and at least part of the peripheral surface of the core of polymeric cellular material, wherein the covering is less rigid than the core of polymeric cellular material (see the discussion of Green et al. in view of Donzis and Morgan in claim 2 above).
Regarding claim 10, for the sake of brevity of the Office action, those limitations which are shared by the methods of claim 2 and claim 10, are hereby omitted. See the discussion of claim 2 above. Green/Gans/Donzis/Morgan teaches the method of manufacturing a component for an article of sport gear, the method comprising:
c) after the final three-dimensional shape of the core of polymeric cellular material has been imparted (see the discussion of claim 2 above), molding a covering (Green et al. [0044] “If desired, the composite of the invention may be incorporated within an envelope which may be rigid or flexible”) onto the core of polymeric cellular material such that the covering covers at least part of the first side, at least part of the second side and at least part of the peripheral surface of the core of polymeric cellular material (see the discussion of claim 2 above), wherein the covering is made from at least one sheet (e.g., incasing elements 33, 34 Morgan Col. 4, lines 50-55) and conforms to at least part of the final three-dimensional shape of the core of polymeric cellular material (see the discussion of Green et al. in view of Donzis and Morgan in claim 2 above).
Regarding claim 11, Green/Gans/Donzis/Morgan teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the at least one sheet is at least one sheet of fabric (e.g., Green et al. at [0044-0046], Donzis’ fabric pieces 12, 14 Col. 4, lines 24 – 31, Morgan Col. 4, lines 50-55).
Regarding claim 12, Green/Gans/Donzis/Morgan teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the at least one sheet includes a plurality of sheets (e.g., Green et al. at [0044-0046], Donzis’ fabric pieces 12, 14 Col. 4, lines 24 – 31, Morgan Col. 4, lines 50-55).
Regarding claim 13, Green/Gans/Donzis/Morgan teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the core of polymeric cellular material is molded in a first mold and the covering is molded onto the core of polymeric cellular material in a second mold different from the first mold. (See the discussion of claim 4 above).
Regarding claim 15, Green/Gans/Donzis/Morgan teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the covering is molded onto the core of polymeric cellular material by applying heat to the covering onto the core of polymeric cellular material. (See the discussion of claim 6 above).
Regarding claim 16, Green/Gans/Donzis/Morgan teaches the method of claim 10, wherein molding the core of polymeric cellular material comprises lowering a temperature. (See the discussion of claim 7 above).
Regarding claim 17. Green/Gans/Donzis/Morgan teaches the method of claim 10, wherein molding the covering on the core of polymeric cellular material comprises lowering a temperature. (See the discussion of claim 8 above).
Regarding claims 18, 19, and 20, Green/Gans/Donzis/Morgan teaches the method of claim 2, claim 9, and claim 10, respectively, wherein molding the fabric covering onto the core of polymeric cellular material comprises molding the fabric covering so as to envelop the final three-dimensional shape of the core of polymeric cellular material and cover an entirety of the first side, an entirety of the second side and an entirety of the peripheral (see Green et al. at [0044-0046], see Donzis’ Fig. 5 and Col. 4, lines 24 – 31, Morgan’s Fig. 5 and Col. 4, lines 50-55).
Regarding claims 22, 24, and 26, Green/Gans/Donzis/Morgan teaches the method of claims 2, 9, and 10, respectively, wherein the placing the quantity of the pre-expanded polymeric microspheres into the mold comprises placing a color pigment substance and the quantity of the pre-expanded polymeric microspheres into the mold (e.g., Green et al. [0044] “The composite material of the invention may include components other than the polymer intended to comprise the first material i), the polymer-based dilatant intended to comprise the second material ii) and the gas or vapour; e.g., fibrous and/or particulate fillers, plasticisers, lubricants, extenders, pigments and dyes.”).
Claims 21, 23, and 25 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Green et al. (US 2007/0029690 A1; of record), in view of Gans et al. (US 2009/0233053 A1, “Gans”), Donzis (US Pat. No. 4,486,901; of record), and G.E. MORGAN, JR. (US Pat. No. 2,863,151; “Morgan”; of record), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Yazawa (US Pat. No. 3,971,838).
Regarding claims 21, 23, and 25, Green/Gans/Donzis/Morgan teaches the method of claims 2, 9, and 10, respectively, except for explicitly disclosing, wherein the placing the quantity of the pre-expanded polymeric microspheres into the mold comprises placing the quantity of the pre-expanded polymeric microspheres and an amount of expanded microspheres into the mold.
Gans, however, discloses that a plurality of the pre-expanded microspheres can be mixed with, inter alia, a second plurality of unexpanded polymeric shell microspheres to create a mixture (see Gans [0053]).
However, methods wherein a quantity of pre-expanded polymeric microspheres and an amount of expanded microspheres are combined into a mold are well-known process in the art. For example, Yazawa, in the same field of endeavor of processes for producing shaped articles of polystyrene foam (Abstract), teaches a process and apparatus for continuously producing flat plate-type, rod-type, or shaped products from preliminarily expanded beads of polystyrene [analogous to the claimed “pre-expanded polymeric microspheres”] or a mixture of said beads with foamed polystyrene pieces recovered for reuse as raw materials [analogous to the claimed “expanded microspheres”], “which comprises enveloping preliminarily expanded beads as raw materials with a circulating steam-permeable belt or belts, preferably cloth belts, passing the enveloped beads through a pressure sealing device composed of a tubular passage capable of squeezing and successively through a heating zone in pressure steam chamber at a temperature between 100 °C and 125 °C, thereby softening and re-expanding the beads by steam heating, reducing an apparent volume of the enveloped re-expanded beads in a course towards another pressure sealing device at an outlet of the pressure steam chamber, thereby allowing the softened and re-expanded beads to adhere tightly one to another in a continuous foamed mass” (Col. 1, lines 5 – 67).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the step of placing the quantity of pre-expanded polymeric microspheres in the method of Green/Gans/Donzis/Morgan, the placing the quantity of the pre-expanded polymeric microspheres into the mold comprises placing the quantity of the pre-expanded polymeric microspheres and an amount of expanded microspheres into the mold, as suggested by the prior art of Yazawa, for the purpose of e.g., raw material cost reduction and recycling, as suggested and taught by Yazawa, by utilizing foamed polystyrene pieces (expanded microspheres) recovered for reuse as raw materials. See MPEP 2143 (I) (G).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McClellan et al. (US Pat. No. 5,665,785): Process for forming microcellular structures having an integral skin and products thereof; Col. 14, ll. 40-49 “Example 1 was repeated except Expancel 820 DU was used in place of Expancel 551 DU. Due to the low expansion temperature of the 820 DU material, the mold temperature was lowered to 55 °C.”
CHARTRAND (CA 2191678 A1): a protective helmet having a rigid outer shell and an inner pad assembly comprising a front pad assembly, a rear pad assembly and an intermediate pad assembly. Each of the front, intermediate and rear pad assemblies is made from a generally rigid shock absorbing material and comprises a second generally soft inner liner secured to the generally rigid shock absorbing material (Abstract); Figure 2, each of the inner pad assembly 20a, 20b and 20c comprises a first moulded inner liner 40a, 40b and 40c that is made from a generally rigid light weight foam-like material and also comprises second generally soft liners 38a to 38e that are secured to the inside of the first liners 40a, 40b and 40c.
/EDGAREDMANUEL TROCHE/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/JEFFREY M WOLLSCHLAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742